All eyes on Parliament – everyone asking, confidence or not?

All eyes are on Parliament, with everyone asking, will there be a no confidence vote or not, although there is no such motion in the Order Paper.

However, as I had blogged last Friday, it is not necessary to have a proper motion of no confidence to create a “no confidence” vote in Parliament on the Prime Minister and the government-of-the-day.

This is the reason for the buzz and excitement in the House, with the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi sitting through the entire Dewan Rakyat sitting since question time up to now (12.40 pm) which has never happened before, especially as the Prime Minister did not stand up to answer the two questions addressed to the Prime Minister during question time.

I am sure the Prime Minister, Cabinet Ministers and veteran parliamentarians are aware that the motion moved by Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Shahrir Abdul Samad seeking support for the government’s measures over food, oil and commodities price increases, including the reduction of oil subsidies, will become a “no confidence motion” if it is defeated.

It has even been speculated that the real reason for the motion on price increases today is to provide an opportunity to demonstrate that the Prime Minister enjoys a parliamentary majority, an indirect way of showing that he still commands confidence in Parliament.

I do not doubt that the Prime Minister has still the numbers in Parliament to get the government motion passed today, although the front-bench seems to be on tenterhooks. But any time, when a government bill or government motion is defeated, particularly when on a substantive issue, then it would tantamount to a no confidence motion!

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:59 pm

BN’s corrupt administration is based on that of Frederick II of Prussia (1740-1786) whose quotes include:

A king is the first servant and first magistrate of the state.

A man who can, in cold blood, hunt and torture a poor, innocent animal, cannot feel much compassion for the distress of his own species.

Don’t forget your great guns, which are the most respectable arguments of the rights of kings.

I begin by taking. I shall find scholars later to demonstrate my perfect right.

2. #2 by Ah Hong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:12 pm

golden chance created by BN for PR. show hand!

3. #3 by bentoh on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:13 pm

Uncle Kit,

Please make sure that the Opposition doesn’t oppose for the sake of opposing…

I personally think the motion is nonsense because the government did not consult before hand…

I agree that the subsidy will have to go one day, but the government should request to appoint a parliamentary committee in looking over the issue… and together with the government and professionals we look through the possible way to reduce the subsidy but also reduce the damage to minimum…

Minister Shahrir Samad has beautifully lamented the motion in such a good name to, review the subsidies in order to correctly channel the money to the poor…

but what kind of measure the government took to really help the poor? No thus far…

I would want to highlight that these are the real reason to oppose the motion which is non other than a wayang…

To oppose for the sake of voting no-confidence is unfavourable… :)

4. #4 by k1980 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:47 pm

Botak Yong brought down Pairin’s PBS govt in 1995. Can he bring down BN in 2008?
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/images/stories/2008june2/yongtecklee_june20.jpg

5. #5 by PHUAKL on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:47 pm

Please keep us continuously posted on the latest developments in the Dewan Rakyat.

Nice to hear that our PM is working hard to earn the salary we pay him through our tax-payer ringgit!

6. #6 by Godfather on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:49 pm

Oppose the BN motion as being too little too late.

7. #7 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:50 pm

Don’t be ‘badawied’ by Shahrir. Yeah, read his lips!

8. #8 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:55 pm

The PM wants to let all Malaysian know that whatever he did was supported by majority of the MPs without going into the details as usual i.e. MPs might support cutting subsidies but it should be done gradually with other measures throwing into the whole package to reduce the impacts etc. , but as all of us will know, the BN medias will spin it to sound like MPs supported his measures without the BUTs.

9. #9 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:58 pm

In everything, dont go over the board!!! too much of anything e.g. subsidies or sugar intake etc will not be good for us!!!

10. #10 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:07 pm

The right approach for the govt should be, subsidising whatever needs to be subsidised which should not lead to too much dependency by certain group of people or misuse or wastage etc that will make our country losing out economically or our sovereignty in the long run!!!

11. #11 by yhsiew on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:13 pm

These days the Opposition and DSAI repeatedly make the claim that there would be a no-confidence-motion and defections from BN MPs.

I suggest that they make very sure these things really happen before making such a claim, otherwise they will lose their credibility and the rakyat will get tired of hearing “Wolf, wolf, wolf”.

12. #12 by pkrisnin on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:13 pm

YB,
    Opposition will need to support gov. on some issue, recently I heard petrol station owner are planing to strike for some BS reason. Please support the PM in if he decide to take action against these station owners, who mostly filthy rich Datuk.

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:29 pm

Do it soonest in order to end the suffering of the people

14. #14 by riversandlakes on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:37 pm

But any time, when a government bill or government motion is defeated, particularly when on a substantive issue, then it would tantamount to a no confidence motion!

YEAH!

15. #15 by lakilompat on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:38 pm

“suffering of the people”

Childrens what do they get?

16. #16 by 7even Sins on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:48 pm

Those BN … who siphoned the country’s money and cheat the Rakyat should be condemned and double burned n grilled in hell even they have “INSAF” before they die. How can sinners be pardoned for all sins and evil deeds just in split second before they die…? I wonder whether they gonna wrap all those dirty & sinful money, share certificates inside the “kain karpan” before burying themselves. No matter how many tons of those sinful money they stole from Rakyat, the ultimate resting place will be just that tiny “Liang” and not the Taj Mahal sized-wonder. Those who eat chili should feel hot themselves. If they were clean, they should have feel indifferent in any remark in any blogs and even u-tube…!!!

17. #17 by Tantech on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 3:13 pm

I pity those BN fellas who have to toe-the-line. So now we have reasons to believe that they are happy to increase oil price.

18. #18 by yog7948 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 3:31 pm

“Malaysia — to whom does it belong? To Malaysians. But who are Malaysians? I hope I am, Mr Speaker, Sir. But sometimes, sitting in this chamber, I doubt whether I am allowed to be a Malaysian. This is the doubt that hangs over many minds, and … [once] emotions are set in motion, and men pitted against men along these unspoken lines, you will have the kind of warfare that will split the nation from top to bottom and undo Malaysia.”

“If they (Malaysia) would just educate the Chinese and Indians, use them and treat them as their citizens, they can equal us (Singapore) and even do better than us.” – Lee Kwan Yew

“the national leaders tend to look for a scapegoat when faced with a desperate crisis situation” and use racial tactics to fill their “empty stomach”. – Musa Hitam

“We do not wish to rob other people of their rights. But let no one try to rob us of our rights.”-TDM

Ponder these while waiting for sept 16.. The New Dawn

19. #19 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:16 pm

just keep on fighting you politicians…..keep on fighting….until the demise of our beloved malaysia….

20. #20 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:21 pm

while all u useless son of a b***** politicians grumbles and bicker at each other…. somewhere gangs of youths are stalking and robbing someone out there. Even our homes are no longer safe. Carjackings are rampant….gangs comes with parangs storm into coffee shops and restaurants robbing patrons and owners of their belongings….even pizza huts are not sparred….we have crossed the line of no return….thanks to the rebellous spirit of YB KIT

21. #21 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:26 pm

If the vote is through secret ballot.. I bet the motion will be defeated anything…

With secret ballot, Najib the whipped cannot whip anyone.. right? why the word whip or chief whip is used.. sound sadistic..

Botak Yong huh? First time I heard this botak thing.. the last botak hero I heard when I was young is Botak Chin!

The cow has eaten all our green in Sabah and Sarawak, it is time to return the MILK to Sabah and Sarawak… Read my post and picture here

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/06/more-milk-please.html

Shiok Guy

22. #22 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:28 pm

Blogger please link the picture to your BLOG to support the return of Milk to Sabah and Sarawak..

No Copy right needed..No back Link Needed.. Just link the picture or download and upload to yours blog..

this is the image URL
    http://bp0.blogger.com/_qROn_wmLMas/SF3gus07QEI/AAAAAAAADqY/jDeG6VyD8eA/s400/More-Milk-Please.jpg

Shiok Guy

23. #23 by Godfather on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:32 pm

lextcs:

When your UMNO masters steal and we complain, you term us as “rebellious”. When your UMNO lackeys – the Police, the AG’s Chambers, the ACA – fail in their jobs, you say that the fault lies with the Opposition. Apa-lah, look at yourself in the mirror. Even the shame on your face is the fault of others.

Stealing is a hard habit to break.

24. #24 by Godfather on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:34 pm

Even though the Shahrir motion was carried earlier today, we should continue to press on. Let the BN goons tremble or think twice every time they move a motion – lest their own motion gets defeated as a sign of rebellion against Badawi. Keep them on their toes, and keep them on the straight and narrow.

25. #25 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:41 am

I hope Kit Siang will also continue to press the government on the issue of IPCMC in view of recent reports about gross police misconduct and abuse of power.

Itsn’t it scarry that police in our country can rape (the case of a 17-year-old Malay girl), force detainees to perform oral sex (the case involving several Indians), use C4 on ordinary people, force detainees to do nude squat etc.

Yet the same police force is so powerless in its fight againts rising crimes.

26. #26 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:42 am

We have not seen any positive change in PDRM. Abdullah has failed his promise.

27. #27 by Lee Wang Yen on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:43 am

oops…’against’

28. #28 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:16 am

Kit:

I was reading excerpts on the Parliament proceedings last night, and I was disappointed with the issues brought up by DAP reps which were either incomplete or inaccurate.

The inaccuracies allowed people like the Kera Jantan to mock at the DAP reps e.g. LGE brought up the issue of the Petronas private jet and was told off that Petronas explores in relatively inaccessible locations. For heavens’ sake, a Fortune 500 company has every right to a corporate jet, especially one that make billions. It’s losers like Badawi that needs to give up the A320.

Another issue raised was the gas subsidies “in favour of IPPs”. As I mentioned many times before, there is no such thing as subsidies in favour of IPPs. It’s TNB that gets the benefit of the below-market gas price and that benefits the consumers as the TNB tariffs are about the lowest in the region because of this. Jeff Ooi never got this right and still insisted on raising the issue, which predictably got mocked by Shahrir.

Guys – know what you are saying, and seek help from those who know if you are not sure.

29. #29 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:00 am

Well, after the sensational announcement by Yong, and subsequently his Deputy “crying” plea to the PM not to take action against SAPP & Yong, looks like meverything fizzle out to NOTHING!
    The two SAPP’s MPS, after losing their balls over the weekend, are hiding somewhere in Sabah and Yong is…well…being Yong!

Talk about anti-climax to highly anticipated event!

To Yong and SAPP MPs, if you are not willing to take the heat, stay at home and do not give your supporters false hopes and more lies!

30. #30 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:00 am

Well, after the sensational announcement by Yong, and subsequently his Deputy “crying” plea to the PM not to take action against SAPP & Yong, looks like everything fizzle out to NOTHING!
    The two SAPP’s MPS, after losing their balls over the weekend, are hiding somewhere in Sabah and Yong is…well…being Yong!

Talk about anti-climax to highly anticipated event!

To Yong and SAPP MPs, if you are not willing to take the heat, stay at home and do not give your supporters false hopes and more lies!

31. #31 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:54 am

THE country’s poverty rate will increase from 3.7% to 24.3%, thanks to mullah dollah
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2275641/Article/index_html

32. #32 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:16 pm

Price increases of 40.7% for petrol, and 63.2% for diesel, a record for Msia book of records, one of the many achievements from AAB lead BN !

33. #33 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:21 pm

Prices already increased, then ask for support, what a JOKE ! and A WASTE OF TIME! Msia’s unique way?

34. #34 by allout on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:25 pm

Dear YB,

RPK have blast PR, I think he is right. PR is not ready yet to rule, there still a lot of hard work for you guys. Priority is to built a strong foundation for PR within yours own party members, the back door method cannot be sustainable.

Have a good day.

35. #35 by lupus on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:39 pm

Speak of record, I am interested to see those raises make it into the Msia book of records ! Afterall, Malaysia boleh!

36. #36 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:54 pm

PM has more to worry about than the vote of no confidence. A statutory declaration signed by Raja Petra on June 18 had implicated Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, his deputy Najib Abdul Razak and wife Rosmah Mansor in the Altantuya case.

Lim Kit Siang said regarding an emergency motion in Parliament which was was rejected, “The credibility and legitimacy of the Abdullah premiership and government will suffer a MORTAL blow if the prime minister, deputy prime minister and Rosmah continue to remain silent on Raja Petra’s bombshell allegations in his statutory declaration,” .

37. #37 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:46 pm

“while all u useless son of a b***** politicians grumbles and bicker at each other…. somewhere gangs of youths are stalking and robbing someone out there. Even our homes are no longer safe. Carjackings are rampant….gangs comes with parangs storm into coffee shops and restaurants robbing patrons and owners of their belongings….even pizza huts are not sparred….we have crossed the line of no return….thanks to the rebellous spirit of YB KIT”
    — lextcs

It is actually the fault of the BN govt that Malaysia’s police force cannot be relied upon to curb crime and are never made accountable for their incompetency. AAB has been dragging his feet over the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) Bill proposed by the Royal Police Commission.

So if you want to talk about the rising crime rate, blame it on AAB and his joke of a Govt.

38. #38 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:47 pm

Annual income twenty pounds, annual expenditure 19 pounds 19 shillings and six pence, result happiness. Annual income 20 pounds, annual expenditure 20 pounds and six pence, result misery,” said Charles Dickens’ Wilkins Micawber in the novel David Copperfield.

39. #39 by newchief on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:17 pm

if i as a malaysian, is buying a foreign product which malaysia doesn’t have, i don’t mind paying for the extra. However, i really can’t accept the fact that i have to pay the extra if its a malaysian product like fuel and all made in malaysia car .

this bodowi & his stupid economics should instead sell the product at high price to foreigners & take that that markup profits into their pockets instead of stealing it easily from what the rakyat has been enjoying so far !!

40. #40 by newchief on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 3:34 pm

My friend told me a story. it goes like this.

Before the shocking fuel hike, he managed to take his wife & 2 children to have KFC once a month. He was so happy to see them eating happily the yummy KFC though it cuts off a partial amount of ringgit in his paycheack but it was all worth it as a family.

However ,after the fuel hike, he told him that he can only do so once in two months probably. He explain that things are more expensive so need to change life style ( as acording to stupid PM, DPM , Shahrir & other BN say). Indeed , the life style has to be changed & this is what happen.

my children are now becoming less attentive to me or talking to them is not as merry as before . Wat is worst is that one of my children says i pembohong – sudah janji tapi esok, another story!!! I felt like i am like bodowi!!! This devil made me become like him!!! When i c my family faces, they look so down & disappointed with the feelings of unhappiness all over their faces but wat can i do?? Bodowi already made up his mind not to revert the price hike decision . For this, i will HATE HIM FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE for helping me to make a family to become UNHAPPY instead of HAPPY just bcs he says ” CHANGE LEFE STYLE ”

After hearing this story, I also feel said for my friend. I try to say I will sponsor them so that his kids will be happy but that will make the father’s position even worst & besides, i also no less better than him so i just keep queit & feel sorry for him. I jz hope his wife will not run away for another man jz bcz he can’t fulfill his family’s needs that much anymore. If that really happens, it is all BN Fault 4 rakyat to change life. SO Easy To Say for them. Let’s change gaji with them to see whether they agree to test our sufferings or not. TO HELL WITH BN YANG SOKONG FUEL HIKES .

41. #41 by lopez on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 7:07 pm

How can you concentrate when your backyard is on fire, and your members too, best tactic save your self, grab what you can and get out,….if all fails go on vacations for good…….

Who cares , it is a global phenomena did they see it in discovery or national geograghical…..

Turun padang they say in these times of trouble as face by the people but where are they now….busy signing deeds or transfers or what…..where are the ceramah to keep people inform, where are the ceramah to give hope if there is any to be done
    where is the face to face talk, where is the sincerity of care as it was impressed and empty talk

Sorry for those who lacks english , such informative programs does not wait for followers of the counter contemporaries.