Mahathir right on Isa but wrong on PR

Umno’s choice for Tan Sri Mohd Isa Abdul Samad as the Barisan Nasional candidate for the Bagan Pinang by-election appears quite set – and the latest indication is the “advice” by Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, asking former Prime Minister Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad not to “interfere” and “embarrass” the Umno leadership with any more public statements on the question of by-election candidature. (Sin Chew)

Mahathir is right on Isa when he said that the issue is not just Bagan Pinang by-election but the next 13th general elections.

As Mahathir conceded, if Umno fields a candidate who is not clean, it might win in Bagan Pinang but would lose in other constituencies as the people throughout Malaysia want to know whether Umno is serious about eradicating money politics and corruption.

However, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak seems so desperate for a by-election victory in Peninsular Malaysia after seven consecutive by-election defeats after the political tsunami of the March 8 general elections last year that he is prepared to face the hazards warned by Mahathir.

But Mahathir is wrong when he painted a picture of disaster if Pakatan Rakyat wins the next general elections, claiming that it will not be administering the country but that DAP, PAS and Keadilan will be fighting each other.

However, the latest Pakatan Rakyat controversy in Selangor over Selangor PAS Commissioner Datuk Dr. Hasan Mohamed Ali’s public attack on the Select Committee for Competency, Accountability and Transparency (Selcat) and the Speaker Teng Chang Khim has placed Pakatan Rakyat under a new stress and provided ammunition for Mahathir’s forecast of doom for PR.

The establishment and public hearings of Selcat are major and laudable steps in the campaign for public accountability, transparency and good governance although there is room for improvement in its functioning and operations.

What is unacceptable is that guidelines agreed by the Pakatan Rakyat leadership to deal with internal PR problems are not given serious attention, as this can only result in greater loss in public confidence in PR cohesion, sustainability and viability unless these problems are properly addressed and resolved.

1. #1 by sheriff singh on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 2:48 pm

Too many “little Napoleons” in Pakatan each wanting to expand his little “empayar”. This can’t be good. We need someone who can discipline them, bring them all into line. How about organising a group “team building” camp for all PR leaders?

Port Dickson might be a good venue for it and while you are all there, maybe give them fellas at Bagan Pinang some help.

Isa is no pushover.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 4:13 pm

UMNO cannot in Bagan Pinang by-election control its warlords from defying its central authority, and you in PR can’t, yours per what Selangor Speaker Teng Chang Khim said, as reported by Malaysiakini’s Rahmah Ghazali Sep 28, 09 – “I strongly believe that if they persist in this manner, Pakatan in Selangor would not be defeated by Barisan Nasional but by PAS itself in the next general election…”

What’s the difference?

3. #3 by yhsiew on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 5:08 pm

But Mahathir is wrong when he painted a picture of disaster if Pakatan Rakyat wins the next general elections, claiming that it will not be administering the country but that DAP, PAS and Keadilan will be fighting each other.
    ===========================================

I suggest Mahathir to refer to the poll conducted recently on the performance of the PR government in Selangor. The poll gave a clear pass for the government of Selangor.

The poll gives evidence that PR is able to govern the country if it forms the federal government after the 13th general election.

4. #4 by taiking on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 5:50 pm

Umno has two facets. One umno the political party. Two umno to corrupt body.

We all know well that if corruption is threatened, it would fight back. What we see now is a fight back by umno the corrupt body.

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 5:58 pm

The characteristics of thieves and con men are having meetings behind closed doors and put out the minutes..calling all…. secret documents.
    All meetings are about.. how to use our money for UMNO’s benefits.
    PR argue in the open…keep no secrets….yet Mahathir feel no shame….but showing his thick skin face and skills …how to play dirty politics…at it’s best..with his usual snaky ways.
    This very old man claim UMNO BARU is his and as long as he is alive…he will interfere.
    He is right!!
    Proven to be most corrupted…not important.
    That’s UMNO mentalities.
    Sometimes he does show ..he is an idiot too..using childish…ridiculous predictions…that make majority laugh at him…like a clown.
    Isa best candidate?….well and good.
    Famous to buy votes…proven guilty….hoping ,Malaysians forget…and start all over again.
    UMNO needs to round up all for 13th GE…and what better ways is to get Isa win…which UMNO should win..even putting a donkey as a candidate…for history showed…UMNO won big before..so why worry?
    No Isa is best..to get him elected…and be active in politics to defend Negri Sembilan..to be CM again.
    A 6 year old child can also understand UMNO’s plan…….for crooks must get all loyal crooks stand united.
    Now……go at judge…how serious is UMNO on corruptions.

6. #6 by Hugos on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:11 pm

waa few people on this blog wa happened?

7. #7 by LG on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:11 pm

hi, does anyone know how to assess to m2day? Is it blocked again? If the Government is involved in this matter, this again showed its insincerity and hypocrisy in its words and actions.

8. #8 by Hugos on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:17 pm

let us face it. danger of pakatan imploding is as real as the sun rises in the east. so acknowledging the obvious is only being realistic even if that means giving credence to a claim made by the opposing party.

get on your knees, roll up your sleeves and get to work is my advice to pakatan leaders!

9. #9 by Loh on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:20 pm

///As Mahathir conceded, if Umno fields a candidate who is not clean, it might win in Bagan Pinang but would lose in other constituencies as the people throughout Malaysia want to know whether Umno is serious about eradicating money politics and corruption.///– Kit

Mahathir said that if UMNO did not have an alternative to Isa, he volunteered to stand. Would he solve the problems he just mentioned about Isa? The world knew that Mahathir’s family are unusually rich. Politicians not only have to be incorruptible, but also seen to be incorruptible. We do not know how Mahathir’s offspring gained their wealth, but as an elected official, his offspring ought to have forgone the right to business which could be linked to government activities. As the sons and daughters of the most powerful person in the country, they should not have availed themselves of the assistance programmed under NEP to compete with ordinary Malays who had to survive in business so that they could become competitive to others. AAB said that his son was Malay and so was entitled to projects of Petronas reserved for Malays in NEP spirit. Obviously AAB’s offspring were not weak compared to any non-Malay who did not have the opportunity available from Petronas projects; it was unethical for them to compete with ordinary Malays. AAB is gone. Mahathir has left, and he should not be allowed to return, even to stand as a state assemblyman.

10. #10 by ktteokt on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:30 pm

Is TDM trying to promote “UNRETIREMENT” in Malaysia after he called it quits years back? Pleaselah, we had enough of him already! Let us have a brighter future without his “campur tangan”. Anyway, does anyone of you think that his lowering himself, from a PM to a states assemblyman, is appropriate?

11. #11 by Winston on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:41 pm

Uncle Lim, it is a “Mission Impossible” for UMNO to throw up any candidates except corrupted ones!
    It is also no big deal that UMNO/BN is doing their level best to cause trouble to the fledgling PR.
    JUST SHOW THESE SPONGERS WHAT GOOD GOVERNANCE IS ALL ABOUT. SET THE GOLD STANDARD FOR IT AND THE ALL MALAYSIANS WILL COME TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE CONTRIBUTION OF THE PR!
    The PR has done in a short year what UMNO/BN cannot do in five over decades!!

12. #12 by rahmanwang on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 6:55 pm

Mahathir was the PM from 1981 till 2003.Mohd Isa was the MB from 1982 and found guilty of money politics in year 2004.
    What a coincidence.For all the years Mohd Isa was the MB he was so called ‘clean’ then suddenly he was found guilty.
    Mahathir was wrong to pick Mohd Isa and protected him all the while when he was the PM.Or maybe Mahathir was ‘blind’ all this while and suddenly he can see clearly that Mohd Isa is a corrupt politician.Maybe the saying goes ‘Birds with the same feather flocks together’

13. #13 by johnnypok on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:26 pm

TDM is “makan tua makin bodoh”

14. #14 by monsterball on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:28 pm

Hugos..I think many are having problems to come into this blog……..for past few months.
    I certainly had that too.
    One needs to keep logging in….and suddenly..one cannot log in…even using the right password and users name.
    I registered again with “monsterball” and my user name..was told…taken up.
    So I registered “monsterballssg”…all OK.
    Then I have this new programmer to get “monsterball”..all OK…except G-mail assigned me a password…so difficult to copy.
    So I paste it…all OK right now….and I will not be surprised..sooner or later..when I log in….with that password given by G.mail…cannot get in again.
    I have no problems it other blogs…except LKS.

15. #15 by GilaPolitic on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:34 pm

Yes, Uncle Lim is right….internal war and infighting showed Pakatan Rakyat is a weak coalition.

As Chinese saying: ” A mountain cannot retained two tigers in the same camp ” similar like PAS and DAP never see eye to eye for peaceful coalition. Sooner or later, PAS ADUNs will betray Pakatan to destroy Selangot state govt. PKR Aduns and DAP Adun have betrayed Pakatan caused Perak state govt collapsed.

It is time the three Lion Kings namely Tok Guru Nik Aziz, Uncle Lim and YB DSAI stand firm against those potential traitors in Pakatan teams. Sack the TORN / Duri dalam Daging Hassan Ali from PAS before his poison mouth spread more diseases in Pakatan.

Eliminated them for damage control now before the traitors become “KATAKs” in next 13GE.

16. #16 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:39 pm

malaysia 2day has been severely attacked by the umno-BN regime of evil again.
    anyone hav a clue of getting in thro’ the by way???

17. #17 by cseng on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:44 pm

//… establishment … of Selcat … campaign for public accountability, transparency and good governance ….// ..LKS
    Key words: Public Accountability + Transparency leads to good governance. What the country needed so badly is public accountability, yet no effort by the current regime.

Few crying babies DOs cried to big mama Hassan complaining Selcat bullying them. These poor DOs and big mama Hassan (who have under ages of racial and religious divide indoctrination by BN) somehow get into some sort of agreement, maybe they feel their right under attacked again! Let get the keris out!. Will this be a racial issue again, who know? Let’s see for the next few weeks if any BN leader shouted ‘jangan cabar’. This NEP and ‘ketuanan’ mentality kills the public accountability element in the society.

18. #18 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:50 pm

the smeagol ali hassan is trying to spin the entire selcat issue into a racial one ignoring the fact that what selcat is doing is exactly what the rakyat desire as a start.this gollum ali hassan is carrying too much umno racist scum luggage into PR.

19. #19 by cseng on Monday, 28 September 2009 - 11:54 pm

Mahathis is definately wrong, with BN around, only people like Isa will be choosen for any election. If Mahathir does not want to see people like Isa under BN’s ticket. The only way is, Dr.Mahathir, you have to choose PR for the upcoming GE.

The internal problem of PR is a value conflict of self-interest and country-interest of various group of people. After decades indoctrinated with racial and religious devide, we sure have to quarrel to strike the ballance point over the value conflict.

20. #20 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:10 am

I don’t know what’s going on with Malaysia Today. I strongly doubt it’s hackers. I wouldn’t believe it’s Pink Lips, even if I saw him hammering away at a laptop in Starbucks laughing his head off.

There is something responding occasionally (mostly not responding at all – see this one success, followed straight away by a fail):

$ curl –head http://malaysia-today.net/
    HTTP/1.0 200 OK
    Connection: Close
    Pragma: no-cache
    cache-control: no-cache
    Refresh: 0.1
    Content-Type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1

$ curl –head http://malaysia-today.net/
    curl: (7) couldn’t connect to host

That’s not what was responding last week, and note the weird case in the Connection field value and the Cache-Control field. Also the ‘Refresh’ header field which is not part of the W3C standard. M2day was using a lame meta-refresh last week, but it seems their programmer is now taking intravenous espresso.

It would be nice if a m2day person would just put a little comment somewhere to the effect “sorry, borken, be back later”. Still, I suppose saying nothing and letting everybody decide that Pink Lips is to blame is probably better for ‘the cause’.

21. #21 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:18 am

Moderated. Should have been more careful. M2day looks to me like it’s going through ‘renovations’. It is occasionally replying (as it was last week), but the replies are different to last week in a way that makes me suspect they’re changing their software.

I see no sign of hacking or blocking. Annoying isn’t it? I write broken websites too. Fortunately for me, mine aren’t at all popular.

22. #22 by Make A Difference on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:33 am

BN will win the by-election regardless of who they field as a candidate. They will win because it is an UMNO stronghold. Either they win because of Postal vote manipulation or they win because of the strongest candidate they have for this by election, irrespective of his character. Either way it will be a short term win and a long term loss. If BN wishes to nominate ISA, why discourage BN to do so. Let them win the battle and lose the war.Why help your enemy to win the war. If they wish to shoot themselves in the foot why stop them.

23. #23 by monsterball on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:36 am

OrangRojak…..Yes..since this format…with possible new software…words and expressions are being moderated.
    I guess one needs to talk like politicians..and not like a man from the streets…to be approved.
    But some MCA interlects have the wealth of words to choose and express themselves…under the disguise to agree…to disagree…leading readers to vote BN in again.
    I am commenting with my thoughts and views to change government..and use kopitiam style to gun down hypocrites.
    We have to stand firm…to ask everyone to declare ..for or against….then debate.
    Imagine the reply…his/her vote is secret.
    Now go and imagine Anwar or LKS debating with one…talking kok like that.
    Debates are what we want..not entertaining sly foxes from MCA….with their smart cunning ways………..to agree to disagree…favoring BN.

24. #24 by monsterball on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:45 am

I think UMNO will field Isa.
    You see.UMNO needs him to produce the same good results for 13th GE.
    Caught guilty for buying votes….Isa is back…and why not….UMNO have no principles in life at all….except how to win elections…by hook or by crook.
    So this Isa crook have a good track record for UMNO…in N.Sembilan….and that is a sure win for UMNO…unless a miracle happens and miracle do happen…that all voters swing to support change of government.
    Lets hope voters think of Kugan and Teoh Beng Hock.
    Meanwhile….enjoy UMNO excellent snaky ways and side shows.

25. #25 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:54 am

RPK is blaming a DDoS (Distributed Denial of Service) attack for m2day’s woes. He has different servers – my moderated comment above is the US one, the Singapore one is also not very reliable.

There’s not a lot you can do about DDoS attacks – it’s like going to KFC for your dinner, only to find a 100 times more people than usual queueing. You have to leave with an empty stomach.

26. #26 by monsterball on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 7:18 am

Mahathir is not wrong. He is too smart for that.
    He and UMNO are famous to tell half truths.. in favor of UMNO and keep fooling Malaysians.
    UMNO is never sincere….never can be…too deep in corruptions and in race and religion politics.
    All the evils of dirty politics..you name them…UMNO practices them.

27. #27 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 7:30 am

Mahathir is quite right about Isa. A stain is a stain.
    Nazri is quite right about Mahathir…Tun is more and more of a ‘has been’.

Mahathir also thinks Nazri is somewhat of a disrespectful bludgeoning fool. Mahathir is quite right about Nazri too.

The moral of it all is that UMNO is just a circle game
    …round and round and round…the fools and jesters take their turns to clown and fiddle while malaysia burns.

Malaysians will be quite right to put the last nail on UMNO in this 8th by-election. Then UMNO, Mahathir and Najib will surely step down as their circle game ends.

28. #28 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 7:40 am

Sorry to digress.

What happened to Malaysia Today
    =====================
    By Malaysia Today’s technical team

With so much confusion and speculation making its rounds about what is happening to Malaysia Today over more than a week, we are compelled to offer our explanation so that the record can be set straight. Only limited technical details will be mentioned to allow you to appreciate the scale of challenge the site is facing.

You may now be aware that the site has been up and down since Friday, 17 September 2009. This was due to malicious activities by those behind the effort to cripple Malaysia Today. This is just one of the many rounds of cyber-attacks that we at Malaysia Today have had to face for more than a year now.

Coincidentally, this latest round of attacks started immediately after RPK’s explosive expose two weeks ago on Tuesday regarding the Malaysian Cabinet’s knowledge and ‘approval’ of the PKFZ scandal long before it became public knowledge. Suspicious activities against the site happened as early as Wednesday, but the first damage was done in the afternoon of Thursday, which brought the site down.

The site was quickly recovered and by 6.00pm we were up and running again although with some loss of data. The attack revolved around the long-time problem faced by the site – a rather old version of Joomla content management system and the use of third-party components.

Lack of resources (financial, manpower, etc.) has always been a challenge faced by Malaysia Today, which affected the maintenance and operations of the site. During the recovery process, we locked down the site to reduce the danger of further compromises.

The next wave of attacks came the following day on Friday. This time it was in a wave of DDoS traffic crippling one of our nodes at Singapore. The Singapore node operates with about 30Mbps of bandwidth, a luxury by Malaysian standards but far short if we need to match any serious DDoS attacks. The node was basically choked with illegitimate traffic. Typical of DDoS network attacks, the origin of the attacks is difficult to pinpoint and sometimes pointless as the attack agents/zombies are likely compromised systems themselves.

We then activated our resources at our US node to recover the site. The process required optimisation of the site to cope with demand. (The demand on the site seemed much higher, possibly due to the interest on the PKFZ expose.) Hence the intermittent site outage, due to either overloading or optimisation process.

Being a service provider of a larger scale and sophistication, the US node has a higher capability of sustaining the attacks. Still, the attacks persisted on a daily basis and we tried deflecting them as far as we could. The DDoS traffic we suffered ranged from 227Mbps to 835Mbps, a mammoth scale for anyone familiar with maintaining Internet sites. The attacker does not appear interested in defacing the website, typical of self-styled college hackers. He/she just deleted articles published on Malaysia Today, literally one by one, with the single-minded aim of erasing all the explosive stuff on the site.

Further complicating the trace of attacks is the use of free proxy servers, on random basis, by the attackers. This is an irony, as we have been advising our users to use such proxy servers to overcome any potential content filtering by the government.

All the malicious activities and behaviours bear the hallmark of professional, for-hire hackers. These are certainly no amateurs, judging from the persistence and frequency of the attacks, with the main objective of making the content of Malaysia Today inaccessible to the public.

We believe that there is NO explicit blocking of the site by the various Malaysian ISPs. The inconsistent and intermittent accessibility of the site in the past many days are the result of the situation described above, although we must caution that it is almost impossible to detect any clandestine censorship.

The MCMC has in the past failed to silence Malaysia Today officially through blocking it in August 2008. Now, with even more revelations of various scandals of the government exposed through this site, we can’t help but suspect that there is a more significant force, a hidden hand at play aimed at bringing down Malaysia Today.

29. #29 by Loh on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 9:10 am

Isa Samad is said to be ‘not clean’ because the UMNO disciplinary committee said so. It is not MACC or the court which found him guilty. The person who heads UMNO youth was held as ‘unclean suspect’ by the same committee. There were complaints that that person should not have been allowed to contest. If Isa Samad is kicked out base on the Committee decision, the same would be said about the current youth chief, come next election. Isa Samad is in the line of fire because a precedent has to be set. Poor Isa Samad; he was only as dirty as the next UMNO leaders.

30. #30 by taiking on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 10:02 am

OrangRojak,

The site is up this very moment: 29/09/09 @ 9:45am. Interesting. Response from the MT server somewhat slow but to-le-ra-ble.

With regards to what the site administrator of MT had revealed, I wonder if path identifcation packet marking is already in use (i.e. adopted as part of the IP). Maybe not. Otherwise MT would not be facing the problem now. I ask this question only because the idea is not new. It was first proposed a couple of years ago for the specific purpose of countering site flooding by DDos attack. Has that idea any wings?

Isnt blocking also a possibility (in addition to DDos), especially if it was of the concerted type where the blocker unblocks the site once in a while (albeit randomly) to allow intermittent access with the aim of camouflaging the actual blocking effort? After all the umno gobermen have not forgotten (I hope) that their earlier blocking efforts (under directions to the Commission) had attracted widespread negetive reactions.

Onto another matter. Umno now bans all mention of cow head during the coming by-election. Wow.

31. #31 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:05 pm

Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s logo is a cow-head. The party is more commonly referred to as ‘gu tao’ or kepala lembu in Bahasa. I am just wondering if that party decides to contest the BP by-election, will they be allowed to put up their posters since UMNO Baru/BN has banned the everyone from mentioning ‘cow-head’?

32. #32 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 12:20 pm

path identifcation packet marking
    Never heard of it! That might be good for revenge attacks. MT might struggle with that sort of technique because of their visitors’ use of anonymising and countermeasure-circumventing proxies. I think in the article it also refers to attackers using those same proxies (they also want to be anonymous!) to deny the other proxy users their content.

It’s not an easy problem. If you, as a KFC manager, wanted to ensure the few hungry people in the crowd got fed, as opposed to your staff being asked nonsense questions by the thousands of people from the Anti Fried Chicken League who would never actually buy anything, how would you identify the chicken-eaters?

33. #33 by Loh on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 6:36 pm

Good news for mamak Mahathir Isa samad has been named the candidate for the Bagan Pinang buy-election. That could be Najib’s indirect answer to Muhkriz’s suggestion that his father be made an advisor to the government. Petronas has more resources than the central government, and it would be more resoure satisfying as advisor to Petronas than to anybody else. Petronas has no problem buying new jet anytime it wishes.

34. #34 by Onlooker Politics on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 10:11 pm

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin confirmed that Tan Sri Isa Samad would be nominated as Umno’s candidate for Bagan Pinang State Assembly by-election.

During Isa Samad’s 22 years’ rule as the MB of Negeri Sembilan, he had given many agricultural lands through state land grant with nominal premium charge to the Pro-Isa Umno Branch Chairmen. For instance, the Umno Kundur Branch Chairman cum Penghulu of Kundur, Dato Mokhtar, had been given 100 acres oil palm lands located behind Kundur’s abandoned Osama Islamic College.

Perhaps it is time for PAS candidate to raise question on behalf of Bagan Pinang Umno members, specifically this question, “How much dividend have you Umno Members of Bagan Pinang received from Isa Samad’s property holding nominee, Dato Mokhtar, each and every year throughout the past 10 years?” “Why did Isa Samad only make Dato Mokhtar alone a multi-millionaire in Kampung Kundur and ignore the economic interest of many other Umno members in Bagan Pinang areas?”

35. #35 by Taxidriver on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 10:23 pm

Isa is BN candidate for Bagan Pinang!!

NAZRI – 1…… MAHATHIR – 0

36. #36 by katdog on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 10:50 pm

Mahathir says that it will be a disaster is PR takes over the government.

Of course he has to. He is from UMNO. Do we expect him to point out the positive possibilities of PR taking over?

From a different point of view, i say it would be a disaster for Malaysia if UMNO-BN retains the federal govt. in the next GE.

The reason simply is, if UMNO-BN still wins the next GE, they will take it as a confirmation that the rakyat is happy with the current way things are being run, that NEP is desired, communal policies are ok, bribery and manipulation of the courts,police,MACC,ISA OSA are just fine by the people as long as there is food on the table.

Corruption will continue to rise; NEP will drive most investments away. Unfair policies will lead to talent moving away; No meritocracy means universities will continue to flounder; and the worst, BN influence and control of police and MACC will become even more entrenched.

By that time we would become a net oil exporter; we would become a true police state; neghbouring countries like Thailand would be far ahead of us taking all the FDI; inflation would have skyrocketed without oil money for subsidies and the workforce would by then be sorely depleted by continued decades of migration.

Of course this disastrous prediction will be dependant on BN being unable to reform and adopt new progressive policies.

So which is more likely, PR imploding or BN remaining unrepentant? Both has equally disastrous outcomes for our nation.

37. #37 by katdog on Tuesday, 29 September 2009 - 10:55 pm

Mahathir points out the worst case scenario for the country if PR takes over.

He doesn’t mention anything about the worst case scenario for the country if UMNO-BN wins the next GE and decides that because of its win, real reforms are not necessary and it can go about with business as usual.

38. #38 by Taxidriver on Wednesday, 30 September 2009 - 11:28 am

“Mahathir points out the worst case scenario for the country if PR takes over”-katdog

He had sworn to leave the country if Anwar became the PM, remember? Imagine the father of Malaysian Corruption Culture having to go into self-exile if PR takes over, a worst case scenario for Malaysia?

39. #39 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 30 September 2009 - 11:26 pm

Before long, UMNO may just declare all existing food served in Chinese restaurants as HALAL! With UMNO, what is not POSSIBLE?????