99% support for Bersih rally in ‘Star’ poll

Malaysiakini | Jun 21, 11

A staggering 99 percent of slightly more than one million respondents in a poll by The Star Online have indicated support for the Bersih 2.0 rally on July 9.

The actual number of respondents cannot be confirmed as the poll was taken down about noon today.

The Star Bersih pollAccording to a screen capture taken by a Facebook user, the number of respondents had hit 1.3 million at 12.25pm from 527,330 recorded at 6.11am today, according to a Google Cache snapshot of the website.

To the question ‘What is your view on the proposed Bersih 2.0 rally on July 9?’, 1,312,917 respondents answered ‘It should be allowed to go on’ as at 12.25pm.

The other option – ‘It should be cancelled’ – was selected by 14,222 respondents.

The poll was discussed with great interest by users of the Curi-curi Wang Malaysia Facebook page, which was set up recently in protest against Tourism Malaysia for spending RM1.8 million on a social media campaign.

However, jubilance turned to scorn when they realised that the poll had been taken down.

Twists and turns

The Bersih 2.0 rally seeks to create awareness for meaningful reform to the electoral system and will petition for intervention by the Agong.

Government officials have claimed that the electoral system is not flawed and accused opposition parties of masquerading in the guise of a NGO coalition to stoke public anger.

The Election Commission (EC) claimed that it has been made a scapegoat in the matter, but offered a dialogue with Bersih 2.0 if it calls off the rally.

However, Bersih 2.0 yesterday maintained that it will proceed with the rally as previous meetings with the EC had come to naught.

Bersih 2.0 is also challenging the EC to reveal the list of recommendations submitted to the federal government to improve the electoral system.

1. #1 by Thinking Two on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 2:43 pm

A very special thank to “BIG MOUTH I-Bra-Him”.

With all these problems created by BIG MOUTH, all the Chinese is so connected now and it is a self-destructive device to umno.

I would to extend my thanks to BIG MOUTH!

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 3:01 pm

Ibrahim now said he was misunderstood MalaysiaInsider’s report of 21st), that he didn’t imply Chinese be attacked if he asked them to stock up food; just that Chinese unlike Malays generally did not participate in demonstrations, so might as well stocked up food & stayed back home. So does he mean Malays don’t have to stock up food?

He also made a very serious allegation if report were accurate: “Ibrahim also claimed later that he received information on the opposition’s plans to overthrow the present federal government once chaos erupts during the Bersih rally.” “So what happens when things go out of control They want to create a temporary government and they will present a list of names of those who will take over”, he said.

This is very serious allegation levelled against the Opposition – a serious offence (almost treasonable) to have such a plan. It can constitute a justification for the govt to crack down. Can he justify where he got that infiormation? Otherwise the more he says, the more he gets into problems.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 3:52 pm

THIS and Bersih will be a huge success and we have Ibrahim Ali and Perkasa to thank for it.

4. #4 by Tikus Belanda on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:09 pm

How about taking out the non-productive Tourism Ministry FB pages?

Suddenly the protest become so prominent, being the voice of the government, sure will remove such poll result. To think they will leave the poll result there to increase the morale of opposition?

5. #5 by artemisios on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:11 pm

I’m not surprised with Star polls’ behavior. You gotta vote the way they want you to, otherwise they’ll make your votes disappear/rig the results.

I saw them do that with my very eyes in March 2011 when there was a poll question:

“Should the ‘Datuk T’ trio be given protection under the Whistleblower Protection Act?”

I did my part & voted “no”. & I saw that 89% of voters agreed with me. The poll question was already there for a few days, so the number of people who voted “no” had already accumulated to over 12,000. Those who voted “yes” was only over 1,000.

I asked myself “would Star really allow that? umno dogs would be furious if they dare publish the truth….” so i checked the poll results again the next day…..

BAM!

in less than 24 hours, an additional 14,000 people voted “yes”!!!!!!

It was rigged into some kinda “50/50” poll result.

Star paper….. to pull such a trick….. they must think their readers are retarded.

6. #6 by Tikus Belanda on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:26 pm

Rig the newspaper poll result if they want to, but come GE13, try rigging the result & all hell will break loose.

7. #7 by dagen on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:33 pm

Come on ibrahim bin perkasa, show us that you actually have 500 strong yelling-screaming-posterburning-angry supporters come 9th July ok?

I will give you some hacks. Dua biji gula2 hacks. Cukup? Mana tahu. Barangkali u akan batuk hari tu.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 5:34 pm

Well Hindraf won’t be marching alongside Bersih this time around. Hindraf’s leader P Uthayakumar said that Hindraf Makkal Sakti would not be participating in the July 9 Bersih 2.0 rally (unlike in Bersih 1.0) because “Pakatan Rakyat failed to endorse our 18-point demand made in 2007”. In so doing he, in same vein as Utusan, is likening Bersih to being a political instument to further the objectives of the Opposition/Anwar in spite of Bersih’s chair person (Ambiga)’s specific denial of the connection and asserting Bersih’s political independence and neutrality.

9. #9 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 6:02 pm

We don’t have to stock up on food. Not Malays, not Chinese, not Indians. If they arrest us, they have to feed us, no ?

10. #10 by Godfather on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 6:04 pm

Ibrahim katak should know that chaos will erupt only if the election results are rigged – and that is proven all over the world, and Bolehland is no exception.

11. #11 by dagen on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 6:11 pm

Event: Bersih Street Party.
    Venue: Streets of KL
    Date: 9 July 2011.
    Invitation: Open to all.

Look perkasa, it is a party ok? Only a street party. Why are you fearful? So mad? So uptight? So wanna getback at somebody, anybody?

Come on relaklah.

12. #12 by donng55 on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 6:16 pm

Datuk Ibrahim Ali may see himself the simulacrum of a Malay hero, but his simulacrum of a patriotic intellectual is far funnier than he really is.

His racial remarks bear the imprint of his shallow political profundity and reveal himself in his race alterity.

Tun Dr Mahathir, as the patron of Perkasa, must be held responsible for Ibrahim Ali’s spiteful contumelies upon the Chinese community.

Mahathir may not furnish Ibrahim Ali with a kris, but as a former prime minister of this country he does provide an intellectual architecture for Ibrahim Ali’s sanguinary hatred of the Chinese, as well as sustain him in the conceit that his racial slurs agitating for blood are on a high plane.

After having publicly patronized Perkasa, Mahathir cannot now conveniently put back on the mask of pater patriae (father of the nation) to avoid taking responsibility for Ibrahim Ali’s invidious taunts.

During Mahathir’s era, sedition, it was understood, had serious consequences. Today nobody would dare banning Mahathir or his epigones from anything. Yet sedition have serious consequences, even today.

All this, most unfortunately, will only make good Prime Minister Najib’s “1Malaysia” a highfalutin double talk.

13. #13 by raven77 on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 7:37 pm

Perhaps this a good time to die for the country…..

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 9:51 pm

I like comment #12 – its patriotism at its highest when one defends his country to death against his government!

15. #15 by Mike Tee on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 10:45 pm

This is another foul mouth perkasa rottweira dog hound attacked on oridinary Chinese Malaysian citizens orchestra by their master UMNO. Dr Chua of MCA had kept his existance to a minimum or pretended not to have heard anything at all, as long as that nasty comments can help him & co to get elected into cabinet !!!!!. This is the true ugly faces of MCA, no sense of pride for his fellow Chinese citizen, anyone who still cannot see their true antics and still support this USELESS, GREEDY, SELFISH MCA, only god can help them !!!!
    Your last chance to fight for yourself and stand up and be counted, 30 over years of depression is long long time for majority of the suffered citizens under this racist unfair system devised by the UGLY GREEDY THIEVES and ROBBERS of UMNO Malaysia.