Kuala Krai devastated by floods

– The Malaysian Insider/Bernama
31 December 2014

Like a place attacked by a giant bird or the ancient ‘garuda’. This is the description of the severe destruction caused by the floods in several villages in the district of Kuala Krai.

It also gives a reminder of the tsunami tragedy that occurred in 2004 when one looks at the damage suffered by the villagers.

In Sungai Durian, several houses totally collapsed after the the village was submerged by the floods on December 23 and forced the residents to seek shelter at evacuation centres.

Rosmaria Ghazali, 34, could only cry when seeing her home submerged up to the roof, her house and furniture totally ruined.

“I was shocked and stunned when I came to see the house. I don’t know what else to do,” she said in tears when talking to Bernama.

Rosmaria, who sought shelter at the Sekolah Kebangsaan Sungai Embak, said that she was nevertheless thankful because all five of her family members were safe.

“It’s alright to lose the property. What is important is that my family members, including my parents, are safe,” she said.

Rosmaria hoped that financial aid could be provided immediately to her and her family so that they could buy much needed basic necessities.

“I am also thankful when the 1Malaysia People’s Aid is speeded up as announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak,” she said.

Another resident, Salamah Mahmud, 56, could only cry when asked by Bernama about her home which also collapsed due to the floods.

“I am poor … where else can we stay? I hope that the evacuation centre that I am staying in will remain open for some time,” she said sadly. Salamah, who is staying at the centre with her husband Mamat Kassim, 63, hoped that the government would provide them with a new home.

A check at the Kampung Hutan Batu Balai also showed that the situation was almost similar and when food aid was distributed by the 1Malaysia Community, they came in groups to receive the supplies.

Yusof Ghani, 52, said that during the recent floods, the village was almost cut off by the flood water.

“Alhamdulillah (thank god) aid came by helicopter and we thank the government for giving the aid rather quickly,” he said. His house was submerged up to the roof, which had not happened in the area for quite some time.

In Kuala Krai town, a refrigerator was seen stuck on the rooftop of an eating shop, illustrating the severity of the flood in the area. – Bernama, December 31, 2014.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Thursday, 1 January 2015 - 5:12 pm

WHAT say Perkosa, Isma?
    Any positif action fr them?

What abt d PAS gomen?
    Still hallucinating abt hudud?
    Still saying rakyat deserved d suffering bcos NO hudud implemented?