(12th General Election Nomination Day statement by DAP Ipoh Timur parliamentary candidate Lim Kit Siang in Ipoh on Sunday, 24th February 2008)
This 12th general election, unlike the previous 11 general elections, is not just about the next five years but a vote about the first 50 years of Malaysian nationhood and the next 50 years!
To many Malaysians, this general election is the last hope for change and an acid test whether there is a future for the building of a democratic, competitive, multi-racial, multi-religious, secular and just nation which our forefathers pledged to build through the Merdeka “social contract”.
It will be the clincher in the decision-making of many Malaysians whether there is hope to build a democratic, just and competitive Malaysia or there will be a new exodus of braindrain of the best and brightest of Malaysians to other lands in despair at any possibility that all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, can have an equal place under the Malaysia sun.
Most challenging of all, the March 8 general election offers a golden opportunity to halt and dismantle the four-decade Umno political hegemony which has become the greatest threat to democracy, international competitiveness and national unity in Malaysia.
Umno political hegemony has marginalized not only whole communities of ordinary Malaysians, but even the other Barisan Nasional component parties as illustrated by the ordeal of the Gerakan Wanita Chief, Datuk Tan Lian Hoe, being kicked around like a football Bukit Gantang, back to Gerakan’s Taiping seat, then to Lenggong and now Gerik.
The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has said that none of his cabinet ministers except for his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Razak were guaranteed a cabinet position even if they won in the general election – meaning that the top leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC for the first time in 51 years are not assured of a Cabinet position if elected.
This the latest twist in the Barisan Nasional ‘power-sharing” and proof of greater marginalization of the other Barisan Nasional component parties because of the unchecked rise of Umno political hegemony.
The challenge on March 8 is whether history can be made to check and dismantle the Umno political hegemony, which marginalized ordinary Malays, Indians, Chinese, Kadazan-Dusun-Muruts, Ibans and indigenous people, orang Asli, by depriving the Barisan Nasional of two-thirds majority.
If DAP, PKR and PAS can each secure 25 parliamentary seats, denying BN of 75 parliamentary seats, then the beginning of the end of the umno political hegemony threatening democracy, international competitiveness and national unity would have begun.

#1 by Democrats on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 7:45 pm
Shamsul speaks with wisdom…… He sees the logic behind a multiracial coalition government. Of course, he sees the Malay agenda in it.
A recent case I experienced, when the ministry of finance issued a circular to all government ministries, department and agencies to procure a particular product without tender and by way of direct negotiation with a bumiputra manufacturer, justifying by stating “dasar kerajaan untuk membantu pengilang bumiputera berdaya maju” – with the company contacts fully advertised! Within quick implementation, hundreds of thousands of taxpayers money (my money inculded) was drained procuring products at ridiculous prices.
How do we know this. A bumiputra tenderer who obtained a contract approach us for similar products to be made for him, where our price was half of this bumiputera manufacturer – and with the enforcement, he stand to lose tens of thousand by buying from them instead of us. A case of BUMI killing BUMI – that’s why many still poor. (Interesting point, how can buying from people at higher prices makes them berdaya maju?’
Our complaint to the MCA fell on deaf ears – response, ZERO “…will of the government”. When DAP took up the case, with some noise made, the directive is later retracted. Kudos to DAP.
So shamsul, by not voting MCA, am I penalizing my own race?People who say they look after our interest but in fact does nothing other than behaving like hyenas by taking the scraps leftover by the lions. And wHat is leftovers ? – Not enough to share with the rest.
Support MCA? Thank you, but I think not.
#2 by Evenmind on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 7:53 pm
We wanna be true Malaysians ,not no more of bumi , non bumi shi t , so pls for God sake vote the Bangsat Nasional party out
Deny them the2/3 majority , otherwise the next time around , Kerismuddin will become even bolder, he thinks he is Al-Capone, ala Mafioso ,
He’ll even flash his pants infront of the Chinese and Indians whilst pointing his middle finger, he will say he is untouchable, and it’ll be too late, and the only thing we could do then will be changing his name to Dickamuddin. Let’s kick his and BN’s azz b4 all tht happens.Gud luck and long live DAP and Keadilan.
#3 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 8:55 pm
Malaysianborn,
Just based on the positions on various public issues that Datuk Zaid Ibrahim has articulated publicly in his speeches and writings, he ought to be attributed some respect that he rightfully has earned in the role of a national politician. He spoke and wrote what his lights guided him as right, heedless of consequences (which have since come to pass). His rise within UMNO was meteoric and his law firm gets patronage of big govt. jobs. What does he gain out of speaking genuinely against so many things that the administration had done wrong? Absolutely nothing : in fact he has everything to lose – and now his candidacy as well. Don’t forget when an Opposition leader speaks against govt. policies he has got nothing to lose but everything to gain from sections of rakyat fed up with the government but when an UMNO chieftain like Zaid, who has already gained much from being associated with UMNO, did so – and it was quite often he had been vocal in his criticisms (like his arguments against Nazri about the state of Judiciary – he has everything to lose and nothing to gain (in the material sense), unless he desires to join the Opposition, which of course he has not evinced any desire to do so. I have had hopes that he would ascend the UMNO structure and am very disappointed that UMNO dropped an exemplary politician from the line up for no better reason than the fact that Zaid is exemplary. What are they talking about getting quality people? They don’t know the meaning of quality.
#4 by Menang atau mati on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 9:50 pm
Jeffrey Says:
“They don’t know the meaning of quality.”
I disagree.
Yes they do.
Quality is a six letter word -” Lap Dog”
together it is the obedient “lapdog”
#5 by lopez on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 10:10 pm
i have been deny of fair treatment since 70′s, i have to face carefully fabricated policies and malicious acts of prevention for 30 years but survive to have this forth days, malaysians like me have suffered, bear, belittled, trampled, insulted, offended, yelled at, asked to leave, fined, fool , directed around and around, blamed, forced to move, close shop, accused, alleged, things confiscated, and i reason to myself, is it because i worked harder, be what i am with my own ingenuity and my own resources, own things what i worked for, become who i am with no handout, no training scheme, no bank loan, no scholarship, no guarantor, no high ranking officer endorsement, no special shares issues
I have to give up my apparent opportunities before me in the 70′s, which i dont even know i can reap them in those days, but taken away any way, somehow i survive and i thank those who sacrifice their time, and their family time for the deals and ordeal they went through.
I salute you uncle lim and all those people like you, and i salute those who are enduring their time and their family time at this very moment of time.
malaysians like me yearn not to have their children endure the same, because the globalised world is a different ball game.
We need to change, a fast and a forward change.
We must be realistic and embrace change and keep up with the world around us.
#6 by blablowbla on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 10:32 pm
one of PKR manifesto is to abolish NEP,more and more Malays are joining PKR,it shows that partially of them had a matured thoughts about Malaysia’s futures,bravo!Unlike the UMNO useless youths,senior elites,plus the parasite 13-component parties,still becoming ‘YESMEN’ like slaves of money politics!
#7 by lopez on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:38 pm
I learnt from our good old malaysian school that, If one wish to judge others then one should be ready to be reciprocally judged.
all these years our elected MP of the ruling club, kept telling us, if you dont do what we have decided for you, you have to face the consequences.
obediently we complied, because in most of our minds we just want to get the hell of what the hassle of going through the trouble if we dont and we all know are realistic about it ..bolehland delaying tactics can haggle you till kingdom comes.
And these buggers got caught somehow, they get away scott free and the case closed before it ever started as if they have immunity.
When a malaysian, hawk on the street, he get fined, things confiscated, and marked down.
I am going to vote them out.
#8 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:39 pm
Shamsul is right, Malays by themselves can form the GOMEN which they have been doing for the past 37 years [ I wouldn't say 50 years] those MCA, GERAKAN, MIC , PPP and what have you? are all non-entity. That is why we have been going DOWN HILL all these years. If you are sincere to help the POOR MALAYS, don’t you think the revenue generated by Petronas and ALL the GLCs would have up-lifeted them after all these years. By the way can you add the amount of profits generated all these years? Ask your LEADERS what have they done with all those profits. Do you dare to enquire? By the way you stated your opinion, I am sure you do know, maybe part of the set-up too.
#9 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:45 pm
Dear Menang atau Mati,
No. You do not have to kiss UMNO”s foot. You just have to be truthful. That is all. The first step is to look at facts.
As for PSM, nobody is denying your effort. But in sincerity, where do you get your education. Have you ever received education in govt school? Have you ever started a business due to an environment secured by the govt you hate? Have you not come across any Malaysian who receive scholarship from the govt that you see nothing good about?
Have you not come across a multi millionaire who is able to achieve such a status due to conducive business environment made available by the govt that you condemn? Are you not aware that vernacular schools funded by the very govt you hate? Are you not aware that without fail election is held by the so called cruel govt?
And “MCA Parti kurang Relevan”. Wow. This is new to me. But I am not so sure of it. Neither those tens of thousands of Malaysians who receive education from KTAR and UTAR.
As for Evenmind, well there is a saying “Mannerism maketh a man”. Please do mind your mannerism. There is no need to mock another human being. Their parents give them beautiful names. Just present your view WITH MANNERISM of course.
#10 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:50 pm
Dear Undergrad2,
Yes. Democracy is not about numbers only. If that is the case, long time ago Malaysia would have been ruled by UMNO only.
What I am trying to say is that by mocking and rejecting say MCA, the Chinese are actually voting Chinese politicians out from the govt. Hence, the sentence “the choice is in your hand”.
#11 by shamshul anuar on Tuesday, 26 February 2008 - 11:57 pm
Dear JIMM,
I refer to your posting. I beg to differ. Contrary to what you wish to accep, actually no malays has ever denied contribution by UMNO. Despite its weaknesses, UMNO is perceived as has helped Malays and also Malaysians.
So, actuaaly Malays generally are not angry at UMNO. Once a while they are upset at some individuals in UMNO. For example, many Malays are upset that PM took so much time before detaining Hindraf leaders after they made slanderous remark ;that is etnic cleansing.
#12 by Menang atau mati on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 12:32 am
Dear Shamsul,
I will give you this.You debate and exchange your views in a gentleman’s manner.
First,from your statements are you implying the facilities that are available can only be provided by Barisan Nasional as the ruling government?
Are you saying that if another party or Front form the government they will not be able to provide the same facilities if not even better?
As tax paying citizens(and even non-tax paying citizens )it is our right to have these facilities provided and I go further to say it is our right to DEMAND such facilities.
If they cannot provide such facilities,they shouldn’t be there at all.
Having said that,it is not enough to provide such basic facilities;they must rule the country fairly and cleanly with the ultimate objective of creating a peaceful and prosperous nation particularly in a nation that is multi-racial in composition.
Lets face the facts.There were more racial harmony in Malaysia (East or West) during its early days than now.
When I was in Sabah,some 25 years ago, I was amazed at how much interaction and integration there was among the races.There was a high percentage of inter-marraige among the various races.They never looked at each other as of a particular race.It was common to find families that was represented by many races.
After UMNO went to Sabah,the people are now talking about muslim,non-muslim, Bumi,non-Bumi,Malay,Kadazan,Chinese etc.
Left on their own,they were evolving into a truly Malaysian society.
#13 by Colonel on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 2:54 am
Limkamput Says:
Yesterday at 02: 01.49
“Read my lips..”
I have been trying very hard for the last few days to figure out how to “read your lips”. Can anybody help??
#14 by Colonel on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 2:58 am
“What I am trying to say is that by mocking and rejecting say MCA, the Chinese are actually voting Chinese politicians out from the govt. Hence, the sentence “the choice is in your handâ€. Shamshul Anuar
Speaking about choices being in one’s hand, it reminds me of the day I was in front of this urinal in the University of Malaya library. On the wall some innovative mind had been at work. On it were scribbled the words, “The future is in your hands. Take very good care of it”.
#15 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:07 am
Shamsul Anuar, Mannerism maketh my foot, this is pot calling the kettle black, tell the BN leaders first to be sensitive to issues, tell them to stop acting like Mafias and intimidate its own citizens, Kerismuddin , for whatever is gonna be called next is a threat to national unity, first he threatens and give goodies to the Chinese community , this is the way probably he’s trying to say sorry , who is he trying kid ? what a d i c k head?
#16 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:32 am
The ordinary Nons or langitputeras or whatever the admin in power is gonna call them next has always worked against the tide , and know what hardship is , not spoonfed, unlike the one who is trying to teach me about mannerism., the more hardship i endure in this ‘ beloved ‘ country the more i wud curse the gomen, so will the lot who is in the same shoes. Bumi / non bumi , my FOOT.
For the lighter side of things , for the latest hits in Malaysia, log on to ( http://www.comedycourt.com my ) ., its very entertaining.
#17 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:33 am
http://www.comedycourt.com.my
#18 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 6:59 am
http://www.comedycourt.com.my click ‘enter website’, and then click Latest hits. Enjoy.
#19 by sotong on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:51 am
How could any reasonable leader/s not foresee the enormous harm and permanent and long term damage of the failed, exploited and grossly discriminative policies would had on a multi racial and religious country?
Many innocent and non political people are made victims.
Too much pride, arrogance and greed with no/little leadership of responsibility, accountability and competency.
#20 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:25 am
“Yes. Democracy is not about numbers only.” Shamshul Anuar
I’m afraid here you’re being a bit of a chameleon.
#21 by PSM on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 10:41 am
Shamshul,
I am glad you brought the issue of Govt Schools up. Yes, you are right,I was educated in the Govt School. I did my Degree & Masters in a Local Govt University. Yes, the Govt. subsidises Education in Malaysia. However, don’t you think that is the Govt’s job?
The reason why I studied locally was because my parents could not afford to send me Overseas. No big deal that’s life. However, many of my RICH (please take note of this) Malay Class mates were given full Scholarships to go Overseas (US, UK, Australia). Most (read: All) of them did not have to do the STPM (have you?). Those that studied locally got into University after Form 5, did “Matriculasi” & went on to do their Degrees. Do you know the difference between “Matriculasi” & STPM?
Really, what I am saying is STOP this Race Politics! Largesse should be give based on NEED not Race! There are poor Malays, Indians, Chinese, Non-Malay Bumis & Others. They should be given Scholarships & help, etc.
We as a Nation are divided now more than ever (Bible confiscating, Body-snatching, Non-Transperancey in Public Tenders, the continuing Islamization into our daily lives, Corruption, Sham of a Judiciary, Corrupted Police Force, just to name a few). The NEP has made the Malays (please note not all) dependant on the Govt. The Chinese & Indians (those that can afford it) migrate or worse still send their children away (the “Brain Drain” is ever real but the Govt denies it openly in Parliment!). Most of them really don’t want to go if they had a choice.
How long can we survive the NEP? We need to look towards a Bangsa Malaysia. I look forward to the day when I can write “Malaysian” in a Malaysian Govt Form without having to state my race.
By the way, Shamshul, you “debate” on a gentlemanly manner (unlike some others here who should know better). We all want a better future for Malaysia & Malaysians).
Maybe by kicking out most of the MCA. MIC & Gerakan candidates we can make a point to the Govt!
Just Change It!
#22 by k1980 on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 1:38 pm
To Colonel : You can see his lips at—-
http://www.coronanorco.com/eagles/_frame2.htm
#23 by lovemalaysia on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 3:30 pm
y MCA is always said “fighting very hard” for Chinese schools?, y Hishamuddin said to Dong Jong, :” u need to be sincere in talking abt chinese school with me, then i will assist.” i thought this is the basic job as Education Minister, y MCA need to fight hard, and Dong Jong need to be sincere? y bumi buying a million Ringgit property also need to be given discounts? y certain grp never need to fight for schools, mosque, etc?
#24 by shamshul anuar on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 7:48 pm
Dear PSM,
Many thanks for your info. I meant no disrespect to Evermind or anybody. Surely, there is a better way in expressing our idea. No need to stood that low in order to make a point. Go criticize but spare the insult.
I am happy with your academic( and for everybody) progress. So, there is something good that UMNO led govt has done. This is my point. Evermind condemned BN as if it had done nothing good.
Contrary to what you said, NEP does not make Malays dependent on Govt. It just gives Malays better footing in economy. It enables the creation of a sizable Malay professionals.
Malay leaders have been urging Malay to be independent. Many Malays are now involved in farming , albeit in non traditional way. Modern agriculture I must say. They may not be multi millionaie. but they earn 5 digit income per month. Of course, this is nothing as compared to Chinese but it is a good start.
I myself am a self employed. I do not depend on govt for an income. And contrary to your perception, quite a number of my friends who are active in politics are doing small businesses but thriving businesses. They do not depend on handouts from UMNO. And UMNO leaders do not need to bribe them with projects in order to survive elections.
And Malays also have grouses. But of course, LIM kit siamg is not bothered about their plights. I can safely say that Malays are sometimes discriminated in banks. I had seen some ugly episodes. It takes intervention from Bank Negara to rectify the discrimination.
r plights.
I am amused with your statement: stop on race based politics. It is known among Malays how DAP, despite trying to sound democratic is the worst player of racial politics. It persistently maintains a very anti malay stands. It played the racial cards on relocation of a Chinese school in Damansara seven years ago. For nothing, Western media portayed UMNO led as trying to destroy Chinese school.
And It gladly agreed to the lies by Hindraf:etnic cleansing . Not to mention Kua 100% put the blame on UMNO on May 13 tragedy.
As for the poor, yes every poor soul must be helped irregardless of race. Nobody can deny that Govt also help poor people from non Malay communities.
If you feel any MCA or Gerakan politicians need to be voted out, it is up to you. But siding with losing team may not be pleasant.
#25 by PSM on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 8:58 pm
Shamshul,
Thanks for your reply.
looks like we will have differing opinions no matter what. We could go to & fro on & on but I doubt there will be an agreement.
You say DAP plays Race Politics & I say BN is even worse.
Can you see a pattern here? One way or the other Race comes into the picture. I work for a Multinational Company & yet the last few Malaysians I hired had to be Malays because we had to maintain the “Quota”. How do you think I felt? It was not hiring based on ability or experience, it was hiring based on Race.
If what you say is true then, the Malays do not need the NEP anymore. Agreed? However, the poor in Malaysia no matter who, can benefit from preferential treatment.
We need a Bangsa Malaysia (which the BN has categorically refuted) no more excuses from anyone. Can we agree on that then at least?
#26 by A Malaysian on Wednesday, 27 February 2008 - 9:47 pm
“…but they earn 5 digit income per month. Of course, this is nothing as compared to Chinese but it is a good start.” Shamshul
take note, i as chinese is no better than this 5 digit income per month. Not all chinese are rich. But for a 5 digit income earner, i don’t think they would need special treatment such as discounted properties.
I have no problem on statement of “helping the poor – where malay happens to be majority” but no matter how, so long the policy is stated as “helping the bumi” then this is raced based govt/politics.
#27 by Evenmind on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 9:09 am
Shamsul ,keeps harping on the statement made by Hindraf about ethnic cleansing,
I suggest that he take a look at the meaning closely , look for it , and he will find that marginalization of the indian community by the Govt. is a form of ethnic cleansing, albeit on a subtle scale, just becos we have morons for Govt. leaders who do not understand and comprehand english, they even make a fool of themselves at the Al-jazeerah tv interview, and hose who think likewise must be MORONS too.,
Ethnic claensing in not just about wiping or finishing of a certain race , for God sake. No wonder English language used in this ‘beloved ‘ country is in such a sorry state. I also suggest DAP leaders take a closer look inrto its meaning too, if they support the Govt. statement.
And yes , I’m very vocal about my sentiment and i’d voice it in whatever way I want, becos its the way i was treated by the biased Govt . mechanism in this country . So if Mr, Shamsul thinks the NEP has benifitted the malays , good on him., In my opinion they have only benifitted the elite Malays and the few Chinese and Indians with good political connection, No value Samy is one example , and talk about , corruption , it is so endemic, it makes me want to puke. and the latest , subamarine purchase ( 500 million plus) commision is just one more example, i cud go on and on , its so sickening., and the culprit is the race based politics that is prescribed by the present defunct govt., Bumi / Non Bumi my AZZ.
#28 by Evenmind on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 9:10 am
Shamsul ,keeps harping on the statement made by Hindraf about etnic cleansing,
I suggest that he take a look at the meaning closely , look for it , and he will find that marginalization of the indian community by the Govt. is a form of etnic cleansing, albeit on a subtle scale, just becos we have morons for Govt. leaders who do not understand and comprehand english, they even make a fool of themselves at the Al-jazeerah tv interview, and those who think likewise must be MORONS too.,
Etnic claensing in not just about wiping or finishing of a certain race , for God sake. No wonder English language used in this ‘beloved ‘ country is in such a sorry state. I also suggest DAP leaders take a closer look inrto its meaning too, if they support the Govt. statement.
And yes , I’m very vocal about my sentiment and i’d voice it in whatever way I want, becos its the way i was treated by the biased Govt . mechanism in this country . So if Mr, Shamsul thinks the NEP has benifitted the malays , good on him., In my opinion they have only benifitted the elite Malays and the few Chinese and Indians with good political connection, No value Samy is one example , and talk about , corruption , it is so endemic, it makes me want to puke. and the latest , subamarine purchase ( 500 million plus) commision is just one more example, i cud go on and on , its so sickening., and the culprit is the race based politics that is prescribed by the present defunct govt., Bumi / Non Bumi my AZZ.
#29 by Evenmind on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 9:23 am
This is for people like Shamsul and the likes
ETNIC CLEANSING is the practice of eliminating, minimalizing, or marginalizing individuals with whose skin color, national origin, culture, language, or religion a nation-state disagrees.
Nazi Germany: Before and during World War II Nazi Germany sought to “etnically cleanse” its country of Jews because Germany’s charismatic, megalomaniac dictator (Hitler) believed Jews were inferior to blond-haired, blue-eyed “native” Germans.
Middle East: For many centuries — far longer than the U.S. has been in existence — and right up to the present, Middle Eastern nations have ruthlessly murdered and/or tortured those within their borders who have differing religions, races, skin colors, and ethnic origins. In 2003 these Middle Eastern countries continue to use torture, brutal murder, stoning, dismemberment, chemical agents, car bombings, and other means to “free” their countries of those with whom they disagree. These countries also hate the U.S. because we are so prosperous.
United States: In 2003 the etnic cleansing of the United States takes a somewhat more subtle and less violent form, albeit just as insidious. In the U.S. today descendants of the original European settlers of the U.S. are routinely prohibited from getting jobs, promotions, contracts, and educational opportunities because they are European descendants, otherwise described as “white” or as “non-minority”!
It is popular in the U.S. to bash, denigrate, and marginalize European-American settlers. So-called “affirmative action” programs have essentially defined the original European settlers as evil, malignant, racists who do NOT deserve equal treatment under the law without regard to skin color or ethnic origin (as promised by the U.S. Constitution). Under the terms of modern day “affirmative action” European-American citizens in the U.S. are to be reviled, denied jobs, and otherwise marginalized simply because they arrived in the U.S. from European countries instead of from “preferred countries” (presumably more deserving countries) such as African nations, Mexico, Middle Eastern nations, South American nations, and certain Pacific Island nations.
Under this pretext, murder and violent crimes against U.S. citizens of European descent are classified as mere “crimes of violence” BUT murder and violent crimes against U.S. residents (citizens as well as non-citizens) who are descended from any non-European country, and/or who are dark complected, are classified as “hate crimes” which invokes federal law enforcement resources and overrides local and state law enforcement efforts
#30 by Evenmind on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 9:32 am
Shamsul , if the Govt. has been giving the majority of the poor indians sufficient jobs in the public sector , the crime perpetuated by them will not be at the scale it is today.
Just let me know how many of them are currently in the public sector. Statistics will reveal the truth of the matter
, There is NO PLACE FOR RACE BASED POLITICS IN TODAYS WORLD, AND yes i would anytime help a malay who is in need, and anybody for that matter , we are all malaysians., FULL STOP.
#31 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 28 February 2008 - 11:25 pm
Dear Evenmind,
That is better. I appreciate your tone now. It shows character. I am not belittling your actually when I caution readers about mannerism.
It means we can discuss, exchange views in mature way. NO need to mock or insult personalities.
And I agree. Help should be given to needy irregardless of races or religions. As much as Indians demand justice, they also must accord justices to other races. Perhaps you are not aware that I or Malay community can accept if anybody or even Hindraf make demands. What upset Malays isthe accusation on etnic cleansing.
Facts do not lie. Majority of civil servants is Malay. However, there are Indians and Chinese too in this sector.
However, there is no denying that Hindraf isa less than honest about the real situation. It purposely did not tell Indians that the demolition of a temple was done after Deepavali, not before.
Of what good is Hindraf action when it declared war on Malays by saying that its enemy is UMNO.
#32 by bumi2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:49 am
Shamsul,
You in tak faham keh? Sudah berapa kali Evenmind menerangkan makna etnic cleansing. Lagi lagi tak faham. Beginikah pendidikan di malaysia di bawah Barisan?
Baca lagi apa itu makna etnic cleansing. Lepas itu baru buka muka/buat komen. Memalukan sahaja.
#33 by bumi2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 11:59 am
Shamsul,
Why arent you able to understand? Evenmind has repreated explained the meaning of etnic clensing to you and yet you repreatedly dont seem to understand its meaning. Has the education in Malaysia come to this level under the administration of the present government?
I suggest that you read the explaination again and then attempt to open your mouth/comment . I am getting tired of your repeated comments, like a spoilt record.
#34 by bumi2 on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 12:02 pm
Dear Uncle Kit,
Please tell me what is wrong with my comments that you are not posting them.
#35 by Evenmind on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 3:47 pm
Shamsul , you do not seem to understand English, you must be one who ‘ benifitted ‘ by NEP ., understand the meaning first b4 making comments . I’ve taken the trouble of posting the thorough meaning of “etnic cleansing ‘ becos the morons in ihe Govt are as imbercile as you are , and the Malays are following suit,
For God sake . , what Hindraf meant by that statement was that they have been marginalized all this while and thier community is dire need of help , crime rate , poverty ,and other socio-economic need to be addressed and so on,
Do your Maths ( if u good at it ) the indians comprises one of the least percentage of minority groups in Malaysia, but they form the majority of convicts today in lockups and jails in Malaysia, I do not even know why i am arguing with an imbercile like you.
From now on you can write anything here, it will sound utterly of no significance to me. I’ve many Malay buddies who kn ow how corrupted the present govt. is , and know race base politics is just a ruse for the ones in power to amass lots more wealth for themselves Have a damn good day
#36 by shamshul anuar on Friday, 29 February 2008 - 10:27 pm
Dear Evenmind,
They say a man who loses his wealth loses nothing but a man who loses his character loses everything.
But of course, judging from coarse language that is your forte, it seems I cant expect much from you. Hmmn.. Let me make it simple for you. Hindraf lied about the demolition of a temple. It did not tell the truth about the issue. Why? It purposely wants to stir the feeling of Indians vs the govt( and Malays, UMNO).
Perhaps, once a while you should advise Hindraf leaders to do some soul searching. Why not rectify weaknesses in the community. I mean no disrespect to Indians, but surely not everything is the fault of Govt.
As for poverty, there are also poverty in other races. But they do not accused the govt of marginalizing them. If that is the rationale, Malays have more grudging as compared to Indians.
And in they are marginalized, why the numbers of temples in Selangor itself is more than the mosques in the state.
And yes. There are corruption. But painting the whole administration as corrupted is mind boggling.
#37 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 1 March 2008 - 1:41 pm
Hey,
If one say that his enemy is UMNO, surely NOT EQUAL to declare war on Malay or anti Malay lah!
How can anyone misinterprete this?
#38 by Evenmind on Saturday, 1 March 2008 - 5:39 pm
Shamsul, so now you have understood the meaning of etnic cleansing, and now its about the demolition of the temples i don’t give two hoods if demolition is carried b4 deepavali , on deepavali or after deepavali , a demolition is a demolition ,
Just imagine if there was a mosque was demolished in M’sia, there wud be mayhem , incited probably by Najib or Kerismuddin or by the majority of the MORONS in UMNO, the moral of the story is its OK in M’sia to disrespect the non muslims , so its OK to demolish their temples and insult them , this is UMNO., not the majority of Malays , i’m talking about. By the way, who is stoping the adminstration to build more mosques and suraus, they can build them by thousands , i don’t mind, as though they have to ask permission.
You agree there is corruption , and to paint the whole adminstration is corrupt is wrong , well for your education just go and check where Malaysia stand in the world corruption index, that would give you an idea where this adminstration stand , then again you might tell me they know not what they are talking about, such is your character, I research the facts thoroughly , unlike you., who just go blabbering , and jabbing without facts , I don’t blame you becos you are the product of NEP ,not meritocracy , pls get a life.
#39 by Loh on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 6:18 am
///Perhaps, once a while you should advise Hindraf leaders to do some soul searching. Why not rectify weaknesses in the community. I mean no disrespect to Indians, but surely not everything is the fault of Govt.///– Shamsul Anuar
Yes, they cannot blame it on the government that they were born Indians. Had they been born Malays, their welfare would have been taken care of by government, and some would be made millionaires.
Yes, Hindraf leaaders should do soul searching why had they waited until now to act. They should have acted earlier. Having said that, I think it is better late than never.
They should have qualified the statement in saying that the government undertake non-violence form of ethnic cleansing. In fact without qualifying it everybody knows exactly what ‘ethnic cleansing’ meant. PM AAB though a graduate of Malay studies from University of Malaya, he graduated in early 1960s. It was true that Malays were given concession for admittance to MU in pre-1969 days when they met the minimum entry requirements, they graduated with proper passing grade. His command of the English language should have exceeded the old GCE level, and so he would have understood exactly what Hindraf meant by ‘ethnic cleansing’ .But because PM AAB could not refute the facts cited by Hindraf leaders, he chose to split hair on the use of words. It is true that ethnic cleansing had also been used to describe the violence form of actions the same words carry other meaning as well. PM AAB chose to attribute the word cleansing to a particular type of actions which did not happen in the country, and accused Hindraf of lying, but he refused to admit another form of ‘ethnic cleansing’ currently taking place in country. Of course when PM AAB said a deer is a horse, that would be a horse. He is all powerful, and he can get the Hindraf leaders under ISA for citing facts on what happen in the country.
Internal Security Act is used against people who only described what happen in the country. The delegates at the UMNO general assembly who openly threatened to cause a repeat of May 13 met with applause as if that was UMNO policy. UMNO should have been charged under ISA, and the party outlawed for going against the law. But UMNO said that they should have acted against Hindraf 5 earlier, when there were no threat to national security even at the time of their arrest. UMNO regretted that they had not utilised the law against innocent persons with impunity, and that demonstrated how AAB government conducted selective persecution.
If the Indian community had not been marginalised by UMNO government, they can very well live with whatever perceived weakness, as claimed. Despite the weakness, the Indian community had to bear the burden so that the community that had been officially declared as weak, and needed crutches, would received the assistances. In the name of assisting the weak, the powerful UMNO politicians get the lion share of government funds, give peanuts to ordinary Malays, and made non-Malays subsidize Malays and in the process make non-Malays permanent enemies of Malays.
#40 by shamshul anuar on Sunday, 2 March 2008 - 6:51 pm
Dear Evenmind,
Yes. A demolition is a demolition. But why it was demolished then? Why HIndraf is silent here? Did not Hindraf tell the Indians that the temple was in a private land? Did not Hindraf tell the Indians that a surau was also demolished.
I told my Indians friends about the demolition of a surau. They stared at me. We did not know this, they said. Suddenly the anger abated. So, Evenmind, I already told you about a surau being demolished. You can see the reaction. That because fortunately none in Malay community stood that low in inciting the feeling.
And Mr Loh, do remember that If UMNO could not care less about Indians, no Indian would have become State Assemblymen or Member of Parliaments. Sound petty. Go and visit other countries and you will see that race does play a big role. Let us get real here.
As for ISA, it is useful to detain those who hide behind so called frredom of speech in order to flame racial feeling.
As for facts, I can supply facts about percentage of Indian community in all constituents in Malaysia. Let us imagine how Indian politicians going to fare without the help of UMNO that you really hate so much or the Malay community.
Let us imagine the fate of these politicians. Let us imagine the the voiceless Indians when they realize there is no Indian in Parliament. Me Evenmind tal as if UMNO is useless at all with no good deed done.
As for Mr Chen Onn Soo, that is how Malays perceived Hindraf. Hindraf told the world that its enemy is UMNO. And the Malays took it that Hindraf is the threat to them.