Face the upshot if you rally, Hisham warns KJ

By Kuek Ser Kuang Keng
Jun 17, 11 | MalaysiaKini

Home Minister and former Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein warned his successor Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar that the latter will have to face the consequences if he insists on calling for a march on July 9.

“It doesn’t matter that I’m a former youth chief or not, the (Umno) Youth will have to face whatever the consequences of the action as I had to when I was the Youth head,” he told the media in Putrajaya today, adding “Because it is against the law.”

He said that the police are looking at the march or rally as a security issue and whoever wants to call for it will have to deal with the police.

“Like anybody else, I’ve had to deal with the police (when I was the youth chief). I expect them (Umno Youth) to do the same.

“That’s always my position, nobody is above the law,” he stressed.

To the surprise of many, yesterday the Umno Youth exco decided to call for a rally on the same day as Bersih 2.0 and Perkasa.

Unlike Bersih 2.0’s call to revamp the current electoral system for a free and fair election, Umno Youth seeks to support it.

However, the decision is against the earlier stand of many Umno leaders who had condemned street demonstration after Bersih 2.0 announced the rally.

Members of Puteri Umno and an Umno Youth exco member had lodged police reports against Bersih 2.0, accusing that the rally will create chaos and disrupt the the business of traders.

Certain quarters urge use of ISA

Some quarters such as Malaysian Taxi Executives, a body representing taxi operators, and the Malaysian Council of Ex-Elected Representatives (Mubarak) even went to the extent of urging the authorities to use the draconian Internal Security Act (ISA) against Bersih 2.0.

Today, MCA Youth also refused to join its Umno counterpart’s rally, maintaining that such activities would be detrimental to the national economy.

On the other hand, Bersih 2.0 welcomed Umno Youth to hold a counter-rally as it is the rights of every citizen to assemble peacefully.

However, Deputy Inspector-General of Police Khalid Abu Bakar (left) had said the police would not approve any permit for the rally or any counter-rally on Jul 9.

He did not rule out the possibility of launching preventive arrests before or during the rallies.

Despite the police warning, Bersih 2.0 have reiterated that they will proceed with the rally.

1. #1 by DAP man on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 7:53 pm

Just the other day Hisham said he would not interfere and it would entirely be up to the police to decide on the rally.
    Now he says it is illegal.

2. #2 by limkamput on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 7:58 pm

Owah so chun KJ. I know the strategy, KJ. It is never about the right to assembly as guaranteed under our Constitution. It is never about being a new Malaysia. You see KJ, when push comes to shove, your predecessor just has to put you under house arrest or send you overseas (like Lee Kim Sai remember? But then may be at that time you were still playing marble) while the rest in Bersih and PR can all rot in Kamunting.

3. #3 by tak tahan on Friday, 17 June 2011 - 10:24 pm

Every party says it’s the right of the political groups,NGOs,activitist groups to assemble peacefully.So what Nazri has to say about this?NOT NORM?Norm only when at this time,you keep your mouth so closely that we can’t hear a word from you!

4. #4 by bruno on Saturday, 18 June 2011 - 1:34 am

Hisham is just churning his words.They have no intention of allowing this coming Bersih rally to proceed peacefully.Perkasa will have piles of ringgit to recruit goons to march with them.Or else where are they going to get the crowd.They will be going all out to provoke trouble so the gangster like PDRM can move in.

5. #5 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 18 June 2011 - 1:54 pm

All we like to see is Pakatan to win the coming general election.

Using ceramah and electronic media to show/convey the truth and corruption in rural areas of Sarawak and Sabah (e.g., Taib http://www.sarawakreport.org) would be much better than this rally.

There was no rally in Sarawak 2 months ago but merely open air talks (ceramah) and urban area voters voted for opposition. Right?

A wise, prudent, patient and gentle move is to let them go to street this comiong 9/7/2011.

Let them march, we are not coward.

A wise move of Pakatan is to withdraw the rally last minute. No point to shout and crush with those UMNOputras at all.

All we have to focus is to win the hearts of million rural people in Sarawak and Sabah. Without these 2 states, Pakatan could harly take over the federal government.

More ground works to enter rural areas of Sabah and Sarawak is better than rally.

6. #6 by Not spoon fed on Saturday, 18 June 2011 - 1:58 pm

Once Pakatan has won, Pakatan could abolish ISA. Now is too early. All urban Malay, Chinese, Indian, etc. now know about this.

Now every law and everything is under Barisan Nasional.

A good citizen is abid by civil law, an obedient believer is abid by scriptural law.

If Pakatan future (future MPs) candidates were caught under ISA for 2 years term, how to contest in coming general election?

Ground works are more important than this rally.

7. #7 by dagen on Saturday, 18 June 2011 - 2:26 pm

Perkasa and umno youth together would not be able to come up with 1000 supporters for their respective causes. That is for sure.