Najib: Bersih ploy to stop BN ‘momentum’

By Hazlan Zakaria
Jun 26, 11 | MalaysiaKini

Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak explained away the planned mammoth Bersih 2.0 rally as nothing more than an attempt to “wrest back political momentum from the BN”.

“It has nothing to do with a memorandum to the Agong. It has nothing to do with allegedly crooked elections,” alleged the PM.

“They resolved that if they want to stop us, this is how they can wrest back the political momentum,” he told over 2,500 delegates attending the PPP annual general meeting in Kuala Lumpur today.

Najib who opened the BN component party’s AGM, claimed that the opposition was trying to “reverse the trend” favouring BN in recent by-elections.

“We have won in most of the by-elections, we only lost one in Sibu. But we won more. We also won in the Sarawak state election with more than two-thirds majority.

“Independent analysts also said that the government is on the right track with our transformation programmes,” he said.

He argued it is because of this, that the opposition had to look for a way to win back the rakyat, and were using the planned electoral reform rally to swing the momentum their way.

The premier refuted Bersih’s claims of electoral irregularities saying that if indeed BN is rigging the elections, they might as well make sure they win in all states and not allow Pakatan to win five states as in the last polls.

‘If you are man enough, contest’

Najib also chided the rally’s organisers on their choice of means to fight for the people, saying that street demonstrations was not the way.

“The power is in the hands of the rakyat, it is not in the streets (demonstrations),” sniped the BN chairperson.

He challenged those behind Bersih to instead go head to head with BN in what he claimed was a more suitable arena.

“If you are man enough, during the elections, you contest. If you don’t have the guts, do your street demonstrations, but be prepared to face the consequences.”

But he warned that BN and the government will not stay still in the face of activities that may cause havoc.

“We will fight it to the end, but not like gangsters, we use laws and in the proper way,” Najib said in his fiery speech which drew applause.

In his welcome speech earlier, PPP president M Kayveas (right) also urged the government to take stern measures against the Bersih rally which he said was the wrong way to make perfectly sound demands.

“I support the the eight Bersih demands, but I do not support the way they choose to convey it,” he said.

Clean up

While he did not name names, Najib also took a dig at PKR defacto leader Anwar Ibrahim whom he alluded as the brains behind Bersih.

“How can he become defacto leader, when he never contested at all in his own party? But before he wants to clean up our elections, he should clean up his party first.

“Look at what happen during their party elections, they say it is about reformasi, but it ended with baling kerusi ( chairs being thrown),” jibed Najib.

Najib also recounted how some PKR leaders like former federal minister Zaid Ibrahim who once supported the party, had left in disappointment, disheartened by its lack of direction.

The Bersih 2.0 rally is a follow up from the first demonstration in November 2007, which saw close to 40,000 people take to the streets of the federal capital to push the government and the Election Commission (EC) to implement electoral reforms.

The proposed July 9 rally while receiving the support of civil society and the opposition, has been criticised by the BN-led federal government and police who have promised stern action against those taking part in what they already declared as an illegal gathering.

1. #1 by tak tahan on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:33 pm

/“We will fight it to the end, but not like gangsters, we use laws and in the proper way,” Najib said in his fiery speech which drew applause./kau sai jib

What laws and proper way does he know?All we know about his book-list of laws is he has one joining future outlaw(Toady bra him) thanks to BERSIH 2.0 rally.

2. #2 by bruno on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 4:18 am

Najib,Muyiddin and Hishamuddin are Malaysia’s new version of the three stooges.
    These three stogges with their clowning will soon bring our once highly envied nation to under third world nations standard.Soon Mugabe and his henchmen will be laughing and looking down upon us.

3. #3 by dagen on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 9:13 am

BTN must have taught them well. They now shadow box every issue, everything and everyone.

Yo. Way to go.