30th Anniversary of Ops Lalang mass arrests – call on Malaysians to unite to save democracy, the rule of law, human rights and to eradicate corruption and kleptocracy

Today marks the 30th anniversary of Operation Lalang which brought about the darkest days for democracy and human rights.

There was not only the arrest of 106 Malaysians, including opposition leaders – 16 of whom were from the DAP, including MPs and State Assemblymen – trade unionists, social activists, environmentalists, Chinese educationists and religious workers, there was also the wholesale attacks on press freedom with the closure of three newspapers, the assault on the independence of the judiciary and the rule of law and the series of undemocratic legislation which caused a tectonic shift in the Malaysian political landscape, subordinating the legislative and judicial branches to the Executive.

Operation Lalang in 1987 brought the fragile plant of Malaysian democracy to the brink of ruin and disaster.

But Malaysian resilience, the spirit and love for freedom, justice and the nation, did not wilt or capitulate but sprang back not only to recover lost ground and to achieve new democratic breakthroughs as in the 13th General Election when 52% of popular vote sought the first change of national government but the people were denied the fruits of democratic victory because of undemocratic gerrymandering of parliamentary constituencies.

Democracy in Malaysia is facing another crisis, superadded on to which is the international infamy and ignominy of being regarded worldwide as a global kleptocracy.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak promised to make Malaysia “the best democracy of the world”, but after more than eight years of his premiership, Malaysia falls far short of the conditions to be a “normal democracy” let alone being the “world’s best democracy”.

Only a change of government at the national level, for the first time in 60 years, can Malaysians fully restore democracy, the rule of law, human rights and save Malaysia from the interntional infamy and ignominy of a global kleptocracy.

On the 30th Anniversary of Ops Lalang mass arrests, I call on Malaysians to unite to save democracy, the rule of law, human rights and to eradicate corruption and kleptocracy.

(Media Statement in Parliament on Friday, October 27, 2017)

1. #1 by good coolie on Friday, 27 October 2017 - 9:25 pm

Excuse me, please. You are lying in bed with the fellow who put you in Hotel Kamunting. I am sorry to tell you what everyone, including you, knows. No pleasure.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 29 October 2017 - 12:19 pm

I agree that Mahathir do owe the victims of Ops Lallang and apology BUT here is a bigger truth, the reason why LKS and LGE are blameless and not hypocrite for working with Mahathir, is that the longer Najib is in.power, the UMNO wrecking ball Mahathir created is in.power or Hadi’s PAS merge with UMNO, the less Mahathir is to be blamed or owe them an apology.

3. #3 by good coolie on Monday, 30 October 2017 - 11:09 pm

Gomen T.V. is now attacking Mahatir. I watched a group of people on that T.V. channel saying how bad Mahatir was. They were a bunch of kindly looking Uncles and Aunties who looked fresh from history books. But what they said was essentially true. Mahatir was, politically speaking, bad.

However, why is UMNO attacking the fellow who made UMNO strong with towering Malay billionaires? This was the person whom Rafidah was begging to retract his instant resignation. No prize for the correct answer, which is that Mahatir is now out of UMNO, and worse, is in the oppositon, friends with the devil LKS. Mahatir is “Persona Non Grata!”

Silly UMNO, why could you not bagi chan to Mahatir’s son? After all, he was your hero. Now you have the Mother of all Enemies biting your butt.