Malaysia needs a new IGP now after Musa Hassan committed gross insurbodination for the second time with threats to call police off the streets and not to enforce the law

Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has committed gross insurbodination for the second time when he threatened to call police off the streets and not to enforce the law in retaliation against the firestorm of public outrage at the trigger-happy police killing of 14-year old Form III student Aminulrasyid Hamzah some 100 metres from his Shah Alam house in the early hours of Monday.

Star online today under the headline “IGP hits out at critics over shooting of teenager” reported:

KUALA LUMPUR: Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has hit out at those criticising the force over the death of 15-year-old Aminulrasyid Amzah, saying he could call his men off the streets if that was what the people wanted.

“If you do not want the police to enforce the law, then say so,” he said.

“I can tell my men to not take any action, including conduct inspections on vehicles or arrest Mat Rempit who ride without licences,” he told reporters after launching a blood donation drive at the National Blood Bank in conjunction with the 203rd Police Day celebrations here Thursday.

He was responding to statements by various groups over the death of Aminulrasyid, who was shot dead when he allegedly tried to reverse the car he was driving into policemen who had stopped the vehicle in Section 11, Shah Alam.

This is a most disgraceful statement from the IGP as it tantamounts to an open and public insurbodination against the Malaysian people who pay for his salary.

This is not the first time as Musa was involved in the public challenge of the previous Prime Minister threatening a police revolt if the proposal of the Dzaiddin Police Royal Commission to set up an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional and world-class police service was implemented.

All over the world, developed nations are graduating to the concept of democratic policing subjecting the police forces to principles of public responsibility and accountability but this is clearly very alien to Musa.

Musa has overstayed his welcome as IGP. Important sectors of society, including a parliamentary roundtable, had been opposed to the extension of his contract as IGP and their reservations and objections have now been vindicated with the threat by Musa to call police off the streets and not to enforce the law.

Shouldn’t he first resign as IGP?

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein should declare whether he had given the “green-light” to Musa to make such an outrageous statement and threat and what action he proposes to take to discipline Musa.

Musa’s threats today have transgressed acceptable and tolerable limits and is a great disservice to the majority of police personnel who are disciplined, conscientious and hardworking.

The country cannot wait until September when Musa’s tenure expires. Malaysians need a new IGP who can inspire public confidence in the professionalism of the police force to fight crime and restore to Malaysians their two fundamental rights to be free from crime and the fear of crime.

1. #1 by Loh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:28 pm

///If you do not want the police to enforce the law, then say so,” he said.///–IGP Musa Hassan

Musa Hassan did not even realise that people want the police to perform professionally. To him, he considers his right not to perform if he cannot perform to the required standards.

IGP Musa is clearly unfit to remain in his position now that he has shown that he is not up to the mark to hold that position. Of course, the prime ministers were also not up to the mark to have allowed the person who should have retired long ago to remain. The people might be able to tolerate incompetent office to remain until he retireds. But to allow person to remain after the mandatory retirement age showed that he had exceptional capability. If Musa Hassan is the best the police force could produce, then the police is a gone case. That might be true since the police officers are all products of NEP.

2. #2 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:37 pm

We need to save Malaysia and set the people free. The ruling Government is acting like they owned this country, obstructing in any way they can to deny the rakyat their human rights, bankrupting the country’s coffer by way of corruptions and indiscriminate use of public funds.

Anyone can be arrested, shot to death or death under detention, all for no apparent reasons nor a serious threats to the country’s security. Who “police the polices”, who “judge the judges”, the rakyat have no say nor can they seriously voice them out.

BORN FREE – SAVE MALAYSIA, FREE Malaysians From This Monster “Servant”

GE 13 – Change The Federal Government No matter what, we must ensure that racist umno bn do not regain the power like they had for over the past fifty two years.

3. #3 by dawsheng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:38 pm

I dare Musa Hassan to call police off the street! It may not be a bad thing, you know.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:44 pm

All over the world, developed nations are graduating to the concept of democratic policing subjecting the police forces to principles of public responsibility and accountability…LKS

I hope politicians in PR should not get their information about developed countries from the mainstream media. For s start, stop comparing the bad things in Malaysia with the good things in developed countries, you’ll be surprise how bad things actually are over there.

5. #5 by ekans on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:51 pm

I recall watching a video clip of police pursuit, shown on a documentary several years ago. This incident happened in Texas. The police were chasing after a suspect in a pick-up truck who was behaving suspiciously. Finally, with the help of back-up patrol cars and roadblocks, the police managed to corner this guy who had no choice but to stop his pick-up truck in the middle of the road. When the police ordered the suspect to come out from the truck, the suspect stepped out with a rifle and got off a few shots at the police officers. The police then returned fire, hitting the suspect who then fell onto the ground.

In that video, although the suspect was driving his pick-up truck in a reckless manner, endangering the police officers in the pursuing patrol cars and also civilian motorists, those officers had refrained from trying to shoot out the suspect’s tyres because,

1) a stray bullet may hit other civilian motorists on the road or innocent by-standers on the street.

2) a bullet may instead hit and disable the suspect, causing the truck to go out of control in traffic, endangering other vehicles and innocent by-standers.

In the end, the police officers had only seen it fit to discharge their firearms in self-defence when it was clear that the suspect had a rifle and managed to take a few shots at the officers before he was neutralised.

It is apparently clear that these are the rules of engagement practised by the law enforcement people in Texas, and most likely in the rest of the U.S. and in other western countries.

The question here is whether the IGP and his PDRM force are properly trained in this manner, instead of shoot first and ask questions later, the wild wild west style.

6. #6 by son of perpaduan on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 8:53 pm

Life in malaysia is getting excited to extremely more more exciting. This year alone from PKFZ to TBH to MCA crisis to HS by-election and now Police Brutality, not to mentioned last episode was altantuya to anwar ibrahim sodomy to fugitive RPK to Bala and Perak state assembly hijack. Wow, really thanks to PR ignite the valcano into history of massive not stop spilling of lava on this fertile tanah tumpahnya darahku.
    I love u for making my day in everyday never stop.

7. #7 by taurus 88 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:29 pm

This is a reflection of how frail and feeble Najib’s administration is. He has no control over his ministries and it is blantant that each minister or department head is to their own. These ‘public servants’ instead of answering to the rakyat,they have their separate fiefdom and is lord of their own castle.

Perkasa said ‘PM teach the Chinese a lesson for voting opposition.’ Did Najib retort ‘Shut your foul mouth and leave the running of the country to the sane’? Nahh Jibby can’t say anything because either he does not have it in him to be his own man or Perkasa is grabbing him by his goolies.
    How can he be effective when he even has to heed Perkasa warnings/rattlings? Perkasa – a simple NGO unit that bears no relevance in today’s Malaysia and yet the country’s PM is scare shitless of it. What a bloody joke!!!!

People of Malaysia have to wake up and see todays’ situation of the country. Our beloved Malaysia had been abused for over fifty years, how much more abuse can she tolerate before a total collapse? How much longer before she is plundered clean of her resources and richness?

People we have to act before it is too late. Come GE13 let’s us all as ONE change the federal government. PR may have it’s short-comings and ineffective in certain quarters but let us give them a chance to turn this country round. If they can’t after given the chance then try other alternatives.

8. #8 by pjoke on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:33 pm

Lim, his statement is not only “disgraceful” but totally unprofessional. As a IGP, if he can’t even give a professional statement on such situation, why wait until Sept…he sould be called to resign now!

9. #9 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:47 pm

Hey!! This is Manchester here!!! We are OK!!

We don’t have kobois and cycos as cops.

We don’t shoot people in the back.

We don’t shoot kids.

We don’t have a clown as an IGP.

So don’t drag us into your mess!!!

10. #10 by cseng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:58 pm

chengho, we miss you here!

Why IGP ask the police off the street? We are asking him to take accountability or resign from his office. So clear, still can not understand.

Nobody can critic police’s doing? do I need to kiss your hand untill tumbling over?

11. #11 by Loh on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:07 pm

What made Musa Hassan think that Police can get paid without working? NEP?

12. #12 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:08 pm

This IGP has again shown that his mouth is bigger than his brains!

I mean, talk about someone who is stupid and asinine, sick-in-the head and an idiotic egghead all rolled into one. You guessed it right – it’s our IGP. Thank goodness, we shall only have to put up with his asinine nonsense for another couple of months…then sayonara.

13. #13 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:19 pm

There should be a motion in Parliament to debate this serious breach of the IGP’s duties.
    It is urgent and of public interest and public security is threatened.
    This is the outcome of the ban on the IPCMC that would have made the PDRM more responsible to the public.

14. #14 by rahmanwang on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:23 pm

Ok that’s it.We must change the Federal Government so that IGP can be changed.
    This IGP is threatening the citizens who “pay” for his salary.Home minister should sack him.Reversing a car to kill the policemen?This 14 years old kid must be pretty good driver.Come on IGP.Supporting your subordinates is correct but not to the extent of giving them a “license to kill”.The least you can do is suspend the police officer.Where is law and order?

15. #15 by Bunch of Suckers on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:35 pm

Holy craps! What this crappy IGP for? We have been paying him to brag big about his self-ego!!! Shot him down and kick him out… In Bolehland, you act and talk big like a monster… In other nations, you would have been shot down with your ass stuck onto your face. Our Bolehland breeding all these suckers, bunch of suckers, toppers like porn star Dr Chua & pussi-kat, liar like Bakuthir, dumber like Hanjin Chengho….

16. #16 by PRU13 @ pollkad.com on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:39 pm

what’s a STUPID IGP!

can’t we have one who can do the job?

17. #17 by lowxinpui on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:56 pm

Why are the police on the shooting spree???

Because they have loose cannon IGP. That’s why!

He ought to take rap and resign for his incompetence and so many controversies surrounding him!

18. #18 by kpt99 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 10:56 pm

This is another example of lebih kurang attitude of the modern day.Perhaps should provide them bigger air-con room with sofar so as they can enjoy their time with beautiful police women

19. #19 by cseng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 11:10 pm

Oh god! oh god! the police is off the street, we are dead meat, lets jump down the window!. Pls don’t continue you shooting spree! the bullet is free! trigger as you like, just don’t off the street.

Maybe MCA can help, get MCA to ask Najib to promise during Sibu by-election, if BN win Sibu, the police will be on the street again. That is MCA good for and Najib is a leader that help the problem of ppls.

Hello! Chengho, why? dead already, shot by blind bullet?

20. #20 by Onlooker Politics on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 12:48 am

All the Malay Feudalist Class Government Officers of Malaysia must learn to understand that noone in this world can justify extra-judicial killing by whatever reason, no matter how noble the reason could be, since all of us choose to live by the system of Rule of Law!

21. #21 by Cinapek on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:08 am

“If you do not want the police to enforce the law, then say so,” the IGP said.

I cannot believe he actually uttered these words. It reveal the type of character he is. And I am aghast that he cannot tell the difference between “enforcing” the law and ABUSING the law.

Instead of taking a step back and think rationally how he could manage the damage control, he clearly lost it and wildly lash out. Not a trait we want to see in our No 1 policeman. If this is the type of example he is showing to his men, it is little wonder we have this tragic incident.

The Govt and the Home Minister must rein in this type of people in the force. If they can’t, then the people needs to throw this Govt out for giving rein to trigger happy policemen who threatens the very lives of the people they are supposed to protect.

22. #22 by monsterball on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:17 am

Chengho is feeling very sad….knowing what IGP said is not people friendly…who are actually paying his salary. If you have an IGP that must protect the police…improvements and advancements cannot be achieved.
    If the IGP clearly shows the double standards he is encouraging..even Chengho is lost for words to support him.
    Right now…Chengho is sad….very sad…nothing to say.

23. #23 by boh-liao on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:19 am

Hail, King Musa!

24. #24 by monsterball on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:38 am

Hail my dearest police friend…Wan Yacob Bin Wan Ibrahim.
    Are you reading comments?
    Yes dear friend….the present Police Force is entirely different from the good old days.
    Take care and may Allah protect you always.
    PS: I hope LKS do’nt mind this personal message….as I have seen the Police Force going down the drain in quality ….ignoring right attitude training….right responsibilities training…right applicants chosen. As long as Muslims…OK. I a sure many good Indian applicants are rejected…while Chinese seldom apply to be a policeman….as whole life must be under a Muslim leader…..no matter how much more qualified and intelligent….not important.
    Yes…race issues are always played under UMNO government….leading the country Muslim Malaysians to stay stagnant and unproductive….working in government sectors.
    Tha’ts the only way…UMNO can hope to keep winning elections.

25. #25 by xplora on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 2:02 am

Hello all,

this is my personal story, totally no make up or whatsoever. i posted this earlier, so i am sorry if this has been repeated. this shows why the 15 years old run away from police apart from scared they will be catch since their underage driving plus they don’t know whether those are real police because that is what police force did to me earlier:

10.03.2010, two policemen riding regular motorbike stopped me @ pandan indah and i asked them for ID as they wanted me to come out from the car. they then pointed their gun towards to me when i refused to come out as they couldn’t show any ID. I still remember clearly what they said “pistol dan peluru ialah ID saya” and “Kalau tak keluar, saya tembak you”. Forgot to mention, they couldn’t speak english. Ini Negara Malaysia bukan Negara Barat, Orang Malaysia cakap Melayu. I said I have the rights to ask for your ID according to newspaper and buku merah. Apa itu? Saya tahu saya ada pistol sahaja. Kalau perompak sudah tembak you.

as i keep refusing to come out and i keep saying saya rakyat malaysia saya berhak bertanya ID anda and they threaten me they are going to shot me now. luckily my friend is nearby, and he reversed the car cos he see something suspicious as he thought it was mat rempit but it is police actually. thats after we finished our drink (yum cha only). I remember one of the officer name Mazlan. At the end just come down and gave them IC. They also saw im touching my GPS earlier, they said lain kali jangan guna GPS sebab perompak mesti kena you. lain kali, bila polis suruh keluar jgn macam budak budak ingat boleh tanya. senjata dan baju saya ialah ID.

26. #26 by boh-liao on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 2:29 am

What’s ppl impression of mata-mata in 1M’sia?
    Most ppl know some of their former classmates who r now polis officers
    Most likely they were not bright kids in schools, some even below average n violent n associated with gangsters n bullies
    But now they r big shots in uniform, with senjata n power 2 stop, search, lock up, make ppl squat, strip ppl naked, beat ppl up, punch black eyes, demand $$$, n shoot
    Some even hv fancy titles n know dark secrets of top politicians n royal family members
    So, what r mata-mata? Civil servants at our service? Or legitimate power mongers?

It’s good dat PR r registering new voters in Penang – what abt other states?
    Don’t stop @ registration, must EDUCATE voters, communicate with them regularly, win their hearts n mind so dat they will form PR cells n spread PR messages n get more voters

27. #27 by monsterball on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 3:22 am

Yes…nice to read personal experiences with the police.
    Mine have been few cases where these traffic police officers are out to make fast bucks.
    1. Four police stopped me at road from Cheras down to KL. main city centre. He said all sorts of nonsense to try issuing me a traffic offense ticket. I jot down his badge number and said..I will phone his boss.
    He got panicked and ask me to forgive him…as they are after work..no authorities whatsoever to try and make some money.
    I told to tell his 3 other friends and buzzed off. they did.
    2. A police car gave me the siren to stop…at the freeway…near Melaka….near mid-night. I stopped and one officer approached me and said I was over speeding..with my Merz300 sl sport car. I ask him…he has nothing else to do…to catch speeding cars where no cars are seen to be in danger at all. I am all alone speeding off to Melaka. He got offended and told me to drive and follow him to the Police Station. I refused and scold him further. The other police officer approached me…and sound more polite. I said in developed country.police officers are more reasonable and let off drivers with a stern warning. Here you pay bribes or get a summon ticket…and I said…I have their two police numbers too…and will report them to their superior officer. Hearing that…one cried and tell me to be reasonable. I said I was speeding to rush to the hospital to see my dying mother.
    Immediately…they let me off.
    Deal with crooks …you must tell lies too.
    I am old…and my mother died 25 years ago…but that trick worked..few times ..whenever caught speeding. Looks like they want to cari makan..yet can be humane and reasonable for me.
    Not a bad idea to buy a traffic law book and put at the back of your car.
    3. Once I was stopped for a traffic offense which is totally nonsense…at the heart of K.L.city.
    I took out the law book and ask the officer to tell me…which his the exact offend. He said he don’t know..ans ask me to drive off. I did not. I got off the car…and start exposing him…know next to nothing..and try to issue summons.
    My friend told me to stop and drive off. I did.
    Mine are minor and natural cases quite common all over the world.
    I am not complaining but thought readers may like a good laugh over my experiences.

28. #28 by monsterball on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 3:34 am

Don’t tell me Chengho does not have a mind of his own……listening to that crab…nkkhoo.
    Chengho is smart enough to think for himself.
    As much as he is constantly gunned down by few commentators…this shows commentators pay attention to his messages that are clearly for UMNO BARU and Najib.
    Yes…that’s clear and we battled on…throwing piles of insults to him…yet he stayed on…and you know what….Chengho?
    We are sharpening your mind to keep coming out with your ideas…to fight us too.
    This means this blog do train you to be sharp and cunning.
    Good or personal life dealing with society…but bad for you…if you learn all and behave like a cunning political clerk…out to carry balls.
    Come back and learn more.

29. #29 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 4:39 am

From chedet, our so “schizophrenic Malaysian Maverick”:

1. The Edge Financial Daily, an article by Joseph Chin (The Edge, April 22nd) as well as Brunei Times reported a substantial oil producing offshore area in the South China Sea, namely Block L and Block M, were no longer a part of Malaysia.

YB, looks like all our past Malaysian PMs behave as if the country is their personal fiefdom….as if they inherited it from their grandfather.

Can we have a thread on this & also can u raise hell in Parliament.
    BTW, what happened to Ku Li, sometimes hot sometimes cold – can Ku Li find a whistleblower since he was one of Petronas’ founders.

30. #30 by yhsiew on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 6:09 am

///Shouldn’t he first resign as IGP?/// – Kit

Yes, he should resign as soon as possible because he is not a police official but a politician.

He is best suited for politics.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 6:57 am

Public criticisms of the death of 15-year-old are because the people want the force to have accountability in professionally enforcing the law within its parameters and not break them by reckless shootings causing loss of innocent lives. The criticisms should be viewed in this spirit rather than countered by the challenge against these criticisms “not take any action, including conduct inspections on vehicles or arrest Mat Rempit who ride without licences.” This kind of challenge from a superior thrown at public critics will only serve to give the wrong signal to rank and file that if they did wrong they would still be shielded from having to account, which in turn, gives little incentive to for them to exercise restraint and proportionality in their discharge of public duties.

32. #32 by Bigjoe on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 7:26 am

The bottom line is that today’s Malaysia is still a Mahathir’s Malayasia. The man has left his office for ten years and yet, we continue to pay for his short-cut ways of doing things. Our institutions gets worst by the day and public personalities more dysfunctional.

All Najib really is Mahathirism heigthened – the hypocrisy is heightened, the abuse of public institutions more sophisticated and so it goes without saying the broken institutions and dysfunctional people that are part of them heightened.

Hulu Selangor gives a perfect example of the only option left for Najib going into GE 13. He is going to wait until the economy improves, come the election, throw so much money out there, it will look like Christmas everywhere. Between the heightened rhetoric that will confuse many fence sitters and money, he will squeek through which is all he is worried about.

The man has no plan of his own, no real fundamental change but rather just fine tuning or turn up the old ways up a notch especially at the crucial moments.

Its actually not a bad gameplan. Its irresponsible, cynical and immoral but its not a bad at all..

33. #33 by on cheng on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 8:27 am

This IGP should resign lah, since he is not interested in his job!
    Can one tell his or her boss, if you do not want me to do the job, then say so??
    What LAW enforcing is he talking about?
    Shoot ppl at random is his LAW??

34. #34 by Dap man on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 8:28 am

PDRM is a component of BN. Plain and simple.

They are as arrogant as their political masters. They serve BN and nothing else.

That’s why they threaten and intimidate Opposition members all the time.

They disrupt opposition ceramahs and detain opp. members overnight in the lock ups.

UMNO fears PDRM and the Home Minister, who is a chicken, will NOT have the guts to reprimand the IGP.
    The police act like the government. Like masters and we the slaves. UMNO has given them the license to kill.

35. #35 by negarawan on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 8:52 am

Musa Hassan’s arrogance and threat to the public, to whom is his duty to protect, is totally unacceptable. Whom is he protecting? His self interest and UMNO’s interest? He talks like a gangster, just like his boss Hishammudin. Why has the police force performance and ethics degraded severely? Why are more cops getting involved in vices, drugs, crimes themselves http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/4/30/nation/6161229&sec=nationThis is clear evidences that Musa Hassan and Hishamoodin are utter failures and should be sacked and the only reason they still have their jobs is because UMNO needs them to do their dirty job! Vote UMNO and BN out in the next GE!!

36. #36 by dagen on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 8:57 am

Macc kills. Police kills. PM and or wife rumoured to have killed (which was denied).

Ministers stole taxpayers’ money and public properties. Senior umno gobermen officers stole too. And low ranking officers as well.

Indons allowed to come into the country take our lives and land, rape our women and children and steal our money and properties.

1700 HS folks was all it takes to OK all of the above. Sibu folks. Pls un-OK the rot. Check and reverse it. Tell umno to get out.

“SELAMATKAN MALAYSIA, SIBU”

37. #37 by Jamal Malik on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 9:07 am

Well.. when so many of these so called “leaders” of the civil service or country are holding half baked qualifications, how do you expect the country to be at its level best ?
    Their mental intellect are so far down and are confined to shooting from their hips and mouths.
    Can someone tell me what is the IGP qualifications ? Does he hold a Law Degree for him to take charge of the police force ?

38. #38 by Thinking Two on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 9:24 am

Off cause, you hear these from a person without paper qualification.

“If you want …….”

If I want IGP to sign, will IGP resign?

All UMNO dogs talk alike, sould alike and in fact they are the same kind of the worst……

39. #39 by Thinking Two on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 9:25 am

CORRECTION:

Off cause, you hear these from a person without paper qualification.

“If you want …….”

If I want IGP to resign, will IGP resign?

All UMNO dogs talk alike, sould alike and in fact they are the same kind of the worst

40. #40 by Bigjoe on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 9:43 am

You have to forgive the police – they are children of Mahathirism. The same way Mahathir shoots of his mouth about extremist Chinese BUT coveniently has no specific name, the police shoots the gun, coveniently without specification..

41. #41 by machiavelli on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 10:11 am

The IGP must always remembers that whatever his rank and title he is still a public servant. What the public want is accountability and that the police personnel had acted professionally. He should not make statements like these and hold the public to ransom. It is not beffitting of him as an IGP to make statements like these, what sheer arrogance

42. #42 by artemisios on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 10:22 am

WTH is goin on here???

Musa, you think you’re doing us a favor? NO! You were paid to do it!

Your boys make a fatal mistake, somebody criticize them, & you want to throw a tantrum and refuse to do your job? What is this? Gaji buta?

Going by your utterly dumb logic:
    //////”I can tell my men to not take any action, including conduct inspections on vehicles or arrest Mat Rempit who ride without licences,”///////

Are you saying that you want the rakyat to pay you & the cops to sit around and moan?
    Are you saying that Mat Rempits should be shot?
    Are you saying that during inspections, anybody who “behaves suspiciously” should be shot? Even if they’re unarmed?
    Are you saying that we should pat you in the back for what your boys have just done?

I’m very shocked theStar even published this. It’s an outrageously stupid thing coming from a grown man, holding such a high position.

43. #43 by Thinking Two on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 10:42 am

IGP was also acted “suspiciously” then should be shot too.

Is this what IGP meant?

44. #44 by Thinking Two on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 10:46 am

If you act suspiciously, you should be shot.
    If you C4 someone, you should be freed.
    If you sit quietly, you must have dead already.

45. #45 by frankyapp on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 10:59 am

///If you do not want the police to enforce the law, then say so,” he said.///–IGP Musa Hassan
    I think IGP Musa shouldn’t have made such a public threatening statement.I think he either has lost touch with the rakyat or is insane.The main point he missed was that the people do not need the police. The fact of the matter is the people don’t need the police to simply shoot and kill young suspect or innocent people. I hope the IGP now got the real meaning of the people’s feeling and as a top enforement public servant,I think he should apologise to the rakyat.

46. #46 by k1980 on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 11:19 am

Sack him immediately without benefits of pension and gratuity and see if any other policemen dare support him. He will join PKR in order to claim his pension!

47. #47 by Godfather on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 11:23 am

Insubordination ? Nah, Musang has so much dirt collected over the years on all the politicians he knows he is an untouchable. He did the bidding of all the political masters, starting with Mamakthir, and he can easily put UMNO into the grave.

Give Musang a kiss and make up, Najib. He’s getting frustrated and you don’t want Musang to spill the beans on UMNO’s dirty work.

48. #48 by ktteokt on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 12:00 pm

Everyone on the street should tell Musang if he is not happy with the grouses of the people, then Musang should step down as IGP and stop collecting his salary which is paid by the people!!!!!!

49. #49 by dagen on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 1:26 pm

Sibu folks. For the sake of God, King and Country do not repeat what those HS folks did in the recent by-election. Vote pakatan to make a difference and to save our future.

SELAMATKAN MALAYSIA.

50. #50 by ekompute on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 2:05 pm

“Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan has hit out at those criticising the force over the death of 15-year-old Aminulrasyid Amzah, saying he could call his men off the streets if that was what the people wanted.” — The Star

That’s the most stupid statement ever made by any IGP in the world. Is Musa saying that the police acted properly in killing the boy?

51. #51 by SENGLANG on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 3:59 pm

Can you imagine IGP use threat against the people?

Was this guy worth to be IGP the head who suppose to put peace on the people but he himself using threat against the people?

It is worst than a ganster

52. #52 by SENGLANG on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 4:01 pm

Nobody understand why he is still there despite the explosive disclosure in MT about his mischief. Can someone explain?

53. #53 by emck on Friday, 30 April 2010 - 6:05 pm

How much did our unemployed millionaire, sorry he now maybe billionaire Khairy J shared?

54. #54 by monsterball on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 1:17 am

SENGLANG….He is still there…….because Najib wants him there …as long as possible.
    He is Najib’s most loyal and trusted bodyguard…no easy to find another good replacement.
    You see UMNO BARU is so corrupted….Najib must look into the long lists of UMNO BARU corrupted lawyers and police officers…to appoint few as top leaders ….where these people also have no choices…but to listen to Najib and Mahathir..or else..big bog problems for him and families….all maybe exposed and go to jail for corruptions by the corrupted leaders who holds the power of .to manage the country.
    Now you know..the country is governed by a band of robbers and thieves.

55. #55 by boh-liao on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 4:38 am

D current AG n IGP r twin pillars of d dark forces
    Both played key roles under MMK 2 bring down AI, n they were duly rewarded
    They r untouchables – as they know d dark secrets of UmnoB n BN politicians (ex, current, n future), including murder, C4, sex orgies, black eyes, corruption, drinking n gambling habits, illegal transfer of funds, true n falsified sodomies
    They seem 2 decide which cases can b prosecuted n which can b thrown out
    R they above d law? Go figure out

56. #56 by boh-liao on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 4:53 am

IGP must b very used 2 threatening, balckmailing, n bribing ppl
    U no like it, I get MY men off the streets
    U want MY men 2 protect u, pay lah n shut up on how MY men carry out their duties
    Me n MY men n I control them all. Get it, dummies
    What’s so great abt BN in power? BN in power, Y? Aaaah, d magical postal votes dat make a lot of difference in many marginal constituencies. Votes fr mata-mata n soldiers.
    Who is d king maker? Get it, dummies

57. #57 by jus legitimum on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 2:55 pm

This idiot must resign and should be replaced by someone who is really capable.However the police force based on past records very rarely have had a truly good IGP.Maybe we can only get a good IGP when Putrajaya is under PR.

58. #58 by on cheng on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 5:26 pm

How nice, if the head of inland revenue, or head of customs/excise, or head of any govt money collecting body, say if you don’t want or don’t like my staffs to collect taxes/fees, then I stopped them from doing so.

59. #59 by on cheng on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 5:33 pm

Or the chief of prison, tell the convicts say if you don’t like the way my men caned the convicts, then I stopped them from caning convicts.
    or the chief justice say, if you don’t like the ways my judges convicted the accuseds, then I stopped them from convicting anybody.
    or the head of a govt hospital say, if you don’t like the ways my staffs treated the patients, then I stopped them from treating any patient.
    then what would the country become???

60. #60 by good coolie on Saturday, 1 May 2010 - 10:58 pm

I am reminded of something I read long ago: “Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?”

WHO WILL WATCH THE WATCHMAN HIMSELF?