Hanif’s “pagar makan padi” indictment – 50th Merdeka anniversary only meaningful if IPCMC announced before August 31

The verdict is now in 27 months after the Royal Police Commission Report in May 2005 to create an incorruptible, efficient, professional and world-class police service to reduce crime, eradicate corruption and respect human rights — a police force which is not only more rotten than before Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became Prime Minister, but with the Anti-Corruption Agency (ACA) and the Attorney-General’s Chambers equally tarnished for “Harap Pagar, Pagar Makan Padi”!

This harsh judgment was not made by Opposition leaders and NGO critics of government, but by a venerable pillar of the establishment, the former and longest-serving Inspector-General of Police and Deputy Chairman of the Royal Police Commission, Tun Hanif Omar in his Sunday Star column with a title which is an indictment on all the three “vital institutions” — “THE FENCE THAT EATS THE RICE”!

Hanif’s article is even more condemnatory of the rot in the police force than the Royal Police Commission report when everyone should be singing praises for a reformed police after the implementation of the Commission’s 125 recommendations to create an incorruptible, efficient and professional world-class police service.

Instead this is what Hanif wrote yesterday:

I briefed the Royal Commission that police corruption was so extensive that a very senior ACA officer had confided in me and another top retired police officer that 40% of the senior officers could be arrested without further investigations — strictly on the basis of their lifestyles. One state police chief had a net worth of RM18mil. My friend and I had watched the force getting deeper and deeper into the morass of corruption. ..

“I could not help telling the ACA officer that he really had his work cut out for him and that his fight against corruption was the most important fight facing the country but I hoped that he could effectively stamp out this corruption without destroying our PDRM which had done such yeomen service to the nation.

But what has the police to show in the follow-up to the Royal Police Commission Report?

Hanif lamented that although the Police Royal Commission Report was made public two-and-a-quarter years ago, “yet PDRM has still not burnished its image”.

He wrote:

It is still mired in controversy. Need I say why? It is so clearly divided into at least two groups at the top and, consequently, affects the officers below. That is why one group carries out arrests of alleged crime kingpins and the other group and the ACA have allegedly interrogated the arresting officers in the belief that the first group is eliminating the informants of the other group.
“Whom can we believe when one group is headed by the IGP and the other by a police director backed by the Deputy Minister of Internal Security? They are at opposite poles. Both the IGP and the Deputy Minister of Internal Security have allegations of corruption thrown at them but both have been investigated by the ACA, the content of the reports to the AG we do not know. What we know is that the AG has absolved both of them. So, between the two, whom are we to believe?

That is why the IPCMC is so important — so that we have an instrument to get to the truth. By not letting the IPCMC see the light of day after such a long study by the AG speaks volumes of the AG’s understanding of the seriousness of the problem and its effect on the criminal justice system. The AG himself has lost his credibility for this recalcitrance and for his “defeats” in recent high profile cases as well as for some high profile cases not seeing the light of day after so long in his hands: and this is disastrous because his Chambers is the second other vital institution in the criminal justice system.

So, whither go our vital institutions? The ACA is another vital institution. It is its abject failure to act hard against the highly corrupt at the very top levels all these years that has allowed this pervasive corruption culture to thrive and grow within the public sector. Let me say it here: you will not stamp out corruption by only giving talks or by tackling only the lower rankers. The lower rankers are emboldened by the top-level corruption that could get away.

All the heads of these three “vital institutions” must hold their heads in shame at such a sweeping and most valid condemnation by the most famous IGP in the country.

What has the Inspector-General of Police got to say for crime and corruption getting worse than even before the establishment of the Royal Police Commission 45 months ago?

What has the ACA director-general got to say for the failure to arrest and prosecute a single top police officer in the past 27 months although “40% of the senior officers could be arrested without further investigations — strictly on the basis of their lifestyles”?

What has the Attorney-General got to say for his total lack of professional commitment in procrastinating on the IPCMC issue for over two years, refusing to submit an IPCMC Bill to Parliament?

But there are other persons who should also hold their heads in shame at Hanif’s indictment yesterday — the Prime Minister and the entire Cabinet.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is in danger of becoming the worst Minister in charge of police in the 50-year history of the nation, with galloping crime and rampant corruption.

Instead of being one of his greatest achievements, the Royal Police Commission will become one of his greatest baggages unless Abdullah is prepared to be a hands-on Minister to ensure the full implementation of the Commission’s 125 recommendations to create an incorruptible, efficient and world-class police service.

Let all Malaysians send a clear message to the Prime Minister — the 50th Merdeka Anniversary celebrations will only be meaningful if he summons the political will to check the worsening rot in the three “vital institutions” of the Police, Anti-Corruption Agency and Attorney-General’s Chambers by announcing the formation of IPCMC before August 31!

1. #1 by Jonny on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:14 am

Precisely what is in the commoner’s mind.

Please do not blame when we do not put up Jalur Gemilang. Patriotism is not all about just flying the flag. It is also about contributing to nation’s economy and well being in various areas.

At least, we do not steal from fellow Malaysians and take advantage of them in broad daylight.

Deep down, we do not feel a sense of belonging with all the keris episodes. And also the failing of PDRM.

PDRM with the ‘Di-Raja’ is a disgrace to His Majesty with all the corruption as mentioned by the Sultan Selangor.

Corruption should be weed out.

2. #2 by Rocky on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:25 am

Pak Lah doesn’t care about this country. If he does, he will do what he promised in his 2004 manifesto and the IPCMC he promised!!! Cakap tak serupa bikin.

Pak Lah is the worst PM we have had thus far IMHO. And BN and UMNO are not doing what is best for this country. Instead they have their self interest as number one priority while causing disunity with various racist statement lead by SIL and Kerismuddin and other UMNO leaders.

Thank god for the statement by HRH Sultan Selangor today. We are lucky to have people like HRH Sultan Selangor and Raja Nazrin who have the well being of the people and the country in their heart instead of those elected reps that we are leading this country.Shame on you Pak Lah and BN. Shame on you all!!!!

Daulat Tuanku!!!!

3. #3 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:42 am

INDEED , I am most glad that the comments comes from Yab Tun Hanif ( x- Igp ) . if any of us lesser mortals would have made such a comments, we will be branded – a terrorist , an opposition party supporter , a monyet blogger and worst till a crime committed against the KING and the country. it would be deem seditious.

TRUTH HURTS. UNFORTUNATELY, like the old mother goose story of the emperor ‘s new clothes, the premier either :-

1. masuk telinga kiri , keluar telinga kanan

2. Malaysians are easily fooled.

3. tidak apa attitude.

the trial of the murdered mongolian lady, with the police ranking as asp, with so much discrepancies, ( as reported ) gives us , no sense of trust in PDRM. tempering of evidence .

today’s front page in the nst , where one block of the police made an arrest , and the other block saved the “untouchable” is surely a MOCKERY OF THE STANDARD OPERATING PROCEDURES OF THE PDRM.

I am quite prepared to sponsor our premier to Leadership courses, and quite honestly Leadership is about leading and not misleading.

like ROCKY, i certainly agree, we must thank God for HRH Sultan of Selangor, HRH SUltan of Perak, HRH Raja Muda of Perak. i am equally sure that our current Agong DYMM Tuanku Mirzan is a man of wisdom.

It is because we love MALAYSIA , we voice our concern.
    It is because we are Malaysian, it is our concern.

IT IS BECAUSE WE FEAR GOD MORE, than we fear politician, we speak out.

GOD BLESS MALAYSIA.

4. #4 by justiciary on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:46 am

We should appreciate the Sultan of Selangor,the Raja Muda of Perak,ex-IGP Tan Sri Hanif,RPK,YB LKS and other prominent right thinking people for their timely effort to help our nation from sliding into the abyss of backwardness.Wake up the most incompetent and racist regime led by Umo.

5. #5 by cg on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 11:53 am

Probably if what Sultan and Raja’s voice is not heard and heed to in UMNO, then it’s better for them to join the opposition parties then. They’re brilliant and insightful.

So my conclusion of what I’ve got to know so far is, the country’s education system is rotten, police is rotten and crimes flying high, corruption everywhere, marginalisation of the minorities……

And the Gov is blind folded as they are not able to see all these problems and spend time and effort to try to make the Namewee guy who sing out the truth guilty. Aren’t those who make his lyrics comes true should be the ones be caught and made guilty?

What a laughing stock we are to the other countries.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 12:50 pm

“Whom can we believe when one group is headed by the IGP and the other by a police director backed by the Deputy Minister of Internal Security? They are at opposite poles” – Tun Hanif.

You only have to ask between the 2 who is the boss in the hierarchy and proceed to further ask why the boss cannot, as in ordinary course of events, get rid of the other if it were really the case that the subordinate is corrupt.

You may also want to proceed ask why is the ultimate boss who keeps 2 peoples “poles apart” to work within same portfolio, without taking a position and why.

That’s why I say Malaysia has many funny going ons and is a very interesting. One never fails to be amazed and learn something every morning when one reads the news. :)

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 1:00 pm

If the leadership of a country or any organisation is always based on neutralising the strong perceived as threat to one’s position and encouraging the rise of the weak and devious to support’s one position and allowing such to succeed, then there will be a natural progressive decline in quality of leadership which in turn will encourage all kinds of internecine power struggle between chieftains and napoleons down the heirarchy protecting one another’s turf and vested interest without unified purpose – a sure course to “implosion” and collapse from within – which is something many of you guys may secretly wish for, and should celebrate, since you can’t get rid of them through the normal process of the ballot box. :)

8. #8 by sotong on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 2:08 pm

Decades of bad leadership and governance of the country had created enormous problems to the country.

Departure of the dictator created a power vacumn……..now everyone wants to be their own boss and do not respect the leader/s for various reasons.

9. #9 by mendela on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 3:41 pm

Tun hanif Omar said //40% of the senior officers could be arrested without further investigations//.

I say, 99 % of our ministers and deputy ministers including PM and DPM could be arrested without further investigations !!!

10. #10 by Cinapek on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 4:33 pm

Maybe the alleged 40% corruption level amongst the senior PDRM officers explains the IGP’s recent outburst that his officers are afraid to act against their subordinates for abuse and negligence. Surely the pot cannot be calling the kettle black? These corrupted guys have so much shit in their own backsides, they just cannot act against their subordinates for fear that the lower ranks will retaliate with revealing their shit in public.

This also explains the resistance to the IPCMC. Allowing this to be implemented will cause the shit to hit the ceiling fan. Pak Lah, PM, FM and definitely Internal Security Minister, if Tun Hanif knows, I suspect you do too. So why did you not act to dsicipline the corrupted officers?

11. #11 by Jong on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 6:27 pm

Simple, he just needs to divide in order to rule.

12. #12 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:44 pm

It is not untimely that we change how we celebrate our country’s independence. The role of the ruling political party should be reduced if not eliminated. The millions of ringgit spent on the celebrations could be put to better use

The present format was first used by Mahathir, parading members of his cabinet and himself at centre stage to take credit in the years that went by. Today’s ruling national coalition has all but lost its political legitimacy to rule.

All Malaysians should celebrate their nation’s independence in their private way like holding BBQs and in playgrounds and amusement parks etc but without attending government sponsored national parades etc. This is not a reflection of our lack of loyalty to king and country. In fact it is the reverse.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:47 pm

I am confident more now than ever that the National Coalition will lose its two-majority control of the Federal Parliament.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 8:48 pm

two-thirds control, sorry

15. #15 by Polis Serpihan on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:07 pm

for this coming GE, I will vote for opposition and will persuade my whole families and friends not to support BN anymore.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:15 pm

Yes, it is time!

17. #17 by Educator on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:35 pm

Was there any corruption when Tun Hanif Omar was in charge of the police force? Is the pot calling the kettle black now?

18. #18 by k1980 on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 9:53 pm

Chasing out the ghost… another sandiwara in the making?
    http://bigdogdotcom.wordpress.com/2007/08/12/ketua-umno-pj-selatan-minta-hantu-dihalau-dari-pemuda-umno/
    Ketua UMNO Petaling Jaya Selatan, Kapten (B) Dato’ Zahar Hashim mengesa agar Ketua Pemuda UMNO Malaysia, YB Dato’ Seri Hishamuddin Tun Hussein meneruskan memimpin Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO….Beliau menyifatkan dalam ucapan bahawa Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO ini adalah umpama sebuah rumah “berhantu” sehingga ketua rumah ini ingin meninggalkan rumahnya. Beliau mengesa agar “hantu” dalam rumah ini dihalau sebaliknya. Jelas, Kapten Dato’ Zahar berkias “hantu” itu ialah orang no. 2 dalam pergerakan itu. Ini mendapat reaksi seronok dari para perwakilan yang hadir….

19. #19 by dawsheng on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:37 pm

I was at Singapore National Day Parade. For a moment I wish I was Singaporean because I wamt to be proud as them but no, I am still a Malaysian, my wish is for my country to be as succesful as Singapore, so I can be a proud Malaysian. And the only way to make my wish come true is to show BN the way out.

20. #20 by cg on Monday, 13 August 2007 - 10:44 pm

undergrad2: Hope so and better be, therefore I plan to fly back to vote. If this doesn’t come true, and the useless ones still ruling the country, probably next step I’ll take would be to find a moving forward (not going rotten) country to migrate to.

21. #21 by cg on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:47 am

Probably I can help out a bit for the election? Will try to arrange to go back for a longer period of time once the election date is set.

22. #22 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 10:41 am

No IPCMC after 27 months?!

Can PM AAB still say he is studying the Royal Police Commmission Report? If, after 27 months, he still doesn’t understand or hasn’t finished reading, then he must be useless as a Minister.

If PM AAB has finished reading and, whether he understood the report or not, has still not got the necessary advice from AG et. al. or have not made any decision if he has already been advised, then he is also useless as a Minister, let alone a PM.

23. #23 by Jimm on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 11:13 am

Now he is a TUN and safe from any form of prosecution of law against any of his past doings, of course he dare to speak a little ‘extras’ than others. Look at TDM, he too often backlashed the BN government from time to time.
    Now, MT and SV are fighting for the next TUN to keep their retirement benefits too.
    Honestly, we have begun in the wrong manner after 1957.
    We are been lead into many form of revolutions and brought up in average education system.
    The system have benefitted those who chosen to stay above the common line whereas most of us submerged below that line.
    Classic way to control Malaysian and keep everyone ‘surviving’ within their means.

24. #24 by shortie kiasu on Tuesday, 14 August 2007 - 12:17 pm

When the ACA officer told Hanif as such, what does it mean any way? ACA is toothless to handle the job as far as the big fish is concerned? and can only deal with fish fry or ikan bilis? ACA themselves also have capability problems?