The world has spoke “yes to economic freedom, liberal market, no to NEP and corruption”

By Dr Chen Man Hin, DAP life advisor

UNCTAD, a UN body has issued its World Investment Report (WIR) 2010 on Foreign Direct Inflows (FDIs) of world countries.

The report on the 2009 FDIs into the Asean region are as follows

Singapore US$16.1 billion
Malaysia 1.38 billion
Philippines 1.95
Thailand 5.95
Indonesia 4.88
Vietnam 4.56

The FDI for Malaysia in 2008 was US$7.2 billion, which meant that there was a 81% precipitous drop for the year 2009.

The DAP had warned many times over the past few years that there should be a change in strategy to attract foreign investment into the country. The steady fall of FDI into Malaysia was a clear indication that the policies of the government were unattractive to investors, both foreign and local. but our warnings fell on deaf ears.

Now the day of reckoning has come. The WRI of 2010 has clearly indicated that FDIs to Malaysia has fallen by 81%, largely because foreign investors do not find the investment climate friendly.

LOSS OF INVESTMENT CONFIDENCE.

There were early warning signs. The European Union sent a delegation to Malaysia and they commented that there were restrictions on free trade and were not happy about the New Economic Policy restriction of 30% bumiputra equity. America too have reservations about procurement which favoured bumiputras with the 30% bumiputra equity, as a result of which, America would not sign a free trade agreement with Malaysia.

POOR PERFORMANCE OF KLCI

Compared with other stock markets in Asia, the Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI) performed badly showing severe loss of investor confidence

HANG SENG INDEX STRAITS TIMES INDEX INDONESIA STOCK INDEX KOSPI (KORES KLCI (MALAYSIA)
1990 2750 1500 1200
2000 15000 2000 680 1000 974
2010 20500 2950 3000 1800 1337

The stock indices show that after twenty years, Hong Kong index increased 8 times, Singapore 2 times, S Korea up by 80%. As for the KLCI, it hardly increased at all. It has remained almost static since 1990.

This is a sad reflection of the utter lack of confidence in the KL market, meaning that local investors have no confidence in the economy.

There is a complete loss of investor confidence by both foreign and local investors.

CAUSES this is a grave situation and the Prime Minister should review his political and economic policies of the country, in the eyes of the world, Malaysia has fallen our of the ranks of the Asian tigers, and even below Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam. The Prime Minister must change to a LIBERAL, FREE ECONOMY with no more rent seeking, no more closed tenders, and definitely no more NEP. If he cannot change, then it is a matter of time when Malaysia will join the ranks of banana republics like Zimbabwe.

1. #1 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 1:02 pm

How come a tiny fellow can convert so much muscles to secure 16 points whereas we the big fellow can only manage a miserable 1.38 points.

2. #2 by k1980 on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 1:47 pm

FDIs to Malaysia has fallen by 81%

That is why bn is removing subsidies, plus going to raise electricity tariffs, impose GST and compulsory salary deductions for healthcare. Kudos to the idiots who voted for bn in March 2008

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 1:49 pm

Stop saying we are only worst than Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam. We are worst than Cambodia, Laos and possibly more.

The fact is we have HUGE advantages over ALL of the countries including Singapore. We should not only be close to Singapore, we should be exceeding Singapore. The fact we are closer to Cambodia, Laos mean our performance is worst than them because we have more to work with. Compared to Singapore, we are a laughing stock, a freaking joke.

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 1:50 pm

Remember CLOB ?

Dr M f@!xx#*@ the foreign investors for a few years. Many lost tons of money and suffered a lot of inconvenience. There was literally no free market. And some crony was given the contract to release the shares and made a cool RM 300 – 500 million easy money.

Now we want them back, will they ever come again? Yusli the KLSE CEO cannot lure any of them back. He’s given up trying.

When there is no free, transparent market, and a lot of flip-flop policies, no investor is interested. There is just no confidence. There are better opportunities elsewhere.

5. #5 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 2:20 pm

Jib, jib, hooray!
    1M’sia leads fr belakang!
    What me worry? Still got oil $$$ 2 siphon off
    UmnoB/BN kaki still living like lords n royalties

6. #6 by k1980 on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 2:33 pm

If jib were to be the principal of a school where the SPM results have fallen by by 81%, the students and parents would had thrown him out on his ear

7. #7 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 2:42 pm

Talk is cheap. How much FDI has Penang secured? Why the figures are not shown?

8. #8 by cseng on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 3:36 pm

For too long the nation put priority on a ‘lost cause’. It is cheap to call himself ‘cintanegara, whatever you did is for that ‘lost cause’. If you keep chasing off gooses that lay eggs for that ‘lost cause’, you would be sending you kids to be maids on the foreign land very soon. At that point of time, you claimed to be the king or prince or god of this soil! but for what?.
    For too long many countries are trying to build their strength and competitiveness to take on the world. Japan did that, Korea did that, Samsung, Hyundai, Sony etc. their nation build strength on gooses that lay eggs, build them to lay golden eggs. We, on the other hand, benefited the tiny dot down south with our talents. Will chase away goose that lay eggs, we kill the goose that lay golden eggs, for that ‘lost cause’. For people like ‘cintanegara’, it does not matter if gooses were killed, what matter is who benefitted from killing the gooses!.

9. #9 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 4:21 pm

This clearly shows foreigners have no more confidence in Malaysia….and Najib leadeship…and it takes an idiot like cintanegara to talk cock again.
    He does not understand what is Malaysia and Penang?

10. #10 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 4:36 pm

“If he cannot change, then it is a matter of time when malaysia will join the ranks of banana republics like Zimbabwee”.
    My own perception is that the PM wants to change but the Bankrupsi Negara warlords are the ones resisting as the golden goose will be taken away from them.
    So he cannot change the system.
    The good news is that the news on FDI is really the LAST warning for all Malaysians – YOU can CHANGE the government by voting out the BN in the next elections.

11. #11 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 4:38 pm

note to admin:
    I am sure wordpress has a feature that allows a Table(with or without lines) to be inserted so the numbers can be seen more clearly.

12. #12 by gofortruth on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 4:43 pm

With Najib’s “wimps & fancy” style of running his government, you tell me who on earth would have confidence in this country?
    With our own educated & well to do citizens leaving the country, which foreigner in the right mind would dare to part with his/her money to invest in Malaysia?
    Furthermore the whole wide world have Najib the prime minister as the clear suspect for a heinous murder,it would be insane for them to invest anything here. Najib owes it to the nation to come out to clear his name. If he is clean, he has nothing to fear. Until then or unless we have a new government, FDI is no going to improve. No sir!

13. #13 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 4:56 pm

It is exactly the same in business.
    When customers do not trust the Seller …they will not buy from his Company.
    The Customers are Foreign Investors.
    The Seller is UMNO B.
    The Company is Malaysia.
    Are Customers unfair or stupid?
    No..Customers are usually careful.
    Yes the Seller…which is Najib or UMNO B have bad unreliable reputations.
    You think cintanegara can understand this?

14. #14 by Kasim Amat on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 5:09 pm

Although there is a fall in FDI, I believe it is not a bad thing because the unemployment rate does not go up so much and people are still spending. We should not be misguided away by the numbers. If we want to argue that the fall of FDI brings a bad signal, then we have to look at the full picture why this has happened. The fall of FDI is not solely the fault of our government. Every citizen in this country has a responsibility for FDI. Since 2008, our political landscape has changed. The Malay are not united like before. Oppositions are making all sort of stories to shake the government. There were bound to be dissenting voice against any policy from our government, especially the principle to keep Bumi stake at 30%. This dissenting voice has started to shake the social stability and slowly scare away investors. During Tun Mahathir’s time, do we not have the 30% stake requirement for BUMI? We have NEP then but we still see FDI rocketing and economy booming. The reason was because there were no objection to the NEP and the Malay were united. Investors were more confident because what they needed then was there – a strong government that could safeguard their interest and ensure high return of their investment. Since oppositions become stronger in this country, we start to see investors running away and the oppositions are blaming the government for this? If we need more FDI, we need a strong government. We as a citizen has a responsibility to make this happen. Malay has to be united and our leader should be firm on his decision.

15. #15 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 5:17 pm

Yea yea yea…pass the buck and blame it on Malaysians.
    The only wrong I can think of about Malaysians are being selfish and not united to throw UMNO B out completely..at 12th GE.Poor investments are due solely to reputations and corruptions that frigthened off investors.
    Majority Malays are united to throw UMNO B out..be it how good the are now.
    They do not want to live with the labels as hypocrites and corrupted crooks…which they are not.

16. #16 by dagen on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 5:45 pm

But the world did not realise: Malaysia has angkasawan and cintanegara and umno’s secret economic weapon – “the rambutan tree principle”.

17. #17 by cintanegara on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 5:56 pm

Let’s give elderly people like Monster Ball a chance to chase his dream. Everyone knows his dream is over, what can he say? He probably didn’t realize that DS Najib has received overwhelming support from all segments of Malaysian society. I’d suggest Monster Ball to watch ‘Yesterday’s Glitter”, a popular TV drama series in the 80s.

18. #18 by chew888 on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 6:03 pm

DAP, thank you for the facts. Without you we wouldn’t know the true about our country economic situation. Many small medium business people can feel the direct effect of the slow down economy of this country recent years.
    Question is are we suppose to put a blame on the world crisis that has hit us bad recently, well i can say yes it has been hitting us since 1998 crisis, since then we have not go anywhere.
    When you start traveling to the neigbouring country and start to see and feel the rise of their country economical situation are so colorful and instresting, the problem start when I came back home here in Malaysia there are not so much activities are happening here!
    Yet the local media keep feeding us with false information that certain people want misled us into a trap.
    Malaysia please wake up…..if you still want to save your country from bandit of country…….
    Vote wisely. Facts shows.

19. #19 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 6:09 pm

I told you guys that the low FDI number has no effect on cintanegara’s rambutan tree.

20. #20 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 6:28 pm

cintanegara :
    Talk is cheap. How much FDI has Penang secured? Why the figures are not shown?

You and your UMNO-dunces messed up the state for more than 50 years, and Penang is only governed by the new team for 1 year and you want instant results? How to reverse 50 years of rot? This is compounded by civil servants who are partial to the old team.

21. #21 by House Victim on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 7:04 pm

Why should an oil producing country surplusing the domestic consumption be so much concerned by FDI?

Shouldn’t oil Income be more concerned and be censored on how many had been slipped out of the Government Revenue?

The pull-out of FDI should be investigated if the administration really want to remedy.

The in and out of FDI should have been published by BNM and should have been revealed by PM at least during Parliament discussion for 2010/2011 budget.

Why should a country be based on UN report and not their own?
    Is BNM doing their job?
    And, so does the PM and his Cabinet?

In UN Report, HK ranked 4th Globally in attracting FDI (48.4billion USD) in 2009. HK is attracting FDI with the hard-working of the Administration and the People.

For Malaysia, the Administration drill holes to Government Revenue and natural resources with Civil Servants ignoring their duties from Top to bottom, Deaf and Blind to Corruptions and mis-appropriations of power!!

Developers, Bankers, Assurance Co, etc.. are allowed to bully. How many adverse-possed public lands been accounted as assets of KL listed companies?

Anyone will be accounted?

Shouldn’t the Opposition make BN be accountable? Or, the Parliament has forgetton to provide Rules and Regulations to chase after responsibility or accountability?LOL

22. #22 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 7:07 pm

Don’t waste time with those idiots who refuse to accept the real causes of the country’s backwardness.Their minds are narrow and one track.They are the ‘katak di bawah tempurung’.Malaysia will continue to be the laughing stock of the world when the red,sparkling and bright red dot is shining so brilliantly .The latest SIA financial report reveals again the fantastic performance of one of the red dot’s commercial entity.How about looking at the performance of our MAS and show the comparison between the two?

23. #23 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 7:19 pm

Why did you think Guthrie asked our government to take over everything and pay them off those days? Our government is trying to control people investing in our country!

Come on, this is as good as bringing in $1 and giving the Malaysian government half of you have when you invest here. Who is so stupid? Guthrie was smart enough to tell the Malaysian government off, collected their money and went to Indonesia to invest in oil palm plantation. But, did our government learn anything from that experience??????

24. #24 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 7:21 pm

What “katak dibawah tempurung”? These idiots are “KATAK DIDALAM TEROWONG”! They never saw what sunlight is, they are in TOTAL DARKNESS!!!!!

25. #25 by c730427 on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 10:31 pm

THE WEAKENING NUMBER SPEAKS FOR ITSELF.

USD 1.38 BILLION = UMNO + Perkasa 30% + AP + Subsidy to almost anything benefiting the concept of Perkasa + Saiful + Najib-Altantuya + Accusing non-Bumi PENSATANG + Chopping of cow’s head + Church burning + MACC-TBH + PDRM-Kugan+the Malay kid + The Jet Engine + Anwar-Saiful Sodomi II + Najib and Rosmah New York publicity + APCO + Taib Mahmud + PKFZ + traffic police taking small bribes + Tun Mahathir racial remarks + Toyo + Corruption

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 11:13 pm

“Everyone knows his dream is over” so said cintanegara.
    hi idiot…it is over when one is dead…and I am very much alive.
    I am dreaming frequently celebrating…UMNO B crooks in jail.
    What about you?….dreaming to hook a sweet young thing with your worthless character?
    Everyone knows you are a young fut and a jerk with dreams to be a beggar to UMNO B.
    Do you know…you are daily shaming your race?

27. #27 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 11:37 pm

aMAT kASIM just wants the majority of Malays to support his dream! together with cintanegara, they will push the nation to the 1st world just by sitting under the rambutan tree! Either they are not bothered by what is happening in other Asean countries or they are oblivious for having squatted under the coconut shell below the rambutan tree for so long. we are just being lucky so far that Petronas keeps us afloat, just you wait for another 10 years or so!

28. #28 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 27 July 2010 - 11:47 pm

No point talking to this wha..t handicapped,dependent nep,ketuanan n hypocrite muslim/bumi/malay or whatever these useless incorrigeble idiots’re.They’ve born right in this stupid land.Even without dignity,principle n wissdom are what they’re already trying to tell us.Ps pls let them have the nep,new ect to survive .Just tell foreignors our claimed to be bumiputras cannot compete with outside loh.”You cannot help,we swindle our our nation money,money cos we majority mah.yYu like or no like,we like,why? money mah.Fine us lah.you got international law or what mah,why cannot use against us ah?ah yoh..”UMNO n GANGS.

29. #29 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 3:22 am

Ha, ha, there r still ppl talking abt d good times under d racist MMK
    MMK was lucky in dat when he was PM, countries like China, Vietnam, Cambodia, etc were not fully open or not stable politically
    FDI got into M’sia cos without much choice then
    Had China, Vietnam, Cambodia been open n stable then, M’sia too would hv little FDI, bcos of its racist n parasitic NEP policies, n corruption

30. #30 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 4:26 am

UMNO B must steal….for party and to enrich themselves.
    They do not steal few millions but by hundreds of millions on each deal.
    The bigger the deal.or project..the better….to fatten the party’s account….to buy voters and souls…and indirectly buy up the country.
    They depend so much on the government workers.
    Mahathir masterminded all these…and any project less than a billion….he was not interested.
    It was estimated he stole billions and encouraged Muslims to be corrupted.
    He was so successful..that he governed for 22 years and made thousands of UMNO b loyal members…multi millionaires.
    He kept both eyes closed to any corrupted act…resulting Malays became the have and have not according to his whims and fancies.
    The point is…up to now…he never regretted stealing and still teaching Malaysians to be good and noble.
    Najib stole RM500 million at one go..and God only knows how many more..and he also teach Malaysians to be good and corrupt free.
    We can only conclude…these two daylight thieves can walk with their heads high and proud because both think Muslims have below par intelligence and logic to understand.
    Brainwashed stealing from other races no sinful…but infact was and still stealing from all Malaysians….including thousands of Muslims paying taxes..working for commercial firms and naturally from PAS members too.
    “Brothers going against brothers” will be the sign of UMNO b downfall.
    I wonder why cintanegara and Mel_a_yu support evil deeds done o their own race by UMNO B.
    Even a racists..there must be guilty conscience.
    However MIC and MCA supports corruptions and to have their races be divided and kowtow to UMNO b too…….shows the evil doers are not only UMNO b Muslims.
    It is human natures to be weak selfish and greedy.
    But millions of ordinary Malaysians understand now..this is not human nature weaknesses in Malaysia.
    It is a long term plan from schools to adult hood to apply the dirtiest kind of devilish politics.
    Malaysia is blessed and cursed to have so much natural resources giving these evil doers to think and plan how to steal all and control the country forever.
    Anwar Ibrahim is God gift to Malaysia to help DAP and PAS free our country.
    It must be Anwar..who have the personality and smartness Muslims admiring most now.
    Sodomy or no sodomy……dead or alive..Anwar will be PM in flesh or in spirit….as no doubt… those who want freedom and democracy.. out numbered the band of robbers and thieves supporters….more and more each day.
    If not…Najib will surely call for a snap 13th GE..claiming he has 72% support.
    Just take this example…you can see Najib if full of sh..t… and a compulsive liar.
    No one stayed that long as an UMNO B appointed PM…except Najib.
    Why so?
    Simple….he knows his days are numbered and clinging to hopes and dreams and a miracle to save him.
    Cintanegara….correct or not?

31. #31 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 4:31 am

2011 – FDI = 1 billion

2012 – FDI = 0.5 billion

2013 – FDI = 0.00 billion

2014 – Malaysia declare bankrupt

2015 – Johor sold to Singapore for FREE

2016 – Malaya become a colony of Indonesia

2017 – Sabah & Sarawak form a new nation = United States of New Borneo

32. #32 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 4:42 am

A true Muslim never wish old man to stop dreaming and be dead.
    I hate Mahathir like hell but never wished him dead at all.
    In fact I did prayed for his long life during his operations..which his daughter did thank me for that.
    Life is precious.
    Cintanegara should be very interested to get the truths of Teoh Beng Hock..Kugan and Mongolian model deaths…if he is a true Muslim.
    But we know Mahathir is the devil reincarnated and so we can conclude…cintanegara is a devil too and a Muslim by name only.

33. #33 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 8:50 am

Comment #26

No, don’t sit under the rambutan tree. Better for them to sit under the durian tree, without wearing crash helmets

34. #34 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 10:07 am

When I write, I like people to think. Since someone doesn’t seem to understand the exact point, let’s put it in a direct way. ‘Someone keeps on dreaming that the Government will collapse soon but the actual fact is DS Najib is getting a tremendous support from the rakyats. At the point in time, BN regains the 2/3 majority, the dream to see another party to take over the Federal Government is over. All the Government supporters here are ethically obligated to abide by the standards of good writing. Never regard someone with something bad or start a name calling game.

35. #35 by Godfather on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 10:35 am

Najib getting “tremendous support” from the rakyat ? Cintanegara must be dreaming.

If Najib is confident of his support, he should call a snap election so that he becomes the legitimately elected head of government, and not someone who assumed the post because the previous PM was forced to step down. He is not confident of his support which is why he has to continously live with the sniping from Moo Hee Din, and no one else in UMNO openly supports Najib’s 1Malaysia model. It is a fact that Najib is not in control of his own party, and the fight in Selangor between Noh Omar and Toyol proves this.

In politics, the art of survival is when you are confident of support, you call for elections and use the mandate to eliminate your detractors. If you are not confident of support, then you lie low and allow all the detractors around you to make whatever noise they want – you have no choice.

So, cintanegara, you go tell Najib that we all know what his game plan is. No amount of spinning from the mainstream press and APCO is going to hide the fact that he is not in control of UMNO.

36. #36 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 10:44 am

Honestly, Dr. Chen Man Hin need to learn some new tricks with his writing. Words like ‘freedom’, ‘liberal’, ‘market’, ‘no NEP’,’no corruption’ actually scares some Malays.

It would have been better to turn it around and says no investment, no empowerment or ‘NEP for rich, free democratic market is opportunity for everyone’.

37. #37 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:10 am

It is trite that to FDI(s) its always the basic question of what advantages Malaysia, as compared to its neighbours, could provide for their investment.

Kassim Amat in #14 argues here that if one blames corruption and 30% NEP restriction how does one account for FDI rocketing and economy booming during Tun Mahathir’s time???

He is right only for selective periods in 1990s: Malaysia recorded impressive inward FDI of RM 17.1 billion and RM 11.5 billion in 1996 and 1997 respectively notwithstanding NEP & Corruption – and Mahathir’s authoritarian rule, way after 1988 Judicial Crisis.

I take it that it is an incontrovertible fact that NEP or Corruption factor by themselves can never each be a plus point and is always a negative point.

During TDM’s time though NEP was already in place, there were however carves out/exceptions mitigating the general 30% quota rule. For example if it was a manufacturing outfit exporting a large portion of output, a 100 percent foreign ownership is allowed. This won’t be favourable to some other foreign companies if they feel they need to integrate/internalise manufacturing/production subsidiaries enjoying 100% ownership rights with their distribution subsidiaries if latter is subject to quota but never mind there are other advantages – the backdrop of very pro investment regime set by Investment Incentives Act 1968, establishment of the Free Trade Zones (FTZs), MSC etc, reasonably OK intellectual ownership laws on patent copyright, trademark and franchising (McDonalds come to mind), relatively favourable infrastructure (roads like North South Highway) and relatively cheaper labour with many English speeking. Take Corruption of which Privitisation to Cronies provide convenient cover. No investor likes corruption of bureaucracies. If one has multiple agencies from which to get approvals – and each agency delays unless they get kopi money, not only foreign investors, even local will relocate their base elsewhere. Again then authoritarian Mahathir could compensate this disadvantages by other mitigating factors: by sheer force of authoritarian dictation, he might be able to force bureaucracies to expedite turnaround time especially in specific areas he had interest in promoting. Even the scourge of Corruption may perversely be tolerable if one knows exactly who to take care to get things immediately done!

But mitigating factors notwithstanding, the NEP policy – and corrupt culture – are still each by themselves a very big minus factor when mitigating factors are diminished as when the strong man left the stage and all kinds of mediocre Napoleons emerge to present their claims to rent seeking, and one not sure that any particular one, after being taken of, can push things through in the face of competing Napoleons and their rent seeking cronies! Especially other locations like China or Thailand offer yet cheaper labour for labour intensive manufacturing activities! The relocation of electronics from Malaysia to elsewhere cannot be replaced by Foreign Services based investment requiring low level of technology & capital when they are subject to NEP quota and for services of high level of capital like banking and insurance there are all kinds of restrictions.

38. #38 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:15 am

Yet we still have some of advantages : Free Trade Zones (FTZs) now supplemented by “various corridors” and other pro FDI incentives. So how to explain 81% drop?

There are however 2 major jolts – (1) Asian Currency Crisis and (2) recent Global Financial Crisis, each reducing FDI(s) to the region and after stabilisation their return is more circumspect as they canvass relative advantages & disadvantages of Malaysia versus our regional competitors and they obviously find Malaysia wanting where the negative effects like NEP, rent seeking culture, excessive government interference in businesses and markets including control of markets (Bursa) irksome. During Mahathir’s time, the bad effects of these are tolerated and enjoyed a lag because of various mitigating factors but when mitigating factors disappeared all thats left are the debilitating factors and effects of NEP, rent seeking culture and corruption of bureaucracies and excessive government interference/regulation of businesses/markets! (For Kassim to say the factors are not negative is untrue).

In period 2001 – 2009 the amount of foreign direct investment flowing out of Malaysia accumulated over time amounting to US$75.62 billion exceeding our cumulative foreign direct investment coming into the country, which amounted to US$74.64 billion. It could be attributed to absence of one important mitigating factor – strong political leadership of TDM.

TDM’s leadership to many of us is bad leadership, in fact a cause of our perenial problems..but FDI(s)’ main concern is not democracy but $ returns. When investing in developing or 3rd World countries they put premium on strong leadership – and with it predictability, continuity, and political stability is crucial ie they can predict that when they grudgingly enter into a venture with a rent seeking elite crony – over a certain time horizon, their investment could, according to their calculations, have the required return of investment/equity and profits.

After strongman’s exit, 2 subsequent leaders are perceived relatively weak and cannot control inter party warlords and since 308 the inter warring positions between BN & PR got to a stage where they are “neck to neck” with neither able to assert full control as evinced by present Federal and State tussels from Perak to Penang! Not to mention the strong man is still fanning and brewing probelms on the side. Present PM’s flip flop of NEM to NEP policies in the face of emergence of other centres of power/influence like Perkasa/race specific NGOs don’t help at all!

81.1% FDI drop since last year – the worst ever – may well be a reflection of FDI’s extreme anxiety of political stability factors, more specifically whether present PM with baggage can hold UMNO/Bn together against intraparty warlords as against an imminent GE that Opposition at best may win (then what happens?) or if it loses but performs even better than 308 – and all indications are that it just might – the neck-to-neck balance of power syndrome since 308 will be aggravated – either of the developments are disconcerting to FDIs.

When FDIs worry, it could also mean that Opposition’s chances in next GE are good and because this spells the end of UMNO/BN hegemony for 50 years, a change of guard and order, the known economic/business landscape (both pros & cons) that goes with it is also threatened and uncertainty looms. Thailand is slightly different – whether red shoirts or yellow shirts prevail – that landscape & policies are not perceived to change as much as would here with BN’s losing that provokes 2 questions: (1) how much would change be? (2) what if BN refuses to concede the loss???

39. #39 by concerncitizen on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:35 am

If Jib is so confident, then call for a snap GE. Next month would be good … ! And the goons like PERKASA, Gertak can campaign side by side … with BEnd.
    I understood the teaching of Islam calls for modesty, honesty & peace.
    May the wrath of god / Allah befall ten folds to the corrupt, abusive, evil to the ones & their family.
    Malaysia for Malaysian. Not for one race or party.

40. #40 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:38 am

wawawa… cintanegara wants all to THINK.
    He asked ALL stop dreaming changing the government when Najib have 2/3 support now….bla bla bla.
    I think he has turned to be a robot….programmed to talk nonsense with no shame.
    He is worst than an idiot.

41. #41 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:46 am

I think confidence is essentially important and any lack of it in the country’s top leaders is disastrous to attract local investment let alone FDI. As it’s now,the business investment atmosphere is pretty cloudy due to our top political leader’s indecisive action in the implementation of the NEM,couple with the in-ability to combat corruption and racism. Of course there are many other reasons for the 81% drop in FDI. Having said this,I think the present regime’s leadership must dare to take courageous decisive action to amend the NEM into a real model for free and liberal trade and at the same time thrashing corruption if we wanted to create ” the confidence ” However,can the PM do it ?

42. #42 by gogomouse on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 12:00 pm

Kasim Amat :
    Although there is a fall in FDI, I believe it is not a bad thing because the unemployment rate does not go up so much and people are still spending. We should not be misguided away by the numbers. If we want to argue that the fall of FDI brings a bad signal, then we have to look at the full picture why this has happened. The fall of FDI is not solely the fault of our government. Every citizen in this country has a responsibility for FDI. Since 2008, our political landscape has changed. The Malay are not united like before. Oppositions are making all sort of stories to shake the government. There were bound to be dissenting voice against any policy from our government, especially the principle to keep Bumi stake at 30%. This dissenting voice has started to shake the social stability and slowly scare away investors. During Tun Mahathir’s time, do we not have the 30% stake requirement for BUMI? We have NEP then but we still see FDI rocketing and economy booming. The reason was because there were no objection to the NEP and the Malay were united. Investors were more confident because what they needed then was there – a strong government that could safeguard their interest and ensure high return of their investment. Since oppositions become stronger in this country, we start to see investors running away and the oppositions are blaming the government for this? If we need more FDI, we need a strong government. We as a citizen has a responsibility to make this happen. Malay has to be united and our leader should be firm on his decision.

i do not see a reason why u can say that the drop of FDI is not a bad thing…The effects are yet to come. And if you said that unemployment rate is not rising, why is the crime rate rising? if everyone in malaysia is so able to feed themselves at their own expenses, why would there be a need for thefts, robbery etc?

43. #43 by dagen on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 12:20 pm

I think. I think. And I think. Think. Think. Think. Think. Think long long. Think deep deep. Think hard hard.

Yup. Its confirmed and definite. Jib is badder than bad. He is rotten.

There cintanegara. All thoughts lead to same conclusion.

Oh oh oh, before I log off, is this “think-think” thingy a part of that great rambutan tree principle? I am getting very excited about the rambutan tree argument although I dont understand one tiny bit about it.

44. #44 by dagen on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 12:32 pm

“Talk is cheap”: Principle No. XXCVI of the Rambutan Tree Economic Principles.

Umnoputras do not talk much. They do not write much either – just write short notes like “I support.” “I have no objection.” and “Please consider.”

Applying the “I think” principle (Principle No XVCXI of the Rambutan Tree Economic Principles) all such short notes mean “approve please” and “money pls.”

45. #45 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 1:05 pm

#7 You have just established one – talk is cheap. You r comparing the prince and the pauper as far as national reserves is concerned. Federal has huge resources but can’t make things happened for the benefit of the rakyat, why pick on Penang when even the sdo is standing in the way of development in Penang?

46. #46 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 1:13 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….cintangera is the only one here who can THINK…..hahahahahha

47. #47 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 1:28 pm

I mean only he can think straight.
    All others are not smarter than him.
    And I am too old to dream….which should include some DAP leaders too…no?
    But 84 year old mamak is his Savior and never too old to save the likes of him.
    Cintanegara belongs to the zoo.

48. #48 by johnnypok on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 1:46 pm

NEP = No need to work = High-class beggars

49. #49 by Kasim Amat on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 3:50 pm

FDI new favorites Vietnam, Indonesia, India and China. Does that means there is no corruption in these countries? It means that investors like to invest in a country which has a strong government, who can make outright decision. NEP and corruption were never a deter for FDI in the past. The Oppostions are.

Again, our International Trade Minister has already said the quality of the FDI is more important. It is good that Malaysia can pull in high quality investments moving forward. We should not always compare numbers with other countries. Malaysia will only become stronger if UMNO is strong.

50. #50 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 3:57 pm

Kasim Amat :
    During Tun Mahathir’s time, do we not have the 30% stake requirement for BUMI? We have NEP then but we still see FDI rocketing and economy booming.

kasi mati – you have no clue what you are talking about, do you? Let me give you a clue – google or wiki for Plaza Accord. The Japanese yen appreciated by 100% against the US$ (or the US$ depreciated by 50% within a few years when the Plaza Agreement was signed in September 1985.

Because of the strong Yen, the Japanese had no choice, but to move their productions and factories out to South East Asia for the next two decades. The whole of SEA, including Malaysia, benefited from the FDIs. As the saying goes, high tides lift all boats. In a blizzard, even a turkey (like Malaysia) can fly. The real test of a country’s fundamentals is when the external factors are not favourable.

So, the strong economic performance and high FDI got nothing to do with Mahathir, and everything to do with the strong Japanese yen.

Now go and think about this…

51. #51 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 4:17 pm

According to Kasim Ahmat….Malaysia will always need to depend on UMNO B.
    “Malaysia will only be stronger if UMNO is strong”
    I say Malaysia will be stronger when UMNO B is voted out of the government.
    It is strange these UMNO worms like cintanegara…Mel_a_yu and Kasim Ahmat never talk about corruptions and double standards applied.
    Yes corruptions is so great…even few PR politicians are practicing stealing and looting.
    The sand robbers from PR in Selangor have got Selangor MB…Khalid hoping mad.
    Yes….bad apples are everywhere…but PR leaders are taking actions against corruptions made by their members….from the start…and only one year governing few States.
    UMNO B have 55 years and still supporting corruptions.
    Then you have the biggest devil of UMNO B hitting hard at Anwar now…escorting into the hall by Vincent Tan.
    Get the names..Mahathir and Vincent Tan.
    Now sit back and THINK .who are these two politicians?
    I cannot think better than cintanegara but know crooks must protect crooks.
    Yes the band of robbers have recruited selected few from other races to play ball with People Power.

52. #52 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 4:18 pm

According to Kasim Ahmat….Malaysia will always need to depend on UMNO B.
    “Malaysia will only be stronger if UMNO is strong”
    I say Malaysia will be stronger when UMNO B is voted out of the government.
    It is strange these UMNO racists like cintanegara…Mel_a_yu and Kasim Ahmat never talk about corruptions and double standards applied.
    Yes corruptions is so great…even few PR politicians are practicing stealing and looting.
    The sand robbers from PR in Selangor have got Selangor MB…Khalid hoping mad.
    Yes….bad apples are everywhere…but PR leaders are taking actions against corruptions made by their members….from the start…and only one year governing few States.
    UMNO B have 55 years and still supporting corruptions.
    Then you have the biggest devil of UMNO B hitting hard at Anwar now…escorting into the hall by Vincent Tan.
    Get the names..Mahathir and Vincent Tan.
    Now sit back and THINK .who are these two politicians?
    I cannot think better than cintanegara but know crooks must protect crooks.
    Yes the band of robbers have recruited selected few from other races to play ball with People Power.

53. #53 by lopez on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 6:59 pm

there is no setengah or suku or A or B clowns..just only 2nd class malaysians…. you can see them here…

54. #54 by lopez on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 7:13 pm

even people from k_iss my butt whatever they called themselves …dont dare put their own money on the table, but dare to give opinion to public on the FDI scenario .

Free enterprise and equal opportunity , the AM.WAY ..of USA …are there any in bolihland.
    So why look at USA for comparison.

55. #55 by kpt99 on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 7:35 pm

The KLCI will not reach 1500 in 2020 if the rigidity of Najib admin remains

56. #56 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 9:24 pm

FDI dropping like a stone, heading south
    Birth rate rising rapidly, heading north
    How 2 hv high GDP per capita ah
    Mayb can make $$$$ by trading babies, can ah

57. #57 by waterfrontcoolie on Wednesday, 28 July 2010 - 11:53 pm

We don’t need FDI, with BILLIONS being given out under PKFZ scheme. Now we have the Minister of MITI needing only $200 millions ringgit to create 1,500 jobs for hi-tec employments, who needs FDI? I really wonder if the upstair is engaged when the donstair is still wriggling around? we have engineers who can’t calibrate correctly and we are talking about high-Tech with third class graduates. When South Korea/Taiwan?Singapore or even China talk of quality graduates, they talk of PhD candidates! not graduates who still need retraining just to start working! It is sad but that is the indicator of what we can achieve! High-tech in screw -driving!!

58. #58 by storm62 on Thursday, 29 July 2010 - 12:22 am

Najis is on leave from tomorrow until 10th August….smell something big coming up….GE13 is very near now.

59. #59 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 July 2010 - 4:48 am

My friend Storm62 is back.
    Maybe not 13th GE.He will drag it as lomg as possible..as he knows Malaysians are sick of his lying and all his nonsense.
    He has no power at all…just talk talk talk for shows and offering bribes to win votes…..failing miserably.
    Maybe RM500 million commission and murder matter?

60. #60 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 29 July 2010 - 6:48 am

admin:
    thanks for taking my suggestion.
    It’s important to make reading as easy as possible for readers and it definitely gives a more professional look for an important article.

61. #61 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 29 July 2010 - 10:42 am

monsterball :
    My friend Storm62 is back.
    Maybe not 13th GE.He will drag it as lomg as possible..as he knows Malaysians are sick of his lying and all his nonsense.

I think storm62’s something big is referring to the perfect storm – like clearing the lalang just before the next erection, oops, election.

62. #62 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 2 August 2010 - 2:53 pm

monsterball – this is the something big that storm62 was alluding to:

/// The mass arrests of 36 people in Petaling Jaya, Penang and Kota Bahru for candlelight vigils protesting the 50th anniversary of the Internal Security Act is a clear signal that the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hisham are not prepared to repeal draconian laws to show greater respect and commitment to human rights of Malaysians. ///