Incite (verb) – to stir up or provoke violence

Comments posted by Malaysiakini subscribers

‘It is true that the standard of English has fallen to a new low – when you have a leader like H’ng who doesn’t understand the meaning of ‘incite’.’

Guan Eng accused of inciting Buddhists

Swipenter: “Even though Christians, and not Buddhists, are targeted by Umno and Utusan Malaysia this time, what is there to stop Buddhists and Hindus from being the next targets in the future?” said Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng.

Is that an inciting statement? Penang Gerakan Youth vice-chief H’ng Khoon Leng seems to think so and we do feel sorry for him that he could came to such a conclusion.

I wonder why he wasn’t making a police report against Perkasa chief Ibrahim Ali’s direct call for ‘jihad’ against ‘ungrateful Christians’. H’ng claims to be a practicing Buddhist. What would he do and how would he react if a person starts insulting his religion?

Would he just let the person finish his/her insults and let the incident go or defend his religion even at the cost of his life? What did Buddha teach him about the three poisons – attachment, hatred and confusion?

Buddhism is about non-violence, love and compassion.

Changeagent: LGE merely highlighted the unfair media persecution of the Christians by religious zealots like Umno and Utusan Malaysia, and warned of similar treatment against other minority groups given the general apathy shown by the authorities in taking appropriate action.

There is nothing irresponsible or ill-intentioned in his statement at all, and it does nothing to jeopardise the relationship between rational Muslims and non-Muslims. That H’ng had so wrongly misinterpreted the meaning and intentions of LGE’s Facebook message shows that his own ‘england’ is not so ‘powderful’ after all.

Lover Boy: H’ng Khoon Leng, you claim to be a practising Buddhist and yet you make a report against LGE (Lim Guan Eng) claiming that his statement may cause trouble.

Core to all Buddhist beliefs is compassion, if you think LGE is wrong you should go to him and tell him so. By making a police report, you stirred up negative emotions. A practising Buddhist does not do that.

You just celebrated Wesak, and I suppose you must be one who kneel before the baby Buddha to give him a bath. It does not mean that you are cleaning the Buddha but you are suppose to cleanse your mind. In your case, it is unfortunate that nothing was cleansed.

Gary Nair: H’ng, thank you for your most stupid police report on LGE. With more people like you, Gerakan is finished. LGE has time and again proven that as the Penang CM, he is brave enough to take national issues heads on.
Lim, who is also the secretary-general of DAP, has shown that he has guts. He went to jail fighting for a Muslim girl, while you went to the police station to make a stupid report against him. What a hero you are.

Geronimo: H’ng must be a Rip Van Winkle, just awoke from a long slumber. If Umno, Utusan Malaysia, Ibrahim Ali, Yusri Mohamad, Nazri Abdul Aziz and Hishamudddin Hussein, do not bat an eye lid when putting the Christians in bad light, do you think for a moment they wouldn’t do it to the Buddhists, whose majority are Chinese?

Prior to this Christian state issue, the Hindus were the target. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to guess who will be next? Come on, when the chips are down and when trouble breaks out in the streets, do you think for one moment those pro-Umno, pro-Perkasa, pro-Pembela and pro-Utusan fellows are going to stop to ask every Chinese/Indian whether he/she is from Gerakan, MCA, MIC, PPP or SUPP?

LGE is just sounding out an alarm to all non-Umno Malaysians to do what is right, which is a direct response to Ibrahim Ali’s rhetoric of launching a crusade against the Christians. But instead of supporting his move, H’ng decided to do otherwise.

Ferdtan: It is true that the standard of English has fallen to a new low – when you have a leader like H’ng who doesn’t understand the meaning of ‘incite’. Did LGE called for ‘jihad’ against anyone? What Ibrahim Ali of Perkasa did: calling for ‘jihad’ – that’s incitement. You faham, H’ng?

Hello: That’s the trouble with these Gerakan guys who dared not voice their opposition to the statements made by the extremists in Umno during their governance of Penang. In fact, they had given way to Umno in all respects of policies that Umno was the virtual government of Penang.

This had given rise to a new nomenclature of another species of durians – ‘Koh Tsu Koon’ – whose special characteristics are ‘seedless’. Now this new generation of Gerakan is accusing people who are voicing their opposition to these extremists as inciting the Buddhists.

This farce has gone on long enough for the rakyat to stomach. It would be for the better good of the nation if these KTK durians just shut up and disappear from the political scene.

Anonymous_40a7: H’ng, I guess you have a really short memory. Remember last month Utusan attacked the Chinese Sarawakians and labeled them ‘ungrateful’ for not supporting BN during the state elections? Why didn’t you make a police report about it then?

By the way, you just wasted your time making a police report over this ‘issue’ – didn’t Nazri said recently such things are a ‘norm’ now?

Rom: H’ng sounds like a first-class idiot. At this rate, Gerakan truly will be history very soon. Listen, LGE was simply alerting ordinary Malaysians to the fact that if they don’t watch it, they will be the next targets of dangerous idiots like Ibrahim Ali, Utusan and the racists in Umno (and, of course, Umno’s bedmates like Gerakan).

H’ng, even if you want to become politically significant (I know it’s difficult for a simpleton like you), don’t lah scrape so low in the barrel. By the way, where was your ‘noise’ when Ibrahim Ali and Utusan made all those threats?

Myrights: Unbelievable! What’s wrong with what LGE has stated? It’s true and it’s a known fact that Perkasa/Utusan have already been specifically targeting Chinese after the Sarawak election. Now, they’re attacking Christians and if no one stops them now, they’ll attack all non-Muslims.

H’ng must just be doing the dirty job for Umno to make DAP look bad. Fortunately, we are not stupid nor ignorant anymore. We’re now fully aware of the shit that BN has been throwing at us and will make sure that BN will lose big in the next GE. These Gerakan idiots should know that the more idiotic noise they make, the more repulsive they become.

EugeneT: H’ng should check the dictionary and find out what ‘incite’ means before making a big fool of himself. It will only goes to prove that he, like certain Umno politicians, can only talk much but lack any substance. Have H’ng made a report against Perkasa for issuing threats against Christians?

NuckinFuts: H’ng, live with it!

1. #1 by dagen on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 11:39 am

So H’ng reported the matter to the police on that basis. Right. That is all it takes. The police will know what crime to attach to guan eng. Dont believe? Try this. Report to the police say guan eng stepped out of his house this morning at 10:00a.m. See what charges umno and the police will throw at him. You’ll never know. Umno may say that guan eng belittled islam jenis-umno by stepping out of his hse at such time. H’ng may say that such action amounts to inciting (well whatever it means) agung of something. Nazri will say freedom is respected in this country but that does not mean one, in particular guan eng, can step out of one’s hse at 10:00am. Of course kerismuddin will go to town with his lembuhead saying umnoputras pantang cabar. Oh. That’s sleepy head. Anyway, tamby may inteprete the report as a go ahead signal by umno to produce another sex tape with another indon woman. And soilek will immediately masturbate because the report made his horny.

Oh boy. Apa sudah jadi jib? Jiiib? Ooooi jib. Celaka jib ni. Dah mana dia pegi?

2. #2 by Cinapek on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 12:21 pm

The PDRM will grasp at any straws to find fault with the PKR – including dumb reports from BN coalition partners. Remember the DAP renegade whose report provided the godsend “some basis” for the Home Minister to drool over the opportunity to send his dogs after the pastors instead of taking firm actions against Utusan and the UMNO bloggers who has blatantly instigated the public?

But then again, is the standard of English in the PDRM any better than this ignoramus?

3. #3 by boh-liao on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 1:23 pm

QUESTION: How can H’ng Khoon Leng, d ball carrier/polisher, b a Buddhist when he wrote his RACE as MALAY?

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 1:39 pm

Guan Eng must learn to say the right things at the appropriate time.

Its Wesak Day. Say something appropriate.

Can he not leave politics out for just ONE day?

Last year it was about gambling if I am not wrong.

Come on LGE. Don’t get innocent, religious people involved in politics on their special day. They just want to observe their religious day.

You can say whatever you want tonight, tomorrow afternoon or whenever and to whoever, but be sensitive as to the timing.

5. #5 by rockdaboat on Friday, 20 May 2011 - 5:01 pm

A pathetic attention seeker!