“First-world infrastructure, first-world mentality”?

(This is from the blog of Hannah Yeoh, DAP Selangor Assemblywoman for Subang Jaya)

SMKSU Prefects’ Reunion
Friday, June 20, 2008

Few months ago, I was invited to the Prefects’ Reunion of SMK Subang Utama to be held next week. I just received news that I could no longer attend the function because I’m an assemblyman from Pakatan Rakyat.

Two prefects have confirmed that the teachers have issued a threat to the prefects to withdraw their invitation to me and if not, the event would be cancelled.

I am upset with this. Let me explain to you why this threat by the teachers is so fundamentally wrong:-

this is a private function to be held outside the school; every past and present prefect is entitled to attend this event; and

I was the Head Prefect for 1995/1996 and was one of the pioneers to start this yearly reunion for the prefects.
I am not a criminal or a bad role model. All I did was this, exercised my right to vote, exercised my right to stand for election, to stand up for my generation and to fight corruption. As a young person, I am not afraid to stand up for righteous principles, not afraid of intimidation by the ‘supposedly powerful’ groups but today I am told that I am not a welcoming sight at a function which I championed and fought for many years ago.

In school, we were taught to be good role models and to be someone successful someday who will contribute positively back to the society. I have done just that. The very same people who taught me these values are now telling me that I am no longer accepted because I’m an assemblyman from Pakatan Rakyat.

Blogging about this brings tears to my eyes. Why? This is such a sad state for our schools to be in, for our young generation to endure and succumb to irrational threats like this. For 50 years, we were told not to question, not to challenge and not to speak up – even if it impinges on your fundamental rights.

I am not insisting to attend this function and neither am I insisting to be a special guest at the function. I am telling you – students, graduates, working adults and parents, if you choose to remain silent and succumb to threats like this, there is little hope left for Malaysia. It could be your daughter/son who’s in my place. Remember the young ones are watching. Some are being brain-washed. Some are now confused – here you have a 29 year old assemblyman who is speaking up against corruption for the sake of our nation and they’re told that this is not a welcoming figure and that she is not accepted at school or private functions.

I was a little exhausted prior to this because of work, complaints and issues but this has caused my heart to stir. It has sealed my heart for a cause. The cause is this – to continuously speak up against oppression in this nation. My conscience tells me I am right before God, I have not acted unfairly towards others by stealing taxpayers’ money and I am inspiring the young to stand up for what is right.

Our education system is trying to breed students who cannot think for themselves, issue threats when everything else fails. I am the ex Head Prefect of my school and I am entitled to attend the reunion to meet up with my fellow schoolmates, to catch up on old times and share some old jokes. I am now denied that right.

How many of you would stand alongside me for this cause?

1. #1 by aiD_kamikuP on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:35 pm

It is just because this former Head Prefect happens to be a DAP ADUN. If it was an UMNO ADUN who was the former Head Prefect, no doubt there will be big time welcoming ceremony.
    Never mind, Hannah, your day will come.

2. #2 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:36 pm

I have seen this topic of reunion with ex-school prefects in Hannah’s RSS feed but don’t bother to read as I presumed it was about ‘petty’ matter.

To my very rude surprise, this is not petty at all when reading this in Kit Siang blog.

This is what we can see such lousy mentality of those teachers. Schools and universities should be apolitical and belong to all Rakyat and not Umno or BN.

3. #3 by pgsilai on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:38 pm

Dear Hannah,
    I will stand alongside with your. Reading your heartfelt words in this blog will cause a lot of people feel the frustration. I can’t understand why they simply don’t welcome you just because you are in PKR. They can issue such threat, just ignore it, Go and make your presence. Like you say, it’s outside the school premises and they don’t own the whole public place.

4. #4 by limkamput on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:39 pm

First of all, please don’t keep using the term “first world infrastructure” because we don’t have one to begin with.

Of course what the teachers did to you was wrong and you have your right to bring up this issue in your blog and also in this blog. But honestly your battle lies elsewhere.

As PK representative, we expect you to strategise and galvanise support to make the teachers rescind the order. If you are not able to do it, then it reflects alot on your ability and also your party’s clout. We expect you to kick the butts of the teachers. We expect you to put the school, the education department and ministry on the defence. We expect you to fight this out in State Assemblies and Parliament.

In the meantime, we expect you, Hannah Yeoh, to organise a parallel function. We want to see how many you are able to entice to join your function instead the “official” function.

5. #5 by ablastine on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:45 pm

Why worry. When Pakatan takes over Malaysia soon they will be begging to be given the chance to invite you to honour their functions.

6. #6 by Jong on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:51 pm

I call on ALL PARENTS of students of SMK Subang Utama to immediately summon the Chairperson of PIBG of SMK Subang Utama via SMS for an urgent meeting with the present Principal of the school in the presence of the press, to demand a proper explanation and identify the ‘power’ behind the withdrawl of invitation to Ms Hannah Yeoh.

You have my support Hannah!

7. #7 by A true Malaysian on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 8:58 pm

pgsilai,

Hannah is from DAP. I guess you meant PR, ie Pakatan Rakyat.

Nvm, PR is going to take over.

8. #8 by Puppy-Power on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:01 pm

YB Hannah, I’m sure we are all touched by your emotional plea.

But limkamput and jong are right. It’s time for you to stop being sentimental and emotional.

Do something about it.

Kick up a ruckus. Create a huge & ugly scene at the school if u have to. Awaken all the sleepyhead parents if u have to. Raise this matter up in parliament. Submit a petition to the education ministry.

If u can brush aside your emotions, and use it to your advantage…..I am sure you’ll earn the respect and admiration of the rakyat. More importantly, u have to break the silence first. You must take the lead as the bastion of hope.

9. #9 by humanly on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:03 pm

Rather saddened that schools, which are supposed to be neutral, are politically partisan.

Hannah Yeoh is very principled. She shies away from populism. For that she earns the wrath of some who wanted her to do things the BN way. The people wanted the govt to change. She rightly pointed out that the people must also change their mindset.

10. #10 by Godfather on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:12 pm

Is this such a big loss, Hannah ? We all realise that the civil service is overwhelmingly pro-BN, so this act of exclusion of a PR representative is nothing new. If one openly condemns this administration, then one becomes ineligible for contracts. If the condemnation becomes deafening, then one can expect a knock on the door.

Get used to it, or change it through the ballot box.

11. #11 by One4All4One on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:17 pm

Dear Hannah,

It is sad. It is so sad that such a thing could have have happened to you. Such kind of incidents are not new; they happen now and then. Just that they are not publicised or exposed for reasons known to those who were similarly ‘victimised’. Perhaps, yours could be taken as an example from which people could refer to in order to rectify the wrong values and perceptions that had been breeding in our society for far too long.

We unashamedly call ourselves democratic and tolerant of others all the time. We project to the world our pride as a multi-racial and multi-religious society. Yet we fail miserably when we are called to live and work with others of different schools of thought.

We could not put others before us. We see through coloured glass.
    There is so much religious bigotry. So much suspicion about others, whom we embraced as brothers and sisters.

The young ones at school, who should have been imbued with universal values of love and care, were brain-washed to accept and recognise only their own kind. Theirs is the only right way. Others wrong. What a dangerous and sad place to put our children in!

Indeed, during our formative years at school, we were taught that we are a united-nation of sort. Those years would bring back fond memories where we shared similar dreams and aspirations. That our friends, Halimah, Siti, Siew Leng, Ah Meng, Muthusamy, Alice or John would live and share this great nation of ours. Indeed we are multi-racial and multi-religious. Perhaps, that’s a ‘before-thought’.

Reality sets in the moment we set foot in the world outside school.
    There is so much suspicion, uneasiness, bigotry, intolerance, polarisation. We have to adjust to life anew. Just like what you have just found out, Hannah.

However all is not lost yet, Hannah. We are lucky to have people like you. I am sure there are real Siti, Harun, Khalid, Ronnie, Siva, Ah Chong out there who could make a difference. I am sure there are people who are true to themselves and who uphold shared values common to all of us. No matter what our political or religious inclinations are.

There are lots of people who are politically blind, who only look to justice and service. Hopefully good sense would prevail at the end.

Follow your good judgement. People would jugde you by your actions. I sincerely hope you would be strong to overcome this unexpected turn of event and episode of your experience.

12. #12 by winsoontan on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:30 pm

This is so unfair and should not be practiced !

13. #13 by winsoontan on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:35 pm

Hannah Yeoh, i respect your contribution as a prefect and now as an assembly woman. We, silent group always watching what you have done and will support whatever is right!

14. #14 by alancheah on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:36 pm

Pakatan Rakyat, many of us are really eager to see another
    BIG Change to this country. We support you all!

Please make the BIG Change happen.

15. #15 by liu on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:37 pm

With this sort of teachers, how can our kids be getting any education?

16. #16 by bentoh on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:56 pm

Sorry off topic first

http://ktemoc.blogspot.com/2008/06/has-dap-lost-its-way.html

This is a piece of good reading regarding recent DAP Sarawak’s statement to “come join us” aka “jump please”…

The blogger also blogged a number of party hopping issues these few weeks…

and likewise I’m horrified by the DAP Sarawak’s stand as all this while we thought the DAP is staying away from the HOT party hopping matter… It is saddening that the DAP plans to join the katak drama…

===============================================

Anyway… I can feel the pain of Hannah… It’s like you can’t join the family dinner because you are different stand as your parents… :(

I am thankful that I have teachers who told us not to be afraid of “anti-government”… not to be afraid of the police… because that’s our right to anti-government… and that the police is non other than our employees… ;)

17. #17 by budak on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 9:56 pm

YB Hannah,

just wait a little longer…
    like DSAI said our team is ready & we’ll take over from BN…
    these scumbags are good for nothing, dont be sad and anger by these bunch of “fai chai” their days are numbered…

take care, we’re truly Malaysian & always behind you…

18. #18 by Captain on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:08 pm

It is a shame. Our Schools and its PIBG or any of its Alumni cannot be controlled by inconsiderate fools. Schools should be politicised.

PR can come to power but before that, the idiots that decided not to invite Hannah must be identified. If you can post his photo and his address on your blog, I would be the first to be there to pelt rotten eggs.

Pray the Headmaster / Principal is not involved. He should be removed at once. And before that, please give me the please of pelting him……….

19. #19 by Captain on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:09 pm

sorry, schools should NOT be politiced.

20. #20 by One4All4One on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:12 pm

“”limkamput Says:

Today at 20: 39.32 (1 hour ago)

As PK representative, we expect you to strategise and galvanise support to make the teachers rescind the order. If you are not able to do it, then it reflects alot on your ability and also your party’s clout. We expect you to kick the butts of the teachers. We expect you to put the school, the education department and ministry on the defence. We expect you to fight this out in State Assemblies and Parliament.

In the meantime, we expect you, Hannah Yeoh, to organise a parallel function. We want to see how many you are able to entice to join your function instead the “official” function.”””

Well, Limkamput,

Let’s not get too worked-up by the issue Hannah is facing, not to the extent of being offensive, provocative, and confrontational.

What is wrong would be remain wrong. Like-wise, what is right would remain right. Let the people be the judge.

Hannah would grow out of all these nonsense, and be an even better person.

Our better judgement tells us that truth will prevail and time would attest all that.

Long live truth! Long live good sense! Long live open-mindedness!

21. #21 by One4All4One on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:15 pm

What is wrong would remain wrong. Like-wise, what is right would remain right. Let the people be the judge.

22. #22 by beankadok on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:31 pm

Despicable, Despicable, Despicable! This is so wrong.
    Who is the principal? Is SMK Subang Utama a learning institution or what? Is this how they teach the young generation to intimidate, instill fear and threaten others who do not share their beliefs?

The “powerful hand” behind the decision to cancel the invitation for Hannah Yeoh must be identified. He/She has to take responsibility for his/her instruction to withdraw Hannah Yeoh’s invitation. I hope there will be no excuses coming from him/her that he/she was misunderstood.

Let in the press take pix of his/her mug face and shame him! Whoever he or she is must be removed at once!

23. #23 by drngsc on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 10:54 pm

Hi Hannah,
    Dont be so upset. Obviously, in every crisis, there is an opportunity. This gives a good occasion for your school prefects and also the HM to learn a bit about politics closeup. My suggestion,firstly, the title of this article is wrong. We try to be first world ( first world look alike ) but 4th world mentality, secondly, I suggest that you reply that you are coming ( which is your right and the right of the prefectorial board to invite ). Should the HM cancel, he will have to explain. Have a gathering with the prefects privately. Pay for it. Have a simple meaningful one. Teach them that threats and strong arm tactics is not on, in a civilised world. Doing the right thing is? Teach them the importance of doing the right thing. I am sure that you are wise enough to find the right solution. I share because I face this often. These things make you stronger. Cheers.

24. #24 by monsterball on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:03 pm

This is a sick government! My daughter was studying at a Chinese school….never talked politics all her junior time…and started to continue her higher school education from a national school. Now she is telling me…how great UMNO is!!!! I was shocked and taught her to use the internet…to get different opinions…which I am sure…she will not be interested…at her age.
    But fortunately…she believe in me…and I took time…to explain things.
    I did not tell her not to believe what the teacher told her. I told her..not to simply believe..everything are real truths….and since it is about her future life…she should listen to both sides and judge for herself. So I gave her the other side of the story.
    Can you imagine……how easy is to brainwash an innocent child?

25. #25 by daryl on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:14 pm

Eh.. no politic in tertiary level but only brain wasing in secondary education in politic. If I were you I will go and dare the teachers to suspend these students and it will become a messy affair for the Education Department to handle. Than we will get to hear from Keris-muddin response with his stupid statements again and drive down UMNO popularity again. Some publicity in the MSM is better than none. Go Hannah make a mess out of this not so clever government.

26. #26 by cemerlang on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:17 pm

I assume that Hannah believes in God because her name is biblical. So I would encourage her to trust in God no matter what happens.
    I have visited her blog just now.

Education is one of the top political issues. Therefore politics affect everyone in the teaching profession. This teaching profession is not limited to only the schools, universities and the teachers and principals only. It includes all who call themselves teachers of something. Many teachers, principals and directors are interested in political issues. Some support Barisan Nasional. Some support the Pakatan Rakyat. There is no such a thing as somebody being not involved in politics. Not directly but indirectly. Whoever who is eligible to vote has the right to be political minded or else how would they know who to elect. They cannot be so stupid as to simply draw a cross on the ballot paper. Therefore, teachers, principals, directors can be Little Napoleons. They help the government who to choose and who not to choose. You should experience the political play among the people who have something to do with the government especially. If you can support, you will never be left out.

It is idealistic, it is a fantastic, it is a beautiful dream to think that those who teach you will live out their own words. They have the duty to teach you the whole curriculum but it is their own personal choice to believe in one particular political party. In another words, they have two worlds. One being a model example for everyone to follow. Two being their own true self only known to themselves. They are paid to teach you and so they will teach you. They will fulfill that condition of being paid to teach their students. Other than that, they have no other relationship with you. You can say they are putting on a mask. Like when you go to work, you show a different personality. When you come home, only God knows what sort of a real person are you.

27. #27 by Ian Lee on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:18 pm

Dear Hannah,

My former school is just near by yours and we are from the same year. I can’t help it to write this comment using my friend’s account to vent my frustration on this issue.

A first world infrastructure but really a third world mentality! We have already wasted 50 years and lets not waste another one year!

It is a real shame that this threat can come from a teacher who is maybe perhaps 20 or 30 years elder than us and yet behaving like a retard and they are not fit to be called TEACHER!

Just go ahead and do what you have to.Do what you think is right just for our generation and the generations ahead!

28. #28 by justiciary on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:20 pm

Hannah Yeo,it is not difficult to find out and know who are behind the move to bar you from attending the prefects’ reunion.These days the schools and the civil service are so lopsided that you only see the administrators are dominated by one race.So the black hand must be a very strong supporter of the rot to the bottom Umno.Therefore all of us should now be united and see that all the scumbags will be thrown out soon.

29. #29 by badak on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:22 pm

This kind of things have been happening for to long.For 50 years BN was the ruling party .So much so that this teachers and most goverment servants .Don,t realise that BN is a polical party first,and as a goverment servant they serve the rakyat first.
    But then again can we blame this goverment servant.Because this ruling came from higher up.If it is not followed this teachers can say bye bye to their career.
    In all schools you can see a picture of the state MB,s,Sultan as well as the PM. But in schools of the 5 PR states The pictures of the MB,s are missing.
    Children in shools in the 5 PR states don,t even know who their MB,s are.

30. #30 by Joe Yap Wei Lea on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:38 pm

Dear Hannah,

Ian Lee and I are having a drink in USJ and came across your blog. To our frustration and shocked, we can’t help it but to leave a comment on this.

I am also from your neighbor school, SMSJ in the same year as you. I have always respected you for your bravery and your courage. That is also one of the reason I voted you and added you on my friend in FB.

I think you are a person that should be respected and look upon and should not be based on your political preference that you are now.

TEACHER? What does the word teacher brings in people mind? A person that guides the young generation? A person to teach you the rights and wrongs in life? I can’t believe that this actually came from the teachers. IS THIS THE RIGHT WAY TO GUIDE AND TEACH YOUNGER GENERATIONS? I remember in school days teacher taught us to respect and do not judge a book by it’s cover.

Is it because you are the State Assemblymen representing PKR?

THEY SHOULD BE PROUD TO HAVE YOU AS THEIR STUDENT AND WELCOME YOU WITH OPEN HAND AND HEART…. as you have stood your rights and belief to change the future for us, for our future generations.

Don’t worry Hannah, people from Subang Jaya who has a bit of a common sense and brains will stand right behind you.

31. #31 by Joe Yap Wei Lea on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:44 pm

I can’t believed this can happen in SUBANG JAYA!!!

From Ian & Joe

32. #32 by passerby on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:45 pm

All parents should march to the school to demand that the school should be apolitical and stick to teaching. The school is a place for learning and not an extension of umno. If we don’t take action, things will never change and we got only ourselves to kick.

33. #33 by gundam on Sunday, 22 June 2008 - 11:59 pm

the school and teachers are supposed to be proud for having someone as hannah.

34. #34 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:19 am

One4All4One Says: What is wrong would remain wrong. Like-wise, what is right would remain right. Let the people be the judge.

Didn’t she come here asking people to judge and I am just doing that. I did not say what the teacher did was right. It was wrong. But are we doing about it, crying here? I expect PK representatives to be more assertive. We expect them to gather support and confront issues that are not right. Otherwise may I know what are they for? I don’t expect them to be pussy cat. I don’t expect them to have an easy job. What do you mean by i am being too worked up. Hello, i know what i am doing.

35. #35 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:29 am

passerby Says:
    All parents should march to the school to demand that the school should be apolitical and stick to teaching. The school is a place for learning and not an extension of umno. If we don’t take action, things will never change and we got only ourselves to kick.

Precisely, can Hannah and other PK represedntatives organise it? If PK representatives are smart enough, they should know by now that this is not the decision of the two treachers. I did not ask her to confront the Education dept and Education Ministry for nothing. Soon, Tony Phua, Lau, etc etc will face the same problem. Read my lips.

36. #36 by bentoh on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:54 am

Anyway… she just blogged about the aftermath not long ago…

http://hannahyeoh.blogspot.com/2008/06/watch-what-you-sow.html

37. #37 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 3:37 am

Dear Hannah, You gained a great deal of respect because you are a victim of gross injustice. The school authorities and principal of your former alma mater ought to be terribly ashamed of themselves. Instead of inculcating our young people values such as fair-play, righteousness, impartiality, fairness and other noble values, they, the great dumwits, are teaching our school children to be vindictive, seek vengeance at all cost, to be extreme, bias and discriminate against other holding different views and harbour evil intentions.
    They ought to return to primary school and sent to detention class! They don’t have the brains unlike our students.
    We fully support you and uphold you with high seteem.

38. #38 by ihavesomethingtosay on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:01 am

““First-world infrastructure, BN mentality”

39. #39 by Kathy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:02 am

To Hannah – it is your call to go for the reunion gathering or not since you were part of the group previously and have the right to do so. The school authorities do not have the right to bar you from attending.

Want to blame, blame it on our Education Ministry — if there should be a protest letter, all against such a move should be able to sign it and let Hannah deliver it to the Education Ministry – not only in Klang Valley but let it be a nation wide movement.

To Bentoh – you’re lucky to have teachers that are apolitical and fair-minded. Got a few myself of such teachers that one particular Malay teacher kept drumming into our heads so many years ago that the term “bumiputra” should include all people (regardless of race) as long as we are born in this country. But then what is one voice against so many?????

By the way, I got a former headmistress that I found out after I left school, accepted a bribe from a parent to allow this particular parent’s child to be a prefect – lost all my respect for this headmistress and my school. Corruption that started in school and leads on to other parts of our lives.

To Monsterball – thank you for showing the way on how we should teach our young children the other side of the “rosy picture” that they are getting from school. Am thinking of doing the same for my eldest son.

To tell you the truth, PIBG board holds no meaning to me anymore. I use to think that PIBG is working for the parents of the students for the betterment of the students but from my own experience, I noticed that they are just like any corrupted politicians.

The Chairman of the PIBG board of my son’s school actually supported the principal as brushed our concerns on the issues of our children’s welfare (too many books to be carried each day = bag too heavy and teacher x teaching the subjects that she told the children to bring the textbooks; closing one of the exit doors too early at the end of the school day and ignoring parents’ call to let their children out; punishing the children by making them stand the whole time for that particular subject for one whole month for failing to get certain grade for certain subjects (eventhough the child passed the exams)) and the financial matters (where the money was spent, why it was duplication of work, etc).

The whole scenario that occured in March 2008 is still fresh in my mind and it made me laugh as how it was parallel to our government. The more we want transparency from them, the more lies that the corrupted politicians are coming up with.

This is definitely not the way to go for our future generation.

40. #40 by bolehlandor on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:43 am

Dear Hannah

My heartfelt sympathies to you and others like you (such as the imprisoned Burmese winner of the Nobel Peace Prize) who are suffering tremendously because you choose to reject corruption at its worst – institutionalsed abuses of the rakyat for one’s own evil greed. Alas, such is the sad situation in this so-called third world country with corrupt, greedy and short-sighted moronic political masters.

Not to dispair though as I am beginning to sense a little revolution beginning to stir in the form of vote of no-confidence against the ever-sleeping and hypocrite bodohwi. Let us all true rakyat pray that this motion will succeed/

41. #41 by ktteokt on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 7:51 am

Such unexpected low mentality and bad sportsmanship shown by these teachers! They simply did not practise what they preached in school!

42. #42 by chiakchua on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:01 am

“if you choose to remain silent and succumb to threats like this, there is little hope left for Malaysia.” by Hannah

Yes, this is the situation in Malaysia. This trend is an extension of the Ketuanan Melayu propagated and practiced by the UMNOputras for the past 40 years (since after the May 13 1969)! They are arrogant! They enforced every damn unfair things to the rakyat under the pretext of NEP; but they are making use of the Bumiputra mass for their own benefit and political mileage. They leave their own race to rot, then they sapu them into the civil service to make them middle class, and at the same time protecting their position with the undivided ‘blind’ loyalty of these civil servants. 4 to 8 people doing one man’s job, this is the efficiency! That’s why they need huge coffer from the oil money to keep surviving, hence how could they not to reduce the oil subsidy!

And now some politician is making use of the ‘highly feared’ figures to frighten the rakyat; sue me if you ‘dare’ if you don’t take my instruction to put on my ‘ordered’ attire at functions attended by me! Is this also the beginning of the end of this country?

Hannah, PK is the right platform to put things right! However, it is good that you reveal this to the attention of all fellow countrymen. “Leave the vengeance to me”, just do your part, whatever that you could do as a human being, and having done all, stand!

43. #43 by paix on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:22 am

Fourth rate infrastucture with fifth rate mentality. We are no better than Zimbabwe.

44. #44 by sotong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:22 am

In the current environment, if they don’t fear you, they don’t hear you!

45. #45 by Mr Smith on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:35 am

Hanna,
    Please don’t despair. Why are you so exasperated? Take it calmly. Contact your friends and go for the gathering and see what happens. Also let us know who gave this directive.
    Never give in meekly to such naked abuse of power. I am sure there will be many who will stand with you.
    To give in is to allow further abuse of power by the BN stooges.

46. #46 by PSM on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 8:54 am

Once again we see the sad state of our BN controlled Schools (& for that matter Universities also). Is it any wonder we are getting from bad to worse?
    The little Napoleons are still in control of our children in school. They “teach” our children to be racists, to hate, to be “small & narrow minded” basically they encourage stupidity & the list goes on.
    First world Infrastructure? First world mentality? Ya rite!
    Hannah…we the Rakyat “feel” for you but as long as the BN is in control, we will continue to see this kind of “gutter” behaviour!
    We pray the PR takes over soon!

47. #47 by rainbowseahorse on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:02 am

Hannah,

Speaking one’s mind and what’s right! That’s what makes one stand out above the rest! But it can be a rather lonely place up there, as you might well know. Sometimes, in our jest to champion our principals & convictions, we have to “step back 5 by 5”..i.e..take five steps backwards, and assess the situation for five minutes/days with a critical eye and mind.

Occasionally, we need to ask ourselves: Have we deviated from our original path, have we turned ourselves into what we have been fighting against, are we forcing (instead of educating) others to our way of thinking, and, in general, filter out what has seeped in and got mixed up with what we are championing for. Always refrain from being overtly jealous in our championing, as this can make and will make us appear to be fanatical and, yes, crazy to others. This will surely defeat our causes and our selves.

You apparently have chosen your path in life, so good luck and all the best in your endeavors, and may you find your inner strength when you that most.
    And oh yah, PRAYERS helps too!

48. #48 by laufuzhe28 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:17 am

You received invitation to the upcoming Prefects’ Reunion of SMK Subang Utama. You have received news that you could no longer attend the function because you are an assemblyman from Pakatan Rakyat.
    Two prefects have confirmed that the teachers have issued a threat to the prefects to withdraw their invitation to me and if not, the event would be cancelled.
    You were the Head Prefect for 1995/1996 and was one of the pioneers to start this yearly reunion for the prefects.
    This is a private function to be held outside the school; every past and present prefect is entitled to attend this event

Points to note:
    1. I suppose that the invitation must have been sent to you by the Prefects Board.
    2. Isn’t there teacher/s-in-charge of such Board?
    3. You are both; an ex-prefect (head) as well as now an ADUN, and that makes the invitation more special.Such occasion always include past and present members. Why the rejection?
    4. If the invitation to you is for you to grace the occasion as an ADUN, it must have been discussed and had the consensus of the Board before the invitation is sent. Are these teachers the teachers-in-charge? Otherwise it’s none of their concern unless endorsed by the school Principal.
    5. You’ve said it; “this is a private function and to be held outside the school.” Why is this subject to such threat?

49. #49 by cheng on soo on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:39 am

First-world infrastructure?? shiok sendiri sahaja ! Msia so called forst-world infrastructure normally dont last for more than 3 years. After that most of these infrastructure will start to rot. due to improper operation and poor maintenance.

50. #50 by robert wong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:39 am

As long as one is upholding righteousness, he/she will receive the reward. But for those who instill injustice and practising evil deeds will be punised eternally. May GOD bless their souls. We are not only entering the age of physical warfare but the spiritual warfare as well. Those who stand firm and resist the temptation will reap the fruit of the spirit. Hannah , may the guiding spiritual light shine upon your path to fight the evil darkness.

51. #51 by greenacre on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:42 am

I have spend three decades in the system that Hannah is complaining of. Indeed Malaysian society had bred that system for so long. Don’t simply blame the teacher. There are other powerful forces behind them that can and do make their life difficult not one day but forever. They can’t voice it over or out to you.

Only after 50 years there is some light in the tunnel. You have a valid complaint nevertheless. A system change would do wonders.

52. #52 by clearwater on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:50 am

Hannah,

I would like to invite you to be my guest at an informal class reunion of some 40 people at a hotel in Subang Jaya on 26 July, 08. We attended school in the sixties.Some of us have children your age [ we’re not bringing them along ] but all of us would only be to proud to have a daughter with your moral courage and ideals. Most of us I can modestly say, are much more accomplished than your teachers. All are definitely smarter. Seriously, Hannah, it would be an honor to have you attend.

53. #53 by cto on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 9:56 am

I do not wish to sound dismissive and I certainly emphatize with Hannah.

However, I am a little unclear on what are the objectives here. Is it to correct the education system or is it to protest against the cancellation of this gathering of prefects and ex-prefects? If it is the latter, I would suggest that we are fixing the symptoms of a much bigger problem. Time and effort is better spent elsewhere.

Hannah, I applaud you for taking a position on this. However, with all due respect, I would suggest that you save your tears and effort for something bigger than this. Relative to the injustice and the rampant corruption over the past 50 years, this gathering of prefects and ex-prefects is trivial. Focus on the root cause. The teachers are products of a flawed system and we should not hold them totally responsible for this.

54. #54 by taikohtai on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:17 am

Welcome to the real world, dear Hannah.
    Or should I say, the blinkered coconut-shelled world of Malaysia.
    But since you are fighting for a greater cause, that of universal justice, you must expect obstacles to be always in your way – big and small. This is where the rakyat has put their faith in your wisdom factor, although you are still youngish in eyes of many.
    Young Hannah, may your convictions remain strong and unbiased. May you remain untainted by the many defilements that have already penetrated so many in the administration of governance. And may your GOD continue to protect and watch over you.

55. #55 by i_love_malaysia on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:47 am

Hannah,

You cant please every one. At times, you cant blame the teachers for refusing to join the event if you were invited and be there. They may be taking a too precautious step, I dont think any teacher, especially those who had taught you before would not be proud of you as the assemblywoman for SJ and may be the first from your former school !!!
    You have to understand that there are many “hantus” around which will report to their master(s) that an opposition assemblywoman has been invited to attend the event and may ended up with different story all together e.g. give a talk etc etc!!!
    I think you should go but keep politics aside and just be there without showing that you are now the assemblywoman for SJ. People will appreciate your presence even without invited as it is our Malaysian way of hospitality!!!
    Do continue to pray, there’s no problem too big that our God cant solve it!!! God bless you!!!

56. #56 by melurian on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 10:54 am

cannot blame the skool/teachers – who knows dap will take this advantage to spread their propaganda and brainwash students that what BN gov do is bad (example reducing subsidy rate, speaker rejecting motion from oppos, and allegation of pak lah being incompetent), and what PR do is good (like encourage MP to jumpship).

get real, hannah is a politician, and a politician from DAP somemore, and since she has chosen this path, she should realize the consequent than rather to gain public sympathetic and make a hoohaa on this! the teachers are making wise decision to disallow the invitation especially in times like this when BN has lost selangor and speculations PR is taking over the gov. why can’t the adun be more reasonable. is not bias, is not selfish like the DUN pointed out – is a consideration after weighing the possibility negative outcomes, especially for event that affiliates the skool’s name which suppose to stay apolitical.

57. #57 by ShiokGuy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:01 am

Dear Hannah,

I am with you with this. I am a vocal headboy in my school in Sarawak back in 80s. I was whipped by the headmaster because I stand up again what is right, my fellow student supported me.

When the headmaster want to fired me and appoint other as Headboy.. We have a protest in the school! It was fun then…

Just go to the party uninvited.

The young and the old are brain washed not to think but follow instruction. A robot is easier to control and manipulated than a human. Be a human!

I have my view and other.. read my blog..

Shiok Guy

58. #58 by riversandlakes on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:12 am

Didn’t PR win in Selangor?

Are they actually going against the STATE GOVERNMENT? Can’t the State Gov do something? Come on, bring this up in the news!

59. #59 by Rocky on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:19 am

a tainted or corrupt or morally wrong BN rep is always welcome…why? they got money ma and the teacher(s) don’t care of role models or doing the right thing etc. if only they can focus this energy in their teaching instead of politics. Sigh.

apa nak jadi???

60. #60 by yani on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:55 am

Dear Hannah,

I am a Malay Muslim mother of 3, staying in your area. My family was very pleased when you got elected. Being young, intelligent, responsible and vocal, we see you as a role model for our children.

Do not despair. Remember God is fair and most merciful. The time will come, soon. All the best and be prepared.We are behind you and you will always be in our prayers.

61. #61 by aawilliam on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:07 pm

Publish the teacher’s photo,like what Wee Choo Keong(wangsa maju MP)did on the DBKL’s guy.Shame them.I’ll circulate the photo for you.Shishhhh!!

62. #62 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:23 pm

YESSSSSS aawilliam, bring the guy out, show his/her despicable look and shame him/her! Splash his/her photo all over Subang and Selangor and let the people, the rakyat react with treatment he/she deserves!

63. #63 by Saint on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:32 pm

The problem is not with the teachers but those who control teachers. It is the PTA that should take up this matter with the HM. Once again the HM is not the problem but the powers behind him/her.

Let us not forget that many of the teachers and HM’s may have voted for the alternate parties.

As to Hannah, go to the function as an old student (prefect) and not as a politician or a VIP. Let us see what these clowns do. You SHOULD go, so as to inform the younger generation that “justice and truth” is always worth fighting for and it needs courage to do so; silently and legally. Make the day for us.

64. #64 by cheng on soo on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:33 pm

Aawilliam, Jong, That teacher coukd be under pressure from higher up. he/she may need to protect their rice bowl?

65. #65 by Jameswong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:34 pm

this BN is abusing all the mechinery of the Government, we should seperate politic with education/sport.

What else they cannot do !! They restrict the people elected rep to meet her people, that’s is too much.

But, we know Hannah is working hard to improve Subang Jaya, keep it up.

66. #66 by Damocles on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:36 pm

Hannah, I’m unequivocally on your side.
    I must say that for fifty plus years, especially during the last quarter century, the government controlled news media has progressively brain-washed Malaysians.
    Generations have grown up singing the praises of the BN and it is not surprising that even today there are still those who continue to do so!
    There is only one way to change all this and that is for the PR to take over the reigns of power. Once this happens, start revamping all the schools and sack all the journalists who had a hand in foisting half-truths or untruths on the people.
    Lift the OSA and reveal all agreements that had been made by the BN. Take action against those who has been derelict in their duties.
    Roll back all their policies.
    In the meantime, you can take whatever action to enlighten those who are involved in this particular incident.
    The recent electoral tsunami has shown that there are still many right minded people around, so you must not feel disheartened.

67. #67 by k1980 on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:37 pm

Interesting topic for debating in schools and of course, parliament:
    It is true; fuel subsidy was never in the government budget. It is not just that, even the food subsidy was also never in the budget. As a result, it is an expenditure ‘unaccounted for’ or, an expenditure that never being paid by the government. As a result, fuel and (today we knew that) food subsidy too are not something that government had to pay for from either taxpayer money or from any other government income…
    http://kickdefella.wordpress.com/

68. #68 by greenacre on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:40 pm

Hello riversandlike!
    Didn’t PR win in Selangor?

Are they actually going against the STATE GOVERNMENT?

For your info …Education comes under the federal government.

69. #69 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 12:45 pm

Cheng On Soo,

It does not matter who, however high up that person is, but just expose whoever he/she is. Splash the pix!

We want him/her to explain why the directive? Cowards like them must not be allowed the convenience of hiding behind a junior staff member and get away unscathed.

70. #70 by wizzerd on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:06 pm

Bentoh says:
    I am thankful that I have teachers who told us not to be afraid of “anti-government”… not to be afraid of the police… because that’s our right to anti-government… and that the police is non other than our employees…

Bentoh, we are not anti-govt, not even anti -BN, we are just not pro the policies made by BN.
    Please do not equate supporting the Opposition to anti-govt or unpatriotic.

71. #71 by Jong on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:18 pm

If it’s a “teacher” under pressure, we want him/her to explain the directive, and under whose pressure. We demand the truth nothing but truth!

72. #72 by limkamput on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 1:25 pm

K1980 and Kickdefella,
    Sometimes I feel that there are simply too much of misinformation in the blog. Contrary to what you said, the government does provide budgetary allocation for all subsidies in the national budget every year.

All DIRECT subsidies are provided for in the government budget and these include fuel, rice, fertilizer, school textbook, nutrition programmes and others. The direct subsidies in 2007 were about RM12.5 billion as provided for in the federal government’s budget. Please refer to the Treasury Economic Report 2007/08. In addition to direct subsidies, there are “indirect” subsidies provided by Petronas to the energy and industrial sector. Here Petronas was directed to sell the gas at much lower price than the market price. Although these are not direct subsidies paid out of the national budget, it is profit/revenue forgone by Petronas. And since Petronas is wholly owned by the Government, the subsidies provided by Petronas are technically subsidies provided by government. If you want a better insight, please go to this site:
    limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/2008/06/fuel-prices-and-national-budget.html

73. #73 by pkrisnin on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 2:23 pm

What are the names of these teachers, their name and pictures should be published.

74. #74 by twistedmind on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 5:05 pm

Was it SUBANG JAYA or some backwater kampung in Kedah?

These are where educated people reside and they let morons run the school………..and corrupt the minds of their children!

When will Malaysians STAND UP!?

75. #75 by vincent on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 6:07 pm

How many of you would stand alongside me for this cause?

———————————————–
    Me !

76. #76 by choonchoy on Monday, 23 June 2008 - 11:21 pm

Those teachers involved should be sacked!!!

77. #77 by taiking on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 8:34 am

Obviously the teacher who issued the threat is someone who could not see beyond the tip of his/her nose.

I am sure that the teacher is also a coward because when challenged or exposed he/she is likely to act blur, deny issuing the threat, claim misunderstanding or cite some dubious order / directive from above.

This is certainly the correct way to rot for BN. So go on and rot man.

Quite clearly those idiots could not see that the world has progressed beyond IT. We are now into reality TV shows.

Quite clearly they did not realise that the heros in the minds of today’s youth are movie stars and sports persons. “Politicians? Well yeah. But Nicole David is my true hero.”

We must not despair. We shall celebrate this event.

Give it a name.

Lets call it the Hannah Yeoh Day.

Yeh!

78. #78 by Cinapek on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 10:27 am

Hannah, this blatantly sick episode is the best opportunity to show up the sad state of affairs in our schools as the place to inculcate good values in our young.

You were elected as part of the process to right the wrongs in Malaysia today and you should take this opportunity to do whatever is necessary to ensure such bigots and extremist in our school system are taught a good lesson. Kick up enough fuss all the way to the Minister level and make sure those responsible are either kicked out or at least properly reprimanded. Is it any wonder now why the majority of non Malay parents are reluctant to send their children to Govt schools?

79. #79 by k1980 on Tuesday, 24 June 2008 - 11:59 am

Now that civil servants are encouraged to take 2nd jobs, the fun begins:-
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Tuesday/National/2275798/Article/index_html

80. #80 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:23 am

As I have said before, let good sense prevail.

There is no need to be confrontational. No need to be over -emotional. No need to over-react.

If one is not welcome, just don’t force your way through. No need for that.

In this case, I think Hannah’s absence from the function would a talking point and also a deafening silence. It would dawn on all of them that something is wrong that Hannah is absent. That the ‘order’ or ‘instruction’ to keep her away because of her political belief is all but wrong and misguided.

The teachers or whoever gave the orders would have to live with a sense of guilt all his/her life. That he/she had done a great injustice.

Hopefully after this unexpected turn of event, good sense would return and Hannah would be invited again into the fold and that the person would regret his/her action and good sense returned to its rightful place.

Let the process go through. And let the people learn the lesson. It is through some sort of wrong that some people would learn what is right.

Good luck folks! Live and let’s live!

81. #81 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:33 am

Please folks, we have to learn to keep our cool. It is precisely when we are ‘hot-headed’ that we couldn’t think right.

It would be advisable to refrain from cursing and calling others names which we do not wish others call us.

I see lots of cursing in this blog. Well, we may have different ideas from others, but that does not warrant us to curse them. Isn’t it our desire to see real democracy? Isn’t it our dream to have freedom of expression? It is precisely because of these ideals we fight for our rights. Hence, why should we deny others what we wish for ourselves? Think about it.

I am not a supporter of any divide, left or right. Just to chip in to keep our cool and balance. No one gains if there is a ‘war’. Just why not debate and get the best out of it?

82. #82 by mysn1st on Wednesday, 25 June 2008 - 12:46 pm

Another obvious discrimination which could be easily prove in our government system.

I wish YB Lim and YB Hannah would ensure yours will take this as a first priority matter need to be resolve when your party role.

83. #83 by bdason on Sunday, 29 June 2008 - 7:48 pm

What a shame….if you were from UMNO I am sure they will even throw a kenduri for you…..but alas you were not. You should go as this is a private function. There is no need for you to feel ashamed to have stood up for the opposition.