“Tipping Point”….DIN

By Hussein Hamid

“It will have an effect in the sense that the spirit of the machinery is very high and I feel that there will come a time, a tipping point, where you will see the realization of our members that UMNO has to change and will change and is in the process of changing”. DIN

That is what Din said yesterday after the opening of the University Tun Razak campus building at Capital Square. My friends there are two words in the above statement that we must take note of:

“TIPPING POINT” – it means the level of change at which the momentum for change becomes unstoppable.

UMNO is still talking about trying to reach their “tipping point”. We reached ours in the General Election of March 8th 2008. From that day we had the critical mass to ensure that the momentum towards change is self-sustaining and will, by itself, fuels further growth from within.

• That is why we have won 7 of the past 8 by- elections. That is why Zaid and Chua Jui Meng are in our midst.

• That is why we have the IGP reappointed to a third term. That is why Pak Lah is no longer Prime Minister.

• That is why Isa, a convicted corrupt UMNO leader, is UMNO’s representative in Bagan Pinang.

• And that is also why an old man in Adelaide started steadyaku47(sorry guys jut had to add that in…)

All this and many many more ‘happenings’ are the manifestation of that “tipping point” that Din talked about. But here again he has got it wrong. While UMNO thinks that Bagan Pinang will be their “tipping point” I know that by choosing Isa UMNO have already lost in Bagan Pinang.

While they have already lost in Bagan Pinang we are already talking about how we should manage our momentum to peak at the next General Election.

Pakatan Rakyat are focused on consolidating their coalition into a potent force that will meet the aspirations and needs of our people.

Pakatan Rakyat are now in the throes of galvanizing DAP, Keadilan and PAS into the realization that practical politics requires ‘delicate’ adjustments and considerations of each other sensibilities for them to move relentlessly forward. Failure is not an option.

Pakatan Rakyat is grappling with the realization that without the 3M’s to win in Bagan Pinang it will be difficult – not impossible – but difficult. What are the 3M’s?

• Money : UMNO has that in almost unlimited amounts and they are not shy to throw it around and consider it as one of their “strength”.

• Media: The print media, the electronic media and the interpersonal departments such as Jabatan Penerangan – are all control and used by UMNO for UMNO’s own purposes – however self serving it will be.

• Machinery: Such as the Election Commission, PDRM, AG’s Department, ACA etc – All these are Rakyat machineries used for UMNO’s purposes.

We have a reigning Government that shamelessly uses all means at their disposal to win. They no longer try to cloak or disguise their misuse of their power to the people. They trumpet Isa’s visit to the Army Camps. They announce a slew of concessions, financial rewards and so called ‘development’ projects for the constituents of Bagan Pinang. All in the name of development and government ‘rewards’ for the people in Bagan Pinang to bribe them into giving their support to Isa. And when they are done with all these announcements they actually pass around envelopes with cash inside them for distribution to the people of Bagan Pinang. But this is par for the course for UMNO.

But as I have said earlier we have reached our “tipping Point” in March 2008. UMNO have not. We have the momentum to move relentless towards the next General elections. UMNO has not. We have the numbers and these numbers will continue to swell IF we do not forget our goal. And our goal is to bring change. Out with the corrupt, the arrogant and the deceitful UMNO and in it’s place we, the people, will chose Pakatan Rakyat.

Do not forget my friends. Not profit not plunder. Not greed not arrogance. We want a government that we can trust and believe in. That government is not UMNO.

1. #1 by taiking on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 10:02 am

Are you sure he said “tipping” point and not “tripping” point?

Umno in reality is in no better shape than mca, gerakan and mic. But unlike them Umno could still stand and it is only because (yes) it has absolute control of the 3Ms hussein mentioned.

2. #2 by boh-liao on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 11:48 am

So, what can ppl n voters do?
    Umno B’s open n arrogant challenges to voters
    Yes, Umno B is unscrupulous, unethical, corrupt, unpatriotic
    So what? Umno B untouchable
    You voters are so greedy, Umno B openly gives $ n gifts n buys you up
    You voters are so scared of things, real n imaginary, Umno B threatens you with ISA, OSA, ang tow peng, water cannon, sedition act
    You voters claimed to be bosses, cakap only lah, Umno B the real boss knows
    Better kwai kwai vote for Umno
    I scratch, you scratch, I korup, you korup
    Want, want lah, sama, sama, WantMalaysia

3. #3 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:37 pm

Din? Which Din? Do you mean Budin, Dudin, Fudin, Gudin, Hudin, Judin, Kudin, Ludin, Mudin, Nudin, Pudin, Qudin, Rudin, Sudin, Tudin, Wudin or Zudin? Or simply Dustbin?

4. #4 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 1:26 pm

Din? Which Din?

Gunga Din!

http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Gunga_Din

5. #5 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:38 am

Din….the dum dum DPM…making all useless shallow idiotic speeches.
    Big mouth have a close friend now.
    Din be PM…big mouth his DPM!!
    They are dreaming….a fool’s dream.
    Malaysians have enough.
    Just look at MCA….MIC.
    Are they not fighting for their own survivals?

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 8:04 am

‘Tipping Point?’ Jesus Christ. Its more proof how entitlement mentality is crippling this country.. They don’t even understand how ‘tipping point’ comes about.. You only get tipping point when many factors works for it and it comes together just at the right time and place..

UMNO is fighting against a tide.. They will be lucky just to hold on to what they got much less a tipping point..Nobody in the opposition is afraid of a strong comeback by UMNO/BN, it won’t happen.

The glory days of UMNO/BN is over. That is reality. They only issue is how to move forward painfully and ardously.. Which is why UMNO/BN has to go because they can’t do it…

7. #7 by grkumar on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:31 pm

The term ‘tipping point’ is a euphemism for something more sinister than what you read it as.

It means the point at which their tolerance or anger will boil over and tip over. It appears strange that you too lend credibility inadvertantly or otherwise to this misuse or misunderstanding of the phrase.

It is an ominous warning of something worse to come.

The allegations against UMNO here are no different in the application and strategy employed in the political culture of our neighbours from Singaore to Papua New Guinea.

Datuk Tiong and Wong of forestry fame had provided the loose 5 and 2 Kina packets for constituents in Sir Julius Chans party in the 1990’s to help him win government and the forestry companies the right to rape and pillage their resources.

In Singapore they prohibit and hinder the collection of rubbish from constituencies that vote into parliament (albeit legitimately) an opposition candidate in defiance of their ‘supreme leader’s’ Eugenic policies of non Chinese being inferior to Chinese.

They then jail and bankrupt those who dare show them up in a less flattering light than they see themselves in. In Thailand they bring in the army. In Indonesia it is the Army.

Perhaps some more thoughtful strategies, less rhetoric anti government or anti Malay and some real policies on the ground could do the work.

My take on the Pakatan assault on the bastille of KL / BN is that it will get nowhere come the next general elections.

UMNO and the BN will more than consolidate their majority, they may actually go towards re writing the constitution.

Those amongst you in favour of Australia may as well now queue before the High Com in KL before it is too late.

Gopal Raj Kumar

8. #8 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 11:00 pm

There is no need for another defeatist here. If someone thinks Australia is better, he should go. Obviously someone is giving lots of sh!t opinions without any basis.

9. #9 by monsterball on Monday, 12 October 2009 - 7:17 am

Non stop..inviting anyone to talk any subject.. to show how smart he is.
    Australia is the subject now..
    Opinions from others…are nonsense!!
    His are all pure …brainy and factual.
    So read and learn from this wise young man.
    He cannot differentiate his own nonsensical stuffs .. from others.
    His sense of logic….totally gone.