Is MACC’s year-late condolence over Teoh Beng Hock’s death genuine?

Today Malaysians remember and mourn the unexpected and mysterious death of DAP political aide Teoh Beng Hock a year ago at the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) headquarters in Shah Alam after volunteering to co-operate with MACC investigations.

In an unusual move on Teoh Beng Hock’s first-year death anniversary, the MACC commissioner Datuk Abu Kassim Mohamad issued a short three-paragraph statement, which said:

“I represent myself and all members of MACC. We share the same sadness and disappointment with Teoh’s family over what happened on July 16, 2009.

“Although a year has passed since the unfortunate incident, we still feel the pain and sadness. As a father and an elder in the family, I can deeply feel the unbearable pain of losing a family member.”

Saying that the MACC will abide by the decision of the inquest, he said MACC will not compromise or shield anyone who is involved in the case.

He also said that steps such as improving the safety of witnesses and increasing procedures relating to witnesses had been taken to ensure history would not repeat itself.

The question all are asking is whether Abu Kassim and MACC are genuine in their year-late condolence because of two reasons:
Firstly, the condolence statement is only issued in Mandarin and only given coverage in the Chinese-language media. Is the MACC’s year-late condolence only for the consumption of the Chinese media but not for the consumption of all Malaysians in all language media in Malaysia? If so, where is the genuine remorse and contrition?

Secondly, the year-late condolence is at variance with the stance adopted by the MACC counsel Datuk Abdul Razak Musa at the inquest where he was clearly acting on the MACC’s instruction that Teoh Beng Hock had committed suicide and had nothing to do with the MACC instead of coming to the inquest with an open mind and in full support of the most comprehensive inquiry – to the extent that Razak could make a callous and unconscionable statement comparing the inquest to 4-0 like the World Cup in favour of MACC!

Abu Kassim has also not elaborated what new steps and procedures MACC had taken to explain his cryptic remark that “history would not repeat itself” in the case of Teoh Beng Hock’s death.

1. #1 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 11:41 am

Sorrry….I just want to have a good laaugh at the PM’s department.

RM4billion budget and 43,544 staff!!! Ha, ha, ha….

Looks like Najib has enuf staff and money to run the United Nations.

Najib can now say to Ban ki Moon: “U help me, I help u. Come to my office on monday and collect a cheque.”

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 11:49 am

MACC can apologise a million times….but empty words drained of sincerity and integrity makes the apology doubly foul!

MACC has to begin to do some thing honestly right!

First, MACC must stop being a running dog for UMNO.

Nothing else matters if MACC barks at each and every UMNO’s bidding.

Whoa, boy! Just sit down and shut up!

To the family of TBH, the nation continues to feel the pain and shares the sorrow of his untimely death.

To Teoh’s wife and child, God bless and keep you in His Mercy.

I believe you can rest in the knowledge that not only do we feel the loss, but all Malaysians would do everything possible to help you at every opportunity now and in the future.

3. #3 by k1980 on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 11:50 am

macc is shedding piranha tears from its left eye and barracuda tears from its right eye.

4. #4 by k1980 on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 11:57 am

One evening an avid bird watcher stood in his backyard and heard an owl hoot.

So he thought he’d give a hoot back. To his surprise and delight the bird hooted again. The next night the same scenario occurred.

All year long, the man and his feathered friend hooted back and forth. He even kept a log of their “conversations.”

Just as he thought he was on the verge of a breakthrough in inter species communication, his wife, Rosma, had a chat with her next door neighbor.

“My husband spends his nights calling out to owls,” Rosma commented.

“That’s odd,” her neighbor Siti Hasma replied. “So does my husband…”

Then it dawned on them…

Moral of the story: What old age does to fools

5. #5 by Bigjoe on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:38 pm

You put the family through hell, then what little you have done result in little, and in the end say we are sad for your losses?

He did not admit even negligence because it would exposed the agency to financial liability. Its the core of why Abdul Razak insist its suicide so that he will not be faulted for any liability by the agency.

How sorry can one be, if you don’t have to pay for the wrong even if you inherit it? If you want to inherit what your forebears give you, you have to pay for their mistakes. That is how things work.

6. #6 by frankyapp on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:44 pm

Frankly speaking the macc has never ever been genuine in dealing with all matters within its authority and anything which are/were handed to them to investigate. It seems the macc is still in the habit to fool somebody sometime but it is not aware that they can never fool all the people all the time. I think it’s pretty unfortunate to have these guys there just wasting the people’s hard earned money.

7. #7 by dagen on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 12:54 pm

MACC – the best in the world. The one and only ten-star anti-corruption body anyone has ever seen.

… me speaking on behalf of cintanegara.

[I mean, look since he is not around at the moment and umno is in need of defending.]

8. #8 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 2:01 pm

Hello najib, with all these sickening scandals, scumbags and sewage in the government…..hello Najib, isn’t it time and the honourable thing to do to call for fresh elections? How can we go on so shamelessly? How can the nation be expected to toe the line?

You must have a fesh mandate to rule!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

See Australian Gillard has been barely days in power and she is doing the honourable thing…..call for fresh elections. “Muka tak boleh tebal macam gajah-lah!”. Or forever be consigned to the dustbins of history, if u r not already chest-deep in it.

9. #9 by Dap man on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 2:05 pm

The government says one thing and does just the opposite.
    Something like 1Malaysia, people first, etc.
    MACC is trying to fool the Chinese community with a mandarin apology.
    It thinks the Chinese are as gullible as the Malays who swallow lock, stock and barrel from Perkasa.

10. #10 by monsterball on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 2:58 pm

Actions speak louder than words…and so far MACC actions are clearly double standards.
    Datuk Abu Kassim maybe sincere but cannot deliver truthful results as all truths are controlled by Najib…to sperm out half truths and lies.
    I am sure Teoh Beng Hock’s parents are not impressed by his message of condolence….noting so many murders and corruptions…not one being solved when so much evidences are available for MACC.
    Wanting to meet Bala in London…backing out at last moment….tells you what MACC is..while the French Govt. took more efforts by interviewing Bala for few hours…to nail or free their suspects.
    That’s the stuff of fast and quick investigation we lack in Malaysia.

11. #11 by the reds on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 5:17 pm

Perkasa would make noise should MACC issue the statement in our national language!

12. #12 by limkamput on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 5:43 pm

Sdr Lim, what is DAP and PR doing? TBH’s trust fund only stands at ½ million ringgit after one year? What is this? Why the opposition members and the public are so reluctant to contribute to see that this trust is at least 2 millions now. A young man has died because of his conviction and participation in opposition politics and this is all we can show, ½ million after one year. Seriously you fellows have to do more, more campaigns, more efforts, I don’t care, just get the amount up to at least 2 million so that the principal sum can start multiplying to provide this child adequately and comfortably and perhaps a little sum for TBH’s aged parents also. I am deeply disappointed, seriously.

13. #13 by c730427 on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 8:43 pm

Abu Kassim,

To be honest, I hate MACC and will never ever forgive how you mishandled the case of TBH.

However, despite all the serious critics, your statement to feel sorry for TBH does cause a change. Your action will elevate to higher respect and confidence under your administration if you could come clean to reveal the truth. All I wanted to know is what really happened that night and how TBH fall into his death.

THANK YOU!

14. #14 by yhsiew on Friday, 16 July 2010 - 8:51 pm

MACC must stop all show and sandiwara.

15. #15 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 8:23 am

///Firstly, the condolence statement is only issued in Mandarin and only given coverage in the Chinese-language media. Is the MACC’s year-late condolence only for the consumption of the Chinese media but not for the consumption of all Malaysians in all language media in Malaysia?///

Anyone who ever tries to understand Chinese behavorial traits especially relating to their voting patterns cannot ignore their 5000 years of civilisational teaching regarding the concept of Rule by “Heaven’s Mandate”.

Once the Rulers are perceived have lost that mandate by reason of cruelty and injustice, they have lost it forever – and nothing especially words of contrition unbacked by deeds, will alter that easily that perception. There will be more Sibus.

16. #16 by monsterball on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 12:28 pm

That so call smart ass Limkamput pasting same message in different posts..out to insult LKS and DAP.

17. #17 by ktteokt on Saturday, 17 July 2010 - 1:24 pm

What is the use of “crying over spilled milk”?

18. #18 by cemerlang on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 6:41 am

See Australian Gillard has been barely days in power and she is doing the honourable thing…..call for fresh elections.
    ————————————–
    I want to know if I am in the position because the people want me to or just because it is the party’s way of putting down someone by raising somebody else up which means I am actually not capable of being the next Prime Minister of Australia. But if I win the elections, I know for certain that my people want me to lead them and I am not just being there like a puppet.

19. #19 by PoliticoKat on Sunday, 18 July 2010 - 7:20 am

Crocodile tears.

Bahaya buaya!