Demonisation of Wee Meng Chee dampening national mood for 50th Merdeka anniversary

The extreme over-reaction and concentrated attacks by UMNO Ministers and leaders against Wee Meng Chee for the “Negarakuku” rap video-clip should immediately end before further dampening and damaging the national mood for 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations.

There were many among Chinese-speaking Malaysians, including youths, who did not agree with some of his rough language and irreverent expressions when they saw Meng Chee’s rap for the first time, although his articulation of the ordinary rakyat’s dissatisfactions and frustrations at police corruption, civil service bureaucracy, discrimination against Chinese education and insensitivity of the authorities struck a deep chord and found great resonance.

However, when Meng Chee became the target of a systematic attack of Umno and media demonisation, with one UMNO Minister after another including the Education Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister jumping on the bandwagon to paint as an ogre and “traitor” as if he single-handedly threatens the very fabric, stability and integrity of plural Malaysia, there is full rally of support for Meng Chee for nobody buys the canard that Meng Chee was unpatriotic, disloyal, anti-national, anti-Islam, anti-Malay or was attempting to be seditious to incite hatred and ill-will between the races or religions.

I just did a search on youtube where the Negarakuku rap had been put up by dozens of various people although Meng Chee had removed it on his website. There had been over 1.2 million access on the youtube, with the top two sites registering 768,231 and 164,849 visits respectively.

Is anybody suggesting that the overwhelming majority of the Malaysian visitors of youtube for the Negarakuku rap are unpatriotic and seditious in wanting to incite inter-racial and inter-religious ill-will and hatred in our country?
If so, then there is nothing to celebrate the 50th Merdeka anniversary as the nation would have failed dismally in the five decades of nation-building.

In fact, Meng Chee’s rap was his expression of his patriotism and love for the country, to make it a better country for all Malaysians.

Meng Chee may be faulted for his rough language or irreverent expressions but these cannot be equated with being unpatriotic, disloyal or seditious.

If Meng Chee is alleged to have shown disrespect to the National Anthem, why are UMNO Ministers and leaders talking about prosecution under the Sedition Act, the Internal Security Act or even stripping Meng Chee of his citizenship when the National Anthem Act provides for a RM100 fine or one month’s jail sentence for the offence of disrespect to the national anthem?

But was there disrespect to the national anthem and the national flag? Was Meng Chee disrespectful of the national flag when he wrapped himself with it? If so, why was the late Malaysian star Sudirman honoured for wearing the Jalur Gemilang as a stage costume in a concert as a mark of his patriotism?

Why should there be double-standards in the expression of patriotism through the use of the national flag?

The extreme over-reaction and demonisation of Meng Chee is most deplorable, including demands for the stripping of Meng Chee’s citizenship and the cancellation of his passport.

Extremist demands for the stripping of a person’s Malaysian citizenship had not been heard for the past four decades because it was one of the four sensitive issues entrenched in the constitutional amendment in 1970 and which could not be questioned — viz, Malay Rulers, Article 152 on National Language and other languages, Article 153 on special provision for Malays and citizenship rights.

Will the Police arrest and the Attorney-General prosecute all those who have called for the stripping of citizenship of Meng Chee under the Sedition Act, whether they are Umno leaders in government or otherwise?

Meng Chee is in good and patriotic company when he gave voice to the people’s frustrations on corruption and bureaucracy. The Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah was reported in the Star today as calling for immediate action to check corruption, bureaucratic red tape, race problems, religious intolerance, the brain drain and crime.

Yesterday, the former Inspector-General of Police Tun Hanif Omar wrote about corruption and the rot in the police, the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and the Attorney-General’s Chambers in his Sunday Star column entitled “The Fence That Eats The Rice”.

These were also the subjects of the Raja Muda of Perak, Raja Nazrain, in his recent speeches.

Meng Chee should be commended for speaking out against such social injustices and national ills at such a young age instead of being pilloried, demonized and threatened.

Meng Chee should rub off the rough language and irreverent expressions and develop greater sensitivity but clearly he is no traitor and the cause of Malaysian nation-building is not served with the continuation of the orchestrated demonisation and persecution of Meng Chee by Umno Ministers and leaders.

1. #1 by achia3 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:02 pm

The national anthem of Malaysia has never resonated in my head for this long. Every time I sing it, it evaporates almost immediately from my mind. However, Mr. Wee has brought life to our Negaraku. A mixture of Chinese and Malay in any form of music is sure hard to find. Not even Mr. UMNO can sing a single tune in both languages combined. UMNO can never handled the truth that their thoughts are backward and unpatriotic. If there is anything wrong with Wee’s lyrics, it is of UMNO’s doing. There will not be so much hit on Youtube, if there is no truth in those words he sang.

2. #2 by cipha on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:14 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

Just want to point out a little typo on the third paragraph from the bottom.

“These were also the subjects of the Raja Mud of Perak, Raja Nazrain, in his recent speeches.”

Should read “Raja Muda”.

Your avid reader from Penang.

[Corrected. Many thanks. Having eye-sight problems. May have to cut down blogging. Please point out any errors. – kit]

3. #3 by cg on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:23 pm

I started to take concern again in Malaysia’s politics and government which I had lost confidence on long time ago because of his songs who sang out the truth. I admire him, bravo!

Then, once again, I’m disappointed seeing how the government and miniters handling his case.

I trusted that he’s patriotic, therefore he said it out so that improvements can be made. Like what he said in another clips. Translates into English means: The deeper your love is, the deeper you will admonish/reproach/criticize. ( I asked for forgiveness if I didn’t translate it quite properly)

4. #4 by csh9009 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:23 pm

I must say the Negarakuku boy is a very promising witty courageous and patriotic young man.His lyric reflects the true situation of our country and has the support of a lot of fairminded Malaysians.Umno and government leaders should really take hint of the feed back and do something possitive before the country goes down the drain!God save Malaysia!

5. #5 by cg on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:26 pm

As for using the National Anthem, the internet world is now discussing whether the national anthem is copying an American song namely Mamula Moon? Or I heard also it was same as an Indonesian Love song’s tune. Anyone can enlighten me the truth for this?

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:32 pm

Patriotism is a love of and loyalty to one’s country. A patriot is someone who loves, supports, and is prepared to serve their country.

Is expressing derision and fighting the things that divide the nation and undermine its interest and welfare such as “police corruption, civil service bureaucracy, discrimination against Chinese education and insensitivity of the authorities” unpatriotic?

It should be measured by substance and not form of the expression. In fact it is more than flags and anthems.

Is outward waving the flag and signing the anthem but doing divisive things such as intimidating fellow citizens (young ones some more) with withdrawal of citizenship and prosecution under sedition act, condoning or conniving with corruption or abuse of power very patriotic?

Use common sense, which expression ultimately serves the interest of the country more?

Doesn’t require rocket scientist to figure this one out!

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:34 pm

Correction : “singing” the anthem

8. #8 by pwcheng on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:42 pm

Whenever there are problems and Islam is the cause of it, UMNO is always fast at telling others to find the root cause of it. Can they now please find out the root cause why the Malaysians, especially the Malaysian Chinese are so frustrated with the Government (which is virtually run by UMNO)?

Blowing up the WTC and killing thousands of innocent people, they are more bent on finding the root cause than prosecuting the killers, but now singing the national anthem to deliver the frustration of the people, they want to prosecute the singer rather than finding the root cause.

Negara kuku is nothing as compared to a government that is making us all going cuckoo. We are patriotic, loyal to the country, the Sultans and Agung, but we do not have to be loyal to UMNO who are nothing more than a bunch of thieves and crooks, ever corrupted and crooked.

9. #9 by k1980 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:12 pm

Is it “Negaraku” or “Negaramu”?
    The new Rukunegara: “All muslims are poor; all non-muslims are rich”
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/71079
    There was a reason for this crowd to be in Putrajaya on a wet Sunday. They wanted to tell Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi that they should not be further marginalised as Malaysians….

10. #10 by smeagroo on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:16 pm

go tell those PATRIOTIC ministers to approve the bail-out for PKFZ la. To show their OH SO RIGHTEOUS PATRIOTISM only costs us rakyat RM4.6bil.

ANd after that they can free those fellas that are involved in this mega scandal to show what great leaders we have. A leader who is OH SO MERCIFUL.

Yes, pls free these fellas on the 31st AUG as a birthday present to us all!!

11. #11 by Libra2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:18 pm

Who are destroying the country? Who are the traitors? They are in UMNO – those who rape and plunder the nation? These are the real traitors.

12. #12 by sotong on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:40 pm

It is disturbing to see a major political party and their senior Ministers targeting an individual with threats – probably to put fear in others.

This is a clear sign of gross insecurity…..this is most disgraceful!

13. #13 by non-conformist on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:42 pm

“The most tyrannical of governments are those which make crimes of opinions, for everyone has an inalienable right to his thoughts.” —Baruch Spinoza

Does Buruk Negara administration come close to being a most tyrannical government? It looks like it is public enemy NUMBER ONE.

“Liberty has never come from the government. Liberty has always come from the subjects of government. The history of liberty is the history of resistance. The history of liberty is a history of the limitation of governmental power, not the increase of it.” —Woodrow Wilson

“Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect every one who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are inevitably ruined.” —Patrick Henry

“Is life so dear or peace so sweet as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!” —Patrick Henry

“The true danger is when liberty is nibbled away, for expedients, and by parts.” —Edmund Burke

“Everyone is in favor of free speech. Hardly a day passes without its being extolled, but some people’s idea of it is that they are free to say what they like, but if anyone says anything back, that is an outrage.” –Winston Churchill

Men like Wee Meng Chee is to be commended for expressing his opinions, and in a dramatic manner.

14. #14 by madmix on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:50 pm

When someone in UMNO robs the country of billions by selling his land at port klang at mega uber inflated prices, no one gives a damn. When a young lad raps a song, listen to all that noise they are making.

15. #15 by sybreon on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:55 pm

If the government truly wanted this issue resolved, they would’ve let it be and he and the song would’ve just been “another YouTube video”. But now, they’ve ensured that he has got celebrity status. Hopefully, he’ll figure out a way to profit from all this unwanted publicity.

Personally, although I find that his language can be coarse at times (it’s rap!), the message certainly isn’t seditious. One must wonder why this fiasco is being manufactured. Maybe it’ll allow some person to come in as a “hero” and save the day. I’m not quite sure who it benefits.

I’m reminded of a quote from The Godfather:

“When they come, they’ll come at what you love.” — Michael to Vincent Corleone

16. #16 by Toyol on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:55 pm

True patriots want to bring about justice and peace in the country whilst the unpatriotic are only interested in plundering and raping what they cannot get through hard work. The STAR reported that the LCCT terminal will be retired, barely in operation for 2 years at a reported costs of RM20 million. A new terminal at a cost of RM1.5 billion will be built! Are these patriotic acts ar acts of rape and plunder.

Meng Chee was only echoing the sentiments of most Malaysians who are too afraid to voice their thoughts. He deserves a medal for his act of putting his thots into action. He is in fact a true patriot.

17. #17 by Programmer on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:57 pm

OMG Umno labelled his as a traitor, racist and etc …you all better think again… remember that minister wawed a keris at their Umno meeting that shown live on TV3 and shout like a madmen saying … “Remember May 13”.
    In that meeting their members oso said
    “You all will bathe in blood”
    visit this site and you will see picture who is that stupid guy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ketuanan_melayu

18. #18 by Godfather on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:03 pm

Patriotism is not about flying the national flag. Patriotism is about voicing out the injustice heaped upon the people. It is about highlighting the cases of theft of public money.

I for one will not be flying the national flag this August. I have sufficient respect for the flag and for the Agong to know the difference between a shambolic exercise and a noble exercise.

19. #19 by sotong on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:07 pm

Too much pride and arrogance……very little leadership with responsibility, accoutability and competency.

20. #20 by smeagroo on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:22 pm

And in today’s Star, PKFZ even had an advertisement in the Marine page. What a joke!

Also not forgetting MCA sticking flags on cars that passed by toll booths. I hvnt met any of them yet. If they dare to “defaced” my car I will gv them the salute minus 4 fingers.

Gv me the flag by all means but dont mess with my car. My car is only to put up Malaysia-today.net stickers.

21. #21 by sheriff singh on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:26 pm

“……..his articulation of the ordinary rakyat’s dissatisfactions and frustrations at police corruption, civil service bureaucracy, discrimination against Chinese education and insensitivity of the authorities struck a deep chord and found great resonance.”

You said it man. How true and on the dot as the ordinary man only knows too well.

Meng Chee was brave enough to tell it as it is, compared to the ordinary man. I think he spoke from his heart. Maybe the language was a bit rough but hey, its a rap. Maybe some bits were not well tanslated but nevertheless his message was clear and many (more than 1.2 million people you say) could empathise with him and “resonate” with him.

The only people who cannot “resonate” are those bigoted, narrow-minded, perhaps even blind politicians who, as usual, belong to the “extremely sensitive” group who see every criticism or remark as an affront and insult but cannot debate or rebut issues effectively. They would however, be at the forefront shouting “racist, racist, racist”, “sedition” and the like and calling for the withdrawal of his scholarship (if any) and of his citizenship, the for the canceling of his passport, and they stand ready to draw out their kerises etc etc. Such people can’t handle the truth and acknowledge the realities but like spoilt children, will only find other ways to hit back in place of their inabilities to give proper “replies”. Such is the quality of our politicians.

22. #22 by requiem87 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:30 pm

I listen to that song over and over again….i love and appreciate our national anthem more and more after i listen to it ~! Namewee is one true patriotic Malaysian who dares to voice out the problems and hardships and most importantly the reality in our society ~! The government should learn from the lyrics what is wrong…not straight brand a patriotic Malaysian a traitor ~! People wouldnt simply sing like that if there is nothing wrong ~! Its time for the government to wake up and to reflect on that song ~!

23. #23 by Libra2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:36 pm

smeagroo,
    I am afraid they will demonize you like they did to wee for refusing to fly the flag.

24. #24 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:46 pm

gee, even the national anthem was pirated – ripped off wholesale from the song Mamula Moon, sang by Felix Mendelssohn and his Hawaiian Serenaders.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negaraku

25. #25 by AhPek on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:49 pm

It appears that this government has arrogated themselves as the sole authority in the determination of the definition of patriotism and that is to say patriotism is doing exactly what the government wants or expects of you whereas voicing or articulating one’s objections is not.Therefore words like “unpatriotic’,”traitor” and at one time “ungrateful for what the government has done” are very much in vogue for these are tricks easily plucked out from their hats to gag anyone brave enough to expose them.
    Loving one’s coutry is loving one’s coutry.There is no other connations that can be attached to it although sometimes it could include loving one’s government as well whilst hating one’s own government does not mean hating one’s country at all.I love my country but I hate this government because they are a bunch of thieves plundering the wealth of my beloved country.

26. #26 by AhPek on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:57 pm

corrections—Loving one’s country is loving one’s country. There is no other connotations to be attached to it although sometimes it could include loving one’s government as well whilst hating one’s government does not mean hating one’s country at all.Far from it.

27. #27 by dennis on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:59 pm

[Corrected. Many thanks. Having eye-sight problems. May have to cut down blogging. Please point out any errors. – kit]

Dear Uncle Lim,

I do hope you won’t cut down blogging, maybe have some one type it for u :p
    I think most of us can tolerate with the typos, its your thought that counts here. You have all my respect being able to blog at your age.

On Wee’s issue, he is just telling the world the truth. In Malaysia, the only truth that can be in public is that “Malaysia is a perfect country, great economy, great leaders, great harmony between races, great police, great government ….
    oh, don’t forget that our Education Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister are great leaders as well …
    and don’t forget we have the best universities, best corridors, best education system, best leaking system… oops, erm, should be best building”

there, maybe i deserve a most patriotic award or some good word from these minister…

28. #28 by cg on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 5:23 pm

sheriff singh
    ..They would however, be at the forefront shouting “racist, racist, racist”, “sedition” and the like and calling for the withdrawal of his scholarship (if any) and of his citizenship…
    =========================================
    Everyone of us who studied in private school before or have some knowledge of private schools knew it so well that it’s better that we go daydreaming than hoping for any financial help from the government. Funny, they dare to say want to investigate whether he’s under gov scholarship/fundings.

29. #29 by Bobster on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 5:34 pm

50 yrs into Merdeka celebration and yet we have bunch of so-called national leaders acting like a juvenile no different from WMC. Good leaders should demonstrate certain degree of maturity, looking at things in a constructive matter, educate the young if they are wrong, be transparent and diffuse (rather than cover up or adding kerosene) any sensitive issue etc.

WMC’s song carry certain degree of truth that all Malaysians know especially concerning the police force. He shouldnt have made fun of the Muslims anyway. Believe Muslims in this country are mature and tolerance enough to laugh it out. WMC being a young adult still immature (insensitive). He should be more sensitive to others’ religion and he should apologize to all Muslims for the remark.

Just see how the nation leaders stir the shit out of the whole issue. Religion encourages patience and forgiveness to one another. However, when religion gets into politicians’ hands, things will turn nasty. Just hope PM can put a stop to his men else pity for the country. Pity for WMC family too as they are being harassed and threaten simply because of a song. How about those who squander of millions and billions from the country, are they considered more patriotic than WMC? Shouldn’t they be striped off their citizenship too?

Just read about the report in The Sun about reaction of our national leaders:-
    http://203.115.192.117/monday/mon_page2.html
    Ashamed, simply ashamed, the leaders are no different from the kid!

Pathetic, real pathetic, sad day for the country 50 yrs into independence …

30. #30 by shortie kiasu on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 6:42 pm

We think he is innovative and creative and artistic.

He may be sarcastic but not insulting. He just merely bring to life the fact in the society here. Unless anyone can dispute the truthfulness of what he put up, all he said is true to the bone.

He said them in nice way in a figuratively and metamorphorically version.

That needs a lot of creativity in arts.

31. #31 by eDee on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 7:11 pm

I was feeling sorry for Meng Chee when I read his blog entry dated yesterday (12-Aug-07), as he told the public that he himself & his family were being threatened!

I do hope also that they end this misunderstanding A.S.A.P., and they should have spend more time to fight those common crimes like robberies & rape cases, we really need to cut all those common crimes to attract more tourists within this Visit Malaysia Year 2007!

Peace on earth!

32. #32 by Bobster on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 7:48 pm

Our National Leaders getting so emotional intentionally or unintentionally only God knows.

When Leaders start stirring rakyat will follow.

Why can’t our National Leaders debate on critical issues that will affect the whole nation like corruption, globalisation, racial harmony etc.

In fact we should be looking forward in celebration of 50th National Day putting political differences aside as advised by the respectable Sultan of Selangor.

Unfortunately our National Leaders insist of stirring sentiment of the rakyat, causing more dissension among each other.

Sad day for the Nation.

No mood to celebrate 50th Independence Day … Sob for the Nation.

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:59 pm

I have always known the origin of the Negara Ku. I was reminded by my Indonesian friends that it was an Indonesian love song, “Terang Bulan”. President Sukarno had the song played regularly and we could listen to it over the radio in the 60s when we were fighting them. I have known this for years. What I did not know is that it is also a Hawaiian love song!

I find nothing offensive in the lyrics in this rap song. We find American singers in the 60s using their brand of music to put out messages concerning their racial sufferings etc.

But Namewee should have stayed away from using a symbol of national sovereignty like the country’s national anthem in the manner he did. This is in bad taste but it works because it gives the notoriety that rap singers look for.

Is he prepared to lose his passport since success achieved through notoriety is his choice?

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:12 pm

“Patriotism is not about flying the national flag. ” Godfather

I beg to differ, sorry. Patriotism is about flying the national flag. There is a huge difference between the flag of UMNO or MCA or BN if there is one.

Flying the national flag is reaffirming our loyalty to king and country. It has nothing to do with the political party that runs the government. Political party running may change but the national flag does not – or are you implying that it should??

Having said that, I understand the sentiment being expressed about not flying the national flag because it is so closely identified over the years as a symbol of what the Alliance and later BN stood for and what it actually did.

But please there is a huge difference!

Burning the flag is reminiscent of the post-Vietnam War years in the United States when many Americans felt betrayed by their government. The government tried to pass legislation to make burning the flag an offense – but the move failed in the Senate by one vote. In countries like the U.S. the First Amendment is too important and they prefer freedom of speech above everything else.

35. #35 by ablastine on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:19 pm

Well if those who thought what Wee Meng Chee put up is seditious, prove it. Prove to the nation that what he sang or rap is not true and a total fabrication. Show us where the treacherous section is. Confirm with us that there is no racial discrimination in the country, no corruption, no red-tapes, no extremism and everything is going fine.

Oh come off it. Just in case the authority is not aware Wee Meng Chee is voicing out what more than 40% of the entire nation is feeling at this moment and that includes many moderate Malays. You cannot threaten and shout down that number. If I were them I better that this opportunity to make amends before such a great latent force give way to an implosion.

36. #36 by cabby mabok on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:34 pm

“Patriotism is about flying the national flag or not flying the natonal flag?. ”

All are wrong! Patriotism is when we help catch the robbers and thief in our “house” and in this case the robbers are those who took advantage of the rayak, they are the wolf in sheep skin. Did some one says BN?

Who is more patriotism in the family? when are robber break into the family house the eldest son show off the family keris that was given by the sultan but the youngest son use an axe to frighten off the robber?

Is it more urgent to remove the corrupt leaders of our country? Or is it more important to fly the flag when everyone is suffering?

37. #37 by ktteokt on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:42 pm

Wee should be awarded for his “patriotism”. The Chinese has a saying “Malefactors sweet talk and gentlemen are cool”, but for the Malaysian government, they prefer to listen to “sweet talk” rather than the truth.

Why penalize Wee for his deed? Why is it always the person who speaks out the truth who would get into trouble? Remember our “Suqiu”? The committee only reminded the government that bumiputras are unable to stand up after forty odd years of independence and look at what they have done in response. The Minister of Youth and Sports together with a group of hooligans threatened to burn down the Chinese Assembly Hall in Kuala Lumpur.

Next, we have the incident of Guan Eng who reported the shameful act of a prominent political figure and what happened? The one committing the crime was not punished but instead the one who reported the crime was penalized.

Similarly, in the present situation, Wee only sang out the truth and our so-called leaders now threatened to take legal action against him. This goes to show that our government is nothing but a bunch of “bad losers”.

38. #38 by observer on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:49 pm

Uncle Kit , what is the outcome of the report lodge by Dap against those bunch of Keris waver,, did our dear PM sweep under the carpet?

39. #39 by UFOne on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:10 pm

First and foremost, we should love everything about our country. It is because we love our country that we want the best for her. What is the best if the best is not about being fair, just, transparent, honest, cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang. But after 50 years, we should also be seeing and be experiencing things that are not so right. There is no fairness, there is no true justice, there is no transparency, there is no unconditional honesty, there is lack of excellence, glory and praise. There is a lot of sweet talk but very little action. It is more comfortable staying in an air cond office rather than really going down to the roots and talk to the ordinary people and find out the truth. It is comfortable sitting on a big armchair and your spies SMSing to you or calling your mobile and telling your more lies than truth. And for that, they are given the title ” Dato “.

Just one exposure and Wee is one of the most talked about celebrity, more talked about than all the local Malaysian singers. He did not win any singing competition. In fact I wonder if he wins anything at all. But all of a sudden, he becomes a star and what a bright shining star with the light shining on all the rubbish that is found in Malaysia.
    While the government is trying to convince the public on how evil Wee is, yet not everyone is fooled. We weigh the pros and cons. If the government is so sensitive about that song, that means it is trying to hide things under its’ long sleeve. High time to get rid of patriotism that means a lot to the old folks but does not mean so much to the young people because it is becoming irrelevant no matter how much history is show in the t.v. 50 years have gone. If we are to depend on the memories of these 50 years, we will forever remain stagnant. Our minds will have stunted growth. 50 years ago, Malaysia was poor. 50 years later, Malaysia is moderately rich. 50 years to come, Malaysia should be very rich. That is if we want to be practical change agents and not just theoretical change agents. High time to get rid of pride so that we can work genuinely towards a meaningful cause. High time to get rid of a false sense of importance because this country does not depend on a few to make it cemerlang, gemilang and terbilang. High time to get rid of sensitivity so that everyone has a important part to play in this society. High time to get rid of unfairness so that this society can become a truely smart society.

40. #40 by dawsheng on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:13 pm

It is some sort of revolution that “negarakuku” song came about. And yes, it is racist too because it is about the shallow Malay. But it is forgivable, how else do you want to tell them they sucks???

41. #41 by see1 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:57 pm

since i am a small boy, i know Kit Siang. Since i am a small boy, i know Malaysia political scene. It has been 20 years, we still discussing about the same old topics, elementary school, NEP, quota system etc.
    A small issue like Meng Chee has created a big stir among our country leader. This is a strong signal to others that we are still behave like a small boy. Our country has been merdeka for 50 years, but sad to say our society maturity is still way below par
    As a country leader and national party leader, the topic that you discuss should be on how to improve our country education, roadmap for our country to be as advance and as good as Singapore, how to enhance our multiracial society to be more mature and how to turn this multi racial society into our strength of able to master multi languages. Dear Minister, you are paid for this. you hv a great responsibility to ensure our society is as mature as a developed country, not only twin tower is among the tallest building in the world. We entrust our hope, our future to you as Minister and also to you, Kit Siang as an opposition party leader to ensure existing goverment is on the right track. When ever we face critical issue, we should gather a team to solve the issue constructively, not barking on the person who brought up the issue, or asking this person or that person to resign. To me it does not solve the issue. A 50 years old man should be already a very wise man, to all, pls do not behave like a 5 year old man and want to celebrate our 50 th merdeka day

42. #42 by Mr. on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:22 pm

the weak cannot face facts nor hear out honest criticism. the bullys fundamentally have no self confidence. let them go on with their crutches and continue to hit out at those who would try to loosen their grip on those crutches or just to hide their weaknesses. a shame of the human spirit. let them be the haughty leeches that they are.
    What a shame the majority and the ruling elite has come to be.

43. #43 by Mr. on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:29 pm

Mr. Lim, your blog is doing great, it is an avenue of encouragement and expression of emotions and views. /may you and your compatriates harness this pool of ‘energies’ here for greater good. In numbers lie our strength, the internet is a revelation a revolution for democracy to mean anything in a country where opinions contrary to the ruling forces are stifled. The Tunk was right in his hindsight and regret of not promising total freedom of press, it has hindered and damaged constructicism in this country in more ways than meets the eye.

44. #44 by mycroft on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:48 pm

Not seditious per se and perhaps the reaction has been overblown, but let’s not jump over ourselves to lay down flowers at the feet of this lad. Whether we like it or not, there are laws and rules and then there are codes of proper conduct. For me, the national anthem and the national flag should be be sacrosant and treated with proper respect. No doubt this Wee fella had some legitimate grievances but surely there are other ways to go about it, why use the National Anthem and lace it with irreverence? If we were to champion Wee for doing this then what next? Will you be cheering someone on if they were to spray paint the National Flag and the National Crest with the words “BN CORRUPT”? Wrong is wrong. What UMNO is doing is wrong and what that Wee guy did is definitely wrong. The anthem belongs to all Malaysians. Whether the tune comes from an old song or not is not the issue here. It is OUR anthem not the BN’s anthem. Be proud of it and defend it.

p,s, Personally, I think Majulah Singapura is more uplifting. Zubir Said (the composer) actually submitted an entry to compose Malaya’s national anthem in 1956 but it was rejected. :(

45. #45 by sean on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:08 am

Obviously I truly salute namawee……………he is indeed a true Malaysian trying to point out the things that are actually happening in our beloved country.
    The only one which aren’t patriotic at all are the bunch of people from the ruling govt called BN.They plundered and continue plundering and rape the nation and now they want to threatened a true Malaysian who are voicing out in a different manner.Shame on you BN……….How long more do we need to put up with BN.Every seconds Bn rules………our country bleeds further…am worried that one fine day……….there isn’t any blood left for it to bleed.

46. #46 by bhuvan.govindasamy on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:34 am

Mr Lim,

I’m of the opinion that the demonization of Wee Meng Chee is a clear sign of the rot, that has spread to epidemic proportions, both within the M’sian government & society.

It seems that one can no longer make fun of our social/governmental ills, quirks, eccentricities, stupidity etc. I’m afraid that Lat may be charged with sedition next.

If we cannot laugh at ourselves, then we’ve become a truly sorry nation.

47. #47 by menarambo on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:36 am

Ya…. why Malaysia govt is so worked up over a creative student voicing out the truth? What about the NBC Dateline show aired all over USA on Human trafficking in Malaysia? The show openly criticized Malaysia’s police and Immigration officials as corrupt and collaborate with the Human traffickers. Which issue is more pressing? Charging a poor student with sedition, withdrawing citizenship or this Dateline NBC show that made Malaysia famous overnight in US again??? Yeah! I have never see any promotional advertisement on VMY 2007 in USA, but the NBC Dateline show just gave Malaysia a free publicity! Wake up govt….. start working on the real issue!

By the way, is the govt going to sue NBC for saying Malaysia police corrupted now that they might prosecute Namewee?

48. #48 by mickey01 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 1:52 am

Wee’s website on the song has been removed and he is prepare to apologize amd let it lay to rest. Becos he tells the truth in the wrong way. That why Unmo is so angry.

49. #49 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 5:01 am

In the U.S. where rap music has its origin, it is what is more popularly referred to as gangster music by many. It is laced with obscenities, drug use and crime. It is sad that to hear Malaysians copying everything that is American.

‘Namewee’ if he were to try the same in the U.S. would not be much better than that guy who won ‘popularity’ as a loser in the American Idol song contests of some years earlier. Wasn’t he studying electric engineering before he achieved ‘fame’ ?

I will not go as far as to say that he has insulted the national anthem which is an icon, a symbol of sovereignty and loyalty to king and country. But his jig is done in bad taste and given the political overtones he deserves to be criticized.

He should not have used the national anthem as backdrop for his music. True, he has not changed and abused the national anthem. But by mixing loyalty to king and country (symbolized by the national flag) to loyalty to the political party that currently runs the government is dangerously close to committing treason.

50. #50 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 5:03 am

But hey his path to ‘fame’ is through notoriety – like all rappers, and he’s doing just fine. Expect his passport to be withdrawn.

51. #51 by kktan9812 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 8:24 am

I actually admire the guts of Namewee to sing out this ‘Negarakuku’. True that the words used is a bit rough but end of day it sings out nothing but the truth about how most Malaysian Chinese see this country. Marginalized, corrupted, civil service bureaucracy, etc…

If the song is all about praises to Malaysia then it’s just another lame song. Lame song that is usually being sung by our UMNO to deceive all Malaysian. Is the song seditious? How about the kris waving incident? That’s not seditious? Disrespect for Islam just because by saying that some of them ‘out of tune’ when praying? How about demolishing those Chinese temple and Hindu temple? Isn’t that totally disrespect to other religion?

If the government intend to strip off Wee Meng citizenship then first strip off the citizenship of the UMNO members, the arrogant kris waving minister and also those who authorize demolishing of those Chinese and Hindu temple.

52. #52 by sotong on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 8:32 am

If the government and their policies are grossly unfair and discriminatory, why should one be expected to be loyal to the country?

53. #53 by seaturtle on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 8:36 am

I think we need to make it clear and loud to BN that

WE DON’T LIKE BN BUT WE LOVE MALAYSIA VERY MUCH. BN DOESN’T EQUAL TO MALAYSIA!!!

They should understand it or maybe they are pretending…

Kit, for sure all of us are not traitor including Chee Meng BUT the real traitor are those who had dug and some are still digging our national wealth illegally and turning it into their own or their cronies’ belonging…Those are REAL TRAITOR!!!

Chee Meng, you have my support.

54. #54 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:09 am

apparently namewee also have other songs on other countries. I find that he is very creative and talented. The so-called contraversial song is depend on who is the listener and how you “want” to listen to it! 99% what he sung is just reflecting the truth of what’s happening! Including the morning call which is just a clip that show the mosque in just a second! I think the only reason I could think off is he shouldnt have chosen the national anthem to penned the song AND again, it is also the national anthem that could make the impact of the song!

Traitor? ISA? Wow when you point one finger to Namewee, three are pointing back at oneself. How are they going to answer the tons of money being corrupted and sucked up from the country?

55. #55 by k1980 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:34 am

Namewee is not patriotic? Then what about the British muslims (immigrants from South Asia) who set off bombs in Britain’s subways and airports to show off their patriotism?

56. #56 by bumi-non-malay on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:39 am

For Crying out loud…

lets line the streets of Dataran Merdeka on 31 August

in Black

for Freedom of religion (…ala Lina Joy)
    Freedom From Racism (Everyone)
    Freedom of Press…….expression (Chee Meng)

Lets show the UMNO-BN racist , Rulers that something is very wrong on the live telecast picture. Even if they clear the streets of people in Black someone would have U-Tube it to show the world and a BIG slap in UMNO-BN racist policies.

This is turun padang time …. these are decent things we are fighting for and don’t ever feel guilty thinking and doing it!!

Believe it!!

57. #57 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 9:51 am

Sdr. Lim is correct to point out that, at the core, this is an issue about double standards which the NEP have culturalized. Its not about patriotism or appropriate behaviour. This is about double standards and how impossible it is to be maintained. When one group is allowed to have a different standard than another, the other group will always be victimized no matter how you try to managed it.

All NameWee did was push the boundary of truth as politely as he could. He was irreverant as those who push boundaries of betterment. In trying to be the best that he could be, he finds himself unfairly attacked and punished.

The lesson to be taught to those who attacked NameWee is not just pointing out their double standards but how futile it really is. In the end, everyone loses and worst those they are afraid off always survive somehow. As NameWee pointed out, the discriminated minorities of this country find ways to survive and thrive especially by migrating. As for NameWee, the more severe the authorities take action against him, the more right he has to claim political cover including asylum in other countries such as the US. Already he is much sought after here and elsewhere to perform and record his music.

Those who unwittingly criticized him have made him a hero and I would point out, across races even!!! Now, that is something NameWee can be proud off…

58. #58 by Jonny on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:11 am

Joint Statement by

Writers Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI)

Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ)

Institut Kajian Dasar (IKD)

10 August 2007

Constitution guarantees Malaysians’ freedom to celebrate Merdeka

Writers Alliance for Media Independence (WAMI), Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ) and Institut Kajian Dasar (IKD) stress that the Federal Constitution guarantees Malaysians’ freedom to celebrate Merdeka in any peaceful way they prefer. In fact, freedom as enshrined in the Constitution is central to the celebration of Merdeka. If we are not free, what independence is there to celebrate?

We express our gravest concern on the latest assault on artistic and cultural expression launched by some McCarthy wannabes in politics and media. Wee Meng Chee, a Malaysian student in Taiwan has attracted demonization in media and threat of legal action by politicians for writing a rap-song “I love my country, Negarakuku” with the national anthem Negaraku as its chorus, and sharing it on youtube.

We hold that Malaysians are mature enough to discuss and judge for themselves the content and form of arts. Political intervention into the world of arts hurts both arts and democracy. Unfortunately, before Wee, musicians performing genres like heavy metal and rock, movie directors like Mohamad Amir, Yasmin Ahmad and Tsai Ming-Liang, actress in Vagina Monologue, have all suffered harassment, vilification, censorship or ban for “offending” or “challenging” national culture, sensitivity, history, etc. in one way or another.

Malaysia, whose initial celebration 50 years ago and formation 44 years ago we are now supposed to celebrate, has become the greatest measure of political correctness upon which every artistic and cultural expression needs to be examined. Albeit without explicitly evoking Senator McCarthy’s language, some Malaysians have set out to eliminate the crime of “unMalaysianness”, a fact other Malaysians must now stand up and speak up.

We stress these three positions of principle:

1. The Federal Constitution of Malaysia explicitly guarantees every citizen “the right to freedom of speech and expression” (Article 10.1.a). While it also allows the Parliament to impose restrictions “by law”, parodying the national anthem is not one of the eight permissible grounds. (Article 10.1.b) We remind all quarters that the suggestion of evoking a charge against Wee under the National Anthem Act has therefore risked defying the Federal Constitution itself, a more serious offence than any parodying of the National Anthem.

2. No one should be prosecuted or persecuted for their artistic expressions so long they are not propagating violence. Those who disagree with certain artistic expressions should reply with artistic critiques or counter-expressions, rather than banning or them or persecuting the artists with the state’s power. The same principle applies on academic, social, political, religious, cultural views, where an opponent to a particular view should strive to defeat and debunk the view s/he opposes in free debates, rather than silencing whomever s/he considers heretic with the state’s power. If we cannot hold on to this principle, we are making a mockery of the Article 10 of our Federal Constitution.

3. Inter-ethnic and inter-religious harmony cannot be promoted by suppressing freedom of expression. Suppression will only drive misunderstanding and animosity into frustrations and anger which will sweep everyone when suppression is no longer possible. Bigotry and hostility can only be addressed and eliminated under open and rational debates, where everyone respect each other’s freedom of expression insofar no violence is used or advocated. If some are intolerant to views they consider insulting or offensive, the society must promote tolerance and respect, rather than conceding to emotional responses of the intolerant lot. Otherwise, if everyone protests against everything s/he considers offensive, perhaps no issue can be discussed publicly. This will only kill democracy as the state can dictate on matters of importance without public scrutiny and participation.

Thomas Paine said it aptly, “Government, even in its best state, is but a necessary evil; in its worst state, an intolerable one.” The white-terror Senator McCarthy brought to the US in 1950s – investigating and persecuting left-leaning artists under the charges of un-American activities – testified the danger when the government’s power goes beyond the necessary.

The monopoly of Merdeka outdoor celebration by the Culture, Arts and Heritage Ministry has signaled earlier a dangerous trend that our nation’s Independence or its celebration is now seen as the Government’s prerogative or private property. The zest to persecute Wee is but the second manifestation of such mentality. Malaysians, regardless whether they agree with Wee’s views, must stand up to defend the right to celebrate Merdeka in any peaceful way they like, against the assaults of the Little McCarthys in politics and the media.

This statement is initiated by WAMI,

Jointly issued by,

Wong Chin Huat, Chairperson, WAMI

Gayathry V., Executive Director, CIJ

Khalid Jaafar, Executive Director, IKD

59. #59 by megaman on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:15 am

When satirists can’t satire …

When the journalists can’t write what they see …

When the whistle-blowers get thrown in jail …

What’s the point ?

Which is more important ? The fact that Meng Chee raps Negarakuku ? Or the fact that the lyrics are TRUE ?

I would stick my middle fingers at anyone who dare to say that he is a traitor n unpatriotic … it is becoz we love Msia that we dare to criticize n comment abt the ugly side of Msia … wif the hope of changing things for the better …

60. #60 by ForMalaysia on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:22 am

First of all,

Many of you can only talk. NATO = No Action Talk Only. Malaysian style.

There are many ways that an individual can fight for his own country. What namewee is doing, is called revolution. There is no point for Chinese people to have seats in the parliament, because we can only make noise but no actions in Parliament. I do not blame the Chinese representatives, It is not due to their incapabilities. But how the gov’t controls the amount of empowerment given to these Chinese representatives.

It’s about time that younger generations should take control of their own fate in M’sia. It’s a fact, and we all know it. To make changes – someone has to make the first step. Sacrifices must be made for the greater good.

61. #61 by Jimm on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:27 am

I can see that this young generation guy dare enough to voiced out his future as Malaysian, a true Malaysian.
    There are many young generation Malaysian that don’t even bother whether what will be the country fate and future as these youngster are living in their own ‘virtual’ world which can become a silent killer.
    We all been ‘blinded’ with materialistic and wealth chasing dreams to become No.1.
    We all can become world riches citizen instead of individuals. We are can commonly grow our talents and skill to provide services to the rest of the world. We all can choose to be the best among the nations. Yet, we all brought up to be individual best.
    Among all the best, we flopped and failed to live up to this country needs and demand.

62. #62 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:57 am

Thank you Wee Meng Chee for your true patriotism in voicing out the maladies of the country in a melody where UMNO, the corrupted evil will never like to hear.

63. #63 by sotong on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 1:09 pm

It’s like a pack of hyenas attacking a harmless poodle!

64. #64 by ShameOnYou on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 2:34 pm

To whoever that are against the song, wake up pls. I can guarantee most of the non-bumi are saying the same thing, i’ve heard it a lot of times even my non-bumi colleagues said it out. Why must differentiate bumi and non-bumi? I call it discrimating, sarcastic and selfish. When I’m young, I thought Bumi are meant for Malaysian people only,I feel proud to be Malaysian, but in fact even if you’re a Malaysian, you can’t be a bumi without fulfilling certain criteria. Those called bumi gets better deal, and help from the goverment. I was told by some friends, even certain Uni only accept Bumi unless the non-Bumi able to get very very high grade, but Bumi no need.

The goverment should understand that why most of the graduates from oversea wouldn’t come back to serve our mother country. Why? It is so obvious already and still they couldn’t see it. Most of my friends that went oversea SAID that they rather stay there and work there because everyone are treated equally.

I don’t think the case regarding Wee singing that song is very serious, if it is, then most of the americans already in jail for criticizing and making fun of Bush. Run the goverment properly and there won’t be any ‘Negarakuku’.

Jimm,
    You are wrong, it’s not because the young generation dare not to voice out and don’t bother, we do at heart. You can see how ‘Jakun’ the goverment was. Wee Meng Chee is just trying to voice out and what he get in return? Why not you make a song like that and sing it? Youngsters nowadays already given up trusting the goverment, no matter what you do, money talks.

65. #65 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:45 pm

it shows the insecurity and immaturity of those who jump out fr their seats and attack this talented young ‘rapper’ of ours.ok…to be fair…its nvr right making fun of our national anthem.kids will always be kids.i cant deny hes very creative in his own words.he shud hv rapped this song in other tunes.but wat the heck are all these ministers jumping abt as if they hv lost millions fr their own pocket?wise up and look among urself….wat hv u gotta say abt our own government?thr are so many urgent matters in hand that needed attention and all u guys hv nothing better to do than yelling abt on a childish blogger?dats not the way to stand up among urself and bashing at this blogger to show ur patriotism on ur own country.u guys are just like wolves in a sheeps clothing.lets not being naive and being childish.and pls dun waste ur time on this stupid matter.we hv malaysians fr all walks of life.even bloggers fr here who criticise the government doesnt mean they dun love the country and are not patriotic.they are only showing the dissactifactions of how some issues are being handled by the ministers in the government.and i dun think thats a big deal to it.i,for one,who voted for the government on wish to see a fair and clean government.dats not much to ask for right?and as for our naughty mr wee meng chee…its definitely wrong of him to play up such ‘creative lyrics’ on our national anthem.be fair to him and and give him a stern warning for mischievious behavior.

66. #66 by Taikor on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:47 pm

Wee Meng Chee has responded to threats by the supremacists with complete translation of the song into Bahasa Malaysia:
    http://namewee.blogspot.com/2007/08/hello-semua-orang-melayu-sila-tengok.html

He claimed he had been misquoted and misunderstood by the media, especially Malay newspapers and politicians. Read his side of the story. Give him your support.

67. #67 by Godfather on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:48 pm

Let them withdraw his passport, and let him sue the government for their unlawful act. Let the case come to court and let the government prove sedition or treason.

I think they may be stupid enough to invite legal action, but then they will return his passport for fear of the having the case being heard in court.

68. #68 by Godfather on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 3:49 pm

“It’s like a pack of hyenas attacking a harmless poodle!” Sotong

Be careful here, for RealWorld will say that it’s like a Rottweiler attacking a harmless (UMNO) poodle.

69. #69 by patriotic1994 on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:24 pm

When a Malay kissed a keris in front of the nation and demanding for Chinese blood, it caused an uproar among Chinese. The Chinese response with forum for human rights and justice in the country.

When a Chinese sang a song of his country that practice Malay special rights, corruption and unique morning call, it caused an uproar among Malay. The Malay response with death threat to him and his family.

What kind of world are we living in? How to make Chinese and Malay live happily and see each other as brother and sister? Will there be a happy ending?

When you scream at a turkey, it shout back at you and then ignore you. When you scream at a goose, it chased after you and bite you. This has never changed since God created the world. But turkey and goose can live happily in the farm without shouting, chasing and biting each other. Can we be like that?

(Sorry to use farm animals to represent us… no offend)

70. #70 by cg on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:30 pm

kktan9812: I seconded you…
    “If the government intend to strip off Wee Meng citizenship then first strip off the citizenship of the UMNO members, the arrogant kris waving minister and also those who authorize demolishing of those Chinese and Hindu temple.”
    Isn’t demolishing other’s religion’s building more seditious and insulting than mere say the singing out of tune? I don’t see the later has any means of insulting at all.

71. #71 by ipohmalay on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 3:46 am

Willing to forgive – sure
    Willing to forget – its hard tho

but stripping citizenship is not a good idea.

72. #72 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 6:58 am

” When you scream at a goose, it chased after you and bite you. ” Patriotic1994

Hence we have the expression “on a wild goose chase”.

“But turkey and goose can live happily in the farm without shouting, chasing and biting each other. ” Patriotic1994

In the U.S. the goose is discriminated against because the President of the most powerful nation on earth sees it fit to pardon one turkey each year before Thanksgiving Day.

73. #73 by sotong on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 7:09 am

This issue is grossly blown out of proportion by irresponsible politicians to score cheap political points.

74. #74 by wormie on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 11:01 am

Hi yah. Thought what is the big deal. Did an internet search and found the video. Cannot beat Khairy’s UMNO speech last year lah. Waste my time only lah!

At least he accepts the responsibility and is accountable for himself…. something so lacking in tanah air

75. #75 by bngg on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 12:17 pm

I don’t think he killed the Negaraku caused he never changed any of the words in the national anthem. He only added rap. It is a wake up calls for me. Every time I celebrate 31st August as a Malaysian but now …. Who am I?

76. #76 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 1:55 pm

The purported apology by MCA on behalf of Meng Chee marked the end of Malaysian democracy and this was officiated by MCA personally. How can democracy and freedom of speech be claimed by the Malaysian government when all they want to hear is “sweet talk” and not the truth. Anyway, I view this as another “gimmick” by the MCA but this only goes to show that the MCA is so inferior as to succumb to the demands of UMNO.

So, is there really the freedom of speech in Malaysia? With the draconian Internal Security Act still active, such freedom can only be viewed as a “mirage”.

77. #77 by sotong on Wednesday, 15 August 2007 - 3:06 pm

Or is it because MCA and other smaller component parties in BN are worry about the instability and unpredictability of UMNO?

78. #78 by AnakTiriMalaysia on Thursday, 16 August 2007 - 6:17 pm

Sometimes we need to apologise for telling a truth in this “great” country

79. #79 by walkerhill on Friday, 17 August 2007 - 11:04 pm

No doubt namewee have used the national anthem but i think his main focus is to share his depression on what is happening in the country. I really think overall our country needs to revamp a lot rather pinning down the truth and forget about it. If there is no comments how can we improve? Sigh I am pretty upsad with the current situation. 1 vote for DAP here.

80. #80 by bang on Wednesday, 22 August 2007 - 10:54 pm

Wee vents his anger, frustration and loneliness through his songs. In NTV 7 recent survey through SMS, 98% of the viewers who responded feel that wee’s apology should be accepted because he actually speaks the truth. The Cabinet feels that the apology is not acceptable because the truth pierces through their hearts like a keris.

81. #81 by feiloong on Tuesday, 28 August 2007 - 1:06 am

Dear all Peope in Malaysia (and the world),

When will Malays, Chinese, and Indians join hands again to plan and act / counter the globalization threat (economy, global warming, R&D….) just like our great leader decided to work together to gain independency from British 50 years ago?
    Let’s think for our next 3 (or more) generation at least just like we are now feeling thankful to our great ancestors as they had been thinking of their next generations’ fate 50 years ago.

I hope with Wee’s initiative, Malaysia will be a better country and the world will be a better place to live, free and peace.

Dear Mr. Lim,
    I just want to tell you that I am blessed that you are around to fight for us, the Malaysians and the human on this earth.

Sincerely,
    Feiloong and family.

82. #82 by ctm12345 on Sunday, 4 November 2007 - 12:27 pm

Wee Meng Chee’s rap video-clip is like “Membuka Pekung Di Dada”, putting on record what the world already knows through word of mouth of disgruntled Malaysians to their foreign friends. I am sure some foreigners found out the hard way themselves.

When I first saw the video-clip, I have a good laugh and think no more about it until I saw all those extreme comments posted on various sites. While his method leaves much to be desired, there are truths in it. The only part that revolts me is the part making fun of the Azan call. Whatever religion I may believe in, I wouldn’t want him making fun of some of the rituals we practice. I wonder if he had made fun of Buddhist and Taoist rituals, would so many Chinese have rallied for him. Having said that I believe his motives and intentions is just to have fun without thinking of the consequences and repercussions.

I’m surprised that some the reaction to his video-clip is so extreme. The remarks they throw at each other gets worse and worse. I wonder what we have been doing for the past 50 years in terms of racial integration. Have it all been for nothing, all gone down the drain?

Back to the fate of Wee Meng Chee, there are other video-clips of prominent politicians including Pak Lah and Najib saying the matter is out of their hands. It is up to the Attorney-General to decide whether to prosecute. That is their official stand. What about their personal stand? Doesn’t Islam teach forgiveness and tolerance? I am not a Muslim, this I do not know and can’t answer.

If The Prophet Muhammad is alive today, would He forgive this slur concerning the Azan call? Would Pak Lah forgive Wee Meng Chee in his personal capacity? If Wee Meng Chee is charged, convicted and sentenced, would Pak Lah as Head of the Pardon Board advice our Yang Di-Pertuan Agong to pardon him?