Dr M is biggest winner at Umno general assembly

By Koon Yew Yin
Dec 1, 2014

COMMENT Syabas Dr Mahathir Mohamad – you were undoubtedly the biggest winner at the Umno assembly meeting. Although some observers have dismissed your influence over Umno and party thinking, you knew that your finest hour was at hand. This is why, despite being sick and possibly against doctor’s orders, you made your way to the meeting.

There, surrounded by thousands of your admirers and supporters, your cup can be said to have runneth over.

You witnessed the humiliating surrender of the prime minister in his attempt to repeal the Sedition Act. How dare Najib Abdul Razak dismantle the Act which has been one of your main weapons to ensure Umno’s supremacy in the country? Is the man so ignorant of the country’s political history that he is not aware that the selective application of the Act has enabled the party to muzzle its opponents and extend the party’s shelf life?

You had repeatedly urged its retention. To see the prime minister not only put up the white flag but also announce that the Act would be further strengthened was indeed sweet satisfaction.

As for the other leading speakers in the assembly – Muhyiddin Yassin, Khairy Jamaluddin, Shahrizat Abdul Jalil and the vice-presidents (Vps) – all of them picked up on the themes and messages you have repeatedly put out in your blog site:

*Umno is the best defence against the non-Malays,

*Umno is the only guarantor of peace and security in the country,

*Malay special position and privileges cannot be questioned, and

*The New Economic Policy (NEP) needs to go on forever until Umno decides otherwise.

You had the satisfaction of hearing one of the speakers lambast Najib’s slogan of 1Malaysia. As followers of your blog will attest, you were the first to publicly criticise 1Malaysia. Clearly, Najib had introduced that slogan to supersede your Vision 2020. Imagine, he had the nerve to try to take down your Vision without so much as an “Excuse me!” That has really irked many of your supporters.

It was gratifying to hear one of the speakers at the assembly urge ‘1Melayu’ instead of ‘1Malaysia’. Serves Najib right for not consulting you on 1Malaysia!

Some observers have been surprised that the Umno president did not have it easy at the assembly meeting. But they forget your power and hold over the delegates. You have pointed out that you yourself “was advised to not criticise openly” and in your own words pointed out that “I had given my criticisms repeatedly behind closed doors, especially on bumiputera and Umno problems.”

But it did not work. So you have been forced to criticise openly and to advise the delegates to do the same.

Of course, the onslaught against the BN’s attempt at reform – any reform – policies should not have been unexpected. As patron of Perkasa – some say ‘godfather’ but that’s blasphemous – you had agreed to open the meeting a few days before the Umno assembly meeting so as to show the way on how to protect and ensure Malay rights.

Strategy worked brilliantly

That strategy worked brilliantly. Perkasa is now the tail wagging the dog. The Perkasa agenda is now Umno’s agenda. No Umno delegate or leader will dare to open his mouth too wide on Malay rights or racial and religious issues without getting Perkasa’s approval or prior sanction. Government agencies will have to give priority to Perkasa’s recommendations or they will be denounced as anti-national.

And Perkasa leaders, and other Malay/Islamic leaders can continue to burn Bibles, threaten the opposition parties, belittle other religions, and engage in actions to protect Malay and Islamic special position and rights. After all they are all sheltering under the great man and Malay hero’s umbrella and they know that, protected by Dr Mahathir’s patronage, they are immune from prosecution and the reach of any law in the country.

Congratulations again Dr Mahathir.

And sorry, Malaysians who are not Umno or Perkasa members, as our former prime minister has always reminded us – “I did it my way!” And his way is the only way – ask the former prime minister, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, and the present one if you do not believe it.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 12:31 am

Some1 mooed dat a “2% shift in voter support” would cause UmnoB/BN 2 lose in d next GE (n also kill dat some1’s chance 2 b d next peeM)
    Y limit it 2 “2% shift in voter support”?
    Y indeed
    Rakyat should MAKE SURE there WILL B AT LEAST 2% shift
    Make it at least 5% or more shift n BURY UmnoB, ABU n RIP

2. #2 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 12:32 am

AhCheatKor openly admitted dat pro-UmnoB bloggers are funded by UmnoB
    Really? Funded by UmnoB or rakyat $ through PMO?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 12:40 am

OMG, an UmnoB’s serf CONFIRMed his serfhood by saying dat d BOSS is ALWAYS correct
    No wonder, his two hands always hv a coconut n a bottle
    Always YA n Betul – so blardi SAD n pathetic

4. #4 by worldpress on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 8:18 am

They can not Survival without the NON-Malay contribution.

Even at the time solved racial problem, they be EXTREMIST rise up.

Non-Malay have contributed in balancing and building up this nation and peace.

They can not Survival without the NON-Malay contribution.

5. #5 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 8:21 am

At nearly 90, what happen when he has to say good-bye? Would any of his family carry on his plan? Hardly so, by even Malaysian-UMNO yard stick! We all just have to wait!

6. #6 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 8:57 am

D old liar better live till a time he could personally witness d collapse of d corrupt empire he manipulated (in d name of Malay) 2 build 4 a selected grp of rakyat
    4 him 2 KICK d bucket b4 dat time would b a too easy exit route 4 him

7. #7 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 9:14 am

CAN UmnoB/BN b trusted?
    Former CPM kaki would say a BIG FAT “NO, NO, NO”
    Thai gomen MORE credible than UmnoB/BN gomen

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 9:26 am

Najib desperation to cling on a flimsy strand of tightrope he has been walking on proves beyond a shadow of a doubt Tunku was right about Mahathir.

Mahathir is the winner at UMNO Baru GA but he has lost the war, TUNKU, only even more confirmed at the GA as THE GREAT LEADER of real UMNO merely wait to collect his dues in history..UMNO Baru is rubbish and stinks everything they touch as proven by the GA and in the end, they will say its because of Mahathir..

9. #9 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 9:30 am

Thanks 2 UmnoB/BN, Malaysia’s ringgit behaving like our former national airline
    Sinking n disappearing fast
    Still UmnoB kaki veri proud 2 announce dat our CORRUPTION STILL low compared 2 some other nations
    Wow, BAD news indeed – cos dis means dat there is MORE room 4 MORE corruption by UmnoB kaki ……… Sh!t

Any rakyat, if fortunate enuf 2 hv savings, keeps d savings ONLY in RM will most likely live 2 REGRET d decision
    Better start convert some RM 2 other more stable n valuable currencies, an example is SGD

10. #10 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 9:47 am

Goggle: 1 USD = RM3.431, 1 SGD = RM2.63
    Go figure out d logic (or NO logic) of keeping savings in RM
    Instead of ENRICHING rakyat, UmnoB/BN impoverish rakyat, while enriching themselves n their cronies
    Rakyat NO need 2 do anything – just having RM oredi getting POORER n poorer each day
    Rakyat who hv 2 support their children’s overseas education or plan 2 hv vacation abroad WILL immediately feel d PAIN
    BIG FAT PAIN

Voters who voted 4 UmnoB/BN in GE13 n who feel d PAIN now, plz say TQ 2 yourselves

11. #11 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 9:57 am

Amazing!
    Still got some1 who asked ‘Is Umno that despicable?’
    Is d teapot a blogger paid by UmnoB?

12. #12 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 10:15 am

Hv U heard d DRUM dat goes: KADANG, kadang, KADANG, kadang, KADANG, kadang, KADANG, kadang, ………..?

13. #13 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 2 December 2014 - 10:29 am

After kena sued, former inspector-general of police apologised 4 a defamatory statement against a citizen

Dis shows d QUALITY (or rather lousy Q) of a TOP civil servant in dis 1DERful land
    Dis 1 was not only a top civil servant, but was also entrusted 2 lead a force 2 maintain order, uphold n protect justice n truth, etc
    Yet, he DEFAMED some1

Now rakyat know Y dis 1DERful land is in a MESS
    Can TRUST mata2 aah?