A nation ripe with fear

By Augustine Anthony

Wing collar with bands, wearing a black jacket and holding my robe, my brisk stride to the usual work place came to a momentary halt by a gentle voice coming from the back me. “Bos boleh menang kah… ini BN Ooh

In a short given moment, that gentle voice had many misgivings about the state of affairs in our country, but then I had to go or else I will be late. Then with a tinge of despair the parting words came from that gentle voice. “Tapi apa boleh buat, kita mesti undi dia”.

From his attire and the way he spoke my reading is, he must be a civil servant.

Later that evening, I sat down and thought about the words of that gentle voice that were spiked with sadness. There were no hidden meanings to decipher. The emotions were simple and clear to understand. I know. And so let us talk about fear. And not just our fear but of those who are opposed to our thoughts and actions.

It has been depicted in the movie “Gandhi”, where a Hindu man in rage rushes to the fasting and near dying Gandhi and confesses that he had crushed and murdered a Muslim child during communal violence and fears that he will, in death end up in hell for his wrong doing, Gandhi assures him that he can overcome that fear. Gandhi tells the Hindu man to raise a child who is orphaned in the civil unrest with conditions. That, that child must first be a Muslim and he/she must be raised as a Muslim in the Hindu man’s home.

Barack Hussein Obama has made the message of overcoming fear and human prejudices simple and exceedingly pleasing to listen.

He is Hussein Obama to start with, but a practising Christian. To the Muslims he is a Christian who they need not fear and to the Christians he brings assurance that they need not fear the Muslims.

To the American whites he sees his fears as a white through his grandmother’s eyes and as an American black and coloured he shares the fears of blacks and coloured through the pain and hardship of people like his father.

By birth and disposition Obama is an embodiment of assurance rather than a byword for fear.

But in our country even after 52 years of independence, UMNO continues to put fear in non Malays by words such as “Ketuanan Melayu” and all the side shows of Ketuanan Melayu that we have often witnessed. UMNO at the same time puts fear in Malays of the potential loss of Ketuanan Melayu if the Opposition comes to power.

MCA puts fear in Chinese and non Malays that PAS is going to turn this country into an Islamic state (frankly I have no fear of this but it is a topic that we can discuss on some other day)

I will stop by saying that politics in MIC is frightening. The events of late leading to the party election is proof of its state of affairs.

Collectively Barisan Nasional puts fear amongst ordinary people, civil servants, fishermen, farmers occupying TOL lands and etc. etc. of what potentially awaits them if they do not vote for Barisan Nasional candidates. And many out of fear vote for Barisan Nasional even though the chosen candidate may not be the real choice of the people.

The Prime Minister’s 1Malaysia: People First, Performance Now! is a very attractive catchphrase but the recent events indicate that it may be heading the same direction as other slogans like Bersih Cekap Amanah, Vision 2020, Zero Inflation and Cemerlang Gemilang Terbilang. The prime minister’s down liners are such a let down.

The above actions of politicians are only causing fear and mistrust in ordinary people. In fact it is akin to poisoning an otherwise ordinary, peaceful and healthy society.

Do we have any assuring words from our politicians?

Anwar Ibrahim’s message to the nation is very assuring. Having listened to such assuring words from Anwar, peoples’ mistrusts are likely to disappear. But then there are many who may say that Anwar cannot be trusted because of his past association with UMNO, but at least he is prepared to change his old rhetoric with a new way forward. That is a first step and a good sign. Check Anwar’s recent speech in Ipoh available in You Tube.

Lim Kit Siang’s frank disclosure is also assuring. By making honest admission of the negative (though manageable) state of affairs in Pakatan Rakyat coalition, (like the recent interview with Sin Chew), voters who are not partisan feel that as a leader he is sensitive to their feelings. His further statements that collectively there are efforts to resolve these minor differences are very assuring to the people. In this way he signals the people that he is listening to their grouses even if it is only a whisper. These are steps in the right direction.

Click here to read My Sinchew interview with Lim Kit Siang:

Exclusive Interview With Lim Kit Siang: “Pakatan has not yet achieved maturity.”

Exclusive Interview With Lim Kit Siang: “Islamic state is the greatest challenge.”

As a leader of an Islamic party, Ir. Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is also very assuring in his ways when dealing with people. The Kuala Sepetang Chinese voters are living testimony to this. Click here to know what makes him special.

Those who put fear in people may attain success for a certain period of time but not always, for people who live in fear may one day stand up and say enough is enough and let us rid of it, once and for all!

History is the best lesson for those who are unwilling to learn and reform.

I think the writings are not only on the wall but all over the place.

1. #1 by ekompute on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 7:47 pm

BN…. Be End, let it be the end.

2. #2 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 8:21 pm

It is more than fear.
    It is years of thinking illogically..being brainwashed they are working for UMNO and not a political party politicians being elected.
    They should respect those elected and not fear them…but UMNO does create fear.
    “Tapi boleh buat, kita mesti undi dia”….meaning.. “no choice must vote for them”…signifying being forced to do so.
    Let young voters read and make up their minds.
    UMNO is proven being any doubt….insincere and power crazy..undemocratic .practicing double standards…and worst of all….buying up.. few police..and judges…applying ISA…to enslave …Malaysians…so successfully…that they can do anything they like.
    Naturally..to show the world and show their smartness…keep acting…keep promoting….how great UMNO is.
    Being exposed through Internet…with totally different news published in papers and thousands of bloggers comments…the people in the streets…blogging and commenting with love for country and people..readers feel them…much more sincere than UMNO speeches and actions.
    Right now..”Apa boleh buat”…is out-dated and spoken only by selfish Malaysians..thinking of themselves…their benefits…this and that…ignoring country and Malaysians.
    Those are mostly government servants..yet more and more are defying UMNO…knowing their votes are more powerful than any political party..getting smarter and smarter to think…with no fear.
    True honest Malaysians fear nothing.

3. #3 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 8:29 pm

I think the biggest fear which Barisan Nasional Government has incalcucated into my human brain and nervous systems since my secondary school days till this day is the fear of 3rd degree torture, violence and brutality being employed unto an innocent citizen by the Law Enforcement Unit such as the MACC or the Police.

I am very fearful that if I do not see Barisan Nasional Federal Government be overthrown and be replaced by another alternative Federal Government formed by a human-centred political coalition such as Pakatan Rakyat, it is highly possible that any one among my siblings and I myself may have to die such a sudden and untimely death in the Government Law Enforcement Unit as Teoh Beng Hock someday in the future!

4. #4 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 8:46 pm

Your fear is imaginary….unrealistic and uncalled for.
    But you maybe right…if you have taken something from UMNO and now turn your back to them.
    Thousands… government servants got nothing ..but a job..so they do not fear…voting UMNO at all.
    And they is no if…but..or why.
    There is clear signs…vast majority Malaysians hate UMNO.

5. #5 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 8:48 pm

But should your cunning way of talking …somehow come true…that UMNO wins the 13th GE…back to work.and try again.
    What to fear..voting against UMNO?

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 9:16 pm

monsterballssgoh,
    Do you know that you are showing a sign of senility now?

YB Lim Kit Siang and Mr Karpal Sign never ever took any benefits from Umno. However, why do you think that they had to be detainED under the ISA in the past?

7. #7 by taiking on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 10:06 pm

I am scared of the police and I am transfering my fear to my kids. I used to tell them to be afraid of police and not to trust them even if they are in uniform. Recently (after beng hock’s murder), I have decided to up my warning a notch. I told them that police in this country are bad guys in disguise and they must not be trusted or believed under any circumstances. Umno must be quietly happy with such behaviour for that was exactly what they needed to remain in power.

When a ruling party ignores its unpopularity and resorts to instilling fear in order to preserve its power and position then I say that party is really hitting the end of its useful life.

8. #8 by HARAPAN MALAYSIA on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 10:25 pm

” Living In Fear Is Always An Illussion In Life….!

” Only Wisdom In Life Conquers All Mysteries..!

” 52 Years In Nation-Building May Completely

Sufficient Time, Though Will Never Enough,

In Achieving Perfect-Wisdom In Nation-Building”

9. #9 by monsterballssgoh on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 10:52 pm

When one cannot defend himself…it is the usual same stupid remark…I am a senile.
    Mahathir 14 years older than me…what is he Onlooker Politics? Say it.
    What a lousy small fut hypocrite you are.
    How old are you…Onlooker Politics?
    Are you also a quack doctor?
    hi..idiot….you better hope to live to the ripe age of 70 and still have a very sharp pair of eyes to spot cunning commentator like you…to scare voters off..voting for change in government.
    You better try to mix with all Malaysians…especially those in the kopitiams.
    They are much smarter than you with less education.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 11:13 pm

“Wing collar with bands, black jacket robe”, writer is a lawyer so he’s perhaps unable to appreciate from politician’s perspective that in politics, the emotions that really sway voters are hate, fear or anxiety – and hopes!

On how fear is used, the writer (Augustine Anthony) is correct to say “UMNO continues to put fear in Malays of the potential loss of Ketuanan Melayu” to get their votes in non Malays. Forgive the nit-picking but regrading non Malays he is not really correct to say that “UMNO continues to put fear in Non Malays by words such as “Ketuanan Melayu” as this only alienate non Malay voters rather than get the ir votes by deployment of fear. It is more accurate to say that May 13 bogey is used to intill fear in Non malays not to challenge “Ketuanan Melayu” or NEP, the upholding of which allays Malays fear necessary to preserve their voting support. The writer is however correct to say “MCA puts fear in Chinese and non Malays that PAS is going to turn this country into an Islamic state”.

Politicians of both sides of divide use fear. Its not just BN politicians’ preserve.

Although PR’s Anwar, for example, also uses “hopes” (eg new politics transcending race), PR’s politicians also play effectively on fear of UMNO/BN to get votes – to Malays, they would say its UMNOputras/cronies who monopolise NEP benefits; to whole country, fear of national coffers being bankrupted by corruption when oil resources are depleted, fear of destruction of civil, human, democratic rights (see what happens to ISA cases or Teoh Beng Hock or the naked usurpation of power in Perak that could spread to all other PR states etc). (Here I am just illustrating how fear is played on. I am not saying that the playing of such fears is baseless).

Lets me be clear here – there’s nothing wrong with fear, only irrational fear!

If it were not thanks to fear as basic emotion, would we have evolved from our forefathers –the Neaderthals – 150,000 years ago if these cavemen were not reacting quickly and intuitively out of fear to rustling of bushes or moving shadows that saved them from becoming some carnivore’s dinner???

Fear – like hope – then is the most powerful and natural primal emotion that politicians can exploit. It will override reasoning for majority of cases. This means politicians on both sides of political divide will not give up playing on voters’ fears (and hopes) in combination. It is as pointless for writer to lament politicians’ leveraging on fear in politics to garner voters’ support as it is to hope humans by repeated training could run as fast as a cheetar! This will never happen.

What we can hope for then is not how to change politicians or to try stop them from playing on fears (or hopes).

We have to take care of ourselves as voters.
    That is not to say we should not have our fears. Or hopes. They are primal emotions helpful in our survival. Whilst we cannot change our nature, we can activate more of our reasoning circuitry so that what our fears and hopes are subject to reasoning/rationality without which, whether fear or hopes, they are equal imposters that will not get us or the nation/society anywhere better by our exercise of democratic rights to vote. (I am speaking strictly from our perpectives as voters of course – not as politicians from whichever side of the divide!)

Dr Farish noor was spot on then when he asked in earlier thread “how and why is it that in the year 2009….is the state of politics and society in both Malaysia and Indonesia still rooted in primordial essentialisms and sentiments that are based on intuition and emotionalism, rather than reason?”

11. #11 by limkamput on Saturday, 12 September 2009 - 11:21 pm

History is the best lesson? I am not too sure about that. History will repeat itself, that is what I think. Why you think BN has not transformed into a single multi-racial and multi-religious party? Why do you think PR has not merged into one single multi-racial multi-religious party? Why you think PAS has continued to harp on non-substantial issues like what to wear and what to drink rather than on inclusiveness and the essence of good governance. Malaysia was born handicapped from day one. You can trace back – the in and out of Singapore, Stephen Kalong Ningkan, Donald Stephen, Lim Chong Eu and others. It is the same old Malay Islamic centric formula that was used over and over again. Please tell me when and how this will end? You tell us nothing about this and yet dare to say so convincingly you have no fear of Islamic State? How much history do you know for you to say that history is a good lesson?

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 12:59 am

///MCA puts fear in Chinese and non Malays that PAS is going to turn this country into an Islamic state (frankly I have no fear of this but it is a topic that we can discuss on some other day)/// – Augustine Anthony.

In other words fear of PAS turning this country into an Islamic state is, as implied by writer, an irrational or baseless fear.

Is it irrational or baseless fear when even Kit admits that PAS’s Islamic State is PR’s greatest challenge (read an euphemism for an intractable thorn in PR equation)?

Is it irrational or baseless fear that, according to Malaysiakini report of 12th Sept, PAS Youth is still proposing guidelines on the sale of liquor in all of Pakatan Rakyat states, in which sale of liquor be banned in certain areas where Muslims make up a large majority?

The writer cites this interview with Kit:

“Question: If Pakatan takes over the central government, how are you going to ensure that Malaysia will not become an Islamic state? Would you amend the Constitutions?

Answer: We are formed by three political parties. We cannot amend the Constitution as long as one of the member parties does not agree with it.

I believe that no single party will be able to obtain the absolute majority in the next general elections to amend the Constitution. It requires the three parties’ consent and cooperation.

Besides, it requires a two-thirds majority in the Parliament, too. Therefore, it is impossible for a single party to make it.”

It may be asked, what happens if Anwar’s PKR swings with PAS, and even UMNO joins in on this issue? Together, don’t they have not the two thirds majority in Parliament?

In campaign trail in Bagan Pinang byelection, when addressing a majority Malay-Muslim audience at the Surau Nurulhuda, didn’t Anwar say this – that “I will separate from the DAP…should the secular party dispute the position of Bahasa Melayu, the powers of the Malay rulers, the rights of Malays and their religion”???? (reported by Debra Chong on 6th Sept in TheMalaysiaInsider)

Is this reconcilable with the new politics that he talks about that supposedly transcends race and religion?

If they are not reconcilable, which position does he/PR really and seriously support – what’s stated in at the Surau Nurulhuda or whats stated about “New Politics” or neither?

We’re trying to determine here whether the fear of the PAS’s Islamic state is a rational or irrational fear – and whether the hope of New Politics is a rational hope or irrational exuberance.

13. #13 by ekompute on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 1:01 am

Onlooker Politics :
    I am very fearful that if I do not see Barisan Nasional Federal Government be overthrown and be replaced by another alternative Federal Government formed by a human-centred political coalition such as Pakatan Rakyat, it is highly possible that any one among my siblings and I myself may have to die such a sudden and untimely death in the Government Law Enforcement Unit as Teoh Beng Hock someday in the future!

Do you know why May 13 occurred? Read May 13: Declassifed Documents on the Malaysian Riots of 1969 by Kua Kia Soong. Only RM20, cheap, cheap.

Seems like Malaysia is run by mafias masquerading as political parties.

14. #14 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 1:10 am

It may be asked
    But it won’t be answered! I keep thinking this would be exactly UMNO’s ace-in-the-hole for upsetting a PR apple cart. Is that too many analogies now?

Talking of fear, I was going to ask if anyone was considering the fear of going back 30 years to a country on the brink of being controlled by Chinese Chauvinists, but I read:

http://malaysianmirror.com/homedetail/45-home/11734-opening-doors-to-the-malays

That’s simply great news. Even if I think it’s not saying much, I still think DAP is the most credible and best hope in PR. The reputation for Chinese Chauvinism is a terrible chink(!) in the armour. I really think DAP would be on the home straight if it could demonstrate its acceptance by those who would normally reject it as ‘wrong race’.

Well done.

15. #15 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 1:29 am

Now is fear in words..to say..do not rock the boat…keep voting BN in.
    Agree to disagree..not working.
    Make readers read and feel fearful…is the art now.
    I like the style of ekompute exposing mafia’s little stooges in this blog.

16. #16 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 2:58 am

When in the past many BN-governed states still possessed a lot of aerable agricultural lands for allocation to the voters, many pontential beneficiaries of the granted land (tanah kurnia) from the state governments found it necessary to cast vote for BN in order to ensure that the state lands be granted by the respective state government to them for a small amount of land premium. The voters had fear of losing the opportunity to get state land grant because lands are lucrative gift from the BN state government therefore they would cast vote in favour of the BN candidates!

Now the aerable state lands have been depleted. The BN leaders found it necessary to handle Malays and Non-Malays separately. For the Malay voters, Umnoputras will spread the fear of losing the Malay Special Privileges therefore the Malay voters are told to cast vote in favour of Umno election candidates in order to enable the continuation of the Malay Rule based on the racist concept of Malay Supremacy (Ketuanan Melayu).

For the non-Malay voters, BN’s non-Malay component parties will spread fear of people being forced to live under the rule of Islamic Law which will adopt cruel punishment such as stoning a convicted criminal of sexual immorality to death if PAS is to take over the Federal Government from BN. The magic word “PAS’s Islamic State” is the most powerful secret weapon which is often used by the BN non-Malay component parties such as MCA, Gerakan and MIC to shoo off non-Malay voters from casting vote in favour of PAS.

No matter how hard YB Kit is going to try to garness the goal congruence within the Pakatan Rakyat team leadership at the top level, so long as there is no firm promise from PAS central commitee for putting the agenda of Islamic State on shelf on a permanent basis then we will continue to find that BN’s tactics of spreading fear of Islamic State will always play an miraculous magic which will effectively serve to scare off the non-Muslim voters from deciding to cast a vote in favour of Pakatan Rakyat.

I am afraid that the dream of Pakatan Rakyat’s taking over the rule of Malaysian Federal Government from the hands of Barisan Nasional will continue to remain a dream which is not going to come true for an extensive period of time right even after the 13th General Election. This is because there is no clue insofar, even after the meeting at the top leadership level of Pakatan Rakyat, for the Malaysian people to see that PAS and DAP will not endeavour into different dreams even though both PAS and DAP are to sleep on the same bed after a marriage of convenience based on expediency (to borrow BN leaders’ word)!

YB Kit, you may have to get prepared psychologically that DAP can at best only manage to rule Penang at the state level. Unless DAP is able to attract much more supporters from the Malay Malaysians, DAP is not going to successfully make an inroad into the Federal Government of Malaysia in the near future!

17. #17 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 3:22 am

“Mahathir 14 years older than me…what is he Onlooker Politics? Say it.” (monsterballssgoh)

monsterballssgoh,
    TDM is equally a senile man at present. His blogsite has been unknowingly embedded with virus on 12 September 2009 so that for those computer users who have already installed a virus detector firewall onto their operating system, they would never be allowed access by the firewall system of their respective computer. For those who never protect their computer oparating system with infectation by a virus, then I can only say “God bless you” to them if they are to allow access to TDM blogsite by their internet service provider!

A senile old man will not even know how to effectively put a defense on his personal integrity or computer integrity when he is being attacked by some experts!

18. #18 by Joshua on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 4:57 am

Why do we have FEAR in this land?

Fear is foreign elite acting rotten.

I have a little dog sudden taken ill likely with virus.

The little dog amongst 5 puppies had only one vaccination instead of 3 within 12 weeks.

So the vet doctor on examining the little major told me that if it is foreign breed German shepard or dobberman, the little one would be dead.

A local breed can survive the virus attack is treated quickly.

So what does this tell me? The leaders must be local born. Instead we have too many foreign born leaders and so FEAR into rottenness.

You know foreign ones acting birds of the same feathers in favour of illegals send sabah into the hands of the illegals.

I can remember, I had adopted a local bitch from the jungle – not know the birth date – and had only one vaccine and yet she had survived to give births to 7 and 5 survived.

So all leaders must be local and born here as according to the Fed and State constitution if we want our nation to be number 1 – not 1Malaysia, where local is last and illegal is first.

So that special heed : FEAR is SHIT – selfish hideous illegal trap.

Stay out of that NOW.

pw: therapy table

19. #19 by Joshua on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 5:17 am

Another issue of alien specie.

Not finding fault with anything as the issue of endemic is important in the ecology perspective.

According to Japan, the ecological scientists would reject anything alien that can destroy the local scenario.

Maybe Oil palm can make some quick money for Sabah as it is a tropical land but oil palm is still a foreign or alien specie here. So the long term is bleak ecological as biodiversity of the natural rain forest is destroyed forever by the massive cultivation of oil palm. I have written three books on oil palm.

Now we are told that many rivers in the oil palm plantations are polluted by oil mills or dried up (oil palms are excessive water suckers? Without living rivers, where would the local people get their cheap source of foods like fish and clean water when treated water in pipes do not reach them? When most parts of Sabah are dried up, would Sabah be a desert soon when Sabah already have more than 3 degree C increase in the daily temperature in the last 3 decades?

Johore had the worst prolonged floods 2006/2007 also due to excessive oil palm and weather change plus the shooting of tens of thousands of dogs.

FEAR is ‘Foreign Elite Acting Rotten” in governments and the plantations with SHIT – selfish hideous illegal trap.

pw: enclave that

20. #20 by khairi ali on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 9:06 am

So much fear, hatred and slanders. I just dont get it.

Y must we continuously be so? Y cant we move for peace and mindful words?

21. #21 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 9:10 am

There is not even a need for PKR or UMNO to join forces with PAS to form the Islamic state, contrary to what the wannabe said above. Once PR gained power, the power will gravitate toward whichever party that holds the prime-ministership and other important cabinet positions. Yes, the present DAP leaders may know how to exert their influence and stand firm on party principles and ideals. But once the party is in the government coalition, the possibility of it becoming like a BN party in the UMNO dominated coalition is very real. Please never underestimate the enticement and intoxication of government positions and perks. Didn’t Alliance start off at least with more equality than the present BN now? The essence is Malay Islamic centralism that the Malay leaders (whether form BN or PR) will never give up. They thought and are still thinking they have more rights to govern this country than others regardless of meritocracy, competency and capability. It started as Malay insecurity and jingoism, but now it is a national ethos. Can someone tell me how to get around this? That is what I want to hear, not repeating the same old problems over and over.

22. #22 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:06 am

Onlooker Politics is a double headed snake.
    Samy is also insulting Mahathir for the first time.
    Onlooker Politics doing same thing…dares to insult Mahathir…once his hero…retired. The snakes are performing.
    I have disagreed with Mahathir from day one..constantly..not like those double headed snakes.
    I guess LKS is senile too..correct…..Onlooker Politics?

23. #23 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 12:26 pm

//There is not even a need for PKR or UMNO to join forces with PAS to form the Islamic state, contrary to what the wannabe said above. ……………Can someone tell me how to get around this? That is what I want to hear, not repeating the same old problems over and over.// – limkamput.

Now what is the root nature of this same old problem?

Before even hoping to embark on this ambitious project of understanding at macro level the complex social psychological processes affecting a wider group, one should perhaps, first things first, take on the less ambitious task of seeking to understand, at micro level of an individual, what causes a certain psychological condition that is characterised by an exaggerated sense of self-importance, a need for dominance, attention and admiration from but (at the same time) lack of empathy for and a need to put down others, probably stemming from unconscious deficits in self-esteem.

If one looks in the mirror, repeatedly asks why, and honestly answers it in spirit of to thine own self be true, then chances are that the cue to this conundrum may be found that can act as starting point to explore for desired solutions at societal level.

24. #24 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 12:49 pm

Can someone tell me how to get around this?
    No. That’s the point. Not only is there a terrible problem, but if you mention any of the possible solutions that work perfectly well in many other happy, healthy, wealthy countries, you may be beaten with steel rods, shot, firebombed, treated to life-long free flying lessons or blown up. If you’re lucky, you might get off lightly with an outrageously fortunate twit poster-boy for totalitarianism teasing his baying rabble with the prospect of decapitating you.

We can talk about the weather if you like. Is there anything good on TV?

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 1:15 pm

Weather, lets see, temperature about 29 °C, skies with cloud cover and sunshine about 40%. Though presently calm, cumulus and cumulonimbus clouds rising vertically in far South, a storm may be brewing this afternoon. Lets see when it breaks.

26. #26 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 2:31 pm

And if that’s not bad enough, the weather’s always the flippin’ same.

It’s not every day you read ‘cumulonimbus’. Well, unless you’re a meteorologist, perhaps. I remember a Scout Jamboree once a very long time ago where I was tasked with testing Scouts for their Meteorology badge. It was mid-summer and we were outside, so at one point in the test I would point at 2 or 3 clouds in the sky and ask for a description.

It was all fairly monotonous, until the answers seemed to go awry.
    “Psycho rhombus” said one.
    “Terror flatus” said another.
    At “Cunnilingus”, I looked over to where the Scouts were lining up waiting to take the test, to see two elderly Scout leaders who had been ‘advising’ the boys holding their sides with the pain of mirth.

I’m sorry, I haven’t got anything actually relevant to contribute.

27. #27 by katdog on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 2:41 pm

BN practices the politics of fear. Constantly reminding people of the consequences of not voting for them.

PR practices the politics of hope. They play on our hopes for a better future for Malaysia. Free of fear and prejudices and corruption.

Fine, BN and PR are all politicians and they may be lying through their teeth just to get our votes etc etc. But at the end of the day, which one would you pick? Someone who offers fear or someone who offers hope?

Who Malaysians pick reflects greatly on the mentality of the typical Malaysian voter.

28. #28 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 4:27 pm

Jeffrey, please don’t think too highly of yourself. When I said “can someone tell me how to get around this….that is what I want to hear, not repeating the same old problems over and over”, I was not referring to you. I was referring to the author of this piece, Augustine Anthony, for pouring out all his observations as if none of us know about them. For goodness sake, we need to discuss more on “how” to get around the problems rather than the problems.

I may be self centred, frank and direct (for this is what cyberspace is all about), but I have never indulged in pretension and showiness. But i think everybody knows what are you trying to prove by using words and writing stuff perhaps only you understand.

29. #29 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 4:50 pm

//Talking of fear, I was going to ask if anyone was considering the fear of going back 30 years to a country on the brink of being controlled by Chinese Chauvinists, but I read:

http://malaysianmirror.com/homedetail/45-home/11734-opening-doors-to-the-malays

That’s simply great news. Even if I think it’s not saying much, I still think DAP is the most credible and best hope in PR. The reputation for Chinese Chauvinism is a terrible chink(!) in the armour. I really think DAP would be on the home straight if it could demonstrate its acceptance by those who would normally reject it as ‘wrong race’.

Well done.// orang rojak

Now, if you read a little more of this subject, you will notice that this was what PAP (People Action Party of Singapore when Singapore was part of Malaysia) wanted to do. When UMNO and Alliance started to contest for election in Singapore, the PAP reciprocated, i.e. decided to take the issue “Malaysian Malaysia” to the Malay heartland. Of course Singapore got kick out and the rest was history.

The article you quoted (malaysianmirror.com) reminded me of that, only this time there are no contagious parts to amputate and that is why the problem will only become bigger and more protracted.

30. #30 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 5:30 pm

Talking of what cannot be said – I notice Tunku Aziz’ article in The Malaysian Insider today:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com.my/index.php/opinion/breaking-views/37558-vision-for-a-malaysian-malaysia–tunku-aziz

For a man that was prepared to lash out at “fairweather Malaysians” this looks incredibly timid. Have I completely misunderstood, and there really is a good reason to put Malaysian children through a single national school where they can all pretend to be the same, only to be treated differently when they leave it?

He mostly writes reasonable articles, so I’m confused by this one. Where have I gone wrong?

31. #31 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 7:27 pm

“Onlooker Politics is a double headed snake.
    Samy is also insulting Mahathir for the first time.
    Onlooker Politics doing same thing…dares to insult Mahathir…once his hero…retired. The snakes are performing.” (monsterballssgoh)

monsterballssgoh,
    Perhaps the best response I should take here is to completely ignore your provocative comment. However, I find that it is against the way of my personal upbringing since my childhood era if I choose to ignore an anxious senior citizen who is raising several questions to prompt my answer and is keen to listen to my reply. Therefore, I choose the second best choice of response here.

If you are interested to know more about my personal opinion about TDM, then please feel free to visit my blogpage:

http://onlooker-mc.blogspot.com/

Anyway, I have to say sorry to you since I decline to disclose my age here. This is because if I tell you my age here, the Special Branch will quickly go search their list of ex-ISA detainees with my age as the searching criterion and my name will be easily located by the computer search within a few seconds. I still prefer to keep some privacy of mine from being encroached by possible Special Branch surveillance at my personal living compound.

For your info, TDM’s blogsite already got its embedded virus removed by 13 Sep 2009. TDM’s system administrator is quite effective since he/she works even on Sunday! Do you see the point now? No matter how much you dislike TDM, there will still be someone who is willing to work for him, even on Sunday (a rest day)!

A snake is not the best description of my personal character. I always give due credit to whoever who says the right thing and does the right thing! However, I will also attempt to rebute someone, including my foe or my friend, if I find that he/she speaks illogically or makes a false accusation on someone else!

32. #32 by Jaswant on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:00 pm

“I may be self centred, frank and direct (for this is what cyberspace is all about), but I have never indulged in pretension and showiness. But i think everybody knows …” Kamput

Everybody knows you have committed ‘murtad’ for refusing to affirm Islam as your religion. Have you seen the mufti yet??

33. #33 by Loh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:01 pm

OrangRojak :Talking of what cannot be said – I notice Tunku Aziz’ article in The Malaysian Insider today:
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com.my/index.php/opinion/breaking-views/37558-vision-for-a-malaysian-malaysia–tunku-aziz
    For a man that was prepared to lash out at “fairweather Malaysians” this looks incredibly timid. Have I completely misunderstood, and there really is a good reason to put Malaysian children through a single national school where they can all pretend to be the same, only to be treated differently when they leave it?
    He mostly writes reasonable articles, so I’m confused by this one. Where have I gone wrong?

///Of these, I consider education to be the most important agent of change. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that because our education policy allows for separate existence of ethnic schools, a sort of educational apartheid, whole generations of Malaysians of different racial backgrounds have grown up without the benefit of studying, playing together and enjoying the rich cultural diversity to be found in this country of ours.

The result is apathy, indifference, ignorance and prejudice. All this is a far cry from my own school days when we were in it together, and by the time we left school, we would have made friends with boys and girls of all races, many of whom are still my friends today.///–Tunku Abdul Aziz

Yes, and separate existence of ethnic schools existed even then, and the people mixed either at the secondary school or university levels. Three years in the same institution is enough to allow friendship to blossom.

Students from separate ethnic schools do study in the same university institutions, now. But because of the divide and rule government policy making students of different ethnic groups keenly aware of different, unequal treatments they received, and they were sensitive enough not to discuss such issues, the best solution the students have found was to keep to the groups receiving similar treatments. That prevented complication of having to discuss topics bordering on sedition. There is no wonder that students in universities are polarised, and campus has ceased to be a place for forging friendships among students of different ethnic groups. If the purpose of only one education system was to make the students of different races friendly to one another in the bliss of ignorance, and ended up discussing only about weather when they realise the truth, can we expect those friendship to blossom to unity for creating diversity, in equality?

Malaysians go abroad for tertiary education. They do not have the benefit of growing up studying, playing together and enjoying the rich cultural diversity at the pre-university or primary level with their university mates. Yet, the few years together in the university allow them to make friends there like the students of the pre-NEP days in Malaysia.

The trouble we face here about polarisation, and in Tunku Abdul Aziz words “The harmony that we proudly claim to exist in our country is not deep rooted. Scratch the surface, and what do we really see? Uneasy coexistence, compounded by the most irrational suspicion and prejudice.” is caused not by the educations system, but by the divide and rule, and dual religious practices allowed in this country. Remove NEP and Article 153, a great nation will emerge.

34. #34 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:36 pm

OrangRojak keep contradicting himself.
    He insulted me….call me senile….dare not answer my questions and want me to visit his blog?
    Will not reveal his age…talking mother stuffs…in London…this young fut is another school boy… using text book knowledge to battle.
    I am not finished with you yet.
    Go ahead……keep playing how to agree to disagree…and dare not stand up like am man.,,to be counted…for or against change of government.
    Mammy boy….go play with your marbles.

35. #35 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:40 pm

Jaswant :“I may be self centred, frank and direct (for this is what cyberspace is all about), but I have never indulged in pretension and showiness. But i think everybody knows …” Kamput
    Everybody knows you have committed ‘murtad’ for refusing to affirm Islam as your religion. Have you seen the mufti yet??

did u go to church this morning? did you press your pants before going? did you confess your sins?

36. #36 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 8:56 pm

Has anyone read this somber piece from RPK’s blog: http://mt.m2day.org/2008/

“If lawyers can’t get justice from the court, what makes you think you can? ”

I need 2 panadol and a sleeping tablet now!

37. #37 by Jaswant on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 9:24 pm

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2009/09/06/dream-of-a-sincere-merdeka/#comments

Kamput,

Gotcha!!

Schizophrenia is about delusions and hallucinations and about having (to quote Azly Rahman) “illusions of grandeur” and about hearing voices in your head. You got all of those – and more. You’re unable to accept who you are. We’re saddened by it all. Is there any way we can help you?

When Azly Rahman wrote” But it is middle age characterised by bipolarism, schizophrenia and illusions of grandeur” he wasn’t referring to the state the country is in. He was referring to you.

When called upon to do so, and you failed to affirm that you’re a Muslim, that’s as good as ‘murtad’. You have committed murtad in the holy month of Ramadhan! You should see the mufti and explain to him what happened here, my friend! Do it before it is too late.

38. #38 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 10:23 pm

“OrangRojak keep contradicting himself.
    He insulted me….call me senile….dare not answer my questions and want me to visit his blog?” (monsterballssgoh)

Dear Mr Monsterball Goh,
    I think you must be tired by now after having spending such many long hours waiting for my reply. To be frank, Onlooker Politics is not OrangRojak and OrangRojak is not Onlooker Politics. Your confusion between OrangRojak and Onlooker Politics may indicate that you have been spending too much tiresome hours and working too hard reading and contributing to YB Kit’s blog. You must be very very tired now. I think at the age of 70, you need to calm down your
    temperament and take rest more often. I believe many blog readers here will be going to miss you if you are to fall sick and not contributing again to this blog. Even though there are some readers who do not agree with your writing style, I can still take it because I really believe that you are just like my late father who had the legitimate claim on the truth that he had eaten more salt than I had eaten rice when he was still alive!

To answer your question, I am in favour of the prepositions for the Change of the Federal Government of Malaysia in the soonest possible time frame from the hands of Barisan Nasional to the hands of an alternative political coalition, which may include DAP, PKR and some other parties from Sabah and Sarawak but which may not include PAS. The reason is simple: PAS’s Islamic religious agenda is in my personal opinion more of a liability than of an asset to the alternative political coalition which aspires to challenge Barisan Nasional in the political power grab following a due process of parliamentary democracy by way of election! Moreover, there is a extremist faction within PAS itself which always plans to have a joint-effort with Umno in order to confront the non-Malay Malaysians for serving the purpose of upholding the narrow-minded racist concept of Malay Supremacy (Ketuanan Melayu). If Husam Musa is not able to overcome such a racist voice in PAS, it had much better for him and Nik Aziz to quit PAS and form another non-racist political party in order to lay path for access to Putrajaya together with DAP, PKR and other friendly parties from East Malaysia!

I personally am a proponent of the concept of “Separation of Mosque and State”!

39. #39 by katdog on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 10:49 pm

I don’t see any problems with PAS being part of an alternative government. We talk about a Malaysian Malaysia. Well, FYI, conservative/religious muslims are also part of Malaysia. Or do we seek to exclude their views because we find them to be ‘unacceptable’ views?

We talk about nation building and creating a true Malaysian nation. Does this vision of a nation require the exclusion of religious muslims? Only liberal muslims need apply for the new nation. The rest can leave?

I think having PAS can be a good thing for PR, especially with level headed leaders like Nik Aziz and Khalid Samad that actually promotes true Islamic teachings. Islam that actually guarantees freedom of religion and opposes racism.

40. #40 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 10:59 pm

///….Please don’t think too highly of yourself… …When I said “can someone tell me how to get around this…. I was not referring to you.. I was referring to the author of this piece, Augustine Anthony, for pouring out all his observations as if none of us know about them../// – limkamput

I have never said or thought for a fraction of a second that you were referring to me in particular. Why do you assume I did?

Neither could it be said that you were referring to Augustine Anthony particularly.

When one says, “can someone tell me how to get around this….” the word “someone” suggests the question was thrown to the floor – to no one in particular, to all gnenerally, and likewise anyone too could respond. Don’t tell me you don’t understand your own sentence construction.

Re your admission – ///I may be self centred, frank and direct (for this is what cyberspace is all about), /// – well I didn’t know that cyberspace is about being self centred. Although you are aware of your self centredness, it is however neutralized by your regard of these warts and all with pride than a touch of apology….

///but I have never indulged in pretension and showiness/// – This is not news. I have not known any conceited admit to pretension and showiness but I have known many who have a good opinion of themselves to be usually a poor judge.

///But I think everybody knows what are you trying to prove by using words and writing stuff perhaps only you understand.///

Well again, it is no skin on my back if you don’t understand – except I don’t understand why you even try bother on more than one occasion to comment/respond to my comments that you said only I understood, and that you or others didn’t. Don’t have a mouth like a cannon muzzle to comment and respond to, much less disparage others’ comments that you do not understand, never mind whether that is actually so due to your intellectual poverty or mine!

41. #41 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:30 pm

Wannabe, write short simple English like mine, that is the hallmark of good English. No pretension and showiness please.

42. #42 by Onlooker Politics on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:31 pm

katdog tries to categorize PAS’s two factions into a) conservative muslims and b) liberal muslims. These two categories may be over-generalized and over-simplistic!

I would rather classify PAS’s factions into a) Pro-Umno racists aim to uphold the Malay Supremacy b) Pro-Pakatan Rakyat moderates aim to provide alternative governance as Umno’s replacement.

If at present Pro-Umno group of PAS members is having the administrative control over PAS, then it will not be fruitful for YB Kit to continue wasting much time trying to educate this Racist Group A of PAS now! It will be strategically much more important for YB Kit to enhance his political link with Moderate Group B of PAS even if Moderate Group B does not control the administrative power of PAS now.

Since DAP strongly proposes a “secular state”, it is bound to have head-on clash with the Racist Group A of PAS sooner or later, especially when the latter is deemed to assert its insistence on the implementation of the ideology of “Islamic State” once Pakatan Rakyat is to hold majority confidence of Parliament to form the Federal Government.

If PAS can be split into two parties, with Moderate Group B quiting PAS and forming another political party which is much more pragmatic than PAS now under the control of Racist Group A, then the chances for the new alternative coalition, which includes DAP, PKR, New Party of former PAS Moderate Group B, Sabahan party, and Sarawakian party, will immediately surge to the highest level and Barisan Nasional will definitely be defeated in a general election.

Even if Racist Group A of PAS is, by assumption, to quit Pakatan Rakyat and join Barisan Nasional, the racism as proposed by such a group will only add to the political liability of Barisan Nasional. This is because when racism has grown out of control in Barisan Nasional government, Barisan Nasional component parties such as MCA, Gerakan and MIC may not hesitate to choose to quit Barisan Nasional and join the New Political Coalition which consists of DAP, PKR and Moderate Group B leaving PAS in order to draw a clear-cut line for separation from the racist proponents of Malay Supremacy Concept who already control the ruling power in Barisan Nasional.

The possibility of forming a Moderate and Pragmatic New Coalition which agrees upon the concept of “Separation of Mosque and State” should be explored by DAP if DAP is to continue posture itself as a political party which adopts the ideology of “secular state”!

43. #43 by limkamput on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:53 pm

//I don’t see any problems with PAS being part of an alternative government. We talk about a Malaysian Malaysia. Well, FYI, conservative/religious muslims are also part of Malaysia. Or do we seek to exclude their views because we find them to be ‘unacceptable’ views?//katdog

We all have no problem with PAS provided the party is talking about inclusiveness and not intruding into others’ way of life. Of course we all know Muslims are a major part of Malaysia. The issue is whether they believe in an equal multi-religious and multi-racial Malaysia or something else. They can have their views and choose to live the way they deem fit. The issue is would they intrude and compel others to live according to their views. This is fundamental to many of us.

44. #44 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 13 September 2009 - 11:59 pm

///Wannabe, write short simple English like mine, that is the hallmark of good English. No pretension and showiness please.///

Brevity is the soul of the witless. I admit don’t have your English competency to compress the most words into the smallest idea.

45. #45 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:00 am

“I personally am a proponent of the concept of “Separation of Mosque and State”!

Jeffery would the first to agree with me that you can no more separate mosque from state than you can separate kamput from his hallucinations and delusions – of self grandeur, according to Azly Rahman?

Have you been to see the mufti yet?? ‘Murtad’ is very serious.

46. #46 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:05 am

“The issue is whether they believe in an equal multi-religious and multi-racial Malaysia or something else. They can have their views and choose to live the way they deem fit. The issue is would they intrude and compel others to live according to their views. This is fundamental to many of us.” Kamput

Shouldn’t you be saying ‘we’ and not ‘they’??

47. #47 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:18 am

“….write short simple English like mine, that is the hallmark of good English. No pretension and showiness please…”

LimKamPut says he is humble and writing short simple and good English. These are simple and good examples of hallucinations and delusions.

48. #48 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:20 am

Jaswant ball, what is the point of you going to church every Sunday when you have continued to transgress. Church is not an insurance company you know. Genuine repentance is more than going to church to ask for forgiveness of repeated transgressions.

49. #49 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:23 am

Wannabe, I don’t call you wannabe for no good reason. I think everybody knows you like to show off but only i dare to tell you off.

50. #50 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:27 am

Jeffery,

I think we should petition the Agong to withdraw his long service medal (PP) for having committed apostasy. Apostasy is a crime in Malaysia.

As you can see he’s trying to avoid the issue. Little does he know that by refusing to affirm his Muslim faith when called upon so to do, he has in fact committed ‘murtad’.

My advice is that he sees the mufti immediately.

51. #51 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:30 am

It is not in the Pakatan’s Declaration that apostasy should be de-criminalised. So maybe LKS should take up the matter with PKR and PAS??

52. #52 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:32 am

Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so.

53. #53 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:33 am

Jeffery,

I think we should petition the Agong to withdraw Kamput’s long service medal (PP) for having committed apostasy. Apostasy is a crime in Malaysia.

As you can see Kamput is trying to avoid the issue. Little does he know that by refusing to affirm his Muslim faith when called upon so to do, he has in fact committed ‘murtad’.

My advice is that he sees the mufti immediately.

54. #54 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:34 am

I think everybody knows LimKamPut has a psychological condition but only I dare tell him frankly to consult a psychiatrist, and you good enough to give him the address of the relevant hospital and telephone no.

Can he be held responsible for committing an offence in such a psychological condition?
    Long service medal (PP) is poor recompense.

55. #55 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:37 am

“Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so” Kamput

Ahh …! Kamput views the allegation serious enough to have done some research! But why is it so hard for you to say “I am a Muslim”??

56. #56 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:38 am

We have nothing against our Muslim brothers.

57. #57 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:43 am

Anyway what you just wrote i.e. “called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so” is a clear admission of who you are i.e. you are a Malay Muslim. You should be proud of it and not pretend to be who you are not.

58. #58 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:45 am

Jaswant :We have nothing against our Muslim brothers.

As if your “for” or “against” really matter, talking about being self conceited.

Ok, enough i have no time for you now.

59. #59 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:47 am

Readers are entitled to know where you’re coming from.

60. #60 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 12:57 am

“Have you been to see the mufti yet?? ‘Murtad’ is very serious.” (Jaswant)

Jaswant,
    Mufti of a state of Malaysia does not 100% equal to the true Islam.

As far as I know, the muslim government officers of Abu Dhabi are permitted to drink liquor in hotel even though they are prohibited to keep liquor at home. Don’t tell me that the Malay muslims are better muslims than Arabic muslims!

Al-Quran never makes drinking alcohol a sin. Alcohol drinking was prohibited by Sunnah as a measure to prevent a guy from committing a big sin like raping a girl when he got drunk. Al-Quran actually means that alcohol itself does not carry the meaning of sin but the aftermath behaviour of a drunk man may lead to big sin such as rape crime, sexual immorality or street fight! However, a mufti thinks that he is much bigger than Al-Quran and therefore he makes alcohol drinking in the public a crime which has to be punished by canning! What is that for the mufti to preach in Islam if he does not tell the followers of Prophet Mohammad that Islam actually means “Submission to God” and therefore all muslims must learn to be submissive and not to confront God by challenging God but only stubbornly insists that an alcohol consumer who consumes liquor in the public must be punished by six counts of canning? What role does “Allah” play in the case of Kartika being sentenced to 6 counts of canning due to consuming beer openly in the public? Does Allah only send punishment with wrath but show no mercy, no grace at all?

61. #61 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:02 am

“Readers are entitled to know where you’re coming from.” (Jaswant)

Jaswant,
    Please don’t try to push another commentator too hard here, unless you are the STASI sent by Special Branch!

62. #62 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:06 am

Onlooker,

You should direct your question to Kamput.

I’m a practicing Christian and don’t know much about Islam But what I do know is that it is futile to try and separate religion from state when it comes to Islam. It is different with the other religions.

63. #63 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:13 am

“I’m a practicing Christian and don’t know much about Islam But what I do know is that it is futile to try and separate religion from state when it comes to Islam.” (Jaswant)

Jaswant,
    If you really think that it is impossible to separate the Mosque Authority from the State Authority, then I would suggest that you to go visit United Arab Emirates or Kuwait.

64. #64 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:14 am

After Ramadhan, there are Jews and Muslims coming to our church to share their faiths with us.

There shouldn’t be any fear or any stigma attached to your faith.

65. #65 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:17 am

I don’t enough about those countries you mentioned to make any meaningful comment. But I do know Turkey is a good example of separation of religion from state. They have a secular constitution. You are not allowed to put on your hijab when you come to work!

66. #66 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:25 am

Because of that the Turkish government is facing difficulties with its Muslim fundamentalists. Muslims in Turkey feel that they have been denied their religious freedom and some have come to make the United States their home where they can put on your hijab as you please.

Not so in some European countries like France. And this is causing serious problems with Muslim minorities there.

67. #67 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:28 am

In United Arab Emirates, the females are sometimes (I mean sometimes, not all the times) fully covered their body with white clothing simply for the purpose of upholding the traditional costume clothing. You may see some police woman in Abu Dhabi wearing uniform showing their face. Sometimes the uniform is being tailored made and trimmed for just fit into a female’s body with the clear shape of female breast and buttock be shown in the public. What do we have to find a lot of religious hypocrites outside Arabic Peninsular trying to preach some kind of occultic belief like alcohol drinking is a big sin that should be punished by canning or not wearing “tudung” is a sin because the female hair can stimulate sexual desire of a man?

68. #68 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:30 am

///Please don’t try to push another commentator too hard here, unless you are the STASI sent by Special Branch!/// – Onlooker Politics

A commentator whom you yourself once described as “an odd man who prefers to stand outside the window of the house of civil liberties. Therefore, he will not care too much about the denigration of his personal image by frequently resorting to name-calling when he feels that someone has said something which painfully touches his nerve…that it is no point preaching civil liberties and human decency to a stiff-necked man who doesn’t know how to appreciate the beauty of respectable human interaction!”?
    [Reference – your comment #41 on July 24th, 2009 20:52 under thread blog subject “Are the 10 MCA Ministers and Deputy Ministers prepared collectively to lodge official reports with the police and the MACC to protect the life of Ong Tee Keat as well as to uphold the integrity of the Barisan Nasional government and Cabinet against the “dark forces” of corruption?” posted on Friday, July 24th, 2009 10:38 am and is filed in achieves here under Corruption, Crime, MCA.]

Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting (in your own words) ‘respectable human interaction’ by his illusions of grandeur in an Opposition blog?

69. #69 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:30 am

Sorry, a slide of pen to be corrected!

In United Arab Emirates, the females are sometimes (I mean sometimes, not all the times) fully covered their body with BLACK clothing simply for the purpose of upholding the traditional costume clothing.

70. #70 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:31 am

Over where I am, you can stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head all you want. The only law you would have broken and a fine you could expect to get is for is for spitting.

71. #71 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:36 am

” …. alcohol drinking is a big sin that should be punished by canning or not wearing “tudung” is a sin because the female hair can stimulate sexual desire of a man?” Onlooker

It stimulates Kamput! That’s why he has fled the scene. All this talk about bare bodies and exposed hair has apparently got to him.

72. #72 by OrangRojak on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:38 am

stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head
    Pffft! Where I grew up, you could get an Arts Council grant for that.

73. #73 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:41 am

“Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting (in your own words) ‘respectable human interaction’ by his illusions of grandeur in an Opposition blog? Jeffrey

Yes, why Onlooker??

74. #74 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:43 am

“stomp and spit on a dead cow’s severed head
    Pffft! Where I grew up, you could get an Arts Council grant for that.” Rojak

Why, you could get on the Crown Prosecution Service for less!

ROFL

75. #75 by Onlooker Politics on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:43 am

I still have fear of Special Branch’s sending me to the ISA detention camp! This is a dreadful experience, which still gives me nightmare in the midnite!

76. #76 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:08 am

Now why would Special Branch send STASI to harass the principal person disrupting …. an Opposition blog?” Jeffrey

Good one Jeffrey!

Why stop a person who is doing a heck of a job that even their best and brightest could not hope to do?

77. #77 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:17 am

Fear of ISA detention camp? No fear about that for the particular commentator. It would not be suitable.

More likely a communal, cheerful and non-institutional with low rise buildings of tropical architecture, clustered with courtyard, verandas and abundant landscaping, reasonable food of Hospital Permai, Tampoi Johor Bahru Johor 81200 Malaysia, Johor Bahru, Johor, 81200, Malaysia
    (Telephone:607-2373333).

78. #78 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:20 am

After he has done his job, that is, lest he migrates later to pro-government or ministers’ blogs!

79. #79 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:40 am

ROFL

80. #80 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:15 am

Jeffrey,

Hospital Permai is the oldest mental asylum for the mentally deranged who have no prospect of a cure. I think Kamput should make it his permanent home. There are inmates who have been there for more than 25 years. There he can stay and decide who he wants to be. He’s pushing 60 and so it won’t be long. No point in wasting electricity on him.

81. #81 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:24 am

So much for being serious commentators. At the end of the day, both of you are just garbage that should be flushed down the gutter. I am not running away. Unlike you, I have no one to leverage on. Need to do honest living.

82. #82 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:32 am

one ball, you have only one idea and that is Islam and the state can not be separated. Think outside the box lah. Luckily there are only few stupid asses like you around. Otherwise the world may be still in stone age.

83. #83 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:41 am

Jaswant :After Ramadhan, there are Jews and Muslims coming to our church to share their faiths with us.
    There shouldn’t be any fear or any stigma attached to your faith.

You mean coming to you to expose your hypocrisy? What a waste of time. Everybody knows that by now. Think about it, there is quite a similarity between wannabe and hypocrisy. Both want to show something that they are not really are. No wonder they need to support each other to survive.

84. #84 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 1:32 pm

“Everybody knows that by now”.

But where is everybody that you mentioned? I don’t hear anybody else says anything.

Its all in one person.

That’s the advantage of a schizophrenic: you hear different voices not there, and feel never alone or out of place when you articulate the collective judgment (supposedly) for all.

85. #85 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 2:14 pm

i have others supporting from time to time. You only have a hypocrite which is like you a wannabe.

86. #86 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 3:05 pm

//I have others supporting from time to time//

There is actually no need for me to respond to inane remark without a morsel of substance, except in passing just to remind that your iillusion is deep, you stew alone in your spite. Was it not just the other occasion when OrangRojak commented about your “lonely crusade” of spite you had unbashedly admitted that a lone crusade was good? You must have conveniently forgotten.

Your attitude like diapers should be changed – for the same reason!

87. #87 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 6:05 pm

“But where is everybody that you mentioned? I don’t hear anybody else says anything. Its all in one person.” Jeffrey

Your analysis of his character is spot on. A paranoid schizophrenic would hear voices telling him how good he is and how stupid others are, even telling the blog master that he has stolen ideas from him and then when confronted with a simple ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ question about his faith, he wanders away from the question in the hope that it will be forgotten and when finally pinned down amidst the allegation he has committed ‘murtad’ the answer finally came :

“Called upon by a kafir, i don’t think so.” Kamput

Called by a ‘kafir’ (a non-believer) to affirm if he is a Muslim, he says doesn’t make a ‘murtad’ (apostate) out of him. There you go! A very clear admission albeit indirect of who he is.

It only takes a trial attorney minutes in a devastating cross-examination to expose him for who he is – a liar and a coward and a sick one at that.

We just want to hear him say he is a Muslim and not that he is not a Muslim. What’s wrong with being a Muslim? There is a good Muslim and there is a sick Muslim This is not a blog where Muslims are not welcome. We welcome all who share in our cause. Even the sick ones.

88. #88 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 6:52 pm

There is no need for a hypocritical so-called Christian to be overtly concerned with what faith others possess. I believe I am contributing and I believe in my heart my ideas were being used. If you don’t like to hear that, there is nothing much I can do. I am contributing, unlike you, just coming here is to cause mischief and talking about how Patriot Act and ISA were needed in post Sept 11 era. Oh yes, Islam and State are not separable. What else have you got, hypocrite?

Wannabe, don’t be an oxymoron. If there is no need to for you to respond, then why did you respond? Yes, I have supporters, there is no doubt about that. If you don’t like it, it is just too bad. You can’t change it, neither can I.

89. #89 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:33 pm

There you go again!! He’s not even attempting to answer the question!

Question: Are you or are you not a Muslim?

Answer the question!

No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours. Say you’re a Muslim or say you’re not. It is not that difficult is it??

90. #90 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 7:40 pm

If you’re not I’m sure you’d have said it. But for the fear of committing ‘murtad’.

91. #91 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:36 pm

A real psychopath – you just go ahead believing what you want to believe, for that is what a psychopath does. There are smart psychopath and stupid psychopath, you belong to the former.

//No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours//

Why why why, did you cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball.

92. #92 by limkamput on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 8:39 pm

Repost:

A real psychopath – you just go ahead believing what you want to believe, for that is what a psychopath does. There are stupid psychopath and smart psychopath, you belong to the former.

//No, I’m not as you put it “overly concerned with what faith others possess” but only with yours//

Why why why, did I cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball.

93. #93 by Jaswant on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 9:42 pm

Say you’re a Muslim who looks upon Mohammad as God’s messenger, and that you’re willing to raise your posterior to the sky five times a day!

Or say you’re not a Muslim.

It is that simple!

94. #94 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:00 pm

Jaswant, a schizophrenic, by definition, has split or multiple personalities and therefore can be different persons of different beliefs depending…so it is not so simple an issue with him.

95. #95 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:04 pm

///Why why why, did I cause you pain in your posterior? Turn around, you may see that it was wannabe or monsterball//

Where imagination is exhausted, rational argument can’t be raised, eloquence fails, vulgarity is your last resort? How pathetic!

96. #96 by Jeffrey on Monday, 14 September 2009 - 10:09 pm

I think we can (for now) wind up this exchange. It must be recollected in your favour that you have a medical condition which always deserves a degree of empathy and understanding. Goodnight Lim Kam Put, sleep well!

97. #97 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:02 am

“Where imagination is exhausted, rational argument can’t be raised, eloquence fails …” Jeffrey

For many that comes from fasting. But in Kamput’s case he says he is not a Muslim. So what could possibly be the cause??

98. #98 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 12:13 am

///what could possibly be the cause??/// – Jaswant

Based on Kamput’s stupid comment #25 in the other thread, “Anwar Ibrahim – he cannot sing he cannot dance….”, many would have thought the cause is congenital stupidity but I guess we should know better that persons chemical imbalanced, clinically bipolar and schizophrenic should not be thrown into the same mixing pot with those congenitally stupid, lest the latter category is unfairly stigmatized as having brain diseases.

99. #99 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 3:50 am

as per Jeffrey “ …….. a medical condition which always deserves a degree of empathy and understanding (referring to Kamput)”.

A paranoid schizophrenic running amok on this blog is one thing. But he’s pushing 60 and if signs are any indication he’s likely also to be a pedophile. Right now he’s lurking round corners at night near his humble abode in Kg. Attap waiting to expose himself to school children. We’d be doing a disservice to the public if we don’t stop him.

100. #100 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 3:59 am

Now tell us.

Are you a Muslim or are you not a Muslim??

It is possible that due to ravages of time, he has forgotten who he is or that he’s a Muslim.

Now look between your legs and tell us. Is your foreskin still intact??

101. #101 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 11:31 am

//Where imagination is exhausted, rational argument can’t be raised, eloquence fails, vulgarity is your last resort? How pathetic!// wannabe

Say it to yourself wannabe. In case you are not too sure what wannabe is: it is hypocrite just like one ball, got it?

//Right now he’s lurking round corners at night near his humble abode in Kg. Attap waiting to expose himself to school children. We’d be doing a disservice to the public if we don’t stop him.//hypocrite

Don’t forget, you work for me in kg attap.
    Yes, look carefully btw your legs, you may notice that you have nothing, not to mention whether you have foreskin or otherwise. Please don’t pour your frustration on me if you are in between. It is not my fault that you are that way.

102. #102 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 1:49 pm

//In case you are not too sure what wannabe is: it is hypocrite just like one ball, got it?//

Another wrong usage of words.

You have understood the meaning of either word “wannabe” or “hypocrite” (take your pick) by only half….

Which is why if you think you’re a wit, and you’re probably half right. It is more a half filled bucket of water or Milo can as SpeakUp would have it…

103. #103 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 4:35 pm

Look, Kamput b. Abdullah,

It may be way past fasting hours but it doesn’t give you the right to curse, stomp and tear at your hair or whatever little that is left standing on your head.

Let’s hear it.

Are you not a useless old Malay government pensioner, a misfit in his own Malay community, shunned by members of his own community, with serious identity problems?

Are you not one of those who calls himself a Muslim, who lifts up his ass to the sky five times a day without understanding why – or are you not??

Let’s hear it.

104. #104 by Jaswant on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 4:54 pm

Jeffrey,

His fear of being a ‘murtad’ tells us everything I want to know about him. His response is a clear admission but of course, we shouldn’t expect him to understand.

Everytime he appears in any of the threads showing how smart an ass he is, I’ll be there to expose him for who he really is. Just another country bumpkin. Already it has the desired effect. He is hitting on readers less and less because of what we do here.

See you on the other threads.

105. #105 by limkamput on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 5:58 pm

//He is hitting on readers less and less because of what we do here.//one ball

You are wrong again. You can’t do one thing right. I pick my targets. I notice both of you are now very careful with your comments. That is good, because you fellows are fearful of me. I can easily point out where you fellows have gone wrong because of my vast experience and knowledge. For example, Jeffrey’s comment on PKFZ was half baked. He does not know the real issue and was just commenting based on text book knowledge. As for Jaswant ball, he only knows Pariot Act, ISA, Islam and the state are not separable. NO way lah you fellows want to talk real substance with me. I challenge both of you to comment on substantive matters in this blog and you shall see my rebuttal.

106. #106 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 15 September 2009 - 7:45 pm

///That is good, because you fellows are fearful of me. I can easily point out where you fellows have gone wrong because of my vast experience and knowledge///

Hard to determine whether you are posting the above in your exceptional lucid moments of stupidity or ordinary moments of delusion. LOL