Hisham says cannot rule out ISA for July 9 rallies

By Shazwan Mustafa Kamal
June 26, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

HULU SELANGOR, June 26 — Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein has not ruled out using the Internal Security Act (ISA) against the July 9 rallies, but said today the Home Ministry will use other security laws for now.

Election watchdog Bersih plans to hold a mass rally on July 9, while Perkasa and Umno Youth plan to hold counter-rallies on the same day. Police arrested 30 Bersih activists yesterday on grounds of waging war against the King.

The Home Minister stressed that action would be taken against anyone who causes havoc on July 9, and said that the police were impartial in the matter.

“If there is chaos, I am responsible to make sure that proper action following the law (will be taken) to control the situation.

“The ISA does not need (to be used) but can be used (but) to use the ISA (there) must be reasons that really threaten the country’s security and safety,” he told reporters here today.

The Home Minister pointed out that the act was only used in extreme circumstances, citing cases where it was used against Jemaah Islamiyah (JI) and Tamil Tiger militants.

“But if we take action in context that can be connected to politics, it can be exploited.

“(For now) other laws can be used. We have not reached that level … we will monitor the situation first,” he added.

Hishamuddin also said that the army might be brought in if things get out of hand on July 9.

The first Bersih rally in 2007 saw up to 50,000 people take to the capital’s streets before they were dispersed by police armed with tear gas and water cannons.

1. #1 by bruno on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:28 pm

Hishamudin,Your Umno hired goons can go out and cried for bloodshed and create chaos but they have Umno protection.For hired gangsters no “ISA”. For peaceful rallies”ISA” yes.

2. #2 by bruno on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:32 pm

HM, You are a disgrace to people and country.You have no guts to do what your consience tells you to do.You will forever be a coward

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:32 pm

A crackdown on opposition politicians using bersih 2.0 as pretext is predictable. You guys give them the opportunity.

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:35 pm

The excuses are flying fast and furious now..And its still a long way to go…

5. #5 by bruno on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:39 pm

Hishamuddin, Your father was a true Statesman.You are nobody.You can go on and be an apple polisher all your life, but can never grow up to be a man.

6. #6 by DAP man on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 7:44 pm

Hishamudin is the most stupid and idiotic of all Onn ‘s progeny.
    He has no intelligence, no wisdom, no brain.

7. #7 by voice2009 on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 8:09 pm

Later Life & Death
    In 1977, Tunku Abdul Rahman became the chairman of The Star, a newspaper which was banned in 1987 by Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad because of its provoking columns that were harshly critical of the Malaysia’s government. Following a rift with in UMNO, he unsuccessfully tried to establish a new party UMNO Malaysia. In the general election of 1990, Tunku Abdul Rahman actively participated and widely campaigned against Mahathir Mohamad despite his worsening health. He died on 6 December 1990, aged eighty seven and his body was buried at the Langgar Royal Mausoleum in Alor Star.
    —————————————

Our independent father despite his worsening health he stood up for JUSTICE against the injustice enemy

What about you MALAYSIANS?

Shall we fulfill our independent father Tunku Abdul Rahman dream to bring downfall to his enemy the corruption politician crony admin our country?

Shall we?

8. #8 by wanderer on Sunday, 26 June 2011 - 11:29 pm

Hoi! retarded budak bodoh, just because you were given the job as HM, not by merit but, because of your peeled dick, Malaysia does not belong to you SOBs! Pray that the table is turned around fast enough, the rakyat wil have you caged like a half-ape man….
    Make sure you do not make the serious mistake of using ISA to suppress the rakyat with genuine grievances….you have dug yourself a blooming big hole!

9. #9 by tak tahan on Monday, 27 June 2011 - 12:01 am

Sabar wanderer.Don’t forget to bring abroad some crowds from Australia.