Hishammuddin sets worst example for sensitivities in plural Malaysia?

I have received and put on my blog another complaint by a parent against a school principal – of SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara – about the lack of understanding and respect for the sensitivities and rights of diverse races, religions, languages and cultures in plural Malaysia which are the real assets of the country.

It is most shocking that the never before in the 50-year history of Malaysia have there been more “Little Napoleons” who have become school principals and administrators who lack the most elementary understanding and respect for the rights and sensitivities of diverse races, religions, languages and cultures of plural Malaysia.

This letter from a parent complaining about the principal of SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara reads:

“I would like to bring to your attention, the latest happening in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara (near Ikano Power Centre). This school has about 85% of its students who are Chinese. Its first HM is a Chinese and followed by a Malay lady. All this while, the school has a proud tradition of good old days where students can wear shorts for PE lesson, celebration of major Chinese festival like Chinese New Year, cheerleading team and secular school type of school assembly.

“Unfortunately, all these good times are gone with the coming of a new Malay headmistress who is a religious bigot. With 10% Muslim students, she is now imposing ‘bacaan doa’ during assembly, banning of the cheerleading team, no more wearing of shorts for PE and the worst of all is that for the coming CNY, the school can have a lion dance performance but WITHOUT the DRUM.

“This is really absurd because the Chinese drums are very noisy. How can a minority group in the school imposed their values on the majority group – another case of insensitivity among the Muslims.”

There have been over 50 comments since the blog went up this morning, including instances of insensitivity in other schools, such as a complaint from a parent whose son is in a primary school in Kulim.

The parent was incensed at a printout of the personal particulars sent out by his son’s teacher asking parents to verify.
He was very surprised at the “religion” category, as there are only two choices – Muslim and Non-Muslim.

He asked: “So what does that mean? My religion is non-Muslim. I have a name for my religion, why can’t (they) put more choices?”

The parent wanted to know whether this format was drafted by the school or the education ministry – an answer all Malaysians are also awaiting.

Is the Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein setting the proper role model for teachers and students as an exemplary Malaysian fully respectful of the sensitivities and rights of the diverse races, religions, languages and cultures which is the asset and pride of the country – as to be advertised internationally as “Truly Asia”?

For a start, Hishammuddin should set an example as an exemplary Malaysian and Education Minister by making amends and apologise for his insensitive, divisive and incendiary “keris-waving” episodes in the past two Umno Youth general assemblies – setting the worst possible example to teachers and students on respect for sensitivities and rights for diverse races, religions, languages and cultures in plural Malaysia.

1. #1 by budak on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:06 pm

another epic of “Pantang Dijabar”…

Hisapuding will not apologise for his “Little Napolean” job… the most he’ll review and get his sub-contractor to reprint the forms… just look at the school quality compare with TDM time… at least TDM introduce KBSR, KBSM for me…

while Hisapuding more worried about his “keris karat” and keep promoting it… :-)

2. #2 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:12 pm

He knows he can never be the pee am so he`s probly orchestrating all these shenanigan so he can hang around (albeit uselessly) in the Cabinet.
    If he`s chucked around, unlike Sharir, he can`t even run a laundry.

3. #3 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:22 pm

since the cancer has been spreading from local U to secondary school, i guess hisaam needs to carry out an emergency operation to cut off those cancer cells using his keris…

4. #4 by merdeka on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:25 pm

YB Lim,

A good reason to come up with another theme besides the “Good Cops Safe Malaysia”. Use education & public safety as the main agenda for this coming election.
    MAKE IT BIG MAKE IT LOUD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5. #5 by revelation on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:30 pm

kerismudin busy sipping wine and smoking cigar in some hotel. just not caught red handed like CSL yet. pandai pandai tupai melompat…

back to the topic, how do we expect him to understand the problem? when after all, most of their kids are at least in international school or overseas educated from day 1 to graduation.

just the same as how do we expect proton to improve its market share when the minister themselves are driving merc/bmw/porsche and the likes? rob the rakyat and enrich themselves.

James 5:1-6 reminds us..

1Now listen, you rich people, weep and wail because of the misery that is coming upon you. 2Your wealth has rotted, and moths have eaten your clothes. 3Your gold and silver are corroded. Their corrosion will testify against you and eat your flesh like fire. You have hoarded wealth in the last days. 4Look! The wages you failed to pay the workmen who mowed your fields are crying out against you. The cries of the harvesters have reached the ears of the Lord Almighty. 5You have lived on earth in luxury and self-indulgence. You have fattened yourselves in the day of slaughter.[a] 6You have condemned and murdered innocent men, who were not opposing you.

:-)

6. #6 by achia3 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:30 pm

It’s good that I follow Nazri’s advise of “tak suka, keluar negerilah” cos I know my children do not have to face religious bigots like this in Ozland.

I can imagine that parents are super stress at work and now, the education ministry is adding more pounds to the pressure. How can some not crack and decide to take dive off a building.

Vote anyone but BN.

7. #7 by achia3 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:32 pm

Amen to that revelation.

8. #8 by helpless on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:38 pm

Just wonder if those parents still vote for BN.

Just wonder where is the MCA is hiding now. Probably afraid of Chua Sok Lek expose their bad doing.

Just wonder where is the Gerakan heas is hiding now. Probably afraid of Chua Sok Lek expose their bad doing.

9. #9 by k1980 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:44 pm

The mca and gerakan heads are at home, busy counting the gold bullion they had stashed away in swiss banks

10. #10 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:46 pm

Maybe a new directive, that we are not aware of, to all schools: lion dance to be performed to the sound of kompang, rather than that of the traditional Chinese ‘tong-chiang, tong-chiang’ drum, and the lion chasing after a waving keris. Integrated and cross-cultural co-curricular activities. Muhibbah ya?

11. #11 by KeenWatcher_01 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:01 pm

Is this another way of “Nationalisation” of the Chinese school? I wonder?????????

12. #12 by grace on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:10 pm

This is the result of voting overwhelmingly for BN. MCA, where are you? Gerakan? Hiding?
    When my friend had some trouble with one of a company(GLC), he went to coalition componet parties(Chinese) for assistance? You know what? You know la. No balls!
    Eventually went to DAP. DAP called a press conference and the paper highlighted his case.
    Now this case should be brought to OKT and see whether he will help!

13. #13 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:19 pm

Its not surprise to see “Little Napoleons” and ” Little Napoleonese” going wild nowadays.. you may ask me WHY? as the malay proverb goes..”Bapa borek anak rintik”..even the Education Minister, Hisapmudin couldnt show a good example to the rakyat..what else can you hope from such person… he is only famous in promoting his KERIS..(waving it, kiss it)..thats the ONLY thing he ever done to Malaysia..what a disgrace to be the son of our 3rd PM..

14. #14 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:30 pm

I totally agree with what disapointed86 said.

If the boss practice racism, surely it is okay for the people under him to follow suit.

15. #15 by grace on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:55 pm

When you voted overwhelmingly for BN, it means you are endorsing their policies. So anything goes. From the leaders to even small office boys have power and form policies of their own. The leaders shout slogans sensiitive to others, HMs made stupid policies and office boys will tell you that you are not allowed to wear shorts or sleeveless to the office. This is the follies of giving too big a mandate to them.

Now the GE is fast approaching, all each and everyone here can do a small part. Go and convince your friends or neighbours to cast their vote for DAP or PKR. Only then our voice will be louder.
    BN willpromise you the moon. But those are for their cronies!

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:16 pm

While I agree fully that Hissamuddin keris waving perpetuate the Little Napoleanism and hence apologies should begin there, I think many would agree with me that at the root what prompted Hissamuddin to do the keris-waving is also what prompted incidents like songkok for all prefect and this BU4 Damansara incident.

If Hissamuddin says the problem is others don’t understand the symbolism of keris, is he going to say others don’t understand the songkok and BU4 incident? If so, then it sounds like in his minds, we don’t understand a lot, it sounds like a certain post-world War II Germanic group says about others. It also sounds a lot like a certain famous book on animals.

Insensitivities I can deal with, fascist idiocy scares the hell out of me.

17. #17 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:24 pm

Religion – Muslim or non-muslim
    Race – Malay or non-Maly
    Party – UMNO or non-UMNO
    Food – halal or non-halal

18. #18 by limkamput on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:10 pm

TheWrathOfGrapes Says:
    Religion – Muslim or non-muslim
    Race – Malay or non-Maly
    Party – UMNO or non-UMNO
    Food – halal or non-halal

You are right; your observation is spot on. Sometimes it makes me wonder is there a Muslim country that is progressive and dynamic. It is hard to name one right? Malaysia may come to mind for some. But if we minus the non-Muslim, what is left of Malaysia? Malaysia would like a struggle African developing nation. This was what Mahathir said recently.

How can we ever prevent this group of maniac from destroying the country systematically but surely? How can they not able see their own follies and stupidities? Why are they so abhorrent to other races and cultures even though they have co-existed with others for so long?

It is so paradoxical when we think about it. Malaysia is one of most globalised country. We are so foreign trade and investment dependent. We have so many people educated overseas, surely including many within UNMO and other BN parties. I am sure we read and have exposure to many events unfolding around the world, including in the Middle East and the dire straits of Muslim countries in Africa. And yet we so dogmatically want to dig ourselves into that hopeless hole. I really don’t understand why. May be the bigot Muslims in Malaysia are too comfortable. They have too much free time to think about male and female, wearing skirts or pants, cover or not cover and whether or not the their daily prayers are heard all over town. The world goes on my friends. What is pious at one time look so stupid in another. Remember Christianity also has gone through a period of “holier than thou” era. Where are they now?

19. #19 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:28 pm

Sometimes it makes me wonder is there a Muslim country that is progressive and dynamic – limkamput

Malaysia and the Club of Doom – The Collapse of the Islamic Countries

Chapter 1 – The failed states. In this chapter, the author states the Characteristics of Failed Countries as:

1. Restrictions on free flow of information
    2. The subjugation of women
    3. inability to accept responsibility for individual or collective failure
    4. The extended family or clan as the basic unit of social organization
    5. Domination of a restrictive religion
    6. A low valuation of education
    7. Low prestige assign to work
    http://www.thai-blogs.com/index.php?blog=17&title=malaysia_and_the_club_of_doom_the_collap&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1

20. #20 by atlk on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:46 pm

they asked the others to be sensitive to their culture and religion, but they themselves is insensitive to other people’s culture and religion. how do they expect people to respect them?

the main point in this complaint i believe has got nothing to do with majority race in the school. it does not matter if the school has a majority of chinese students, or majority or malay students or majority of indian students.

i think the implementation of bacaan doa is alright because Islam is the official religion in our country. this is something that i believe everyone accept and respect, but banning cheerleading and the worst of all, lion dance without the drum? wtf is she thinking? ask her to try malay dance without kompang. boleh ke? malaysia boleh?

21. #21 by scwlim on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:47 pm

I think the gov should change the tourism slogan to “Malaysia Truely Arabian”…

22. #22 by Evenmind on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:50 pm

This country would soon be the laughing stock of the world if such little Napoleon acts are condoned by the ruling party., as it is , its hard enough for our kids to be taunted as kafirs(Infidels) by their their fellow muslims students, then you get these foul mouthed ninja head mistresses who implement new rules to thier whims and fancies,

Simply, thay are saying we got no rights here, gone are those good ancient times where muslims and non muslims could sit at Kopi Shops and mingle and talk like real people, the fault solely lies at the rulling UMNO party where they make their points by waving krises and god knows what other weapons in the future to dictate thier superiority, are these people any better than the NEO NAZIS and the likes., and they brag to the world Malaysia is multi racial , by showing some crap videos on th CNN /BBC to mislead the world.,Pls do not think you can fool all the people all the time , sooner or later , truth will always prevail., thank Allah for the internet, at least there a a fighting chance for some justice here.

23. #23 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 5:51 pm

i think the implementation of bacaan doa is alright because Islam is the official religion in our country.- atlk

What happens if they gets the kids to convert `accidentally` (just say a few words and it is done) like say Moorthy`s case. Would that be all right too? Islam is not other religions where one can wander in and out.

24. #24 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:03 pm

“The real issue is what I would describe as State-sponsored Muslim puritanism borne more by racist sentiments than religious principles,” he said. “It is this kind of theology that leads to the rejection of constitutional freedom of other faiths.”

“Today, this sense of inclusiveness is under serious threat. I’m convinced that Muslims, many Malaysian Muslims too, are equally appalled by this display of narrow-mindedness and intolerance.”
    http://au.christiantoday.com/article/islamic-puritanism-threatening-malaysian-society/3742.htm

25. #25 by atlk on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:22 pm

What happens if they gets the kids to convert `accidentally` (just say a few words and it is done) like say Moorthy`s case. Would that be all right too? Islam is not other religions where one can wander in and out. – Tickler

i do not know, but i believe the procedures to convert is not as easy as that, or is it? hmm…

bacaan doa is just like a prayer… there are some state songs also contain the word allah, but the chinese, the indian too sang together with it. some of our school anthems has catholic influences (la sallian schools)… but all the students malay chinese or indian all sang with pride too.

that’s why i think it’s ok.. just what i thought anyway..

26. #26 by atlk on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:23 pm

i had dinner at friends place during christmas. they say prayers before meal. we follow, and ended with amen as well. but i’m still a buddhist. hehe…

27. #27 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:29 pm

i had dinner at friends place during christmas. they say prayers before meal. we follow, and ended with amen as well. but i’m still a buddhist. hehe…atlk

I`m glad you did. I too have no problems going into hindu/buddhist/sikh temples or churches. I can sit n eat or drink with them. No probs. I used to be first in catechism class in La Salle. Still i`m not christian.
    And that`s not what i`m talking about.

28. #28 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:30 pm

If anyone has a real desire to be a Muslim and has full conviction and strong belief that Islam is the true religion of God, then, all one needs to do is pronounce the “Shahada”.
    What if the schoolkids in one Assembly are made to recite it?
    It`s already happened in the US, where the kid had a problem trying to get out of it.

29. #29 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:32 pm

30. #30 by cancan on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:53 pm

Islam is being given an impression by these bigots as an extreme and fanatical religion.

The more they do this,the more will be the impression.

So,let them carry on.

There is no country in the world whereby the people are so divided by race and religion thru the idiotic policies of the government as in Malaysia.

Let us pray to Allah,Jesus,Goddess of Mercy,Lord Muruga and all other immortals to destroy all the evildoers in Malaysia and let the people live with peace and prosperity.

31. #31 by verbal-lash on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:55 pm

Fellow Bloggers,

Go to EPF and ask for the form to fill in your beneficiaries. It is also mentioned there ‘MUSLIM” or ‘NON-MUSLIM”. Please also be reminded to go and check if your beneficiaries are named, otherwise should anything happen to you, the money will go to the Gomen. My brother nominated his beneficiaries years ago. Recently he went to check and found that the names of the beneficiaries are gone. So he went to fill in the form again. It is because he advised me to go and check, that I went only to find that the form indeed had the offensive and insensitive words. EPF, can you imagine? Soon it will be found in immigration forms, I?C application forms, etc, etc. until it becomes so common that we accept it as our way of life, just like a lot of other things.

32. #32 by ShiokGuy on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 7:00 pm

Basically the head start all the ball rolling.

Hisham (Does not deserved the title) should fellow the path of Chua Soi Lek and man enough to resign. But then again, Hisham is not even half a man of Chua Soi Lek.

He is setting example of insensitivities, and all his down line follow too. Who to be blame? Hisham la! Do you think he will resign?

He is not a man, so will not resign la!

33. #33 by Anba on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:19 pm

Uncle Lim,
    What do you expect from a man like Hishamuddin who likes to draw out his keris when he is emotional. Doesn’t he behave like Hang Tuah or Hang Jebat? Although he seemed to be educated, but in my mind he is an example of an educated person who does NOT walk like one. The education ministry will never change. I always believed that there is a secret department in the Education Ministry where they plan for all these activities to make the Malay race look more superior. They also plan and decide whose marks can be lowered or increased from the national examination like the PMR, UPSR, SPM and STPM. Of course this is my conspiracy theory.
    The Malays who are not capable will continue doing all this nonsense ( wearing songkok, bacaan doa during assembly, banning from wearing shorts during PE, etc.). The day the Malays want to voluntarily take away their own so called ‘birth rights’ and work as hard as other races for house, jobs, education, etc, then perhaps they will improve from within. Until then, all their success and decorations can go down the drains. Don’t expect other races to keep quiet for another 50 years, and as the Malay proverb says, ‘Air sungai tenang jangan di sangka tiada buaya’.

May God bless Malaysia.

34. #34 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:20 pm

“Go to EPF and ask for the form to fill in your beneficiaries. It is also mentioned there ‘MUSLIM” or ‘NON-MUSLIM”. ”

I guess for EPF case, the relevance is when one dies his assets will be distributed in accordance to different law (i m not lawyer, my intuition tells me so).

35. #35 by burn on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:24 pm

this is what you get, when putting someone religious and less experience as a head of school. the headmistress should infact be place at sekolah ugama tadika!

36. #36 by Malaysian on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:34 pm

“They also plan and decide whose marks can be lowered or increased from the national examination like the PMR, UPSR, SPM and STPM. Of course this is my conspiracy theory.”

my impression is not always this way.
    But rather by way of giving tips of what exam question will come out.
    During my days where requirement for LocalUniversity is more on quotas rather than result, i already heard of (but cannot confirm) certain schools has so call intensive revision is actually a tips giving session. But then the number is probably very small, hence you seldom hear of questions being leaked out.

It is only when govt starts saying local U will take students based on Results, the incidence of questions leakage become a yearly phenomena. My theory is once you go by result, you need more tips giving session to boost the standard (on top of matriculation programme whereby you can have certain subjectivity of giving marks by way of coursework).

My understanding is this also happens to local U. But since many years have passed, i m not sure today there is still that kind of practise? Any local U student can confirm this?

37. #37 by second-class-citizen on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:43 pm

I remember one of the MCA minister said this recently “Don’t migrate, you will become second-class-citizen in foreign countries….” But I was wondering, am I a “First Class citizen” right here in Malaysia?

38. #38 by bukanbumi on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:14 pm

This baca doa thing is very common in most secondary schools where the head is a Malay. I would advise all Non-Bumi students to recite their own prayers silently during the baca doa session. For example the Catholics can silently recite “OUR FATHER” once and “HAIL MARY” three times during baca DOA session.

Chinese New Holidays off days dis-allowed? Just Ponting School lah !
    My Children has been doing this almost every Chinese New Year.

Like it or not Malaysian society is Highly segregated, many thanks to UMNO.

39. #39 by Colonel on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:16 pm

“…never before in the 50-year history of Malaysia have there been more “Little Napoleons” …” Kit

Yep. Never in the field of race relations has so many “Napoleans” emerged from the woodwork to do the work of the few. Churchill didn’t say that.

40. #40 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:19 pm

Tickler says,

“It`s already happened in the US, where the kid had a problem trying to get out of it.”

Very interesting. Care to share with us more details?

41. #41 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:34 pm

Why blame Hishamuddin alone? Doesnt he have MCA, MIC etc etc all represented in his Ministry and other Ministries? So bring them all to account for these funny business everywhere in the BN government.

Bring them all to account.

42. #42 by Tickler on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:38 pm

The Islamization of American Schools

Under the guise of teaching “World history and geography,” Muslim activists are infiltrating the American educational system. The impressionable young minds of our boys and girls are being indoctrinated to potentially accept and embrace the religion of Islam. This is the goal behind the course on Islam that is currently being taught to the 7th graders in the California public school system and other schools around the country.
    http://www.islamreview.com/store.htm#islamization

43. #44 by hiro on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:09 pm

I just want to say this. To the Malay-Muslim readers, I implore you to consider the plurality of this society called Malaysia, and I ask you to search in your heart whether you want to live in a pluralistic society, one that is rich with diversity… or you want to live in a society which suffocates with Islamic purism, in form over substance. And then I simply request that you vote with your conscience and your hopes for the future in which you see Malaysia as, instead of succumbing to politics of racialism.

If it should turn out that you voted for UMNO, then it seems clear to the non-Muslims in Malaysia that they no longer has a place under the Malaysian sun. Instead of asking people to hang on, to wait until after elections for things to be better because this is politics at play, or for MCA to remind the people that everything is alright, that BN practices pluralism, why not just tell the people the truth, so that people can make an informed decision about their lives and the lives of their children and do what is necessary to emigrate.

44. #45 by chgchksg128 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:09 pm

http://2hard2lie.blogspot.com/2007/12/i-get-to-read-this-columnist-in-bangkok.html
    No choice…this country is hauted by racial liabity

45. #46 by sybreon on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:14 pm

limkamput: Sometimes it makes me wonder is there a Muslim country that is progressive and dynamic. It is hard to name one right?

Actually, I would think that it’s fairly simple. Just look at our neighbour, Indonesia. I get the impression from my Indonesian friends, that as a society, they’re fairly open minded, progressive and dynamic. Not so narrow minded like our society.

I guess you can already tell from their cultural exports like their divas.

46. #47 by shaolin on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:15 pm

Verbal-Lash,
    TQ for your reminder. I better go and check mine too.

The Den of Thieves and The Gomen hand in hand are
    going to siphon out peoples’ money in no time like they
    dig the Petronas Oil…!! So better watch out of your EPF
    money!!

If possible withdraw your money from EPF before it is too
    late!

We just cannot trust anybody nowadays, not the Gomen
    too… it is like thieves and the foxes!!

47. #48 by LLL on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:22 pm

The pricipal is not up to the standard to be principal. She is too narrow minded and need to go back primary school again to learn from 1st lession.

48. #49 by bystander on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:30 pm

I commented on BU4 on YB’s blog on JBEC letter dated 11 Jan. just like anyone, the principal must earn respect from the students and not demand respect from them. during PIBG the principal demanded the parents to speak in bahasa as she says she does not understand english. this religious bigot was transferred from sabah. i gathered from my daughter that majority of the students hate or dont like or have little or no respect for this principal anymore. speaking as a parent of a student in BU4 and in the interest of my daughter and all the students in BU4, i would like to propose that all the parents of students in BU4 organise a peaceful protest against the principal and to seek her replacement. she belongs to a religious malay school. as a proposer i would be the first to sign up for the protest to rid this principal as the students in BU4 have lost faith and confidence in this principal. this is imperative as the principal is harmful and detrimental to the students in BU4. What say you MB?

49. #50 by bystander on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:37 pm

sybreon, you were wrong as you commented and supported the wearing of songkok by non muslims even through compulsion. if you were right and there is no need to stand up for our non muslim rights, then there is no need for the principal of JBEC to back down.

50. #51 by bystander on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:39 pm

well said hiro.

51. #52 by bystander on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:46 pm

as i have before, kerismuddin is a racist. he is HP6 and he has not done anything good to alleviate malaysian education standards but only making it worse. where is the directive or policy? why are these principals or little napoleans not sacked as examples? what an idiot.

52. #53 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:58 pm

“Under the guise of teaching “World history and geography,” Muslim activists are infiltrating the American educational system. The impressionable young minds of our boys and girls are being indoctrinated to potentially accept and embrace the religion of Islam. This is the goal behind the course on Islam that is currently being taught to the 7th graders in the California public school system and other schools around the country.”

The United America Committee is one of many websites post 9/11 apparently dedicated to fighting Islamic extremism but many of these are really anti-Islamic.

It is inconceivable that in a country like the United States with a secular constitution and a belief in the separation of church and state, where you are not allowed to put the Ten Commandments in a the lobby of a court house, where students in schools are not allowed to say prayers (Christian, Jewish or Muslim etc) at the beginning of each school day, where religious symbols and icons are not allowed, that public school students are being exposed to religious propaganda as part of the academic syllabus.

53. #54 by seantang on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 11:06 pm

“With 10% Muslim students, she is now imposing ‘bacaan doa’ during assembly, banning of the cheerleading team”

I used to turn up at school after assembly after they began reciting the ‘doas’ in my school donkey’s years ago. And when they started to punish us for missing assembly, we’d turn our backs to the HM when the doa was being read. But then again, we were in form 5 when that happened, so we weren’t much afraid of being disciplined by teachers who were shorter, smaller and infinitely less scary than us.

“the school can have a lion dance performance but WITHOUT the DRUM.”

Make sure they never use kompangs for any school activities then.

54. #55 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 11:23 pm

Those who would like to believe in the Islamizaiton of America’s schools may find Pat Buchanan’s book “ The Death of the West” , shall I say, an interesting read?

“…that attack clearly demonstrated that among those who have entered this country, millions illegally, tens of thousands are loyal to regimes with which we could be at war, and some are trained terrorists sent here to murder Americans.”

Patrick Buchanan observes, “a foreign enemy is inside the gates, and the American people are at risk in their own country. In those days after September 11, many suddenly saw how the face of America had changed in their lifetimes.”

Pat Buchanan is well known for his anti-Hispanic bigotry – among others.

55. #56 by Eagle on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 11:49 pm

In response to the BU4 School. I am a parent who is deeply worried about the education system. Last I heard is that this little Napolean has even bull dozed Muslims students from the lower class to the Top class. And for the coming PIBG it has been rumored that she is getting as many Muslim parents to attend to ensure that the Chinese are squeezed out – slowly but surely. This attempt was tried last year in the PIBG when the President speech was interupted half way and was insisted to be presented.

On the Lion Dance performance – I suggest that the Little Napolean write to the PM’s office and insisted that in future all drums be banned during MCA open house.

The previous HM who happen to be a Chinese have build the reputaion of the school from nothing to among the reputable schools in Selangor. With a stroke of the pen, Ms Little Napolean will destroy such creation at the expense of the students. Over the last 2 years parents que up at the education office to appeal for a place for their children in the school. Now parents are considering transfering their children out.

I hope that by me writing parents would keep their children in the school and continue to help improve the school so that end of the day we make BU4 the pride of Selangor.

56. #57 by sybreon on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 12:20 am

sybreon, you were wrong as you commented and supported the wearing of songkok by non muslims even through compulsion.

hi bystander, could you please mention specifically where I supported the wearing of the songkok? i have never ever supported that.. you obviously did not understand a thing i said..

if you were right and there is no need to stand up for our non muslim rights, then there is no need for the principal of JBEC to back down

i just call things as i see them.. my only difference with your view is that i did not see the songkok issue as a race/religion one.. and i still do not see it as a race/religion issue.. like i mentioned, as an analogy, if the principal mandated all male prefects to wear skirts, nobody would scream “gender issue”.

57. #58 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 12:47 am

“To the Malay-Muslim readers, I implore you to consider the plurality of this society called Malaysia, and I ask you to search in your heart….” Hiro

DIVERSITY, PLURALITY and PLURALISM

The moment the word “plurality” is mentioned one thinks immediately of “diversity”. But what of “pluralism” ? Is diversity synonymous with pluralism? If not synonymous how does the difference affect Malaysian society today?

Diversity is said to be just plurality i.e. Chinese culture, language and traditions existing alongside those of the Malays, Indians and others. But “pluralism”? Pluralism, on the other hand, is the interaction that creates that civil society, a common society – from all that plurality. It is sad that some five decades after the social contract, we are no closer to that common society.

Instead our leaders (read: UMNO) cry out in support of “exclusion” and “assimilation” fully knowing that assimilation is anathema to the Chinese anywhere, any country they choose to make their home. Our diversity has produced in fact deep fractures and divisions. Of late encounters tend to be hostile. We see manifestations of such hostile encounters in areas affecting religion and education – over who have the right to certain words, over who have the right to insist on a particular dress code.

Under Tunku’s Administration, the diversity of our society has produced a period of bridge-building. Where is that bridge-building today? Where are the interfaith dialogues? Why can’t there be interfaith coalitions to fight poverty among all races of different religions?

Pluralism is not just plurality and diversity. Pluralism is the engagement with that diversity. One can only be a bystander to diversity but pluralism requires active participation in the process towards building that common society. In the case of Malaysia with large ethnic minorities, pluralism is the only response to diversity – unlike Indonesia.

Regretfully, the fact that Islam (the religion of the Malays) is given a special position in the country’s Constitution and the fact that Malays are given special privileges in education etc under the Constitution, the engagement that is referred too becomes a war of attrition. Unless our national leadership (read: UMNO) learns and understands that pluralism is more than just mere tolerance of differences, the road towards nation building continues to be a rocky one.

58. #59 by trashed on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:30 am

Ironic as this may sound, is it time for the minorities in Malaysia to cry out for a level playing field in all aspects of social, educational, political and economic life in Malaysia ?

Because it looks like the majority race has been suppressing the minorities in Malaysia.

59. #60 by hyperventilating on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:41 am

I was present in meeting called by the headmistress and I am completely outraged by her answers. She infact gave us a standard answer for all the parents queries presented that day. The school used to have “Malam Bakat” every year, but she called for a ban for such events, citing it should be “malam budayaan”..my foot…the childeren nowadays should be encouraged to find their talents!

She indeed preposed to build “pondok” or gazebos all around the school, If did not counted properly, 7-8 of thems..citing providing more rest areas…

60. #61 by hyperventilating on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:47 am

As far as I know the entire school had not obtain the “certificate of fitness” too. Will all the students studying under the school adequately protected by insurance? Will any insurance be valid if misfortune happens??

If she continues with her whims and fancy, I proposed for the signature drive from all the parents to drive her out of the school.

61. #62 by hyperventilating on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 3:06 am

I just learned from my kid attending BU4 that the headmistress is also banning the celebration of the coming Valentine day. For the previous years, the school scout society makes and sells items to students (infact a scout fund raising event) celebrating valentine day; and furthermore the teacher in charge is a Malay. why she is Banning this too? I just wonder wh at is next? All girls to wear “tudung”??

I tell my kids to say it out loud after each baca doa sessions..”In Christ Name..Amen” and encourage his classmates to recite similar phrase pertaining own religion…A Mi To Foo…

62. #63 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 3:24 am

Where have you been the last fifty years??

63. #64 by ChinNA on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:05 am

When will it be the time when we need a common naming standard for ourselves and our children?

China has already propose to legislate this that all Chinese citizens have Chinese character names.

So it is only a natural progression that in Malaysia, there should be a national standard too. An accurate expectation is that should be like this: Given-Name Father-Name; surname should be irrelevant in this standard.

64. #65 by burn on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:38 am

up till now, i still don’t get it! why they need to do bacaan doa in school. can’t they just do it at home instead, before heading to school.
    my time, i always curi masuk after morning assembly with mostly malay friends. what we do is to lepak near makan store nearby!
    i would prefer to go back to english version type of teaching, like st george or st john school in taiping, or secondary english school in kluang, where none of this happen. and the teachers there are more loving and caring if compare to now, where everything have become more religious and less experience principals to head the schools.
    next year my child will be in form one, and i hope i can enrol her to any good english school available that’s headed by experience principal. before that it’s bad, right now, it’s getting worse to ugly. if no choice, will sent her to singapore.

65. #66 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:46 am

Some food for thought :

1. She’s merely doing what many schools are already doing.
    2. All new HMs must now be Malay / Muslims
    3. Will she soon require all girls to cover-up?
    4. The student population must reflect racial composition

66. #67 by zack on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:58 am

There is no such things hapening!!! All lies !!!!!!

67. #68 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:28 am

He was very surprised at the “religion” category, as there are only two choices – Muslim and Non-Muslim.

What the heck is this? First we have bumiputra and non-bumiputra. Now muslim and non-muslim. It’s just getting worse~

Don’t forget that we cant put Taoism as the religion in Mycard as well.

68. #69 by OCSunny on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:52 am

A few writers sound like ones from the BN camp?!?

69. #70 by BlackEye on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 7:19 am

“Malaysia is one of most globalised country. We are so foreign trade and investment dependent. We have so many people educated overseas…” limkamput

That is not the meaning of ‘globalization’!

70. #71 by DwarfSnakehead on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:12 am

I think it is high time for the Malays to wake up.
    MALAY is not ARAB. You should have your own culture and religion and be proud of it. For your own good, throw away all those unhealthy arab culture.
    Do you think the arabs give a shit about malays or other muslims, especially those from 3rd world countries?
    Look back at the many incidents of stampede in Mecca, especially the one in 1990 where 1426 pilgrims died. The Saudi government just bulldoze all bodies into a mass grave, without identifying them or notify their next-of-kin making insurance claim almost impossible.
    So please wake-up, you are no arab no matter how hard you pretend to be! The arab will still prefer westerners than asians anytime.

71. #72 by limkamput on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:42 am

That is not the meaning of ‘globalization’! blackeye

Those attributes i mentioned certainly are some of the aspects of globalisation. If you think they are not, may be you want to share what is in your mind. I have read the book by Thomas Friedman, The World is Flat. So, if you are referring to the wider aspects of globalisation, I think I know that.

72. #73 by bystander on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:00 am

sybreon, to use your quote “Personally, I’m not sure if there’s anything wrong with wearing it”. is it not contrued as support or in favour of wearing the songkok? It is wrong if it is made compulsory for non muslims to wear. we know that for sure. It should not be made compulsory. Yours is misplaced patriotism. about time we non muslims stand up to stop islamisation encroaching into our cultural and religious rights.

73. #74 by Toyol on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:15 am

35% of the population is supporting the remainder 65%…and they want to talk nonsence with us?!!!

74. #75 by Cinaputera on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 12:55 pm

a vote for BN (more precisely MCA & Gerakan) is a vote for islamisation ala umno style. I don’t see anything wrong for DAP to coorperate with Barisan Alternatif even with PAS as a component party. Give BA a try for 5 years and see if they are really that extreme as compare to the present BN morons.

75. #76 by Malaysian on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:10 pm

Sometimes i got this sad thinking:
    The day when Barisan alternatif can take over is when country resouces run dry, Money mostly spent with huge budget deficit (due to generous govt spending to boost economy), coupled with a bunch of narrow minded rent-seeker, who is demanding more wheel chairs and tongkat subsidised by those who try to WALK forward.

Even the best doctor might hv difficulties to treat such a terminal disease…

76. #77 by anti-racism on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:55 pm

Sometimes I think about it..what if DAP takes over Barisan..

77. #78 by alaneth on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 9:34 pm

Hishamuddin is on the track to become DPM and then PM!

What will happen to Malaysia if he becomes PM? What will happen to the non-Malays/Muslims?!

Anwar Ibrahim on the other hand is very much unalike Hishamuddin & his keris. Anwar even quotes Confusius teachings in his speech (UPM 1997). He is open to all races & religion & a very good example Education Minister unlike the insensitive fanatic we have now.

Which is why DAP is good to work with Keadilan (Anwar) but never never ever work with the green moon Taliban party.

I will always support DAP for my life! If no DAP in the constituency then Keadilan is my second choice.

BN Future = Hishamuddin = ‘you know what the dark future holds’

OVER MY DEAD BODY will I ever vote BN.

DDD A PPPPP
    D DD AA PP PP
    D DD A A PP PP
    D DD AAAA PP P
    DDD A A PPPPP
    DD A A PP
    PP ALWAYS MY CHOICE!!!!

78. #79 by hyperventilating on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:30 pm

I urged the PIBG of SMK BUD4 to call for a emergency meeting to formalise the objections and protest. , I call for the PIBG chairman to sent out notices to all parents to attend the meeting…by handing out flyers to students at school gates. Have a signature drive, sent official complilations to Headmistress and Ministry, and MCA, MIC, DAP, it must be a “BIG BANG EXPOSURE” use C4 explosive if Najib provide them(to prevent cover-up) and have the press informed via press statements.

As I had understood, NST went to the school Today to interview [deleted] she called in reinforcements from her penolongs (whom of course tongue-tied). See what will come out in tomorrow papers. If it did not appear in the papers, we all know who blocked the news…who controlls the press???? Malaysia Boleh !

79. #80 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:44 pm

Like a reverse take-over??

80. #81 by blackt90 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:22 pm

I am a Form 5 student studying in SMK BUD(4) and I stand in total support of our principal. I am a Chinese.

Firstly, I think this issue has been blown out of proportions. This is just a small matter yet it has been receiving so much attention on the media. Much of the news going about are just ‘khabar angins’. They are just baseless rumours.

Those who first started this complains are not students. They are ex-students as well as parents. Please bear in mind that the news that they are receiving are not first hand. It probably has passed through at least 1 or 2 other people beforehand. Therefore, they have no right to comment on what is happening internally in our school. We know what is going on the best.

I shall leave our principal to justify her actions by herself. But I want to make it clear that it we were CLEARLY ALLOWED and ENCOURAGE to pray according to our own religions during the bacaan doa. I myself would pray according to my own religion during that short period of time. Do remember that we are in a country where the majority of our population are Muslims. How can we expect them to respect us if we don’t even respect us in the first place?

I would like to request all those not involved directly in this issue not to make any accusations or whatsoever because this will only cause more controversy. In our school, students are currently divided because some are against the rulings and some are not. This has caused much debate and lessons had to be stopped for a while for an ’emergency meeting’ among teachers.

Even as we accuse the principal of not being open minded, we should first examine ourselves. Lets all be open minded and listen to all sides of the story instead of just commenting on the surface. Do not make accusations without actually knowing the entire situation as this will disrupt the function of our school.

To all the ex students of SMK BUD(4), learn to discern right from wrong. Not everything you hear is 100% right. Please do not ‘bertokok-tambah’ to the story just to create publisity. This issue has brought many negative effects to our school and I hope that you will think before you speak.

Lastly, keep politics out of our school. We are only students.

81. #82 by Bangsa Malaysia on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:59 pm

blackt90, so are you trying to say that the news you receive are of first hand wherelse the news all ex-students and parents are of rumours?

Please define small matter? Some matters may be small to you but not to me and everyone else. For example, my birthday is important to me but definitely not to you. It is the same for this case.

Let me remind you that it wasn’t the parents or ex-students who started your so called ‘rumours’. If the teachers and students of SMK BUD4 did not mention anything about it do you think the parents and ex-students whom are not directly related to the school will ‘complain’? If the students of the school did not mention all these to their parents do you think the parents will know about it? How? Parents do not go to school every day like their children every day

And what makes you think that we did not listen to all sides of stories before even commenting or like you said, ‘complain’? If what we heard is not be 100% correct then what did you hear that makes you think that you are 100% correct? How would you know that we had ‘bertokok-tambah’ to the story? Again do you know the exact story? If yes please share. What we parents and ex-students are doing is for the benefit of all students including yourself. If you think what we are doing is wrong then I have nothing to say.

Thank You.

Please think further and yes same to you. Think before you speak.

82. #83 by blackt90 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 7:08 pm

Exactly, parents do not go to school everyday. The news that they receive are through their children. Most children twist and turn stories just to get things done their way, I cannot deny that I do that too, so that my way would sound right, and all other ways sound wrong. Lets wait for our pengetua to justify herself, I shall not do it for her.

Much of this issue has been misinterpreted and misunderstood. People tend to assume things. This is why we have so many versions of the story. For example, the lion dance. Some versions say that the drums were banned because it was ‘too noisy’ whereas others say that it was because the drums ‘would attract malay ghosts’. Now, it is unlikely that the pengetua would have stated 2 reasons for the same thing. So, who else can we put the blame on?

If the parents and the ex-students want to do good for us students, leave us alone. Stop accusing our pengetua. Would wearing long pants during PE and not having lion dance hurt us that bad? No it wouldn’t. If we have to, we would rather wear long pants during PE, not have a lion dance, and endure through the 2 or 3 minutes of bacaan doa weekly, rather than turn our whole school into turmoil.

I am not saying that I agree with what she does, but please, do not create any more troubles. Thank you.

83. #84 by Bangsa Malaysia on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:13 pm

blackt90 Says:

Today at 19: 08.12 (59 minutes ago
    ‘Some versions say that the drums were banned because it was ‘too noisy’ whereas others say that it was because the drums ‘would attract malay ghosts’. Now, it is unlikely that the pengetua would have stated 2 reasons for the same thing.’

Whether she said both of those I have no comment. But my question is, why can’t we state 2 reasons for the same thing? Lets take another example, I can say that you are fat and ugly. Isn’t that 2 statements? ‘FAT AND UGLY’. Why not? I don’t see anything wrong with that. Fat and ugly does not clash. Or lets say, i spotted a car and said, ‘WOW that car is beautiful and big.’ Is that a problem? I guess not. I rest my case.

84. #85 by blackt90 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:02 pm

Bangsa Malaysia, your previous comment is very irrevelant. Since you claim that you are doing this for our (SMKBUD4’s) benefit, I suggest that you stop making such shallow and childish remarks. I am just doing my duty as a student, trying my best to recover peace within our school.

If you wish to debate, please do it elsewhere. Bear in mind this is a blog. Thank you.

85. #86 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 2:53 am

“If you wish to debate, please do it elsewhere. Bear in mind this is a blog. Thank you.”

Huh??

86. #87 by alaneth on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 11:40 pm

blackt90, I hope the fanatic, extremist Pengetua has not brainwashed her students to support her.

To give in a little, any amount to her – even not wearing shorts for PE or give into no having lion dance etc will eventually erode our rights.

Previously in Indonesia & even Brunei the Chinese there have their rights gradually eroded little by little by giving in to all these – like what you are trying to do….. slowly, see what has happened to the Chinese in Indonesia & Brunei today…?

Also an interesting site you may like to visit (The US Dept of State’s report on Religious Freedom in Malaysia). Your school’s case may appear in their report next year – who knows SMK BUD4 can make it to the US’s notice ? :

http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/2007/90143.htm
    (See that I don’t trust Malaysian press – I rather trust blogs & international press/sites on Malaysia’s news as we don’t have good press freedom & all news are covered-up). I’d rather trust DAP’s blog or Malaysiakini.

87. #88 by kaybeegee on Monday, 21 January 2008 - 5:59 pm

Bangsa Malaysia you dont exist. Guru Besars like the little Stalins(let us not insult Napoleon)dont want a Bangsa Malaysia, obeying the commands of their Master’s Voice. UMNO.
    There are other religious activities that are equally noisy.

88. #89 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 9:49 pm

What do you expect from an “uncivilized” man like Hisham? He can lead a mob of hooligans threatening to burn down Chinese Assembly Hall during the Suqiu era when he was the Minister of Youth and Sports. Pulling out the keris and making threats and after that claiming that the keris will “protect” the people of Malaysia is utter nonsense especially coming from the Minister of Education.

89. #90 by dewata on Friday, 26 March 2010 - 11:12 pm

after read all the comments, look back, who’s a racist now?
    kit siang calimed, as ‘majority’ society in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara they must have a special power. but they must realize in Malaysia who is minority and who is majority? do they give a respect?
    people like kit siang should be gone like the last emperor