Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak should go on leave from his duties as Deputy Prime Minister until all questions implicating his credibility, especially arising from the statutory declaration by private investigator P. Balasubramaniam, are investigated and cleared.
Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration dated 1st July and made public today in effect challenged the truth and veracity of various statements and denials by Najib in connection with the murder of Mongolian national Altantuya Shaariibuu in October 2006 – that Najib had not known or ever met Altantunya.
Najib, as well as the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, cannot allow Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration to go unchallenged as it raises grave fundamental issues as to their fitness to hold high political offices in the land.
Balasubramaniam’s shocking statutory declaration has brought back to Malaysians the emotional scene at the Kuala Lumpur magistrate’s court on 16th November 2006 when Razak was charged for abetting the murder of Altantuya, when his wife Mazlinda Makhzan lost her cool and shouted at journalists: “My husband is innocent. My husband is a good man. He supported me and protected me. Why are you writing all these stories about him. He is not out to become the Prime Minister. Why are they doing this to him?”
Mazlinda’s emotional outburst in November 2006 have now been resurrected to the very fore of public consciousness by Balasubramaniam’s statutory declaration, crying out for full clarification.
Balasubramaniam said the purpose of his statutory declaration, among other things, was to
1) State his disappointment at the standard of investigations conducted by the authorities into the circumstances surrounding the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.
2) Bring to the notice of the relevant authorities the strong possibility that there are individuals other than the three accused who must have played a role in the murder of Altantuya Shaaribuu.
3) Persuade the relevant authorities to reopen their investigations into this case immediately so that any fresh evidence may be presented to the court prior to submissions at the end of the prosecutions case.
4) Emphasise the fact that having been a member of the Royal Malaysian Police Force for 17 years, he is absolutely certain no police officer would shoot someone in the head and blow up their body without receiving specific instructions from their superiors first.
5) Express his concern that should the defence not be called in the Altantuya murder trial, the accused, Azilah and Sirul will not have to swear on oath and testify as to the instructions they received and from whom they were given.
These are issues of urgent definite public importance for which Parliament should take instant cognisance by having an immediate debate, unless and until the Prime Minister can act promptly to assure the Malaysian public that the government is prepared and capable of responding swiftly, credibly and responsibly to the crisis of confidence in the government precipitated by the Balasubramaniam statutory declaration.

#1 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:00 pm
Rainbow, short answer is not good.
But in Anwar’s case, circumstances got his family more involved than he probably originally intended.
But all are right, some have doubts on AI, but little choice for the moment, give him benefit of the doubt, if fail, will throw him out the same way.
#2 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:06 pm
That’s the game plan! Go for change in government and if that government is not good, throw them out again!
Everyone I spoke with, from taxi drivers to the macik & pakcits are in favour of this road. So, all we need now is for a fresh election to be held soon.
#3 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:15 pm
If there is indeed a change in Malaysian government, the new government will have a hell of a lot of house keeping to do. 52 years of accumulated filth!
Imagine the vast numbers of corruption, mismanagement, lop-sided government contracts, bloated government projects, government expenses, etc2 to untangle…like a huge ball of screwed up fishing line.
#4 by gundam on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:15 pm
election could be rigged again…who knows the bn might even gain more tis time ard……
#5 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:17 pm
‘family affair’ government.. all depends on how transparent they are in running the country.. if it brings more good than why not? Rakyat can see and judge them. If it is possible to bring down a 50 year government than what else is impossible!
If the pakatan raakyat government have Malaysian representative from all creed than nothing to worry about.
It’s just like MOU.. we select you for 5 years, you perform for the nation; if not, we will kick you out. We must show them power for not to become despot.. government are just a small entity compare to the rakyat.. if everyone understand their rights no one can push us around.
#6 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:20 pm
5 years is too long to wait honestly, Msia Inc is already in shambles. Need quicker route, opp. needs to strike whilst the iron is hot.
#7 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:25 pm
Seem to me the Opposition is more like in disarray than ’striking’ anything at the moment.
It’s nice to think that we have the power to kick out a bad government at every election, but…sighnnn..we are still talking and wishing for that after every single election. Still, there is the next one to hope for!
#8 by kanthanboy on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:31 pm
How much we can trust Anwar?
One thing we know is that he has no involvement in any financial corruption. Mahathir had use the ACA and the police to comb every detail of his political life and could not find any case of financial corruption against him.
#9 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:41 pm
Ok, lets say Tun M did indeed ‘combed’ DS Anwar for corruption involvement. Being a DPM, the man next to the highest office in Malaysia, and the heir apparent to Tun M, don’t you find it strange that DS Anwar, being the Finance Minister as well, does not know what his former boss has been doing while in office? I can easily believe that both of them knows precisely what the other has been doing and it became a case of “You don’t tell and I don’t tell” kind of stand-off.
Nobody, and I mean NOBODY in UMNO is or can be, in the foreseeable future, be a clean politician.
#10 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:44 pm
Just for opinion, the best person to lead our country is YM Raja Nazrin, since his obligation is more to the Royal household, the next person will be DSAI.. (let say the lesser evil) and LGE for one of his DPMs..
We must avoid having all key ministry under one party, that will prevent conflict of interest between nation and the party. We can’t have the party comes first attitude(myself come first) MPs.
If possible, put a vetted police officer in KDN and a Armed Forces Council’s representative as Defence Minister through senatorship. Reform our judiciary and setup independent tribunal to deal with all past, present and future high profile cases.
Everything is possible if you put your mind into it.. and for that we must revamp our education system as a starter.. The system now will just produce low esteem, unable to think, government dependent people..
If we unable to reform our nation now than the other nations will brand us just like another Myanmar or Zimbabwe. Hope our children wont have to face all that.
#11 by limkamput on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:44 pm
i have a big problem, my hands are icy cold. Can I make an appointment to see DPM tonite in his house? I need advice. I don’t know what to do anymore.
#12 by limkamput on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:50 pm
A part time volunteer was allowed follow DSAI in his overseas trips. He must be quite a capable volunteer.
#13 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:57 pm
limkamput, my advise is to report the matter to the police. Oh, sorry, i didnt realise your icy cold hands and anxiety were actually regarding your scholarship.
On the serious sbj, i dont give a toss if AI was clean or whether he knew of TDM’s activities. We just need to press the “reboot” button right now, thats all i know.
My vote goes to Nizar, he has been most impressive followed by LGE. Khalid…hmmmmm
#14 by limkamput on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 3:58 pm
I say let’s call in the United Nations from 16 Sept 2008 to govern this country. Malaysia shall henceforth forever be known as Sodomia.
#15 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:01 pm
Sodomisia is more apt, don’t you think?
#16 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:01 pm
Opts, should be Sodomysia!
#17 by digard on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:02 pm
With all due reservations, this starts to look like a real-life conspiracy story.
Nobody talks about Baginda these days. Baginda is as good as out. But strangely enough, he doesn’t clear his mind. He kicks doors, but shuts up. What is it that he knows that prevents him from saying it loud. By now I am quite sure he is innocent. But something is there to keep him silent.
On the other side, we have 2 people outdoing one another at confessing to the killing. What is it that makes them so hell-bent to be regarded as murderers?
Then we have RPK, who seems to know that quite a different set of people actually did it. This questions the motive of the other two even more.
Now we have Bala, who is under visible duress having been a guest of PDRM, retracting everything that he said yesterday, and nobody saw a gun pointed at his head during the press conference. He was on the calm side yesterday. What is it that he got to know last night, and creates visible stress in him, a former police officer and currently a private investigator?
I tend not to believe the meet-the-eye-stories here; there must be something of a different character. Something that kind of disturbs everyone who has seen it so much that he behaves like under a spell.
I don’t think it is an obvious ‘thing’. Let us assume for a moment Najib was implicated, just as assumption. Why would that make Baginda not try to save his hide? Bala said so yesterday, so why would it distress him if he came to know that it was true, last night? Could unseen hands really threaten the hell out of tens of people, from the IGP to AG, Baginda, Bala into compliance? I am not so sure.
#18 by limkamput on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:03 pm
Whatever lah rainbow, Analisia also can, sounds like Australia. We want to be first world country right?
#19 by limkamput on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:13 pm
We have a group of bunkum running the country – no skill, no knowledge, no expertise, no moral character, no integrity, no personality, nothing. We are doomed.
#20 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:18 pm
YB Nizar is cool.. a total malaysian. Anyone can have conversation regardless of language, he speaks most. He is not a MP yet..
LGE is just one of the DPMs.. we still have Husam. Everyone can see those who really serve the community regardless of race or creed.. The same name will come out every time news on community service done appear in the web.
With Dsai, we will surely see the ministry under proper person. To reform a department, changes must start from the top. With a clean brain, the body will work the best.
#21 by year of snake on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:18 pm
This is becoming like a circus with clowns and acrobats. I just wonder who is the Ringmaster?
#22 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:28 pm
I imagine being the DAP and looking at my political coalition partners, the PKR & PAS.
PKR is plagued with potential court cases from UMNO’s camp, making them unable to concentrate & focus on forging a strong united front against the BN.
PAS is vocally voicing out for Islamic values, and Islamic State, and already calling for curbs on a simple issue such as a musical concert. What else if they do indeed become the government of Malaysia?
And DAP? Like it or not, the party is basically Chinese based party and so cannot expect to have one of their MPs being the PM of Malaysia. It strives for the one “Malaysian” concept, but the PAS will not want that and even the PKR is still murky over this issue.
Held so loosely and fragilely, I really do not see how the alliance can become a strong united front to bring down the BN. With strong support from us Malaysians, yes the Opposition can and will win in a fresh election held now. But after winning the election, I expect there will be a hell lot of Who, What, & Where in forming our new government. In the ensuring ruckus and uncertainties, we Malaysians will be made to suffer yet again.
I only hope that we do not wake up from all that change to find that the military has become our government of Malaysia.
#23 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:30 pm
Rainbowseahorse, i agree, PKR or DSAI may have too much to fend off being former Umno etc.
Why dont we all go for Nizar. If you have seen him on tv or you tube, you would be impressed. I think he is the man…
#24 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:40 pm
Thinking over my earlier thoughts, here’s not a too far fetch senario of Malaysia future.
The military takes over West Malaysia and cutting loose the States of Sabah & Sarawak.
The Sourthern Philippines Moro immediately swarm Sabah with their people (which is not difficult given the large numbers of them being there already).
Sarawak declares their independance and will be dominated by the super rich & powerful Chinese conglomerates.
So there, then everybody gets what they want…except the ex-Malaysians, of course!
#25 by Godson on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:41 pm
Hey 9to5,
You got pretty good answers there.
At least helps me clear my question mark spinning up my head.
:)
#26 by yog7948 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:43 pm
“I only hope that we do not wake up from all that change to find that the military has become our government of Malaysia”
nobody will like that, even the military people.. they only come in if DYMM Agong say so. Then we still can sort out all the mess created by these politicians if YM Raja Nazrin take charge of the National council..
There are still some sincere government officers and staffs out there, who are now under depression having corrupted superiors. They will come and help out to make things right again. If everyone can abide by constitution as it originally was, there should not be any problems.
#27 by mingshing on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:46 pm
rainbowseahorse…polis cakap jangan….
#28 by budak on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:46 pm
actually both sides he also kena…
i believe a hidden hand behind the revelation suppression…
Najis scared till terkencing liao…
#29 by cto on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:47 pm
limkamput Says:
Today at 15: 44.33 (1 hour ago)
i have a big problem, my hands are icy cold. Can I make an appointment to see DPM tonite in his house? I need advice. I don’t know what to do anymore.
———————-
Sure you can. Just be careful of the rear gunner. :)
#30 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:58 pm
But yog7948, do you seriously think there will be an orderly, or at least a semblance of order, in the transition of power?..i.e. if the opposition EVER gets round to forming a united front to topple the BN.
There are just too many skeletons to hide in the BN, particularly in UMNO’s cupboard. The new government will have a very difficult and next to impossible task of taking control of power, whiles keeping law & order in Malaysia. Have you seen how our police is being run these days? Mafia comes to mind whenever I see their boss goes on TV.
One thing we can be very sure of if there is a change in our government. UMNO will not relinquish power without a good fight. There will be chaos, widespread violence, and possibly anarchy. That road will be a long and rocky one to travel, with many hills & mountains to climb, and many rivers to cross.
So, are we Malaysians ready and willing to travel that road? I think I am, but still……!
#31 by harmanamri on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:59 pm
Retraction of SD by Bala was necessary to prevent the motion by LKS from being debated in Parliament. Now the Speaker can reject the motion because the SD has been retracted.
#32 by harmanamri on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 4:59 pm
Retraction of SD by Bala was necessary to prevent the motion by LKS from being debated in Parliament. Now the Speaker can reject the motion because the SD has been retracted.
#33 by harmanamri on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 5:00 pm
Truth of the contents of the first SD does not matter. In any case the police has promised to investigate BOTH SDs.
#34 by stjames on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 5:02 pm
rainbowseahorse said: “That road will be a long and rocky one to travel, with many hills & mountains to climb, and many rivers to cross. ”
For a moment i thought you were doing a bryan adams love ballad.
#35 by rainbowseahorse on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 5:03 pm
Yah, sort of like that song “long and winding road” yah!
#36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 July 2008 - 6:13 pm
limkamput Says:
Today at 15: 58.34 (2 hours ago)
I say let’s call in the United Nations…”
This blog could do, I suppose, with a nincompoop moment now and then. Just don’t clog it with too much poop though.
#37 by passerby on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 8:01 am
Yes. The United Nations can also question AAB about the food for oil issue at the same time and collect back the money for the poor Iraqi.
#38 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:12 am
undergrad2 aka best of both worlds,
we are all nincompoops. only a greater nincompoop will not know he/she is one. Go read nincompoop’s blog at:
limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com
#39 by lopez on Saturday, 5 July 2008 - 11:08 pm
thanks to the colonials they gave us laws, but we have not paid our subscription for the last 20 years, thks to doc, now we have bolihland versions of many laws , the practice it self not vary distant from in don neighborhood
So who says the potlitcians never like the colonials, they were taught of the benefits of law and how to use them to their advantage.
And only in boilhland…hey we did not subscribe for last 20 years you know…so dont compare …we are too far away now for what is prevailing
Change , they say and now after so many months ,
#40 by hongsichuan on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 5:22 pm
# cto Says:
July 4th, 2008 (3 days ago) at 08: 48.50
“For someone that did not follow the case, you seem to have quite a few comments. You need to get out a bit more before you start postulating and speculating.
Even if you do not follow the case, surely you must know that this case has dragged on far beyond what’s reasonable.
” a prawn got hurt in a battle between whales”?? Wow, that’s a new one. Never heard that one before. Never mind, that’s only a shrimp.”
As for the comments I made, they were not on the trial for the murder case (which I did not really follow earlier on). I was commenting on the motivation behind the SD. Now we know there is another SD.
***” a prawn got hurt in a battle between whales”?? Wow, that’s a new one. Never heard that one before….****
Now you heard of it.
#41 by hongsichuan on Monday, 7 July 2008 - 11:01 pm
Now with SD2… not only have you heard it but you have only seen it happening!