In the dog house for being kind

– Shenaaz Khan
August 01, 2013

The arrest of dog trainer Maznah Mohd Yusuf is appalling and reflects the flimsy fabric of the Malaysian Muslim faith.

The contention that the act of walking a dog past a mosque and washing its paws are akin to burning the Quran is ludicrous and displays a dreadful disposition towards dogs.

The chorus of outrage led by seven NGO’s i.e. Pertubuhan Martabat Jalinan Muhibbah Malaysia (MJMM), Selangor State NGO Secretariat, Malay Army Veterans Association (PVTM), Badan Amal Tarbiah Sejagat Malaysia (BATAS), Pak Long Nusantara, Cahaya Haluan Amanah Insan Malaysia and Ikatan Rakyat Insan Muslim Malaysia (IRIMM) exhibits the abysmal ignorance of Muslim “champions” in this country.

This clan have clearly vacated their minds of knowledge and dogged it with doctrine.

Hitherto the video, these sinless soldiers have remained silent on almost all other un-Islamic practises. They appear to not be “insulted” by some Muslim men collecting wives as if they were stamps, leaving many women and children in a state of destitution.

They are certainly not “insulted” by how corporations and hotels have turned the humble act of fasting into a feasting fiesta of gluttony! And rape and incest by their brethren is mere kitchen matter, unworthy of their divine intervention.

Yet, this harmless video has compelled them to don their guerrilla garbs and Ray bans and start their pilgrimage up the pavement of righteousness!

Believing themselves to be vastly superior to others, these virtuous vigilantes had the audacity to state that Maznah had “committed a grievous insult towards all Muslims in Malaysia”.

Well dear feckless NGO’s, I am a Malaysian Muslim and I am NOT INSULTED by Maznah’s actions. I am however insulted by extremist routinely ploughing my sensibilities with their “sensitivities”.

And I am repulsed further by how quickly the authorities went wildly out of control to persecute Maznah, yet remain apathetic to brutal animal abuses.

And why have the Ministry of Agriculture and Agro-based Industry and the Department of Veterinary Services, the self proclaimed animal welfare crusaders, remained silent on this ridiculous fiasco?

While they use the new Animal Welfare Bill as a tool to publicise their efforts in combating animal cruelty, have they made it known that this new law does not preclude animals unacceptable to a faith? Should they not applaud Maznah’s treatment of animals and encourage others to do the same?

Malaysia’s legacy for animal cruelty is set to outlast the sun. Animal abusers, wildlife traffickers and repugnant zoo operators and pet breeders still evade justice and continue to roam our streets but a kind, animal-loving person like Maznah is hauled up, finger-printed, mug-shotted and chucked in jail to pander to religious zealots!

Using Section 298A of the Penal Code for causing disharmony on the grounds of religion clearly reflect the inability of the authorities to make a distinction between Islamic principles and Muslim prejudices.

And while there appears to be a crime wave in this country, animal lovers are being assailed by the authorities for promoting unity, tolerance and animal welfare!

This madness must cease. Maznah should be commended not condemned. She has committed no crime and therefore must be released.

* Shenaaz Khan is president of the Malaysian Animal Welfare Society.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 10:31 pm

I have gone over this thing about dogs in Islam and somethings feels terribly wrong about so many people getting all worked up about it. At the core of the issue is one single word in the Hadith followed by extremely elaborate explanation that many Muslims finds confusing of the issue in Islam.

Something feel terribly terribly wrong and UMNO politician including no less than Muhiyiddin behaviour is COMPLETELY RECKLESS & IRRESPONSIBLE..

2. #2 by tak tahan on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 10:50 pm

I would rather have dog representatives in cabinet if you could train them well..you know?????

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 11:31 pm

Can someone in authority, in the know, tell me where it is stated in the holy book, that dogs are unclean and should be shunned? Or is it just someone’s idea and it caught on ?

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 11:50 pm

All things bright and beautiful,

All creatures great and small,

All things wise and wonderful,

The Lord God made them all.

– Cecil Frances Alexander

5. #5 by rjbeee on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 11:55 pm

Where this PVTM rats all this while..Looks like a cari makan group….waiting for handouts

6. #6 by rjbeee on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 11:56 pm

When the PVTM rats where in the jungle what where eating when ration run out…………

7. #7 by rjbeee on Thursday, 1 August 2013 - 11:58 pm

Hello PVTM, don’t disgrace the Army, showing your back to some one, now this, cari makan kah, waiting for contracts…..complain never get contracts……..

8. #8 by yhsiew on Friday, 2 August 2013 - 1:55 am

The arrest of dog trainer Maznah Mohd Yusuf is appalling and reflects the kind of “perverted” democracy the country practices. Innocent Maznah Mohd Yusuf is a victim of “perverted” democracy.

9. #9 by bryanbb on Friday, 2 August 2013 - 2:41 am

And the real culprit who reposted the video with the inflammatory title” video hina Islam” is left alone, when it was obviously the title that provoked anger. That will qualify as sedition in any book.
    All faiths teaches that the essence of God’s law is justice, compassion, and mercy. Clearly lacking here that can mean that when human beings abused it, it deforms into becoming what is at odds with the beauty that is God’s nature.

10. #10 by tuahpekkong on Friday, 2 August 2013 - 3:29 pm

The DPM has made a vitriolic attack on the none-Malays even before establishing the facts. This gives the needed impetus to a myriad of Malay/Muslim NGOs to join in the fray, just to give people the impression that they are championing the Muslim cause and to steal some publicity. If these people can channel their extra energy to fight social ills such as corruption, crime and Mat Rempit, our country will be a much better place to live in.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Friday, 2 August 2013 - 4:15 pm

Now that the powerful have found out she is Muslim, slowly but surely they are sweeping the matter under the carpet – letting her go without condition. They are still heckling but not about her anymore. Is there any doubt if the she was NOT Malay the vitriol would only have reached ever new fever pitch..

The entire incident is so Keralawood, and UMNO and their zealots really belongs in Kerala not this country..

12. #12 by Adeline on Friday, 2 August 2013 - 5:18 pm

Malaysia’s legacy for animal cruelty is set to outlast the sun. I had initially read it as “Maznah’s legacy for animal cruelty (welfare) is set to outlast the sun.”

13. #13 by good coolie on Saturday, 3 August 2013 - 12:01 am

We hear a lot about ‘butt-kissers”, but do you know that dogs are “butt-sniffers”? They come into contact with the butts of other dogs and “smell” them. Some dog, like some humans, are butt-lickers, too.

These animals perform a ritual after defecating: they kick their legs backwards as if they are covering their faeces. What perfunctoriness!

Still, I love dogs. If I die, my dog (if I had one) would howl at my grave. My cat (If I had one) would just say, “Me No Care, Me Go Find Another Guy. Me Me Me, Meeow”.