Umno VP spooked by DAP’s move into Malay territory

May 22, 11

Umno vice-president Ahmad Zahid Hamidi has exposed a plan by the DAP to name Malay candidates in several states in the next general election.

He said DAP was now identifying suitable Malays to contest seats in states like Perak, Melaka and Negeri Sembilan.

“They’re taking measures to ensure that the candidates (Malays) would be accepted by voters,” he told reporters after opening the Masjid Tanah Umno divisional meeting in Alor Gajah today.

Ahmad Zahid, who is Defence Minister, said DAP planned to name Malay electoral candidates in Perak in hopes of conquering the state and naming one of its own as menteri besar.

“This is because the Perak constitution forbids non-Malay from becoming menteri besar. For this reason, the DAP is planning to name a Malay candidate to contest a state seat so that eventually a DAP menteri besar could be sworn in,” he said.

In other states, he said, DAP was likely to name Malay candidates in Malay-majority constituencies and in areas where Barisan Nasional (BN) fielded non-Malay candidates.

Ahmad Zahid described the strategy as something that could be plausibly executed by DAP.

Umno ‘sniffed’ out DAP

He noted that DAP had started a blogsite in Malay after using mainly English and Mandarin to reach out to the people all this while.

“We’ve managed to sniff out the plan which is concocted without the knowledge of PAS and PKR (Parti Keadilan Rakyat). I’d like to remind PAS and PKR not to become a mere tool of the DAP,” he said.

Ahmad Zahid also reminded members of Umno and other BN component parties to be wary of the DAP’s ploy.

“We shouldn’t remain complacent in the face of DAP’s actions. I’d like to urge Malays not to associate themselves with the DAP, whether by becoming their candidates or partners under Pakatan Rakyat,” he added.

– Bernama

1. #1 by undertaker888 on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 7:42 am

This is another bird brain minister as all umno ministers. sometimes I wonder what on earth is going on their heads. Maybe they use the other head to do the thinking for them.
    even if DAP or pr fields an orangutan against BN, I will vote for the orangutan. Any monkey is better than Baboon Nasional and zahid.
    This low IQ zahid talks like the Malays are stupid and cannot be associated with anything else but corrupted umno.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 8:19 am

Ahmad Zahid is the leading political schemer in UMNO right now and so for him to publicly be concern about DAP’s strategy is a recognition that DAP is moving too close to their core for their comfort. However, that he is making all sort of wild speculation shows they have not recognise the real meaning, they are afraid of the most wildest ideas and shooting at anything that is even close, hardly responsible leadership but rather a desperate and lost one.

3. #3 by drngsc on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 8:23 am

Great move. Certainly a step in the right direction. Putting up Malay candidates for next GE is a great idea. But I am sure that you know how to select the right candidate.
    Forget Zahid. DAP must do what she must do.

We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya

4. #4 by mui kuai fa on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 8:55 am

DAP Is a party of no corruption and fights corruption! Fear not, all the honest godly and people loving Malay Leaders. Work together to help the poor and change bn policies. The poor needs you as they get poorer each day under najibs admin. Bn has no clean leaders!!

5. #5 by dagen on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 9:10 am

Yes. Time for DAP to play an expanded role.

6. #6 by boh-liao on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 9:13 am

Well, UmnoB believes in “lead me 2 temptation” n “everyone can b bot @ a price”
    Furthermore, UmnoB is virile n can hv more than 1 wife (n can satisfy seksually all wives)
    UmnoB now flirts with DAP n wants DAP 2 b one of UmnoB’s concubines
    So, Y r U waiting, DAP? Quickly say buy bye 2 PKR n PAS, n jump in2 d bed of UmnoB n seek solace in UmnoB’s bosoms, uhmm……
    DAP kaki mayb appointed as DPM n Ministers 1, whao, power n $$$$, syiok lor
    MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP now bcome green-eyed monsters, L’amor Est Bleu
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiZPmQSQpsk&feature=related

7. #7 by Not spoon fed on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 9:46 am

YES! UMNO is underestimating our Malay friends. UMNO must be thinking all Malay is like Anwar and stupid.

If our Anwar a member of DAP, what is wrong Anwar to be our prime minister?

What is wrong if a Malay from DAP be the chief minister of Kedah or Perak?

What is wrong if a Malay friend from DAP be the prime minister of Malaysia? Certainly this Malay friend has the power otherwise how he could be the chief minister or be the prime minister?

Having Malay candidate for certain seats do not mean to compete with PAS and Keadilan.

This is because in some area say in Johore, Chinese and Indian could be just 50% and Malay is 50%.

Because DAP publish and upload much corrupted info about UMNO and Barisan Nasional, having a Malay language blog is to let our Malay friends understand the corruption of UMNO.

I also visit Keadilan Daily http://www.keadilandaily.com/ which is in Malay. What is wrong?

MCA used to contest in Malay majority seat. So, the aim of DAP to put a Malay candidate at, say, an MCA stronghold, is to destroy MCA.

8. #8 by Loh on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:01 am

///“We’ve managed to sniff out the plan which is concocted without the knowledge of PAS and PKR (Parti Keadilan Rakyat). I’d like to remind PAS and PKR not to become a mere tool of the DAP,” he said.///–Ahmad Zahid

So PAS and PKR should only help UMNO to stay in power?

9. #9 by Not spoon fed on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:18 am

Action speaks louder than words.

See DAP respects Perak constituition? Although DAP has the most state assembly persons in Perak, PAS still be the chief minister.

To me, DAP (together with Keadilan and PAS) seems to protect the interest of all Malaysia.

This Pakatan Rakyat emphasizes heavily on corruption eradication in Malaysia because corruption is the the root cause of provery in a country according to report of Transparency International.

Selangor, Kedah, Perak and Pulau Pinang are correct to be against BN who are corrupted and causing Ringgit to be weak when we compare to a tiny SIngapore country who does not have natural resources.

Corruption has cauased Malaysia to be weak and racism people like Mahathir has destroyed Malay. Malay today are majority poor while politicians are rich because they are making money out of the country resources. Must learn from SIngapore.

In Sarawak, the rural people do not have money to buy computer and Internet subcription. How do they know Taib’s billion Ringgit property in overseas? The urban people are well informed of Taib’s corruption. Seeing is believing at http://www.sarawakreport.org.

It is pity to see rural people in Sarawak even do not have electricity while Taib has billion Ringgit property for his family members in overseas by selling Sarawak’s natural rain forest.

Penang is the only state in the history of Malaysia to have receive a praise from Transparency International while Mahathir has never achieved this. See page 272 at http://www.transparency.org/news_room/in_focus/2009/gcr2009

10. #10 by Not spoon fed on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:41 am

Everyone should help to spread this flyer and the good news for Malaysia: http://www.keadilandaily.com/program-100-hari-pakatan-rakyat/

Aim is to stop Barisan Nasional in coming general election.

11. #11 by sheriff singh on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 10:51 am

So what is wrong in DAP fielding Malay candidates? It has happened many, many times before more recently in Sarawak when non-Chinese were fielded.

What is there for Zahid and UMNO to ‘sniff out’ when everything is out in the open?

Is this causing Zahid and UMNO a lot of sleepless nights? These UMNO fellows are really getting desperate.

12. #12 by Jong on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 11:03 am

Why is Zahid spooked?
    Man, he’s just an “batu api” – out to create rifts within Pakatan, that’s typical of that insecured evil UMNO!

If UMNO is true to the #1Malaysia# it is preaching, then it should be happy for DAP for uniting in ONEness irrespective of race, color or creed. What’s Zahid’s problem here?

13. #13 by tak tahan on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 11:54 am

Ahmad Zahid should resign from his post for against 1Malaysia.What sort of mentality is this SOB having..stone age tribe.He is the true unpatriotic one.Shame on him without knowing what he said is so undemocractic.How to defend our country from enemy as defence minister if he keeps on disuniting Malaysians.He can’t even qualify as a clown.

14. #14 by sotong on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 12:53 pm

If DAP has no ambition to form government with its PR partners, then we are voting and supporting the wrong party to improve the lives of ordinary people.

Many Malays want change….they are sick of living in the environment of fear and insecurity for so long.

15. #15 by limkamput on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 1:17 pm

My Question to you, Zahid, is SO? What are you going to do about it if DAP has tried to its best to free the Malays from the indoctrination of selfish Malay leaders within UMNO? It is long over due. DAP would have succeeded a long time ago if not for the continuous indoctrination labelling DAP a racist party when everybody knows who is the real racist in this country.

No, I don’t think DAP would want to install a Malay candidate as MB of Perak. You see, true multiracial people will have the confidence to let PKR or PAS to hold the MB post in Perak because we know the most important thing is not race, but competence, good governance and fair to all.

16. #16 by limkamput on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 1:22 pm

sorry, the first line of second paragraph should be….

No, i don’t think DAP would want to install a Malay candidate from the DAP to be the MB of Perak.

17. #17 by limkamput on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 2:02 pm

You see, UMNO think they are smart. All these years they just have to keep the Malays ignorant and the Chinese divided. They keep the hapless MCA, Gerakan and MIC within their fold but leave the DAP in the wilderness thinking that there is nothing much the DAP can do. I think for the first time they now feel the real threat of DAP and its enduring ideologies and policies.

I sincerely believe if the DAP can remain in the wilderness for so many years, they are not in the hurry to be power crazy and greedy. I believe DAP will be willing to share power but only with right minded parties/people for the good of Malaysia. So Zahid, you can dream on.

• #18 by ChinNA on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 8:09 pm

agree with limkamput. good to hear from you again.

18. #19 by ablastine on Monday, 23 May 2011 - 2:21 pm

To prevent DAP from letting the rural malays know of UMNO betrayal to the nation and Malay mass itself UMNO will have to fight the truth, the internet and all the modern contraptions like blogs, social net-working etc which comes with it. They have to invent reasons no matter how warp to explain to the nation why we have gotten so much poorer and the dirty UMNO politicians so much richer. If all this is so easy we would not have seen the people’s uprising in the Middle East. The use of race, religion and unity as bogeymen are just thinnly veiled deceits which even infantile mind can see through. This will not work this time because the digital age brings the message of truth to every household with a computer. It is said that if every body circulates a particular article to his friend one way or another using the internet, almost everybody in this planet with a computer will know about in less than 30 days. Zahid you want to stop that. You are most welcome to try.