Letters
by MB
I would like to bring to your attention, the latest happening in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara (near Ikano Power Centre). This school has about 85% of its students who are Chinese. Its first HM is a Chinese and followed by a Malay lady. All this while, the school has a proud tradition of good old days where students can wear shorts for PE lesson, celebration of major Chinese festival like Chinese New Year, cheerleading team and secular school type of school assembly.
Unfortunately, all these good times are gone with the coming of a new Malay headmistress who is a religious bigot. With 10% Muslim students, she is now imposing “bacaan doa” during assembly, banning of the cheerleading team, not more wearing of shorts for PE and the worse of all is that for the coming CNY, the school can have a lion dance performance by WITHOUT the DRUM.
This is really absurd because the Chinese drums are very noisy. How can a minority group in the school imposed their values on the majority group – another case of insensitivity among the Muslims

#1 by Toyol on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 1:45 pm
As I have said before, tolerance is a one way street. Thats the BN intepretation…so called Ketuanan Melayu. But I wonder what ‘ketuanan’ means when 65% of our population are on crutches!
On another note, if the minority can impose on the majority, let us all impose ourselve and remove the NEP.
#2 by messy on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 1:58 pm
how can we have a lion dance without a drum?
it is like having a malay wedding without a kompang!!!
how stupid this lady is…how can we expect to respect this racist head mistress when she herself is a racist???
let’s see whether hisammudin will do something bout it…besides it’s election year…
#3 by bennylohstocks on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:01 pm
PEEhead is still in the dark…
http://malaysiancartoons.blogspot.com/2008/01/peepartys-slee-pee-head-malaysiakini.html
#4 by Luther on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 2:03 pm
Inspiration tell me nothing wrong with the religion itself,Islamic is ok no big deal,but something wrong with the racialism and racial-religious group in this land causing all this God forsaken trouble..
songkok,doa,keris and tak boleh boleh.Our Malay friend forgotten most of their ancestor are from the Indonesia but now dibumiputrakan and we born in Malaysia but have no right and nothing , so why we watse so much time in arguing all these junks? look at the our Indon Chinese learn from them. so what shall we do , vote all the opposition to the parliament and defy the BN for majority,some MCA and Gerakan or Mic just enough for them to sit in the cabinet,then we see what will happen next!I think we Malaysian will become the strongest in Asean no need to wondering Singapore.
#5 by disapointed86 on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:16 pm
sometimes i just wonder how Singapore can take care of their citizens well..no doubt Singapore is a majority Chinese country but..we cannot deny that there are Muslim too in Singapore..Why they dont have problems dealing with those races other than Chinese…and TODAY Singapore is one of the famous Education Hub in the world..Their Universities ranking also way ahead of us…how can we explain that dear Malaysian Citizen….?? Think for yourself the root cause of this ill problems..5 decades is enough!!!
#6 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:32 pm
We are behind Singapore in almost every respect although the island state is devoid of any natural resources simply because we are ruled by idiots and racial cum religious fanatics.
#7 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 3:52 pm
Indonesia Chinese do not need permit for lion dance now! but here one can only hv lion dance minus the drum! Next time one may hv “wantan” mee minus the pork “wantan”! or Fried kway teow minus “chee yao char” or “Bak kut teh” minus the pork rib!
#8 by kcb on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:01 pm
“megaman Says:
The problems with people of such mindsets are “This is how we want things to be, because it shows that we are superior.â€
In my opinion, religion is nothing but a disguise or mask for their insecurity and low self-esteem. A lot of so-called “privileged†academics, ulamaks etc (basically, people created by the government policy of preferential treatment towards them) probably have their ego so inflated that they failed to see their own faults or create a state of denial. The easiest way for them to boost their confidence or regain their ego is through enforcing whatever unilateral policies that can showcase their own limited power without regards to whatever harm that this may bring.
“He who learns but does not think, is lost! He who thinks but does not learn is in great danger.†– Confucius.
Seems like we have a lot of the lost and the ignorant running the country.”
Well said, megaman!!!
#9 by malaysiatoday.com on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:06 pm
Little nepoleon phenomenon in schools is just a mirror reflection of Malay top leader like Kris brandisher Hisamuddin and Najib.
Examples in LKS blog is a tip of the iceberg. Chinese papers reported a school in Sentul has gender segregation policy like in Senawang.
A female malay doctor in hospital UM refused to touch my brother when she diagnosed him. Touching male patient is “haram” for her as I believed.
#10 by AhPek on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:26 pm
‘That is why I said sometime back to moderate civil service and ameliorate the mindset the government should by force impose a racial qouta approximating the % of 3 main races in Malaysiaon civil service.’ jeffrey.
Ain’t you a little bit late in the day to put forward this suggestion.The civil service is part of the ‘handout’ to the Malays.It has become their right to be given a place in it.In fact it is argued and supported by MCA that good Chinese sons will not join the army or maybe the police.But I’ve to ask them if that is the case how come China has the biggest army in the world and also Singapore Armed forces has a large number of their soldiers of ethnic Chinese origin.The truth of the case has to be traced to who are the ones doing the initial shortlisting and then selections …all from 1 particular race.From what I gather from some civil servants(non-Malays) application letters were vetted according to who the applicants were.Non Malay applicants’ letters go into the waste paper baskets!Whether is true or not, such information has come floating out and if you look into the newspaper the story is the Chinese (especially) are not interested in police jobs or teaching jobs.Sure, perhaps the % of Chinese applying to civil servant jobs are small but you certainly cannot generalise that they are not interested for these are positions where one gets remunerations.
#11 by Saint on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 4:40 pm
Islam has never adjusted, it has always requested others to submit.
We have not fully understood this phenomenon as it has been like this since its birth. Eventually, all Muslim States will be terror stricken states like Pakistan or Sudan for even among themselves (Muslims) they do not compromise. We cannot change them. They have to understand the destructive path they are taking, and try to change; if it is possible.
#12 by Luther on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:04 pm
to Saint; [deleted] I’m not against Islam but unislamic muslim who abusing the freedom or thier majority and forgotten thier true religion teaching , that’s why we need majority and this was proven in singapore,Chinese in Indonesia,they are pitiful but they know what to do, make all the monies and take out all to somewhere maybe singapore,or hongkong.Riot or anti-chinese,they run and come back later when all their idiot fellow countryman realise the fact that whitout them they can only eat kangkung and ubi. But our minister especially those from umno do not see this, they still shouting in the press release or other places to tell those who can not tolerate thier stupidness to leave the country, tell me what to do?[deleted] .So my friends,vote for opposition do not afraid of disstablisation no such thing we must show them our minority damage control power forget about how many non malay in the cabinet, they will still sit there even they lost the election for they will be nominated as senator.but make sure you keep at least one of them so that can runding and runding for thier friend… ( also make sure no video clip please)
#13 by xxx on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 6:25 pm
This is just plain ridiculous. Just after being in the school for less than 1 month, she’s changing things to her liking. For the drums issue, it shows how racist she is. she banning it just because she doesnt like the sound. for your information, we even had awal muharam “celebration” on friday and the malay kompang was being played AT SCHOOL HOUR, and they expect the students to concentrate?another issue i recently heard from the students are the valentine’s celebration. it seems those who hand in the proposal to sell chocolate got rejected. reason? “saya adalah orang melayu yang beragama islam dan saya tiday menyambut hari seperti ini.” like what harm can they cause for selling chocolate??Wasnt malaysia suppose to be known for being a multiracial country? werent we suppose to be understanding and tolerate? and the teachers are all trying to teach the students MORAL VALUES. if there are more of this kind of pengetua or people leading our country,there’ll definitely be a HUGE CONFLICT
#14 by vincent on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 7:24 pm
#15 by noextremist on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 8:18 pm
As a student, I personally respect the culture and religion of others (eg. Muslim, Hindu, …). But as a HM who is so educated and high profile, can’t she accept and respect other religion and culture. Malaysia is a multicultural and multiracial country. Even the PM himself is promoting the Muhibbah value to us Malaysians. As an educator, can’t she understand how important it is for the country? Especially in a school, I believe she should be more careful with her words and actions as it will really affect the student.
YB, I plead for your help to stop all these racial disrepect as it will only ruin the mind of the younger generation.
The HM should be given the chance to correct her mistakes and learn to be more open minded as we are already in the 21st century. Also, a rural school is different as compared to a city school.
#16 by mata_kucing on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 9:37 pm
The whole problem stems from the fact that we have an education minister who himself is openly a racist. Al these little Napoleons and bigots who are running the schools are just trying to follow the example of their boss. As for the PM, he might as well be living on Mars. And people still vote for them? Malaysians have to be the most stupid people on earth.
#17 by shaolin on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 10:28 pm
We suggest that we talk less about racial sensitivity
and give the headmistress [deleted]
Not to be the next Little Osama and Napoleon!!
#18 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 16 January 2008 - 11:09 pm
There’s an error in my earlier posting 11: 39.58 above, which is regretted.
Based on old rule, the dress code of civil servants, both male and female was batik for twice a month on the 1st and 15th. Effective tomorrow the new ruling is batik for 4 times a month ie on every Thursday.
#19 by philcp on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:13 am
Ministers from the major political party like MCA (Make Chinese Angry), MIC (Make Indians Complain) and Gerakan (not really moving party…) should read this blog and do something about it rather than sitting on their cosy chairs. OKT, KSK, LKY, what are you doing? Why are you just helping yourself but let all others non-muslims that put you in parliament suffer? read jeff’s blog, http://www.jeffooi.com/2008/01/jeff_sparrow_ver30.php
even Chinese can be poor too and believe me they are increasing. My home in Cheras just got robbed by Chinese crooks. ppl are getting more desperate because of further marginalization like what is happening in the schools. More and more well educated and affluent non-malays will seek at the slightest chance they get to move out of the country due to the deterioration of Malaysia’s so called “multiracial understanding” system. Hogwash!… If those outside only knows the truth, like Michael Backman…
#20 by ChinNA on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 5:51 am
Cheng OS, you mentioned about Indonesian Chinese.
Now I am asking myself some questions.
Are there still Chinese in Indonesia?
Are there still Chinese in Malaysia?
Are there still Chinese in Thailand?
Can someone help provide some answers for me? Thanks.
I think there are still some Chinese left in Singapore.
#21 by nicklee on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 12:49 pm
Dear,
YB and all fellow bloogers. I have read with interest all of your comments on “latest happening in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara”. I think I do not need to add to your colourful responses. I would like to take action. My question is “what can we do now, to push this issue to the next step”? YB, anyone.
#22 by dranony on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:04 pm
nicklee,
Every parent in the school should be educated (via a campaign where every parent phones or SMSes three other parents) that during the “doa” session, every single child/student has a right to pray in the manner prescribed by his or her own religion.
They should be informed that, even:
If their prayers are audible to others, it should be interpreted as freedom to practice their religious right.
If the students, while praying, feel compelled to kneel and kowtow, even prostate themselves, it should be acceptable as their religious right.
If students, while praying, feel compelled to raise their hands in worship to their God, it should be acceptable.
If they feel compelled to chant as they pray, no one should deny them their right.
If some feel compelled to sing praises of worship to their God, they have a right to do so.
If some feel compelled to speak in tongues, no one should deny them of their right.
It should not be long before that particular HM does not wish to lead a “doa” session where students of other religions exercise their religious beliefs at the same time.
#23 by anti-racism on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 2:06 pm
‘With 10% Muslim students, she is now imposing “bacaan doa†during assembly…’ by MB
#24 by Luther on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 3:07 pm
nicklee,we can tell them to stop doing and practising this hishamuddin sure ok now.
after that go vote for opposition and this is the only way to stop all these cracked crab from happening again and again.
opposition will never rule this country and no chinese ar non muslim will too at least for the next 20 years, so don’t worry about nothing.tomorrow will still on unless there is a sutnami.
ChinNa,Indonesia and Thailand have resurgent chinese ,Singapore has imported chinese from china mainland and some from the malaya chinese.Malaysia has non-reckognized bumiputra chinese ( made and originated from malaysia but without sirim logos,and tiptop quality )
#25 by Evenmind on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:12 pm
Napoleon oh no , at least he had some brains , these people are completely DUNGUS, MORONS ,IMBERCILES. They are the product of NEP, it wud have been totally different if they were at the post as a result of MERITOCRACY. There is no intellect whatsoever in these people., they act on instinct and envy, I wonder if they know that the world is ROUND.
#26 by Evenmind on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:23 pm
When I say intiinct and envy, should wouold probably had made up her mind when she heard the Chinese beating the drums and they sounded like UNTUNG, UNTUNG, UNTUNG.
What a MORON
#27 by Evenmind on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:23 pm
When I say intiinct and envy, she wouold probably had made up her mind when she heard the Chinese beating the drums and they sounded like UNTUNG, UNTUNG, UNTUNG.
What a MORON
#28 by Evenmind on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:24 pm
And she banned the drums for the LION dance
What a MORON
#29 by goldfish.lee on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 6:29 pm
The Lion Dance is a Chinese celebration all students look forward to watching every year. The same goes for other celebrations for other races. eg. There have been Chinese, Malay and Indian dances performed by students for the Talent Night of the school.
As for the cheerleading squad of the school, it has brought joy and pride to the entire school for years, esp when the team won the 1sr runner-up in year 2006. And every year, there will be hundreds of supporters who cancel their tuition, music classes etc just to support the squad. However, there’s latest news regarding this. that is, someone wrote a letter (as anonymous) to the headmistress stressing the effect her actions have on the school.
She got angry and will only decide later whether or not to ban the squad. I feel that such irrational actions should stop at once in order to prevent ‘ketegangan antara kaum’.
#30 by anti-racism on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 8:53 pm
Ban the drums for lion dance?…
Its like banning the teachers to use their brains to teach!
what a MORON!
#31 by evaangel on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:45 pm
is she still doing the same thing now?
#32 by dranony on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:29 am
Perhaps this HM should be transferred to Kelantan or Trengganu?
I’m sure that her actions will be much appreciated there.
After all, she is only interested in implementing rules and regulations of her own values and culture and religion, without ANY regard at all for the values and culture and religion of others. Perhaps packing her off to a place where almost everyone is of the same culture and religion as her, would make everyone happy.
#33 by EricSim on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:54 am
YB, why not we publish all this Napolean name to the public. What they are doing is really not acceptable. I suggest they transfer to agama school as they not suit to be leading the modern school and also worry under their command, more Osama will be produce.
#34 by Luther on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:26 pm
YB,why don’t suggest those LMN to be recycled to save the environment and the world from orbiting,we must jihad for our right now and how can we let a stupid moron to interfere our cultural practising right we should [deleted] from further propagating in malaysia.These are those who need to be remove and put into ISA detention,for revolting the country stability.Immediately..
#35 by dranony on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:13 pm
Luther, calm down…
No matter how strongly you feel about the LMN, there is no need to use the evil ISA against LMN. Otherwise you risk ISA being abused and use against others who do not deserve it.
For all you know, one day the LMN might use ISA against you!
#36 by Luther on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:32 pm
If we have 500,000,000 who are willing to be ISA abused,what do yuo think,don’t be afraid but we must sincere and bersatupadu not betraying each other.
minority flooding majority not possible here but awakening possible.
vote for oposition for some changes to see if the ‘right ‘ can be modified or delaying the deminishing process while waiting for a better tomorrow.
#37 by gigants on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:50 pm
Rainbow is beautiful because it has different colours, what a pity that there are still a lot of colour blind HMs in our country. These HMs can only see and accept one colours forever, pity and shame on them.
If Chinese drums are noisy then how about some “musics” that play five times a day. We can accept and tolerance each other but these HMs will never ever accept and tolerance each other. Shame on them.
Now I finally understand why our national sports team such as football and badminton can’t win, because they all wear too little. They should wear a lot, hide every part of their body, like ninja then we can win because opponents can’t see our moves. Great!
#38 by goldfish.lee on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 6:26 pm
no evaangel. the vice said that things will continue like the past few years. so all the best to smkbud4ians. =)
#39 by smkbud4.ex-student on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 6:00 pm
o.O
Nice going principle of smkbud4 =D
Having lion dance without drums??
Might as well u drive to school without a car retard =.=”
No Valentine’s day??
Why dont u NOT celebrate during Hari Raya?
Bacaan doa during assembly??
Well, i dont see u going to temple at all =.=”
No cheerleading?
Unless u have ur own team of old-bags cheerleaders
No more wearing shorts during P.E lessons?
Well.. [deleted]
#40 by smkbud4exstudent on Saturday, 19 January 2008 - 9:04 pm
waho.O big news man,,,, god bless chinese student in bud(4),,,, its really so UNFAIR,,,,,,,,
#41 by sosmalaysia on Sunday, 3 February 2008 - 1:18 am
i hope the hm realizes she is born inncocent as a msian n while to die as an honourable msian at the next appointedtime, she needs to leave the legacy that she cannot use islam against other religions nor other religions against islam or else she had better not face her maker. It is not too late for her to reflect, change n repent, put on sackclothes n leave the teaching profession if she cannot reconcile islam vis a vis any other religion. May god be her witness.
#42 by malaysiachinese on Monday, 4 February 2008 - 5:51 pm
The reason i used malaysiachinese as username is i considered myself as “Malaysia Chinese (Chinese live in M’sia)”. I dun feel myself as a Malaysian anymore since i graduated from a local university and started my career. Whenever i read the newspaper pertaining politics, race, religious, there is only 1 feeling….”Frustration”. Hindraf showed a good example of disatisfaction of non-malay living in M’sia. The government on the other hand said will give us “fair” deal. Unless we are naive, otherwise we will say they are STUPID of making this statement. MCA can’t help the chinese, MIC can’t help the indians, UMNO makes us more frustrated. Mr. Lim Kit Siang, u r still the BEST !! I salute u and proud of u. Message to the HM of BU4 Damansara, u r such an idiot with a cracked brain and child mentality. Message to our government, with your style of management and mentality, the Vision 2020 remains as vision forever. Singapore can do so fxxking good even without raw materials (No oil & gas, no mines, nothing), small size of land and very less population.
#43 by sosmalaysia on Wednesday, 6 February 2008 - 1:18 am
dear hm ,
hope u hv reflected n come to yr senses bcos u owe us msia to act fairly n justly in the teaching profession n not get sidetracked into being a religious bigot. Repent while there is still time b4 we, u n i , meet our mker naturally or kiamat if need be. sos our country b4 it is too late