Emergency debate in Parliament on Raja Petra’s allegations on Altantuya murder

I have given notice for an emergency debate tomorrow on Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s allegations on the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder case.

My notice for an adjournment of Parliament tomorrow reads:

“That the House gives leave to MP for Ipoh Timor YB Lim Kit Siang to adjourn the House under S.O. 18 (1) to discuss a definite matter of urgent public importance – the statutory declaration dated June 18, 2008 by blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin implicating the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister’s wife over the case of murder of Mongolian beauty Altantuya Shaariibuu.

“Raja Petra alleged that he had been reliably informed that between about 10pm on October 19, 2006 and early hours of the following day, the night Altantuya was murdered, three other people were also present at the scene of crime, viz:

(a) Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, wife of the DPM;

(b) Acting Colonel Aziz Buyong (then Lt. Col) a C4 expert;

(c) Aziz’s wife, Norhayati, described as ‘one of Rosmah’s ADC’.

“Raja Petra alleged that Aziz was the person who placed the C4 on various parts of Altantuya’s body witnessed by Rosmah and Norhayati.

“He said these three people have thus far not been implicated in the murder nor called as witnesses by the prosecution in the ongoing trial at the Shah Alam High Court. He was aware that it is a crime not to reveal evidence that may help the police in its investigation of the crime.

“Raja Petra said he had been “reliably informed” that the Prime Minister has received a written report from military intelligence on the matter and which was handed over to his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin for safekeeping. One of the Rulers had also been briefed about the allegations.

“The credibility and legitimacy of the Abdullah premiership and government will suffer a mortal blow if the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah continue to remain silent on Raja Petra’s bombshell allegations in his statutory declaration.”

The Star today carried a report the police will be investigating into Raja Petra’s allegations. This does not in any way absolve the responsibility of the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Rosmah from making an immediate clarification on Raja Petra’s allegations, which is the basis for my notice for an emergency debate in Parliament.

The Star report today is as follows:

Cops to probe RPK’s claims

By LOURDES CHARLES

KUALA LUMPUR: Police will be calling up Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin to investigate allegations in his recent statutory declaration on purported facts related to the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan said the three individuals named in the document filed on June 18 would also be called up.

In the declaration, Raja Petra claimed that the trio – one of them a prominent woman – were present at the scene during the murder of the Mongolian translator in October 2006.

Copies of the two-paged declaration together with the identity of the trio have been posted on various blog sites.

In the document, Raja Petra said he was “reliably informed” of these allegations.

Musa said the matter could be sub judice as the Altantuya murder case was still being heard.
He also said Raja Petra must be “brave enough to face the consequences if he is bold enough” to make the allegations.

Meanwhile, the Attorney-General’s Chambers has lodged a police report against Raja Petra over the statutory declaration.

Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail said the allegations were “highly defamatory” and if found untrue, those making the allegations would have to face the consequences.
“We want to investigate because we want the truth. As far as I am concerned, we have to look at it seriously.”

“If it’s true, we will act accordingly. If not, the writer will be investigated,” he said, adding that the report was lodged in Putrajaya on Saturday.

Raja Petra said he expected to be called up.

He said he was bold enough to face the consequences.

1. #1 by lakilompat on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:41 pm

All these C4 i supposed are imported from France, and you must be well trained to install a C4, not ordinary theives can do. So far in Malaysia the most dangerous criminals are the Mamak Gang with M16 guns. Hence who is the mastermind behind C4?

After the case, Najis seems to go out less to purchase jet, and submarine.

2. #2 by nkeng11 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:47 pm

What does it take for the Police, AG and the PM to get it right?

Do they want God to come down and talk to them? Police reports seldom see the issue/s investigated and resolved to the satisfaction of the person aggrieved.

Now, RPK has a SD and yet they are dragging their legs. On small write up about “Sending Altantuya’s murderers to Hell”, the whole police contingent spend time and haul up RPK.

What is this? What is the meaning of this?

Do we need to protect people just because they are some politicians?

Are politicians above the law?

Do we have to wait at the traffice lights for 3 minutes just to wait for a mosquito to cross the road?

Do we have to build a Wesport for only few people to use?

Do we need to spend millions and never to recover it on some students whose interest is to play and go on playing without any serious attentionn to obtaining a useful university degree?

Do we need to continue accept stupid fuel price increase of 40 % and 63 % on petrol and diesel to get back 600+ ringgit a year.

Why can they increase less and forget about the rebate?

Who are they enriching?

Why can the politicians have the Raayats’ interest at heart rather than their own?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:50 pm

These are the most serious allegations against the highest office bearers of the nation! Will there be any cover up?

On another note, heartiest congratualtions to Mohd Zakry Abdul Latif and Mohd Fairuzizuan Mohd Tazari for their superb consistent performances against the best players of the world in front of badminton fans, without any 5 or 10% discount or advantage. Syabas!

If only all Malaysians, irrespective of race, can follow their positive, hard-working, and never-say-die attitude (without hiding behind the affirmative NEP shield and without demanding handicaps or discounts), we will be a truly great nation!

4. #4 by isahbiazhar on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:54 pm

We have to leave it to the police to investigate and come out with the truth.Though the trial is on any other supporting evidence might be useful.To have all these high flown dignatories insidethe scene reminds me of how the powerful can go to any extent to get rid of anybody who might bring out the truth.The police have no right to brush aside any incriminating evidence even though it involves those in the government.

5. #5 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 3:31 pm

The Cyclone Twister has arrived with even more twists!

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Deputy PM Mohd Najib Abdul Razak cannot remain silent any longer now that Raja Petra’s Statutory Declaration has somewhat implicate them.

Whether Raja Petra’s SD holds water or not does not matter, but as the nation’s leaders – the PM and Deputy PM, they must have a reputation that’s whiter than white and come out clean, and be seen to be clean in the interest of Malaysia.

RPK’s Statutory Declaration obviously does not go down well for the world to see and definitely not for investors confidence when we have the nation’s No.1 & No.2 and wife of the No.2 implicated in a bizzare murder of a foreigner – Mongolian woman Altantuya Shaariibuu.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:00 pm

The thing that is very glaring is this. With the facts of the case, why is Najib, Rosmah, her staff, people in the defense department have even YET been questioned and statements taken by the police? Its clear avoidance. So

Why avoid? The best way to clear their name is to investigate and make it public in the trial. The more things are not done, the more the Malaysian public sees it as clearer guilt.

Frankly I have already made up my mind they are guilty by the effort to avoid..

7. #7 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:04 pm

In Boleh land, even the former DPM DSAI and many judges, including Lord President were subjected to injustice, not to mention the non-supreme races & the poors and helpless of the supreme race!!! so it is not surprising that RPK might be silenced by all means in order to protect themselves from prosecuted. But RPK was not the withness in this instance, it was someone else, who is this someone else that provided all the damaging information if it is true??? is there any similarity to former health minister sex tape case??? i.e. to prevent him from moving up??? May God bless our country and prevent it from falling into the hands of the evil ones!!!

8. #8 by badak on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:07 pm

AG Chambers to investigate RPK because its highly defamatory.My question is, since when AG CHAMBERS investigate a third party.The 3 persons named by RPK got nothing to do with the goverment.Defamatory cases are civil cases.
    The 3 person name by RPK must first make a police report.Then file a civil suit.
    Yes one of them is a goverment servant ,but so far RPK has not make a report againts the goverment.All he said was that the court had not call this 3 persons as witnesess or were they implicated in the case.

9. #9 by badak on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:26 pm

Just heard that Post Malaysia SDN BHD is paid RM15 for each RM625 rebate given out.WAHHHH this kind of profit my company also want.To bad im not an UMNO crony.

10. #10 by Mr Smith on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 4:39 pm

It is very unlikely the motion will be allowed. The Speaker will always come out with gobbledygook to squash the any attempt to embarrass the PM and DPM.
    The IGP and AG seem to be interested in questioning RPK to get to the truth . I think when the “truth of the matter” is they to probably know the truth.
    Then why should he threaten RPK? His statement is confrontational.

11. #11 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:05 pm

only a hudud law will clean up the whole mess in our country….

12. #12 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:05 pm

PAS its time to act and act fast!

13. #13 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:06 pm

Ya, only hudud will shut your …lextcs

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:11 pm

100% Your request for a debate will be denied’
    Almost sure… police will say…after talking to RPK..he did not reveal anything{as expected }…..no reason to investigated on his report….no case against Rosmah.
    They will say….if police should act based on sworn statement of anyone…and that person do not reveal concrete informations to them…upon questioning him…there cannot act……no evidences!
    RPK is simply…. a very brave special Malaysian….that needs all Malaysians to support him.

15. #15 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:14 pm

only a criminal would be afraid of hudud laws……r u a kamput criminal?

16. #16 by helpless on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:15 pm

DPM,PM and SIL shall be charged for conspiration if the RP’s SD do not get their clarification.

Wish Malaysia’s corruption index will improve to No. 1 with the truth of the charge.

17. #17 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:20 pm

This is going to be interesting in the next few days.,,
    Will it be just silent off?
    I most country those implicated whether true or not, shall step down so the investigation can be done without interfere..

Here in boleh land… well.. boleh la

Shiok Guy

18. #18 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:28 pm

lextcs Says:

Today at 17: 05.16 (13 minutes ago)
    only a hudud law will clean up the whole mess in our country….

———————————–

It got nothing to do with the laws!!! You can have the best laws in town, but if it is never carried out with justice, it is just a law in the text book!!!

19. #19 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:31 pm

suppose we put raja P as our judge….but he is only a man…..fear God laws……

20. #20 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:40 pm

let PAS govern and those laws will be practice to the full effect……see how low crimes are in those hudud laws countries

21. #21 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:43 pm

What rubbish is this – “suppose we put raja P as our judge….but he is only a man…..fear God laws……”. ???? You can’t even write one proper sentence so just shut your a**.

China executes those who take bribes, is corruption there any better? We execute drug traffickers, is drug trafficking here any better? [deleted]

22. #22 by lextcs on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:50 pm

well….go see for yourselves whether you can be a criminal in china or spore….at least u know that if u steal u dont die but your hands are chopped off….fine if u want to take the chance …but dont get caught….that way….less criminals…less fear….get it nimkamput

23. #23 by riversandlakes on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:03 pm

Go Uncle Lim for the truth!

24. #24 by raven77 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:10 pm

What Mahathir has sown over 20 years, we today reap….

25. #25 by digard on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:13 pm

It is actually getting amazing now:
    The AG drops his face mask another time, and declares the bad chap outright: “highly defamatory” and files a police report. Had RPK said, the C4-expert had been me, the AG would not even have bothered to notice. Keep the AG under surveillance, he will have to answer to few embarrassing questions in future!

lextcs, what a mindless statement! Do you think the means of punishment would have done any difference? Do you really believe Hudud Law could guarantee miscarriages of justice when the influential few stick together to protect a prominent figure? How? See!
    And the punishment is not the deterrent neither; the culprits know all too well what to expect in the hereafter.

26. #26 by m.hwang on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:27 pm

“Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail said the allegations were “highly defamatory” and if found untrue, those making the allegations would have to face the consequences.”

Looks like the AG has already decided? What a farce!

27. #27 by kun9999 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:50 pm

All law are written by human therefore sure contain loop holes or injustice.

Just like the Malaysia constitution (which is the Malaysia supreme law) written that all citizen of Malaysia having the right profess and practice his own religion but what i can see many citizen of Malaysia are being punish for being apostate, so where is the law in that?

28. #28 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:52 pm

“Whether Raja Petra’s SD holds water or not does not matter, but as the nation’s leaders – the PM and Deputy PM, they must have a reputation that’s whiter than white and come out clean, and be seen to be clean in the interest of Malaysia.” Jong

That’s right.

Certain faces are now whiter than white!

29. #29 by Godfather on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:23 pm

lextcs:

UMNO’s version of laws is very simple: It does not apply to them. Be careful of what you wish for – you may lose your arms and legs for minor offences, and they will still be able to get away with murder.

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:25 pm

“AG Chambers to investigate RPK because its highly defamatory.My question is, since when AG CHAMBERS investigate a third party.The 3 persons named by RPK got nothing to do with the goverment.Defamatory cases are civil cases.” badak

Sec. 499 Penal Code. Criminal defamation.

31. #31 by dawsheng on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:43 pm

If the first lady in waiting is innocent, RPK could have been arrested already.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

“Frankly I have already made up my mind they are guilty by the effort to avoid..” Bigjoe

In the face of allegations, you may choose to deny what is alleged or remain silent.

In a court of law, silence is not evidence of guilt. An accused in court may exercise his right to remain silent which is his constitutional right to free speech. You cannot take that away from the accused who is presumed innocent until proven guilty. In a jury trial, the trial judge has to address the issue and give his direction to the jury that it is the right of the accused to remain silent and not take the witness in his own defense, and that they are not to interpret this as guilt.

It makes sense under certain circumstances for the accused to remain silent in order to avoid damaging cross examination by the prosecutor.

But there are no such rules in the court of public opinion.

The targets of RPK’s allegations must have been advised by their Dream Team to remain silent and maintain their silence. Anything they say will be evidence should they be charged later. We members of the public have tried them in the court of public opinion and have found them guilty.

33. #33 by dawsheng on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:45 pm

I think it is time the AG resign.

34. #34 by miketan142 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:54 pm

Lextcs,
    Hudud law was constitute during prophet’s period.
    1500 years later, you still want to be govern by such draconian laws ?
    Move on man my fren ..

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:14 pm

dawsheng Says:

Today at 19: 45.55 (18 minutes ago)
    I think it is time the AG resign.”

If he has any integrity and self-respect and any moral decency, he would have resigned a long time ago and make his living as defense lawyer. It must be a torture to wake up each morning and look at himself in the mirror. Once you taste power it is not easy to let go. He is likely to try to stay on when Pakatan takes over! This man has no shame!

36. #36 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:15 pm

lextcs, your english is not good enough to even understand what i am trying to tell you. so just shut your big mouth.

37. #37 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

Bombshells days apart…

GREAT TIMING!

38. #38 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:30 pm

Not just AG, it is almost every one. All BN members who are against the present government must belong to one of these categories:
    1. former PM or ministers;
    2. politicians who are already out of favour;
    3. politicians not given any positions.

Therefore those who hold positions and are in power now can’t really do the right things. Their pre-occupation is to sustain their positions, power and privileges.

I am losing hope of BN to manage. I am also fast losing hope of PK to effect change. We the people are scr*wed, just like everywhere else.

39. #39 by grace on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:41 pm

I have mu doubt that the police can do a good job. Simple case also buang case already. Withthis high profile case I believelagi no case

40. #40 by yhsiew on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

I am afraid the police will act in the trio’s favor coz they are known to be pro-government.

41. #41 by Puppy-Power on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

I can’t understand why PR isn’t making a fuss about it? It has been 3 days since RPK’s stat declaration. The MSM is more silent that a morbid funeral!

42. #42 by tourman53 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

Uncle Lim,
    I know you can do it.
    Save Malaysia!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IIBhGGJFs4

43. #43 by humanly on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:53 pm

In what way is Raja Petra’s SD subjudice to the ongoing trial?

44. #44 by choonchoy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:16 pm

If the DPM is innocent/and a gentleman, he should step down for the time being until the trial is over. Install and Acting DPM. But I guess that will happen when freezes over!!!

45. #45 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:37 pm

“step down”? You think he dares?

46. #46 by chaiong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:50 pm

Please go to “www.gutteruncensored.com” for more news on this Atantuya scandal ! You can also see her beautiful pictures!

47. #47 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:09 am

48. #48 by tunglang on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:10 am

RPK, UR one Hell of a B52!

It is so loud and clear:
    who are those highly suspected accessaries to this heinous MURDER!

It is so scary:
    people in high position & entrusted for our security
    capable of committing such crimes without a blink.

It is insecured:
    C4 will ‘kautim’ anyone who is a threat with
    “highly defamatory” evidence.

It is burning:
    our desire to see the wrongs brought to global justice
    (Malaysian rule of law is a mockery of Kedaulatan Undang-Undang)
    regardless of who.

RPK, we the Rakyat are watching, listening & talking.
    So is the whole-wide world!

May God be with U every step of the way to justice for all.

49. #49 by andymalaysia on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:12 am

Malaysia’s good name has been repeatedly dragged into the mud, thanks to the powers-to-be hiding in the shadow and uncompetence of the Badawi administration. Erection when it’s supposed to be an election, C4-ing affairs, horrendous disclosures on the infamous 4th floor, etc.

I long to see real people, as demonstrated by the Lim family, coming to power and taking hold of the steering mast, and leading us to a better future. The way that Badawi, Najib and Khairy has been bringing the country down to the dogs, the only way we can go pursuant to a change of leadership, is up!

50. #50 by mendela on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:24 am

Once it is in The Gutterpost, it means the whole world is watching it!

51. #51 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:42 am

Gasp!!! The secret informer is the ruler?

52. #52 by riversandlakes on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:55 am

The lady Ayantullah no matter how she lived, was a human being with a precious life. Isn’t that what Democracy teaches us?

May God bring the cruel human beings involved in her blown-to-pieces-via-C4-murder to justice. These are the true people who deserve to burn in Hell.

53. #53 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:36 am

Sub Judice Rule

The term sub judice literally means “under judicial consideration”. The sub judice rule is part of the law relating to contempt of court. The rule governs what public statements can be made about ongoing legal proceedings before, principally, the courts.
    The basis for the sub judice rule is that, in Ontario’s legal system, it is the role of the courts to deal with legal issues that are before it. The courts’ role should not be usurped by others making public statements about how these issues should be dealt with.

http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/legis/subjudicerule.asp

54. #54 by daryl on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:50 am

Where is “Eye on Malaysia” when you need it.. But, than again I might have misunderstood that because I visited that when I wen home end of last year not knowing what the hell is that. It was a dissapointment of course.
    Another word if you are to look for justice in BN government and PDRM you will be dissapointed. I am waiting for them to suprise me and if not please don’t wake me up….

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:05 am

““He said these three people have thus far not been implicated in the murder nor called as witnesses by the prosecution in the ongoing trial at the Shah Alam High Court. He was aware that it is a crime not to reveal evidence that may help the police in its investigation of the crime.”

No legal duty to report crime. Not an accessory after the fact for failing to report.

56. #56 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:27 am

Two trials-within-a-trial in relation to Sec. 27 of the Evidence Act.

1. Sirul Azhar leading the police investigations team to his apartment and to the discovery of personal items belonging to Altantuya.

2. Azilah had led the police to the crime scene and shown where the victim was shot and where she had been blown up after that.

Both are “fruits of the poisonous tree” !! Admissible or inadmissible in evidence?

57. #57 by observer on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 7:35 am

Uncle Kit, In my opinion those issues that is damning to the BN will not see the light, For Example your suggestion to use Shahrir ( Domestic Trade Ministry ) motion to move a No Confidence Vote on AAB is the recent case. We should change the method . must be in discreet mode.

58. #58 by miketan142 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:23 am

When asked how he felt, Dr Shaaribuu Setev replied ,
    the star report

”My two grandchildren always cry for their mother and my wife, who suffers from a mental disorder, always wakes up calling out our daughter’s name. That is my life now,” he said.

Our hearts should also goes to Dr Shaaribuu who has been brave and travelling numerous times here to seek justice for his daughter.
    Whoever been implicated should be brave to break their silence.

59. #59 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:31 am

Hey look at what happened to Tan Sri Khalid close aide. So, what is all this talk about a corruption free Pakatan Rakyat???

60. #60 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:38 am

Ah, RealWorld the UMNO poodle is back ! So now it is the tag team of RealWorld, Killer and Kasim Amat….hmmmm…..RealWorld, can I also get APs like your friend Shahrin ?

61. #61 by pgsilai on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:41 am

My heart goes out to him too when I read the Star this morning. At times I feel ashamed to live in this country, I am not sure about the rest of you. Allegations has been made, but till now why nobody summon Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, wife of the DPM ? Is the police force deaf n dumb?

Nkeng11 says :
    What does it take for the Police, AG and the PM to get it right?
    Do they want God to come down and talk to them? Even if the allegations are false why is the PM and DPM doing nothing about it? What kind of leaders are they? Not guts & no balls at all ! Proof to us that the 3 of them are innocent and speed up the trial , why delay it? Common don’t drag your feet.

62. #62 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:43 am

RealWorld/Kasim/Killer:

This is the transparent PR way of governance. Khalid’s aide is linked to a potentially corrupt case, and he is packed off. He can only return if he is cleared in a court of law. Look at the thieves in BN – a senior UMNO member is implicated in the Lingamgate case by none other than a royal commission, and he still moves around like nothing has happened.

Is the word “shame” in UMNO’s dictionary ? Like I said in various postings, stealing is a hard habit to break.

63. #63 by limkamput on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:47 am

real fake world, at least immediate actions were taken. What about corruption among BN people? They usually get promoted. Please BN people have no moral decency left to talk about others being corrupt, got it?

64. #64 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:50 am

“real fake world, at least immediate actions were taken. What about corruption among BN people? They usually get promoted. Please BN people have no moral decency left to talk about others being corrupt, got it?” – limkamput

Petty insults again? Is this the standard reaction amongst you lot??

Yes, yes, yes try to console yourself with “at least immediate actions were taken” line. You poor soul.

65. #65 by seage on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:59 am

HAhahaha!! Another joker. LKS blog really got infested by jokers man. But the best thing is that this joker either a schizo or a psycho or maybe even one with multiple personality. Nevertheless, keep it up RealWorld! Your posting never failed to make our day! HAHAHA!!

66. #66 by lextcs on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:15 am

Hudud laws are deterrent instruments to minimise or prevent rampant total disregard of public justice. It aims to present criminals punished for specific crimes (eg stealing – cutting of hands) as a showpiece for ‘criminals in waiting’ that such a consequences awaits these group of people. Are we afraid because we fall into such group of ‘criminals in waiting’ people? If we dont rob, steal, rape, lusts, etc etc why should we be afraid? But we do beat the trafic lights, randomly park our cars everywhere, spit our virus filled saliva everywhere, etc etc…..So just wait for someone someday to pounce on you and family, holding you guys at ransom, only begging for mercy from someone who is high on drugs…..that way you will change your thinking.

67. #67 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:16 am

godfather,UMNO has a license to kill,we aint!

now tat they noe tat live is tough,the dbkl and pbts will issue more licenses for the gomen servants to be hawkers,but previously,there were thousands of especially non-malays hawkers applications were rejected agian,again and again……..dun noe wat kind of f*uking system they are practising,all the time ‘kulitfications’ is the guideline!

68. #68 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:24 am

Yup, UMNO got licence to kill, licence to steal, licence to tax the rakyat, licence to cheat the rakyat.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

69. #69 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:25 am

LEXTCS:

So, the issuance of APs which go to specific UMNOputras is a clear act of theft, and hence should the UMNOputras have their hands chopped off ?

70. #70 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:26 am

“HAhahaha!! Another joker. LKS blog really got infested by jokers man. But the best thing is that this joker either a schizo or a psycho or maybe even one with multiple personality. Nevertheless, keep it up RealWorld! Your posting never failed to make our day! HAHAHA!!” – seage

How ironic. Those in the Opposition always claimed that they are for free press and speech. But here, just because my statements dont agree with some here, the reaction is the standard fare – petty insults.

So dear seage, say what you want, infact throw at me all your petty insults because other than petty insults, you are nothing but a strange creature.

71. #71 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:28 am

“Yup, UMNO got licence to kill, licence to steal, licence to tax the rakyat, licence to cheat the rakyat.” – Godfather

… and PR in 100 days are already starting to steal and rob. :)

72. #72 by seage on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:46 am

Thanks for making my day RealWorld. :) Btw, I am not an opposition, I just love to read jokes. Besides, who IS opposition? Given 5 states has been won by PR… It only makes one ponder how smart is RealWorld. I don’t know how to answer that, but I do know that RealWorld is definitely smart when it comes to joking HAHAHAH!!

73. #73 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:59 am

Dear seage,

Errr winning 5 states = not an Opposition??? Dude, very slowly take a count of the MPs from PR and then tally them against BN. use the calculator if that helps. And if you dont know how to use one … hmm, get your momma to help you along.

I am glad you enjoy laughing at yourself.

74. #74 by passerby on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:03 am

Looks like Malaysia has a new type of funeral service in addition to burial and cremation – blowing up and scatter your remain with C4! So anyone wanted to go off in style with a very big bang, please contact the Acting Colonel Aziz Buyong. Ha, ha, ha!

75. #75 by Jong on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:07 am

” … and PR in 100 days are already starting to steal and rob. ”

– that’s a very unfair statement! The Selangor Menteri Besar’s special officer Yahya Sahri was suspended pending ACA’s investigation. If that happens to BN, the ACA chief better think twice, three times and wait for instructions whether to proceed or drop the case.

See the difference between a responsible party and a party of thugs and thieves? Even alleged murders are still having a free run! They should be suspended too.

76. #76 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:09 am

“Looks like Malaysia has a new type of funeral service in addition to burial and cremation – blowing up and scatter your remain with C4! So anyone wanted to go off in style with a very big bang, please contact the Acting Colonel Aziz Buyong. Ha, ha, ha!” – passerby

After the blowing up, for cleaning up services do call PR’s Yahya Shari of Selangor MB’s aide as he has a few companies contracted to local authorities in Selangor.

:)

77. #77 by seage on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:33 am

Mommy Mommy, teach me how to use a calculator! I don’t know how to calculate the figures for PKFZ, ECM-Libra,etc. etc! Mommy help~!

78. #78 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:35 am

RealWorld:

You mean after all the mess that UMNO has created (through use of C4 or theft), we have to clean up for UMNO ? Nooooooo….let the rakyat clean up the mess once and for all through the ballot box.

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

Hahahahahaha

79. #79 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:37 am

Even the old fox Mahathir knows the extent of the rot under the Badawi regime. Some UMNOputras don’t since they are still part of the crony system.

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:42 am

RealWorld,

You’ve achieved rock star status on this blog. Keep it up!

81. #81 by tunglang on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:42 am

Hey RealWorld, your Joke stings like Hell. Same as those who committed this heinous crime on Altantuya. Maybe, you’re one of them, mentally, emotionally, spiritually. Got any C4 with you?

82. #82 by Seekjustice on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:42 am

Dear all,

Have just started a new blog, would be really happy, if you could share some sense on this.
    Check it out guys: youscrew.blogspot.com

Dear YB Lim, keep up the good work!

83. #83 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:43 am

Right is right, and wrong is wrong. If we bring back the independence of the ACA, the Judiciary and the AG’s Chambers, the UMNO thieves won’t be so bold. Right now, they are the ones who lie and cheat to continue their thieving ways.

Shame on you, UMNO. You are just digging a deeper hole for yourself through your efforts to cover your tracks.

84. #84 by PSM on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:44 am

I’m sure the Speaker will “block” the motion to debate this issue! No way is UMNO going to allow it (however, I hope I’m wrong).
    As for the Police conducting a “fair” investigation? Ya rite!
    Seriously, the AG’s Chambers has made a Police Report?! Doesn’t it show us once & for all who the AG works for?!
    God protect RPK & his family!

85. #85 by cheng on soo on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:46 am

This realworld is in fact lived in an unreal world! can only talk rubbish, realworld should appreciate his/her negative comments get published.
    In bn blogs, all negative comments will probably not be published at all ! Wake up! realworld, Jong had answer yr wild, baseless, accuation on PR

86. #86 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:56 am

At the outset, Badawi promised to print booklets explaining the AP Scandal, and the crooked bridge saga. Years later, nothing has happened. APs continue to be issued to UMNOputras. Then he promised to implement the IPCMC. Abuk pun tak ade. Then he promised, through Ong Tee Keat, to reveal all about the PKFZ bailout. Abuk pun tak ade.

Now he has promised judicial reforms – but the court of appeals President appointed by him with clear conflicts of interest still sits pretty. The Royal Commission on the lingamgate issue also implicated a senior member of Badawi’s cabinet, and this person still goes around flexing his muscles (or is it fat?) as though nothing has happened.

How long do you think the rakyat will tolerate this state of affairs ? Before the elections, RealWorld kept posting the UMNO line – how do you know that the Opposition can do better ? Well, we are halfway there after the elections, and we will not stop until the incompetents and the thieves in BN are booted out for good.

87. #87 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:00 am

5 years on since he came to power, it seems there are still imbeciles who still believe in that bum’s promises. These imbeciles deserve to be C4-ed by Aziz Buyong and his sister, Azizah Buyong

88. #88 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:18 am

Are you calling RealWorld an imbecile ? Careful now, he and his kind control all the C4 in the country…..

89. #89 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:49 am

Come to think of it, all the demolition experts tell us that C4 has a specific signature, and analysis will show where and what batch it was from, etc. I don’t recall this being brought up at the trial at all. The prosecution didn’t demonstrate it was from a specific source available to the defendants, and the defendants didn’t protest that they had no access to a particular source. Hmmmm….this is one for Jim Clancy.

90. #90 by lchk on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:06 pm

Wasn’t realworld so cocksure about UMNO being able to plaster the opposition into oblivion before the recent GE and kept muttering about letting the ballot box be the answer?

After the political tsunami that swept the 2/3rds BN majority right out of the window, realworld slunk away with his tail between his legs.

Only now he’s resurfacing as Realworld again after a sulking period lol!

91. #91 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:11 pm

If there’s a GE now, BN will lose the federal government. They know it, and that’s why they are fighting tooth and nail to make sure that a no confidence motion cannot be carried. They have to make sure that contracts continue to be given out like candies. No matter how bad the rakyat is suffering. Clinging to the right to steal is their only objective.

92. #92 by Hishamuddin on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:17 pm

I would dare the goverment to call up credible investigators from the FBI or even Interpol to investigate.

The local police only know how to bully the Malaysia rakyat they have sworn to protect into shutting up.

What more better can they do ? Protect their politician master of course. See, even the election comissioner which is suppose to be an independent body is being manipulated by the BN politicans.

You trust our police reports on this case…NEVER.

93. #93 by lchk on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 12:19 pm

Realworld’s typical retort before the GE when backed into a corner was this

“Let the GE mandate decide”.

Well, the rakyat has already decided.

So realworld, how’s the taste of humble pie? LOL!

94. #94 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:11 pm

Emergency motion on Altantuya rejected
    Jun 24, 08 12:25pm
    The Parliament today rejected an emergency motion submitted by Ipoh Timor MP Lim Kit Siang for a debate on blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin’s latest allegations over the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder.

Expected what! “‘Let’s send the Altantuya murderers and those involved to hell” -PM, DPM, AG, IGP and the whole corrupted gov.

95. #95 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:15 pm

It’s expected. But the verdict in the court of public opinion is guilty as charged.

96. #96 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:18 pm

The Parliament administration today restricted the media access to the lobby by barricading the area, raising the ire of journalists.

As a result, press representatives from the print, online and electronic media decided to only cover the proceedings in the Dewan Rakyat and boycott all press conferences or events held outside of the chambers.

The ruling, apparently done on security grounds, stunned journalists as it prevents them from moving freely in the lobby area or approach MPs.

This is the first time such a ruling has been introduced in Parliament but no explanation was given to the press.

Parliament security personnel were stationed at the cordoned-off area to prevent journalists, photographers and TV crews from approaching ministers and MPs.

Read the rest here;

http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/9176/84/

97. #97 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:23 pm

SHAH ALAM, June 23 — After 124 days and 84 witnesses, the prosecution today closed its case on the murder trial of Mongolian woman, Altantuya Shaariibuu.

The trial will continue on July 23 to enable the defence and prosecution to present arguments.

High Court judge Datuk Mohd Zaki Md Yasin ordered both sides to present written arguments, including those on two trials-within-a-trial.

The trials-within-a-trial were on Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri’s allegation that he had pointed out the spot where Altantuya was shot and blown up to Chief Inspector Koh Fei Chow.

They (trials-within-a-trial) were also to determine whether Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar’s actions and statement to ASP Zulkarnain Samsudin on the discovery of the victim’s jewellery in his house, could be accepted as evidence.

Arguments on impeaching two witnesses are also to be included. They are on statements by Azilah’s girlfriend, Lance Corporal Rohaniza Roslan and Special Action Unit (UTK) officer DSP Mohd Yusri Hasan Basri.

All sides agreed that the arguments be done continuously without break, to enable the court to arrive at a decision.

http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/964-altantuya-murder-trial-prosecution-closes-after-124-days-84-witnesses

98. #98 by cto on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:27 pm

lchk Says:

Today at 12: 06.39 (1 hour ago)
    Wasn’t realworld so cocksure about UMNO being able to plaster the opposition into oblivion before the recent GE and kept muttering about letting the ballot box be the answer?

After the political tsunami that swept the 2/3rds BN majority right out of the window, realworld slunk away with his tail between his legs.

Only now he’s resurfacing as Realworld again after a sulking period lol!

—————————

Actually, to be fair to Realworld, he did congratulate the opposition for their showing at the GE. I trust that he is sincere and I even told him that we should go out and celebrate.

He and I may have a completely different set of ideals and values but I wish him no ill will.

99. #99 by lupus on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:37 pm

I am still interested to know how C4 can be used. It not like normal demolition charge used to blow rock with building roads as it is a control item – more so than firearms. Very block of C4 can be traced back to the factory and date of manufactured. Consider this, C4 can only be detected via chemical analysis (or dogs) in airports, it is something terrorist would love to use as a size of a brick can destroy a 3 ton truck. So, how the hell did an elite agency lose C4 explosive ? The other question is can the Home Minister assure the Malaysian public that it has accounted for ALL C4 explosive? Singapore have very very tight military control and very gram of C4 is accounted for.

Like I have posted in earlier, while it is not hard to use C4, it components that render it safe to handle is in question as that person had to obtain both C4 and the detonator inorder to make it work. Is our police force and military force that bad to loose explosive ? What next ? rocket launchers ? LKS should ask the Govt if it has account for all it high explosive munitions under it’s control ? I bet you that is it not!!!

100. #100 by taxpayer on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:45 pm

As the deputy pm’s wife is implicated in the murder, the pm should suspend the dpm from holding any government office until the court clears her of any suspicion. Otherwise the Malaysian government is a laughing stork in the eyes of the whole world.

101. #102 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:53 pm

We have another case of heinous crime without criminals near the ending. I think those in the judiciary know it, and I think those in the Bar Council also can see it, because if they don’t then ordinary Malaysians must be blind and stupid. But among them how many good judges and good lawyers will stand up against mockery of justice?

102. #103 by limkamput on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 1:57 pm

The “subjudice” thing sounds like a baloney to me. Are judges all so weak? Are they not able to make up their mind? Why are we assuming that they will be influenced. If a trial goes on infinitum, then there is nothing much all can talk about. There is nothing much new evidence can be presented. I think it is not wrong for many to see court procedures and principles with contempt.

103. #104 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:10 pm

The timing of the prosecution choose to closed its case on the murder trial Altantuya without first investigate the SD made by RPK is the evidence that fake judiciary still rules and perpetuates under the UMNO regime, and is further blossoming under the leadership of Abdullah and his law minister, Zaid Ibrahim.

104. #105 by babique on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:41 pm

For these murderers, it looks like their religious belief do not play a part in their life’s actions even though they are seen to be “religious”. Such cruel actions deserve nothing or forgiveness but double HELL!

105. #106 by yog7948 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 2:59 pm

“Religion” has become just a tool for these BN retards to manipulate people for their own fancy. They even dares to swear on the Holy Books to get the trust of people, but when come to SD, they keep numb. These faggots.. They even pimp their own kin to fulfill their power lust.

“They that deny a God, destroy man’s nobility; for certainly man is of kin to the beasts, by his body; and, if he be not of kin to God, by his spirit, he is a base and ignoble creature.”

106. #107 by Richardqed on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 3:14 pm

May Altantuya’s ghost haunt her murderers and all their accomplices till they get what they deserve.

107. #108 by melurian on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:32 pm

108. #109 by PSM on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 4:51 pm

Looks like they are in a hurry to get this trial over with now before more “dirt” is unearthed!
    Either Baginda will will be acquitted (lack of evidence muhhh). The other two (bodyguards) will probably be found guilty (to appease the Mongolians) & then “disappear” away quietly.
    Case closed…not necessary to discuss anymore.
    RPK will be charged for ” highly defamatory” allegations & will probably be thrown into prison for a VERY LONG time. All those involved in the killing of Altantunya will get away scott free. Rosmah will become PM when Pak Lah steps down. Justice done BN style!

109. #110 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:10 pm

Karpal to AG: Probe fresh Altantuya claims
    Syed Jaymal Zahiid | Jun 24, 08 4:04pm –
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/84956
    ———————–
    But we all know that the ACA, the judiciary,the AG are all giving the public impression that they don’t have a “mind”of their own but will only act upon specific instruction coming from UMNO, how AG dares to take an independent step to start serving the nation genuinely???
    Under the circumstances it is only wise for our Agong to step in to call for external independent invstigation (like Scotlandyard, FBI etc) before things get really ugly.

110. #111 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 5:43 pm

Had RPK made his SD before the March 8 elections, BN might had been left with just Sabah and Sarawak to govern, while PR would have 12 states plus Federal Government!

111. #112 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:02 pm

Let all the perpetrators be forewarned with Shaariibu’s (Altantuya’s father) statement, “There is a saying in Mongolia, ‘no matter what you hide, it will surface and people will know’. God is looking upon us and the truth will come out,” .

112. #113 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:03 pm

Has it ever occurred to anyone that RPK could be set up for a “permanent” fall ? I mean, if the “informer” was planted by UMNO to provide misleading information through doctored documents, and RPK takes the bait – the consequences will be horrendous. Aside from being sued for defamation, he will also be sued for the criminal act of making a false declaration, and they could send him to jail for a few years.

Let’s see if the civil actions will be coming in the next few days….

113. #114 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:08 pm

From Malay Mail 24 June, 2008

Disquiet > A game of high-stakes poker?
    Malik Imtiaz Sarwar

WHETHER the unprecedented SAPP motion of no confidence is going to be tabled for debate appears to have been edged out as the question of the hour by whether there is any substance in Raja Petra’s incendiary Statutory Declaration on the killing of Altantunya that hit the Internet late last
    week.

The Statutory Declaration, a sworn statement under law which makes a false statement a criminal offence, alleges amongst other things that Raja Petra was reliably informed that a very prominent VVIP, together with two other persons, was at the scene of the crime, the formerwitnessing the placing of explosives by one of the two others.Hefurtheralleges that the PrimeMinister received a written report of the matter fromMilitary Intelligence.
    Needless to say, there is some measure of incredulity on the part of some who suggest that Raja Petra of Malaysia Today fame has a tendency towards sensationalism.

They question the manner in which the information was made public and the fact that Raja Petra did not lodge a police report.

Others have been less quick to brush aside the matter, more confident of Raja Petra having a foundation for the Declaration. A very public figure whose advocacy in the run up to the last General Election is credited by many as one of the swing factors, he is already facing a sedition charge for an Internet publication on the Altantunya trial. And all things said and done, a statutory declaration is a very different thing from commentary on Malaysia Today.

Is Raja Petra playing a game of high-stakes poker? That is the million-dollar question and there is no apparent answer.

In the Declaration, Raja Petra states that its purpose is to allow the police to conduct a proper and thorough investigation to allow the truth to emerge. The persons he has identified have not been implicated nor called as witnesses in the on-going murder trial.

They have as yet to issue any public denials, seemingly choosing to remain silent.

Surprisingly, the Prime Minister has chosen to do so as well; one would think circumstances compel him at the very least to take a public stand on whether Military Intelligence did give him a report.

If founded, the apparent lack of investigation into the matter raises doubts as to not only the culpability of the accused but of whether they have been accorded their full “due-process” rights in law.

They also equally point to the possibility of those actually or equally responsible having been let off free.

These bring into question the effectiveness and integrity of the criminal justice system and further erode the already seriously undermined administration of justice. The Declaration is as such a matter of great public importance.

Whatever the case, it is imperative that the government must take appropriate steps to not only look into thematter fairly and thoroughly, but also be seen to be doing so in a transparentmanner.

The machinery for an investigation seems to have been fired up. However, in light of a media report that the Attorney-General’s Chambers has lodged a police report againstRaja Petra, apparently for criminal defamation, I am concerned that the focus of the exercise will be Raja Petra rather than the substance ofhis allegations in a manner reminiscent of the Irene Fernandez affair.

In Fernandez’s case, a defamation report was lodged against her after she made public shocking revelations about goings-ons at the Semenyih detention facility, then under the control of the Royal Malaysia Police. This resulted in Fernandez being prosecuted and ultimately convicted. Significantly, investigations into the events at Semenyih were incidental to theonly formal investigations that took place, the investigation for criminal defamation.

I have grave reservations about the Attorney-General’s Chambers having lodged the police report. It is more usually the person aggrieved, especially where defamation is concerned, that lodges the report.

In this case, it should have been the persons identified in the Statutory Declaration, if at all. Furthermore, the Attorney-General is the legal adviser to the government and serves its interests and not those of individuals, notwithstanding their having a connectionwith government.

It is also mystifying how the Attorney-General could have formed the viewthat the Declaration was defamatory before apparently even looking into the allegations,more so in light of the Inspector General of Police declaring that the police would be calling up the three individuals named in theDeclaration.

One would have thought that the Attorney-General would have considered the matter as whole first before directing the lodging of the police report. This and the fact of theAttorney-General’s Chambers not having lodged a parallel report as to the fact of the allegations are suggestive of a presupposition that the declaration is false.

If so, this may impede the objective enquiry called for by the situation. This would bewrong.

AfterMarch 8 this year, the Prime Minister in effect said that the government had to listen to the rakyatmore.

The rakyat has demanded accountability and transparency.

The murkiness surrounding the killing of Altantunya has long been and continues to be the subject of public discussion in part due to her father’s tireless campaign for nothing more than the bringing to book of the killers of his daughter.

The fact of his having to do so is an indictment against this nation.

Let the truth emerge. One way or the other, let it out.

114. #115 by bystander on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:14 pm

What to expect. HP6 Speaker , HP6 AG, HP Pm and cabinet ministers. This case stinks. i strongly suspect just like many that the trial is just a show. in the end the true culprits will get away.

115. #116 by bystander on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:25 pm

Godfather raised an important question. but would RPK be stupid enough to take the bait without checking all the facts and integrity. Questions – why should Rosmah be present at the scene of the crime? what is her motive for killing the mongolian if she did killed her?

116. #117 by citizenwatch on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:27 pm

Godfather Says:

“Has it ever occurred to anyone that RPK could be set up for a “permanent” fall ?”

There has been talk about this possibility. It could be to set up the fall for RPK or to create a red herring or distraction from the current boiling temperature of the political scene for BN.

If info is ‘planted’ there must be a script to be followed by the ‘planters’. We see what has happened so far and we shall see what will happen these coming few days.

117. #118 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 6:47 pm

My biggest fear is that RPK could be taken in by some “hard” evidence such as a videoclip or a copy of the supposedly military intelligence report, both of which could be excellent fakes. Bolehland is known for its quality fakes, from DVDs to watches to politicians. RPK has put his personal freedom to the test, so let’s see what happens next.

118. #119 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:22 pm

Sub judice rules hold juries in contempt
    Andrew Neil
    THE GUARDIAN Aug. 8, 2005

“As a journalist brought up under Britain’s strict sub judice rules, I was initially surprised, even shocked, while covering the run-up to the OJ Simpson trial by the free flow of news and speculation about the case. But I do not believe it affected the jury’s verdict and I came to see it as preferable to the wall of silence that descends on British cases, even when the issues involved are of pressing public interest. In any case, the wall of silence is increasingly hard to maintain in the age of the internet, which politicians or even judges cannot control in a democracy.

Concern has been expressed that aspects of the interrogation of suspected Oval bomber Hussein Osman, held in Italy while Britain seeks his extradition, were leaked to Italian newspapers then reprinted in ours. But is it seriously suggested that newspapers should not report this news when it was being discussed on every blog and chatroom devoted to such matters?

I do not argue that we need to go as far as the US and dispense with sub judice.”

Malaysia does not have trial by jury but only trial by judge – even in the case of capital crimes – no jury that could be contaminated by press reports. It is also time the country’s archaic contempt laws following those of Britain are reformed and made to keep abreast with developments in other jurisdictions and advances in technology.

119. #120 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:47 pm

Undergrad2:

We already have the “ideal” situation where the judge can be “selected” by the prosecution or the defence, depending on which side UMNO is on. Now you want UMNO to change the law to allow 12 jurists ? It’s gonna be very expensive to have to “select” that many number of jurists.

120. #121 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:04 pm

In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing and that therefore RPK must suffer the consequences as decided by the AG. In Bolehland, there is no need to investigate – any accuser against UMNO will be deemed guilty until proven innocent.

121. #122 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:14 pm

Badawi doesn’t believe the allegations. Neither does the AG. Hence they will be serving a warrant of arrest on RPK soon. I suspect that this is what RPK wants to make his next move.

122. #123 by aiD_kamikuP on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 9:56 pm

//In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing and that therefore RPK must suffer the consequences as decided by the AG. In Bolehland, there is no need to investigate – any accuser against UMNO will be deemed guilty until proven innocent.//

Hah………Malaysia and Malaysians have been ‘badawied’. UMNO is judge, jury and executioneer…and thieves too (almost forgot that). The rest are just obsequious rakyat!

123. #124 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:07 pm

“Now you want UMNO to change the law to allow 12 jurists ? It’s gonna be very expensive to have to “select” that many number of jurists.” Godfather

Godfather,

Not jurists but jurors – you and me!

124. #125 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

My apologies for the use of the wrong word.

125. #126 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:15 pm

Godfather,

Who is Rosemary? The one of “Rose, Rose, I love you fame”??
    Miss Yao Lee – Méi gui méi gui zuì jiao mei (1940)

126. #127 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:17 pm

Méigui méigui w? ài ni??

127. #128 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:20 pm

“”I am concerned. What he (Raja Petra) did is unacceptable. What he said is not right. He said in his statutory declaration I have been given a report about the murder by the military intelligence. That is not correct,” Abdullah said after a meeting in Parliament.
    Asked specifically if he ever received any report, Abdullah replied, “No… I do not remember receiving anything and am confident that I did not receive anything. Nothing was sent to me.” –
    http://themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/home/42-lead-stories/1007-pak-lah-najib-rosmah-not-involved-in-altantuya-murder
    ——————————–
    Now at least we know PM has come into the open that he did not receive any report by military intelligence.

RPK better knows what he is up against with. Has he now got the “photo” or genuine hotel “CCTV footage” etc etc?

No offence, the whole world just want to know the truth!!!

128. #129 by milduser on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:23 pm

It’s not easy for those implicated in the SD to conspire and deny. But in boleh land its’ not impossible:

1) the military can category deny such report exist
    2) the PM can deny receiving such report
    3) Khairy can deny having the report
    4) the Sultan can deny knowledge
    5) Col Buyung and his wife can have a alibi
    6) Rosmah’s alibi will be DPM

most importantly, the reliable informer will be …..
    RPK may be in jail ???? …

Time will tell or will it????
    I dont know. God knows.

129. #130 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:24 pm

Godfather Says:

Today at 21: 04.42 (1 hour ago)
    In any case, Badawi has earlier this evening said that he doesn’t believe that Najis and Rosemary were involved in Altantuya’s killing…”

Since when has anybody’s belief (read: opinion) been relevant in a murder??

130. #131 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:31 pm

You have been away far too long. In Bolehland, the “right” person’s beliefs dictate the dance of the relevant parties like the AG, the Police, the ACA.

Rosemary has many friends who believe in her.

131. #132 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:34 pm

More about jurors.

Jurors are ordinary folks and do not include people working in law enforcement like the police or lawyers. Their names are selected at random from the electoral list and these potential jurors are made to go through a process in court participated by lawyers on both sides until both agree on who the twelve jurors are.

Don’t you think we should be tried by a jury of our own peers (since crimes are committed against the community) instead of a judge (a legally trained expert) sitting alone and imposing his views on us?

132. #133 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:37 pm

Where is the blog’s rock star this morning?

133. #134 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:39 pm

“I don’t believe…” were the exact words Badawi used. Regarding the existence of a military intelligence report, Badawi was reported to have said “I don’t remember receiving anything”, “Nothing was sent to me”, “I am confident I did not receive anything”.

Over to you, RPK….

134. #135 by Godfather on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:42 pm

It should be much easier to influence a judge than to influence 12 jurors. A lot cheaper too.

135. #136 by Jong on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:51 pm

Nice game of poker so far!

136. #137 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:39 pm

“Raja Petra’s actions are unacceptable. It is not right,” Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi told reporters Tuesday. “I don’t believe that Najib and Rosmah are involved.”

Of course, I also don’t believe it. Where else in the history of Malaysia the wife of deputy prime minister are involved in murder and then blowing up the corpses to destroy evident?

137. #138 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:01 am

Godfather,

Once the jury is empanelled, and the jurors sworn in they are not allowed to have contact with the public and the media. They are sequestered. Not allowed to read papers or see TV. Nor are they allowed to discuss the case with anybody else except among themselves. If a juror were to break the rules and have some form of contact with the media, then he or she is dismissed from the jury. There are alternate jurors ready to take his or her place.

It would be easier to bribe a judge.

138. #139 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:02 am

Altantuya’s back ahaunting!

So, beware!

Be very afraid!

139. #140 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 1:10 am

She didn’t rest in peace, did she?

Something must be done to apease her soul.

Some prayers, perhaps?

140. #141 by passerby on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 3:39 am

Whatever it is, my sympathy goes to Dr Shaariibuu. You will never going to get the truth and the answer to your daughter’s death from these bunch of crooks unless something very strong like capturing all these happenings in video with some very important people as witness. Otherwise these crooks will twist and turn and eventually turn the whole investigation into a joke. The only way you can get any justice if you can demand for an outside law enforcement to investigate. Good luck and our heartfelt sympathy to you.

141. #142 by bystander on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 9:20 am

AG & Pm already jumping to conclusion before investigation. he also denied receiving report. is he covering up for Najis to save his own skin? is covering up for Najis more important than justice for Altantula?

142. #143 by milduser on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:05 am

So the no. 1 man in the government has denied, in The Star (25June08)
    “Of course I am concerned (over the allegation by Malaysia Today blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin). What Raja Petra did is unacceptable … because what he stated is incorrect.

“It is stated (in Raja Petra’s statutory declaration) that I received a report from the military intelligence. That is not correct,”

Five more to go. Hope justice, integrity (honesty) and pure conscience prevail. These are the virtues taught to us. God bless us all. God bless this country. Hope it is not run by corroupt, debase, selfserving, dishonest, wicked, greedy people.

143. #144 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:44 am

Malaysia’s brand of justice: the Attorney-General goes after the messenger rather than investigates the truth of the matter.

144. #145 by oknyua on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 10:57 am

I still maintain the one who provided RPK with the info on his SD is someone close to one of the accused. RPK is no fool. He explained legal intricacies better than many law graduates (no offence to lawyers here).

Look at the response of PM Abdullah. Do we have to be hair-splitting lawyers to know that it created more questions than answers? Forget the fact that Abdullah is a serial liar – an established fact – his answer added more suspicion to the already suspicious case. Don’t tell me he never receive report on how the C4 got out of the military? Don’t tell me he never receive report on how the immigraion record could be deleted? Come on, we are not in standard one.

Of course any matter raised by opposition would not pass through the speaker. This is an established fact.

145. #146 by milduser on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 6:53 pm

The report is likely marked “Top Secret”. There u are: protected by law. Abuse by the Leaders to cover up their excesses. U can’t fight them. They have their mechanism in place. Maybe, it takes someone like RPK to stand up to them. Support needed, Please apply.

146. #147 by citizenwatch on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 6:57 pm

With a rating of 0 to 10, 10 is the highest in credibility, what is PM’s credibility?

Answer: pinocchi-’0?

147. #148 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 26 June 2008 - 5:58 am

“If it’s true, we will act accordingly. If not, the writer will be investigated,” AG said.

One would have thought comments like these would be left to the IGP to make rather than by the AG.

RPK expects to be “investigated” if by that it means he would be asked to reveal his sources. I suppose he’ll do that during his trial if and when charged with criminal defamation. Forget civil defamation because no one is going to sue him for that – and guess why not?