Najib should make personal visit to family of Aminulrasyid latest fatal victim of trigger-happy police shooting and set up public inquiry headed by credible independent Commissioners

The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak should make a personal visit to the family of the latest fatal victim of trigger-happy police shooting and set up a public inquiry headed by credible and independent Commissioners into the killing of 14-year-old Form III student Aminulrasyid Hamzah by trigger-happy police in the early hours of Monday near his house at Section 11 in Shah Alam.

This morning, together with Penang Chief Minister and DAP Secretary-General Lim Guan Eng, I visited the bereaved mother, Norsiah Mohamad and his family immediately on our return from Sibu and extended our condolences and shared the outrage and anger at the unacceptable police killing of a 14-year-old student.

The official police version of the shooting/killing of Aminul as given by the Selangor Chief Police Officer Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar had been challenged on the most important facets by the family and eye-witness account.

Firstly, Khalid alleged that Aminul, who was driving, had suddenly reversed the car and tried to ram into the police personnel while his companion “had exited and was able to escape”.

The family said it was not true that Aminul tried to reverse the car to jam the police personnel. Aminul had died when he was shot in the head and the friend who was with him came out to surrender himself but was kicked and punched but he managed to escape.

The police alleged that a long machete was found in the car driven by Aminul, which was denied by Aminul’s mother, Norsiah Mohamad saying that the car belonged to one of Aminul’s married sisters.

Aminul is not yet 15 years old as have been reported in all the press, as he was born on 15th August 1995. He is the youngest of eight siblings (three girls and five boys) and come from a respectable family.
His father, who died six years ago, was general manager of Integrated Logistics and his uncle is the Maybank Berhad CEO Datuk Johar Che Mat.

Aminul has committed the traffic offence of unlicensed underaged driving but surely Malaysian youths do not have to die for such infractions!

Aminul is dead but her mother wants to redeem the good name of her son and her family, as Aminul is described by the police as a “criminal”.

The 14-year-old Form III student from SMK Section 9, Shah Alam has no criminal record, is a sports all-rounder who got 3As and 2Bs for his UPSR and preparing to sit for the PMR examination at the end of the year.

I was taken to the tragedy spot where Aminul was killed, which was about 300 metres from his house in Section 11, Shah Alam, with angry neighbours including Nazimuddin and Rahim recounting the appalling and heinous events outside their houses in the early hours of Monday just after a European football game.

I saw the tree busted by the car driven by Aminul which careened out of control when the 14-year-old student was shot in the head with a bullet. The car knocked into a wall and ended up in the drain. There were still faint blood stains on the stone walkway.

The noises caused by the “drama” woke up the immediate neighbourhood, with some saying not less than five shots were fired. The menfolk came out and saw three to four cars. They saw a body sprawled on the front seat, with head down and legs slightly out.

They could not see the face and had no idea of his identity. They were not inclined to ask at that late hour as they thought that the police were carrying out their duties and had killed a criminal.

Some more police cars came and they went back to sleep. They did not know until the next morning that the person shot and killed was Aminul, not only known to the neighbourhood, but was the best friend of the son of one of those recounting the heinous events to us. The person who recounted this cried and I grieved with him.

“This is not LosAngeles but ShahAlam” shouted one of the neighbours still angry at police trigger-happy killing of 14-yr-old Aminul.

These Shah Alam residents expressed their worry that they are afraid of the police who, instead of ensuring their security and safety, are now a threat to their security and safety – particularly concerned that youngsters who watch football games at mamak stalls into the early hours of the morning risk dangers like the fatal one which befell Aminul.

The public inquiry into Aminul’s killing announced by the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, to be headed by the Deputy Home Minister Datuk Abu Seman Yusup, is completely unacceptable not only to the public but also to the bereaved family and the Shah Alam residents for there is no credibility and confidence that there would be “no cover up” whatsoever.

The Abu Seman Yusup public inquiry should be scrapped. In its stead, there should be a public inquiry comprising independent and credible Malaysians who can command instant public confidence that they will do a thorough, independent and professional job to get to the bottom of the Aminul’s killing.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 7:05 pm

There used to be a time when policemen carried only batons.

Now, almost every one of them is issued a gun. And they all appear to be trigger happy. Or maybe suffering from some psychological problems.

Can official police versions be believed these days? Its always “They shot first and we fired back in self-defence, killing all of them.”

Who’s to dispute all these “official statements”? Dead people can’t talk.

Why don’t we use lie detector tests to find out the truth?

Oh, I forget. These tests too can be manipulated.

2. #2 by donplaypuks on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 7:17 pm

YB

I have covered 14 year-old (his mother revealed today his age was 14 and not 15) Aminulrasyid’s Shah Alam police shooting death in my blog at :

http://donplaypuks.blogspot.com/2010/04/yet-another-police-shooting-death-15.html

Please get DAP and Pakatan cracking on supporting the poor boy’s mother and family in their hour of need and ensuring no cover up in the so- called “independent” police internal investigation!!

We need to win the hearts and minds of all M’sians with genuine concern, sincerity and assistance.

dpp
    we are all of 1 race, the Human Race

3. #3 by BioLovepulse on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 7:39 pm

I too feel sad at the tragedy that befell the family. I agree that all of us rely on the police for our safety, but now they are a potential threat to our very own life.

So, what really happened? I’d like to know. And I want it reliably. If this persist, not only we fear for our own lives of criminals, but also from the police. Then there’s no assurance.

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 7:55 pm

Too bad. The super hot hot Sibu by-election news is cooled down by this terrible news.

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 8:09 pm

I am against the shooting of the 14 year old schoolboy but if his car had knocked down other innocent road users? Not so long ago, a drunken Romanian diplomat knocked down and killed or wounded several pedestrians in Singapore. Due to diplomatic immunity, he is now enjoying life in Romania.

6. #6 by chengho on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 8:31 pm

my condolence with the family..
    ‘ The Abu Seman Yusup public inquiry should be scrapped….” yes we agreed ,not another abuseman…

7. #7 by chengho on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 8:35 pm

…to the family..

8. #8 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 9:48 pm

Where got time lah 4 NR 2 visit d family
    NR is busy commanding RTM bosses 2 take off d air a TV2 documentary on Bakun dam
    D truth exposed in d documentary will damage d chance of a BN victory in the coming Sibu buy election
    NR also busy blocking French lawyers fr investigating corruption in d RM4.7 billion submarine deal (remember R Baginda n d murder of Altantuya Shariibuu?)
    No worry, NR will send Kam-a-lan 2 go 2 d family n kiss everyone’s organs

9. #9 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 10:02 pm

What’s NR relationship with Perimekar, Ombak Laut Sdn Bhd, Razak Baginda, and Mazalinda?
    N of cos, with Altantuya Shariibuu?

10. #10 by limkamput on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 10:21 pm

Sdr Lim. Please galvanise the nation to see that this tragic event is carried to its fruitful end. Get PAS and PKR involved. For too long this country has suffered where one abuse after another have continued to happen and those responsible have never been punished. Police has no right to do all these nonsense no matter how dangerous they have put themselves into. It is the risk the police have to face each day. If they love their lives too much and have no stomach to face risk, then resign. Unlike in the US or elsewhere, firearms are generally very tightly controlled in this country. I don’t see why the police must be so “trigger happy’ to protect themselves. How many of our policemen get shot at each year?

I think the whole police force has gone to the dog. They are poorly trained to handle situations, and they have no notion to respect lives and human rights. I think we should test the policemen randomly, to see how many of them know the basic right of citizens, the basic laws on enforcement, arrest, handling firearms and remain calm in an emergency situation. Trust me, most of them will fail miserably. Mediocrity begets mediocrity. Nothing is professional anymore in this country.

We are worse than that tiga suka odd ball – the stupid ball who just knows how to cry mother and cry father using foul words.

11. #11 by monsterball on Wednesday, 28 April 2010 - 11:33 pm

The police have been getting away with their trigger happy murders with all sorts of reasons. Imagine the car belongs to a lady has a long machete, I guess the said lady is one hell of a strong tall tom boy too.
    Neighbors and all said the victim was a smart student and a sportsman..who comes from a respectable family and relatives.
    How can such a boy…turned so violent that summoned the police to shoot to kill?

12. #12 by cseng on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:19 am

Under-laying the series of trigger happy cases are massive un-exposed abuses, denial and corruption. Is like an iceberg, you see the tip and what real danger is the big chunk under the water, is a pyramid thing. But then, don’t worry they will deny it, IGP will say something, many tragedies will be made to cover this tragedy, like case of TBH.

Under-laying the by election school fund ‘bribe’ is systemic inequality of Chinese school and education, abuses of school development fund until it become a trade off for votes. Accepting this is start of tragedy for Chinese school where MCA claims victory and so proud of. Why we are so proud to get the fund this way?, do we want to continue in this manner? Should we be treated this way?

There is no way around it, government change is more sensible rather than changing the government.

13. #13 by c730427 on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:24 am

I am deeply disturbed by the headline news of this incident. From Kugan, TBH and now a 14 year old Aminulrasyid Amzah. The Home Ministry would be committing a grave act to defend the policeman who put the bullet on Aminulrasyid’s head.

For God sake, he is just a kid!!!

Wake up all Malaysians and to the Malays of who just voted BN few days ago, now is the time to test your party.

14. #14 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:04 am

This Lim Suck Ass is a real cunning MCA young fut.
    Put out a long message…making sure no one disagree and last sentence….insult me again..
    He said I am a cry baby.
    Me..MONSTERBALL cry to my parents for help to faark him?
    If he keep trying to be too smart…teaching and insulting others….teaching so many…with his double headed snake comments…I will faark him till 13th GE comes.
    Just wait for this sly fox…swinging like a ape…….with his agree to disagree comments…favoring no change in government…”don’t rock the boat” stuffs..all designed to educate young voters…not to vote change in government.
    I cannot understand why he dare not insult “Bunch of Suckers” who writes similar like mine.
    Only reason…this chow cee bai kia…suck so many asses…is such an idiot ..thinking I am easy eat for him to bully.
    Monsterball…a cry baby?……..hahahahahahahahaha

15. #15 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:08 am

You write sensible points to expose police and insult me…OK la.
    Anyway..no one will believe you…saying monsterball run to his parents to cry for help.
    You are such an idiot. I am 71 years old….and your logic sucks.
    Again..OK la..what do you expect from a braggart with no brain?

16. #16 by Cinapek on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:27 am

My deepest condolences to the family of the deceased. As a parent myself I can understand how they are feeling at the moment.

The trigger happy PDRM is a known fact. We can count on one hand the number of times the PDRM has captured any suspected criminal alive. Every time we read in the papers about a confrontation between the PDRM and suspected criminals, invariably, the suspects are nearly always shot dead because the explanation is they tried to attack the police. How far this is true no one knows because no one complains since the thinking being the bad guys deserves it anyway. We are not even sure if the weapons are genuine or planted.

Now that we have a case where the shooting seems unjustified, we should get to the bottom of it and if indeed it is a case where the PDRM is wrong, the guilty parties should be punished to send a message to the force at large that wearing a badge is not a license to kill.

17. #17 by chengho on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:29 am

where is Dr Bakri , ask him to comment this news;

World markets tumbled Wednesday amid acute fears that Greece’s debt crisis would spread like wildfire through Europe after a leading credit ratings agency downgraded the country’s debt to junk status and cut Portugal’s rating as well.

The downgrades by Standard & Poor’s reinforced investor fears that Europe leaders were failing to get a handle on the government debt crisis afflicting Greece and that there is now a big chance of contagion with higher borrowing costs hitting other euro-using countries with weak finances.

You see Najib and our government so prudent managing the economic of Malaysia…

18. #18 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:45 am

hi idiot Chengho….Malaysia is a very rich country with income from so many natural God gifted sources.
    That’s not Najib’s prudent government at all.
    Fortunately ..no matter how many billions stolen….or taken by UMNO BARU….our oil…palm oil…timber.. incomes are keeping Malaysians alive.
    Wait till 12 more years..when oil runs out.
    That is why vast Majority Malaysians will not wait for 12 years…but determine to vote UMNO out…to save the country from going bankrupt.
    That’s a fact…an that’s why corruptions by UMNO government must be stopped for the sake of young generations….to trully move forward..or else most Malaysians need to seek jobs elsewhere and be slaves to foreigners or UMNO BARU.

19. #19 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 1:50 am

The police is a defender o the N government no matter what.

Now the BN government will defend the police no matter what.

BN government and police sucks big time!

20. #20 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 5:12 am

Remember the nude squat incident?
    This case is quite similar with the litany of denials and the slow action by the authorities until the growing public anger at such an incident.
    I thought that if the case is being investigated as murder, the person/s involved should not be given desk duty but remanded.

21. #21 by homeblogger on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 6:52 am

k1980 said : I am against the shooting of the 14 year old schoolboy but if his car had knocked down other innocent road users?

=================

Exactly my thoughts when I first read about this. I am torn right down the middle. Sure we hear he wasn’t a bad boy (who do I believe?), but what if he was having a jolly time driving and knocked down and killed your daughter who’s innocently walking down the street? Because of his age, he cannot be tried like an adult. He might even be well connected and get off with a slap on the wrist. What then? Truth be told, there are thousands of young kids like him on the road everyday. What if he was not shot and the very next day he kills 10 people because of his illegal driving?

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not trying to protect the cops, but the state of our country is such that even the cops are afraid of their very lives. They also want to go home safe to their families and maybe they think that shooting-first-thinking-later is the best way to deal with the overwhelming tide of crime and corruption.

22. #22 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 9:43 am

The police force must be revamped to rid off its tarnished image of incompetence and corruption.The public now tend to think the force can only catch the innocent but let off the real and dangerous criminals.No wonder we have to live in gated communities and forever sigh for the lack of safety and security wherever and whenever we go.

23. #23 by DCLXVI on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 12:43 pm

chengho :You see Najib and our government so prudent managing the economic of Malaysia…

Yes, we have seen that Najib has been doing a great job, managing the ‘purchase orders’ for votes…

24. #24 by Voter get Voters campaign for PR on Thursday, 29 April 2010 - 4:59 pm

Albert Einstein ……” the world is a dangerous place NOT because of the evils that these people do but because of the other good people who just LOOK ON and does NOTHING ”
    ” Malaysia is in such a deplorable place NOT because of EVIL umNO / BN but because you and I the eligible voters did not cast your votes “. Now by just mere casting your vote is NOT ( NEVER ) enough.We need more new VOTERS
    Its we the commentators and readers of MT who are to blame if we dun do anything about it except to complained at best.
    For FREE ” VOTER-get-VOTERS ” stickers, email me your postal address to voter-get-voters @ hotmail. com or sms 017-3740176. or collect from me at Low Yat Plaza, Lot10,Times Sq any monday to thurs betw 12 to 7PM