Five contradictions in restricting the use of ‘Allah’

— Pak Sako
CPI/The Malaysian Insider
Jan 08, 2013

JAN 8 — There are major contradictions in the claim that the word “Allah” belongs only to Muslims and Islam, and does not apply to non-Muslims and other religions (JAKIM), and in the insistence that non-Muslims must convert to Islam to use the word “Allah” (Perak Mufti Harussani Zakaria).

The contradictions are as follows:

1. If we disallow non-Muslims from using the word “Allah”, are we implying that Allah has no relation to the non-Muslims, that Allah did not create the non-Muslims, but to whom Allah must belong if He is the Creator of all things?

2. If we say Allah is not the god of the non-Muslims, does this not imply that besides Allah there must exist a second god, specifically for the non-Muslims, the former god of Muslim converts? Does this not clash with the Islamic concept of tauhid, which proposes that there cannot possibly be another god apart from Allah, and that no being can perform the work of a god other than Allah?

3. If we maintain that “Allah” has no relevance to other religions, who then ultimately created these religions if not Allah, the Creator of all things? Are we suggesting that Allah got it wrong before unveiling Islam? But if tauhid is to stand and Allah is the sole Creator, and if Allah is infallible, perfect and all-knowing, does it not mean that Allah happily created, with no games intended, all the variety of religions and religious philosophies including Christianity and Hinduism?

4. Therefore how can it be wrong for a Hindu, a Christian or a freethinker to refer to “Allah” as our one common god? Must Sikhs, who are not Muslims, stop using the word “Allah”, though “Allah” appears numerous times in their holy book, which is not the al-Quran?

5. If non-Muslims must convert to Islam before referring to “Allah”, is that to say Allah was not their Creator prior to them converting? But how can that be if Allah created everything and there is no god other than Allah? If we say non-Muslims are non-believers who do not recognise Allah, then why deny them the use of the word “Allah” to recognise this Supreme Being and Ultimate Cause?

The restrictions on the use of “Allah” conflict with the core tenets of Islam. They conflict also with those of other religions.

Therefore we need an open and respectful discourse involving all the affected groups in this matter.

This is to attain a better understanding of Islam, of other religions, of the nature of religion and god in general, and of the reality of living in a multi-religious society.

It is not enough for Islamic religious officials alone to convene and make decisions. Blindly accepting this or that authority’s unilateral interpretations or decrees cannot be the way to go. A resolution can only be found collectively.

It is thus necessary for each of us and all of us to question, discuss and learn widely to get closer to the truth. This is an essential counsel in Islam and in other religions.

It is clear that the exclusivist mentality of “this is for us, not for them, we are not the same so we cannot share” is not sustainable. It must be discarded.

We cannot escape from pursuing a broad-minded vision of religion that celebrates diversity and emphasises the shared values and other similarities across faiths. — cpiasia.net

1. #1 by monsterball on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 8:02 pm

This is the most ridiculous I have heard in my life…that a word created…. belongs to Umno exclusively.
    All over the word…not one Islamic country said that …..except Umno b.
    It went on to say….it is exclusively for Melayu….YET…. Melayu have crated their language….borrowing wholesale from others…including the English language.
    The race and religion dirty politics by Umno b has gone to the extreme.
    PAS VP Mat Sabu has said….no harm for other religions to use the word.
    PS: If I put out the “word”….my comment may be moderated again.

• #2 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 8:32 am

Is this not the boleh syndrome thingy ? you mean tidak boleh ?

2. #3 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 9:18 pm

al-lah

3. #5 by john on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 9:32 pm

Is all because to create,ensure distinct order (one way safeguarding fix deposit, UMNO exclusiveness -mainly, self-vested interests ) so as to divide and rule and to plunder.

• #6 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 8:33 am

in heaven you will find of them

4. #7 by cseng on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 11:03 pm

All are wellcome to use the word God… because God is not selfish.

5. #9 by cseng on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 11:14 pm

Is this amplify the level of distorted ‘exclusiveness’ and ‘protectionism’ social political mentality of general society or selected fragment only?

6. #11 by rjbeee on Tuesday, 8 January 2013 - 11:27 pm

Already they take everthing contracts, jobs and name it and now this ….
    The Ms are going………… time to get rid of them. Mamak Kutty is quiet… Ha smade his pile……

7. #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 7:58 am

Iy is so obvious that UMNO has politicized this Issue! What can you expect when they have run out of any thing to hold on. Every happening just prove corruption is the only criterion they are interested in and with the amount they have stolen, they will BUT everyone who has a price.
    OMG! Thanks for rolling out many of the corruptions as we approach the 13rd GE! Only if the majority of Malaysians can be awaken to the reality of what has happen and WILL CONTINUE to be so unless they are removed from Putrjaya!

8. #13 by drngsc on Wednesday, 9 January 2013 - 8:56 am

Friends, please separate politics and religion, please. Let believe in God be a personal faith and practice, away from politics. Combining politics with religion is a sure path to destruction and failure.
    Please focus on winning GE 13 and save Malaysia from UMNO. We are near the finishing line. Please do not screw up.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya. KL 121 and GE 13 is coming soon. First to KL 121, then to GE 13, then to Putrajaya.

Change we must. Change we can. Change we will.

9. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 10 January 2013 - 4:58 am

Can one man – President, King, Prime Minister and you know who- decide what milions, indeed even billions of people, should call their Gods?

Now, maybe when our Sultans and Kings visit foreign countries, can they tell these other Presidents and Kings what they can say or not say in their presence!

Ahem, can they tell them we won’t eat at their banquets or drink their wines or share their women? You know sometimes when they have chaplains to give thanks to God before their meals, would they be partaking of food offered to idols?

It all boils down to education. Some people – PMs and Presidents and you know who – are educated, some think they are educated but are not and yet some are clearly uneducated.

10. #15 by Loh on Thursday, 10 January 2013 - 9:10 am

It seems that some mortals know who are created by Al-lah and who are not, and that is why they declare that those who are not created by Al-lah are not allowed to address Al-lah. Curiously when those not created by Al-lah, based on the infinite wisdom of the powerful, claims to be the product of Al-lah, they suddenly become the work of Al-lah. This is similar to what Mamakthir said that the Mamak pendatang decided that they were indigenous people they became indigenous.

The so-called powerful persons cannot even determine who belong to their race why do they choose to decide the identity of God?

11. #16 by Loh on Thursday, 10 January 2013 - 4:38 pm

///3. If we maintain that “Al-lah” has no relevance to other religions, who then ultimately created these religions if not Al-lah, the Creator of all things?///–the author

That is an interesting question! Some Muslims are converts, and they are now accepted as the creation of Al-lah. If they were not the product of Al-lah before their conversion, who then created them at their birth?

If Al-lah created all humans; all humans have the right to refer to their creator irrespective of the religion humans profess, since there exists only one creator. Why should anybody stop others calling the same God the same name unless they intend to limit others from having access to God? That would not work since God is all knowing, and if they believe that God is all knowing, why should they resort to doing stupid thing?

12. #17 by Anti Rasuah on Saturday, 12 January 2013 - 1:12 pm

The one that called by them is different from this. This One is the Creator of Universe:

Yesh’ayahu (Isaiah) 44:24 Thus said יהוה, your Redeemer, and He who formed you from the womb, “I am יהוה, doing all, stretching out the heavens all alone, spreading out the earth, with none beside Me,

Yesh’ayahu (Isaiah) 45:5-7 ‘I am יהוה, and there is none else – there is no El’ohim (Mighty One) besides Me. I gird you, though you have not known Me, (6) so that they know from the rising of the sun to its setting that there is none but Me. I am יהוה, and there is none else, (7) forming light and creating darkness, making peace and creating evil. I, יהוה, do all these.’

Yesh’ayahu (Isaiah) 45:18-25 For thus said יהוה, Creator of the heavens, He is El’ohim, Former of earth and its Maker, He established it, He did not create it to be empty, He formed it to be inhabited: “I am יהוה, and there is none else.

Yesh’ayahu (Isaiah) 66:1-2 Thus said יהוה, “The heavens are My throne, and the earth is My footstool. Where is this house that you build for Me? And where is this place of My rest? (2) “And all these My hand have made, and all these that exist,” declares יהוה. “Yet to such a one I look: on him who is poor and bruised of spirit, and who trembles at My Word.