MCA policy statement on “social contract” blacked out by MCA newspaper The Star

This is most extraordinary and unthinkable — MCA newspaper The Star “blacking out” the MCA policy statement on the “social contract”!

The Chinese newspapers gave front-page headline treatment to the policy statement issued yesterday by the MCA Presidential Council following the shock declaration of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that Malaysia was an Islamic state and not a secular state.

Strangely enough, the policy statement was reported by the Sun but it is also conspicuously omitted in the New Straits Times and the Malay newspapers.

Releasing the MCA Presidential Council statement, MCA President Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting said the Federal Constitution should be the reference to resolve controversies or confusion over the social contract.

The statement said that what had been agreed by the forefathers 50 years ago, especially the principles and the spirit in governing the country, must be preserved.
These principles and spirit were enshrined in the Constitution.
Two questions are in order:

Firstly, why the two-faced treatment of the MCA Presidential Council policy statement on the “social contract” by the MCA — having it published prominently in the Chinese media but blacked out in its own English-language newspaper, the Star and the New Straits Times as well as the Malay newspapers.

Secondly, why had the MCA Presidential Council betrayed the fundamental principles espoused by the early generation of the MCA founder-leaders like Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Tun Tan Siew Sin who had declared unequivocally both inside and outside Parliament 50 years ago that this nation was conceived as a secular state with Islam as the official religion and not an Islamic state.

In limiting its “social contract” understanding and commitment to what is in the Malaysian Constitution, the present MCA leaders have created the conditions to justify their support for the abandonment of the foundation nation-building cornerstone of Malaysia as a secular state with Islam as the official religion but not an Islamic state.
This is to enable the present MCA leadership to support the distortion and misinterpretation of the Merdeka “social contract” of Malaysia as never having been an secular state and had always been an Islamic state.

The Malaysian Constitution is both silent on a secular state and an Islamic state. However, all constitutional documents leading up to the 1957 Merdeka Constitution and the 1964 Malaysia Agreement and the highest judicial pronouncements of the land spelt out clearly that Malaysia was conceived as a secular state with Islam as the official religion and not an Islamic state.

Now, through sheer political hegemony and against the public stands of the first three Prime Ministers of Malaysia, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Razak and Tun Hussein, the “social contract” and Merdeka Constitution is being misinterpreted to jettison the fundamental nation-building principle of a secular Malaysia and to substitute instead an Islamic Malaysia.

The MCA Presidential Council policy statement yesterday has only one objective — to perpetuate the myth that MCA remains steadfast and fully committed to defend and uphold the Merdeka social contract when in fact it had already abandoned the fundamental principle that Malaysia was conceived as a secular state and was never meant to be an Islamic state.

How could Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Tun Tan Siew Sin rest in peace at such betrayal of principles by the present crop of MCA leaders?

1. #1 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:04 pm

MCA – is only a puppy. no it is a bitch.

mca has lost all integrity and moral to lead the chinese at all.

the rot in mca , is not pertaining to the current issues.
    as a matter of fact ,mca lost all that years back ,even during ling liong sik’s time and to an extend tan koon swan’s.

ling liong sik was busy enriching himself, and i remember once upon a time, his son was so damn good to be a billionaire at an age that makes kj pale. damn it was , that saw the fall of the mr. soh ( a high profile , rich fugutive ) that came back to malaysia as a vvip.

the chinese have been hoodwinked by mca, all through these fifty years. the alliance had the “DACING’ As a symbol of equality and fairness, but the dacing has become a CACING. worms and more worms are being open to the pandora box.

so, it is no surprise, that mca has been a double headed snake, running dog . and to enrich themselves. have any of the mca ministers took responsiblity for any of the issues affecting the chinese . i dont find any.
    now, they are not fearing the lost of the chinese votes, they are fearing they have no job after the election.

2. #2 by KL Dude on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:27 pm

MCA can’t do anything or not they’ll be accused by UMNO for not being in line with the Barisan manifesto… that’s how they would be threatened by UMNO.

So the best is to keep quiet and just ‘kow-tow’ or not any future project or contract will not be ‘shared’ to them by UMNO.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:48 pm

The real issue is corruption! Islamic state is a smokescreen.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:50 pm

Let’s be Islamic state and see what happened next.

5. #5 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 6:55 pm

DAP should challenge UMNO to make Malaysia as an Islamic State.

6. #6 by chai on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 7:11 pm

MCA is a weakest party in the world!! everyone also know that MCA work with BN is only for their ‘pocket’, now PM also said m’sia is already a islamic state but MCA still not dare to say loudly to all m’sian that m’sia is not an islamic state, hey! MCA! how u going to represent chinese party in m’sia?

MCA!!! i dont know what ur scared for? hope MCA will act like a gentleman…..not like a dog!

7. #7 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 7:19 pm

Why are you guys worry? When it is Islamic State it is time to run away, if you can’t run then fight but then, fight for what you want and get it! Tell UMNO go ahead and do Islamic State, we are ready for it now!

8. #8 by Godfather on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 7:40 pm

These people are so backward. First they try to doctor the speech at their General Assembly, now they try to doctor their policy statement.

A bunch of bumbling clowns. OKT sinmply doesn’t have the brainpower nor the b@lls to deal with the UMNOputras.

9. #9 by Educator on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 8:36 pm

MCA is absolutely irrelevant; it has been irrelevant since 1969.

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 9:10 pm

You wonder why The Star dare black out its major shareholders’ policy statement?

Why, the MCA is simply a joke now, no power, no one respect it anymore. Not even its members or its own newspaper organ.

If MCA thinks it is the “boss”, The Star is telling it “bossini”.

Boy, that’s a big telling off. Will heads roll?

So, there you have it. Things are falling apart.

Did Pak Lah consult the other BN component members before he made his “Islamic State” statement? Was there “behind closed door discussion” as per the spirit of “power-sharing”? Or are the other parties not relevant anymore and are now caught by surprise?

This, as we celebrate 50 years of Independence. One colonialist replaced by another oppressor?

Are you feeling good?

11. #11 by k1980 on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 9:17 pm

Not one colonialist replaced by another oppressor? Only one Tuan replaced by another Boss

12. #12 by ihavesomethingtosay on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 9:51 pm

MCAians got no balls

13. #13 by raven77 on Wednesday, 29 August 2007 - 10:07 pm

Yep a question of balls………….now Kong Choy has put MC and gone to hiding…….what a disgrace……..but really surprised Chinese still vote for them…..

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 12:25 am

“How could Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Tun Tan Siew Sin rest in peace at such betrayal of principles by the present crop of MCA leaders?”

Tunku and Siew Sin have turned in their graves too many times and have in fact walked out of their graves in disgust.

15. #15 by badak on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:01 am

MCA better keep your mouth shut ,IF you don,t All you big wits in MCA will be charge in court for corruption, We in UMNO don,t need prove to charge you ,The police ,ACA and the courts are behind us 100 % .

P.S …Want to know a secret during the next general election , Internet will be down, so no way you bloggers can get your message to the people.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 1:47 am

“The Malaysian Constitution is both silent on a secular state and an Islamic state. ” Kit

The Federal Constitution of 1957 rather than outline a secular state has used circular language that has sent Malaysians going in circles.

17. #17 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:26 am

well, since chinese are not welcome in bodohland anymore, shouldnt we just leave and take with us the 70% that we contribute to the gov’s tax collection? then let them feed the 60% malay population with their less than 30% tax contribution.
    that will make them more islam since it is not earned from haram $$ from the chinese. they can also stamp out tabacco and alcohol. then they can start changing back to the use of gold coins instead of currency.
    lets see how far they are willing to go to islamify bodohland.
    but then i guess they wont b able to go tt far since bodohland will fall apart once all e chinese leaves. wat u expect fr a country of robbers and rapists run by mat rempits.

18. #18 by sotong on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 7:55 am

BN component parties had betrayed their respective races to enrich themselves at the great expense of the country and her ordinary.

They lost the plot long ago and now taking and exploiting whatever they could while in power.

19. #19 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 8:09 am

exploitation , is done by willing predators and by the majority willing to be exploited.

in ijok by election – sewing machines and retar of roads. bn won.

in machap- relocate telco towers and goodies. bn won.

it always is good to have a by election ,to have goodies.

but again and again, mankind sell their souls for pittance.

20. #20 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 8:10 am

MCA is deluding itself if it think they have a clear solution of is happening with this Islamic state issue.

Badawi think a modern Islamic religo-state is possible, he does not have the courage to think its not and confuses it with his idealism, even excusing himself for not having that courage.

21. #21 by Godfather on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 8:28 am

Badawi and Najib are now saying that we should be more positive and not harp on divisive issues. The warning is not meant just for the Opposition. It is also meant for all the BN component parties who think they could say one thing for their constituents and then report a different thing in the mainstream press.

All you UMNOputras out there – When you steal from the rakyat, you expect us to be silent ? When you pillage, you expect us to look the other way? When you put our personal security at risk, you expect us to applaud you ?

22. #22 by megaman on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:25 am

*shake head*

btw .. Uncle Kit …
    did u heard abt the latest case of Msian police bashing up an Indonesian Karate official that caused a diplomatic furore ?

Please blog on this as well … Msian police have gone too far …

23. #23 by sotong on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:43 am

A weak leadership and administration system encourge people to think day and night to screw the system to enrich themselves.

24. #24 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:04 am

MCA is not even a bitch or a lapdog. It’s like the ‘ciak sai hu’ one catches in the sea next to Penang’s Esplanade. MCA is a scavenger relying on crumbs and excreta of its political master.

MCA pretends to talk big in one language and shrinks in another language.

Its leaders must know how to tipu one group and ampu another group to ensure that they receive a pat on their heads from Umnoputras and later be recommended for some Ali-Baba contracts or titles like Dato and Tun.

25. #25 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:12 am

chan kong choi have NO CONFIDENCE in our Malaysia Healthcare Providers, that he has to take two weeks off for medical check up.

true or false ? i dunno no.

BUT , WE IN MALAYSIA PROMOTE HEALTH TOURISM.

true or false ? true.

ironical. how all the minsters always go abroad for treatment when under pressure and pleasure.

fidah – goes to australia when ap fury lashed.
    ckc – goes oversea when pkftzone scandal erupts.

non resigns.

HAPPY MERDEKA. FOR ALL PEACE LOVING MALAYSIANS.
    AND ALL WHO LOVE MALAYSIA.

26. #26 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:16 am

BOH – LIAO.

what is ” chiak sai hu “. is that mudskipper?
    ugly looking, cicak with big protruding eyes?

only found in penang ?

27. #27 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:41 am

Umno Bear and MCA Rabbit were talking.

Umno Bear asked MCA Rabbit, “Do you have trouble with poop sticking to your fur?”

MCA Rabbit said, “No.”

So Umno Bear picked up MCA Rabbit and used it to wipe his poopy butt for the zillionth time in a row.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:51 am

‘ciak sai hu’ = eat shit/poop/crap fish (not mudskipper), always hanging around the part of ocean with raw sewage discharge; a beneficial creature too as it cleans up our environment; I suppose you can fish it elsewhere too, not only in Penang

29. #29 by sotong on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 11:43 am

” chiak sai hu ” sounds like a shit eating fish of all kinds……MCA could not have decended to this shameful and degrading level???

30. #30 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 3:01 pm

MCA (also Gerakan, MIC ect ) will close shop and disband on its own if 50% of its candidates are defeated in the coming general elections. For proof, take a look at Pandithan’s Indian Progessive Party which died a natural death after its dismay showing in the polls

31. #31 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 3:35 pm

Mana Malaysia Boleh? Even Ah Choy Boy is avoiding the local hospitals and instead is going overseas for his medical check-up!

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy is taking two weeks leave because of health reasons. His press secretary Ng Kok Wai said in a statement today Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had approved Chan’s medical leave.

“Chan’s leave will take immediate effect as he needs to go abroad to seek further medical check-up and consultation,” Ng said.

32. #32 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 5:15 pm

TO DIGRESS AL LITTLE.

hats off to yb karpal singh, that you move around in your wheel chair and still perform your duties as an officer of the court and also wakil raayat.

never , did i read about you wanting to go abroad for treatment.

rafidah has to fly off to austrialia for some kaki sakit when the ap arrows her.

kong choy, suddenly takes 2 weeks mc for overseas health check. maybe two weeks not enough. malaysia not up to standard for kong choy???

fong chan , our labour slave minister. i thought parliament passed bill to cap mc for medical check is unpaid leave > ????

is kong choy on paid leave. ???

33. #33 by Cinapek on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 9:42 pm

The MCA eunuchs are trying desperately to do damage control with the release of the Presidential Council statement. Not one of the MCA leaders has the balls to disgaree with Pak lah personally like what Bernard Dompok did and instead hide behind a collective “presidential council statement” – which by itself is another statement of capitulation and appeasement to UMNO’s unilateral declaration of an Islamic state.

This lack of balls in MCA has not gone unnoticed in UMNO. They know they can ride roughshod over this bunch of weaklings. That is why we are seeing an increasing wave of extremist statements from UMNO on race and religion because they know they can push harder because MCA’s eunuchs won’t dare to fight back.

34. #34 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Thursday, 30 August 2007 - 10:16 pm

UMNO = Untukmu Masuk Neraka Organisation

35. #35 by ihavesomethingtosay on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 12:15 am

Malaysian Chicken Association trully lives up to its name…..

we have :

Chicken kung Choy
    Chicken soil lek
    Chicken ka ding
    Chicken ka chuan
    Chicken chee mee.

all chicken droppings.

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 9:21 am

The DAP makes what the MCA is today! UMNO would be without its Chinese partner without the MCA.The Chinese community cannot blame the MCA. They only have themselves to blame for being divided.

It is not a question of MCA leaders having “no balls” as some choose to characterize it, but who plays ball better.

37. #37 by AhPek on Friday, 31 August 2007 - 2:47 pm

A complete disgraceful response by MCA to Sleepy Head’s declaration that Malaysia is an islamic state and not a secular state.But what do you expect when the party is led by such a weakling who only knows how to lick.What’s more, even such a weak response has to be delivered by a Presidential Council, meaning he has no guts to come out up front as the HEAD to defend Chinese interest and state categorically that what the PM states is in complete contravention to the spirit of merdeka at the time of formation but instead, finds it safer to hide behind Presidential Council.How not to go unnoticed by UMNOPUTRAS,OKT!! Anytime an UMNOPUTRA feels like it OKT, he will find no hesitation to climb over your head and shit on it.This I think sums up the state of the party MCA and if you people out there still think MCA defends your right go vote for it this GE for at the end of the day you deserve what you get.And stop whinning after that!

38. #38 by DrL on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 1:52 pm

MCA should be held responsible for the rise of Malay superiorism in Malaysia! Without their blind and unguarded support as the 2nd biggest party in BN since Medeka…would the UMNO Young Leader raises the Kris openly to bath Chinese blood and continue to abuse and supress the non-Bumi when our fellow Malaysian seeking equal opportunity, constitutional rights and social justice?

39. #39 by ktteokt on Sunday, 2 September 2007 - 11:41 pm

I think government officials especially the ministers do not own any dictionaries. If they had one, they should certainly look up the meaning of “ADIL” as proclaimed by the RUKUNEGARA to see what it means and compare with their deeds in the last couple of decades.

40. #40 by ktteokt on Monday, 3 September 2007 - 9:38 am

Racial-based BN component parties like UMNO, MCA and MIC purport to “protect” the rights of the respective races but are the top people in these parties doing what they should do? They are only interested in filling up their own pockets at the expense of their own race.

MCA which purports to represent the Chinese was too busy with its “non-political” activities, setting up KSM, Multi-purpose, Kojadi, TAR College, taking over Nanyang, organizing karaoke contests, stressing on perpetual learning, etc. I believe all these are never agendas in the Constitution of MCA when Tun Tan Cheng Lock set up MCA! Such efforts taken by him have now been totally destroyed by these group of “good for nothings” who spent their time and effort in non-political issues.

And each time they were given “sweets” by BN, they would stand out and claim credit from the Chinese community by saying “The MCA fought for this and fought for that”. Why must the Chinese alone fight for this and fight for that when Bumis are “given” what they want even though they do not deserve it? By claiming so, MCA has lowered the Chinese to become “Class #2” citizens automatically.

Then look at MIC under the leadership of Samy Vellu. He only knows how to grab money for his own pockets and does nothing. When problems crop up, he will just say, “This is none of my business!”. Such was his answer when problems crop up with the flyover in Kepong and the Ampang highway, when the Parliament House leaked despite a RM90 million renovation, when the canteen in the new Courts Complex in KL became a “fish pond” and when the ceiling of the Syariah Court collapsed.

These are simply irresponsible acts by these so-called “community leaders” in Malaysia.

41. #41 by helpless on Monday, 17 September 2007 - 3:52 pm

If and only if MCA member revisit the policy.

– How can MCA self proclaim representing ” Chinese ” when the mouth is seal off ?

– How can MCA promote fair prosperous for Malaysian when NEP is extend continuously with indefinite date-line?

– How can MCA voice up when it is coliation of corrupted BN as highlighted by PAC?

MCA is only a mediator to please BN rather than representation.