Remove SMK BUD4 principal unless she mends her ways (4)

My blog on the complaint by a parent against the school principal of SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara for her lack of understanding and respect for the sensitivities and rights of diverse races, religions, languages and cultures in plural Malaysia has provoked quite a firestorm of response.

There have been over 200 comments in the three threads on the subject since yesterday:

(1) BU4 Damansara – another case of “Napoleon” and school principal insensitivity – 72 comments

(2) Hishammuddin sets worst example for sensitivities in plural Malaysia – 76 comments

(3) More about SMK BUD4 (3) – 58 comments

The complaints of the parent against the school principal, which had been endorsed by many commentators, were her decisions in imposing in a school with 85% Chinese and 10% Muslim students “bacaan doa” during assembly, banning the cheerleading team, no more wearing of shorts for PE and her directive that for CNY, the school can have a lion dance performance but without the drum.

In the comments, there have been more criticisms of the school principal’s insensitive and “Little Napoleonic” ways which are best summed up in the following email from an alma mater of the school:

“I am writing this e-mail to you regarding your latest post on my former school, SMK BUD4. What the parent has wrote to you is indeed correct. Although I have left BU4 for good but I still do communicate with my friends and teachers of that school. In fact I still do visit it quite frequently.

“After hearing about these issues about the new principal I felt that I should play my part as a former student of this school as well. I have a few additional information I would like to share with you. As Valentine’s Day is drawing near, the Scout Troop of SMKBU4 proposed to sell cookies for that occasion to gather some funds for our activities and charity. But to their dismay the Principal rejected the proposal immediately by the reason that she is a Muslim and does not celebrate Valentine’s Day. As far as I know, Malaysia is a multiracial country. The government is trying to promote multiracial values but their civil servant are going against that.

“Besides that, our school hold a Talent Night Event for students to show off their capability and talent every year. The new principal has also said that she does not want the event to be held this year. She told a teacher that if we wanted to attend a contest we can go to the US or other Western Countries. After hearing this I felt that this principal has a real narrow mind. I feel sad for her honestly.

“I still remember an incident that happened last year during our school’s PIBG’s AGM. As the YDP PIBG stood up to present his speech in English, a Muslim parent stood up as well but for another reason. He requeste”d our YDP to speak in Bahasa Melayu as this is Malaysia. I still remember him saying that the British times are over, every Malaysian should know how to speak in BM. The parent and a few others insisted on their stand therefore we had no choice but to ask a teacher to interprete the text to BM. Well my question is this. Did anyone or any rule stats that English is not allowed to be used in Malaysia? Even our government are encouraging the citizens to use english. The Education Ministry introduced Maths and Science in English.”

I am offering this blog to the school principal concerned the space and opportunity to reply to the many valid and legitimate criticisms which have been leveled against her for her lack of sensitivity and failure to set a role model as head of a school in plural Malaysia.

The Education Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and/or Deputy Education Ministers, Education Ministry big-wigs are also welcome to this blog to clear the air.

Unless the principal could deny or explain satisfactorily in a substantive manner the various criticisms directed at her, she should be removed unless she is prepared to mend her ways, rescind her insensitive decisions and realize her responsibilities as head of a school in a multi-racial, multi-religious and multi-cultural Malaysia.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by evaangel on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 10:46 pm

i wanna know how she qualify herself as a principle

2. #2 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:04 pm

That’s why first world status – even in 2057 – remains an impossible dream.

3. #3 by Chong Zhemin on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:13 pm

I might be wrong. but i cant recall any constituencies where both PAS and DAP are interested in fielding candidates

4. #4 by DarkHorse on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:36 pm

What’s wrong then with entering into an electoral strategy with PAS?

5. #5 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:46 pm

BlackEye … since everyone seem to be guilty. Let’s us hear from you who is not …PLEASE..
    It would really interesting to hear what you have to offer, you might perhaps replace Uncle LIM.
    Those who free the BLACKS in the US from slavery had gone down the history as Great PEOPLE. I suppose only in Malaysia, politics of race and religion is TIDAK BOLEH.
    Give us a break !

6. #6 by ZePenguin on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:50 pm

Dear YB, please overtake this country in the future. I can’t think any further of sending my kids to these kind of schools in the future!

Another thing. Yesterday, a few Muslim women distributed some PAS leaflets urging us to vote for them in my area and I had attached them at my blog which can be found here:

http://www.makkez.com/2008/01/17/pas-leaflets-distributed-to-my-house/

7. #7 by Count Dracula on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:51 pm

Don’t insult African Americans! They freed themselves.

8. #8 by U32 on Thursday, 17 January 2008 - 11:52 pm

In an education institution, there are many different clubs for the students to join. Since Malaysia is promoting harmony, the kebudayaan club and the agama clubs should be very active. Agama clubs here mean all the agama. The Persatuan Islam. The Christian Fellowship. The Buddhist get together. The Hindu religious club. And so on and so forth. The government is now stressing on the need for students to join clubs so that they will be all rounders and not just all work and no play.

Malaysians should decide what sort of pengetuas and what sort of pengajars are the best for the country.

Regarding this pengetua in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara, some powerful people should transfer her to a strict Islamic school. She will be able to function to the best of her ability there. She should be sent for courses and some form of professional counselling should be given to her. From the way you wrote about her, I think she is disciplined and so, work wise she has not much problems. The problem that she has is she forces her beliefs and her ways on others. May be she thinks that Islam is the way to salvation and all non Muslims should embrace that religion. So she needs to see things in a holistic manner. How does a Muslim behave in the common every day world ?

There are so many pengajars around. Each time they are about to be promoted, they will have to go for interviews. By just depending on a documented annual confidential report, do you know a lot about a particular pengajar ? By interviewing her for that half an hour, how good is your judgement on her ? If the annual confidential report is all 10 or 9, you are cheating yourself to believe that it is the truth. For that half an hour of interview when she behaves at her very best, can you be sure that this is her behaviour for all the time to come ? Then, annual confidential reports and interviews are meaningless if she is being recommended strongly to become the next pengetua. Imagine the present pengetua going up to the pengarah and insist that the pengajar she has in mind should be the next pengetua. It is an insult to the other pengajars who might be able to make better pengetuas. Does the education ministry ever think about this ?

Let us go back to this pengetua in SMK Bandar Utama 4 Damansara. Her annual confidential report befoe becoming a pengetua herself, probably goes something like this. ” Seorang pengajar yang mempunyai disiplin yang tinggi ” and I am sure this will come from her pengetua who wished to promote her. But if the pengetua finds that she does have a problem, then it will probably be something like this. ” Tetapi beliau mempunyai masalah berkomunikasi ” and with statement like this, do you think she can still be the pengetua she is today ? So, how credible is an annual confidential report ? How effective is pretension ?

See, so many Little Napoleons. Who makes them to be so ? If there is an effective pemantauan system, a lot of conflicts can be cut down. The pengetua will not go away with the idea that she can do anything she likes. But of course, sometimes, we may not know if the higher authorities want her to behave in an unprofessional, unethical, immoral manner.

9. #9 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:00 am

# scorpian6666 Says:

“Those who free the BLACKS in the US from slavery had gone down the history as Great PEOPLE. I suppose only in Malaysia, politics of race and religion is TIDAK BOLEH. Give us a break !”

Us? Who is ‘us’?

Like the Count says the African Americans freed themselves. So let’s not insult the African Americans or the Civil Rights movement of the 60s.

The politics of race and religion has been played by UMNO over some five decades. What is wrong?? It is divisive. As a result we have a nation which is deeply fractured. If the DAP were to go down the same wrong, then DAP is no better than the party it criticizes. Some call that hypocrisy.

10. #10 by malaysiatoday.com on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:03 am

Some bloggers did mention whether PIBG in SMK BUD4 or parents already talked to HM before politicizing the issue.

If the HM is still sturborn and acting like taliban after feedback from PIBG, the parents shall elevate the issue to state education department and lastly to Hishamuddin.

IFF all official channels are exhausted, then can bring the issue to LKS or even to court room.

I found chinese people have a habit of talking loud outside the arena, but behaving like a mouse when confrontating the issue face-to-face with HM or anyone.

11. #11 by Godfather on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:06 am

Uncle Lim is facing a dilemma: Should he enter into a pact with PAS and PKR and form an alternative government (similar to the shadow governments of the UK and Australia) for all Malaysians, or should he continue to distance the DAP from PAS to appease the hardcore supporters of the DAP.

We will find out in the next one or two months. Statesmanship is not about short term gains. It is about having a long term vision for a country that one calls home. With Kit, my bet is that he will continue to appease his supporters so that he can remain as the leader of the Opposition, and not as the leader of all Malaysians.

12. #12 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:11 am

It should be limited to an electoral pact to contest the elections. That is all.

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:13 am

Jeffrey says:

“That’s what I take TDM to say to everyone directly : “I can listen to anybody; can decide on any basis, reasonable or not, and its his prerogative not to account!”

Does the Constitution say this? ”

Doesn’t this confirm that Malaysia is just a one-man show. The PM is the be-all and end-all in Malaysian politics. So what’s the difference between Mahathir’s Malaysia & Mugabe’s Zimbabwe? The difference is Mugabe is the student and Mahathir is the mentor. Both are ‘dictators’ wearing the cloak of democracy!

14. #14 by Godfather on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:13 am

Try asking Karpal Singh what he thinks of a DAP/PAS/PKR electoral pact. Or some of the commentators here.

15. #15 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:13 am

Who says sleeping with the enemy must necessarily result in the consummation of a marriage which is a marriage of convenience?

16. #16 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:16 am

“With Kit, my bet is that he will continue to appease his supporters so that he can remain as the leader of the Opposition, and not as the leader of all Malaysians.”

Some call this the politics of pragmatism.

17. #17 by Godfather on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:17 am

Which then gets exploited to the full by the mainstream press and by the BN thieves. Marriages of convenience can’t run households.

18. #18 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:19 am

It is not meant to run ‘household’ just the house.

19. #19 by seals on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:20 am

I suggest that she is sacked 1. to send a message others are human with culture too. 2. She has taken the power on her own hands and has stepped on the others. 3. this is not the only case….we need drastic action to be heard

20. #20 by Godfather on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:22 am

So we could never run away from the politics of race, the politics of division because these represent the politics of pragmatism. Let’s wait for UMNO to implode.

21. #21 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:25 am

Let’s set the fuse so UMNO could explode.

22. #22 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:26 am

Oh BlackEye you still have nothing to offer .

Still don’t get it …. to destroy a nation is not the same as to fix it. Put it this way 2-1 is not equal to 1-2

Oh! by the way, why would you mention African Americans. I thought you don’t know the differences between “the US” and Us..I wonder what hypocrisy meant …

23. #23 by jus legitimum on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:34 am

Irrespective of what you people say,the issue on hand is to have the BU4 school headmistress amend her narrow minded acts or be removed.This is like the Chinese saying “to kill the chicken in order to warn the monkeys”.

24. #24 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:39 am

If you kill the chicken then we lose not only the chicken but all the eggs that come with it. I don’t know about the monkey though.

25. #25 by hbk2 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:39 am

It is very clear now. This racial and religious discrimination must stop! Little Napoleons must diminish.

The BN Government is wasting too much time attempting to fully Islamize the nation. Do not forget the joint-contributions of other races that has made Malaysia what it is today – otherwise some of us may still be living on trees. The least they could do is show everyone some respect – After all, this is what Allah commanded.

With regards to the use of the name “Allah”, even the Holy Qur’an advocates tolerance of other religions and advises that Christians be allowed to worship God without fear and oppression:

“Verily! Those who believe and those who are Jews and Christians, and Sabians, whoever believes in God and the Last Day and do righteous good deeds shall have their reward with their Lord, on them shall be no fear, nor shall they grieve”. (Qur’an 2:62)

“And there are, certainly, among the people of the Scripture (Jews and Christians), those who believe in God and in that which has been revealed to you, and in that which has been revealed to them, humbling themselves before God. They do not sell the Verses of God for a little price, for them is a reward with their Lord. Surely, God is swift in account”. (Qur’an3:199)

I seriously think some of our Malaysian Muslim brothers & sisters are deeply confused and do not (or sometimes do not want to) comprehend the difference between Race and Religion. For example, when a non-Malay embraces Islam, I often hear people (esp. malay friends) remark, “Dia masuk melayu”. How can that be?! So, the question would be, if a Chinese man embraces Islam, would he be eligible to join uMno? Becoming a Muslim does not change one’s race! Or, does it mean that one has to be a Malay to be a Muslim? Is Islam ONLY for the Malays? Then why do some schools enforce “bacaan doa” in a school where the majority are non-Malays? Why do some schools insist that the songkok must be worn, etc.?

All this uncleared confusion is leading to the increasing birthrate of Little Napoleons that will jeopardise the future of this country. Why can’t people just leave each other alone and instead struggle together for the survival and the future of this country? It is really time to MOVE ON and REALLY REALLY progress as the harmonious multi-racial, multi-religious country that we so proudly proclaim to the whole world.

It is now time for all individuals worthy to be called Malaysians to stand strong together and put a stop to injustice and confusion. Vote for racial equality and freedom of religion! Vote for a better and safer tomorrow for yourselves and your children. Say NO to BN and corruption will diminish and this country will prosper.

26. #26 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:43 am

“The BN Government is wasting too much time attempting to fully Islamize the nation. Do not forget the joint-contributions of other races that has made Malaysia what it is today – otherwise some of us may still be living on trees”

It is no longer a case of covert or creeping Islamization but a case of overt and accelerated Islamization. As for the ‘contribution’ of other races and living on trees, they rather have the trees to live on for themselves.

27. #27 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:49 am

“Often I hear people (esp. malay friends) remark, “Dia masuk melayu”. How can that be?!….All this uncleared confusion is leading to the increasing birthrate of Little Napoleons …”

The ‘confusion’ is manufactured to confuse the issue.

28. #28 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 12:56 am

“With Kit, my bet is that he will continue to appease his supporters so that he can remain as the leader of the Opposition, and not as the leader of all Malaysians.”

Some call this the politics of pragmatism.

said BackEye
    ——————-

okay wait a minutes … this is about the HM and the rights of the students under her, not an analysis of the Election outcome or is it… maybe some of you are in the political science.. no..not me.

What is “the politics of pragmatism” I only think Kit is probably laughing from behind the blog… right kit

29. #29 by burn on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:44 am

i thought we only have clowns in parliment, minus DAP!
    didn’t know they’ve few too in gomen schools…

30. #30 by BlackEye on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:22 am

“What is “the politics of pragmatism” I only think Kit is probably laughing from behind the blog… right kit”

Nope. LKS knows what politics of pragmatism is all about. You don’t.

31. #31 by BoDo Singh on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:41 am

“I would suggest for our schools to be split into muslim and non-muslim schools, following the current political make-up
    Malay = UMNO, Pas
    NON-Malay = MIC, MCA
    If these still could not solve the problem or it is unthinkable, then NO MALAY HM for schools with Majority NON-MALAY.”

Whoever said this must be awfully young, naive and perhaps even stupid.

32. #32 by Evenmind on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 5:45 am

Napoleon oh no , at least he had some brains , these people are completely DUNGUS, MORONS ,IMBERCILES. They are the product of NEP, it wud have been totally different if they were at the ( HM )post as a result of MERITOCRACY. There is no intellect whatsoever in these people., they act on instinct , envy and jeolousy. I wonder if they know that the world is ROUND.

When I say intiinct and envy, she would probably had made up her mind when she heard the Chinese beating the drums and they sounded like UNTUNG, UNTUNG, UNTUNG. and then the the envy wud have turned to hatred,yes that what hv they been thought by UMNO , to call the nons, infidels and God know what other names, thats why they so brazenly do these things knowing that they have the tacit support of the ruling party., for god sake someone pls tell the BBC and CNN to stop airing the malaysia truly ASIA clip , becos tht’s only meant for propoganda, just as the Germans use to do during world war 2.Uncle Kit, i’m sure u cud do something , let the truth prevail.

What a MORON

33. #33 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:29 am

# BoDo Singh Says:

“I would suggest for our schools to be split into muslim and non-muslim schools, following the current political make-up
    Malay = UMNO, Pas
    NON-Malay = MIC, MCA
    If these still could not solve the problem or it is unthinkable, then NO MALAY HM for schools with Majority NON-MALAY.”

Whoever said this must be awfully young, naive and perhaps even stupid.
    ——————————
    Thanks …. I am that fellow and thanks for making me young again but please enlightened me as it hurts to be STUPID

Do you meant “NO Malay HM for schools with majority NON-Malay” a stupid idea?
    Do you think it is a GOOD IDEA for SAMMY to be HEADING UMNO

THAT’s probably a STUPID idea !
    ——
    YOu kind of remind me of ALL these Politician chanting to the crowd without any subject out of the BLUE …..

“The OPPOSITion LIES”

Yes …. about what ????
    ——————-

BY the way … we wanted someone smart to offer some SMART SOLUTION in regards to this HM case ? LET’s see what you got surely you have something up your sleeve … plse plse plse ..at least let the bloggers judge how smart you are plse plse plse else –[deleted -]

34. #34 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:52 am

Damn! BlackEYE (okay plse dont be offended) I am waiting for someone like you to bring out this ..
    Could someone talk about Malaysian Economy Package, rather than telling us bloggers how much you know about Politics !

Let hear from all the Parties what They had to say about their visions and what they had to offer. For NOW replace the HM concern till after the election..Plse UMNO!
    Uh!
    Got a complain too about the school…
    I never get Government Loan for my children books in their primary education… but I was anticipating having more MONIES to spend this year when i hear I too going to get Book Loan.
    But “wo la la” I could believe my eyes this year, I had more money of “tons” of WORKBOOKS !
    My daughters in Form ONe has to buy all these bright coloured Exercise books from the school cooperative.. I don’t mind that but why the waste of monies having all those coloured covers !!!! Now teachers job are more easy now, the kids just have to fill their workbooks.
    —-That what we should be talking about too — MONIES !!!!!!

Any one with better idea to lower the price of OIL … better yet RICE !

35. #35 by scorpian6666 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 10:55 am

sorry i meant I could’nt believe i had to spend more money buying tons of Workbooks ….. (that’s stupid english)

36. #36 by Tickler on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 11:21 am

Malay = UMNO, Pas
    NON-Malay = MIC, MCA

Why stupid idea. Even at mamak stalls people say it`s the only solution. Obviously the idea appeals to many.

37. #37 by Godfather on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 1:58 pm

We are trying for decades to have integration and here we have some DAP supporters who are in favour of segregation. *Sigh* Please think carefully before you even utter such suggestions.

38. #38 by Dissapointed on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:11 pm

well the main problem is the HM doesnt explains her action or clarify anything with the students / parents! thats why most students thinking are all because of influence and rumours spread. pls HM explain what has been hapenning soon enough before the worst. apparently, the lions dance was not allowed because she doesnt want to wake those staying around the school up. it shouldnt really matter right? its only one day in a year!

39. #39 by Luther on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 2:30 pm

40. #40 by noextremist on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 3:43 pm

As far as I’m concerned, this issue regarding the school’s Principal has been sorted out and settled within. I’m with hopes that this issue will not be carried on as it will not bring any benefits. As messages have turned into rumours, many are not aware of the real happenings in this school. Problem should be considered solved if the public will stop spreading rumours.

41. #41 by shiver on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 4:55 pm

Godfather,

u are at least stating the obvious, i agree with u. i will vote for PAS even if its in my are because of after what UMNO has done, i dont know how you can say that with PAS, it will be worse for the non-malays.

DAP, stop preaching about segregation. you want to be a opposition leader, then continue to do what you are doing.

all this rubbish about racial segregation is beginning to turn me off.
    you guys continue to vote Gerakan/MCA if the opposition is PAS, then you dont bloody continue to complain of how UMNO this and that in the future.

i have had enough of this “so called” hardcore DAP supporters here.
    if you cant see yourself as malaysians in the future, then all hope is gone.

ask yourself do you really think PAS will be worse than UMNO now and you keep on worrying about that, where did that worry came from? the MSM? please guys, after all that you have been thru with BN, you think its going to get any better?

if we can kick out the present govt, in 5 years time, we can kick out that new govt if we feel they are not doing a good job.

or are we all just suckers? by the looks of it, there are just too many suckers here even on the page of an “opposition leader” blog.

42. #42 by raven77 on Friday, 18 January 2008 - 8:41 pm

If this doesnt make the electorate vote the opposition in…..Malaysia is a gone case…..the internet is the saviour.. for without it we will never know what other atrocities these numbskulls are up to…..

43. #43 by alaneth on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 12:03 am

I agree with raven77,
    besides blogs, you can also visit online newspapers in the UK, USA, Bangkok Post etc.

Our newspapers is good to watch non-political events happening. Even business news is over-politicised.

Malaysiakini is good for the rest.

See how good/bad we fared in US Dept of State’s Religious Freedom Index 2007. (This Index never made it to our press).
    http://www.state.gov/g/drl/rls/irf/2007/

44. #44 by seals on Sunday, 20 January 2008 - 2:19 am

I heard some schools forcing non-malay students to learn jawi…..???

45. #45 by VeryConfused on Tuesday, 22 January 2008 - 4:06 pm

Just lately the Principal of the BU4 school has asked the students to ask her specific questions during the assembly. The students chosen were Chinese and the questions were written onto a piece of paper whereby the students will ask the question and she would reply.

She replied that the “cheer team has not been scrap”, “that the Chinese drums would be allowed during Chinese New Year” plus many more questions which she has politely answered. The folloing last question was not answered.

Why was the Chinese Teachers removed from all major repsonsibilities?

Can somebody answer this? Dear Principal and if you are reading this, I hope that you can draw some light into this matter.

Thanks

Comments are closed.