I will ask Teresa to withdraw and apologise for the “Onderful Malaysia” video if anyone can show that there is any part which is anti-Malay or anti-Islam

I am most surprised by the furore over DAP National Vice Chairman and MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok’s “Onederful Malaysia CNY 2014” video which has highlighted the political desperation of some quarters and the rank political opportunism of others.

We can agree or disagree as to whether Teresa’s video was good, bad or even atrocious; most appropriate in giving vent to the people’s heart-felt grievances about the price hikes, low educational standards, worries about security because of rising crime and rampant corruption in the country or whether it is in poor taste and not befitting the work of a Member of Parliament; but what is completely unacceptable is resort to lies and falsehoods to accuse Teresa’s video as anti-Malay and anti-Islam.

I have seen Teresa’s video a few times because of the allegations that it is anti-Malay and anti-Islam, and although I have gone through the video with great care and attention, I cannot find any part of the video – a stinging critique on the failures of the Najib government to resolve the many pressing problems in the country – which could be regarded as anti-Malay or anti-Islam.

I will ask Teresa to withdraw and apologise for the “Onederful Malaysia” video if anyone can can show there is any part which is anti-Malay and anti-Islam.

This is because the DAP is a Malaysian-centred party serving the interests of all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, and we will not condone any action which is anti-Malay, anti-Chinese, anti-Indian, anti-Kadazan or anti-Iban or anti any religion because to be anti-Malay, anti-Chinese, anti-Indian, anti-Kadazan or anti-Iban is to do the greatest disservice to the cause of Malaysia and the fulfilment of the Malaysian Dream.

This is why I am outraged by two Ministers today, firstly by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who dismissed the RM1,200 reward offered by the self-styled “Council of Islamic NGOs” to anyone who slaps Teresa, saying “there is nothing (for police) to investigate as it is not a threat”, which is a repudiation of his oath as Home Minister to uphold the rule of law.

What is even more shocking, it appears to be a directive to the police not to investigate the scores of police reports which had been lodged by DAP and Pakatan Rakyat MPs, State Assembly members and leaders against the “Council of Islamic NGOs” for a slew of crimes, such as criminal intimidation, sedition, incitement of violence against woman, incitement of violence against Member of Parliament, incitement of racial and religious hatred causing another May 13 riots, etc.

I want to ask the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar whether the police is subjected to the directives of the Home Minister whether it is to investigate police reports lodged by elected representatives or not? And where does the law says that the Home Minister has such powers over the police? If not, isn’t the Home Minister illegally usurping the powers and duties of the police?

Zahid is setting a terribly bad example in upholding the rule of law.

I am still waiting for Zahid to answer my question earlier today whether he is advocating the law of the jungle to replace the rule of law, and secondly, whether it is now perfectly lawful and permissible for demonstrations to be held throughout the country to announce bounties whether RM1,200, RM1,500 or RM2,000 for anyone who could produce evidence of having slapped the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister or the Home Minister?

The second Minister I am most outraged today is the Minister for Housing and Urban Wellbeing, Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan, who quoted the saying “You reap what you sow” on the threats to Teresa by the self-styled “Council of Islamic NGOs.

In a series of tweets, Abdul Rahman said Teresa should not play victim when threatened by Muslim groups.

He made the preposterous allegation that DAP had “relentlessly attacked the position of Malays and Muslims”.

He tweeted: “Maybe the DAP don’t understand. To Malays, insulting the Agong and Islam is more painful and degrading than a slap.

“Since 2008, the DAP has relentlessly attacked the position of Malays and Islam. When there is a reaction from Malays, the DAP acts as if they are victims. Crazy!”

Abdul Rahman should be completely ashamed of himself for being a racist through and through when he should be setting an example as a Minister for all Malaysians – even without mentioning the 1Malaysia policy advocated by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

Abdul Rahman was telling a pack of lies when he alleged that the DAP had “since 2008…relentlessly attacked the position of Malays and Islam” and had even “insulted” the Yang di Pertuan Agong and Islam, for these allegations and lies are completely untrue.

Abdul Rahman should be a more responsible Minister as he should not be making wild and reckless allegations which he could not substantiate, and he should not be telling lies and falsehoods.

Or has Abdul Rahman joined the ranks of the political desperadoes in Umno, who are prepared to make wild allegations they cannot prove and resort to the most heinous and despicable lies and falsehoods to serve their petty political ends.

The furore over Teresa’s video has also exposed another group of opportunistic politicians in MCA, Gerakan and the LDP, who are prepared to tell another type of lies and falsehoods – seeking to convince leaders in UMNO that the Mandarin and Cantonese dialogue in Teresa’s video is anti-Malay and anti-Islam although this is completely untrue.

Is there anyone among the top leadership of MCA, Gerakan and LDP who is prepared to tell the truth that there is no basis to the allegations and lies that Teresa’s video is anti-Malay and anti-Islam?

(Speech at the Pakatan Rakyat Chinese New Year Open House in Tawau on Saturday, 8th February 2014 at 9 pm)

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 9 February 2014 - 7:45 pm

Y NO sound fr ROS on d threat 2 violence of d “Council of Islamic NGOs”

2. #2 by tak tahan on Sunday, 9 February 2014 - 10:22 pm

Bumno kangkung leaders believe most Malays cannot understand and judge the contents of Teresa’s video.This is more the reason why an opportunity for them to spread the lies as anti-Malay and anti-Islam.Worst still the supposed wannabe Chinese representative MCA feel the racial and religion strife are still manageable and no May13 will ever happen under this kangkung government,so by helping those kangkung loving retards to batu api the race and religion issue to score some brownie points.Wannabe ministers in the waiting list lor.MCA can now stand tall to join the rank of En Ridhuan Tee.Potong kuku and can now use A@lah word already.Clap clap clap.Tomorrow LTL will publicly announce MCA as Malay Celup [email protected] seh liau..

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 9 February 2014 - 11:09 pm

” … anti-Malay or anti-Islam … ”, ” anti-Royalty”, ”hurt their sensitivities and feelings” etc etc.

These are the standard complains in each and every police report lodged on anything the sensitive and easily confused people don’t like or don’t understand. This should be clear by now. No iota of proof is required nor do they need to furnish any evidence at all. Just lodge police reports and waste the Police’s time and resources. Just like the many thousands of nuisance and false 999 police calls. This has become our ‘tradition’.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Monday, 10 February 2014 - 10:01 am

Supremacist and Haters don’t need proof of their accusation. Mahathir himself recently made accusation of the “Allah” issue based on NOT on the full facts but his interpretation of partial facts – those that are convenient for his accusations and ignore the glaring disprove..

As far as they are concern, just having someone Malay as the butt of any joke is being anti-Malay, anti-Islam etc – don’t even have to be an UMNO pseudo-Malay..Its their “right” or “ketuanan” etc..

5. #5 by boh-liao on Monday, 10 February 2014 - 10:24 am

Teresa WILL NEVER withdraw n apologise 4 d “Onderful Malaysia” video
    Y? Bcos there is NO SUCH video

Onederful Malaysia video GOT, but NO Onderful Malaysia video what

6. #6 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 10 February 2014 - 3:09 pm

Oh dont we all know this already?

Yeah.

It is typical umno public orgy, alright.

Not nice, umno.

Not nice, at all.

In fact, it is quite quite awful.

Next time do it behind closed door ok?

No more mass open orgy in public.

No more and not nice.

BTW, kangkung belacan is better.

7. #7 by fairobserver on Monday, 10 February 2014 - 6:54 pm

I was wondering why you asked Lee Khai Loon to apologise but did not ask Teresa to do the same. Can you please enlighten us as to the crucial difference between the two? If you thought that there was ‘nothing wrong with what Lee Khai Loon did’, but were merely ‘concerned that certain people out to create trouble would distort the situation and label it anti-Malay’ when you suggested an apology from Lee, wouldn’t a similar reasoning lead to a suggestion that Teresa should consider apologising?

8. #8 by fairobserver on Monday, 10 February 2014 - 6:56 pm

According to
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/dap-wants-pkr-rep-to-apologise-for-kangkung-flash-mob-says-it-could-lead-to, you think that Lee Khai Loon’s flashmob was ‘excessive, offensive and insensitive’. Can you explain why you think that it was ‘excessive, offensive and insensitive’? Is it because it was mocking a national leader (who happened to be a Malay Muslim) while highlighting an issue of national interest? If you think that mocking a national leader constitutes ‘excessiveness, offensiveness, and insensitivity’, don’t you think that Teresa’s video has these characteristics as well, given that national leaders are mocked while she highlights issues of national interest?