Utusan Malaysia doesn’t speak for Malay majority

By Maclean Patrick | May 12, 2011
Free Malaysia Today

What is the ultimate aim of Utusan Malaysia? Is Utusan Malaysia hell-bent on destroying the peace and harmony with sectarian violence? Or is the newspaper the unpaid spin doctors of corrupt political leaders?

Utusan Malaysia’s reporting, if we can call it that, seems to serve the needs of a few who want to maintain an atmosphere of fear and distrust among the communities living in Malaysia.
The few we are talking about here must be in a position of power. Otherwise, what is the reason for Utusan Malaysia not being reprimanded for its brand of reporting.

Utusan Malaysia is not racist; instead it is propagating an even worse mind-set –xenophobia or an excessive fear of strangers. Is Utusan Malaysia referring to those who are not Malays as strangers?

This is what Utusan Malaysia seems to want to propagate in Malaysia – a sense that anything not-Malay is fair game for persecution and blame.

Any advancement by another race is seen as a threat to the position of the Malays at large.

And Utusan Malaysia prides itself on being the voice of the Malays, the bastion of strength that guards the interest of the Malays and any seeming jibes at Malay interests are attacked with fiery fervour.

Yet, do the Malays really have any problems with other people of different backgrounds?

Last I checked, my Malay friend was still waiting for me to come over to his café to try out something new cooked up by the cook – his wife.

And when I have meetings in Putrajaya, I spend the night at my best friend’s house. We have been best friends since university days and if I don’t meet up with him whenever I am in Kuala Lumpur, it seems not right.

I have another Malay friend from college days whose mother insists that I visit their house every Hari Raya. She makes it a point to remind me that her mother is waiting for me, come Hari Raya. How can I refuse not to visit?

Is it really logical that I should believe Utusan Malaysia is the voice of my Malay friends? Friends who are more family than friends?

The majority’s voice

Utusan Malaysia is not promoting unity among the Malays; instead the newspaper is promoting xenophobia among peace-loving Malay citizens of Malaysia.

Utusan Malaysia doesn’t stand for the Malay community because the stand it takes does not tally with the one most Malays aspire to. Yet, the exemption can be given to those who have political ambitions and this is where Utusan Malaysia’s stand is clearly rooted in.

Utusan Malaysia is the mouth-piece of its owners, spreading the theology held by its political masters. And these political masters are only focused on retaining their hold on power.

Who seeks to benefit from sectarian violence in Malaysia? Not the Malays. Not the other communities. Instead, the only people who seek to benefit are those currently jostling for positions in the corridors of power.

The peace-loving citizens of Malaysia are mere pawns to a game played out in private conversations and closed-door meetings. We are pawns to a game scripted by mainstream media.
These people are the cloaked terrorists, the ones hell-bent on seeing a nation torn by differences and misinformation.

The call for calm by Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak holds no weight but serves as a subtle approval to allow Utusan Malaysia to continue its mission of causing fear and resentment to boil up within the Malay community.

The Malaysian government should not be moved by stories spun by Utusan Malaysia. Instead, the government should set out to win the hearts of the people through good works, fair judgments, transparent dealings and excellent governance.

Utusan Malaysia is not the voice of the Malay majority.

Instead, the majority of Malaysians choose peace and harmony. The majority of Malaysians choose a progressive future for their children and children’s children.

The majority of Malaysians are not afraid of fundamental rights enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

Maclean Patrick is an FMT columnist based in Sarawak.

1. #1 by nocrid on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 4:48 pm

I don’t think their aim is at the peace-loving-graduated-and-come-out-to-work-and-felt-the-effect-of-the-country-going-down-south-economic Malay. They are aiming to those youth who are hungry for identity, friends, mad at the world and metaphorically a white sheet of paper who doesn’t feel the heat and don’t know and don’t bother to know the other side of the story… Triads too aim at these youth

2. #2 by sotong on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 5:17 pm

As long as the Malays are not liberated and confident…..a few in position of power and influence will always pretend to speak for the majority to capitalise on their fear and insecurity.

Other component parties in BN say nothing.

3. #3 by drngsc on Thursday, 12 May 2011 - 9:42 pm

Will the Malay majority please stand up. We need your help to build a better Malaysia.
    This present bunch of Malay leaders are spoilng your name. They are making you and your religion, look bad.

Please stand up and help us, and also clear your name.

We need to change the tenant at Putrajaya, for a better Malaysia

4. #4 by tak tahan on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 12:23 am

Bravo!!Bravo!!That’s the Real Spirit!!Stand Up for All’s Sake!!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Friday, 13 May 2011 - 9:15 am

UM in cohort with UmnoB must create eternal CRISES 4 Malays 2 remind Malays dat they r under threat all d time fr nonMalays n nonMuslims
    Dis is 2 ensure Malays must trust UmnoB as their protectors n continue 2 vote 4 UmnoB
    Hence, don’t expect serenity, transparency, meritocracy n informed voters in M’sia under UmnoB/BN, bcos dat WILL guarantee d death/irrelevance of UmnoB/BN