Is asking for free and fair elections too much?

By The Malaysian Insider
June 20, 2011 | The Malaysian Insider

JUNE 20 — The Bersih 2.0 has attracted its fair share of supporters and detractors, especially those who believe that Malaysians shouldn’t march or assemble for a series of demands and causes that will lead to greater democracy.

Perkasa’s curiously named Gerak Aman movement, which ironically said it won’t be responsible for any violence if Bersih 2.0 continues with its July 9 march, believes it, too, will exercise its democratic right to march on that day.

For that matter, Umno Youth, too, wants to march for democracy although it doesn’t support the Bersih 2.0 demands. And funnily enough, its parent body, Umno, feels it shouldn’t take to the streets at all.

This is funny, funny-strange, coming from a party that took to the streets to protest the formation of the Malayan Union. Then again, the Umno of today is not the Umno of 1946 that was born in a Johor palace. That Umno died in 1988. Today’s Umno was born in the late Tan Sri Mohamed Rahmat’s house in Damansara but holds on to the glory of its democratic past.

And it is this very democracy that Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin did not refer to when saying Bersih 2.0 was compromised by opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s remarks that he can stop the rally if their demands are met.

“He (Anwar) thinks that Bersih is an agenda of and platform for the opposition. That shows Bersih is compromised, because if Anwar can think that it (Bersih) belongs to the opposition then Bersih’s objectives are jeopardised. They (Bersih) are being used by the opposition,” he told reporters during a press conference here today.

If that is all there is to show a compromise or that the rally’s objectives have been jeopardised, then Khairy needs a reminder as to what the Bersih 2.0 rally is all about. It’s about asking for free and fair elections with a lengthy campaign period that used to be the case until the 1969 elections.

Those elections were marred by race riots in the aftermath of polling day, the same spectre that is being raised by Perkasa and groups of the same ilk — the people that Umno panders to and supports when it suits their agenda.

Now we know that Khairy and Perkasa chief Datuk Ibrahim Ali don’t see eye-to-eye on any issue but when it comes to Bersih, they stand together. Does this mean Khairy or Umno Youth is compromised by being on the same side against Bersih 2.0 although the Rembau MP is against any form of violence?

It would be too simplistic to draw that conclusion. As it is, Khairy and his baggage did not help him win his Youth post. He should know better than to harp on a throwaway line rather than focus on the substance of the Bersih rally.

Bersih wants free and fair elections. Isn’t that what Khairy wants too? Or for that matter any Malaysian no matter their political affiliation? How hard is it to allow anyone to march or gather peacefully? How hard is it to have free and fair elections?

If that is already in place, then it’s just a day to walk through Kuala Lumpur for Khairy, Gerak Aman and Bersih 2.0. Neither the ruling government nor Anwar has the authority to stop that or insult it with comments that do not make any sense.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 6:40 pm

Let’s be rational.

Bersih is worthy of the support of all fair-minded citizens who want a truly representative democracy.

Ambiga is right. Even BN can claim credit if it wins fair and square in the elections. Now Malaysians have to look askance at BN every time it wins an election becos of the gerrymandering any alleged irregularities. Keep everything above board. Let everything be done in the open. Let honesty reign. Let all manner of deception be stamped out.

Now, khairy, Ibrahim Ali, Najib and Muhyiddin – what have u got against that?

Frankly, I wouldn’t play ball with any of you or the likes of u even if u have a billion to offer. how about that? Do u wonder now why Malaysia is down in the dumps and still dropping.

We just have no time to cast pearls before s***ne.

2. #2 by dcasey on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 6:44 pm

Rejecting Bersih’s call to march for free and fair elections, we now know the stance of those in power, don’t we? Those in power don’t want free and fair elections and they have released and let free their bull frog to scare and keep everyone at bay. Shame, shame.

3. #3 by novice101 on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 7:07 pm

The answer to the question is ‘YES’ to UMNO anyway. How else can it hope to stay in power.

So with all it possesses UMNO will disrupt the proposed rally.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 7:32 pm

Remember ‘Bersih, Cekap dan Amanah’ the slogan of not so long ago?

BN don’t keep their words or slogans do they?

5. #5 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 7:37 pm

‘Is asking for free and fair elections too much?’

Ask Mugabe. He’s in town and available for consultations.

6. #6 by bruno on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 7:41 pm

To the people and PR the answer is no.To Umno and Bn the answer is yes.Free and fair elections will put Umno and BN on an unlevel playing field.Unfree and unfair elections will put Umno and BN on a level field.Umno and BN likes to play their on a level playing field.

7. #7 by bruno on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 7:49 pm

To the people and PR the answer is no.To Umno and BN the answer is yes.Free and fair elections will put Umno and BN on an unlevel playing field.Unfree and unfair elections will put Umno and BN on a level playing field.Umno and BN likes to play their game on a level playing field.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 8:13 pm

Is it even possible for free and fair election when the accused institution, the EC, does not feel the need to defend themself but rather states that its the judge in the matter it is accused of. The EC feel, Bersih, who are NGO of legal experts, have no right to accuse it but rather should be judged instead by the potentially guilty party..

Its hilarious these self-righteous over-entitled idiots..

9. #9 by drngsc on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 8:37 pm

Dear Ambiga,
    I read from Malaysian Insider that the Election commision wishes to discuss amendmentsto the law for free and fair elections. That I think is reasonable. Do you think that it is worthwhile sitting down with them, to discuss amendments to the law for free and fair elections?

We must change the tenant at Putrajaya

10. #10 by cemerlang on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 9:41 pm

And those sitting on the fence refusing to vote ? What sayeth you ? Is life too comfortable ?

11. #11 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 10:12 pm

Let’s be rational.

Bersih is worthy of the support of all fair-minded citizens who want a truly representative democracy.

Ambiga is right. Even BN can claim credit if it wins fair and square in the elections. Now Malaysians have to look suspiciously askance at BN every time it wins an election becos of the gerrymandering and alleged irregularities. Keep everything above board. Let everything be done in the open. Let honesty reign. Let all manner of deception be stamped out.

Now, khairy, Ibrahim Ali, Najib and Muhyiddin – what have u got against that?

Do u wonder now why Malaysia is down in the dumps and still dropping.

12. #12 by hallo on Monday, 20 June 2011 - 10:34 pm

It is better to appeal to AGONG

The words from current government administrators highly lie/liar

They promise many favour you to say yes

After you say yes….they dont deliver you

13. #13 by malaysiayesterday on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 1:06 am

I say we have BERSIH 2.0 on wheels. what you need is so simple. Your car Malaysia and Bersih Flags, Yellow t-shirt, Minicompo and loudspeaker set, and a CD of last bersih speeches. Your handphones. You can drive to any kampung and town centre. play your CD, walk out of the car and go look for gasoline. The Police can’t arrest you, can they arrest you for having a flag in your car. You can also go in big groups of thousand of cars throughout Malaysia. Then you dont have tp It will definitely make international news.

14. #14 by ReformMalaysia on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 1:43 am

The
    Election Commission
    MACC
    Police
    AG

should just claim that they are fair and non-partisan

..The should be seen as fair from their acts and inaction

the people should have right to express their dissatisfaction… this is supposed to be a country that is practicing democracy…..

or has it changed to Communism under UMNO administration?

15. #15 by Joshua on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:13 am

To bring us back to 1969, it was a terrible thing to keep the incumbent UMNO leaders as caretaker leaders and PM in the emergency declared when these national theves benefited from their crimes against humanity.

Today, we may see the same repeated should another emergency is engineered by UMNO to bring the nation to further ROT.

Anyway, nothing is wrong with the illegal Governments into illegal things and illegalities.

so for my suggestions to save the pains of the nation in 2011 go to

http://fresh-air-in-iggg.blogspot.com/

16. #16 by Joshua on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 4:16 am

The Agong should install an Interim Good Governance Government and call the formation
    of Royal Commission of Inquiry on the Election Commission before any General Elections is held to save the nation.

17. #17 by dagen on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 - 8:30 am

Asking for free and fair election too much?

That is not the issue. Free and fair election in malaysia is plainly wrong and it is also illegal, well somehow. That is why umno is so worked up. And it is also anti-umnoputras’ ketuanan rights. And anti Islam jenis-umno, as well (somehow). That is why perkasa too is worked up.

But never fear perkasa. Not ibrahim bin perkasa. He is just a loud mouth toothless galoot with a disgusting and smelly presence.