Yen Yen blames DAP for Facebook ‘distortion’

By Shazwan Mustafa Kamal
Jun 16, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR, June 16 — Datuk Seri Ng Yen Yen blamed DAP for “distorting” facts on the tourism ministry’s RM1.8 million expenditure to develop six Facebook pages, insisting today she did not contradict a detailed account of the costs.

Her deputy, James Dawos Mamit, had told Parliament that each Facebook page had cost RM293,072.

“My deputy minister had answered it very clearly… Facebook is free.

“The cost is for the integrated social media campaign, the DAP has taken the campaign and distorted it… I accuse him (Anthony Loke) of distortion,” she told reporters today.

The tourism minister said that so far RM250,000 had been spent on the campaign.

She said yesterday the RM1.8 million would cover the cost of six different campaigns over seven months, and included the cost of contests and advertising on Google and Facebook.

But Ng did not point out which part of her deputy’s speech which stated that the RM1.8 million was not used for the ministry’s Facebook page, despite repeated questioning by reporters.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said today that the Cabinet would seek an explanation from her over the matter.

He said that if the tourism minister’s explanation was not satisfactory, the government might investigate the matter.

The government has been on a cost-cutting drive after complaints that it was not walking the talk of asking people to adjust their lifestyles to mitigate the effects of subsidy cuts for fuel, electricity and sugar in recent months.

DAP Youth chief Anthony Loke had said that unless Dr Ng explained the reason behind the “exorbitant” costs for the “social media branding” exercise, he would lodge a report with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).

Citrawarna 1 Malaysia, the most popular page, has so far attracted 20,292 Facebook fans since it was launched on May 21.

The ministry had said that the RM1.8 million included costs for designing, flash programming and coding, testing and debugging, uploading and launching the application, system server deployment and campaign management.

1. #1 by monsterball on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 8:51 am

Muhyiddin is fast to react and said Yen Yen will be investigated.
    I guess 13th GE…she is not wanted.
    No matter what…MCA politicians are finished….so Muhyiddin is not concern…if Yen Yen and even Soi Lek are offended.
    Any UMNO B politician exposed taking bribes..or stealing public funds with fishy deals…Muhyiddin dare not talk like that.
    How low can MCA go to insult Malaysian Chinese with their thick skin faces.

2. #2 by dagen on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 8:53 am

Umno is cornered dead or alive. Here and now we have DAP bugging them to no end with issues they cant and wont answer. Better off dead, some would be tempted to contemplate. But no. Wait a second. Beng hock now has a partner called sarbaini in the after world waiting to pounce on any umno member exited the present world as a means and a short cut to avoid DAP.

3. #3 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 9:06 am

can you imagine how much has this Najib’s 1 slogan wasted our money? why should he come out with a slogan to waste money?

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 9:28 am

She think we can’t tell that her answer is crap and bull by quickly blaming the opposition? If its for a campaign, what are the details of the spending and post-campaign report from each site?

This half-past-six grandma need to be thought a lesson that how stubborn she can be is a function of how much real power she has. And she has very little in reality..

5. #5 by wanderer on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 9:54 am

Woman, you are rotting in your brain!…even to curi, you failed to do it efficiently…kena
    whacked!
    Since you have a short life left as a MCA minister, you must as well do a mighty “Korek, Korek” MCA will be history after the next GE.

6. #6 by rockdaboat on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 1:58 pm

Yes Ng YY, we believe you and we will send you to Holland come the 13th Election!!!

7. #7 by boh-liao on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 6:11 pm

Money, money, money, what’s so funny in curi curi M’sia
    Guess she must hv regretted giving up her PR of down under or does she still hv it