Long Goodbyes Are Only For Lovers!

by M. Bakri Musa

Despite the apparent standing ovation Prime Minister Abdullah received upon announcing his retirement in front of UMNO members on July 10, 2008, there was no love lost between them. Likewise, despite the effusive tribute heaped upon Abdullah by his chosen successor Najib Razak on that same occasion, there is also no love lost between the two.

In announcing his resignation so far ahead, and thus ensuring a long drawn-out transition, Abdullah ignored a fundamental element in human (and also political) relationship. That is, long goodbyes are only for lovers! Abdullah should ponder the lyrics of the chorus line in Ronan Keating’s song, The Long Goodbye.”

Come on baby, its over, let’s face it!

All that’s happening here is a long goodbye!

[For an accompanying music video, please click this link: www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5_k2pdvNTU ]

While it may be sentimental (and hence tolerable) for lovers breaking up to have long goodbyes, such a protracted political transition would be disastrous for a nation. Far from clarifying the leadership crisis, it only compounds the uncertainty.

Let’s face it. This belated ‘love’ between Abdullah and Najib will not last; neither will they, politically. The world of politics is like the animal world. When you are seen as weak, your predators will quickly pounce in for the kill. While it would be obscene to celebrate such an outcome, nonetheless it would be therapeutic for UMNO, Malays, and Malaysia.

I am uncertain of what a standing ovation after Abdullah’s announcement means. Perhaps they wanted to hear yet another statement reaffirming the same, only this time for him to make the date much earlier. They would then continue giving him ever more enthusiastic ovations – thus calling for even more announcements – until he declared his withdrawal right away! At which point he would bring the house down!

The Limp and the Crippled

As perverse as it may seem, Abdullah’s announcement was meant to reassure UMNO members as well as the public. The result was anything but; the speculations continue, only more intense and interesting!

In truth, the party and country would be better off without these two top leaders. This pact, conveniently arranged by the pair and purportedly “endorsed” by the party’s Supreme Council, was meant to strengthen the top leadership by portraying a public picture of seeming unity.

The limp and the crippled clutching each other would not result in a steady ambulating couple. Far from giving strength to each other, the pair would succeed only in bringing each other down. No marks for guessing who is who here!

That Abdullah is a limp leader is now obvious; made more so by his coalition’s recent electoral thumping. Yet there are still otherwise perceptive pundits who feel that if only those UMNO warlords and ministers would let him lead, Abdullah would do wonders!

If Abdullah had not shown his leadership talent by now, especially after he received the massive mandate in 2004, rest assured there is no talent, hidden or otherwise. Abdullah just does not have it; two more years would not miraculously produce one. The sooner he, UMNO, and the pundits accept this reality, the better it is for Malaysia.

Previously the pair was consumed with neutralizing each other. This desperate last minute union of convenience is brought on by fears that both would be wiped out by a third element.

Before that, Najib Razak, egged on by unconcealed endorsements from former Prime Minister Mahathir, had been making some uppity remarks on challenging Abdullah. Mahathir however now seems to be changing his tune; he has openly chided Najib for not standing up to Abdullah.

Najib’s trajectory was also rudely interrupted by sordid revelations relating to the murder of the Mongolian model. One has it that Najib allegedly had an illicit sexual relationship with the victim; another, Najib’s wife Rosmah was somehow involved in the murder itself. She has denied the allegation, but curiously has not seen fit to sue Raja Petra who made that serious allegation.

Najib denied “knowing” the model, a proclamation of innocence reminiscent of and equally unconvincing as President Clinton’s “I did not have sexual relations with that woman!” statement.

Perhaps Najib, a consequence of his early British education, was using the word “know” in its narrow biblical sense as, “Joseph knew his wife, and she conceived.” There was earlier false speculation that the murdered model was pregnant, with the fetus’s paternal origin the subject of intense gossip.

Anwar Ibrahim has as usual read the political situation well. He has shrewdly aimed his guns not towards Abdullah but at Najib. He knows that Abdullah will implode sooner or later. Besides, Anwar’s nemesis Mahathir is doing a pretty good job demolishing Abdullah. It is not that “the enemy of my enemy is my friend,” rather if my enemies are bent on destroying each other, sit back and relish the scene!

Abdullah also faces a more formidable challenge from Tengku Razaleigh. The Tengku has been getting some traction in his attempt to secure nominations to challenge Abdullah.

Malaysian Politics Hit New Bottom!

With the series of sordid sexual allegations involving senior political figures, Malaysian politics seem determined to hit new bottom (pun intended). The authorities and the public have been distracted by the salacious details, real and fantasized. Indeed, the police are now consumed with this useless investigation, at the expense of fighting crime and corruption.

Malaysia’s political problem is clear: it’s UMNO, specifically its leadership, or lack of one. It is a problem because UMNO is the biggest party, in Parliament as well as in the ruling coalition. UMNO is now rotten to the core.

It is instructive that the only fresh young talent attracted to UMNO these days are such characters as that college dropout Saiful Bukhari Azlan and the lost soul (politically) Ezam Noor. Saiful received an endorsement from no less than Najib Razak, while Ezam was feted by Abdullah himself! Such low standards!

Saiful was the pretty boy who hitherto successfully passed himself off (at least to the gullible) as a “personal assistant” to Anwar Ibrahim. This young man is determined to bring Malaysian politics down to new bottoms, literally and figuratively!

Ezam Noor meanwhile successfully (he thinks) passed himself off as a pretentious warrior against official corruption. He also fancies himself as possessing an oratorical gift matching that of Barack Obama, but minus the intellect. Ezam’s brain, judging by his utterances, could only be slightly bigger than that of a grasshopper, which may explain his frequent political hopping. Nonetheless that was enough to impress UMNO’s top echelon.

Like Saiful, Ezam is threatening to reveal other presumably equally sordid details involving Anwar Ibrahim. Rest assured that when Ezam does that, his standing in UMNO would be significantly enhanced. Such is the rot in UMNO.

Some sympathetic commentators (or perhaps they are just eager to ingratiate themselves to Abdullah) lay the blame for UMNO’s problems on the party’s “warlords” and its essential conservatism. If only the party would accept Abdullah’s “reforms” and the warlords get out of his way, these pundits insist, why there would be a renaissance of the party and wondrous things would magically happen!

These pundits missed the point. Those warlords flourished precisely because of Abdullah’s ineffectiveness. Far from embracing reform, Abdullah is the greatest obstacle towards it.

One badly needed reform is for the party to open up its election process by doing away with the current onerous nominating process. Do away with nomination quotas and you would invite more candidates. That would be the only way to discover new talent.

Abdullah however, is determined to keep this barrier, in fact anything that would help keep him in power. He is a Malaysian Mugabe in the making, if we let him be.

UMNO’s Abscess

There is a malignant abscess in UMNO; it needs to be lanced soon lest it metastasizes and kills the party corpus. The nidus of this putrefaction is the limp Abdullah and the crippled Najib. Both have to be lanced and the associated pus around them flushed out. The sooner this is done, the less complicated the surgery would be and the earlier the healing could begin. The more swiftly the process is accomplished, the less pain (and mess) there would be.

The scalpel is now in the hands of UMNO Supreme Council. If it fails to exercise its solemn responsibility, then the tool would be quickly taken out of its hands and then given to the membership. If they too fail to use it, as by giving candidates like Tengku Razaleigh and others the necessary nominations to contest the party’s elections or doing away completely with the quotas, then they would also lose the privilege of using that knife.

The dye would be cast long before the party’s elections in December. During July and August the party divisions will be selecting their delegates and choosing the party’s nominees. If the members too become limp and crippled by the directive from above, and if they fail to exercise their independent judgment, that would seal the party’s fate. This month and next will be their last chance to redeem the party they love.

Keadilan’s Wan Azizah’s “no confidence” vote against Abdullah scheduled for tomorrow [July 14] has little chance of success. Nonetheless it would serve as a warning thunderbolt, signaling the coming of a severe storm.

The sound of a lightening bolt is a much more reliable predictor of upcoming events than that of a standing ovation.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:10 am

I am sure Najis was disappointed by AAB’s retirement announcement – 2 years are indeed too long for a PM-in-waiting.

I believe AAB was selfish and planned only for himself. Najis was not really in AAB’s mind!

There is a possibility that Najis may contest for presidency in December.

2. #2 by undergrad2 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:49 am

“Saiful was the pretty boy who hitherto successfully passed himself off (at least to the gullible) as a “personal assistant” to Anwar Ibrahim. This young man is determined to bring Malaysian politics down to new bottoms, literally and figuratively!”

I think it is consistent with the policy of Pakatan to build democracy from the bottom up.

3. #3 by monsterball on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:15 am

There were tears…standing ovations and hugs for Mahathir announcing his first intention to retire.
    All actors and actresses…said…no…..so he extended his premiership.
    Everyone knew that was UMNO hypocracies…at his highest.
    Forced to retire by UMNO’s supreme council majority…second time around..Mahathir had no choice….but to really retire. Everyone knew..he wanted to be PM…for life.
    At that time..almost all UMNO kingpins are indebted to him….being so filthy rich..through massive corruptions.
    Mahathir and all in UMNO and BN……never had it so good…to steal everything they can grab….with all sorts of inflated ..closed tenders….making a mockery of so call Vision2020…..with the eyes wide open..how to rob and steal our money.
    Everyone is on the take..and love to be UMNO members. Dollah’s announcement is well received by all UMNO ministers…waiting to say goodbye to a non corrupted leader….hoping the good old days…will return again.
    They are so used to earn easy money..through corruptions…having denial syndroms…these rouges will never change.
    Only way….vote them out.

4. #4 by limkamput on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 8:58 am

Funny, we are always talking about No.2 taking over No.1, never mind they are equally culpable and equally useless within the existing political scheme of things. To me, the March 8 election result was an indictment to both the No.1 and No.2, and in fact the whole UMNO and BN supreme councils. The malaise is not just due to UMNO leadership. The whole party is riddled with political corruption. It does not matter anymore it is No.1 or No.2 or even any other leaders holding the helm now. The party is dead.

Similarly, we are always talking no lost love and that the grassroots have wanted the No.1 to go. My question is: why didn’t the UMNO delegates and grassroots make it happen? Why they wait for the leaders to resign when they are no longer credible. Is this not the job of UMNO delegates and grassroots? Is this not an indication that UMNO is long dead? There is no grassroots anymore and the delegates are whores waiting to sell to the high bidder.

5. #5 by grace on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 9:09 am

Aiya, Bakri wrote a very article and an intelligent one worthy of the WSJ. But the trouble is that UMNO fellas have brains no bigger than grasshoppers(to borrow Bakri’s term) and they will not appreciate it.
    After all with lame and tainted leaders, these people will have field days. They can go on plundering the country resources with inpunity.
    What can lame duck do? Just llok at the accusation of Dr Mahathir scandalous involvement in the judiciary. Before serious action can be taken, Mahathir had asked Royal Commission be set up to investigate PM’s involvement in Food for oil scandal and EC M Libra deal. Ooop! That is enough to shut the authority mouth.

The Bakri said:”She has denied the allegation, but curiously has not seen fit to sue Raja Petra who made that serious allegation.”

Another sad story for lame ducks. Malaysians leaders are used to being called all sorts of names. Names like ,”LIARS, CORRUPT, IRRESPONSIBLE and what have you”, they would still not sue. You know the resons yourselves la!
    If the same is said to ministers down south, they would be suit left and right. Why? Their ministers are impeccablly clean! Don’t mess up with them

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 9:30 am

Well, long goodbyes for lovers are really also dysfunctional relationships.

What does it say for Badawi-Najib dysfunctional relationship? Its really unhealthy and at a time where we need healthy ones more than ever.

7. #7 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 9:37 am

“My question is: why didn’t the UMNO delegates and grassroots make it happen? Why they wait for the leaders to resign when they are no longer credible. Is this not the job of UMNO delegates and grassroots?” Limkamput

Yes, it is the job of UMNO delegates to decide on the make-up of the Supreme Council, as it is the job of the President to “influence” teh make-up of the leadership of the Supreme Council. When Badawi said “I need 2 more years to finish my projects”, what he really meant was “I am in a position to give you some contracts, so think carefully who you are supporting in this December elections”.

Without the dishing out of contracts, Badawi would be as dead as a Dodo, so he needs to create the illusion of being in a position of deciding who gets what. I use the word “illusion” because he has done zilch in the past 5 years, and he will do zilch in the next two years, as PR is now in a better position to watch the antics of the den of thieves, just as we are all in a better position to highlight and criticise. The UMNO delegates continue to cling on to the hope that Badawi will really dish out the goodies in the next 2 years, so we should let them cling on to this hope.

We just watch carefully what contracts are given to whom. It won’t be so easy now for SCOMI, or for KJ’s mother or for RealWorld.

8. #8 by alwaysfair on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 9:57 am

Malaysian Politics hit new BOTTOM!!!

Very good article by M Bakri of very highest standards and quality.
    I esp. like this part where,” politics hit new bottom.”

I still think it should be,” politicians use new bottom.”

I also like to comment on UMNO Abcess. My question is, how to chop off, since it is like asking the person to hold the sword and chop his own head off. The head will not allow the hand to do that.

I also like”UMNO is rotten to the core.”
    The affliction is so deep there is no remedy except to throw the rotten apple away.
    If the people are still in doubt, the chronicles of Najib and disappearence of Bala confirms beyond any doubt, the leadership is tutterly, blatantly corrupted beyond redemption.

One reason the leaders are so sub-standard is because the criteria of selection is not based on quality brain but “clean bottom” maybe.

9. #9 by oknyua on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:04 am

Godfather, I think he is already a Dodo with Ong KaTIng, Dr Koh SK and Sam.

What do you think was the standing ovation for? The ones giving out contracts are not him. Its done by the one who gave him the standing ovation.

10. #10 by wanderer on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:05 am

When the top leaders are looking at each other over their shoulders, the little men will continue ‘looting’ the nation’s wealth. Where got time to worry about the party, besides, Umno will not be around at the next GE. They may have not descended to a level to each it’s own situation but, definitely their self interests over ride the importance of the party and the nation…self destruct.
    Saiful the scholarship seeker, he is a joke! Ezam, the double headed snake is just a short time lover, reflect on the qualities of Umno members, unprincipled and corrupted!
    These are signs, the fall of the ‘Roman empire’ is near.

11. #11 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:06 am

Hey RealWorld:

Did you get any subcontract from the new LCCT main contract ? You want me to introduce you to Kera Jantan’s mother ?

12. #12 by year of snake on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:42 am

Why did’nt the UMNO delegates and grassroots make it happen? Limkamput

You must understand that these people have been dinning on Codfish and Salmon. Do you think that they will go back to eating kembongs and ikan bilis by killing the Goose who are supplying their golden eggs?

13. #13 by raven77 on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 10:48 am

More importantly…..the country is crippled…..how do you sought this out…..UMNO and the BN as a whole have to be discounted from the equation………the only hope we have now is Anwar and the PR……..Malaysians will have to bite the bullet for some real difficult times…….

14. #14 by saiful on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:24 am

hey GODfather………….but forget that LCCT built for Air Asia n its own by TOny Fernandes (is he a malay???)………………………….

Westports, the CEO is Tan Sri Gnalingam,,,is he is also a malay…..mohd Gnalingam i presume………………………………

Lim Goh TOng, vincent tan, ananda krishnan ……………………..are they are malays?????

dont talk rubbish……………face it…….and for those Malays that think u’re so liberalized, tink again what the contribution u’re doin for yor nation n people….

dont just talk……………

15. #15 by Richardqed on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:28 am

Long Goodbyes Are Only For Lovers! — by M. Bakri Musa

It’s pretty clear that AAB intends to stay as long as possible, and this long-term handover is just a delaying tactic to get him through a rough period. Once he gets through to 2010 unscathed, he can easily be around even for PRU13 in 2013. Najis has only himself to blame for being in a situation where his boss holds his b*lls.

16. #16 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 11:36 am

Yo Godfather;

Contracts??? You bitter about not getting any of late or something?

17. #17 by grace on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 12:15 pm

I think Najib will end up being embarassed just like Gerakan in Penang. Befire the GE, those Gerakan Dr Teng and Gang were bickering who get the CM post just like it belonged to their gradfather. After the GE all of them were KOed and ended with nothing. Malu la!
    Similaly Najib will face the same fate. BN Mps may cross over to PR and Najib would be left empty handed. Malu. UMNO please do not treat as if PMship belong to your grandfathers. Any one can get it now. May be not this GE , but by the next, it is possible !!!
    Pak Lah timed his long Goodbye so as to consolidate his Son in law’s position in UMNO youth. Once Khairy is safe as the president, Pak Lah would go happily!!!

18. #18 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 12:19 pm

The succession might not take place.The IGP and the Attorney General are aware of the facts.If they are charged they would open the pandora box.It means both Najib and Abdullah will be hit.To ensure stability the country will be ruled by the police and the army.It will take time for peace and order to come again.This time UMNO and Barisan will not exist…All will be equal and the nation can celebrate true comradeship without religion playing a part.

19. #19 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 12:56 pm

Sun Tzu sure is confusing..

SUN TZU, YOU CONFUSED ME!

20. #20 by jennifer cheong on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:00 pm

Sometime I wonder why everybody wants Pak Lah to go down?Yes, if he go down, who do u think will come up? that person, will be a beginning of all evils, sins and disasters..not just operasi lalang, anything worse then that also can happen.He learn from his late father on how to destroy the so called-imaginative enemies who turn up to be his own people or people who support him 100%…so sad.his name is cave man since he was 21 years old..lucky enough to go in parliament at the very young age but unlucky enough to be involve in so many deadly scandals and sins! I saw his movement now that he wage war against his own tax payers and his salaries payers…we only can pray that God will save Malaysia from this man’s evil plans and destructive movement in Malaysia!God save Malaysia..

21. #21 by ktteokt on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:23 pm

Famous Chinese saying, “Long nights, more dreams!”

22. #22 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:37 pm

“Go back to Mike Tyson and ask him for more pointers how to avoid getting your rear end handed to you everytime you post in this blog.” – lchk

I can understand your deep fascination with ‘rear end’.

23. #23 by wanderer on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

Realworld;

At least I am clean…more to add?
    Go and make more dirty money!

24. #24 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

Yo Godfather;

I can understand that you subscribe to rumours. You acting your shoe size rather than your age is a tell tale sign.

25. #25 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:41 pm

Hey RealWorld:

Ask your UMNO masters to steal with style lah. How to steal with style when UMNO awards a contract to a company that has the word “Rembau” in it ? Gaya mesti mau, kalah tak ape.

26. #26 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:43 pm

“RealWorld has been to Mike Tyson’s house many times to seek advice on how to respond, and his response so far has been typical of the UMNO top brass – divert attention through the hurling of insults, and if that fails, use crass hand signals. If that fails, call in the police for help.” – Godfather

——————————————————-

Psst … you need more than such childish statement as above to move BN out. Much much more.

Is this is best you can do?

27. #27 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:44 pm

Yo RealWorld:

You would have done better if you follow Mike Tyson’s advice – just say you don’t understand English, and all will be forgiven. Do you understand the phrase “stealing is a hard habit to break” ?

28. #28 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:48 pm

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

If UMNO doesn’t cheat the people, how can UMNOputras drive Bentleys, smoke cigars, fly first class and go for live Chelsea games ?

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:52 pm

Hey RealWorld, could you do us a favour and pass the loot ?

30. #30 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:52 pm

“If UMNO doesn’t cheat the people, how can UMNOputras drive Bentleys, smoke cigars, fly first class and go for live Chelsea games ?” – Godfather

Try earning and finding your own way first.

31. #31 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:55 pm

“Hey RealWorld, could you do us a favour and pass the loot ?” – Godfather

————————————————-

hahahaha comical. I can pass you some shoe polish to polish my shoes, if you want.

32. #32 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 1:57 pm

Yo Godfather;

Let me take a stab here …

You are bitter because you are a failure in life. You hold a dead end low paying job. You are envious of others who are successful. And rather than blaming your ownself, you take it out on those who are successful.

Get a life, dude.

33. #33 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 2:03 pm

Yo Godfather;

Why are you ranting here in this little virtual world. If you are unhappy with the gomen, do something. Ranting, moaning, whingeing and throwing your usual dimwit petty insults aint gonna change anything.

Take some action dude rather than sit infront of your computer all day and moan.

34. #34 by despin on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 2:21 pm

For the sake of our country, may I suggest that we appoint either Dr. Mahathir or Mr. Lim Kit Siang to be our mediator to call a TRUCE between the PKR and Umno camps. We should draw up a list of no-go areas such as party hopping; abuse of police reports and statutory declarations; and words that are synonymous with rear-ends and Mongolian. This shall put an end to the longkang politics that we have witnessed the last few weeks. We need to re-focus on the economy, period.

35. #35 by lchk on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 2:26 pm

Realworld,

Nothing else to post except insults ah?

No surprise here though – what else do you expect from UMNO uptra wannabes?

36. #36 by RealWorld on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 2:30 pm

Ichk;

Please take your fetish regarding rear-ends elsewhere.
    This is not the blog to explore your rear-end experiences.

37. #37 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:47 pm

All politicians go for a quick kill
    Regardless of their political skill
    They all can’t hang on to their bills
    They have to quickly take their fills

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 140708
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 14th July 2008.

38. #38 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 3:53 pm

For those who don’t know RealWorld well, he started off by being an absolute gentleman on this blog, revealing his love for his Bentley, his love to watch games live at Stamford Bridge, etc. He was absolutely aghast at name-calling, the use of crass language and rude words.

After March 8, his attitude changed. He finally got the green light from Mike Tyson to hurl abuses at everybody who questions his “ketuanan” rights, and the right of UMNO to steal. He finally got the green light from UMNO to indulge in gutter language. If this was a video debate, he would be using the standard UMNO handsigns used by Adnan Yaacob and Bung Mokhtar.

39. #39 by lchk on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:01 pm

Absolutely correct Godfather.

Realworld was constantly preaching about not indulging in name-calling and hurling abusive language in a public blog pre- March 8.

Now he’s being a total idiot and a hypocrite on top of that by posting foul and abusive language in this blog.

40. #40 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:10 pm

Some have proposed that LKS ban RealWorld from this blog, but I say let him be. Let him show us the true colours of UMNO. When the truth hits a “sore” spot, they will all go amok. Tonight they will convene at Mike Tyson’s house to figure out how to deal with us. Even if they keep quiet, rest assured that they are reading each and every posting. RealWorld is the “allocated” UMNO cybertrooper sent to disrupt and divert attention.

41. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:13 pm

I don’t really know what set RealWorld off on this thread. It could be my comment about the rumour of his boss being caught by the son-in-law having a romp with the housemaid, or it could be my comment about him (RealWorld) approaching the Kera Jantan’s mother for subcontracts.

42. #42 by lchk on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:14 pm

Let the likes of Realworld stay, he provides a daily dose of amusement with his buffonry and infantile behaviour just like the worst of his UMNO masters.

43. #43 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:30 pm

“If Abdullah had not shown his leadership talent by now, especially after he received the massive mandate in 2004, rest assured there is no talent, hidden or otherwise. Abdullah just does not have it; two more years would not miraculously produce one. The sooner he, UMNO, and the pundits accept this reality, the better it is for Malaysia.” Bakri

Everyone in UMNO realized Abdullah don’t have the talent long ago and UMNO members accept that reality with arms wide open for very simple reason, he is in charge of the finance ministry. As for the recent arrest of the DG and ADG of immigration department, don’t be to excited about it, what is RM500,000 seized from the arrest compares to RM4.6 billion lost in PKFZ? If you are a UMNO member and you are getting all the benefits, you’ll want Pak Lah to be PM in perpetuity.

44. #44 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:36 pm

Badawi is the best PM the Opposition ever had.

45. #45 by dawsheng on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 4:36 pm

“Some sympathetic commentators (or perhaps they are just eager to ingratiate themselves to Abdullah) lay the blame for UMNO’s problems on the party’s “warlords” and its essential conservatism. If only the party would accept Abdullah’s “reforms” and the warlords get out of his way, these pundits insist, why there would be a renaissance of the party and wondrous things would magically happen!” Bakri

When UMNO is rotten to the core, what reforms? Can something rotten to the core reforms?

46. #46 by observer on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:36 pm

AAB is bidding his time , he will made sure the DPM will not sit in his seat. Occasionally he will pass sensitive issues of Najis to the opposition and make use of the opposition to pressure Najis.Unless one day when AAB woke up that POWER & Money is enough for him already , will he let Najis or any challenger to take the clown.

47. #47 by Godfather on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 6:43 pm

Ask RealWorld (the real clown) what happened between AAB, the once-housemaid, and the Kera Jantan.

48. #48 by yhsiew on Monday, 14 July 2008 - 7:24 pm

Najis’ cherished dream of becoming the next PM is probably gone.

Today even a taxi driver told me how could the country’s no. 2 did that kind of thing.

What use if the PM is respected by party members but not the general public?

49. #49 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 7:59 am

Beats me how AAB and NJ got chosen to their current positions. In the last decade, before they were bestowed the PM titles, neither has shown to be able to do anything. Much like the KJs and Ezams of today. They were shuffled from office to office so they’re constantly in the public’s eye and become automatic candidates for higher posts when they age enough! Merits notwithstanding.

Here is a test one can perform and you will be guaranteed to see the same outcome anytime, anywhere, anyhoo!

Put 5 monkeys in a cage 20×20 ft.
    Drop bananas in the middle of the cage.
    As soon as the 1st monkey gets close, water canon!
    When the 2nd monkey gets close, squirt! Really squirt!!
    When the 3rd monkey gets close, drench it!
    When the 4th monkey gets close, wet, baby, wet!!
    When the 5th monkey gets close, let it rip!!
    In fact, when any monkey gets close again, water is free, baby!!
    Soon, no monkey will approach.
    Replace the 1st monkey with a fresh face.
    When newbie reaches for bananas, watch how the other 4 whoop its ass (for fear of triggering waterworld, of course).
    This will repeat till newbie views the bananas like a plague.
    Replace the 2nd monkey with a fresh face.
    As soon as it reaches for bananas, watch how the other 4 manhandle it. Yes, including the now not so newbie one who obviously associates reaching for bananas with license to slug a fellow primate!
    Now you have 2 monkeys who fear bananas with different reasons from the 3 original ones.
    …Replace the 3rd monkey…
    …repeat
    …and repeat
    In fact, repeat many many more times and you’ll find all monkeys in the cage shunning bananas due the a reason long lost among them.

This, pal, is what is known as TRADITION

in our beloved country.

50. #50 by lupus on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:09 am

Sounds like a typical bollywood movie, plenty of singing and dancing

51. #51 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 9:52 am

Abdullah also hopes the two-year transition will promote stability in the ruling United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) which suffered one of its worst electoral defeats in March.

“There will be less in-fighting, there will less campaigning amongst one another (for the leadership post),” he was quoted as saying by the official Bernama news agency late Saturday
    ——————————————————————

I believe the OPPOSITE of what he said will come true, that is the 2-year transition will promote instability. There will be more in-fighting, and more campaigning amongst one another for the leadership post.

The get things back on track, AAB must change people’s perception that he is a weak leader being tossed about and influenced by “advices” from different quarters.

He must be firm and not change his decision every now and then (e.g. no fuel price increase before August but suddenly the increase emerged). He must mean what he says and walk the talk. He should stop using such phrases like “we will see what we can do……” and “we will study it first……”, but go straight into action instead.

52. #52 by britcrazelady on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 10:28 am

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but remember.. it’s never too late!”

“Anyone can start today and make a new ending.”

WAKE UP MALAYSIANS!!!

53. #53 by badak on Tuesday, 15 July 2008 - 5:10 pm

PAK LAH ANNOUNCED HIS TWO YEAR TRANSITION PLAN SO THAT HE CAN SECURE HIS OWN POSITION IN UMNO.
    Not all UMNO members are behind him on this.TENGKU RALEIGH made a statement in SINAR HARIAN
    which said “” JAWATAN PRESIDENT PARTI TIDAK BOLEH DISERAHKAN SEWENANG WENANGNYA TETAPI PERLU KATA PUTUS DARIPADA PERINGAT AKAR UMBI KEAHLIAN.””
    by doing this PAK LAH HAD thrown a spanner in the works of any one who wanted to challenge him in this coming UMNO election in December.
    Now is the time for UMNO to pave its way to a new beginning.UMNO must show that the party is a DEMOCRATIC PARTY or else it can forget about winning the next general election.

Will Tengku Raleigh be cowed by PAK LAH or will he still go for the number one position.Wll any other UMNO leaders challenge Najib for the number two post.Only time will tell