“I was born in Malaysia and I shall die in Malaysia” – I am proud I have stood by my statement of commitment and patriotism to Malaysia when I was 28 years old under my first ISA detention 43 years ago in 1969

Recently, there has been a coarsening and vulgarisation of politics in Malaysia, even in this august House of Parliament, where lies and falsehoods are disseminated without conscience or compunction whatsoever.

During the present and past meetings of Parliament, the most irresponsible and despicable falsehoods had been made against me, accusing me of having instigated the deplorable May 13 riots 43 years ago in 1969.

For four decades, the police, the security forces and the government could not pinpoint who caused the May 13 riots in 1969, but suddenly, somebody knew who caused the May 13 riots – and I have been accused in this House of having caused May 13, through making the most racist slogans in the streets of Kuala Lumpur on May 11, 12 and 13, 1969.

As a result, these lies and falsehoods that I had incited and sparked the May 13 riots, particularly in the streets of Kuala Lumpur on May 11, 12 and 13, 1969 had been blazoned on the blogs of UMNO cybertroopers.

In fact, I was never in Kuala Lumpur on May 11, 12 and 13, 1969. I contested in Bandar Melaka, was in the counting centre in Malacca until the early hours of May 11 , 1969 for the results, returning to my family in Petaling Jaya later on May 11 (Sunday). On Monday, May 12, 1969, I returned to Bandar Melaka constituency for a thank-the-voters procession in the evening and a thank-the-voters public rally on Monday night, both of which were peacefully conducted.

I must have the signal honour of being the only elected representative in 1969 to have both a thank-you procession and public rally as I was booked to fly to Sabah on the morning on Tuesday, May 13, 1969 to help campaign for the Independent candidates as the Sabah and Sarawak polling days were to be held a week after the Peninsular election results.

I was speaking at a public rally in Kota Kinabalu on the night of May 13 when I first learnt of May 13 troubles in Kuala Lumpur.

To accuse me of inciting the May 13 riots with racist outbursts and abuses in the streets of Kuala Lumpur on May 11, 12 and 13 are the most irresponsible and despicable of lies.

In my first speech in Parliament on Feb. 23, 1971 after my release from my first Internal Security Act detention and the restoration of Parliament, on the Constitution Amendment Bill 1971, I called for the establishment of a Parliamentary Commission, which should include non-MP Malaysians eminent in their respective fields, to among other things, “find out the cause of the May 13 racial riots” and “to make recommendations as to how to prevent a recurrence of May 13 racial riots and arrest the racial polarisation in Malaysia”.

This was what I said in July 1969 in response to my detention under the Internal Security Act, record of which I am sure are still in the Home Ministry archives:

“My every public statement and stand was motivated by my sense of Malaysian nationalism and patriotism. I was born in Malaysia and I shall die in Malaysia. I have no other land as my home. I have children who are growing up in Malaysia and who are going to live in Malaysia. I feel it is my duty to do my part to build a multi-racial and harmonious Malaysia for, without such a society, all Malaysians will suffer.

“I believe that the policy followed by the Alliance is not producing or generating a sense of Malaysian consciousness and identity transcending all racial language and cultural differences. I believe that the only formula to build a Malaysian nation is to give every Malaysian regardless of his race, language or culture, a stake in the political economic social and cultural development of the country, where no group feels that it is being discriminated against on racial, cultural, language or religious grounds. It is this philosophy which guided all my public actions and utterances.”

This was my statement of love, loyalty, commitment, nationalism and patriotism when I was 28 years old. I am proud to say that I have stood by this statement.

My children are all in Malaysia, making their contribution towards the building of a modern, progressive, competitive, democratic and just Malaysia.

The next general elections will be a great test for Malaysia whether we can become a normal democratic country, where Malaysians have the right and power to peacefully effect a change of power and government through the ballot box.

I invite the Prime Minister and all Barisan Nasional leaders to join Pakatan Rakyat to prove that we are all Malaysian nationalists and patriots who could work together by establishing a Joint Commission to ensure that the 13th General Elections is the most clean, free and fair in the nation’s history in the process to prove to the world and ourselves that we have graduated to become a normal democratic ountry.

In his campaign rounds, Najib recently extended an apology for past Barisan Nasional (BN) mistakes resulting in its loss of several states and electoral seats in the last general elections.

Some three weeks have passed but nobody knows what mistakes Najib was apologizing for.

There are many past UMNO/BN mistakes he needs to tender an apology, but there are also many of his own mistakes made during his 35-month premiership which he needs to apologise for.

Time does not permit me to enumerate these mistakes made by Najib. I will just mention one – his failure to restore public confidence in the efficiency, independence and professionalism of key national institutions, whether the judiciary, police, the Attorney-Generals Chambers, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, the Elections Commission.

The refusal of the Prime Minister to set up a judicial tribunal into grave allegations of abuses of power, subversion of the rule of law and the perversion of the course of justice, made against the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Gani Patail and the former IGP Tan Sri Musa Hassan, made by former top police officers, including former CCID Director Datuk Ramli Yusof and the former KL CID Director Datuk Mat Zain, going back to the fabrication of evidence in the Anwar Ibrahim “black eye” incident, the Anwar trials in 1998, the Tajudin Ramli MAS bailouts, and the new information on the “ “bizarre five-year-old case allegedly involving the country’s most powerful police officer, the attorney-general and an underworld figure”, implicating even the Deputy Home Minister at the time, Datuk Johari Baharum, raises grave questions about the Prime Minister’s commitment to the rule of law.

Is the Prime Minister going to avoid taking a stand when it is seriously alleged that only very recently, the country’s topmost legal and police officers in the land, the Attorney-General and the Inspector-General of Police, were criminals – and the same AG is still in office?

(Speech in the debate on the royal address in Parliament on Thursday, March 22, 2012)

1. #1 by tak tahan on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 4:01 pm

Why not we have a public debate in regards to the cause of may 13 riot?To clear the long-standing smoke(blaming game) in the air?

2. #2 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 4:29 pm

///The refusal of the Prime Minister to set up a judicial tribunal into grave allegations of abuses of power, subversion of the rule of law and the perversion of the course of justice, made against the Attorney-General, Tan Sri Gani Patail and the former IGP Tan Sri Musa Hassan…….raises grave questions about the Prime Minister’s commitment to the rule of law.///

Everybody knows Umno survives by abuses of power, subversion of the rule of law and the perversion of the course of justice. Umno will collapse in no time if it commits to the rule of law.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 4:36 pm

///“I was born in Malaysia and I shall die in Malaysia”///

What a glorious statement of encouragement to the patriotic Malaysian.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 4:55 pm

Not only is the accusation despicable, its the accuser are co-conspirator of the real guilty political party. I have no qualm in saying it because Tunku admitted it as much to my family personally. It was UMNO and in fact the part of original UMNO that now runs this impersonator UMNO B that caused May 13, 1969.

Its amazing that how desperate they are to keep reaching for the old bags of tricks that started their rise from power and after decades of deceit and nothing else but to reach for the same tricks years again on their way out..

5. #5 by Loh on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 5:24 pm

Many born after May 13 are speaking with authority about what happened on May 13; it seems number counts. Most UMNO ministers were not even old enough to attend high schools when May13 happened and yet they talked as if they witnessed the incident or knew the cause. Whatever Mamakthir said was the truth, to them and UMNO created fictions are fact!

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 5:44 pm

I was only a Kampung Pandan (KL) English School, Form 3 schoolboy when May 13 occurred. I was really frightened that night (at around 9pm) hiding in a corner of a Chinese new village house with all lights switched off. The Rediffusion broadcast that the whole KL was under curfew.

7. #7 by Winston on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 7:25 pm

“I was born in Malaysia and I shall die in Malaysia” – I am proud I have stood by my statement of commitment and patriotism to Malaysia” – End of quote

So say one of the greatest patriots of this country!
    And from the looks of it, the chances of UMNO/BN losing the next GE are real.
    Very real!!
    That’s the reason why their “leaders” have gone cuckoo!
    And their so called cybertroopers, the paid shit pot stirrers they employ have also gone berserk with them.
    Surprisingly, in spite of their scam and a scandal a day, they still have some following; undoubtedly, their beliefs are stoked by taxpayers’ money.
    However, don’t ever be discouraged as Malaysians, especially the younger Malays, are fully aware of what is happening in the country and how it is being governed.
    And those who are sane far outnumber those who are not.
    So, take heart and give your all to work together with right minded Malaysians to kick out the scum for a better Malaysia for all!
    Onward PR to victory!!!!!

8. #8 by tak tahan on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 8:58 pm

There are too many mistakes that Najib the ‘blur blur’ ah kor has lost count of them.Ajib kor,why not put them up on your facebook or twittter site when you’ve time to sit down,relax and recall all your intent apology? This way,cool isn’t it?Like previously how you addressed your so feeling ‘cool’ fans of the concert..with your ‘cool’ twitter? This time Ajib kor,for goodness sake,make it real cool with firm action!!

9. #9 by Jimmy Leong on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 9:06 pm

Mr.Lim, i have heard a lot of your story from my older relative and also from your documentary. You are actually one of my hero and someone who i respect. The obstacle you been through and how you over it is always something i think when I face any problem. I hope you will be healthy and able to see the change of the government. Btw Mr.Lim there’s some problem with the DAP website which i actually apply as a volunteer and wrote some email to them regarding the matter but no one reply me. This make me felt confused, did I officially join as volunteer or there’s no record.

10. #10 by good coolie on Thursday, 22 March 2012 - 11:51 pm

Mr. Lim (senior), you do not have to convince us of your virtues. You are a true statesman and elder. If not for our political climate, you would be the best choice for Prime Minister.

11. #11 by tak tahan on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 12:39 am

Yo man.Cheers.

12. #12 by GodIsWatching on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:26 am

Mr LKS, that God would still use you in such a mighty way to be the beacon of hope and the voice of Malaysians in these days where self seeking people are becoming more ruthless is encouragement enough to believe that change is indeed unfolding before our eyes and within grasp! You are precious to this nation and I pray by God’s grace that you will see the fruits of our labour and love I this lifetime! Thank you for all that you have done to serve the people and to stand up against giants of resistance!

13. #13 by yhsiew on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 2:26 am

///the Opposition celebrated their victory. In particular, a large Gerakan procession welcomed the left-wing Gerakan leader V. David.///

UMNO cybertroopers must not simply accuse the DAP. Didn’t they know that Gerakan (then Umno opponent) was also in the May 12 rally?

14. #14 by boh-liao on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 3:13 am

Umno/UmnoB Alliance/BN hv managed 2 rule dis nation bcos of RACIST LIES n FEAR fanned by d msm controlled by them
    So far they hv managed 2 CON rakyat by hiding their CORRUPT n CRIMINAL acts

However, in recent yrs, throu’ d Internet n alternative news portals/websites n new social media, rakyat hv been better informed n more enlightened
    It is also more difficult 4 UmnoB/BN 2 LIE n CHEAT ALL d TIME throu’ their msm
    Ah CHEAT kor n UmnoB/BN now openly BRIBE n BUY votes: Gua kasih U $$$, U kasih gua votes, better still 2/3 majority so dat gua n UmnoB/BN jiak jiak jiak more

$$$ politics nothing new 2 UmnoB – they r used 2 using BOMBS, exposed by 1 of their former members: $$$ + LIES, RACIST pull n push LIES

Rakyat, esp poor Malays n Bumis, MUST KNOW dat it’s d CORRUPT, incompetent UmnoB/BN dat destroy n retard d progress of dis once-great nation, ABU abu ABU

15. #15 by monsterball on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 4:02 am

Lim Kit Siang will be accused with the same stuff,,,,no matter how many times he keeps proving he is not involved in the May 13th riots.
    No new ideas…to upset the country and people….now Najib play Santa Clause role.
    Watch the shows and enjoy.

16. #16 by undertaker888 on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 8:02 am

I guessed the church burning also started by LKS. The recent bombing planned by LKS. The memali incident plotted by LKS. The pighead planted by LKS. The Lynas protest incited by LKS. Al maunah established by LKS. Bersih walk organized by LKS. TBH death ordered by LKS.

What else dumno?

17. #17 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 8:32 am

The one politician with the most consistent and unwavering stand, THE HON MR LIM KIT SIANG!

Shut the phaaark up umno.

18. #18 by cseng on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 9:32 am

Uncle lim, you are a respected man.

After next GE, maybe you should take some time do more writing, seems like too many lies by the BN.

Leave those hectic political stuff to Lim jr.. We love him too!.

We love DAP!

19. #19 by Winston on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 10:49 am

The more deplorable and ignoble the campaign launched against you and the DAP, the more effective you and the DAP have been in turning the tide against UMNO/BN!
    Take it as a badge of honour!!
    Also take heart that, nowadays, their lies and falsehoods, scams and scandals are exposed as never before. As the new jargon goes, “They have gone viral”!
    And if the right royal screwing of MCA’s Miss Tow Truck is anything to go by, bad behaviour by the ruling coalition will not be gloss over anymore.
    This incident showed that right minded Malaysians are in the attack mode and judging by the hundreds of incensed and sometimes off coloured remarks, she must have been devastated!!
    Although the government controlled MSM tried to persuade the attackers to stop the verbal tirade, nobody paid any heed!!!
    Even the blogs of what I believed to be those of cybertroopers are not spared either. Any stupid or false remarks made in them are also blasted.
    As the saying goes, “The tide, they are a changing”.
    Soon, UMNO/BN will face their Nagasaki and Hiroshima!

20. #20 by mickeytiger2006 on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 11:09 am

If LKS is PM, Msian currency will be on par with Spore and Msians need not travel to Spore to find jobs as Msia will be one of the most progressive and developed nation in Asia. No discrimination of races and every race is happy to live side by side peacefully.

21. #21 by mauriyaII on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 11:19 am

You among all the politicians in this country can hold your head and stand tall for your consistent stand about your stated policies and being a steadfast adherent of a Malaysian Malaysia for all irrespective of race, religion or creed.

You may not be recognized by the powers of the day as a great nationalist leader but history will enshrine your contribution to make this land a better one.

You have not been deprived of many a accolade, national awards and recognition not because you do not deserve them but because you stand on the opposite side of the political divide.

If anyone deserves to be addressed ” Tun”, it is most fitting on you rather than the driftwood, riffraff who call themselves leaders in this country.

22. #22 by mauriyaII on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 11:20 am

errata: …can hold your head high and …
    The word high was left out inadvertently.

23. #23 by Loh on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:05 pm

I was almost cheated.

A few days ago, I sent my car for regular servicing. On collecting the car, I noticed that the ABS (anti lock breaking system) indicator lighted up. I asked to have the car checked. The ‘expert’ who diagnosed the problem with a computer declared that the ABS pump malfunctioned and it has to be changed. I was told that that part costs around 5,000 ringgit. The breaking system would still work without the ABS; it would work like any old car before the advent of ABS.

I read later from the owner’s manual that when the ABS is lighted together with another indicator light for break and break fluid (the light for hand-break while it is drawn) while driving, it means that there is a problem with electronic distribution of breaking force. (I was told later that this electronic system is embedded within the ABS pump). Without the ABS pump in working order the car is no longer safe to drive; it would not be as good as the non-ABS breaking system.

I arranged with the workshop to replace the ABS pump (ABS modulator). As the spare part was not available immediately, I went to another workshop of the same company.

The mechanic at the second workshop told me that he could not access the problem area in his computer/machine and he wondered what machine the other workshop had used to have concluded that the ABS modulator needed replacement. He later did some cleaning on the ‘wire’. The light on the hand-break and the ABS disappeared. It was all a false alarm.

Did the expert in the first workshop access the problem area, or did he create the problem? Was the wire unplugged to cause alarm and that was why the mechanic at the second workshop could not initially access the problem area?

I found out later that the modulator costs around RM 1,500, not RM 5,000.

I wonder what would have happened had the spare part been available immediately at the first workshop. Would the old part be now available to the ‘used spare part’ market?

There might be an offer to make use of a used spare part at a fraction of the price of a new spare part. The actual work might have involved cleansing the grease on the contacts, or to reattach the plug properly.

I was lucky the spare part was not available immediately.

24. #24 by k1980 on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:18 pm

8:28AM Mar 23, 2012
    EXCLUSIVE Tajudin Ramli need not pay the RM589 million he owes Pengurusuan Danaharta Nasional Bhd as part of the out-of-court settlement he reached with government-linked companies (GLCs) last month.

Tajudin’s RM589mil Danaharta debt written off. Shahreezak is jumping up and down with glee, bcos her RM350million debt will also go the same way

25. #25 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:21 pm

LKS, never expect Leopards change their spotty bodies!

They often cook up stories and blames to smear oppositions as to win voters’ hearts and souls for their supports. Suckers always cheat to win chauvinistically and cunningly. This is their only strategy to win and hold on to the powers!

26. #26 by Loh on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:40 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, March 23 — The Western Australian government, where Lynas Corp’s rare earths mine is located, has said it will not accept waste from the firm’s controversial refinery in Kuantan even if it is not radioactive.
    Putrajaya said early this month Lynas, which plans to transport ore from Mount Weld in the Australian state, to its RM2.3 ///–MalaysianInsider

Would the Western Australian government allow the refinery plant operating there? If the don’t, why should we do?

27. #27 by k1980 on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 1:53 pm

Our village clown Jibby has the final solution for the Lynas debacle.

He is going to build the country’s first space shuttle and let the country’s first space tourist….oops, I mean angkasawan, pilot it to the moon and deposit the Lynas waste there.

28. #28 by Godfather on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 3:27 pm

There are lots of Malays who worship Harun Idris. They call the late Harun their savior, their leader. They say that without Harun Idris, Bolehland would have become part of China. The ignorance continues.

29. #29 by jus legitimum on Friday, 23 March 2012 - 11:12 pm

Without LKS,this country would have gone bankrupt many years ago.He is not a ‘tun’,but he gains the respect of people wherever he goes.The many ‘tuns’ that carry their weight around in certain circles are nothing but objects of public scorn in the eyes of many.

30. #30 by sotong on Saturday, 24 March 2012 - 11:12 am

To some Malays, we are still ” pendatang ” – irrespective of how many generations your family were there and contribution to the country.

Some criminals see May 13’s dark and shameful history as a good incident….some openly threatened another such incident, if you don’t get what they want.