Three reasons why Najib should officially withdraw the 1Malaysia slogan from the Barisan Nasional Bagan Pinang by-election campaign before polling tomorrow

Election Commission has been taking down billboards and banners put up by Pakatan Rakyat in the Bagan Pinang by-election which offend their sensitivities – like those which castigate the Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate Tan Sri Mohd Isa Samad for corruption because of his history of Umno money politics and the BN government for its record of injustices and gross abuses of power.

If any by-election campaign material should be taken down in Bagan Pinang by-election, it is the 1Malaysia billboards, banners and buntings ad nauseam flooding the constituency with giant portraits and slogans of the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

There are at least three reasons why Najib should officially withdraw the 1Malaysia slogan from the BN Bagan Pinang by-election campaign before polling tomorrow.

Firstly, what 1Malaysia can the BN talk about in Bagan Pinang when there is even no 1Umno, 1MCA, 1MIC or 1BN?

If there is 1Umno, Isa would not have become the BN candidate in Bagan Pinang by-election as evident from the strong objections from former Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir and Umno stalwart Tengku Razaleigh.

There is no 1MCA or there will be no MCA Extraordinary General Meeting today in a life-and-death battle between the Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat and Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek factions. What 1MCA when there were four separate dinners in Kuala Lumpur last night with 320 tables or 3,200 places prepared for the 2,380 MCA EGM delegates?

Is there 1MIC although there is still 1Samy Vellu! What 1MIC when Najib is publicly giving his blessing for the establishment of another splintered party for the Malaysian Indians, the Makkal Sakti Party today?

When is there is no 1Umno, 1MCA or 1MIC, where is the 1Barisan Nasional?

Secondly, half the voters of Malaysia or more than half the voters in Peninsular Malaysia rejected the Barisan Nasional in the political tsunami of the March 8 general election last year. This has robbed Najib of any legitimacy to claim the support of all Malaysians for his 1Malaysia slogan and policy, which have proved to be largely similar to the very policies which had been repudiated in the 12th general elections. Instead of producing 1Malaysia, 52-years of Umno/Barisan Nasional rule have produced a Half(½)Malaysia or 2Malaysia — a clearly DividedMalaysia.

Thirdly, if Najib is trying to craft a new 1Malaysia policy to unite Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or region, he should be inviting leaders of all political parties, whether in government or opposition, to reach a national consensus of a unifying overarching national policy accepted and recognized by the overwhelming majority of Malaysians as capable of qualifying to be termed 1Malaysia.

The last thing he should do is to turn his 1Malaysia slogan and programme into a divisive partisan question to be trotted out in by-elections as campaign issues.

In the Permatang Pasir by-election, Najib’s 1Malaysia theme was the centrepiece of the Barisan Nasional campaign, with the constituency also flooded with posters, banners, buntings and billboards blaring out the same slogan.

Would Najib concede that the BN’s resounding defeat in the Permatang Pasir by-election signified an unmistakable rejection of his 1Malaysia motto – which would be quite an unique record for a new Prime Minister in having his signature policy suffering such humiliating rejection in its first popular test.

DAP and Pakatan Rakyat are prepared to support a 1Malaysia slogan and policy which really unite Malaysians, regardless of race, religion or region but not one which is a mere camouflage for the continuation of the divisive and discredited BN policies of the past.

This is why Najib should officially withdraw the 1Malaysia slogan from the Barisan Nasional Bagan Pinang by-election campaign before polling tomorrow to remove it from the realm of political contention and to place it in a proper nation-building context transcending political party differences.

1. #1 by Godfather on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:36 pm

Election commission taking down billboards and removing materials regarding Isa’s money politics ? How can they do that ? You guys must take legal action since what is in those billboards and banners are the truth !

I can understand the mainstream press being told not to write anything negative about Isa’s past, and there’s nothing much we can do about that, but we can certainly flood the constituency with leaflets that say the same things.

2. #2 by taiking on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:42 pm

The truth. Yes. But wasnt he pardoned by najib already? Picking him to run in bagan pinang and saying that he like other criminals deserved a second chance is good enough to wipe the bad record he has clean.

3. #3 by Joshua on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:49 pm

Was Isa picked because he had a ‘porn’ photo of Inajis in a hotel room in Port Dickson? that is according to Malaysia-Today.

pw: watered Immensi

4. #4 by yhsiew on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 12:56 pm

Although Najib, who has enacted economic reforms to boost foreign investment, initially saw a spike in his approval ratings to 65 per cent in July from 42 per cent before he took office in April, those numbers have not held up.

A poll by the independent Merdeka Center published on Friday showed Najib’s rating had fallen to 56 per cent in September and there are few signs younger voters are now embracing Umno.

“Now that another Malay party (PAS) is in power, they (Umno) seem to be sabotaging them, creating all sort of problems,” said Yusuff Ismail, a 35-year old sales clerk in northwestern Kedah state, one of the four states to fall to the opposition in 2008.

“This divides the Malays more,” Yusuff said. “More people will vote for PAS because at least we know they are cleaner.” (The Malaysian Insider)
    ===============================================

That is what the 1Malaysia slogan has done to Najib’s approval ratings – tumbled from 65% in July to 56% in September. This is a very good reason for Najib to officially withdraw the 1Malaysia slogan from the Barisan Nasional Bagan Pinang by-election campaign.

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 1:21 pm

Isn’t there a conflict of interest in the 1Malaysia Baga Pinang campaigning? I would have thought that election campaigning should be a party matter. The 1Malaysia konsep is a government project (even though it clearly promotes a single person who already has the highest post in the land). It’s bad enough that public money should be spent on promoting an elected official at any other time, but when that same public money is being used in a by-election, that’s – I’m not a wordsmith, I’m running out of superlatives for corrupt – Even corrupterest!

Who wants giant Najib-heads leering at them from every angle? Who wants to pay for that? Who wants that unwelcome waste of public money being inflated for a by-election? Why do people put up with that? That isn’t BN’s money that’s being spent on that self-promotional material, that’s public money, and a great deal more than the value of a few rice cookers.

6. #6 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 2:25 pm

Statistics on sanity are that one out of every four Malaysians is suffering from sort of mental illness. Think of Moo, Keris and Rais; if they’re okay, then it’s Jibby.

7. #7 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 2:41 pm

Najib should officially withdraw the 1Malaysia slogan…but but reduce it to

1M – Satu Munafik
    Tradisi Rasuah diteruskan
    Rasuah Dihalalkan

Undilah Barisan Nasional untuk kesinambungan Budaya Rasuah !

8. #8 by limkamput on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 3:27 pm

//Election commission taking down billboards and removing materials regarding Isa’s money politics ?//

You know why the bureaucracy and the various commissions have no qualm in siding and in “walking the extra mile” to help BN. Because there is no fear of retribution! We are forever benign and forgiving even to the extent of inculcating such deviant behaviour. It is time PR send a very strong message to all senior government servants, including those in the commissions, that it is their duty to uphold neutrality. There will be retribution (if and when PR comes into power), make it very clear to them. I see that many PR controlled states are still happily working hand in grove with senior government servants who in the past had made their life very miserable.

9. #9 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 5:04 pm

MCA split down the middle? Never mind, this is 1Malaysia. Even with Malaysian Hakka Association and Malaysian Hokkien Association, still united!

I reckon it’s all good right up to Malaysian My Paternal Great Grandfather Came From [Insert Name Of Small Village In China Nobody Has Ever Heard Of Here] Association.

Perhaps they ought to reconsider, and form a political party around – ooh, I don’t know – something to do with public policy?

10. #10 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 5:22 pm

Hmmmmm. They have just chopped off MCA’s head.

But I suppose if you chop off a live chicken’s head, it can still run around for a short while before it drops dead.

So its 0MCA now. Can the others like MICe be far behind?

What about 1Malaysia?

11. #11 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 5:28 pm

chopped off MCA’s head
    The one I feel sorry for is Ling Liong Sik and his fractured arm. I hope it wasn’t a consequence of applied torque.

12. #12 by taiking on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 5:48 pm

So you are saying the mca head came off as a result of forcible torque (more fancifully known as kung-fu move) by ling huh? Rojakman. He suffered a fracture. I certainly hope that the bare hand kung-fu decapitation job was a clean one. You know without leaving protruding strands of veins and arteries.

But the pertinent question here is would it make a diff. No. Like umno, mca has its brains implanted in its rear.(Yes you guessed it. Its a smallish brain. It has to be small.) Technically, mca can still think except that now it would be without the benefit of sight and sound. In other words, mca would be pretty much directionless. But hey, wasnt mca already directionless before the decapitation? So there you have it. The answer is a headless mca would make not a difference. Not at all.

Err I suppose I can somehow call this onemalaysia cant I? Ling onemalaysia mca and mca although headless can nevertheless onemalaysia on. Hows dat?

Wow my captcha words are: fullPolitical dodges.

13. #13 by ringthetill on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 6:09 pm

Imagine NR saying this – “Ai yah LKS, why take it so serious. I got carried away while speaking at a very important work forum. I was trying to explain 1Kampung, then 1Malaysia and at the end of it I lost control and let slip 1World. It was a slip of the tongue. Nobody there took any notice why are you so keh poh? Come lah I belanja you kopi.”

14. #14 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 6:29 pm

No doubt MCA is suffering from big leadership crisis now! That really does not matter much to the Chinese Community of Malaysia nowadays because majority Chinese Malaysians already get ready to give up communal politics and be willing to give a chance for the try out of Malaysian Malaysia politics. In other words, MCA is proved to be irrelevant to Malaysian people now.

However, isn’t it time now for YB Kit to voice out some words of comfort and compassion to the bewildered MCA members in order to encourage them to give up the old fashioned style of communal politics and to turn to concede with the basic ideology of Malaysian Malaysia? Isn’t it time now for YB Kit to show open hands to the tired and exhausted MCA veterans so that the retired MCA veterans will be welcome to give their hidden support to DAP in order to continue their political fight against the hardcore racism of Ketuanan Melayu? Isn’t it time now for YB Kit to express his concern about the loss of direction of many non-DAP-member Chinese Malaysians who feel highly insecure in a time when they are put in a perceived political vacuum due to the political collapses of both Ong and Chua in the factional feud within MCA and what they truly need is a clear-cut direction of national leadership in the political arena? Isn’t it time now for YB Kit to make a political offer to the Chinese Malaysians so that DAP can be trusted to fill in the political vacuum left over by MCA?

15. #15 by k1980 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 7:17 pm

Looks like these 2 born losers will soon be applying to join PR — one, a viagra abuser and the other a freeloader

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/articles/20091010100336/Article/index_html

16. #16 by Joshua on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 8:23 pm

does it make any sense at all with 1Malaysia, when Najib is very concerned with the problems of Indians when all other ordinary people of all races are equally at a disadvantage except those cronies of illegal leaders and umnoputra.

So what is actually 1Malaysia when it is people power in MMSP?

Is Be eNd ending its own with a people power imagined by 1Najib?

New crisis brewing in Malaysia.

pw: whittles HERMAN

17. #17 by smeagroo on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 8:41 pm

1Malaysia is for cronies to cari makan via Public Relations work like print-ads and media space.

18. #18 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 10:36 pm

-1Malaysia, as a concept to promote all inclusive policy of government for all.
    -Promoting politics of communalism to regain lost support along racial lines.
    -Readiness to dump old political partners rather than help one another tide through difficult times.
    -Courting new and potential political partners.

We are living in interesting times… Will BN survive in this kind of leadership?

19. #19 by monsterball on Saturday, 10 October 2009 - 11:44 pm

I just returned from a trip to Bagan Pinang.
    My trip was to fulfill my desire to give moral support to PAS and meet few friends for lunch.
    Flags from PAS are impressive…lively and supporters for PAS came from Kelantan and Terengganu by the thousands.
    I was shocked t hear from 8 saying they came by their own expenses …as I thought they were given allowances by PAS to be at Bagan Pinang.
    One said he brought something to sell at the road side..to make some money for daily needs.
    All are youngsters…very well mannered….and I advised them to talk…feel and behave like Malaysians and not by race…which they said their Tok Guru Aziz advised same thing…….last night…in his speech. We spoke for 1 hour and all were in a hurry to be on the road…after thanking me for the lunch treat.
    It was a very hot day…and sat at the open restaurant…keep taking to friends.
    Most predicted a win for UMNO….but by a very slim majority margin.
    I told them..that’s good enough…as they won in 12th GE..by huge majority……..but one or two believe the hatred of Isa by voters may give a surprise win to PAS.
    24 hours watch are on more than 3000 votes already arrived in boxes from postal voters……from military officers .. at duties elsewhere.
    It seems ..last night…police road blocks purposely set up to frustrate people from going to hear Anwar speak.
    I felt the forces for change of government is great and constant…….ever growing.
    I am contended to lend moral support and had lunch with my friends and new found friends….all with voluntary assignments ….such as 24 hours watch on the room locked with the 3000 votes through postal…no one goes in…and nothing come out.

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 12:58 am

We took the kids for a walk on the beach at Bagan Pinang this evening. We popped into the village to have a quick look. BN are definitely winning the bunting competition! I think this sort of excess is counter-productive in some places though – how can someone who is living on just a few ringgit per day believe that the nation’s wealth is well-spent on that much advertising?

The traffic jam started before we got to the beach. The public car park was ‘reserved for a SPR function’. But “Saya tak boleh spikka da Malay” (sometimes being an obvious foreigner isn’t so bad) and parked there anyway. We weren’t the only ones doing it, some of the families arriving for an evening walk looked like they ought to be able to speak excellent Malay! They all seemed to be waiting to see what we did, since the man in the reflective vest was talking to me.

I keep meaning to write to the MPPD about the beach. I thought 6 metres of coastal strip could not be privately owned? There are a lot of ‘private’ fences popping up on the beach, and fewer places for locals to park to enjoy it every time we go.

Perhaps BN’s concentration on ‘development’ will prove to be their undoing here. I don’t think PD’s development has brought very much for many people who call PD their home. It ought to be fantastic living by the seaside, but in all honesty it looks as though termites have eaten everything here, and left – long ago. PD needs a new direction. We need it to be a fantastic place to live, to raise children and to work. We need different people in charge. I hope the voters of Bagan Pinang will vote for change for PD.

I’m quite looking forward to the day after tomorrow. Isa gave a speech at a big tent outside one of my neighbour’s houses a couple of nights ago, and we’ve had our mosquitoes larvaed, sprayed and smoked every night for two weeks. It’s becoming annoying!

21. #21 by GreenBug on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 2:18 am

The 4th reason why Najib Razak should withdraw the 1Malaysia concept is that it is a copy of DAP’s Malaysian Malaysia. Or maybe it was copied from this one :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=piF_2PQSkBM

22. #22 by GreenBug on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 2:19 am

Sorry, forgot to mention that Singapore celebrated “One People, One Nation, One Singapore” in 1990, ie 19 years ago!

23. #23 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:11 am

“There will be retribution (if and when PR comes into power), make it very clear to them. I see that many PR controlled states are still happily working hand in grove with senior government servants … >>>limkamput

Retribution? Hand in ‘grove’?? What kind of dumb advice are you giving?? You nitwit!

24. #24 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:29 am

hahahahahahaha….the highly educated nitwit….hahahahahahahaha
    But few will cry …when Bagan Pinang result..to be announced tonight.
    Win or loose…PAS will never cry…as PAS lost big in last election. They are confident the huge majority will be reduced to a slim one. That’s their mission…for 13th GE.
    Those who cry will be businessmen and traders in Negri….preparing themselves….to succeed..based on who they know and not what they know. Bribery is encouraged by UMNO.
    Thousands like me was there to lend moral support to PAS….no regrets whatsoever.

25. #25 by yhsiew on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 7:48 am

Bribery is encouraged by UMNO…….(#24 by monsterball)
    ================================================

It is an eye-sore to see Muhyiddin Yassin going around Bagan Pinang to give away money. Malaysiakini reported that 14.25 million ringgit were given to schools and temples within a space of 3 days. Is that what Najib’s 1Malaysia is all about – to “accustomed” people to bribery and hence legitimize bribery?

UMNO is so used to money politics that the word “corruption” is non-existent in its vocabulary.

26. #26 by yhsiew on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 7:52 am

Oop!

to “accustomed” people should be to “accustom” people.

27. #27 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 8:23 am

They will win by a small margin and they will celebrate and rejoice like crazy. ITS all the signs of the desperate, the stuborn, the waste of humanity who refuse to change..

While we will mourn, because its a sign of a broken country, a divided country. It demonstrate that as Malaysians we are capable of great selfishness, unjustifiable stubborness, and great cowardice.. Its our shame for the world to see how weak we are.. How we don’t deserve to join the rank of great nation, relegated to the group of mediocrity and even we may very well be seeing truly own own destruction in the future. Befause the future is for those who are bold and brave NOT cowardly scared people…

28. #28 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 8:54 am

I went to PD, i saw what was happening there, I talked cok with them, I treat them to lunch, they thanked me, I consoled myself i have done great stuff so said a half baked campaigner.

As for Hugos, thanks for reading my post. MY contribution is not wasted for sure. At least there is one person who faithfully read every word i wrote here. Told you I got following.

29. #29 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:11 am

Najib “1 Malaysia” to look at his own BN as oneness before trying to teach others to be united..which we are and as Malaysians Malaysia…united to be free from UMNO’s nonsense….always trying to fool Malaysians.
    MCA voted ….no confidence of Ong Tee Kiat leadership.
    And voted Dr.Chua should not be vice president of MCA.
    There is the clear “1Malaysia” of Najib…showing MCA is clearly two…of not three.
    And MCA…”1 MCA” “1 Team” is the joke of the day..indirectly showing what low class UMNO polishers they are.
    Najib said the newly formed..”Indian People’s Party”…is supporting him….and he must o something for the Indians….yet dare not admit the said party to be in BN..asking them to be MIC members…afraid of MIC.
    Playing dirty politics….dare not offend MIC…this “1Malaysia” PM do not feel one bit shameful at all…..that BN is so disunited…everyone is fighting for personal benefits….and why not…..when UMNO can field a proven corrupted crook like Isa…for Bagan Pinang by -election.
    Najib do not have a Barisan National.
    What he has are actors and low class scums of the earth…from other races.. that have no dignity nor principles in like…..the lowest kind of politicians you can find…just like UMNO devils…willing to play ball with Najib….to stick together…to sink or swim together… trying to fool Malaysians..to save each other ….as..by loosing the coming 13th GE.. almost all…sure to get investigated with impartial investigators..that bound to put few into long jail sentences.
    Each have their own enemies..within the party and outside the party..so disunited…because greedy selfish crooks can never really unite too.
    Now go and recall……after 12th GE..what does UMNO have done for the people…….with his “People’s first. Performance now” slogan.
    All meaningless cunning low class slogans.
    “1 WAR” is encouraged by others in respond to the “1 World” slogan …insulting Najib…right now.
    Surely he is not that dumb to notice insults thrown to him……..but then ….hundreds of insults thrown to Mahathir…yet he feel no shame at all.
    No sir….these are not thick skinned ba..tards.
    They are desperate to get UMNO BARU re-elected…or end up like Indonesia Golka party….rounding up so many into jail.

30. #30 by monsterball on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 9:16 am

hahahahahaha….the nitwit…do have an art to make sure Hugo is happy.

31. #31 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 10:17 am

PAS to create an upset with a 200 votes shock win.

The going’s good.

32. #32 by boh-liao on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 10:42 am

PR’s slogan
    1Nation, 1Battle, 1Vote
    Vote OUT 1BigFatFraud UmnoB&BN

33. #33 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 11:47 am

Assalamu alaikum to all Bagan Pinang voters. “Peace be upon you”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8oeNgI1cbE

You can vote BN, for piece be upon you. Once they have taken nearly everything, then maybe you can have a little piece. There’s no guarantee.

PAS might not be your 1st choice of political party, but “peace” is something we could all use some more of. ‘Change’ is something we need even more. Change is an easy job today, like very simple tic tac toe or “noughts and crosses”. You see the circle, put an ‘X’ next to it.

I don’t think I’m cut out for a career in marketing.

34. #34 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 11:54 am

To all those who like to walk (and perhaps swim even) at the beaches of PD with their families and kids, hey that place is not good for your health. Stopped going there long ago.

Watch the message in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-o4tyCIJCMQ&feature=related

And if you want the lyrics, you can get it here:

http://www.metrolyrics.com/down-by-the-river-lyrics-albert-hammond.html

35. #35 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:16 pm

//you can have a little piece//

You mean a tiny wee little piece as such that blown to smithereens by c4 explosives?

And Rojakman, non-muslims are not allowed to use the greeting ‘Assalamu alaikum’, even to muslims. It is the preserve of the country’s muslims, such as the word ‘Allah’. And talking of ‘crosses’, you might be mistaken for a crusader and therefore be c4-ed by the ayahtollahs here.

36. #36 by Hugos on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:41 pm

“hahahahahaha….the nitwit…do have an art to make sure Hugo is happy ..>> monster

Only a dumb nitwit would say that! He is right. He has only me reading his writings and then exposing him for what he really is – a lamebrained nitwit. Someone has to keep him to the straight and narrow. Otherwise he will say LKS is stealing his ideas.

37. #37 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:41 pm

non-muslims are not allowed to use the greeting ‘Assalamu alaikum’
    Don’t say that even as a joke! Mind you, someone said that at the gate to my compound recently while I was washing something behind the wall. I stood up and said “Walaikum assalamu – I’m sorry I don’t speak Arabic.” and they didn’t seem to want to have a conversation, but they did smile.

Smile is good, isn’t it? I remember a 200AD (did you get that here in the 70s? I remember thinking “200AD, I’ll be so old – probably die before then”) comic strip featuring spacemen on a new planet greeting the locals by smiling at them, only to get “KAABBBOOOOOMMM” as a response, because showing teeth was a prelude to war there.

I’d appreciate someone (preferably a regular user of the greeting) clearing up whether I can say it or not. I’m in strict agreement with Tony Stark on this one. “Yeah peace! I love peace!”.

38. #38 by Freddy on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 1:57 pm

look at the brighter side … 1MALAYAYSIA could be a reality …

MCA is dying …
    MIC is dying …
    UMNO is dying …

MCA will be dead …
    MIC will be dead …
    UMNO will be dead …

these deaths will perhaps mark the end of the racist regime lording over Malaysians classified by races ….

Gone will be racial profiling … when UMNO dies!

1Malaysia will then be a reality!!!

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 2:07 pm

I don’t mind that SOB reading my posting. Exposing me? I don’t think so because a half baked hypocrite would not know the difference between right and wrong, left and right.

40. #40 by boh-liao on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 3:37 pm

MIC is dying, goner, kaput
    Long live Malaysian Makkal Sakti Party
    See, always no shortage of political opportunists n sharks to lick n carry bola

41. #41 by ringthetill on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:03 pm

Come to think of it, we are a plural society. Shouldn’t we learn to count beyond 1? Only then would it mean ‘inclusiveness’, where we all have a stake in the welfare of the community and nationhood. Make any sense?

42. #42 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:20 pm

we are a plural society
    The obvious grammar problem in your comment should give you a clue.

“We are A plural”?

It’ll never work. Plural societies are separate societies trying to pretend that they’re somehow united. Having separate societies in a nation is always going to cause problems. 1Malaysia is actually a great idea – it’s just that Najib’s version is an expensively marketed blatant lie. For a great idea, it doesn’t seem to have very much support. For all DAP’s “all Malaysians” rhetoric, they also perpetuate the idea of a divided society in their rocket icon – see the explanation of the ‘4 boosters’:

http://dapmalaysia.org/newenglish/au_sr.htm

Parti Sosialis Malaysia are the only party who seem to explicitly want an end to racism. Unfortunately, clinging to the flag pole of yesterday’s ideals doesn’t seem to be going very well for them. Everybody else seems to be fulfilling Mahathir’s prophesy that all parties should be racists because that’s what the people really, really want.

43. #43 by GilaPolitic on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:40 pm

KATA PEPATAH MELAYU KINI, DULU DAN SELAMA LAMA NYA :-

“1MALAYSIA IS MY FOOT TODAY.

1MALAYSIAN MALAYSIA IS MY FUTURE NOW.

BN CORRUPT GAMES ARE OVER IN NEXT 13GE.

RAKYAT JUSTICE IS THE BEGINNING NOW.”

44. #44 by k1980 on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 6:47 pm

Switzerland comprising French, Italian and German ethnic groups need not to have to shout about 1switzerland and there is no need for the NEP there. Maybe that’s the reason Obama refuses to visit Malaysia in November.

45. #45 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 7:34 pm

Switzerland
    Exactly! Although I’m not convinced ‘German ethnic Swiss’ exists – does it? I think a lot of Germans find Swiss German a bit … quaint, it does sound a bit funny if you’ve spent any time in Germany.

It’s a bit of a nightmare if you go walking over the mountains there. I got caught in a blizzard once on my way to a German-speaking valley and ended up with frost-bitten heels (I had to wait for nearly a week for them to heal so I could walk out) in a French one. A fat lot of good my German phrase book was there. They may not all have the same ancestral tongue, but they’re all fiercely Swiss.

Maybe that’ll change – did you see the recent call for a referendum on expelling “dangerous foreigners”? Search Google Images for ‘switzerland black sheep’

for some political marketing fun!

46. #46 by 1Malaysian on Sunday, 11 October 2009 - 10:05 pm

Cheers to Isa , pakatan failed big time , all talk no action …

47. #47 by monsterball on Monday, 12 October 2009 - 3:52 am

Proven soooooo many times..Limkamput was writing nonsense…yet he still ..claims.. he is right and his messages are sooooo logical and intelligent.
    Suddenly…the famous “I forgot” ..uttered under oath..14 times in half and hour..by Mahathir..must be contagious to some…..having consumed the little useless….good for nothing little devil.
    Devil he is…but humans call him cracko,.

48. #48 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 12 October 2009 - 8:20 am

like what Mao Tze Tung said, it doesn’t matter if the cat is black or white, as soon as it catches mice, it is a good cat. To BN, it doesn’t matter if the politician is corrupted or very corrupted, but as soon as he won in an election, he is considered an excellent umno politician!

49. #49 by Loh on Monday, 12 October 2009 - 5:53 pm

pulau_sibu,

You quoted Deng Xiao Ping, not Mao.

50. #50 by monsterball on Tuesday, 13 October 2009 - 7:38 am

Glad so many understands UMNO mentalities…attitudes and behaviors.
    Malaysia is in safe hands for a better tomorrow..by voting out UMNO in 13th GE.
    Only idiots and fools depend on a politrcal party for his/her future.
    But race and religion issues are drummed in by UMNO…..to poison Muslim minds.
    It is depending on.how successful this type of dirty politics can so call keep UMNO to riule forever.
    They do not govern. They rule with rules…all protecting themselves to do whatever they want…with no fear.
    They have lost the true UMNO..since Mahathir set up his UMNO BARU…and he needs to kill the old one..to do as he liked and be a dictator.
    If an UMNO member can be so ungrateful to kill off the founder of UMNO…a devoted kind Muslim…harming no one…who are we to them..regardless you are a Muslim or other races?
    UMNO is a band of robbers…out to buy up souls and country.
    Do you want such an evil government?
    They can talk as much as they like….but UMNO is trully evil.