1-Day Countdown to 13GE Polling Day – Coming-of-Age of Malaysian Dream, with PR campaigning on “hope” while BN campaigning on “fear”

Let the 13th General Elections tomorrow mark the coming-of-age of the Malaysian Dream, uniting Malaysians regardless of race, religion or region, in a common national vision and destiny to build a more united, democratic, free, just, competitive and prosperous nation for all Malaysian citizens.

In my 47 years in politics, I have always regarded myself as a Malaysian first and last. I have never regarded myself purely as a Chinese, but as a Malaysian of Chinese ethnic descent whose loyalty is unswervingly to the Malaysian nation, having common cause with all Malaysians regardless of race, religion or region to build a better Malaysia for all Malaysians.

Loyalty to the Malaysian nation is however not the same as loyalty to the government of the day.

It is a complete misunderstanding and misperception of the meaning of “loyalty” for the caretaker Prime Minister and Barisan Nasional leaders to equate support of the government-coalition of the day with loyalty to the nation.

Najib talks of wanting to make Malaysia the best democracy in the world, but he does not understand that it is sheer heresy in any meaningful or accepted democratic nation to equate support for the ruling party with loyalty to the country – for it negates the very meaning of the right of the electorate to periodically choose the government they want in general elections.

Malaysians who reject UMNO and the Barisan Nasional are not disloyal to Malaysia but are patriotic Malaysians exercising their constitutional and democratic right to vote and help decide the political future of the country because they have a different but very legitimate vision on what is best for Malaysia from those of UMNO/BN.

When will Najib and the UMNO/BN leaders learn and accept this rudimentary understanding of a parliamentary democracy?

In the 15-day 13GE elections, Pakatan Rakyat campaigned on hope and the politics of the future in contrast to Barisan Nasional campaign to instil fear among the the different races with completely different messages to perpetuate the racial and corrupt politics of the past.

The three trump cards of the BN campaign in the 15-day campaign period are:

1. Money, Money, Money.

2. Lies, Lies, Lies.

3. Fear, Fear, Fear.

Fifty-six years after Merdeka in 1957 and 10 general elections, the time has come for Malaysians to say good-bye to the UMNO/BN politics of the past.

Najib boasts of “transformation” but he has taken the three Umno/BN trump cards of “Money Money Money”, “Lies Lies Lies” and “Fear Fear Fear” to a new level, with the politics of money, lies and fear in the 13GE putting previous general elections to shame!

Yesterday, Betty Chew wife of Lim Guan Eng, Penang Chief Minister, led 100 Penangites in a “going bald” ceremony to express their anger, outrage and disgust with Najib’s “Money Money Money” campaign outsourced to individual tycoons and today 55 persons in South Johor (signifying 5th May, Polling Day) went bald in support of the Penang protest and to register a clear message – that not just Chinese and Penangites, but all Malaysians regardless of race and religion all over the country are angry and outraged by the indecent, disgraceful and disgusting “Money Money Money” campaign of Najib in the 13GE.

The Umno/BN triple campaign of “Money Money Money”, “Lies Lies Lies” and “Fear Fear Fear” have still to reach their full climax of show their full deviousness and evilness.

It has been bruited, for instance, that financiers of UMNO/BN have prepared a special fund to tempt and buy over successful Pakatan Rakyat candidates in the 13GE tomorrow – RM10 million for each PR MP elected and RM5 million for each PR State Assemblyman elected.

Has the UMNO/BN’s “Money Money Money”, “Lies Lies Lies” and “Fear Fear Fear” plumbed to a new low in the 13GE in the next 48 hours?

This itself justifies the call for “UBAH” in the May 5 general elections!

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 5:27 pm

Honestly it was surreal watching Najib keep repeating the things that has been failing all along..Its almost unbelievable to watch someone who in so high in office keep doing basically the classic management mistake of repeating failures and smiling away unconvincingly while doing them..

There are some jobs that winning does not mean everything. How you do your jobs, whether you get satisfactions out of it, whether you made and impact and leave something behind. The top leadership of a country is one of this job..Tunku understood this best of all such that even though he left his job reluctantly he was comforted and still does that what he left behind is remembered and still relevant until today..

Najib never got it, he simply makes no real difference fundamentally – only provided cosmetic for what was already established. No one will ever remember what he has done years from now. He is simply forgetable…1Msia, ETP, BR1m etc they will be jokes in the future, not things people will respect if remembered at all..

2. #2 by yhsiew on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 5:54 pm

It is said that the tycoon is now rounding up old voters at Air Putih Penang into 1Malaysia office to send them on free excursion to Haadyai. Their fingers have to be inked in the office before the trip. There is also money for them after the trip. Hope that is not our EFP money!!!

3. #3 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 6:49 pm

Ou bigger fear is the bankrupting of the nation and the future of our children and grandchildren. Do it now. Change now or never.

4. #4 by Winston on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 7:46 pm

When will Najib and the UMNO/BN leaders learn and accept this rudimentary understanding of a parliamentary democracy? – End of quote

The most striking difference between UMNO/BN and the PR is their raison d’etre.
    The former want to continue to be in power just for the sake of robbing the nation and enslaving its people.
    And all the institutions have been bent to serve this purpose.
    While the latter is for the betterment of the people in every aspect.
    So, choosing between the two shouldn’t be a problem at all!!

5. #5 by innocent on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 8:04 pm

I am just a normal human being! Aged less than 30, I am able to see what’s going on ATM in Malaysia! Listening to the speech by PKR members, that’s really inspiring! I see hope, I see change , and I see Unity! Thanks PKR! I am feeling useless as I can’t do anything for Malaysia! I am hoping all the Malaysian are able to see what i see – the hard works everyone has been putting in with the same One AIM that’s UBAH! It’s obviously with this current government, the country has been a mess ! Everything has been going down slowly! There’s no improvement, no change but just continuously degrading ! Just a thought what would happen if they were still in power for another five years ! We don’t have another five years ! Everything has to change now now! Remember there’s no diff between Malays, Chinese, Indian, we are all one ! We are all MAlaysia! By listening to the speech from PKR members, I am so proud to tell everyone that i am Malaysian rather than Chinese Malaysian ! We always use (Chinese or malay or Indian) that’s the cause from our current stupid government! This is indeed their purpose trying to stir us up! We all should stand up/voice up tell them we are all one Malaysian! Enough is enough! The current government has to be wiped of ! They are incapable! As this guy mahathir said Asia needs a strong leader! I think they (BN) is the worst leader ever in the history! Everything seem degrading ! No improvement ! Please think before u vote! They (BN) cant be there for another five years! it will be a disaster! Malaysia really need a change ! We are all one ! Lets hold hand to hand , vote for a better future! better government! Better Malaysia ! Lets ubah ! Change ! Thanks PKR! Bersih! And all Malysian !

6. #6 by on cheng on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 9:03 pm

same name, 3 diff ic nos, 490715065233, 490715065161, 490715065137, what is the probability of 3 diff. persons have same name, same date of birth? (all 3 persons in Pahang state)
    anyone can calculate?

7. #7 by highhand on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 9:20 pm

come 5th May,
    i’m not asking you to make history
    but begging you to be on the right side of history

8. #8 by ALtPJK on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 10:40 pm

Malaysians are now more primed for electing a new federal govt than ever before. This has been the longest campaigning period and I don’t mean 15 days. In the time it has taken Najib to dither for 4 years, the long suffering Malaysians’ myriad of disaffection perhaps even anger towards BN/UMNO had grown.

The strong desire to kick them out of office had never been so amply displayed by the huge turnout at public rallies, attendance at Pakatan ceremahs, donations they made, the coffee-shop gripe and the voice of the mushrooming number of pro-Pakatan blogger sites. But whether a government of ‘popular’ (yes however ironic this word may be) choice gets elected on voting day is yet another story. What more now that sinister malpractices by a (supposedly) independent public institution are beginning to see the light of day. The aspirations of genuine born-and-bred Malaysians might just be dashed by ‘cheap imports’.

With such level of BN/UMNO’s desperation, as recent spate of scandals have indicated, this GE13 surely must be the last chance for Malaysians to put the Tanah Air back to the road of sanity. Already public institutions are getting skewed. Continuing capital outflow to overseas havens, continuing corruption and habitual contemptuous actions must surely spell disaster to the country should BN/UMNO remain to hold the reins come Monday. If they survive this close shave and knowing how close they have come to losing grip to their ‘milk and honey’ ever more draconian measures will be put in place by BN/UMNO and all that Malaysians can look forward to is a black hole.

Pakatan had been unfairly designated as without the experience to govern but the 4 states of Penang, Kedah, Kelantan and Selangor have clearly proven that such aspersion to be a fallacy. Pakatan’s starting point, ahead of what they have in store, is HOPE to build a better Malaysia. Every fair-minded patriotic Malaysian has a common adversary in the form of the devil we know which can only offer FEAR and polarisation. It may be suggested that the job description of Parliamentary Opposition best fits BN/UMNO for they would know all the devils tricks’and guise in order to keep the government of the day straight and honest.

May the 4th (or whatever remains of it) be with the steely determination of Malaysians (less those who have been cheated of their constitutionally granted right by the some cynical erasure of the names from the electoral roll) to come out in full force tomorrow and bring forth CHANGE.

P/S I have done my part last weekend. And I will be cross if my X marks the spot gets ‘lost in translation’ – you know what I mean.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 10:41 pm

Dis is d MOMENT we rakyat n voters MUST bring about CHANGE 4 d better

Yes, time 2 show racist, evil n corrupt UmnoB/BN Malaysia’s version of People Power Revolution 2 elect a government of d people, by d people, 4 d people

VOTE 4 DAP/PAS/PKR!

BURY UmnoB/BN
    Bury MCA n Gerakan – where got party presidents so kia si, timid 1, DARE NOT stand 4 erection, only know how 2 hide under UmnoB’s smelly sarong n eat tahi

BURY them 2 tell them we rakyat n voters r FED UP with their same old rhetoric of telling lies 2 us n using forked tongues 2 stir up troubles among different ethnic grps

SEND a clear mesej 2 racist, evil n corrupt UmnoB/BN: ENUF, FO! Go 2 H E L L!

We want GOOD NEWS in less than 24 hrs!
    Make RAHMAN comes TRUE, cheong aaaaaaaaah!

10. #10 by boh-liao on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 11:14 pm

2013年5月5日, 来个大胆突破, 一起用我们手中的选票来改变这个国家, 选党 DAP/PAS/PKR, 选民联政府, 推翻贪污腐败无耻的专横 UmnoB/BN, 造就历史, 实现政治两线制, 迈向健全民主体制, 给我们子孙后代一个希望
    要破纪录, 要赢得大幅度的胜利, 来一场超级大马政治大海啸, 将 UmnoB/BN 倒台, 改变!

11. #11 by john on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 11:33 pm

Our brothers in arms – the police, the election officers, the army/navy, civil servants and others; All the RAKYATS’ servants we have faith in each one of you to perform professionally in the task assigned to you to ensure our NATION will be treated justly with FULL JUSTICE and with FULL DINITY and FULL HONOUR ! on 505 ! . And never to heed any averse instructions from your superior(s) that bring any harm to this NATION and the RAKYAT.
    Together with the RAKYAT to forge ahead a new MALAYSIA where only PAKATAN RAKYAT can give us HOPE of CHANGE (from the dark ages of Bumno-C4,MaMak,PekMo,Musa,Moo,etc. dan lln ikan bilis of bn-KSKoon,Pornst*r,SemiV, etc.).
    Ini Kali Lah ! UBAH !!! and to ” A B U ” !

12. #12 by boh-liao on Saturday, 4 May 2013 - 11:45 pm

Some Chinese voters r concerned n asked: If all MCA kaki mati in GE13, then no more Chinese voice in d next cabinet. How aaah?

Tell them, NO WORRY, let all MCA n Gerakan kaki mati in GE13, bury all of them 2molo, just VOTE 4 DAP/PAS/PKR n ensure PR take over Putrajaya 2molo

Then, there will be VOICE 4 ALL Malaysians, regardless of ethnic grp, in d next PR gomen, must change mindset mah n go 4 MENTAL REVOLUTION: truly Malaysian Malaysia

MCA, Gerakan, etc – totally irrelevant mah, so NO WORRY, just ignore n bury them, HABU UBAH, ABCD!

13. #13 by boh-liao on Sunday, 5 May 2013 - 12:00 am

YES, HARI inilah, kali ini lah!
    Dis is d long awaited DAY, D-DAY!
    D day as written in d good book, closing d chapter of RAHMAN
    HISTORY in d making, let’s pray 4 VICTORY 4 DAP/PAS/PKR/PR

10 years fr now, we can all proudly say: WE d informed rakyat n voters DID IT, WE made history on 050513
    We gave birth 2 true DEMOCRACY in M’sia against all odds n dirty tricks of corrupt n evil UmnoB/BN/EC
    We buried all d lies n boogyman used by corrupt n evil UmnoB/BN 2 divide n rule, while enriching themselves

14. #14 by boh-liao on Sunday, 5 May 2013 - 12:18 am

Listen, listen, listen: Forget abt MCA n Gerakan kaki, they know they don’t hv many votes fr Chinese M’sian voters n r at d mercy of Malay M’sian voters

Beggars hv no choice – dis is Y they hv 2 kwai kwai listen 2 racist UmnoB n accept ultra-racist Perkosa kaki as BN candidates

PornoSnake only concerned abt his son’s erection as MP
    Labis voters certainly know d RIGHT thing 2 do – vote wisely

15. #15 by kg on Sunday, 5 May 2013 - 1:37 am

50513, the rakyat will vote out BumNo BeEnd, PR will form new government on 60513.

We are beginning a new chapter in Malaysia history.

16. #16 by burn on Sunday, 5 May 2013 - 2:48 am

not wanna be on cloud 9, nor be over confident!
    things might back fire for unknown reason since for tis current gomen, malaysia semuanya boleh. as we know, anything can happen if things are not going their way, and they are good at that! still, i wish and hope, “pr” will be the new caretaker.
    all the best to us all malaysian… may this coming date of 6th be the best present to all “pr” supporters. abu and abh…

salam…

17. #17 by Bunch of Suckers on Sunday, 5 May 2013 - 3:48 am

Najib talks of wanting to make Malaysia the best democracy in the world…

What??? It’s hard to visualize; skepticism is flying around!!!

Last time, one of UMNO idiot & sucker claimed that our educational system was the BEST in the world. This time, this sucker wants to pursue the BEST Democratic system! Save your breaths and lip services, sucker!!!

Money…Money, lies…lies, suck…suck will be your taste!!!