Najib does not disappoint

By Tunku Aziz

Datuk Seri Najib Razak does not disappoint. He is true to his values whatever they might be. He upholds his principles with messianic zeal. His principles are of indeterminate provenance, but Najib is not known to worry himself to distraction over such small matters. He has made many of us happy. It has nothing to do with his 1 Malaysia vision that he seems incapable of articulating to save his life, let alone convincing Malaysians who have decided that half a century of untruths and specious, convoluted political and social arguments should be more than enough for even the most sanguine of them.

Najib has made us happy not because in a fit of mental aberration or misplaced exuberance he has added to his fantasy world the even a more preposterous 1 World vision that flashed across his mind. I bet it was a very brief moment in time. Najib has made us deliriously happy because he has just done something blatantly cynical to confirm what we have known all along about his attitude to corruption. Najib does not disappoint.

His choice of Tan Sri Mohd Isa Samad as the BN candidate for the Bagan Pinang by-election has left absolutely no doubt in our minds about Najib’s real attitude to corruption. He, ever the pragmatic, suave man about town leader of a country already systematically mired in corruption, sees it as nothing more that a necessary evil. If you cannot fight it, join it.

His matter of fact response that “Even those convicted by the courts get another chance” must surely single him out, like a sore thumb even among the corrupt leaders of 1 Malaysia, as someone totally devoid of ethical values. It also points to a complete lack of the political will to curb corrupt practices in our country. The gap between his rhetoric and constructive action against corruption is growing ever wider under Najib. Just in case he forgets, the Kuala Lumpur-based diplomatic corps and the wider international community are watching this development with some concern. Najib does not disappoint.

Bagan Pinang is a little backwater of a community on the Negri Sembilan coast. However, the choice of a candidate that even Umno, the party that sits well with corruption and takes it in its stride, was constrained to discipline marks a low point indeed. The much detested and reviled corruption-tainted and Isa has now been declared perfectly “kosher” to represent the country’s ruling coalition. Politics is indeed the art of the possible.

Can we trust a government that is prepared to trade integrity? And for a rural state assembly seat which, the winning or losing of which, is not going to have a material effect on the political fate of BN in overall terms? I, unlike Najib, do not subscribe to the second chance dispensation because political corruption will ravage national values and systems. Are we blind to the fact that it was Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s special brand of corrupt political stewardship, now still in place unfortunately, that has stifled our potential for dynamic growth, and kept us, in spite of the resources at our disposal, at the wrong end of the global competitiveness league table?

Political corruption if not dealt with decisively will destroy our nation because the national decision-making processes will be distorted and manipulated. “State capture” by corrupt elements will be the end result. We cannot allow the country’s future to be hijacked by unprincipled politicians, by default. Fighting corruption is our individual and collective responsibility as citizens. It cannot be left to the tender mercies of the corrupt in the corridors of power.

Now that Najib has dropped all pretence of queasiness about bedding down with corruption, he could do us all a big favour and save taxpayers a lot of money by closing down the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, the National Institute of Integrity and all the other related agencies because he has made his position on corruption so clear. They are of no use to man or beast.

And while we are about it, Najib may want to propose a general amnesty for all who have been convicted of corruption as well as those who have committed corrupt acts, but lucky enough not to be caught. This is totally consistent with his belief that the corrupt deserve a second chance, an official passport to Najib’s 1 Malaysia where anything goes and the devil looks after his own. Najib does not disappoint.

Malaysians are now being treated to a display of arrogance unprecedented in the history of BN administration, and the choice of Isa, in all the circumstances, flies in the face of what little is left that is decent and honourable in our national life, worth preserving. Even by Umno’s and, by extension, Najib’s own standards, this is a very low point, and that is putting it charitably. Najib does not disappoint.

Little Bagan Pinang will without a doubt deliver the seat that Najib so devoutly yearns to have. He needs it to prop his shaky leadership. Bagan Pinang will in the end be remembered in history as the place where Umno lost its moral bearing, credibility and legitimacy to lead the Malays. Umno’s ugly nakedness in surrendering ethical values and principles to political expediency is here for all to see: it will be its undoing. Najib does not disappoint. He never does!

1. #1 by novice101 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:48 pm

The voters in Bagan Pinang have the rae opportunity to declare to the corrupt leaders that Malaysians want a clean govt. But it looks like surrendering their votes to immediate gains still rules the day! Sad!

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 2:40 pm

Hear, hear, Najib.

Aye, aye, Save taxpayers money.

Shut down MACC. Maybe, Najib can also save taxpayers money further by ‘retrenching’ the IGP too.

3. #3 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 2:44 pm

Is Najib going to buy the replacement Navy vessel that burnt from France.

I wud like to know who is going to be the next ‘Razak Baginda’. This time around I don’t think anyone needs another mongolian interpreter. Can’t afford all these screw-ups and screwiing around.

4. #4 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 2:47 pm

5. #5 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 3:09 pm

Do we need more convincing and enlightenment of all the ills inflicting this country? It is the people of Bagan Pinang and other similar constituencies that matter. Concentrate on getting the message out – how to convincing them effectively in a manner that they understand. It is the masses, stupid!

6. #6 by digard on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 10:04 pm

“Even those convicted by the courts get another chance”

Oh yeah!
    Give a pedophile a second chance – in a factory, as a gardener, etc. I am all for it! Though it doesn’t have to be as primary school teacher.
    Give a corrupt politician a second chance. Though not necessarily by dishing him up a political post in his former constituency.

7. #7 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 12:10 am

Najib is a confirmed liar and nut.

8. #8 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:23 am

“It is the masses, stupid …>>limkamput

So that’s the message you want out?? You meathead!

9. #9 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:30 am

HAHAHAHAHAHA

10. #10 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 8:15 am

In all my years of building and running companies and organisitions, I have seen many types of management and leadership including someone like Najib. These are ladder-climbing types that can’t make radical change and have no real vision. They work hard but can’t see the big picture. They are full of themselves because they made it to the top not willing to accept that its really just as much luck that got him there..

Najib is incapable of the kind of visionary leadership that is required for the time. He does not even have the confidence in a vision. Dig deeper enough and he does not even think he is responsible for it. He blames the past leaders, he blames this and that but he only limitedly comprehend that the bucks stops with him…

Why would he dissapoint? His ‘messianic zeal’ as Tunku Aziz points out is merely a reflection of his hypocrisy and insecurities NOT his believes. Its pretty crappy stuff too supposedly written by expensive consultants.. I fall asleep everytime I have to hear him speak.. Its really a waste of oxygen..

Najib dissapoint? He is exactly what his critics predicted. Who is there to dissapoint? Those who are desperate and foolish? They deserve it…

11. #11 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:02 am

//So that’s the message you want out?? You meathead!//

Yes a hypocrite and his sidekick the meatball will interprete that way. Others will understand me perfectly.

12. #12 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:02 am

Moderator,
    If you have not already noticed – I am just responding to his constant insults again. I did not start all these nonsense. You should know who is Hugos – a hypocrite who never stops changing his handle. If Hugos is not Jaswant, and before this, Undergrad2, I will quit this blog for good.

13. #13 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:19 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    QUIT AND SHUT UP LA.
    KEEP TALKING…NO ACTIONS.
    NO ONE WILL MISS YOU.

14. #14 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:56 am

What about you, what did you do? Oic, went to PD, had lunch and talked some cok there. I hope PR will not lose because of you. I will hold you responsible. By the way, did you meet “your friend” 888, or was it you talking to yourself? Remember, next time if you want to bullsh!t us, please check the difference between loose and lose first, ok.

15. #15 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 11:22 am

hahahahahahaha……..888 must meet me.. to confirm I am there.
    Yes…I was hoping to meet him….but did not and do not know…who he is.
    So hot..so many cars..just parked at a restaurant and spoke to kopitiam fellas…..which got the owner…of “Briyani Ori”…at 27D..Batu 2…Jalan Jelebu…..a Abd.Rahim Hassan all shooked up…so happy..so many want change of government.

Never mind….I lied….you win…OK?
    It’s a call between me and my conscience…and nothing to talk about.
    I just gave as brief report….and yes..UMNO should win…based on past record……….but if UMNO looses…that will be the biggest clear group of UMNO supporters……wanting to throw UMNO out.
    How to talk to a nitwit?

16. #16 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:49 pm

Simple. Don’t. He is my biatch!

17. #17 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:57 pm

The twat just advised Pakatan leaders to take stern action which he calls retribution against government employees who supported BN. What sort of advice is that?? That is enough to alienate an entire block of voters who could have voted for Pakatan. Now they will vote for BN to avoid “retributive measures” in the event Pakatan wins. How stupid is the advice??

18. #18 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 2:09 pm

As usual a half baked would understand between senior government servants and the usual government servants, sigh… how stupid can one be. I guess there is no bottom to stupidity, SOB.

19. #19 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 2:24 pm

Najib does not disappoint. He will appoint Tiong Bin Tulu as the new mca president and hence the PKFZ will be buried forever till kingdom come

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/40053-najib-hints-that-ong-should-go

20. #20 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:03 pm

Oh, so now it is senior government employees whose duty it is to take down bill boards and posters?? I give you full marks for consistency. For making dumb statements.

21. #21 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:16 pm

You are thick; you go after the one who issued the order. You go after the one who got plenty to gain. So also are former political leaders who are now retired. PR should give them warning – once in power, they will go after them. Even if they are dead, their chidlren should also pay back whatever that was illegally taken. This is the only way to get rid of endless scumbags. Look you psychopath, I don’t have to answer to you. Take your frustration elsewhere if you are looking for a gay partner.

22. #22 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 8:26 pm

“You are thick; you go after the one who issued the order ..>>> limkamput

So now these senior government servants issue memos and sign them asking for actions to be taken, asking for boards and posters and the like to be taken down because Pakatan has set them up.

For some the title ‘dumb nitwit’ has to be earned. In your case it comes naturally.

23. #23 by tenaciousB on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 5:05 am

I wouldn’t blame the bagan pinang voters for voting for BN as they need to survive. The temporary reassuring milon tin and 100ringgit goes a long way in their minds. it is sad that we say such a transparent display of corruption by BN utilising a dishonest candidate but what’s new the debacle they conjured in perak was barbaric altogether. Yes indeed political immaturity is displayed in malaysia once again at its best. Good luck for the one’s who are staying and better luck for those who choose to migrate.

24. #24 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 5:58 pm

Earned already horrible.
    Come naturally…god-gifted talent….from the womb…already so…and now performing…instead of pretending to be one…like some actors…hahahahahahahaha