MIC President and the sole Malaysian Indian Cabinet Minister, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu seems to have “lost his marbles” (to do something senseless or stupid) making him to publicly declare “DAP telah mati”.
I don’t ordinarily watch television news but last night I caught a snippet of television news and saw Samy Vellu in a rampage against the DAP with the ultimate swear term: “DAP telah mati”.
DAP has been active, productive and vibrant for 42 years in Malaysian politics and is looking forward to the “battle of the century” in the upcoming general election. DAP will not die just because Samy Vellu wishes so.
What I am more concerned is how the longest-serving Cabinet Minister in Malaysia could so embarrass himself as to make a fool and public spectacle of himself over national television with such intemperate language and conduct.
Samy Velllu has never been under greater pressure as he is fighting for his political life.
The last straw must be Sunday’s announcement by the bearer of one of the most illustrious names in MIC history, more famous than the name of Samy Vellum, Ishwar Nahappan, joining the ranks of the DAP.
Ishwar’s parents, Athi Nahappan and Janaki, were not only founder-members of MIC, their contributions to freedom, justice and integrity are written in gold in MIC and Malaysian history. Janaki joined the Indian National Army (INA) at the age of 17 and rose to Captain and Second-in-Command of Rhani of Jhansi Regiment, the only woman’s regiment in the INA. Athi Nahappan will forever be remembered for his life-long commitment to democracy immortalized by the Athi Nahappan Report on Local Government calling for restoration of local government elections (which Samy Vellu has still to honour).
If not for the tragedy of the early demise of Athi Nahappan in 1976, a few months after being appointed as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of the law and justice portfolio (a second Indian Minister in Cabinet together with Tun V. T. Sambanthan), Malaysian Indians and Malaysia would have been spared the “tragedy” of Samy Vellu as MIC President and sole Malaysian Indian Cabinet Minister for over 28 years – presiding over the progressive political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious polarization of the Malaysian Indians into a new underclass in Malaysia!
Samy Vellu should not “lose his marbles” over Ishwar’s denunciation that MIC under his leadership had failed the Malaysian Indians and the Malaysian nation. Many Indian leaders, including both current and former MIC leaders, have contacted and congratulated Ishwar for his bold and courageous decision to stand up for the marginalized Indians and other deprived communities.
He should respond to Ishwar’s powerful statement about the marginalisation of the Indian community under Samy Vellu’s 28-year watch as the sole Malaysian Indian Minister, viz:
- There are less than 3-4% Indians studying in the Govt Universities.
- Indians comprise less than 1% of those who were given the opportunity to study Nursing in the various Government Nursing Colleges .
- Malaysian Indians have, over a fifteen year period, comprised less than 2.5% of the annual student intake of teacher training colleges.
- Malaysian Indians have received less than 1% of all scholarships awarded by Govt and Govt-related bodies .
- Less than 1% of those training as officer cadets in Military Colleges are Indians.
- For the last 15 years, Indians have numbered less than 2% annually of those who underwent training as police officers.
- The situation in the Malaysian Civil Service is even more grim and appalling. One can walk into any Govt department and you will be hard pressed to find an Indian or Chinese in the clerical and administrative sections. For example, in the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, in KL, out of 400 staff, there are only 2 Indians and 3 Chinese.
- The KTM , which was a traditional source of employment for the Indian Community , is recruiting less than 3% Indians on an annual basis.
- As of 6th Feb’08 , the total market capitalization of the KLCI was 764 Bln ringgit. I estimate the Malaysian Indian Community accounts for less than 1% of the listed Corporate wealth of the country .
Instead of losing his marbles publicly and embarrassing himself, there are two choices before Samy Vellu:
• Turn over a completely new leaf by making amends for his failures for the past 28 years to defend the right of Malaysian Indians to an equal place under the Malaysian sun, end his, MIC and Barisan Nasional’s denial complex refusing to recogise the crisis of marginalization of Malaysian Indians and immediately announce a New Deal for the Marginalised Indians to reintegrate them into the mainstream of national development and get the five Hindraf leaders released from ISA detention immediately and unconditionally; or
• Resign as MIC President and Cabinet Minister, which is the increasing demand not only within the MIC but also in UMNO and Barisan Nasional.

#1 by boomingray on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:30 pm
mr.samy,although this year is a rat year according to chinese lunar calendar,but unfortunately your mickey mouse-club cannot be safeguarded,sorry and thousand apologies!mic will be vanished and r.i.p. with mca(malaysia con-men association)! :-)
#2 by Thegame on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:32 pm
Only the Chinese from Sungai Siput who form more than 40% of the voters can end his days in politics and MIC.will the chinese do a favour by kicking him out.Time will tell.
#3 by boomingray on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:45 pm
let me give the BN a clear message:if for the past 40 years,you all never marginalised indians,chinese and christian-bumi, prior to elections,you all dont have to give so many ’sweets’!may god bless you this time! :-d
#4 by ablastine on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 10:56 pm
I wonder who is more hated these days. Samy Vellu or Khairi. At least the latter is doing what his job requires him to but the former do nothing more than enrich himself and family at the expense of the his own race. This is the lowest and most despicable form of existence.
#5 by naked taliban on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:02 pm
Tarred road , street lights and few chinese schools as promised before election will win their votes. Village bum mentality.
#6 by naked taliban on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:08 pm
Majority of 40% chinese voters will vote him .
#7 by Godfather on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:30 pm
The smart ones take the goodies and vote the Opposition. We have to tell them to do it as the goodies are from the taxpayers anyway.
The trick is to run an extensive poster campaign in Sg Siput advising all voters to accept the goodies, not to reject them. Then they will have the best of both worlds when they vote the Opposition.
#8 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 12 February 2008 - 11:43 pm
Did you watch the video?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_f0nr7vzh7I
Now I understand why.
He has been taking the blue pill. All the C..khair was standing up on his head instead of his Batang Berjuntai.
#9 by Godfather on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:01 am
Sheriff:
You mean his toupee has curly artificial hair ? Or was it weaved with real curly hair ?
#10 by raven77 on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:05 am
“DAP telah mati ….Dying words of a fading politician……
#11 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:06 am
Lim Guan Eng, Jeff Ooi, Tony Pua and Ishwar Nahappan, they represents the future of this country, young and capable Malaysians. How nice if we can have Farish Noor, Azly Rahman, Haris Ibrahim and Rocky’s Bru in the line up. Oh! Anwar Ibrahim too!
#12 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:12 am
Yes, Mr Bakri Musa too!
#13 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:24 am
This election is about fundamental rights. This election is more than about some goodies or holidays. Why must the Indian community have waited 26 years to reinvent itself? Is that a brazen admission of the failure or inability of MIC to have looked after the legitimate interests of the Indian Community? logic
I am sure the people here have no problem of seeing the folly of Samy Vellu, MIC and also other component parties of BN. I just wish that people out there are seeing and thinking alike. Do we have a strategy to counter all these goodies which had worked well for BN in the past? May be this time is different, some may say. But I also heard this before in the past.
It is not Samy vellu alone that had contributed to the present predicament of Indians. It is also we, the people that have continued to be suckers for the last few decades because the strategy of hoodwinking voters has worked. So all these scolding and release of tension is one thing, ultimately we still have to get the message out on how to ensure that the people are not trapped into voting for BN again. That is what I was trying to say.
#14 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:26 am
Anwar Ibrahim – Prime Minister, Lim Guan Eng – Deputy Prime Minister, Tony Pua – Minister of Finance, Jeff Ooi replace Keng Yaik! Ishwar Nahappan as Law Minister. Education Minister Azly Rahman, Minister of Health Bakri Musa, Rocky’s Bru as Minister of Information, Minister of Defence Haris Ibrahim, and Farish Noor Minister of Culture and the Arts! This is my dream team! I am sure I left out many young capable Malaysians!
#15 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:29 am
Dr. Bakri Musa – definitely.
Anwar Ibrahim – I don’t think so!
#16 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:34 am
MIC should be called ‘Malu Indian Congress’!
Put more efforts to help indian community instead of cursing others.
#17 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 12:42 am
Come on! Anwar Ibrahim should be the Prime Minister. Mahathir already confessed he made the mistake by choosing Abdullah as PM, we all know even if Mahathir chose Najib as PM, he still cannot RIP.
#18 by hiro on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:01 am
For the voters who are getting any number of gifts from leasehold land to replacement houses over squatters… this is what I have to say to you – if you think about your own pockets, you’re causing greater harm to yourself and your children and your children’s children than you can possible imagine.
BN is making a lot of promises right now, but I can bet you some won’t be delivered after elections. It’s also bribery, so you are complicit in a criminal offence if the gift sways your vote.
Take the gift for what it’s worth before the elections, but don’t vote BN on account of receiving the gift because it’s taxpayer’s gift to you, not BN’s.
Vote with your conscience. Your vote, even if it is only a vote, matters for all Malaysians.
#19 by BlackEye on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:25 am
Limkamput,
Didn’t you say ““Seriously I still view those goodies and promises as the biggest threats.â€
And now you say, “This election is more than about some goodies or holidays.”
A change in direction or a change of mind – or the usual flip-flopping.
“Why must the Indian community have waited 26 years to reinvent itself? Is that a brazen admission of the failure or inability of MIC..” limkamput
A bout of Indian bashing??
#20 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 1:54 am
Blackeye, you are pathetic. Now you show the whole world you can’t even read properly. My goodness, at first i thought you only can’t think and write. But now you can’t even read. Frankly, in all fairness, i seriously think you shouldn’t be here. I am not bashing anybody here, but if you want me to bash you, i surely can. NO issue at all.
#21 by damianyeow on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 2:43 am
Pop Quiz time on politics..
Where in the democratic world, can you find a party leader that cannot be challenged for fear of breaking party-unity?
Only in Bolehland formerly known as M’sia, where, which party?
UMNO,MIC,MCA & Gerakan..
The worst of all despite all the blunders this one man has caused billions in wastage of tax-payers hard-earned money, & he’s still around after 30years, Mr. Sammy Vellu, why or how can such a person despite all the scandals & proven corrupt practices still be a minister, can only be possible under an equally if not worse party, UMNO. Another quiz, can anyone out there tell me what this man, once an office-boy with std6 qualification, have contribute in his lifetime to the country, nil, to the party,nil, to Sg Siput area,
nil,to his family,not nil but mil(-lions) of black money, our toll money paid for maintaining roads instead ended up in UMNO 90% & the rest to not, MIC party but ‘The One MIC-man’. So why is he still around, b’coz Sg. Siput voters put him there, why they did so is anybody’s guess. The list of wrong-doings of this one man from Maika scandal, PLUS/LDP Toll scandals, to N-S highway collapse to Kepong H/way crack-bridge to parliament ceiling collapse isssue, & he’s still standing, where in this world have such blind-voters, I can only shake my head in disbelieve if in this election SV is still elected to power, then I think they deserve to be where they are now, backward, impoverished & only have high hopes ‘things’ will get better, like Hokkien say Tan ku-ku, wait long2 lah fren….
I say put Jayakumar in DAP & finish this ‘Mother of all Corrupt’ man
once & for all, he should be behind bars not staying in a palace wearing RM3000 Zegna suits, even Ananda Krishna self-made millionaire don’t use those, why should he, because Sg. Siput
voters says he can mah, what a bunch of morons…..
#22 by BlackEye on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:15 am
Limkamput, as usual insults the intelligence of all Indians without even knowing it. He implies that Indians would be taken in by what he calls “goodies” which include holiday travels etc. Indians today know better. They may accept BN handouts of “goodies” as he puts it, but there is nothing to force them to cast their votes for the opposition.
#23 by BlackEye on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 4:16 am
correction “for BN”
#24 by sotong on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:22 am
Take away support for MCA, MIC and other smaller BN component parties by telling them their basic rights under the Constitution and the absolute truth, BN will fall apart by itself.
Many Malays are not happy with the way the country is run…..UMNO will not hold on to power without the support of other races, the present and past PMs are fully awared of it.
It is long overdue for a change in the best interest of the country with the ultimate aim to protect the unique culture and traditions of bumi and their way of life for the benefit of generations to come.
#25 by Jimm on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 8:42 am
Honestly, I believe AAB have to approved SV to re-seat for his parliament constitution in Sg Siput as he knew too much and rich enough to ensure his own winning in that seat.
Sg Siput voters are very basic wage-earner that does felt ‘obligated’ to vote for SV due to largely ‘token’ they were given from time to time through their livinghood.
Their ‘contact point’ are normally very resourceful to assist them at the minimum to keep their daily survival taks manageable.
It’s a form of brainwash which have been embedded to all these voters eversince from young.
With the assistance from external forces which brought in for each GE, SV team will make sure that voters are clearly ‘reminded’ to cast correctly.
We have to study these form of impact way back those days before we can this close to think that we can wipe SV out. Even BN also don’t dare to challenge him for these points.
#26 by DwarfSnakehead on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:48 am
SemiVelu Wind
Ever since the days of old,
Men would search for power untold.
They’d bribe with silver and gold,
And leave the rakyat feeling cold.
And way up north in Sugai Siput,
Where the black water rolls and the tall lallang sways.
The eagles fly and the otters play,
In the constituency of SemiVelu.
So pray, pray SemiVelu will not win again,
Pray like you’re never gonna pray again.
I’m calling to you like a long lost friend,
But I know who you are.
And pay and pay for shrinking roti chanai,
All the way up to Chennai.
Where many homes were bought by SemiVelu,
The sharks and the buaya.
Progress came and we’re burdened with toll,
And in the name of traffic control.
They made their plans and they drained our pockets,
Now the people are going to cry.
And the last time I walked in the swamp,
I sat upon a rubber stump,
I listened close and I heard the ghost,
Of Kalimuthu cry.
So pray, pray SemiVelu will not win again,
Pray like you’re never gonna pray again.
I’m calling to you like a long lost friend,
But I know who you are.
And pay and pay for shrinking roti chanai,
All the way up to Chennai,
Where many homes were bought by SemiVelu,
The sharks and the buaya.
#27 by SkullOfScar on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:35 am
why semi value said BN will 100% win in this GE? because there’s still have few millions phantom voters. read bersih webs.
http://www.bersih.org/
i think the first BA should get rid of this Rashid. That’s why AAB extend he till 66.
#28 by pohwatchdog on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 11:41 am
Kit Siang,
Barisan Alternative must give a good alternative proposal not pulling each other throat over allocation of seat. Let there be a straight fight. Put credible candidate in Sungai Siput (U), Gopeng, Tanjong Malim, Kampar and etc. Then BA can deny 2/3 majority…
#29 by rajanjohn on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 5:52 pm
What ever names the “Badan or Persatuan”..the real thing is MIC = Mairandi’s In Cabinet…ask your indian friends!
#30 by kritikus on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 9:51 pm
LOSING AND/OR LOOSING HIS MARBLES, I DOUBT WHETHER HE HAS ANY MARBLES AT ALL OR PROBABLY PLUCKED THEM OUT AND STORED THEM IN THE “OTHER” CLOSET FOR SAFE-KEEPING………
#31 by negarawan on Wednesday, 13 February 2008 - 10:41 pm
Let’s see the law of karma will hit MIC, MCA and BN in the coming GE. Samy Vellu is nothing more than a scoundrel that even the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu shuns and condemns!
#32 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 8:03 am
Limkamput should stop insulting Indians by referring to them as being “putrid and smelly”.
#33 by limkamput on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 4:52 pm
I have no problems with Indians, only indian racist like you. You think you are smarter than others, don’t you. My foot, if that is what you think. YOu are worse than putrid and smelly. If i use that word, the moderator may not be happy.
#34 by Colonel on Thursday, 14 February 2008 - 9:37 pm
“YOu are worse than putrid and smelly” limkamput
I’m sad to see the direction this political blog is going!
#35 by banglam on Monday, 18 February 2008 - 5:57 am
LET US ALL VOTE FOR A MALAYSIA WE WILL BE PROUD OF IN THE COMING YEARS.
LAW AND ORDER MUST BE RESTORED….FIRST PRIORITY.
JUSTICE FOR ALL MALAYSIANS…………
LETS FORGE AHEAD WITH THE INTERESTS OF THE NATION IN OUR HEARTS.
WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND…………..MY FRIENDS.
PEACE BE UPON ALL MALAYSIANS.