Umno has failed!

By Hussein Hamid

I am an individual.

The state of affairs now seen on our country leaves us with no other conclusion then that UMNO has failed. It has failed in its effort to justify their demand that we Malaysian should allow them to continue for another fifty years with their tinkering of our democratic values and principals as a trade off to the ongoing development of our country and the yet to be achieved uplifting of the Malay race to be a developed ethnic community. Two remarkable and truly laudable goals — economic development and the rise and rise of the Malays – but arguments that are fundamentally flawed.

The Government insists that the particularity of Malaysian Politics, its multi ethnic divides and its religious enclaves make a need for the ISA to be enforced arbitrarily over its people. It continues to dominate over its people who live defenseless under its shadows. And in all this there is no political accountability in what they do.

I say that the Politics of Barisan Nasional is no longer appropriate for our people, for our country. I say that a multi ethnic, multi party democracy is what we need. We no longer want a trade-off between democracy and development. Between freedoms to demonstrate responsibly as against what the Government perceives as our inability to do so without causing riot and chaos in the streets.

We no longer tolerate domination of the affairs of our country by UMNO. We reject that premise. We say that the failure of the Malays to advance their cause can be linked directly to UMNO. I say that what obstacle that have been put in place to prevent the coming together of the races and to prevent the ability of the opposition to effectively governed in the state that they were elected in are just the mechanism by which UMNO uses to impose political and economic hegemony over its own people. And their repeated accusation that we as nation are not politically mature enough to weather the complexities of multi ethnic politics is wearing a bit thin. It is time that Barisan stop being patronizing us and begins to understand that the country needs to be return to its people. There is no more need to seek for the Malays historical dispensation on the grounds of a colonial legacy that is flawed. The time for that no longer holds credence with the Malays or the others.

The current situation that we are in now is a damming indictment of the failure of UMNO. It has also resulted in confrontation between the Government and its own people in which the state has in some fundamental way been steadily losing.

You must understand that power only comes from the people that allow its leaders to govern them if they so desire. The people have a political role to play not as Chinese, Indian or the others but as autonomous individuals.

The people are matured politically do not want to be patronized. Look at us as individuals rather then as Malays, Indian, Chinese and others.

You can claim your right to rule as decided by the ballot box in the last election – but the people will hold you politically accountable on the premise that the relationship between the constituent and its representative is ultimately that between you and me – the rulers and the ruled on a one to one basis. Your disregard for this premise is at your own peril. Understand also that the structures and instruments of democracy are not yours to abuse in pursuit of your own vested interest.

We no longer accept your interpretation of your desired ‘ideal polity’ to serve your own purpose. We demand a change to a higher and morally superior political order. Do not use the flawed multi partyism of Barisan as a weapon to subjugate Pakatan because you know that Barisan in itself is not a shining example of a liberal democratic order. We know that what you practice bear no relation to the political reality you profess to champion – Democracy. May you have the intelligence to understand that for UMNO the beginning of the end started at the last General election and will run its course by the time of the next. Amen.

1. #1 by Loh on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 3:02 pm

On August 28, 1963 Martin Luther King, Jr delivered his famous ” I have a Dream’ speech as part of the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedon. Malaysians were living as he dreamt then in 1963. Martin Lurther King’s dream came true in 2009, and Malaysians particularly non-Malays have a dream now, to return to 1963, and perhaps back to the big bang.

2. #2 by k1980 on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 4:14 pm

Not only has UMNO failed, it has put both its feet inside its grave. All it takes now is to wait for the 13 GE to completely bury it. As for the other component parties of BN, they will follow umno into the same grave immediately after.

3. #3 by Penang_soul on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 6:34 pm

The UPSR paper leaked again and as usual the goverment will deny it for sure. This time it is for all the subjects again!!! Well Case close without investigation. too costly for a resit etc etc etc etc bla bla bla as usual. Our education sysem is going down from the gutters to the sewege system.

4. #4 by taiking on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 6:41 pm

The MV UMNO is full of holes and water is gushing in through all of them. And the beauty is umnoputras on-board dont even realise that a) there are holes; and b) water is filling up the vessel. Wot is worse. The holes are mostly the result of misdeeds by umnoputras themselves. The beng hong hole is one example. The cow head hole is another. The perak assembly, the pkfz, the collapsed stadium roof, the 500m baginda’s commission, etc etc. The list can just about go on forever because new holes are being added by them all the time and continuously.

All of these gave me the impression that najib is no longer in control; and that he is only a prime minister in name. I saw writtings on walls about a really bad performance by umno and BN before the last GE. Now I can see worse writtings than those I saw the last time. So yes hussein. I agree. Umno is a failure. Umno is abysmal. Ready or not, pakatan must prepare well for the coming GE and more than that, for the new roles and responsibilities that follows after the GE.

5. #5 by monsterballssgoh on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 6:48 pm

But they will never change.
    They will keep denying.
    They will apply all sorts of stunts…good and bad…to keep fooling UMNO members…and hopefully.. many more.
    But their own members are getting fed up too.
    UMNO will fail..because People’s Power dare to talk
    Finally…Lim Kit Siang is not so lonely.. ..like before.
    Prepare for the worst from UMNO and the worst can never succeed.

6. #6 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 10:11 pm

UMNO Baru is like a vase with cracks in many places. Smart people with good vision can see that the vase is useless. It is being held together by a SUPER glue to look whole and useful. But once the glue dries up, the vase will crumble to pieces!

Yes, it is Pelekat Chap Duit that is holding them together. It is oxygen to them without which, they will die.

7. #7 by cseng on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 10:17 pm

To those well informed, matured malaysia, Umno has failed.

But, Umno still succeed in these 3 categories; 1) To those in rural who reads Utusan, development promises still buy Umno votes, 2) To those depend on Umno for a fortune, Umno is the only choice, 3) To those Malay, whoms believe without Umno there will be no more Melayu.

I have to agree, what Malaysia needed very badly, is this magic words:- ACCOUNTABILITY!. The goverment has to be accountable for every decision they made, to the Rakyat they are accountable for!.

KPI shows direction to progress, without accountability KPI is a dead statistic for manipulation.

That’s why I like CAT! with Accountability, Transperancy is a given, with Accountability and Transperancy, Competency is a given.

8. #8 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 10:24 pm

“UMNO has failed”-Hamid Hussein,

It is Mahathir’s party UMNO Baru that has failed. The good UMNO Party founded by Dato Onn Jaffar was destroyed by that Indian-Malay doctor.

What a great shame that the grandson of UMNO’s founder is part of the team that ‘killed’ it.

9. #9 by Better Malaysia on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 11:26 pm

UMNO has not only fail but DOOMED. Beh tahan.

10. #10 by just a moment on Thursday, 10 September 2009 - 11:51 pm

Umno not only has failed, the dangerous ploy engaged towards entire nation’s rakat is damaging towards human lives, it promotes an entirely different forms of ‘unity’. Its diving the people of races, one dare not imagine what else Umno would not do after using every machinery, from NGOs to Police. No way this nation is going to improved so long as this party is around.

11. #11 by Joshua on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 5:41 am

What a desperate move by Najib or Nan-jib – tears???

Umno Is An Islamic Party, Says Najib

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsindex.php?id=439611

SIK, Sept 10 (Bernama) — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Tun Razak said Umno is truly an Islamic party although it does not use the ‘Islamic label’ in championing the cause of Islam and the country.

He said Umno had actually looked after and raised the living standards of the Muslims by eradicating poverty through various government programmes especially the Felda land schemes.

“In Islam, poverty is akin to sacrilege and for the past 53 years, Umno had strived to eradicate poverty among the Muslims by opening Felda land schemes. Is this not demanded by Islam?” he said when attending a breaking of the fast at Felda Teloi Timor, here Thursday.

He said the Barisan Nasional (BN) government led by Umno had brought development to the country by churning out Muslims who were respected and with the most modern technology and military.

“We need not carry the label ‘development with Islam’ because we have been championing the cause of Islam for a long time and had provided a prosperous life to Muslims because we don’t want the Muslims to be poor and without strength,” he said.

The Prime Minister also said that Islam wanted the ummah to transform for the better and this was what Umno had been doing.

“We always strive to bring improvements to the people. If we had started with Lurah Bilut (Felda Lurah Bilut) before, where the people who had no land previously, they now own 10 acres of land.

“By coincidence, it was my late father (Tun Abdul Razak) who had set up Felda. He used to walk with his walking stick and wore the bush jacket, walking hundreds of miles purely to give land and eradicate poverty,” he said.

Najib also said that Muslims must learn from the various achievements of Islam during the month of Ramadan including the Badar war.

At the function, Najib and his wife, Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, the Minister of Rural and Regional Development, Datuk Seri Shafee Apdal and state Umno leaders joined about 5,000 Felda settlers from Kedah and Perlis in the breaking of the fast.

The Prime Minister later gave away ‘Duit Raya’ and special aid to the Felda settlers.

— BERNAMA

pw: looking falsely

12. #12 by monsterballssgoh on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 5:57 am

‘People first, Performance Now”
    Duit to felda settlers…not once but very regularly…to keEp feeding them for faithful votes to UMNO.
    Duit is UMNO main and might weapon..stolen from Malaysians..to feed his supporters only.
    But most Felda settlers know UMNO is evil..take duit and vote against them now…knowing their children cannot advance under UMNO is insincere and not true lover of Allah.
    They can see how hypocritical the ministers are..behaving like little Robins …the hoodlums..rob the rich..to feed the poor…..but truth of it all…..feed the chosen poor a little.. and keep majority themsleves to behave like Kings and Lords..real filthy rich….with false titles.
    These can never be true Muslims…nor can claim…respecting and loving Allah.

13. #13 by ktteokt on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 9:54 am

UMNO has not only failed, but failed miserably! After being in existence for more than 60 years, its president, both past and present, are still calling for MALAY UNITY! What a disgrace! Didn’t they turn their heads to look at what hangs above PWTC – the word UMNO (UNITED MALAYS NATIONAL ORGANIZATIO) is high above and they are still screaming their heads off for Malay UNITY!

14. #14 by Joshua on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 4:16 pm

I believe this truth has much more substance in the way Ringgit Malaysia had been handled or printed.

I have lodged two/three Police Reports of 30 on Bank Negara over the rotten declining wealth status.

Do you realise that our currency notes have no standard in quality and sizes? If you check a small bundle of same denomination, the notes would be different sizes despite hi-tech in printing.

Any doubt of the bad performance of Bank Negara is now confirmed by the latest report:-
    http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/26691/84/#jc_writeComment

RESERVE BANK OF AUSTRALIA WARNED ABOUT MALAYSIAN ARMS BROKER
    Posted by admin
    Thursday, 10 September 2009 16:07
    RICHARD BAKER AND NICK MCKENZI! E, The Age

THE Federal Government’s trade agency warned the Reserve Bank of Australia about using a Kuala Lumpur arms broker to help win currency printing deals in Malaysia.

Joshua wants to ask “How can a terrorist deal with currency notes printing?”

pw:ajUnilaterally snitch

15. #15 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 4:29 pm

1malaysia
    umnoputra didahulukan
    pencapaian wang ringgit diutamakan

16. #16 by afif on Friday, 11 September 2009 - 6:31 pm

Yes, Umno has really failed………..
    Umno bukan membantu bumiputera, tetapi Umno hanya membantu Umnoputera, Mcaputera dan Micputera…. Diharap orang Melayu sedar, bahawa Umno sebenarnya telah menipu orang Melayu….
    I beileve the powerful of Pakatan Rakyat…

Kemuliaan seseorang bukan kerana bangsa tetapi kerana sumbangan mereka terhadap masyarakat…..