Non-bumis no more?

by Azly Rahman

Sometime ago in a column I wrote the following:

We are in the 21st century. About three years from now, we will arrive at the year 2010. The non-Malays and non-bumiputeras have come a long way into being accepted as full-fledged Malaysians, by virtue of the ethics, rights and responsibilities of citizenship. They ought to be given equal opportunity in the name of social justice, racial tolerance and the alleviation of poverty.

Bright and hard-working Malaysians regardless of racial origin who now call themselves Malaysians must be given all the opportunities that have been given to Malays since 40 years back.

Islam and other religions require this form of social justice to be applied to the lives of human beings. Islam does not discriminate one on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, creed nor national origin. It is race-based politics, borne out of the elusiveness of nationalism, that creates post-industrial tribalistic leaders; leaders that will design post-industrial tribalistic policies. It is the philosophy of greed, facilitated by free enterprise runamuck that will evolvingly force leaders of each race to threaten each other over the control of the economic pie. This is the ideology of independence we have cultivated.

I want to elaborate the point further:

A Malay child of Merdeka

As a child born into a Malay family a few years after the shouts of “Merdeka!” filled the nation’s stadium, and as a child privileged to be given the opportunities accorded to a “bumiputera,” I have a statement of hope to convey to our nation.

As an adult growing learning multiple ways of knowing about the world, through people of multiple cultures, I often ask the question of what will happen to the children and grandchildren of Mr Wong, my Jawi teacher in Johor Bahru, Ah Lan of Jalan Segget, the lady who taught my mother how to sew clothes for a living, Dr Das of Jalan Ah Fook who treated my childhood illness and taught me how to be “patient” about wanting to make changes in the world, Mr PV Kulasingam my fearful headmaster in Sekolah Temenggong Abdul Rahman, Miss Chan my favourite Maths teachers who suddenly became angry at me a day after the May 13, 1969 riots, Miss Yap and Mr Ambrose my English teachers who taught me to love the language when I was struggling with other subjects, and countless other “non-Malays non-bumis” I have come to be indebted to — those who have contributed to the “subjectivity” of what I am as a “cultural being living in an ever changing and evolving world of shifting cultural constructs.”

In short, I ask the question — what have this nation done to the children and grandchildren of these people through the policies we create to alienate each other?

Because in my profession as an educator, questions are more important than the answers, I present them as such below:

After this Merdeka celebrations will we all be called the “new bumiputeras”? Will the false dichotomy of “Malays” versus “non-Malays” and “bumiputeras ” versus “non-bumiputeras” be abolished? Will we come together as “true blue Malaysians” that will progress through the guiding national development philosophy crafted by the principles of scientific socialism, multiculturalism, affirmative action and meritocratic principles in a balance, and the respect, cultivation, and preservation of indigenous cultures that sustain the dignity of each race?

Will more financial aid be given to the deserving students of all races? Will more scholarships be given to “non-Malays” or “non-bumiputeras” so that they too will enjoy the fruits of labour of the parents and grandparents who toiled for this nation? Will more deserving “non-Malays” be given the much needed aid to study abroad and to come home and serve, so that they will take pride in building the nation that has been kind to them? Will this new preferential treatment cure the ill-feeling and silent animosity over the awarding of resources amongst the different races?

Will the children and grandchildren of great Malaysians — Soh Chin Aun, V Arumugam, Santokh Singh, (the grand-daddies of the real Beckhams of the Malaysian cultural iconoclasm) and Andre Goh, M. Jegathesan, or the members of the pop group “Alleycats” be given the scholarship they deserve?

Will preferential treatment be given to those born after the Aug 31, 1957 to their children and grandchildren as well?

It will be a shame to the hard work of the “founding fathers” of Merdeka if we do not work towards providing equality, equity, and equal opportunity to the children of all races. It would kill the spirit of Merdeka.

Our Merdeka gone astray?

This Merdeka, we have gone astray. Race-politics has reached its boiling point. It is predictable as a consequence of the outgrowth of politics in a pluralistic nation. Scholars who write about the difference between nationalism and socialism have predicted the bankruptcy of the former, in an age of globalisation and mass consumption — in an age wherein blind nationalism has become a blinder for the politics of plunder.

This Merdeka, let us extend our special rights to all who deserve to live a life of dignity, based on the principles of universal declaration of human rights. In a nation wherein the three major races help build the nation, the nation must now belong to the children of all these races. It is the logic of the brighter side of Social Darwinism — that all must be made fit to survive, not through natural selection but through an inclusive philosophy of developmentalism. It is an antidote to racial discrimination based on a sound philosophy of peaceful evolution.

We cannot continue to alienate each other through arguments on “social contract” that is alien from perhaps what Jean Jacques Rousseau the great Swiss wrote about some 300 years ago — a philosophy that inspired the founding of America, a nation of immigrants constantly struggling (albeit imperfectly) to meet the standards requirements of equality, equity, and equal opportunity especially in education.

How do we come together as Malaysians, as neo-bumiputeras free from false political-economic and ideological dichotomies of Malays versus non-Malays, “bumi” versus “non-bumis’ and craft a better way of looking at our political, economic, social, cultural, and psychological, and spiritual destiny — so that we may continue to survive as a specie of Malaysians the next 50 years?

As a privileged Malay and a “bumiputera”, I want to see the false dichotomies destroyed and a new sense of social order emerging, based on a more just form of linguistic play designed as a new Merdeka game plan. Think Malaysian – we do not have anything to lose except our mental chains.

There is still a reason to celebrate.

1. #1 by bystander on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 4:51 pm

Well written Dr Azly. I could not agree more. Thks and Pl continue to educate the malays and get them to come to their senses.

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 4:54 pm

Is this what we are celebrating 50 years on?
    http://www.ipsnews.net/news.asp?idnews=32593
    The telephone survey of about 1,200 Malaysians also found that the majority of the various races find comfort and security in their respective ethnicity and not in a common ‘Malaysian’ identity….more than half the population does not trust each other. For a nation that claims to be a ‘melting pot’, only eleven percent of the respondents said they had eaten often with friends from other races in the past three months. Thirty four percent said they have never had a meal with people of other races….increasingly, the communities were drifting apart and polarization of the races and a lack of social unity were on the rise. They squarely blame the politicians and the country’s race-based politics for the sharp rise in racism. The shocking findings have also prompted civil society to demand a ban on all race- based political parties.

3. #3 by 周瑜 on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 5:11 pm

Can’t be more than agree with you Dr Azly. I do hope one fine day everything will be fair and square here.

I don’t think this can be achieved anytime soon though. Not until Malaysia is fully depleted of its natural resources.

4. #4 by bokliang on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 5:14 pm

Mr Azly,
    Well written comment. It is happy and relieve to notice that some malay or bumiputra do realise the unfair and bias treatment on non-malay or non-bumiputra and want to rectify it. But it is extremely sad to find out that Mr Azly is 1 in the million in Malay or bumiputra community that have conscience and want to change it. How wonderful and great will it for Malaysia if only 3 out of 10 Malay or bumiputra have such conscience like Mr Azly.

5. #5 by FuturePolitician on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 5:21 pm

I have grew up in a multicutural neighbourhood and work hand in hand with malay and indian multicultural company to bid on tender against other company with similar setup.

I go to friends wedding kenduri and makan-makan in the afternoon. I join their evening doa dinner and chit-chat with them.

I go to my friends deepavali celebration and makan-makan with them and chit-chat.

My clients of all races, to cari makan to support my family.

I go to religious wedding ceremony of all races, i join them in their celebration of their religious festival.

And yet in my heart and mind…today I am a multicultural person without any ill-feeling towards any other race or religion.. BUT I fear what would my children would face in 10-20years from now.

I bear with grint, that the government is having segrative policies and yet my heart cannot segregate me from my multicultural friends and clients.

Eventhough I have a fence in my compound home, we (my neighbour(malay) and myself, (chinese)) agreed to remove the chainlinks fences and plant small bushes.. instead of a wall.

In every bit, we Rakyat is trying to hold things together.. we are trying our best.

Happy Merdeka Day.. I hope to celebrate this with pride with my children and multicultural friends..in many years to come.. I can only hope for now.

6. #6 by chai on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:40 pm

it is great and true written by Dr azly, the main reason of want to unite all racial as a big family is start from our government, but today our government continuing the alleviation policy so how we going to unite all racial? bcos everyone will expect to get equality and fair from our government. so i hope this will come true after we celebrate 50th merdeka.

7. #7 by sammyvellu on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 7:38 pm

Sadly to say, how many Malaysians think like this statesman?

8. #8 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 8:32 pm

Non-Malays support the original principle of NEP and don’t ask for much. What they want is very simple: Will those Malays who had benefited from the NEP and are now enjoying good living and salaries please stand up and declare to the government –
    We are grateful for the opportunities given to us under the NEP so that we are socially and economically up-lifted;
    we are now economically as good, if not better, than many less privileged non-Malays;
    we can stand on our own two feet and compete equally with non-Malays;
    we have good income (many of us have an annual income of RM60,000 or more) and do not need 5% discount when we buy houses of RM150,000 or more;
    we also can afford to educate our children by ourselves and our children do not need special privileges under the NEP
    we appeal to the government to extend the privileges of NEP to all fellow Malaysians (irrespective of race) who are economically less advantaged.

Perhaps Azly will start the ball rolling and do a great service to this nation.

9. #9 by Educator on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 8:38 pm

Dr Azly. well written! Hope more people will support your idea.

10. #10 by awesome on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 9:05 pm

Excellent Dr. Azly! Way to go. We need more moderate Malays. Thank you!

11. #11 by munis on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 9:32 pm

meritrocracy should be fine but personally i fell we should have a quota system in everything the govt. doing by following the racial composition in malaysia. This would be fair to every race because not all the races are developing at the same level. Example civil servants, addmission in university, contracts, share allocation, and etc.

12. #12 by wiz123 on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 10:09 pm

can i just ask what makes a ‘bumiputera’? is it merely because that person is a muslim? or are there are criterias involved?

13. #13 by ablastine on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 10:10 pm

Dr Azly, I salute you for the excellent and courageous article. I feel indeed very privileged and honoured to have a fellow countryman whose balanced and learned views transcend race, religion and creed. Yours is the strong voice of reason which will find resonance amongst us who craved but only unity, equality,democracy and progress. The messages contained therein strike right at the heart of the problems besetting Malaysia, which no doubt will earn you disdained from those who have been hurt by the poignancy of its truth.

I hope you will return to the Motherland soon and lend us a hand to prevent the country from slipping further down the path of destruction. If there are more Malays like you in the country, the country will be saved.

14. #14 by UFOne on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 10:38 pm

Why is baju Melayu the national dress of Malaysia ? Aurat in Urdu means woman. Awrah in Arabic denotes the parts of the body that are not meant to be exposed in public. For women in most civilizations, the parts that must not be exposed are the chest and the lower abdominal areas. In some unknown civilizations, all these do not mean anything. Any non muslim entering the civil service is as well versed as the next muslim in the quran. What does that tell you ? What is so wrong with western clothing ? What is so wrong with exposing your limbs when you are not a muslim ? This is not a scientific logic.

Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! What sort of a merdeka is that if the bosses still want their servants to follow orders only as they have janjikan. Oops ! I forget. Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Am I right now ? This is not a water or rock logic. In fact it is not logical at all. A non logical mind is a non scientific mind. And a non scientific mind is an emotional mind base on traditions, cultures, customs and religions.

15. #15 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 12:12 am

Dr Azly,

I wish that many more people in this country have the right and civilized mentality like you.

That is the only way to achieve real unity in Malaysia.

16. #16 by Lee Chee Lek on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 12:39 am

I like the article by Marina M tday. It feels something like what you are saying. Keep on dreaming Malaysians. No one is ashamed espeicially in Malaysia when there are free gifts whether given by the Govt, corpn, UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan or what have you. Whether is is bumi priviledges, free food, free textbooks, free loans or whatever. Silence is golden to some when it is given to them when they least need it. I guess it all has to do with something called religious Malaysians.

17. #17 by badak on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 12:48 am

What Malay preverlege are the UMNO LEAD GOVERMENT is talking about,Are card carring Malay members of PAS and PKR, enjoying this preverlege,The minute you are found out your preverleges are taken away ,This preverlege is only for Malays in UMNO.

18. #18 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:22 am

‘After this Merdeka celebrations will we all be called the “new bumiputeras”? Will the false dichotomy of “Malays” versus “non-Malays” and “bumiputeras ” versus “non-bumiputeras” be abolished? Will we come together as “true blue Malaysians”…”

I believe we can – but first we will have to kill all the lawyers and the politicians!

19. #19 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:43 am

“Jean-Jacques Rousseau, in The Social Contract, propounds a doctrine which already had a long history in the struggle against the older view of the divine right of kings, namely, that government gets its authority over us by a willing consent on our part, not by the authorization of God. While Rousseau’s famous opening line condemns the society of his day for its limiting of our natural spontaneity (indeed, its corruption of our natural goodness), he thinks that a good government can be justified in terms of the compromise to which each of us submits so as to gain “civil liberty and the proprietorship of all he possesses.” Rousseau even thinks that we mature as human beings in such a social setting, where we are not simply driven by our appetites and desires but become self-governing, self-disciplined beings.”

So followers of the Rousseau doctrine out there, time to reflect – but do not take forever to reflect or else it remains nothing but a reflection of our failure.

20. #20 by lbn on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:17 am

We need more rational people like this writer who I believe is a malay. In the first place the term bumiputra should not have arised. Our so called “leaders” didn’t do their job and now we get the crunch. We should be nationalistic. I’m proud of my country and is my birth place. How would one feels if one is treated by the government as an alien? I feel disgusted. Eventhough frustrated, I’m loyal as ever because I know the country and the government are 2 different entities. I, not only talk but also walked my talk. I gave 12 yrs of my youth to the country in the military(RMN). For the sake of our nation, please emphatise – put yourselves in our shoes. May God bless Malaysia!

21. #21 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:59 am

Malays don’t have a tradition of following their intellectual ideals. They have a tradition of following the convenience of their political elite.

Hence the only way the NEP will be remove it is when its leads to disaster for most people not for a minority. There is no mass conscience of injustice for a minority.

The NEP will be removed, its untenable in the long run, but when that happens, it won’t matter because those which the injustice have been heaped upon will not be around to reclaim what was their in the first place.

22. #22 by ktteokt on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 8:18 am

Divide and rule, that was the policy of the BN government. But does the government realize that the Malays in themselves are much divided? There are currently three major political parties consisting of Malay majority, the most infamous of all is of course UMNO, which purports to “Unite” the Malays but which is in fact still very much “disunited” despite the calls by several of our former prime ministers for unity. It is a big disgrace to place the UMNO – United Malays National Organization signboard on the roof top of PWTC. Then there are two other political parties consisting mainly of Malays, PAS and Keadilan.

In the circumstances, Malay votes are divided and the BN has to depend on non-bumi votes if it were to stay in power in the coming election.

After implementing so many “New” Economic Policies, how much improvement in lifestyle of the bumis can be seen? But the implementation has resulted in much discrimination to the other races and created hatred. Then what is the whole purpose of setting up the Jabatan Perpaduan Negara? How can you expect the people to stand united when the government is practising such discriminative policies, suppressing part of the people and giving special rights to the other. What use is the Rukunegara which purports to “create a just society”?

23. #23 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:06 am

Excerpts from an interview with Lee Kuan Yew, who served as prime minister of Singapore from 1959, when it gained partial independence from Britain, until he stepped down in 1990
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/08/29/asia/lee-excerpts.php
    We are migrants from southern China, southern India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, before it was divided, Ceylon and the archipelago. So, the problem was, can we keep these peoples together? The basis of a nation just was not there. But the advantage we had was that we became independent late. In 1965, we had 20 years of examples of failed states.

So, we knew what to avoid – racial conflict, linguistic strife, religious conflict. We saw Ceylon….Riots – we’ve seen Sri Lanka, when they switched from English to Sinhalese and disenfranchised the Tamils and so strife ever after. We chose – we didn’t say it was our national language – we said it was our working language, that everybody learns English whatever language medium school you go to. Which means nobody needs interpretation to read English. So, our sources of culture, literature, ideas are now more from the English text than from the Chinese or the Malay or the Tamil…

24. #24 by dop on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:24 am

Dr Azly, I am pleased to see we have a educated Malay to speak out something fair and reasonable to the nations. I can’t agree with you more. I do hope all our politicians are as educated as you are, but too bad, they are just a bunch of nonsence and selfish people whose only goal is to get the votes for themselves irregardless what it takes them. I guess it is humiliating to some well educated Malays to say that Malays continue to need help from government, as this indirectly, saying Malays are not as competent as other races, they are weak in every aspect. if this continues to be carried out, eventually, those capable other races will move out to other countries where they can get equal opportunity; by that time, I guess this type of laws or rules will no longer mean anything.

25. #25 by Toyol on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:27 am

After 50 years of independence, its about time we abolish all barriers to a true Malaysian identity. All forms must first remove the race field…then the term bumiputera and non bumiputera must not be used anymore to differentiate. The NEP must be used for the benefit of all…yes, a lot of non-bumiputera are still way behind.

Our passports must state we are Malaysians to the world. Benefits will only accrue to those who work hard, no more favours. Meritocracy for admittance to places of higher learning etc…the list goes on.

If this is possible, I will gladly fly the Jalur Gemilang from my house.

26. #26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:34 am

BN, especially UMNO, is damned by its racist policies and will go down in history like the apartheid regime of South Africa.

Tun M, Pak Lah etc. will be equally stigmatised. These are not statesmen but opportunists who play the race card to so as to retain the support of their race. There isn’t much they could offer besides.

Never before since the founding days of Malaysia has the ‘divide and rule’ policies been more shocking and more pervasive.

27. #27 by megaman on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:50 am

LKY is a genius and pragmatic genius went it comes to politics and governments …

He has a clear mind of the realities of current socio-politic forces and what this demands of the leaders and the governments involved …

However, Singapore is what it is today not because of him alone … it’s also because he has a group of really talented ppl behind him …

They are willing to work hard n do the right things because there is no oil n gas, there is no lumber, there is no land, there is no tin …
    Singapore HAS NOTHING !!! Ironically, this is also why it succeeded in becoming a developed country in the backwaters of ASEAN …
    They have no choice but to work hard and do the RIGHT thing for the country because ultimately sink or sail it’s based on their efforts alone.

Having natural resources like oil n gas only breeds greedy ppl that has only 1 thing in their mind … how to exploit these natural resources to their own advantage … they can remain in power simply by tossing little crumbs every now and then to ppl in the underlying stratas of society …

Only when all the riches has dried up, will the raping stop … and when the raping stops … the tossing of crumbs stops … when the tossing of crumbs stop … the ppl go hungry … when the ppl go hungry … their eyes will OPEN … n see the TRUE realities of their current predicament …

ONLY then will things start to go right … the hours before dawn are the darkest … Brace yourself …

28. #28 by freemalaysia on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:21 am

Sir Azly,

I am so proud of Malays like you. You make me feel at home and feel proud to be a Malaysian. It is people like you who truly knows the spirit of unity. For the longest time, I feel like a foreigner in this country, waiting for the time to come so that I can go elsewhere.

But the only problem is, we need 15 million more Malays to be like you. You have set a very good example as you are educated, understanding, caring, loving and patriotic.

Do allow me to thank you sincerely for sharing your wonderful and sensible thoughts. Take care.

29. #29 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:28 am

http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/08/28/opinion/edbowring.php?page=1
    Under Middle East influence and driven partly by domestic politics, official Malay Islam has become increasingly restrictive in its interpretations, increasingly arrogant in its assumptions about the primacy of Islam and the extent of the jurisdiction of sharia courts.

UMNO is living proof that a monopoly of power is increasingly corruptive. The combination of political power and pro-Malay economic policies is especially corrosive. Nor is there much justification any longer for racial preferences, given that Malays have wealth as well as now easily outnumbering the immigrant races. It has created a Malay elite that is highly dependent on official favors.

The problems of race, religion and corruption may have increased since Mahathir Mohamad stepped down as prime minister. Mahathir was an authoritarian who undermined democracy and the independence of the judiciary, but he was secular at heart….

UMNO remains in power at the center because the non-Malays fear its more Islamic Malay rivals. The Chinese, Indian and east Malaysian parties in the government are there to give an appearance of racial diversity and offer some antidote to the potential for the tyranny of the majority.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:38 am

On the eve of our 50th Merdeka celebration (with respect to Malaya, not Malaysia, and if we can call it a celebration), we should ask ourselves: Why are we still squabbling over issues that are well defined in our Constitution? Why are we still perpetually caught in the vortex of race-related issues that seem to have no sensible solutions but appear to be getting out of hand through manipulation?

It is obvious that, as a nation, we fail to achieve racial harmony and to convince our citizens that everything that happens around us is for the good of the nation and the people.

We may pledge the Rukunegara:

Bahawanya negara kita Malaysia mendukung cita-cita hendak:
    • mencapai perpaduan yang lebih erat di kalangan seluruh masyarakatnya;
    • memelihara satu cara hidup demokratik;
    • mencipta satu masyarakat adil di mana kemakmuran Negara akan dapat dinikmati bersama secara adil dan saksama;
    • menjamin satu cara liberal terhadap tradisi-tradisi kebudayaannya yang kaya dan berbagai corak; dan
    • membina satu masyarakat progresif yang akan menggunakan sains dan teknologi moden.
    Maka kami, rakyat Malaysia, berikrar akan menumpukan seluruh tenaga dan usaha kami untuk mencapai cita-cita tersebut berdasarkan atas prinsip-prinsip berikut:
    • Kepercayaan kepada Tuhan
    • Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara
    • Keluhuran perlembagaan
    • Kedaulatan undang-undang
    • Kesopanan dan kesusilaan

But do we really believe in all that is mentioned in the Rukunegara?

Compare this with what’s happening in the little red dot down south, when people make The Singapore Pledge and believe in it:

We, the citizens of Singapore,
    pledge ourselves as one united people,
    regardless of race, language or religion,
    to build a democratic society
    based on justice and equality
    so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and
    progress for our nation.

Initially penned by Mr S Rajaratnam (who, incidentally was raised in Seremban, Malaysia) in 1966, the Pledge was written against the backdrop of racial riots in the 1950s and 1960s. Mr Rajaratnam revealed that the dream was about building “a Singapore we are proud of”. He believed that language, race and religion were divisive factors, but the Pledge emphasises that these differences can be overcome if Singaporeans cared enough about their country. The draft text was handed to the then Prime Minister Mr Lee Kuan Yew, who polished the text before submitting it to the Cabinet.
    http://www.sg/explore/symbols_pledge.htm

Sadly, after 50 years of Malaya’s Merdeka, we have not learnt our bitter lessons. It is not too late to learn from Singapore how Singapore promotes and fosters racial harmony and national unity.

Do visit:
    http://library.thinkquest.org/C0116280/
    http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/CommunityDevelopment/PromoteRacialHarmonyNCommunityBonding/
    http://sam11.moe.gov.sg/racialharmony/

Walk the talk! Happy National Day!? Or, drown in sorrow.

31. #31 by lupus on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:42 am

We just need a change…..after all, how long was UNMO an illegal party ?

32. #32 by wizzerd on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:52 am

No true Merdeka as long as the divisve policies are in place. The grandiose celebration and proclamation of national unity are nothing but pulling wool over our eyes.

33. #33 by sotong on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 11:18 am

It is difficult to change the Malays….they are made to feel their achievements to date are the direct result of UMNO and they owed the party a life time debt and loyalty, eventhough the money to implement the policies came from taxpayers of all races.

34. #34 by badak on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 12:52 pm

A chiness man have 2 wivies one a christian the other a muslim, The chirldren from the Christian wife are NON BUMI, The children from the MUSLIM wife are known as Malay BUMIS, How can that be.

Indonesian MUSLIMs whose kids are born in Malaysia are known as bumi,s .Here all the chiness and Indians whose great great grand parents ,grand parents ,and parents are all born here are NON BUMIS ,Can some one please tell me what happen along the way towards our 50 yrs of Merdeka. If you are wondering im a MALAYSIAN.

35. #35 by badak on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:06 pm

If we really want to see unity in the true sence ,B.N lead goverment should walk the talk,All the racially base partners should de-register and should only be know as BARISAN NATIONAL ,No more UMNO, MIC MCA ,Just BARISAN NATIONAL.

All the problems we are seeing now, is not done by the man on the street but the politian which pratice the divide and rule policy,

36. #36 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:32 pm

The trouble is our BN-led government views the term ‘Malaysian Malaysia’ a dirty term, promulgated first by PAP and then DAP. Even Lim KY kena from Umnoputras when he mentioned ‘Malaysian Malaysia’.

37. #37 by ktteokt on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:42 pm

Is UMNO “more Islamic” than PAS? Why is it that whenever PAS mentioned Islam, there is always opposition from MCA and other component parties in the BN but when Abdullah announced Malaysia to be an Islamic state, everyone of the component parties just kept silent? Is there a division between UMNO Islam and PAS Islam?

If at all Malaysia is an Islamic State, then PAS shouldn’t be an opposition party at all as it embraces all the aspects of Islam and is rightfully part of the government. By isolating PAS as an opposition, BN, especially UMNO is slapping its own face. It is trying to tell the people of Malaysia it is “more Islamic” than PAS so as to make PAS an opposition against an Islamic government.

Announcing Malaysia to be an Islamic State therefore holds no bearing in so far as Islamic identity is concerned, so why bother to make it public. This will only disgrace the PM, BN, the government and the nation as a whole.

38. #38 by sotong on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 3:31 pm

If BN under UMNO leadership sticks to Rukunegara, there would not be a BN today with rampant corruption, abuse of power, gross excesses, high crime and etc..

How are the leaders going to be the future role models for a younger generation if they indulge themselves in the dark side of their personalities – bullying, threats, encourage divisions and inciting aggression and hatred!

39. #39 by lakshy on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 3:54 pm

Ponder this:- While 31st August can be marked as independence day for the non-malays, I fail to see how it can be celebrated as such by the malays who are still largely dependent on handouts, contracts, special seats for university, jobs, promotions, education, scholarships, etc. So the malays remain dependent. Its the others who can truly say they have independence. From what we have seen, malays also do not have religious freedom.

With that sobering thought, lets really celebrate 31st August 2007, 50 years of TRUE INDEPENDENCE!

40. #40 by mendela on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 4:45 pm

Dr. Azly,

You should return to your homeland immediately.
    You must speak up against all wrongdoings by this regime.
    Without experiencing fair competitions and without working toward globalization, Malays as a race might be doomed within next 50 years.

You must educate the Malays to play a fairer game in order to survive.

Yes, you are 1 in a million. You must run in next GE!

41. #41 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:31 pm

Do you know that Singaporeans commemorate Racial Harmony Day on every 21 July?

Why 21 July? On this day in 1964, Singapore saw racial riots. It was the worst racial riot ever happened in Singapore.

Singaporeans make an effort to remind themselves that people of different races must understand and tolerate each other in order to live in peace and harmony. Thus they turned tragedy into strength by remembering 21 July and working proactively towards racial harmony so as to ensure peace and prosperity.

We had the worst racial riots on 13 May 1969. And what’s May 13 to us? A useful bogey date for Umnoputras to constantly remind and threaten non-Malays with repeated blood bath. Remember May 13 (with keris waving) – Behave or else! What a contrast in mentality. How sad for Malaysia!

42. #42 by hopeforfairness on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:55 pm

Dr. Azly,

You are one of the people that stands up for all races,by taking thing as a whole,with consideration regarding all the races in Malaysia.

In Malaysia,all different races seem to be united,but it is saddening to say that the unity, in actual fact,is superficial.

Today I went to school,to celebrate the so-called Merdeka Ceremony.
    At first I thought that there would be only some sort of boring speech by headmaster and some competition regarding mendeklamasi sajak.Never would I expect the teacher that was giving the speech actually touched about 513 event again.IN FACT,WHOEVER THAT CAME TO GIVE A SPEECH NEVER FAIL TO TALK ABOUT 513 event.This is the so-called Merdeka Ceremony in my school.

In fact,if Bumiputra got hold of 30% of the share,it does not matter.What I hope for is fairness in education.

EDUCATION,everybody should be given a chance to prove that he or she is capable of entering the national university.The existence of Matrikulasi that consists of 90% Bumiputra and 10 % non-Bumiputra,had really made the competition among students,very unfair.I read from all sorts of entries from all sorts of forums,non-bumiputra that got 4.0 for STPM cannot even get into top 3 favoured subjects.

I wonder that Bumiputra that study in MRSM would know the exact situation of how other races there struggling to enter national university.As a result,those non-bumiputra that cannot get into local university,are forced to leave and pursue their education at other places like National University of Singapore.

Funny.While Singapore is absorbing all type of talents around the world,Malaysia is letting go all type of talents in the country.Like that,how can Wawasan 2020 be achieved?

I sigh,from deep into my heart regarding the situation now.

43. #43 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:57 pm

Chinese and Indian citizen are supposed to be BUMIPUTRA too:

They are “diPUTERAkan di BUMI” Malaysia too..

Discrimination against any races as practiced by present government is a Sin against humanity and God

44. #44 by undergrad2 on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 9:25 am

“Dr Azly, I am pleased to see we have a educated Malay to speak out something fair and reasonable to the nations. ”

A case of racial profiling?

Are we to understand that the average Malay is not “educated” and cannot speak out “something fair and reasonable”??

45. #45 by sotong on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 10:24 am

The general perception Malay leaders gave the non Malays is they will stick together in all circumtances, fairness and reasonableness of their decisions are secondary, and any Malay who does not agree with them would be called a traitor.

46. #46 by ProMalaysiaNotBN on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 10:45 am

Dr Azly, at last a true blue Malaysia. But alas how few of you are there to make the effort heard and acted on more. The majority of the privileged bumis unfortunately are too coy in their comfort zone of being fed that people like Dr Azly becomes a threat to their survival. Yes, this very survival which has been kept healthy by the politicians and UMNO by their constant and relentless spoon feeding to keep the un-aspiring bumis satisfied so that the people in power can remain in power to continue with their economic plunder of the country. There is very little hope for the future of the non-bumis and I do not say this carelessly.

Look at the recent turn of events that make it impossible to work even as professional consultants when projects less than RM30 millions must be doled out to bumi consultants. Are these bumi professionals so lacking in skills and/or expertise to practise in an even playing field to need such affirmative actions to? I shudder to think how many failures will result from their “professional” capability with such “easy” handouts – again. All that is required in times of failures is another bailout and another bailout. Not only are the bumis being pampered to the ridiculous, but, more alarmingly, they have become utterly incompetent to even know what fish is given to them on a platter.

So, Dr Azly, even as I applaud your very heartening write-up, I yearn to be woken from this day dreaming. The country will never do away with what you propose until there is nothing more to plunder from its resources. And when that time comes, the non-bumis will be blamed – again. Such is the blindness of the bumis. And with the people in power making sure they remain blind by giving them affirmative privileges of one kind or another when earlier actions become routine. And with a kingdom of the blind, the cyclop remains and reigns supreme – forever. Thank you, Dr Azly, but no more such soothing balm – it remains in Never Neverland for the non-bumis for as long as Malaysia does not aspire to be truly Malaysian in thoughts, actions and dreams.

47. #47 by badak on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 4:12 pm

With all the benefit the Malays are getting , I wonder why there is PAS and PKR ,which are Malay base party. How i wish i was a Malay. Life can be so easy

48. #48 by ProMalaysiaNotBN on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 12:24 pm

As an aside to what I wrote earlier, one BIG IMPORTANT and SIGNIFICANT issue which might be the catalyst to end the bum-nonbumi divide is to do away altogeter the labels of BUMI AND NON-BUMI. That would be a good start. If only, once and forever, we all can claim our rightful title of being MALAYSIAN, perhaps the cyclop can then be vanquished and the blind will be more visionary. Ah, the daily pursuit of DAY DREAMS. They are a regular pastimes for many, I’m sure ……..sigh.

49. #49 by hanuman on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 3:14 pm

To side track …

I would like to bring attention to the readers of this blog, a section of “Raja Petra perlu di tahan bawah ISA” article by Khairy Norhisham on Monday, 27 August 2007 in an Umno website.

“Jika kita amati dengan teliti, kita dapat merasakan ada pihak yang sedang cuba membakar api perkauman dan ada pihak yang cuba melagakan bangsa Melayu dan bangsa-bangsa asing kerana tidak senang dengan keamanan dan keharmonian masyarakat majmuk di Malaysia.”

… “melagakan bangsa Melayu dan bangsa-bangsa asing”, Khairy Norhisham is referring non-Malays as ALIENS OR FOREIGNERS !!!! Chinese, Indians and other minorities are non-Malaysian !!! Suddenly we the non-Malays are non-Malaysian just before 50th Merdeka celebrate.

YB Lim Kit Siang, please comments on.

50. #50 by hanuman on Saturday, 1 September 2007 - 3:17 pm

Sorry, for the UMNO website link.
    Here it is :

http://www.kpmu.net/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=587

51. #51 by ktteokt on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 9:29 am

After 50 years of independence, how many of the “original migrants” from China and India are still around in Malaysia? Most of the descendents of these people have been here for half a century, in a land they cannot call “home”. This is a disgrace. The government has set up so many “smoke screens” to blind the people of their true actions. The Kementerian Perpaduan Negara to foster “muhibbah” was set up immediately after the May 13 incident and this is followed by the Rukunegara. All these were purported to give the non-bumis a sense of “security” that the government will “behave” themselves.

But, since 1969, has the government ever taken steps towards what they have formulated? Today, i doubt many of the ministers and senior government official can remember a single word of the “Rukunegara”. What has happened to this great “document” which was made so “holy” those days that each and every student in schools had to recite it holding up their right hand under the hot sun during assembly? Everyone practically swore to the document and if the contents of it is in no way true or becoming true, then wouldn’t that amount to blasphemy?

This has been the way the BN has been acting to cover up for all the “boo-boos” they have committed, recommending “instant antidotes” to cover their shameful acts. Ask any government official, or better still our Menteri Perpaduan what the wordings in the Rukunegara “membina masyarakat yang adil” mean and how much has the government done to achieve this objective? How can it be ADIL if the “bumiputera special rights” remain? This is a mockery to the Rukunegara and the Constitution and in this respect, the Rukunegara would only be fit to be used as “toilet paper” or be thrown into the garbage bin.

52. #52 by mickey01 on Monday, 3 September 2007 - 8:25 am

The bumis will continue to use threat like may 13, waving the bloody keris & to use it if possible to kill/wipe off human race if necessary. Who r the bumis- sons of the soil for burial or survival or for developments and unity of all humans?

53. #53 by ktteokt on Monday, 3 September 2007 - 9:23 am

Boh-liao, forget about the Rukunegara! I have been drumming this all along. They write for the sake of writing only and they legislate because they have to legislate. Do they ever follow or at least take a good look at what they have written or legislated? The Rukunegara is but a messy, tattered piece of paper meant only for use in one place, the toilet to wipe our asses! It stinks! Nobody ever took an interest in its contents, not even the formulators themselves! Inilah MALAYSIA BOLEH!

54. #54 by ConfusedJapGal on Monday, 3 September 2007 - 10:43 pm

Let me get this clear, Chinese in Malaysia came from China, Indians from India, Portugese from Portugal, the Malays??? Where were they from? I understand that the real natives of the land are the Ibans, Kadazans, etc…. So how did they get to ‘belong’ to the land and the others who were also born in the country don’t. Just a curious japanese girl from Japan.

55. #55 by kerishamuddinitis on Thursday, 25 October 2007 - 1:08 am

After 50 years of independence, we are still faced with the keris-waving antics of no less a person than the Minister of Education stirring up the emotions with symbolism that could well be read as ‘fight for privileged supremacy’ as much as ‘ready and willing to spill blood at the slightest provocation.’ After 50 years of indepence, as a 3rd generation ‘tanah air’-born Malaysian with children who have been taught to love this country of their birth and to be proud of being Malaysians, we have senior UMNO politicians deriding non-Malays and telling us to leave if we do not knuckle under the heavy yoke of UMNO-Malay dominated race politics. How can I as a parent tell my children to have their children invest their lives in this country for the next 50 years when at every possible occasion that suits the UMNO politicians’ whims and fancies, my children and their children have to stare at the sharp end of a keris and swallow being ‘chased out’ of their country of birth? Why must we face the threat of a keris within our own country and is this not be even worse than facing the sharp end of a sword wielded by a potential invader? Will it ever happen that the keris will indeed be used someday and how does this does this compare with losing our lives if we are called upon to defend our country against invaders? It would seem that we must be prepared to lose our lives to defend our country and lose our lives if we want to live as true equals. If this is happening with non-Malays making up 40% of the population, what could possibly be the scenario when the non-Malay population declines to no more than 20% by 2050, a mere 43 years away? If our educated politicians and intelligentsia have not been able to steer the rakyat away from such divisive race politics, is there a chance that we will succeed over the next 50 years? It appears that we are no better than when the Alliance forged nationhood against a common foe and foreign masters. Now, 50 years later, we are still trying to forge ‘nationhood’; only, the common foe is no longer around and yet we still do not really know nor are willing to begin to truly discover and embrace what being Malaysian is. Today, it is words that are used to chase non-Malays out. In 2050, will words be replaced by the keris?