Najib should stop being “absentee PM”, declare national economic crisis, form a bipartisan BN-PR Council for National Economic Salvation and summon emergency Parliament

(Winding-Up Speech at the DAP Gelang Patah forum “1MDB in RM42 billion debt – Is Malaysia on the Verge of Financial Turmoil” in Johor Baru on Tuesday, 16th December 2014 at 10.30 pm)

During the Q-and-A session, a member of the audience asked what should be done in the face of the multiple national crisis confronting the country.

I will make four proposals:

Firstly, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak should stop being an “absentee PM”.

Secondly, he should declare a national economic crisis to rally all Malaysians to focus on the multiple economic challenges facing the country, now that Malaysia is regarded as South East Asia’s weakest spot with the multiple plunge of forex and equity markets and current slide in prices of global crude oil and other commodities.

Thirdly, form a bipartisan Barisan Nasional-Pakatan Rakyat Council for National Economic Salvation.

Fourthly, Najib should be a Prime Minister for all Malaysians, and not for any race, religion or region. As such he should steer clear of politics and policies of exclusion and extremism and advocate politics and policies of inclusion and moderation, where every Malaysian, regardless of race, religion, region, gender, age or even political party, can unite on a common platform to save the country from the looming economic crisis.

Pakatan Rakyat parties and leaders are prepared to respond positively in any national emergency and co-operate with the Prime Minister and the UMNO/Barisan Nasional government in the national interests, transcending party and individual interests.
As 30% of the country’s spending is reliant on oil, the sharp decline of international oil prices have completed knocked off kilter the 2014 and 2015 Budgets, based on crude oil price at US$110 per barrel in 2014 and US$105 for 2015.

Najib should summon an emergency meeting of Parliament probably middle or end of January to deal with the fast-developing and deteriorating economic situation instead of waiting for the scheduled Parliamentary meeting on March 9.

The bipartisan BN-PR National Economic Salvation Council should be tasked with responsibility to present to the emergency meeting of Parliament a blueprint which could rally all Malaysians to unite and face up to the economic crisis facing the country.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 17 December 2014 - 7:53 pm

Not to make light of the smart guys in PKR and DAP about the issues such as 1MDB, falling oil prices etc. but the truth is a disaster ALREADY happened.

The low oil price that we see now is here to stay for a long time because of fundamental shift in energy industry. What this meant was that while immediately and near future we will be short of revenue, a greater DISASTER was the WASTED opportunity that high oil price should have been made to create a National Wealth Fund, that would provided for the country when oil ran out.. Our petroleum reserves are very limited by global standards and its likely given the forecast of low oil prices, there simply is no opportunity anymore to create a wealth fund for future generation..

Unless,

…The govt IMMEDIATELY stop taking revenue from Petronas and all the remaining oil money is channeled into a National Wealth Fund for post-petroleum Malaysia. This means that not only must GST go through, it also means that an gas tax would be necessary on top of it to make up for the shortfall in revenue AND severe cut in govt spending. It would be the right thing to do for future generation of Malaysian and it would reveal the COMPLETELY HOLLOWNESS of Najib’s so called “transformation”.. It would lead to pain and suffering for Malaysian especially the least fortunate of us but who asked us to dance to the tune of the Prodigal Son?

2. #2 by boh-liao on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 12:23 am

LKS macam Perkosa asking peeM n his char bor 2 stop makan angin all over d world

Anyway, within UmnoB, d long knives R out: “Quit if U love UmnoB”
    AhCheatKor’s reply: Sure I love UmnoB, but I love my stumpy char bor more n me cannot resist her secret weapons – together we jiak hong first

3. #3 by boh-liao on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 12:25 am

Life is tough
    Now MYR macam devalued
    Hand bags n diamond rings COST MORE liao
    Where got mood 2 look after 2 cabinet posts

4. #4 by boh-liao on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 12:40 am

“If you (Najib) really love Umno and BN, then it is best that you withdraw. We would like to express our heartfelt thanks for your contributions. But because of the liabilities we must bear (because of you), the best way is for you to step down.”

http://www.malaysia-chronicle.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=item&id=422962:open-warfare-breaks-out-quit-if-you-love-umno-branch-leader-tells-najib&Itemid=2#axzz3MAlnBKhl

Very polite n gentle way of saying “Get Lost” or “FO”

Lucky 4 him NO UmnoB keris was forwarded 2 him 2 do d honorable seppuku 腹切り

5. #5 by boh-liao on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 3:46 am

ABSENCE makes the heart grow fonder mah

6. #6 by Noble House on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 4:15 am

The government coffers must be running low. Those who missed out are getting impatient and are making a last ditch attempt to get Najib’s scalp before it is dried up. When that happened, we will be landed up with the Mother of all Time Bombs which Najib has been keeping away from us. Guest what then?

7. #7 by boh-liao on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 9:38 am

He NO worries mah, cos UmnoB/BN will continue 2 remain in power in GE14 n future GEs

D gerrymandering process is about 2 begin 2 create more seats dat guarantee perpetual rule by UmnoB/BN
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/feedback-not-needed-on-boundary-redrawing-elections-chief-tells-bersih

8. #8 by winstony on Thursday, 18 December 2014 - 5:16 pm

How did this country get into this shit that there is absolutely no accountability by those in charge???
    This is about the weirdest country in the whole world!!!