Good thing we are a democracy

By Natalie Shobana Ambrose | June 29, 2011

JUNE 29 — In some countries, people get put in jail for speaking up against injustices. They then get left there for years and are sometimes forgotten. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, the media constantly practises self-censorship to avoid being shut down. Still they are regularly cautioned to ‘behave appropriately’ in accordance to government propaganda when unbiased reporting is what the media is trying to provide. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, citizens are told what to believe. Their religion has to be the religion of the state, if not bad things happen to them. So they hide and practise their faith in secrecy. All they want is their basic human right to religious freedom. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, there is no such thing as equality. Some tribes are considered better than others and more deserving because of the race they were born in to. So the others get oppressed and are not given the same opportunities, education benefits, housing benefits, investment benefits, and the list goes on. Institutionalised racism is condoned and part of the government system. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, the judicial system is rigged. The blindfold of justice has been removed and there is little separation of powers between the Legislature, the Executive and the Judiciary. Too much meddling and a lack of neutrality in the courts allow for the privileged, the influential and the titled to sway decisions on who sits on the bench and the outcome of cases. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, fear and intimidation are the modus operandi. People are not allowed to legitimately express their concerns. Water bombs and tear gas are used to stop rallies and protest marches even if they are peaceful. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, ballot boxes go missing, voter registration is inaccurate, phantom voters get a ballot paper and there is no such thing as a secret ballot. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, the leaders squander the wealth of the country and believe in a system of ‘one for you, five for me,’ making them instant multi-billionaires with property peppered all over the world and businesses ventures for each of their children. The immense wealth accumulated and squandered while in power could have benefited the country and made it more prosperous than it is. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, many promises are made before an election and forgotten once the seat is won. So during the few days of campaigning, the people living in that area without basic necessities for many years suddenly find themselves between a rock and a hard place – vote for the people who put you there and get all the basic benefits they should have given you years before or not vote for them and continue living the way they made you live all these years. Votes are exchanged for basic necessities like running water, roads and access to electricity. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries the people in uniforms are thugs in masquerade. Their guns are not to pre-empt crime but to cause one. Once they don a uniform, they automatically get immunity from the crimes they commit all in the name of protecting the security of the country. So much so that the people know if uniformed personnel ask for something, it’s best to comply – even if it’s a naked squat. The power of the uniform outweighs any logical, legal reasoning. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries, certain people can incite racial and religious hatred with little reprimand while those with legitimate concerns for the state of affairs get chastised. Good thing this doesn’t happen in Malaysia, especially since we’re a democracy.

In some countries the will of the people is not the basis of the authority of the elected government. The protection of human rights and the fundamental freedoms of all are just rhetoric and not a reality. Good thing this does not happen in Malaysia, especially since we are a democracy.

* Natalie believes in the freedom of being a pedestrian, wearing yellow and writing poems.

1. #1 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 12:54 pm

Democracy Canland style.

At the height of a political corruption trial, the prosecutor attacked a witness.

“Isn’t it true,” he bellowed, “that you accepted five thousand dollars to compromise this case?”

The witness stared out the window as though he hadn’t hear the question.

“Isn’t it true that you accepted five thousand dollars to compromise this case?” the lawyer repeated.

The witness still did not respond.

Finally, the judge leaned over and ordered, “The witness must answer the question.”

“Oh,” the startled witness said, “I thought he was talking to you.”

2. #2 by Tikus Belanda on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 1:27 pm

Slowly we are descending into a stage where we have no more freedom left.
    Good thing this does not happen in Malaysia, especially since we can vote BN out of the picture.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 1:49 pm

So you dunno how to set up your facebook? Doncha worry, my doctor friend here will set it up for you….just pay her RM1.8 million.

http://media1-cdn.malaysiakini.com/276/1064cf00b988561c2ba1f66d954223f4.jpg

4. #4 by Thor on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 1:50 pm

Are we afraid of one damned racist pig!
    Are we scared of Umno’s mat rempits!
    Are we gonna be a coward forever by letting Umno Baru threatened us generation after generation!
    No!!!, we’re not!
    We can’t rely on the present voting system to bring democracy and peace back because there’re fraud everywhere.
    We’ve to go “Bersih”!!!

5. #5 by drngsc on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 1:54 pm

Hi Natalie,

I would like to think that you are just being the devil’s advocate.
    Unless you live in a Malaysia differnet from mine, your thoughts are completely out. We are a democracy, just in name. Yes, every 5 years or thereabout, we get to cast our votes, if we are a registered voter. That is where so called democracy stops.
    For your information, there are people in Malaysia, arrested in the mid of night, and not heard off since or for a longtime.The press ( all owned by BN component parties ), practice self censorship and they do get warnings every now and then. Citizens are told what they believe. Allah is OK for east Malaysia, and not OK for west Malaysia, there is obviously no equality amongst races. Some are more “Malaysian” than others. The judiciary ( look at the screening of the sex video recently in court, where a man is being slandered left, right and center, without him being given a chance in court, to defend his honour and name ), listen to all the threats and intimidation everyday in the newspaper, on the coming BERSIH 2.0 rally coming on 9th July, The guys breathing threats are walking free to shout more threats and the guys wearing yellow T-shirts are being arrested. Ballot boxes, going missing, or extra ballot boxes appearing, mysterious postal votes appearing, bribes being paid blatantly, leaders squandering money openly ( we lost RM12.5B, we have submarines that cannot dive and airplanes without engines, we have so many financial scandals that it will take another blog to enumerate, and election promises ( if tomorrow you vote for me and I win, you can come collect your check. If I lose, dont bother to come ).

Ayooh Natalie, what I have written, is common knowledge to all Malaysians living here. Which planet do you come from?
    That is why we need a change.

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya.

• #6 by vsp on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 9:59 pm

drngsc:

I think you do not get the drift of Natalie’s writing. Have you heard what a parody is?

6. #7 by k1980 on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 2:04 pm

“Good thing we are a democracy” were the words that flashed through the minds of TBH, Kugan, Amirulrasid and countless others seconds before they departed to the next world.

7. #8 by boh-liao on Thursday, 30 June 2011 - 2:24 pm

Ya lah, good thing too Malaysia subscribes to UNESCO “The Universal Declaration of Human Rights
    http://www.unesco.org/education/information/50y/nfsunesco/doc/hum-rights.htm

Article 9: No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile

Article 19: Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression

Article 20: Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association

8. #9 by good coolie on Friday, 1 July 2011 - 11:58 pm

Thank God, that in Malaysia, any protest against the honest Barisan government is not considered war against the Yang Dipertuan Agong. Thank God that in Malaysia there is no stealing 3B’s (Bible, Babies, and Bodies). Only the Great Satan, America does that. Thank God in Malaysia Interlok and its lies are not required reading.

9. #10 by good coolie on Saturday, 2 July 2011 - 12:00 am

Oh! One more thing: thank God Malaysia does not have lying Politicians as leaders.