Putrajaya backs down over Alkitab for Sabah and Sarawak

By Debra Chong
Apr 02, 2011

The government has retracted all conditions previously imposed on the use of the Alkitab. — File picKUALA LUMPUR, April 2 – Faced with an unyielding Christian community days ahead of a crucial state poll in Sarawak, the federal government has retracted all conditions previously imposed on the use of Malay bibles there, but appear to have separate rules for believers on the other side of the South China Sea.

The Cabinet, through its Christian minister, Datuk Seri Idris Jala, offered today a new list of suggestions to put an end to the month-long stand-off, in a bid to head off a possible backlash against the ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition in Malaysia’s biggest and most Christian state on April 16.

Nearly half the state’s one million population is Christian.

In his media statement, Jala spelled out the government’s 10-point formula to pacify the minority Christians without incurring the anger of the majority Muslims over the religious controversy.

He said Christians in Sarawak and Sabah are free to bring in and use their bibles in Malay and various indigenous languages and no restriction will be applied.

But at the same time, a slightly different set of rules apply to Christians in Peninsular Malaysia.

According to Jala, this is because Muslims are the majority community on the peninsula, unlike in Borneo where they are the minority.

“Taking into account the interest of the larger Muslim community, for Peninsula Malaysia, Bibles in Bahasa Malaysia/Indonesia, imported or printed, must have the words ‘Christian Publication’ and the cross sign printed on the front covers,” he said in the statement.

Jala also said that the bible can now be printed locally in any language, including in Iban, Kadazan-Dusun and Lun Bawang.

However, he made no mention about the word “Allah”, which both Christians and Muslims view as being the crux of the Alkitab row.

He added that the federal government will reimburse the two bible importers over the markings carried out by Home Ministry officials, which the Christian community regard as desecration of their holy book.

Jala said that the Cabinet’s decision will be gazetted through the Home Ministry’s secretary-general to ensure the order is carried out and that action will be taken against civil officials who breach these directives.

He said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak will meet the Christian Federation of Malaysia (CFM) to look for a way forward on outstanding religious issues beyond the bible row.

He added that Christian ministers in the Cabinet will also hold regular meetings with Christian groups to talk over religious issues.

“I hope this 10-point solution will be received positively by the Christian groups as being fair and reasonable,” Jala said in his statement, adding that the government was committed to a peaceful way out of the impasse.

He acknowledged that the government had handled the bible issue poorly but stopped short of offering an apology.

“I hope the Christians would find it in their hearts to forgive us,” he said.

“The Bible says in Matthew 18: 21-22, ‘Then Peter came to Jesus and asked: Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me? Up to seven times?” Jala said, quoting from the Christian holy book.

“Jesus answered, ‘I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times,” he concluded.

Last month, the Home Ministry drew flak from Christians after stamping and serializing 35,000 Malay bibles valued at about RM140,000, without the importers’ consent.

The CFM, the umbrella body that represents over 90 per cent of churches nationwide, have said they only wish for their constitutional rights to worship to be upheld.

In an immediate response, a CFM spokesman told The Malaysian Insider the Christian body welcomed “the government’s initiative”.

But the CFM executive council will have to hold another meeting to consider all viewpoints before deciding on the matter.

“It’s still a one-nation, two-state policy,” he said, pointing to the separate set of rules for Borneo and the peninsula.

Speaking on condition of anonymity, the insider noted that most of the points Jala had spelled out were not new as they were decisions agreed upon by both sides previously.

1. #1 by orangkampong52 on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 9:59 am

This is what we call flip flop decision.

2. #2 by wanderer on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 10:10 am

Hope the Christians in Malaysia, will not so easily forget the wrongs they encountered…. when they meet up with this forked-tongue UMNO PM. They must be very wary this as just a political gimmick to win votes in the Sarawak State Election. When a perpetual liar oozes out lies so frequently, they become the truth.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 10:54 am

Gov’t’s about-face policy turn on Alkitab (based on political expedience – S’wak elections) is however questionable on Constitutional principle. According to Idris Jala East Malaysian Christians are not subject to any restrictions on use of Malay Bible – which means only West Malaysian Christians are!

What will be Christian Federation of Malaysia (CFM)’s response? Is it to be seen accepting that West Malaysian Christians are not as equal to East Malaysian Christians in that the latter have this additional protection by law?

4. #4 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 10:56 am

This is a constitutional issue: All Malaysians including Christians, whether East or West Malaysians are guaranteed freedom of religion under article 11 of Federal Constitution.

Likewise all are entitled under Article 8 equal application and protection of the laws.

Aren’t West Malaysian Christians enjoying less equal protection than East Malaysian counter parts by this policy in violation of article 8 of our Constitution?

If so doesn’t what Idis Jala propose risk constitutional challenge of being unlawful for inconsistency with/contravention of article 8 of Federal Constitution?

5. #5 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 11:36 am

Equality before law does not mean absolute equality amongst all. It does not mean treating orange like an apple. The State can discriminate and distinguish by its policies why one group enjoy a legal privilege whilst another group is left out but the basis of differentiation must pass the test of rational nexus or relation with its avowed policy and objective (“rational differentia”).

Now if one says West Malaysian Christians are more fluent in English than (say) East Malaysian who rely on Malay version, then one can see the connection and nexus why line is drawn, whether or not one further thinks its rational or not.

However according to Jala, the basis of differentiation is that “Muslims are the majority community on the peninsula, unlike in Borneo where they are the minority.”

The question then is: is it rational and relevant (constitutionally) to differentiate the rights of one group of Christian (in Borneo) from another group in peninsular based NOT on differentiating/distinguishing characteristics between these 2 groups in contention but based on existence and numerical size of a third group (Muslims)?

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 11:44 am

Reposting: Absolute equality is not a human condition. Equality before law, whilst not absolute, permits differentiation provided there is a rational basis to differentiate. Take analogy of comparing apple and orange. If one’s objective is to eat fruits for vitamin C then the two should be rationally treated a like because both provide these. However if an old lady of 82 year without most of her teeth were to eat, then orange should be preferred because apple is harder to crunch. There is rational basis here in why one discriminates one over the other. Is there a rational basis to discriminate between buying orange and apple if one chooses oranges over apples because the oranges are placed in a box amongst a few mangosteens whilst the apples are placed/displayed amongst many and more mangosteens?

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 11:52 am

Now if one says West Malaysian Christians are more fluent in English than (say) East Malaysian who rely on Malay version, then one can see the connection and nexus why line is drawn, whether or not one further thinks its rational or not.

However according to Jala, the basis of differentiation is that “Muslims are the majority community on the peninsula, unlike in Borneo where they are the minority.”

Is it rational and relevant (constitutionally) then to give the group of Christians in peninsular less rights to the Alkitab than Borneo Christians based NOT on differentiating/distinguishing characteristics between these 2 groups but on numerical size of a third group (Muslims) amongst the Peninsula group?

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 12:16 pm

The best argument Idis can put forth is this: the policy of restriction (stamping on Alkitab) is differentiated on West Malaysia having more Muslims is based (rationally) on the risk of proselytisation of persons of Islamic faith being higher (if Alkitab were not so stamped). For that law gazetted to restrict Alkitab is not meant in first place to arbiter or favour one group of East Malaysian Christians over West Malaysian Christians but to safeguard persons of Islamic faith being inadvertently proselytized – and to compare the rights of 2 Christian groups geographically separated by South China Sea is irrelevant.
    Idis would be right but that’s only from that limited angle without factoring into wider consideration all groups are promised equal protection under article 8, which the implementation of this policy, like it or not, does place West Malaysian in lesser legal position than East Malaysian counterparts, without a rational basis between them inter se. This is something CFM has to ponder – not only article 8 – but whether from its standpoint and having regard to equality within His Kingdom, CFM can accept this rationale.

9. #9 by setu on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 12:36 pm

do u agree ? the question is ,

among all the school children, all the young young adults, the young working people, both in east / west malaysia, i.e. among all the non-, a big big majority among them know only mandarin cum bahasa, or tamil cum bahasa, practically all do not know how to read, write or speak english, true or not ?

so, why educational publications of books in bahasa must be banned, then conditions set , then, partially lifted, then with special regulations set, then remove all conditions ?
    got compensation some more ?
    just like playing some games marbles balls ?
    how to understand lah ?
    is it a question of , stand firm, then get your way, else submerged forever ? hancur tengelam ?
    how not to be topsy turvy and kepala pusing lah ?
    bodoh, tak tahu lah ?.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 12:47 pm

Semenanjung is not China and neither are Borneo states, Hong Kong. What is the real reason for one-nation, two-state policy then? On surface Semenanjung is said to have majority persons of Islamic faith. Is the restriction imposed on Alkitab based on greater risk of proselytisation due to numerical majority factor or risk of upsetting majority’s sentiments? This is not clearly explained.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:08 pm

Some books can for Sarawak & Sabah, some books cannot for Semenanjung. Next, some words for Sabah & Sarawak, some words cannot for Semenanjung. Its merely prove positive we have at least two different country in Malaysia. We are heading to Balkanisation of Malaysia..

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:18 pm

Honestly, I don’t care how this bible problem is resolved; if you look at it carefully, ultimately it is merely reinforcing the fact that the non Malays and non Muslims are beggars in this country. If we want to get certain things done, we have to make noise or when the government is facing a pending election or by-election or worst still, we must always be at their grace and mercy. It is not just bible and Christian faith. It is also vernacular schools, vernacular school teachers, citizenship, the books prescribed as literature in schools, scholarships, admission to universities, licences, permits, tenders, and whatever. If Christians are thrilled by the recent gesture, then they are morons just like occasional highlights in the newspapers of non Malays (many of them about to die) were granted of their citizenship.

I believe Idris Jala is probably a capable person. But why appoint him a transformation minister to take charge of good for nothing labs and workshops. I believe if all the ministers of important ministries are capable, corruption free and competent, there is no need for Idris Jala. Alternatively, if Idris is so capable, why not he be appointed the Home Affair Minister. Why appoint a nincompoop as a Home Affair Minister and then make Idris to advise him on what to do and what not to do. I know what most of you are thinking – Idris is not a Malay or Muslim and therefore it is impossible for him to be Home Affair Minister. Now we are talking – this is the crux of the problem facing this country, nothing else. The Malays and the Muslims must control everything and next minute they tell us that they will be fair and equitable to everybody. This is more than double talk, this is oxymoron. As for this sage, please talk something real, not indulging in moronic absolute equality or non equality stuff. Don’t divert again.

13. #13 by Dipoh Bous on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:23 pm

One of the options available is to boot BN out of putrajaya. The new gov’t then could amend the existing constitution to really make it 1malaysia in the real sense of the word ( from which ever angle one were to view it ).

I believe that’s the only way forward for malaysia to achieve, the much-talked about, developed nation status.

So, lets start with kicking BN’s ass in sarawak come april 16….

14. #14 by Dipoh Bous on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:29 pm

…on second thought,

Are the oppositions in sarawak ready to face Bn?

I’ve yet to hear/see the opposition(s) going around in my area (jungle) to offer alternative choices for us come april 16…

Still negotiating / discussing your strategy ? Time is running out…

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:37 pm

///please talk something real, not indulging in moronic absolute equality or non equality stuff. Don’t divert again./// – lim Kam Put

What is real here? How is CFM or anyone to challenge this one-nation, two-state policy if not by raising article 8 of the Constitution (on equal protection of law) that necessarily involves question of the meaning of what is equality (absolute or rational differentiation).

If you are so real, tell me how and on what basis you are to otherwise challenge the different application of law and policy proposed by Idris.

And don’t waste time talking about winning the election as solution to rectify that policy.

Have you got a better suggestion or you are trying to divert the issue here?

16. #16 by burn on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 1:48 pm

retracted all conditions, but have separated rules?
    funny!
    if they ever win the elections again, can just forget on all the retracted conditions and rules given. it will be back to square one. semua tin kosong. semua mulut manis ketika di saat genting. bilo dah cool down, it is back as usual.

17. #17 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 2:07 pm

You don’t get it sage; even if Article 8 does not exist today, I would still want equality and fair treatment by the government of the day. So the issue is not constitutional or legal. It is the reality of the world we live in today – that dissecting, differentiating and discriminating, no matter how justifiable, would be is untenable. You may ask what is untenable and what is tenable. Have you seen the petals of the flower? They can not be too close or too wide apart, both would not be nice to look at. They have to be just right to be nice.

18. #18 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 3:25 pm

///So the issue is not constitutional or legal.///

Ok so to you, you don’t want to talk of constitutional or legal recourse. Does it mean others like me who talk of it are moronic and diverting the issue?

Aside from doing nothing what do you want done or proposed now that is not diverting issue ? State your basis underpinning your comment in #11.

What is exactly the viable thing you want Christian Federation of Malaysia to do now?

Don’t talk elliptically of petals of flower too close or too wide apart, both would not be nice to look at as a solution. You’re not Mao Tze Tung.

19. #19 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 3:45 pm

If by now, you have not realised that struggling through the provisions of the constitution is futile, then you must be an idealist who talks just for the sake of talking. The constitution as being operated today in Malaysia and even other institutions of government (which I do not want to name them) are nothing by extension of executive power which has been unjustifiably boosted by the power-craze Kutty (yes, who started the moronic tradition of PM also doubling up as the Finance Minister or even Home Affairs Minister. The issue may seem trivial but it is fundamental).

I proposed nothing? Why don’t you read what I posted in #11 again? For genuine reform and equality to take effect, I want non Malays and non Muslims to helm Finance Ministry, Defence, and Home Affairs for a change; unless you think I am daydreaming. For you to argue through the constitution or for Idris to announce all the “bible” solutions, are mere waste of time, got it sage? Why has the Home Affair Minister not announced the bible solution? Go for the jugular, any other thing I am not interested. We have no more time to waste.

20. #20 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 4:38 pm

So your proposal -that is real and not a waste of time – is that you want “non Malays and non Muslims to helm Finance Ministry, Defence, and Home Affairs for a change”….and after that presto all problems (Alkitab etc) solved.

Brilliant why didn’t anyone think of what you said! It requires a very unusual mind like yours to make an analysis of the obvious and jugular. I hope someone from Christian Federation of Malaysia reads what you posted here, and make this demand quick to government. We have no more time to waste. Now I know why I waste other people’s time by article 8. Right.

21. #21 by gofortruth on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 4:52 pm

“Bulldozer” BN has to back down in EAST Malaysia only because of the significant number of Christians VOTES. Whilst for WEST Malaysia, they think they can continue to bully the Christians there.

What a SICKENING BN federal government that practices double standards at they whimps & fancies!

Vote in the opposition to clean up the mess!!!!

22. #22 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 4:55 pm

When you not incapable of debating, don’t insult. Why don’t others think of that – well, may be it is effortless for me, but I am not too sure for you or others. It is not just about making demand. It is about genuine reforms – that if UMNO and BN are sincere about reform, equality and transformation, they have to start to let go. You can’t have 100% Malay and Islamic centric government and then talk about multiracism and inclusiveness. It is not going to happen and the reason it is not happening is not because we have a half baked or well articulated constitution, got it sage? Enough already lah. I beh tahan lah, sometimes reading your long winded “nothingness”.

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 5:00 pm

///unless you think I am daydreaming/// – Lim Kam Put

Who am I to accuse you of that? It is he who dares to dream that gets it translated into reality. Now this Herald, even having through useless legal means to get High Court Lau Bee Lan’s favourable judgment, has set itself too low a standard of expectation – whats the point Govt could appeal as it has done! Herald should have set itself a higher standard of demand – for all of us – cut the Gordian knot and demand “we want non Malays and non Muslims to helm Finance Ministry, Defence, and Home Affairs for a change”. That would have solved even the Alkitab problem. Why didn’t the Rev Fr Lawrence Andrew, editor of The Herald, think of this????

24. #24 by limkamput on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 5:06 pm

re #22 please read #21, tired already. you win lah.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 5:20 pm

///When you not incapable of debating, don’t insult./// When did I insult you? Nobody has better capabilities than you when it comes to the credit for self infliction! Besides to insult you one would have to first find something in a neurological Enigma (or is that word enema???) to insult!!!

///Why don’t others think of that – well, may be it is effortless for me///

No quarrel on that here. You are one hell of genius. Ask/demand (“we want non Malays and non Muslims to helm Finance Ministry, Defence, and Home Affairs for a change”) and you’ll be given! As some impatient ladies say, many a men go through complex courting procedures when all they have to do is just to ask – and they’ll be given!

26. #26 by tak tahan on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 6:07 pm

Whether to demand non-muslims to helm higher posts or raising article 8,153 to 1million will not make any different or impact after 5 decades governed by Umno.Of course we have to harp on those issues to raise awareness to the public that we are being abused of every rights that we deserve rather than to demand for it.If Idris Jala has faith in him,he will not have to wait till now to accomodate to the sensitivity of the christians before the Sarawak election.Or maybe i think he can communicate with Jesus in english so why the hell bother with west peninsular christians.He is telling most christians that he is the messenger of Najis..oops..God so don’t bother much to read bible if they can’t read english.He can translate it for christians and this is another good post for him to earn side income besides the consultant fee.God bless Idris Jala and will forgive him till seventy seven times of his repeated mistakes.So everyone just f*** around before you reach 77 times of your own mistakes-intentionaly or not.Christians at large must reject racism and corruptions if they truly have the faith in them.

27. #27 by Loh on Sunday, 3 April 2011 - 7:15 pm

///In his media statement, Jala spelled out the government’s 10-point formula to pacify the minority Christians without incurring the anger of the majority Muslims over the religious controversy.///–Jala

Why should Muslims get angry with Christians reading their Bible? Was there any religious controversy in banning the Bible? There was none. The controversy was the way the Ministry of Home Affairs handled the release of the bible imported from Indonesia. When Najib authorized the release of the Bible held at the Customs, he did not mention the need to stamp the serial number, and neither did the Home Minister. The napoleons in Home Ministry considered it their authority to do so. Instead of correcting what was clearly actions exceeding the authority of the Home Ministry officials, Kerismuddin justified their actions. The PM was made to look like a fool, or to look what along he was rightly portrayed as an indecisive UMNO President. Now Jala is made to say whatever necessary to pacify the Christians who clearly have the vote power to change the results in the April 16 Sarawak election. It is clear that all the flip-flops are meant to gain votes in Sarawak. Why can’t Najib take those in the civil services to task for being Napoleonic?

///He said Christians in Sarawak and Sabah are free to bring in and use their bibles in Malay and various indigenous languages and no restriction will be applied.///–Jala

The Home Minister should be dismissed for causing the controversy. He is causing disunity in the country.

///But at the same time, a slightly different set of rules apply to Christians in Peninsular Malaysia.///–Jala

It is certainly unfair to have a different set of rules for people in different geographical areas. Non-Muslims are not supposed to convert Muslims to any other religion in the ‘Malay’ states in Peninsular Malaysia. The Sultans of the respective states are responsible to ensure that that does not happen. Has the Home Ministry obtained the directive from the Sultans to act what they did regarding to Bible to serve article 11(4) to restrict the propagation of any religious doctrine or belief among persons professing the religion of Islam? The Conference of Rulers is the appropriate authority to take a stand on this matter, and not the Home Minister who abdicated his duties to napoleons in his ministry. Why should the government second guess the intention of the Rulers as religion clearly is a matter for the Rulers to decide?

///According to Jala, this is because Muslims are the majority community on the peninsula, unlike in Borneo where they are the minority.///–

Jala is talking as if the country is divided now by religion, and that there is a religious war going on among the believers of different faiths. Other than those Muslims who danced to the tune of UMNO on religion most Muslims who profess their religion have no hatred against those who profess other religions. The elections in the country are held to elect representatives to form government not religious leaders to propagate their faith. Is Jala fit to be a Minister?

///“Taking into account the interest of the larger Muslim community, for Peninsula Malaysia, Bibles in Bahasa Malaysia/Indonesia, imported or printed, must have the words ‘Christian Publication’ and the cross sign printed on the front covers,” he said in the statement.///

How does the stamping protect the interest of Muslims? How would Muslims’ interest be negatively affected by Christians reading their bible. Indeed would Jala underrate the intelligence and dedication of Muslims in the Islamic faith to suggest that should Muslims read the Bible, their belief in Qur’ran could be affected? Otherwise how else does stamping on the word to warn Muslims that this book is not for them would prevent them from being harmed, like falling in to pool and get drowned subsequently?

28. #28 by boh-liao on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 9:23 am

Wayang n getting more lucu – dat’s UmnoB/BN’s way of settling a controversial issue temporarily, bluff their way 4 d time being 2 get votes, then HENTAM later
    Don’t expect leopard 2 change its spots, like MMK continues 2 cheat even in his book

29. #29 by Winston on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 3:59 pm

Well, folks what the heck is there to discuss anymore?
    Don’t you all realise that it’s an out and out attempt to win votes in Sarawak?
    I thought that people will be smarter after following LKS’s blog, some maybe for years!
    If you people continue to listen to hogwash, then it serves you right to have this sort of government!
    You only have yourself to blame for being so stupid!

30. #30 by monsterball on Monday, 4 April 2011 - 4:50 pm

Discussion to the point is good.
    But once awhile…to back down one trying to be too smart and then a war of words starts…no harm done.
    It makes the blog colourful…and not easy to debate ..when you have insults and differences in opinions…all thrown in.
    Jeffery is sharp and alert and one hell of a good debater….if he chooses to be.
    Leave him alone ..he will have long long sweet nothing too..but he does not offend anyone.
    Nice to note he can identify a braggart of no substance..insulting all as and when he likes.
    Winston…..Sarawak you say???
    Why it is because….’Horrible Old Rouge Never Believe In Living Legend”….DAP and HORNBILLS are firing rockets….shouting at will and waking up Sarawkians..to know the Legend Lim Kit Siang is living and well.
    Once Sarawakians wake up to the truths…they will follow up the Sibu Miracle.