Director admits Tanda Putera a work of fiction, defends controversial scenes

by Hasbullah Awang Chik
August 24, 2013

The director of the controversial film Tanda Putera, which has upset the opposition, now admits it is a fictional account of events surrounding the May 13 racial riots.

Datin Paduka Shuhaimi Baba said her film is an interpretation of historical events derived from multiple opinions.

She explained that after certain parties strongly objected to a scene where a character urinated at a flagpole in front of the house of a former Selangor menteri besar, she edited the scene to tone it down.

“I made some slight edits of the scene. There were words that I removed. That scene was acted out according to those who were present at that time.

“I had to make sure I could fit in most of the opinions collected into a two-hour movie. Of course, not all of the responses we got could be enacted in the film.

“It is tough for me to throw away scenes that are called sensitive. If I have to follow the opinions of everyone then the first 20 minutes of the film depicting incidents of 13 May would not even be there. So I have to defend my work,” she told The Malaysian Insider today.

Suhaimi’s admission that the film is a fictional account of events is a comedown from her stand at the film’s premiere this week where she asked the public to give the film a chance since it is about the nation’s history based on “true stories”.

The film is set to start its run in local cinemas on August 29.

“That incident did happen but no one could identify who was the one who did it,” Shuhaimi said in reference to the urinating scene, which purportedly portrayed a young Lim Kit Siang, now the DAP adviser.

Shuhaimi said the movie showed the friendship between two leaders, then prime minister Tun Abdul Razak and his deputy, Tun Dr Ismail Abdul Rahman, and how they faced the challenge of developing the country while battling racial tensions and their health problems.

Shuhaimi said she did not feel any scenes in the movie were too radical and described the protests of DAP leaders as a political gimmick.

The director said that it was Kit Siang himself who took offence and felt that the scene depicted him.

On Thursday, The Malaysian Insider reported that DAP had urged Tanda Putera’s producers to declare the film a fictitious work.

DAP national publicity secretary Tony Pua said the film would provoke anger and racial tension.

Last year, Lim criticised the production company when it uploaded a photograph of him being arrested by the police, with a caption “Lim Kit Siang urinating on the flagpole at the home of Selangor Menteri Besar” on the film’s official Facebook page.

It was later removed after the company received numerous complaints. – August 24, 2013.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 24 August 2013 - 10:49 pm

So the government financed RM 5 million to come up with a fiction movie – 99% fiction, 1% real. Which part is the real part ?

So you cannot sue them for a work of fiction.

2. #2 by buylower2003 on Saturday, 24 August 2013 - 11:54 pm

Yeah, Rosmah also has a fiction book about some diamond…

Maybe some director can make another 1%fiction 99%real movie about Altantuya?

3. #3 by yhsiew on Saturday, 24 August 2013 - 11:56 pm

I don’t know what has gone wrong with Malaysian talent. We have leaders who copied other people’s slogan and a movie director who created a fictitious documentary film.

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 6:48 am

Can someone make a 99% fiction movie about UMNO’s complicity in the Japanese Occupation of British Malaya?

Aiya, add some scenes where UMNO members fiddled whilst “peace-loving” Japanese beheaded some Malayan patriots for good measure.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 8:19 am

Ha, ha, what a great confession!
    She aims to compete for the BEST DIRECTOR of the fiction movie category
    Her follow up fiction movie projects with financial support fr d UmnoB gomen are:
    “WHO killed Altantuya Shaariibuu”
    “Sodomy rules, OK! The confession of Saiful”
    She welcomes ideas fr fellow M’sians 4 her 2 include in her plots to spice up her movies, lagi syiok, lagi best

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 8:26 am

So, if someone says Cheng Ho arriving in Melaka means Malaysia belongs to China, she will make a movie of it?

7. #7 by boh-liao on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 8:37 am

Surely PR can also get a creative director 2 produce some fiction movies too
    Possible movie titles:
    “The face that launched a thousand hand bags”
    “Diamond are a fat lady of Malaysia’s best friend”
    “To be or not to be sodomised, that is the question”
    “LOOK, its a bird, its a plane, NO its someone dropping from MACC HQ”
    “The magic of postal votes in the GEs”

8. #8 by bennylohstocks on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 10:34 am

• #9 by Di Shi Jiu on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 12:57 pm

bennylohstocks,

Hey, you stole my line!! :)

• #10 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 26 August 2013 - 8:52 am

I did about three toons altogether in my website with the same title months ago. This one (is a link) and also a title of my latest toon done days ago. Click on the title in red to find out.

• #11 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 26 August 2013 - 8:57 am

Sorry this is the 2nd last toon done in Nov 10 2012 at 9.05, there is also another one done past few days

9. #12 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:31 am

Maybe the following announcement might be appropriate before the movie starts:

DISCLAIMOUR

THE FOLLOWING MOVIE IS A WORK OF FICTION. IT IS BASED ON THE DIRECTOR’S DEPICTION AND IMAGINATIONS OF WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED IN 1969 AND THEREAFTER BASED ON HERESAY, COFFE-SHOP TALK AND OTHER UNVERIFIED AND UNDOCUMENTED SOURCES.

THE DIRECTOR AND THE PRODUCERS TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY TOWARD INCIDENTS THAT MAY ARISE FROM VIEWING THIS ‘WORK OF ART’, ESPECIALLY FROM THOSE WHO MIGHT BE EXTREMELY SENSITIVE AND EASILY OFFENDED AND RUN AMOK IN THE THEATRE OR OUTSIDE.

VIEWERS DISCRETION IS THEREFORE ADVISED AND YOU ARE ADVISED TO TAKE THE NECESSARY PRECAUTIONS.

ENJOY!

10. #13 by negarawan on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:32 am

Saudara LKS, you must take legal action against the producers and investors of this film. Fair-minded Malaysians will support you all the way. This film is not about history but about UMNO dirty politics. Most fair-minded Malaysians will abhor UMNO even more with the screening of this film for propagating lies and hatred to suit their selfish political interests.

11. #14 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:34 am

Maybe the following announcement might be appropriate before the movie starts:

DISCLAIMOUR

THE FOLLOWING MOVIE IS A WORK OF FICTION. IT IS BASED ON THE DIRECTOR’S DEPICTION AND IMAGINATIONS OF WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED IN 1969 AND THEREAFTER BASED ON HERESAY, COFFE-SHOP TALK AND OTHER UNVERIFIED AND UNDOCUMENTED SOURCES.

THE DIRECTOR AND THE PRODUCERS TAKE NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY UNTOWARD INCIDENTS THAT MAY ARISE FROM VIEWING THIS ‘WORK OF ART’, ESPECIALLY FROM THOSE WHO MIGHT BE EXTREMELY SENSITIVE AND EASILY OFFENDED AND RUN AMOK IN THE THEATRE OR OUTSIDE.

VIEWERS DISCRETION IS THEREFORE ADVISED AND YOU ARE ADVISED TO TAKE THE NECESSARY PRECAUTIONS.

ENJOY!

12. #15 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:42 am

At the end of the ‘fictional movie’, the following announcement might also be made:

WE HOPE YOU HAVE ENJOYED OUR FICTIONAL MOVIE.

WE HOPE YOU ARE NOW BETTER INFORMED ABOUT OUR NATION’S HISTORY. WE HOPE YOU ARE STILL SANE.

ANY FABRICATION THAT WE HAVE MADE, WHICH IS A LOT, IS PURELY OUR WORK OF ART AND SHOULD NOT BE BASED UPON IN ANSWERING YOUR HISTORY EXAMS.

HAVE A SAFE JOURNEY HOME.

MERDEKA !

13. #16 by Abba Mama on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:52 am

And of coz Kit Siang would not publish my comment as you are confirmed as super ultra racist chinese with communist mindset. You pretend to be a Christian but your action is more towards satanic teaching. You have never admit of being wrong as compare to your number one enemy Tun Dr Mahathir. Shamed on you !

14. #19 by sotong on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 11:52 am

The election is over and she made her money.

No harm admitting it is a fiction or inaccurate now.

15. #20 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 12:13 pm

Well the damage has already been done a year ago.

Now the government wants its RM 5 million back with profit of course.

All these are just marketing gimmicks to create public curiosity to want to watch this C-grade fictional movie.

Anybody got the director’s uncut original version from the pasar malam yet ?

16. #21 by undertaker888 on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 12:43 pm

According to some sources…. Why don’t her put that in the scene? Stupid director. There’s only one reason why that urinating scene was put in. To stir up division amongst the young. To make sure the young voters vote bank will favor the regime. That’s all to it.

Some people called themselves Paduka. When it comes to money they will stoop so low to create lies. Should call themselves derhaka instead. Tanda Putrid.

17. #22 by Di Shi Jiu on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 1:10 pm

Hm, so if I create a fictional film about the May 13 riots which depicts a person, who looks like Mahatir, defecating on the Jalur Gemilang, I cannot be accused of inciting racial hatred or insulting my flag.

Or maybe, that person, who looks like Mahatir, should be urinating on the flag?

Thank you for the information, Shuhaimi Baba.

18. #23 by boh-liao on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 1:38 pm

Dis is d TRUE COLOR of UmnoB, always ready 2 work with no-principle kaki (be it a newspaper editor or a movie director) 2 spread lies n more RACIST lies 2 polarise d nation n 2 propagate hatred, hoping 2 incite some ppl 2 run amok n 2 start riots
    In dis case, actively promoting a racist movie dat has been openly admitted as a product of wild imagination, fiction, n a pack of lies
    How come MCA, Gerakan, MIC etc SO QUIET, no sound fr them – in collusion with UmnoB 2 destroy d peace, harmony n stability of dis nation

19. #24 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 2:46 pm

More than anything else, the fact they not only insist on going ahead with the screening, but they insist on keeping what they already admitted to be lies and excuse themselves, prove Mahathirism is a cancer on this nation and the patient could be terminal.. It proves Najib is so very wrong about ‘taking even a generation’ to reform UMNO..

You don’t treat cancer by saying ‘maybe its not too bad’. You don’t take the disease lightly..You cut it out, pour poison on it even if it kills the body and healthy parts of your body – even if it kills you..

20. #25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 5:09 pm

I didn’t know creative licence is an excuse and justification/defence against a charge of sedition for creating ‘fictional’ stories that incite races. Now I know better.

21. #26 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 5:17 pm

///A feature film by Namewee, “Kara King”, and the Film Censorship Board have drawn the ire of Umno mouthpiece Utusan Malaysia for a scene where the lead character accidentally urinates on a Malay couple.///- Malaysian Insider ‘AUGUST 25,”.

Well this is fictional account of events by Namewee – any different from fictional account of Datin Paduka Shuhaimi Baba’s film Tanda Putera?

Any rational difference why Censorship Board should take action of fictional account of Namewee but not Shuhaimi Baba???

22. #27 by boh-liao on Sunday, 25 August 2013 - 7:07 pm

Dis piece of Tandas (lies n pure lies) was specially screened 4 selected Malay grps just b4 d last GE
    Why? Obviously 2 generate hatred against DAP n PR amg d audience n 2 misled d audience 2 vote 4 UmnoB n Perkosa

23. #28 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Monday, 26 August 2013 - 8:47 am

Endless possibilities.
    Malaysia boleh.
    WTF!

24. #29 by bennylohstocks on Monday, 26 August 2013 - 9:03 am

25. #30 by good coolie on Wednesday, 28 August 2013 - 11:22 am

“Fiction. Work of Art. Acha saja. Ambil berat pula!” (quotation of “Fiction of May 13”, by Suhaimi Baba).