What rubbish is this, Najib?

Jacob Sinnathamby
May 12, 2011

MAY 12 — Let me understand this correctly. Some discredited blogger put out something incredible about Christian pastors wanting to take over Malaysia and that fountain of all rubbish, Utusan Malaysia, published it.

There is no evidence that any such plan is in the works, and yet today, at the so-called fruitful meeting between Najib Razak and church leaders, the church leaders had to give the when-it-suits-him leader of all Malaysians an assurance that Christians respected the position of Islam in the country and had no desire to dispute it.

How wonderful. The rascals who stirred up this rubbish have not been taken to task but the “victims” have been asked to give some undertaking not to misbehave.

This is akin to your house being robbed and your family harmed but having the police sympathise with the robbers.

Najib is playing to the Malay/Muslim gallery here. He probably was briefed by Special Branch that Umno ground is restive over this discussion on the position of Islam and he needs to show some leadership.

But surely the PM should be playing a non-partisan role here. In this instance, it is clearly his Umno blogger and newspaper which have tried to stoke anger against Christians, and they have done so with lies and fiction.

So instead of asking for assurances from Christians about a nonexistent threat, he should have apologised for the actions of his supporters.

The more conspiratorial of us will believe that Najib sought the meeting with Christian leaders only as window dressing, to extract some assurance which can be a headline in Malay papers tomorrow. Something along the lines of how Christians accept Islam’s position.

Of course, the objective of those reports will be to reinforce the rubbish about Christian pastors meeting in Penang to bring about a Christian country.

I wonder whether today’s meeting was fruitful only for Najib.

* Jacob Sinnathamby reads The Malaysian Insider.

1. #1 by Cinapek on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 10:42 pm

Jacob, I agree absolutely with your sentiments. I watched Najib’s comments to the press on NTV7 after the meeting and he came across as if it was the Christian group that had caused the controversy. His comment

“I am glad to inform that Christian leaders have given two very important and meaningful undertakings (today),”

betrays the insinuation that the Christian group had been the guilty party and that they had shown remorse by giving the undertakings for their wrongdoings.

As I have said, the Group had played right into Najib’s hands. He had manipulated the meeting to make the Christian group seem like the offending party, shown remorse thus allowing him to let Utusan off scot free. At the same time, by asking them to keep the meeting confidential, he has also prevented them from contradicting him and allowed him to cast aspersions on what actually happened (or did not happen) in Penang. I hope the Christian group will watch the TV comments again.

Very sly and devious.

2. #2 by tak tahan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 10:49 pm

Arr….any few of them should’ve known right?Pastors mungkin tak da baca internet kot.Glod bless the pastors and us!Amen.

3. #3 by k1980 on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 10:49 pm

It is like anwar being sodded by saifool, and then anwar has to apologize to saifool for being sodded by him

4. #4 by dagen on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 10:55 pm

Jib tada rambutan. Just to issue a warning to utusan jib has to force such a stupid assurance out of the church. I bet the church leaders have been duped. They were not told the whole design. They must have been told to say what jib told them to say simply to calm situation without knowing that the statement was to make him seem fair in the eyes of umno people.

In this case utusan was way way wrong and irresponsible and although the whole issue has nothing to do with the church at all the church were made to look bad by utusan’s rubbish report. The only proper action here is to punish utusan. The church need not be asked to give any assurance at all.

5. #5 by negarawan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:05 pm

“This is akin to your house being robbed and your family harmed but having the police sympathise with the robbers.”

Precisely what the UMNO government is all about! SHAME ON YOU NAJIB!

6. #6 by limkamput on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:22 pm

Precisely, sometimes i also wonder why Church leaders are so in the hurry to meet the PM. Why can’t they ask for the agenda of the meeting first.

7. #7 by negarawan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:37 pm

It is important for the Christian leaders to make a statement on this meeting with the useless PM, to ensure that what actually transpired is not covered up by UMNO. The christian community as well as all fair-minded Malaysians want to know.

8. #8 by drngsc on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:39 pm

Enough is enough with this group of BN leaders.
    Please dont get upset with them. Lets get even.
    It is time for change. Lets all work hard towards this change.
    Besides the tremendous work done here, there are about 1 million eligible voters overseas. Please let us work to asking them to do us a favour. To come back ( timed with GE 13 ) to cast their votes, have dinner with their loved ones still here, and then return to their adopted countries. We need their support on this coming GE.

We need desparately to change the tenant at Putrajaya.

9. #9 by negarawan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:40 pm

10. #10 by tak tahan on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 11:42 pm

Freedom fighter,your say now,no say?say aka hoot sama dia orang.Your umm umm performance is urgently required.

11. #11 by wanderer on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 12:17 am

Demoralized Malaysians should seek comfort from Fat Mama to give a hand, rather, than depend on UMNO political eunuch boss. At least, she would have clobbered those deranged low beings from UM with her pair of over sized healthy lungs to bits!

12. #12 by passerby on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 12:44 am

This is incredible. The Christian did not and has not planned any take over of the country and they were made to pledge to respect the islam’s position.

How can the christians going to take over the country when they are the minority of the minority in the country.

This problem was started by the muslims and how come the pm didn’t made the muslims to pledge not to create this serious problem?

13. #13 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 1:37 am

what does this koh know about Christian? is he a christian??

“Among those invited to the closed-door function were Sarawak Anglican bishop Datuk Bolly Lapok and ministers Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, who is in charge of national unity, and Datuk Seri Idris Jala.”

14. #14 by sightseeing on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 3:59 am

The purpose of the meeting is to force the Christian leaders to eat the dead cat.

15. #15 by monsterball on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 6:07 am

I am so sick of commenting..using my brain and think…to formulate my message…and click to post and find it thrown to the dustbin or under moderation.
    Freedom Fighter I am…but there is no freedom in this blog at all..yet LKS is the greatest freedom fighter for Malaysians.
    I cannot comprehend the reason to throw few of my comments out.
    I find this not happening to me in other blogs.
    Perhaps political blogs owners think they know best in all things.
    I hope when they come into power…they don’t try to teach me how to walk and talk too.
    For “tak tahan”…one sentence comment on the post…NOT IMPORTANT SIDE SHOW REPEATED OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

16. #16 by k1980 on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 6:17 am

This is akin to the victims saying sorry to their acid-splashers.

And like utusan’s editors, the acid splashers caught will also be left off with only a warning.

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/acid-splashers-caught…-on-tape/

17. #17 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 7:37 am

ahhh christendoms. those christendoms. najib is feeding them to the lions and they thanked him for it.

18. #18 by undertaker888 on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 7:42 am

MAY 13, Friday the 13. What a nice day today is. I guessed the mad dogs, fat dogs, ugly dogs, horny dogs, all kind of umno dogs have tried everything to stoke racial riots have not materialized.

What a good rakyat we are the majority. teaching the govt goons how to behave.

19. #19 by Bigjoe on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 7:47 am

Is there different type of rubbish? Of wait! Najib probably think its recycleable. After all he is recycling the same Mahathir policies and ideas, maybe added a bit of re-conditioning work here and there and try to get you to buy it for the price of new car, he says he invented!

The earliest critics of Najib said it before when Badawi was removed that he was no improvement. I thought it was better to stick with Badawi even if his son-in-law needed to go.

Badawi was clear – what Utusan + co, Datuk T, etc done was stupid for Malaysian as well as for UMNO. What has Najib said? Why? Because of Mahathir.

Like it or not, the problem began with Mahathir and the bad news is, typical of pandora box legacy he leaves behind, it won’t end with him

20. #20 by baochingtian on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 8:27 am

Msiakini: //Christian leaders have pledged that they respect the position of Islam as official religion, says Najib after luncheon gathering//
    How come it’s not the other way round?
    Must it be always one way traffic and this is what the gomen preaches 1 Malaysia? How many times the minorities has to be rediculed over religion and race?
    Christian grp shud demand stern action on wu-tu-san (dangerous drug) before having meeting with the desperado.

21. #21 by dagen on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 8:49 am

See even damage control orso tak jadi. Damage control turn in more damage instead. This is the work of an absolutely stupid idiot. Who started the whole issue? Bigdog. Prosecute him. Who continued the issue? Utusan. Suspend utusan’s publication licence for 6 months. End of story. Everyone would be happy. And more importantly, everyone knows then that any similar spinning would attract like consequences.

22. #22 by artemisios on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 8:49 am

UTTER NONSENSE!
    What Najib is trying to imply is

“I’ve spanked the Christians, & I’m glad to tell all of you that they promised they won’t try to create a Christian state again”

WOW. absolutely outrageous. The victim has to be reduced to an apologetic stance while the agressor walks free? Do we ask the family members of a murder victim to apologize to the murderer now? Is this how it works in M’sia?

23. #23 by DAP man on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 9:01 am

I am sure Najib’s statement was prepared even before meeting he pastors. Like our courts. Judgement before trial.
    Najib becomes the hero and the Christian pastors clowns.
    These pastors have allowed themselves to be made into circus clowns with Najib as ring master wielding a whip.
    The pastors had absolutely nothing to gain, not an iota, from this meeting.
    It was meant only to enhance Najib’s political statue among the Malays.
    So each time a Malay group or newspaper makes a false accusations against the Christians, they must meet Najib and say sorry and that they will respect Malay rights.
    The Christians have been made to look like idiots.
    This is intimidation!!!, oppression!!!, victimization!!

24. #24 by DAP man on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 9:22 am

In this country the Muslims are never wrong. The non-Muslims are never right.
    They accuse us and we must say sorry and kiss their feet.

• #25 by zhukoilman on Monday, 16 May 2011 - 9:54 am

Dear DAP man, your comments will add credence to Ibrahim Ali the Perkosa Chairman. and it hurts other good level headed muslims,who are as a matter of fact thoes supporting DAP and PKR. General statements made,should take into considerations the feelings of thoes who are always with us ,irrespective of race.religion and cultures. WE are PR`s One Malaysia not Najib`s (One Malaysia + One Malay + One Bumi) = Hogwash

25. #26 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 9:55 am

Today it is May 13 and it is also a FRIDAY mah
    Dis thingy is 4 UmnoB n Perkosa 2 remind nonMalays n nonMuslims in 1M’sia: “KNOW THY place here, behave, OR ELSE ….

26. #27 by Loh on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 10:52 am

That is nothing new. Consider this, the person who committed statutory rape was free and the whistle-blower on that rape case was jailed.

A person who said to have participated in consensual homosexual sex was allowed to talk to the deputy prime minister at that time to discuss possible scholarship award. When making police report this same person became state witness when he should be charged for the same offence. He did not act as a whistle-blower against crime; however if he is said to be a whistle-blower, then it is state managed conspiracy using law of the country for political gain. All these dirty tricks are public knowledge across the world, and UMNO considers it state craft. It is child’s play for UMNO in making the victims the aggressors.

UMNO simply cannot be allowed to possess government power.

27. #28 by ktteokt on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 1:13 pm

UMNO is trying to “chase the wind and catch the shadow!”