Malays not under threat, Umno is

Mohd Ariff Sabri Aziz | November 30, 2012
Free Malaysia Today

There are 18 million Malays in this country and all the security forces plus every level of the government is Malay, so what threat is Najib Tun Razak talking about?

COMMENT

You can’t produce anything different from the same mould. As such, the idea which Malaysians must emulate is to change this government and move forward from there.

Let us all leave Najib Tun Razak and his pot of Mongolian alphabet goulash behind.

Change comes from a changed leadership and a new government.

Now, let us examine what Najib means when he says Malays must unite and Malay unity is no threat to others.

When Najib uses the phrase “Malays must unite”, he can mean the following things:

i) All Malays must make sure Umno wins so that he can continue to be prime minister.

ii) Malays submit themselves under Umno.

iii) Malays must ensure Malays dominate Malaysian politics.

The first two meanings are self-serving. The third implies that if Malays stay disunited, they will face threats.

So we ask in turn, threats from whom? There are 18 million Malays in this country. All the security forces and every level of the government are already controlled by Malays.

So where does the threat come from and to whom is the threat directed? The threat arises from the political and social consciousness of the people.

Threat not ‘people to people’

After 55 years, Umno has carried out ruinous economic and social policies that have resulted in a less than prime economy and a more divisive nation.

This is the lie that Umno has imposed on Malays by making them believe that they are protected only if Umno is around.

The truth is the threat is directed towards Najib’s PM-ship and Umno.

The threat is not from the people to the people but directed towards a parasitic ruling class that has enriched itself while creating economic injustice on the people.

How do you unite a nation so divided with no shared ideals and beliefs?

How do you motivate the majority to have the acquisitive inclinations to move up the social ladder when they see those cutting corners and bluffing their way through getting equal rewards?

Najib can’t unite people, much less a nation. The sad truth is, Najib does not know how to secure unity.

He doesn’t see that the way to structure the country upon shared beliefs and ideals must start with a universal acceptance of the supremacy and rule of law.

When the rule of law is compromised, it is impossible to establish shared ideals and beliefs. This is because the various groups as stakeholders in the country will always harbor suspicions that the other will seek to manipulate power to their own advantage.

When one is equally protected by the law, there isn’t a necessity to refer yourself according to your ethnicity, as is now done in Malaysia.

The writer is a former Umno state assemblyman but has since joined DAP. He is a FMT columnist.

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 10:56 am

Not only is the Malay not under threat, ITS UMNO the one doing all the threatening…

In fact, its quite clear to me, NAJIB is the one behind all the threats, ‘May 13’ scare etc. Read carefully and you will see there are signs all over the he is the progenitor and instigator for the scare-mongering.

Shahrizat, given she is HAS TO curry-favours from Najib for a comeback AND well known NOT to have much original idea of her own (i.e. “hard-worker” pseudonym in UMNO), can only have made her speech because she has implicitly got the nod from high up.

Listen to Muhiyiddin and its clear he is NOT the instigator, not the progeny – playing the supporting role even of Shahrizat – and why would he do that if its not because its implicit is Najib’s idea?

Listen to Mahathir and it has all the language of his approval rather than his original idea. In fact, he putting Najib on the pedestal for his speech and content, clearly shows where the origin of it comes from. UMNO knows its Malay Vs Malay and Mahathir is old enough to know violence will not work as it did in May 13. It all has the signs of young and foolish – Najib.

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 11:57 am

They, according to UMNO, are a very insecure people experiencing threats, including imaginary ones, 24/7/365. They are all under tremendous stress from unnecessary worries. They should just calm down, relax, take a nice cuppa tea, or the tongkat, whichever appropriate. These UMNO ‘devils’ are just paranoid. They must be suffering from hemorrhoids.

Is there any similarities here?

“Das deutsche Volk hat keine Ahnung von dem Ausmaß, in dem sie müssen übertölpelt, um geführt werden.”

“The German people have no idea of the extent to which they have to be gulled in order to be led.”

“All Propaganda muss so beliebt und auf einem solchen intellektuellen Niveau, dass selbst der dümmste von denen gegen wen sie gerichtet ist wird es verstehen. Daher das intellektuelle Niveau der Propaganda muss niedriger sein, je größer die Zahl der Menschen, die sich durch sie beeinflusst werden. ”

“All propaganda must be so popular and on such an intellectual level, that even the most stupid of those towards whom it is directed will understand it. Therefore, the intellectual level of the propaganda must be lower the larger the number of people who are to be influenced by it.”

“Die beste politische Waffe ist die Waffe des Terrors Grausamkeit imponiert Männer können uns hassen Aber wir nicht für ihre Liebe zu fragen;…. Nur für ihre Angst”

“The best political weapon is the weapon of terror. Cruelty commands respect. Men may hate us. But, we don’t ask for their love; only for their fear.”

from “Mein Kampf” by Adolf Hitler

3. #3 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 1:42 pm

I hv a money making concept which I intend to turn into a novel invention which I will then patent for monopoly in production. Yes. Fatttt Tattttt loh.

See, umnoputras are all very afraid of their own shadow. And the concept? Simple. A hat with a large brim overhanging behind the head with a battery operated led light fitted. The idea is so that the light source will cast a shadow in front of the wearer. You see, if the shadow is within his view at all times, he would be less paranoid and therefore less fearful of it. I want to help them overcome that “something is lurking behind you” sort of feeling.

…. aiyah. Celaka. Concept disclosed. Lost my patent right!

4. #4 by Noble House on Friday, 30 November 2012 - 2:43 pm

“Let us all leave Najib Tun Razak and his pot of Mongolian alphabet goulash behind” ~

Wow, Sak! Someone is gonna get intoxicated with this ‘Pick of the day’ over lunch-breaks. You sure had your ways with the menu!

Paranoid. Najid is simply paranoid!