Struggle to stem ‘brain drain’ as talent departs

Dec 30, 10

(AFP) When computer engineer Wan Jon Yew left Malaysia in 2005 for a job in Singapore, all he wanted was to work in the city state for a few years before going home. Now, he says, he will never return.

With a family, a home and a car, he now plans to settle in Singapore for good – just one of the many Malaysians stampeding abroad every year in a worrying ‘brain drain’ the government is trying to reverse.

“I wouldn’t consider going back to Malaysia, I won’t look back. If I were ever going to leave Singapore, I would migrate to Australia,” said the 28-year-old, who now has permanent resident status.

“It’s not about the money. I could have a better quality of life in Malaysia with my pay. I could have a semi-detached bungalow and have a maid there, but I would rather live in a government flat in Singapore.”

Wan, who is ethnically Chinese, is one of some 700,000 Malaysians – most of them highly educated – who are currently working abroad in an exodus that Prime Minister Najib Razak’s government is struggling to reverse.

The ‘brain drain’ has a number of causes. Some have been lured by higher salaries, but others blame political and social gripes including preferential policies for Muslim Malays, who form the majority.

Many feel constrained by life in a country where the ruling coalition has been in power for half a century, and where progress on freedom of expression, the right to assembly and tackling corruption have been slow.

A decades-old affirmative action policy, which hands Malays and the indigenous groups privileges in housing, education and business, has been criticised as uncompetitive and improperly benefiting the elite.

As a consequence, many of those who have left are members of Malaysia’s ethnic Chinese and Indian minorities, who make up some 25 percent and 10 percent of the population respectively.

Najib in December launched a ‘Talent Corporation’ with incentives to woo back these highly skilled workers, as well as foreign professionals, to live and work in his multi-ethnic country.

Malaysia, Southeast Asia’s third-largest economy with a population of 28 million, has ambitions to transform itself into a developed nation by 2020, but a lack of human capital is a barrier to reaching that goal.

155-fold increase over 45 years

World Bank data cited by the Malaysian press shows that while globally the number of migrants rose 2.4 times between 1960 and 2005, Malaysia’s diaspora registered a staggering 155-fold increase over the 45-year period.

“I don’t want my children to go through the unfair treatment,” said Wan, who believes Singapore offers “fair competition”.

“I’m not proud of being a Malaysian because I think the government doesn’t treat me as a Malaysian.

“I would rather be a PR (permanent resident), a second-class citizen in a foreign country, than to be a citizen in my own country.”

Wan said his wife, an IT analyst, renounced her citizenship in July this year, joining a queue of about 30 Malaysians lining up to do so on that day alone at the Malaysian embassy in Singapore.

Commentators are sceptical over whether the government’s latest effort to reverse the ‘brain drain’ will be successful, warning it will be tough to persuade those in self-exile.

“Money does have a significant role but the most important factor, I think, is opportunity. Malaysia is too politicised and opportunities are not evenly available to everyone,” political analyst Wan Saiful Wan Jan (right) told AFP.

In one example, he said, academicians are reluctant to work in local universities as they must sign a ‘loyalty pledge’ barring them from, among other things, criticising government policies.

“In such an environment, obviously those with talents will find opportunity elsewhere,” said the chief executive of think-tank the Institute for Democracy and Economic Affairs (Ideas).

Wan Saiful, who himself returned to Malaysia last year after living in Britain for 17 years, said the newly launched Talent Corporation will be “another expensive failure” if it does not tackle these structural problems.

“When I apply for a job, buy a house, register my children for school etcetera, why does it matter what my race or religion is? This should stop,” said the analyst, himself a Malay.

‘Brain gain’ effort

Ethnic Chinese and Indian professionals who have left the country commonly say they felt a sense of marginalisation in Malaysia.

“When I went back to Malaysia, it was a culture shock in terms of politically how they promote the rights of the Malays over everyone else,” said Chee Yeoh, a stock analyst who migrated to Australia three years ago.

Yeoh was educated overseas from the age of 10 and returned in 1998 to take up a position with a bank, but felt like leaving again “almost immediately”.

“I just didn’t feel at home in Malaysia. I can’t speak the Malay language – essentially I felt like an outsider even more,” said the 35-year-old analyst, who took a pay cut to move to Australia.

Najib has admitted the talent issues are “broad and complex”, and will not set a target on how many Malaysians he hopes to lure back under the new programme.

The initiatives include a ‘resident pass’ which will give foreign skilled workers, and Malaysians who have given up their citizenship, the long-term right to live and work in the country.

But Fong Chan Onn (left), former human resources minister who was instrumental in previous ‘brain gain’ efforts, said the government must tackle the issue holistically.

“The government needs to rectify this sense of marginalisation. We also have to improve the mechanism so it can be more effective to ask these talents to come back,” he said.
“We have a long way to go. It is better late than never.”

1. #1 by monsterball on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 6:15 pm

This have been going on for decades..especially under Mahathir and onwards.
    Sad ..very sad indeed..that all smart Malaysians…from the minority group think exactly the same way.
    And you can expect the cruel corrupted racist Govt. ..to call all as traitors…which infact please them most.
    UMNO B is so corrupted…it can only fool his own race.. by declaring their are champions for Malays rights…..and keep Malays..as backward as much as they can ..in educations and mentalities…and Mahathir made sure..they stay that way..,by keep feeding those in Govt… services with easy jobs…relax ….no responsibilities…easy money…EXCEPT…all must be loyal to vote for UMNO B or else.
    As long a there is UMNO B Govt….smart young Graduate Chinese will think like Wan Jon Yew…and that please Najib and UMNO B most..and secretly…to achieve their goals to buy up the whole country with money.

2. #2 by cintanegara on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 6:24 pm

Malaysia won AFF Suzuki cup…as usual no congratulation from DAP….everybody knows why…Our national players have shown their patriotism for the country by winning the tournament… unlike that country, our players are all local …no need to import…Malaysia Boleh!!!!

• #3 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 9:39 pm

Did you cheer when PR won 5 states? As this a political forum, politics takes front seat.

Are we any less proud of the victory? No way, Jose.

Also what is this thing about local and import? Maybe you have not seen the benefits of immigration and assimilation, where a greater good happens.

An of course there will be exceptions in ‘that country’ and I trust you will be more than capable to highlight them. Do make me lose faith in you ability to bring up statistical outliers.

As for me, I have seen the greater good of immigration and assimilation in ‘that country’.

If this is not embraced appropriately, Malaysia will become MALAYsia.

• #4 by assamlaksa on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:39 am

what is there to be proud of? what is AFF Suzuki cup? Why there is no public holiday when Nicole David had been world champion for years and Lee Chong Wei had been world number one. during the 70s we have Soh Chin Aun, Santokh Singh, Arumugam, Mokthar Dahari leading the team to qualify the Olympics soccer (although at the end they did not participate due to boycott). our current national team is like an ant compared with a real tiger

3. #5 by dagen on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 6:42 pm

My plan too is to leave the country. And for the same reasons. The way umno runs the country, really, it is certainly worse than horrible. Frankly, I would like to leave when the country still has some semblance of nationhood. Those idiots in umno just dont get it. We are slipping towards zimbabwe fast and they are still in dreamland.

4. #6 by cintanegara on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 6:44 pm

Don’t just highlight one side of the story…maybe Anita Sarawak and M Nasir can share their success stories…

• #7 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:37 pm

Cintanegara,
      You raised an excellent point. We must highlight both sides of the story. As you said, then there is Anita Sarawak and M Nasir. And we should also add P.Ramlee into the discussion. … and hundred of thousands that left malaysia.

In terms of statistics, Anita Sarawak and M Nasir are not significant trends. Nevertheless, as you said, both types of cases should be highlighted.

Good point. This helped to reached an objective conclusion.

• #8 by assamlaksa on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 1:07 am

Why Eric Moo, Michael Wong Guang Liang, Penny Tai, Lee Sinje, Victor Wang, Gary Chaw, Fish Leong, Yu Heng etc decide to leave Malaysia to develop their career? Why Ah Niu’s movie Ice kacang Puppy Love was denied tax rebate although it is a 100% local movie until the matter need to be politicised?

5. #9 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 6:46 pm

The brain drain started in the 70s when they changed the medium of instruction to BM and English was relegated to being a language subject only.
    My brother-in-law, now a Sg, was sent from Ipoh to complete his secondary education there.
    I finished my MCE in 1964 and I have maybe 8 classmates in Australia, a few in USA and elsewhere.
    Of my 4 children who completed school in Sg, only one is training in KL but I’m not certain where he will go. One daughter was awarded a scholarship under the Gifted Education Program.
    I have another family friend whose 6(out of 7) who finished education in Singapore with 2 having received Asean scholarships.
    Just visit the Causeway before school hours and count the scores of buses taking Malaysians to school in Singapore. All those who qualify can go on to a university there.
    So the brain drain will continue as sure as the sun rises in the east.
    The BN will not solve the bain drain problem and we need to change the government before that can happen.

• #10 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:42 pm

May I suggest like what Cintanegara said, we should present 2 sides of the picture.

Does anyone in this forum knows if there anyone in Singapore sending their children over to Malaysia for a better education?

I for one would say that the Singapore system is not perfect and the Malaysia system is good with students scoring a lot ‘A’s in examinations.

6. #11 by negarawan on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:00 pm

Foreign investors are scared away by stupid UMNO decisions like this. Declaring public holiday like Malaysia has won the World Cup? C’mon, it’s only a small cup! This is a big joke today among many MNCs in Malaysia.

7. #12 by dcasey on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:07 pm

Our national players have indeed shown their competence in the sports arena and all Malaysians should be proud of them…they have done something positive, so SYABAS to them. However on the contrary, what can the leaders of this nation show for? That they can be No. 1 in bankrupting the country? And they want applauses from the Rakyat for doing so? The same applauses that we give our national players for winning the AFF Cup? Then why’s so that many people are leaving the country (never mind that there’s a pay cut, forget about being a 2nd class citizen or even working from the bottom of the ladder up)? Let’s face it, nobody worth his salt (and intellect) wants to risk his future and that of his family in a country that is run by a gang of incompetents. That’s the bare truth and patriotism has absolutely nothing to do with the issue. Singapore has long identified this weakness of Malaysia and they don’t even bother to keep this a secret to themselves!

• #13 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:53 pm

I would like to add to this point about 2nd Class Citizen using this analogy.

In country X:
      Citizen pay is $X per-month.
      2nd Class citizen’s pay is 90% of $X per-month.

In Bolehland:
      Citizen’s pay is $Y per-month where $Y is about 20% of $X.

In terms of pay, even being a 2nd class citizen, it is better than being a citizen in Bolehland.

Now of course this is only one aspect of living.

My point is: Being a 2nd class citizen does not necessary means worse off than a citizen in Bolehland.

All aspects need to be considered and each individual will have different hierarchy of needs and values.

8. #14 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:37 pm

Meritocracy either you practise it or you don’t! Though to assist the REAL Malays, specific conditions clearly spelled out would have made those with special talent to even assist the process. Well, such admission would never have gone well with Siapa-Nama_itu. Maruah is important even though like RPK said corruption is ok! Once easy gravy is on the table, what talents are needed. To share?? They may even ask too many questions which have no answers and can only embarass the power that be.
    So be it, maybe once the black gold has finally being drained out, meritocracy can be practised as there would be no easy cash to share then. Then talents are needed to work to bring employments to the country. At the moment, cintanegara can still afford to sit under the rambutan trees!

9. #15 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:41 pm

I must add that Wan isn’t a good example of being a citizen. In spite of being in the country he didn’t bother to learn BM. It is not a pride but a shame for that!

• #16 by ChinNA on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 7:56 pm

I believe you meant to say that Chee Yeoh did not learn Malay. There was no reference that Wan (Jon Yew) could not speak Malay, at none that I noticed.

10. #17 by tak tahan on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 8:16 pm

Those brain drain better stay where u are now except until PR is elected as the new goverment of the day.Otherwise your brain will be really wasted in this many available open drains in bolehland.

11. #18 by asia on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 8:51 pm

Being a second class citizen in foreign like Singapore, Australia, or England.

It better than in Malaysia.

Your next generation in when you are second class citizen, will have absolute citizen rights and equality.

12. #19 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 9:55 pm

there are no second class citizens in Singapore and anyone progresses with meritocracy as the basic guideline.
    Of course there is class distinction with those with better pay enjoying more of the good life.
    If you are a citizen you enjoy more benefits than PRs.

13. #20 by yhsiew on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 10:48 pm

///The brain drain started in the 70s when they changed the medium of instruction to BM and English was relegated to being a language subject only./// #6 by HJ Angus

Yeah, the pre-1970s was the golden era. The standard of English was high then – both Malaysian and British students sat for the same standard English Paper in Form 5. If you had a Cambridge School Certificate, you would be looked upon as a very learned person and you earned your social prestige. If you were studying at the University of Malaya, the corporate world would treat you like a angel. They offered you jobs even before you graduated (yes, they trusted the university’s standard then).

My mother’s friend had a son and a daughter in the mid 1960s. The entire family stayed in PJ. Both the son and daughter were studying at the University of Malaya. They were offered lucrative jobs before they graduated from the university. The son and daughter fared well after graduation. The family was prospering. Then came the BM revolution in the 1970s. The whole family could not stand such “cultural revolution” or rather “cultural shock”; they then migrated to Australia. The son’s wife was working as a librarian in Australia at that time and she invited the rest of the family members to join her. The whole family are now Australian citizens (the father and mother passed away some year ago).

It is true that not many people would like to migrate to other countries. My friend and I went to Britain to study our first degree in September 1975. The moment he set foot on British soil, he said, “What is so good about Britain, I just want to go home!” Fortunately, he was able to control his home-sickness and complete a honor degree in Mechanical Engineering at the London Central Polytechnic.

14. #21 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 11:02 pm

Those who feel they are second-class citizens or are regarded by the ultra malays should count themselves fortunate. More pitiful will be their children or grand children. By the time they grow up they will not even get to ‘enjoy’ our present status. They will become third-class class or ‘penumpang’ – a class lower than ”pendatang”……unless, of course, .UMNOB/BN is kicked out fast and PR takes over. But until that happens I see no future for, not only the non-malays but also malays with no political connection to any influencial UMNOB warlord, to stay put in Malaysia.

1 Jon Yew made the right choice to leave Najib’s 1Malaysia for Lau Lee’s One Nation, One People, One Singapore.

15. #22 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 11:05 pm

correction; Those who feel they are second-class citizens or are regarded by the ultra malays as ”pendatang” should count themselves fortunate.

16. #23 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 11:09 pm

/// “It’s not about the money. I could have a better quality of life in Malaysia with my pay. ///

Not quite correct. You will not have that kind of Singapore pay in Malaysia. More importantly, you may not even get that kind of job.

17. #24 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 30 December 2010 - 11:12 pm

Brain drain of course is a common problem in the global economy and even Singaporeans move elsewhere as some yearn for the more liberal nations.
    In Malaysia though, I believe there are more PUSH factors created by the BN with their Ketuanan syndrome rather than PULL factors.
    Also, once a significant number has migrated, the burden on those remaining becomes heavier.
    This situation deteriorates until the population realises that the nation has used up all their natural resources like oil, timber and no one wants to work in the plantations.
    We are headed towards an economic ARMAGEDDON unless the BN regime is removed. Already we can see their book of dirty tricks being used to sabotage the royalty and Selangor government.

18. #25 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:00 am

It is so stupid for cintanegara to bring out musicians and actors into this discussion.
    We are talking about smart Malaysians with degrees….not artistes.
    First and foremost….those two are Muslims and especially..M.Nasir knows next to nothing except Malay music…and for S’pore..his music cannot sell.
    As for Anita Serawak is another story. She is versatile and she can sing Chinese songs too…capturing hearts in Malaysia as a performer par excellent..yet her records cannot sell. She is simply a great performer and again S’pore have limited population.
    Now take Ella and Shela Majib…both made it big and rich..from Indonesia .not Malaysia.
    And all these three…especially Anita Sarawak…made a success of herself as an International artist from S’pore..not Malaysia.
    She holds a S’pore citizenship for ages…until recently decided to be a Malaysian with contracts to keep her busy by RTM.
    Cintanegara should learn more and do not try to be too smart.
    He is sadly a programmed robot of Najib…fed with money drugs to be forever a tamed orang hutan performing monkey tricks here.

19. #26 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:07 am

And there he brings out our victorious Malaysian football team to insult DAP…as if the team comprises of 100% Muslim only.
    He has nothing to talk…except find a teeny weeny excuse to keep insulting DAP….as if it is a one race..political party.
    He is totally blind towards the mixtures of all Malaysians in DAP.
    Unbelievably….he is such a ridiculous racist…that he does not feel shameful for what he is insulting DAP for is eaxctly what UMNO B is.
    What a coconut brain he has…poor fella.

20. #27 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:13 am

And that cintanegara idiot does not understand when a team is playing on behalf of a country..it must always be 100% locals.
    Malaysia sure boleh in few sports. There is no doubt about it.
    But UMNO B sure boleh make cintanegara an idiot as planned….no doubt about it too.
    I would not have talk so much to insult him..if he just comment and stop insulting DAP. or LKS.

21. #28 by Loh on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 1:44 am

///But Fong Chan Onn (left), former human resources minister who was instrumental in previous ‘brain gain’ efforts, said the government must tackle the issue holistically.

“The government needs to rectify this sense of marginalisation. We also have to improve the mechanism so it can be more effective to ask these talents to come back,” he said.///

The holistic treatment is to remove NEP. Then ketuanan Melayu concept will go.

Najib should ask himself what he has done this year to make racial discrimination less than last year. He has done nothing to convince Malaysian that Malaysia is equal for all Malaysians. His 1Malaysia crap could have come together with the removal of NEP, but he said that NEP should continue. That statement alone would have discouraged former Malaysians who ever consider to return, if they now have jobs overseas. What good is to him and the family to return when his children will be leaving when they are due to attend universities? There is no love loss of a land where the government practises racial discrimination.

In a country where there is only one King, the King feels strong bondage with his country and he wants the country to develop. For that alone, all talents are encouraged to stay. In some other country where there are so many who claim the dignity of a throne, the positions they hold do not translate to the care they have for the land. Consequently they see distinction between the welfare of the country and their immediate households. The Buckingham Palace could have earned enough as tourist attraction for the upkeep of the British royals. Others are just a burden to government coffers, and worse their family members compete with ordinary citizens for business activities. That might explain why they have preference of political parties serving their territory.

22. #29 by raven77 on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 2:37 am

This dumb public holiday thing is going to make a lot of factories relocate to South Thailand or Indonesia and FDIs will think twice about investing in bananaland….

In 2011, there is a massive real estate bubble that just cant wait to burst….maybe that will be the mother of all bubbles and cause the Malaysian economy to finally collapse….

Things will only change in this country when the country collapses economicaly…until the those who decide to stay back should help by moving their money out of this country….

Money is the new weapon in wars …not muscle…people who love this country should fight back by keeping their money overseas…

23. #30 by Jeffrey on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 4:05 am

Brain drain is natural in globalised world. It is a matter of grave concern because in this ICT Globalised world human capital is most important capital for advancement. The question is whether the brain that is drained from on country will be “refilled” or replenished. At the end of the day does one have net gain, net loss or equilibrium??? Then it depends on what is defind as “brain”. Attracting hordes of PhDs in religious studies from Middle East to fill our universities is not the brains we’re talking about. We may attract even some terrorists. So we’re talking of the kind of brains involving technological, professional, managerial and entrepreneurial skills that will contribute and boost the economy. What attract such people? One would imagine: (i) economic factors ie jobs here that allow their talents and skills here to be used and developed; money (wages/remuneration packet and purchasing power that are comparatively favourable or at least aligned with the global wages/remuneration and a tax system that is not onerous); (ii) favourable living situation, a wide term encompassing good lifestyles, children education, good housing, health and public transportation, high degree of personal freedoms and liberties and (iii) a sense of commitment and stake in the place in which the brains live, work and contribute.

Based on these criteria (i)(ii) (iii), Malaysia could not compete favourably the ‘brainy’ foreigners. They’ve got better places to emigrate too. So the focus is on Malaysian Diaspora (ex Malaysians) Malaysian returnees are expected to bring valuable management experience, entrepreneurial skills, access to global networks and venture capital. And that’s where Talent Corp, led by Johan Mahmood Merican, comes into the picture. Talent Corp will provide incentives: ie. special visa for long term stay, opportunity to buy luxury cars without 250 to 300% import/excise duties/tariff, special expatriate remuneration package allied to global standards, special tax allowances & deductions, foreign wives, given PR or employment permit, allowed to work etc (ie I tag these “the Special Incentives”).

However there is widespread skepticism of Talent Corp’s chances of success. The skepticism is justified. How can one attract ex Malaysians to return when situation here is still driving present Malaysians out in unprecedented numbers? So the only answer is that ex Malaysian returnees are entitled to the Special Incentives that present Malaysian emigrants to other places do not have. If that were so, Talent Corp will attract only opportunist Malaysians. If I were an opportunist I will exploit Talent Corp’s Special Incentives. If I have the coveted skills why do I stay? Wouldn’t it be better if I emigrate now and later return as expatriate under Talent Corp’s auspices to enjoy the Special Incentives which I otherwise will not get to enjoy if I had stayed and not emigrated? To this extent Talent Corp’s Special Incentives will facilitate/encourage more of the skilled but opportunistic inclined of us to emigrate with no assurance that all will return -thereby representing a net-loss.

24. #31 by Jeffrey on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 4:07 am

At the end of the day, the “religious nationalism in the service of ethno nationalism” constituting the theme of the academic paper of two academics from Australia’s Flinders University – and the fact that it is trenchantly supported and perpetuated by the government of the day with no political will to reverse or combat it – is the ultimate potent “push factor” that no amount of stop gap Special Incentives can compensate by way of “pull”!

It is an effrontery to the dignity and sense of fairplay/justice of talented Malaysian emigrés to have to stomach that which has made them leave and look for greener pastures in the first place! They are, as parents, not just thinking of stop gap and temporary Special Incentives. They think for their offspring’s future. Would they bring them back to read history skewed to indoctrinate the ethno and religious centric agenda? Sure Talent Corp can arrange for their youngsters to attend international and private schools but will that be recompense when the younger teenager can arrested in public parks for holding the hands of his girl friend, or elder papa or mama get arrested for a pint of beer with mama subject to whipping? Will these incentives compensate the venture capitalists or entrepreneurs when, in spite of what the PM said, many bureaucrats persist in red tapes, expect bribes or insist on strict and rigid implementation of the NEP guidelines? Will these incentives compensate those experts who have to live daily by instructions and orders of their superiors promoted on basis of race and creed?

When Fong Chan Onn said the government must tackle the issue holistically and rectify the pervasive sense of ‘marginalisation’, he is just saying what everyone knows but in more indirect and euphemistic terms of what is the main malaise.
    Not all our skilled emigrants are just searching for educational, economic or intellectual opportunities elsewhere. Many are forced to leave their country due to what they perceive political, ethnic and religious persecution. At the heart of the programme to get talented Malaysian emigrés to reurn for good – and not just to exploit a temporary opportunity from Talent Corp’s Special Incentives – they must have a sense of belonging, a stake and a feeling of being appreciated by their own country and the governing authority.
    If the factors making them feel second class and persecuted in their own country and pushing them to leave in the first instance still prevail now, nay indeed intensify and multiply now more than ever – why should they relocate, re-adjust, pack and return to the same or worse or worsen set of conditions ? Much is a battle of hearts and minds – like the way the British successfully won the war of insurgency against communists – and not just money and the Special Incentives.

Let that be clear

25. #32 by Jeffrey on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 4:09 am

The root problems revolve around the NEP, the rising extremism based on race or religion. These make us a close society. Talented people gravitate towards open societies because such societies provide the optimum economic and cultural milieu conducive for attraction of domestic and foreign investments, innovation and R&D and also the cosmopolitan environment for leisure and lifestyle of the talented and skilled.

Sure, China, Taipei, Korea, Vietnam and India lose their talents as well but are compensated by substantial returnees – in part due to the right mix of policies to expand the economy and generate career opportunities for the talents to work and thrive.

They don’t have the NEP and Bumi-non Bumi dichotomy and hence could engender greater patriotism amongst their nationals returning. Whilst they become increasingly more open a society, we become more closed: that’s the difference.

To be sure, the PM knows the root problems. Najib himself said “a society that is closed up will not attract the best brains; it will attract mediocre people and the good ones would have left the country, and we will be a lot poorer as a result”.

However knowing is one thing, addressing and having the political will to address the root problem is another, lacking which Talent Corp becomes a posturing to be seen doing something than actually doing it – all because of the fear of losing political support and positions.

Malaysians here and in Diaspora become despondent when NEM reverses to NEP, Perkasa gets appeased in its agenda than rebuked and chastised. (In fact quite the reverse happened).

Limiting hope, growth and opportunity always exacerbate the exodus than reverse the migration of the brightest and the best of any country.

26. #33 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 6:25 am

excellent remarks by Jeffrey – 4am! guess you can’t sleep like me sometimes.
    Talent Corp is just like the talentime shows we had in schools in the 70s. Little talents to show. Of course there will be the nice trips to London, New York and Sydney and other major shopping centres to meet Malaysians and ex-Malaysians. Maybe the PM’s wife will also undertake this arduous task?
    But it is really a no-brainer as far as most our ex-Malaysians are concerned.
    Some uprooted themselves from country and family after great disappointment after NEP began, some after NEP was not discontinued after the stated period but transformed into the Never Ending Policy of “we need another 30% as it has all been consumed” and now we have the Ketuanan syndrome to boot with royalty not been able to rule fairly.
    Many of these have settled nicely overseas and I bet anyone that no one below 60 will return for longer than one year as conditions have indeed worsened with even the law and order system being screwed up. At that age most of their children would have ended their studies and become citizens.
    A former Israeli President has been convicted of rape but in Malaysia it seems there was a rape report at high levels that was quashed. No wonder the police are able to thumb their collective noses at the IPCMC.

27. #34 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 6:27 am

As far as UMNO is concerned, the ‘colour’ of the brain is important.

If the brain is of a Chinese, Indian or Iban colour, then it seems clear to everybody that UMNO wouldn’t regard that as a brain drain.

The conclusion is : UMNO has no brains!

28. #35 by wanderer on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 8:23 am

Although migrating is a very personal matter, to those who are seriously thinking of taking the, just do it! I have left Malaysia with my whole family 30 years ago, I have never regretted for a moment. My children are holding good jobs with post graduate degrees…do you think I could have done it for 5 siblings if I had stayed back? None has the desire to return, a decision which I played no part!

29. #36 by wanderer on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 8:27 am

sorry typo error…

…those who are seriously thinking of taking the plunge, just do it!

30. #37 by undertaker888 on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 8:33 am

Which talent is stupid enough to return? return for what? to see and experience institutionalized discrimination or to become like chow-kow tee in order to survive?
    they will sincerely welcome the pendatangs back when the oil ran out and at the brink of bankruptcy. By then they really need the brains in order to save the brainless.

31. #38 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 8:35 am

yes, that is the impression I get from friends who have left….they don’t even want to discuss Malaysian politics!
    But of course many do return on a regular basis especially the “kangaroos” as they still have family here and of course a few return for a foodies tour.
    The funds budgetted for the Talent Corp would be better spent on Meritocracy Scholarships with the condition scholars return to serve Malaysia for at least 4 years and that can even be done in the private sector.

32. #39 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 9:41 am

Here is a one-liner on the Talent Corp:

“Trying to remedy the brain drain with a brain dead solution”

33. #40 by sotong on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 9:47 am

It’s all about career opportunity and advancement for the long term, not necessarily more pay now.

Our country is very attractive to low skills workers with low income.

You must have the people to create real value added jobs and high income for our people but there is no strong incentive and encouragement from government.

I think it is too late…even Malays are leaving the country for better opportunity and quality of life.

34. #41 by sotong on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 9:52 am

Once you have settled into a new country and its environment, irrespective of one’s circumstances, you will never want to come back…..for what? May be for family,relatives and friends.

35. #42 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 10:16 am

it is not surprising that many students don’t want to return.
    I studied for 4 years in the UK with another guy on a private firm scholarship and both of us preferred the climate there as there was more variety – but we were in sunny Portsmouth!
    But we both returned to serve our 5-year bond.

36. #43 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 10:19 am

It would be interesting to see the racial breakdown of those who migrated over the past 30 years.
    I know many Eurasians moved to Australia after the Malay language became the medium of instruction.

37. #44 by dagen on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 10:30 am

Yes I would encourage anyone with potential to leave the country. Here they talk about nothing except rambutans and people destroying their rambutan trees. As a matter of fact I just kicked a rambutan the other day. It was in my way and no one was around. So I just kicked it like a little (hairy) ball.

38. #45 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 10:33 am

“wanderer” may find migration have benefited his whole family…but many minority Malaysians learn to sacrifice and stay put and not let UMNO B have it their ways.
    They did that for decades and their determinations and prayers will be answered sooner or later.
    “wanderer” should not encourage Malaysians to migrate like him…as all are not like him…so lucky or what?
    It is like telling all Malaysians leave the country at war with the devils.
    Good for him…and I guess his comments for a change in government means nothing …just hot air talks…..as Malaysia means nothing to him ..so why be so concern?
    If want is so selfish….please do not teach others to be like him.

39. #46 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 10:52 am

Yes Angus…Eurasians mostly teachers left for Australia.
    And “dagen” can leave Malaysia and stop advising others to do so.
    We are at “war” with the devils and brave ans much smarter ones are staying back..for the love of the country and people.
    You want to be a deserter…go ahead ..but do not encourage others.
    Smart to talk….but have no balls to stay back and not let the devils have it their ways..is a cowardly person.
    I guess all old guards like Karpal…Lim Guan Eng..Lim Kit Siang and Anwar are all real stupid Malaysians.. to sacrifice so much country and people.
    I wonder why few have left for decades or planning to migrate…are talking so much bad about our Govt….yet can never vote or walk the talks at all.
    What are they..good Samaritans….from Mars?
    If one have migrated and regretted it was big mistake…cannot vote…is contributing to expose the double standards of the Govt….by all means continue.
    But if anyone is encouraging migration…he is totally selfish and self centered…exactly like MCA racists.
    Najib has declared he will defend PutraJaya with his life….and here we have smart ones tell others to leave like cowards.
    So you made it elsewhere…good for you..but do you think your principles in life and dignities are as strong as ours staying put in Malaysia?

40. #47 by danieltkb on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 11:02 am

the out cry is so great , it will never win the hearts of people if a system kept manupulating its own people,
    that’s for sure, in everywhere u in.

41. #48 by Ray on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 11:07 am

Every malaysia citizen should hv enough food on his/her dinning table……recently quoted by PM Najib during his visit to Sarawak….wonder how is this possible …talk for fun try to pleasethese Blind voters only during political ceramahs…””Lies Forever””
    Obviously this a Najib’s mytholgy or another new political Slogan just to buy Votes….?
    Umno had hardly create or reserve any civil service job opportunity for Non Malay graduates ..Why ?
    The answer is so simple>>> these Umnoputras Power craczy oppressive morons fearing their rice bowls substantially diappeared instead jeopordised their daily livelihood …fearing their economical strength will be graudually weakened thus their reigning will be diminished if the Non Malay citizens were given fair and equal opportunity .
    Are there willing to reform….No way!!
    ….Ex -Malaysians will Not return home Unless PR Voted inted into Putrajaya…with 2/3 majority
    and Brain drain continues as long as Umno rules Malusia ; Lies and rob Bank Negara saving and the rakyats taxes monies.

42. #49 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 11:26 am

Migrations are due to many reasons …such as…..
    1. Sick of double standards applied in Govt sectors…like the schools and Govt. Depts.
    First batch to go in big numbers are the Eurasian teachers from Malacca..and the did that with no choice.
    2. Few Chinese professionals like doctors left because wives demanded that for the sake of their children better education…even though those doctors have to change professions to survive…as many found their ”
    chinese” clinics” empty. Whites to do want them to be treated by a yellow skin doc.
    This group of migrators are purely selfish people.
    3.Some run away from being arrested for crimes.
    4. Many thousands DO NOT migrate….but seek jobs elsewhere…and these are mostly ordinary workers.
    You can say…it is the selfish well educated buggers with degrees…that really are migrating..thinking the grass is always greener on the other side. So many have regretted it..but years have passed by…and strange enough…hiding their bad decisions..by advising others to do like them. I guess .the cannot stand seeing others happy and well…and live it out
    …fighting for their rights….with heads held high and proud..doing that for so many good reasons unselfishly.
    Do not mix migrations and seeking jobs elsewhere as the same thing.
    It appears the more one is are well educated…the more selfish…. one is.
    The sad part is these people encourages others to be selfish like them.
    And all over the world…the Chinese race are most in Malaysia.
    Why should we migrate when we are Malaysians…not Chinese at all.

43. #50 by wanderer on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 11:35 am

Monsterball, I qualified my comment by saying, “Migration is a personal matter” The Chinese is a
    migrating race, so what our forefathers did, we are doing likewise. Finding a greener pasture elsewhere.
    If I chose to continue my fight against these scumbags in the UMNO/BN coalition, it is my business. A war can be fought within the shore
    of this Peninsular and outside, where I stand equal to these ketuanan melayu a@@holes!….so pick your fight with cintanegara and enunch Chengho.
    I think my dear friend, you are due for registration in the old folks home!

44. #51 by limkamput on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:05 pm

I see lots of reasons which we already know, but no solution.

We know lots of inefficiencies in the economy are due to misplaced government policies and corruption. Surely the government must do more so that the outflow and inflow of migrants are more balanced.

But we have never question ourselves whether we Malaysians are “professional” people. We routinely short change customers, we cheat, and we don’t care much on the quality of our service or products. We are always on the look out for easy success – how to get “jalan” to become rich without working. We like to spend a lot on phone, IT products, designer clothes and dine at posh places even though our income is not that much. And when we can not make ends meet, we blame the government.

We condemn so much on corruption, but we never hesitate to give bribe when confronted with a problem. In fact we have no shame when giving bribe; we share among friends in coffee shop which sergeant or which JPJ officer or Puspakom staff is easy to “kowtin”.

45. #52 by limkamput on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:09 pm

…should be “But we have never questioned….

46. #53 by monsterball on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:15 pm

Chinese is a migration race is true…but Chinese in Malaysia have succeeded to contribute building Malaysia…and has more that 28% population..that makes the Chinese race very unique migration in Malaysia.. special and powerful.
    Will all the Italians migrated to USA ..migrate away from USA?
    Certainly not…as USA is a land of opportunities.
    But in Malaysia…UMNO B is making is difficult for Chinese due t their dirty race politics…supported by MCA.
    Yes…”migration is a personal matter”. I read it well…but to encourage Malaysian Chinese to migrate is bukum and full of shit..that only selfish idiots think like that….and certainly Chinese is known to be a selfish race too.
    The beautiful part .right now…young Malaysian Chinese admits their father are very selfish.
    I do do need to go to old folks home.
    I am a self made millionaire…no need old folks home..and my children who are very successful with degrees doing odd jobs to make sure…they stay put and fight for Malaysians..freedom and rights.
    Have you tasted gas bombs and water cannons treatments…risking life to fight for freedom?
    By all means…fight the scumbags in the UMNO/BN coaltion.
    I am not picking a fight with you…except will stop you from encouraging others to migrate like you…regardless…for “personal matter” or otherwise.
    You encourage migrations..I will debate with you.
    Tell me which country have you migrated to and how good it is…besides being treated to be a better human being.
    You can talk and fight all you want.
    We do need alot of “FOREIGNERS” like you..your wise opinions. in favour of change in Govt….but there is a limit to these foreigners…which includes you .. to say and what not to say..as we Malaysians are risking our lives to fight for freedom…while smart ones like you can talk and feel so safe?
    cintanegara and chengo are toys to me.
    The smart ones like you.. encouraging migration is more important to battle with.
    Go read my comments for Malaysians migrating.
    Which type do you belong to?

47. #54 by asia on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 12:40 pm

Most of Malaysians have done one mistake by not knowing that the government do not own the country, they are appointed by Malaysian voters.

They do not know they are the owners of the country.

Hope someone want to help Malaysians awake, publish a book with cartoon picture drawing explain in detail how the Malaysian governments work, why we all need to vote to appoint government administrators, how the constitution works, how the government works.

Let them know what power they are holding so their vote would not simply buy by $50-250 dollars.

Malaysians need to wake up from sleep not knowing about they voting power to choose, to appoint the people to serve them not the other around Malaysians to server the appointee by their vote.

48. #55 by k1980 on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 1:11 pm

//..not knowing that the government do not own the country, they are appointed by Malaysian voters.//

Precisely, hence the education policy of scrapping the ppsmi, the indoctrination of “tuanness” in the history textbooks, the dumbing of university grads, ect so that the people would know nuts about true democracy.

49. #56 by HJ Angus on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 1:23 pm

Migration has affected many families and there is some debate about those who leave.
    To me, to each his own choice and each one is a child of the universe.
    Every one has the right to speak up about the merits or pitfalls of migating and there should be no condemnation of those who encourage others to leave.
    For example, if you find fantastic opportunities in your new country, wouldn’t you want to broadcast it to your relatives and close friends?
    That is how the Indonesians mulitiplied over here.
    If some of our Malaysians did not leave like Olivia Lum, that water-cleansing company Hyflux may not have been established.
    Those who remain should reach out more to other races and become unified against corrupt leaders.

50. #57 by wanderer on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 6:02 pm

Warrior Monsterball, UMNO jerks aided by the coalition beggar parties have ripped the State and
    the Federal Constitutions and tainted all the country Institutions…how do you propose to fght these corrupted and evil men from UMNO?…with your two balls!!
    If you have read my comments carefully, I said, only those who are thinking of seriously migrating, take the plunge. I believe in pure democracy, freedom of speech and freedom of choice.
    If you think that you are the only who have fought UMNO/BN, perhaps, you should check my track records with DAP..well before LGE came into the picture.
    Remember, Seremban was the strong hold of DAP…..
    I was a Serembanite!
    So self-made millionaire, my proposal for you to register a place in the Old Folks Home is because your metal faculty is suspect! (an advice, not an insult).

51. #58 by Loh on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 7:11 pm

If non-Malays have remained in the country the population share should stay at around 30% rather than at 22% now. It is most unlikely that they will be able to help change the government through the corrupted parliamentary process. But that battle does not have to be declared lost, with the dwindling non-Malay population. That makes Monsterball appeal for non-Malays to stay, and such sentiment is understandable.

On the other hand, if non-Malays are willing to subject themselves to the unfair NEP without reaction, then talents would have remained, and Malaysia is not in such a low-income trap. UMNO could then be able to perpetuate NEP with impunity. The mass exodus supposed to have sent a message to UMNO that the NEP which was utilized to whitewash the May 13 incident and to camouflage the coup d’etat should not have remained after it had served its purposes. But 40 years later Najib still declare NEP relevant. He in fact meant that Ketuanan Melayu is the government policy without using specific words.

If I have to leave Malaysia, I would wish that it goes to hell, since the racist policies perpetrated by UMNO should have the people said to be protected by UMNO suffer more than the others. Meanwhile I wish that UMNO would be defeated.

52. #59 by undertaker888 on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 8:28 pm

some people think like we are all millionaires which has nothing to do but stay and fight this fight that. we do all we can but we also have mouths to feed. millionaires dont have to worry about feeding mouths, but we do.

so i suggest the millionaire to give away his millions to PR to have a good fight. it is easy to talk big with a full stomach.

some people do think with their feet like the world revolves around them.

53. #60 by wanderer on Friday, 31 December 2010 - 9:03 pm

It is about time Malaysians realize if we do not act as a single force, confronting this immoral and corrupted UMNO administration, even winning the election will not see a smooth hand over of power to PR. Ivory Coast predicament is a good example for the Opposition to take note. In Malaysia we depend on people’s power, how many will put their lives on the line!
    Monsterball, will you lead the demonstration to fight for justice? Stay wise and use your head my friend, I hate to loose a fighting comrade!
    A dead hero is no blooming use to anyone…

54. #61 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 3:03 am

I will be glad to lead a demonstration…if I am chosen.
    So I I followed in few rallies an demonstrations and candle lighting vigils paring for arrested innocent ones.
    I do walk my talks.
    And you can twist my explaination of my blessed richness..into something else..who cares.
    I do not need to tell anyone.. how generous I am.
    I have seen so many millionaires treating ten sen like a bullock cart wheel …that big…and thee are the real selfish Malaysians you need talk talk to for donations to charities.
    It seems whenever someone cannot respond….it becomes my personal matters to talk about.
    This is not about me…but migrations.
    Let stick to the subject.

55. #62 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 4:27 am

Excuse my terrible typing mistakes…but I am sure my comment is understood.
    I take exceptions for wanderer telling me to take in an old folks home….no matter what he is trying to say after that.
    I was born at Limbok Road ..Seremban and Limbok was my great grand father.
    I have tasted near death and starvation during Japanese occupation.
    AS much as I do admire Seremban freedom fighters…it is a fact…that Seremban at that time are infested with gangsters trying to control the town more than real fights for freedom for Malaysians.
    No use to talk of lousy history of Seremban.
    Now…lets us again…stick to the subject…and not how great we are.
    One have migrated..that’s it…by all means write till you drop dead against Govt…but do not hint nor suggest migrations….mostly for selfish reasons.

56. #63 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 5:58 am

HJ Angus said there should be no condemnations of those who encourage others to leave.
    He is a Muslim and his agree to disagree comment reminds me that he will go where the wind blows.
    Good for him…but the fact that he is a Muslim….the sufferings of minorities cannot be felt by him as much as I do.. who belongs to the minority race.
    Loh had said it well. If we stick together…our % would have been more powerful.
    We are at war with the devils to control the country.
    It takes many to see that AFTER 12th GE…but old folks like me have seen it all…especially when Mahathir took over…and it is getting worst.
    Yes..at this time…minorities thinking of migrating are cowards or deserters…running away for totally selfish reasons….and that will be my argument for all to discuss or debate with me.
    Before that…those that have migrated…please tell me where are you…Australia…Canada…or hiding in a remote village in USA?
    This is the time were every vote counts…and for anyone to talk migrations is sickening and sinful to me.
    Smart ones taking votes away from PR.. by saying they are “repairmen” and forming third force..this and that.
    Why so many smart ones suddenly emerged?
    Chinese has a saying…you can eat anything you want…but do not talk anything…just because you like it..without thinking who you are hurting.

57. #64 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 6:10 am

Don’t worry wanderer…I will be alive to vote at 13th GE.
    Thanks for you blooming concern.

58. #65 by wanderer on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 8:05 am

Don’t worry Monsterball, when the 13th GE comes, I will be there to vote. Make sure you are still able to find the correct booth to cast your vote and place your cross correctly.
    I have done my parental duties for my siblings, I have a personal battle with UMNO AND MCA. I will continue my fight, I am no quitter!
    Calling me a foreigner, my blooming ass!

59. #66 by sotong on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 9:13 am

Migrants are not cowards or deserters…they are the builders of great nations.

Due to limited opportunity and gross discrimination in the country….their decisions to leave, this is not a decision easily made by cowards, have provided opportunity for those who stayed and therefore contributed to peace and harmony.

But our so called ” leaders ” exploited the situation for narrow, divisive and damaging politics of race and religion.

60. #67 by sotong on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 9:19 am

One is no coward by retreating from a battle to fight another.

If they are wounded, they should retreat and recover to fight another fight….being outnumbered, everyone is important.

61. #68 by wanderer on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 9:54 am

Thank you sotong, one can instantly recognizes you have a bright young mind…forward looking and having a better vision for the future!…unlike some stale, retreating old brains who should be kept in the old folks home!

62. #69 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 10:36 am

monsterball:
    63.”HJ Angus said there should be no condemnations of those who encourage others to leave.
    He is a Muslim and his agree to disagree ….”
    but the fact that he is a Muslim….the sufferings of minorities cannot be felt by him as much as I do.. who belongs to the minority race”

just need to correct your rather presumtious statements.
    As I have written a few time already HJ does not stand for Haji and I am definitely not Muslim the last time I checked.
    If you belong to the minority race, anyone can understand how I feel as a Eurasian.
    Maybe that is why my wife and I decided to educate our 4 kids to become global citizens.

I suggest witers to this blog should focus more on issues rather than indulge in personal trivialities.

63. #70 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 10:37 am

sorry typo:
    “writers” and not “witers”

64. #71 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:02 am

The problems with the mentalities of some Malaysian Chinese is that they cannot differentiate the history of Chinese migrating away from mainland Chinese to all parts of the world successfully …..including Malaysia.
    And they cannot differentiate how uniquely powerful they are in Malaysia.
    Have no choice or simply too selfish?
    Their grandfathers..have contributed to building what Malaysia is today…some can surrender to a political party so easily..with no will powers to say and fight like men.
    When I say fight…I mean to sacrifice and not easily bullied.
    No no no…these are not cowards in physical sense…but cowards in selfish and conceited sense and mentalities…like hokkien say….”kaki ku kaki”
    Yes..these are cowards that dare not confront face to face a racist political party..out to bully his own race….but will fight if his own family is bullied.
    Malaysia belongs to them…yet they are also being programmed by UMNO B as aliens or second class citizens….just because they have one like MCA agree to be that?
    Yes…many Malaysians Chinese are real selfish and cowardly blokes…can talk big and do nothing to walk their talks.
    I wonder if a racist chase that bloke out of his house…will he leave?
    Surely not and why so. Because that’s his property and he will protect it with his life.
    One say will run and come back to fight another day. That’s leaving the dirty jobs for others to do or is talking nonsense…you go and conclude.
    Sotong thinks he migrate out of Malaysia to build great nations and wanderer agrees with him?….hahahahahahaha

65. #72 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:13 am

You have UMNO B racists and minorities selfishness.
    No wonder some Muslims have no confidence with the Malaysian Chinese true loyalties to Malaysia.
    All know and can talk so well….against Najib and UMNO B dirty politics…..yet.. when come to real actions…some are like dogs with tails curl in …run away like cowards.
    Are they like what I say they are?
    Surely not…but how else can one describe such smart well educated selfish blokes…talk great and run like away when needed most.
    Yes….some of the people of my race cannot be trusted to be true Malaysians.
    They are so selfish…that it is time to exposed them.

66. #73 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:25 am

I am not including the vast majority traveling out of Malaysia to seek jobs….especially to S’pore.
    There is a saying that S’pore is what it is due to Malaysian Chinese workers…..and almost all are still Malaysian citizens…returning home…to be with their families. These are no migrators.
    They have no choice but ti go elsewhere to work..but will never give up their Malaysian citizenship.
    They do come back to vote against the Govt. faithfully.
    Those smart Malaysia Chinese who have migrated or planning to migrate…should study the reasons why so many are slaughtered in Indonesia few years ago in Solo…and so many small towns in Temmangong State.
    Yes…some Chinese in Indonesia and Malaysia are having same selfish..conceited attitudes and mentalities…that deserves what they get.
    And in Malaysia…we deserved to be treated like dogs…because smart ones run away.

67. #74 by wanderer on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:37 am

Some people accomplished things silently, some accomplished very little but, singing very loudly! It takes all kinds to make this wonderful world …it is a pity some do no see further than their nose!
    The bottom line is, my family comes first, above everything else…if you called that “selfish” so be it or whatever….

68. #75 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:44 am

OK my Eurasian friend….your point noted…but you DO belong to the most minority of the minorities and your kind was the first to leave Malaysia..from Malacca. So nothing new…if you term it..your children be global citizens.
    We are talking about Chinese migrations and the population and their grandfather’s contributions..forbid them to think like that..if the are still alive.
    This is not personal. Please do not out words into my mouth.
    This is about the future of Malaysians depending on the total powerful Malaysian Chinese to stay united and protect their rights and freedom.
    You want to join in …fine..but stop teaching Malaysians to be global citizens…as I also know hundreds of Eurasians are staying put to fight for their rights too.
    If you wish to know…I have 2 wonderful children from a Eurasian wife…and Malacca is where I was educated..with dozens of Eurasian friends….mostly fishermen…never talk of migrations…for they have no choice.
    Yes…whenever the Chinese have made it good they tend to be very selfish …instead of feeling the blessed Malaysia gave them the opportunities and they must return the blessing by protecting the helpless and poor Malaysians.

69. #76 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:46 am

Yip wanderer..you said it.
    You cannot see further than your family..or your noise ..as you put it.

70. #77 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 11:55 am

I mean “nose” not noise…and out or respect to LKS…this will be my last comment in this post.
    I have said enough and if anyone wants to sideline the real truths to say it….. “it’s natural”…and that what makes the world go round…so be it.
    They are the devils that can quote scriptures…not me.

71. #78 by sotong on Saturday, 1 January 2011 - 1:09 pm

With all due respect Great Warrior Monsterball, your view is as important as wanderer’s.

There are many paths, with different songs, to go up the mountain.

Malaysian of all races will come and help.

72. #79 by boh-liao on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 7:35 am

Not all nonMalays r against UmnoB, many r like remoras/sharksuckers, clinging 2 UmnoB

73. #80 by sojourner on Sunday, 2 January 2011 - 8:28 pm

Kindly take a look at http://www.mudframes.com/projects/exodus. Project details in the website. I’m looking for Malaysians and ex-msians who may be interested to take part in this. The project aims to highlight the growing concern for the brain drain syndrome plaguing Malaysia. I would like to photo document all msians and ex-msians who are currently residing permanently outside Malaysia.

Please help spread the word. I’m sure you have friends who fit the criteria and know a network of people through which I can quickly and widely make this initiative visible.

I’m having a huge problem trying to make this initiative public. I hope those who are currently residing abroad can help spread the word. I would even appreciate if I could be directed to the right resource or people with whom I can further collaborate on this exercise.

No initiative is too small an attempt to effect change. I’m aware I’m being taken very lightly in most fronts for the past 3 months. We can go on talking and debating but I guess, one of the powerful means to “fight” this is through a visual demonstration process.

Please help yourselves by helping me to give me an edge.

@Mr Lim – I’m sure you’ll have every means and resources to help cascade this throughout all relevant MP contacts and their contacts..etc TQ.