Cow-head politics: Fear not, those who misrepresent Islam

By Azly Rahman

In the name of Allah Most Gracious Most Compassionate

1. By Al-‘Asr (the time).

2. Verily! Man is in loss,

3. Except those who believe (in Islâmic Monotheism) and do righteous good deeds, and recommend one another to the truth (i.e. order one another to perform all kinds of good deeds (Al-Ma’rûf)which Allâh has ordained, and abstain from all kinds of sins and evil deeds (Al-Munkar)which Allâh has forbidden), and recommend one another to patience (for the sufferings, harms, and injuries which one may encounter in Allâh’s Cause during preaching His religion of Islâmic Monotheism or Jihâd, etc.).
— Surah AlAsr (Time)

For Muslims (those who submit to the Will of Allah) and those who are embarking on a journey of peace, Ramadan is a time for deep reflection and contemplation on the sufferings of the self and of others. It is a month in which the oftentimes arrogant, boastful, aggressive self retreats to this Inner Cave and work hard towards cleansing the body, the mind, the spirit, and the soul. It is a long but reflective journey Muslims believe must be taken.

The incident of a group of 50 Malaysians carrying a severed cow head, marching to the Selangor State Government’s Office is an example of a misrepresentation of Ramadan. It is a dangerous act that disrespects the holy month. Muslims should be outraged at the gross misrepresentation of Islam. One must read The Sepoy Rebellion during British India in order to understand where this might lead us to, in the worst case scenario. One must also not forget Malaysia’s Kampong Medan incident a few years back in order to understand the anatomy and chemistry of hate.

The “cow-head march” incident is a mindless act and Malaysians are becoming weary of these stunts that seem strange and timely and seem to become more and more hideous as we see the intensification of campaigns to take over this or that government. The phrase “Allahu Akbar” (Allah is Great) is abused. The greatness of Allah lies not in allowing a group of people to humiliate the religion of others. Allah’s greatness lies in the guide given to us to respect the religion of others, and to understand what the universal message of Islam is. Everything is good in the hands of the author of things, everything degenerates in the hands of Man, said the French philosopher Jean Jacques Rousseau. In Islam, Evil is the work of Man, and Good comes from the Creator. Those who humiliate others are those who allow nafs amarrah (lowest/animalistic stage of the soul) to take charge of their actions.

Muslims should condemn the group of 50 and the authorities including the religious authorities should investigate if this is a seditious act against Islam.

I do hope that the protesters who abuse Ramadan ask themselves what is triggering their intent to march and what forces, if any, are behind their act. If necessary, the group can seek legal help in resolving this.

Non-Muslims need not fear the consequences of these antics or the action of the few who are misrepresenting Islam. You have the brotherhood and sisterhood of thinking and feeling Muslims who know what is acceptable and what is not in a multiracial society.

1. #1 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 11:43 am

Nice Holy Ramadan month piece…but the writer missed out why such an act was done.
    We do not ask for forgiveness and understandings ….although the act was crude and give UMNO a chance to say….they forgive others.
    We you push a person to the wall…it depends on how well educated and strong minded that person is. UMNO keep pushing non Malays to the wall…especially when they conclude…the do not depend on them for the votes.
    Azly Rahman should focus and tell us…do he consider UMNO minters true Muslims.
    Start off with that..then lets debate.
    We do not want to know…how great Malaysia Muslims are. I think the Buddhists and Hindhus are much much more understanding lot.
    The fact that Isreal is still fighting Palestine….Islamic religion have many flaw and interpretations.
    Settle that…then teach others.
    And in Malaysia…using Islam to control Malay minds is so clear by UMNO.
    Good in the past.,,,,,but no reasons to do so….these 30 years..yet on going.
    Nation building by UMNO is by a bunch of Muslim hypocrites.
    Will Azly Rahman confirm that?

2. #2 by k1980 on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 11:52 am

Stop this fanatical nonsense immediately or the country would end up as the Pakistani failed state, which created the Taliban and is now being strangled to death by the Taliban.

While there is no human way to prevent a king from having a bad heart,
    there is a human way to prevent a people from having an erroneous
    opinion. That way is to furnish the whole people, as a part of their ordinary
    education, with correct information about their relations to other peoples,
    about the limitations upon their own rights, about their duties to respect
    the rights of others, about what has happened and is happening in international
    affairs, and about the effects upon national life of the things that are
    done or refused as between nations; so that the people themselves will have
    the means to test misinformation and appeals to prejudice and passion
    based upon error.

—Elihu Root
    “A Requisite for the Success of Popular Diplomacy”

3. #3 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:01 pm

“Fear not, those who misrepresent Islam”
    Sounds like encouragement to misrepresent Islam. Wouldn’t it be better without the comma?
    “Fear not those who misrepresent Islam”
    – Don’t be afraid of the misrepresenters?

“Non-Muslims need not fear”
    Everyone is right to fear parochial attitudes. It’s time to reject the actions of pathological idiots while insisting you are “caring Malaysians and neighbours” rather than reinforcing discriminatory attitudes.

Am I wrong about this? I’m not interested in whether the cow-abusers were Muslims or not. I think they should be punished specifically for incitement to violence, or at least treated ‘fairly’ by the police in the way that people holding candles, complaining about ‘Sudden Death’ or wearing black are.

We don’t need another divisive debate. Let’s all recognise wrongdoers for the specific wrongs they do, not their government-assigned attributes.

4. #4 by k1980 on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:09 pm

Wonder what would happen had Orang Rojak and his gang had paraded a severed camel’s head in front of Najib’s office in Putra Jaya….

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:27 pm

k1980, there’s little chance of me doing anything involving severed heads. I’m not at all accustomed to food that can look at me. I still haven’t got over the first fish head curry my brothers-in-law treated me to, all those years ago.

6. #6 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:44 pm

//Fear not, those who misrepresent Islam”
    Sounds like encouragement to misrepresent Islam. Wouldn’t it be better without the comma?
    “Fear not those who misrepresent Islam”
    – Don’t be afraid of the misrepresenters?//
    0rang rojak

It like “hang him, not let him go” and “hang him not, let him go”.

So it is not just whether there is a comma, where one puts a comma is also important. It is between life and dead. Of course the loud mouth monsterabll has no clue what we are talking about – a mere low class nincompoop playing low class politics here.

7. #7 by ksham on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:47 pm

Dear sir, it is not funny telling the non-muslims that not all muslims are supporting the sacrilege. It is only done by a misguided few who truly does not profess Islam in its entirety. Where were the true muslims to confront those who have tarnished Islam. You should have gotten a bigger group to stop these miscreants from marching. If you, true muslims, have taken this stand, then we the non-muslims would not have taken offence. In the name of Islam, many bad things have been done. Only the true followers of Islam can confront these fanatics.

8. #8 by limkamput on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 12:51 pm

The cause of all these nonsense – the cow head march – is due to state sponsored religion, pure and simple. We must “dereligion” and “privatise religion” immediately. If we look at most societies, only people with full stomach and too free would endlessly talk about how great their religions are.

9. #9 by chengho on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 1:20 pm

there are so many places you can built the temple why you want to built the temple at the Malay Muslim residence area , can they find the politically correct place afterall there are more than thousand temple in Selangor for the no of worshipper..get uncle Sam to help.

10. #10 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 1:31 pm

Chengho….There are only 5 Muslim families living in that area …dominate by Indians.
    Why should these 5 families be so important against vast majority Indians?

11. #11 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 1:33 pm

to mislead others…..anyway…miss your comments…no matter how stupid they maybe.

12. #12 by monsterballssgoh on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 1:49 pm

OrangRojak get turned off by fish head curry….hahahahahaha
    Hi..that’s the best part of the fish to eat..besides the fins and eyes.
    How about roasted piglets….intact and put in front for you..to eat?

13. #13 by a friend on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 6:14 pm

Hi all….

Please for heaven’s sake help me understand a number of things???

1. Doesn’t the march amount to an illegal demonstration?????? So why were the authorities waiting along the sidelines???? How was this any different than the just recent anti ISA demo???? U mean to say that the past protest was successfull in having the ISA “abolished” or is it conveniently deaf on selective issues!!!!
    2. Weren’t the marchers inciting racial sentiments???? Isn’t this what ISA suppose to protect against ??? So where’s our protection??? Why isn’t it used when its actually needed??…..
    3. True…maybe only a handful of ignorant so called religious fanatics create such havocs but for how long can the rest of you just keep blaming the handful….. It seems so false.. like waking a sleeping baby and then trying to pacify him to sleep again… So one group iritates us while the other calms us by saying fear not!!! Such a drama….Who are we to believe???
    4. For how long can the non muslims tolerate….why must the tolerating factor be from non muslims to muslims and not the other way round….. Many of us who have been here for generations consider ourselves as true Malaysian. Its our home…but after 52 years there are Malaysians who have not grown to accept everyone…..Sad isn’t it??? And we wonder why many professional or intellects are emigrating…Is 1Malaysia a fantasy or a reality….or is it just a facade to hide irresponsible behaviours????

Well whatever said and done…Malaysia is ‘famous’ in the eye of the world.. Is this the rue Malaysia Boleh!!!!!!!

14. #14 by boh-liao on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 7:33 pm

People should visit certain places in KL, Penang, and Melaka
    where mosque, temple, and church are located next to each other
    They were built many many years ago and remain there
    People of different religious faiths mingled around without any fear of losing their religious identities, just because another religious building is next to theirs
    Does it mean religious people these days have less faith in their own religious belief?
    Do they believe that their religious faith will change just because another religious building is next to theirs?
    Peace, residents of M’sia

15. #15 by tanjong8 on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 9:37 pm

Umnoputras and the Utusans are the root cause of all these problems.

They are in power for too long so much so that it is their 2nd nature that they are the eternal ruler.

The gang of 50 is just their kaki-tangans, foot soldiers who threatened bloodshed !

16. #16 by novice101 on Sunday, 30 August 2009 - 10:05 pm

Cool heads need to precail in this situation. Hindus and others from the other religions who feel equally threathened need to reing in their fears and emotions.

Muslims brothers and sisters who don’t share the sentiments of this group and those behind them should come out and speak up.

Let us speak up for Malaysia … our nation, our country.

17. #17 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 12:50 am

Limkamput is trying to lure me…to battle him again…to get both moderated by LKS….hahahahahahaha
    Jaswant is handling him so well.
    He is a mouse…when Jaswant is around.
    Loudmouth monsterball….is much better than a self confessed slimebag.
    Trying to impress others how great his English language is…with the comma missing…making a sentence …my teacher taught me that in Std 3…but all forgotten….when more important things matter most.
    Limkamput…not married…no children…no nothing…a long way yet to prove he is a man or a pondan.
    I will let Jaswant take care of this useless good for nothing idiot…a real lumpa kia..

18. #18 by Jaswant on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 1:45 am

“Only people with full stomach and too free would endlessly talk about how great their religions are.” limkampoop

Strange. Does this not include the blog’s nincompoop? He has too much to eat whilst others have had to go hungry and all this is because of his taxpayer funded education and special privileges and a job with a corrupt government for more than twenty years. He can now afford to fast for a month.

19. #19 by alaneth on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 2:28 am

Khalid, where are you???

Quickly solve this problem professionally.

20. #20 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 2:38 am

20 years working?
    He must be a such a low class 45 years old bachelor slimebag.
    No babies makers want to marry him?
    Balls too small?
    Jaswant…thanks.
    He said I am a stupid loud mouth.
    You grease him proper and good.
    Bet you…he dare not confront Jaswant.

21. #21 by limkamput on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 8:49 am

How about when i say i am taller, richer and more handsome than both of you. I know one is slightly richer than the hawkers and is now on viagara to do on an old cow and the other is a dish washer earning minimum wage for years and need to walk the street of kampung attap to earn some extra income. I know all these – remember i am in this business and you are one of my many lousy workers.

22. #22 by monsterballssgoh on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 11:24 am

When a nut speaks….just read and laugh.

23. #23 by GilaPolitic on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 12:01 pm

Saya, anak Melayu tak nak bacul dan tidak pernah tahu bahawa orang Melayu Islam menunjukkan rasa marah dengan memijak-mijak kepala lembu dan berarak dari masjid negeri selepas sembahyang Jumaat. Saya keliru and tak faham orang Melayu ini yang meminta mohon maaf dari Allah swt dan mendengar ucapan nasihat baik dari IMAN di masjid negeri , kemudian orang Melayu sama ini akan memijak kepala lembu dan meminta “bloodshed” dari pemimpin -pemimpin Melayu di kerajaan negeri Selangor. Apakah pahala baik atau dosa neraka yang orang Melayu ini akan dapat ?

Setahu saya, mengikut cerita orang-orang Melayu tua, kepala lembu adalah antara bahagian badan haiwan itu yang paling berharga dan kalau di kampung-kampung, bila lembu disembelih, mereka yang paling banyak bekerja dalam melapah lembu atau yang paling dihormati masyarakat Melayu akan mengambil kepala itu.

Maka saya menanti Hari Merdeka tahun ini dengan mendengar orang Utusan UMNO memanggil saya anak Melayu bacul, memberi amaran kononnya saya ditindas oleh minoriti kaum bukan Melayu Islam, saya akan jadi pemabuk di kedai 7-11, saya mesti anti konsert rock & roll dan juga orang Melayu sesat ini yang memijak kepala lembu sebagai simbul kemarahan orang Melayu Islam di bulan Ramadan mulia ini.

Harapan saya, saya mahu “Merdeka” dari semua Utusan UMNO yang banyak berdosa terhadap semua rakyat Malaysia yang cintai keharmonian dan keamanan selama 52 tahun ini!

24. #24 by limkamput on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 12:21 pm

Owah ssgoh, are you trying to make yourself known for the next general election. NO hope lah for you, because you are the only nut here.

25. #25 by jamalmalikslumdog on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 2:40 pm

When the news in CNN and Fox portrayed a group of Muslims burning flags or shouting into their cameras, they claimed that the same footage was being replayed over and over. When the western media continuously wrote about Muslim being terrorists or fundamentalists, you will hear the same outcry from the Muslims that they are being victimized.

In public and in the media, you can hear them argue that Islam is a fair religion, a religion that respects other religions. Yet their very own action contradicts what they said or portrayed.
    And the same group of people who cries foul are the same people who will has caused the most damage to Islam.

Strangely enough, the Muslims have always claimed with the statement – Islam the Misunderstood religion”. Yet Islam continues to be used by UMNO political masters to achieve their bedeviled ends.

Muslims can no longer blame others for their own faults. If they continue to vote in the political party that caused this mess, then they have only themselves to blame.

Malaysia is sliding fast down the track to becoming a failed state. Please do not make Islam a hostage to your politics.

26. #26 by cseng on Monday, 31 August 2009 - 7:37 pm

Religion is to purify one’s soul, is to make one’s stornger in gacing the evil influences. Key word – ourself, not other, is to control the big I among us. Religion never theartned by the other temple nor alcohol drink, is the people felt theartned!.

You have to grow-up and be strong to earn the repect, isolation, protection do not make you stronger, it weaken your believe. Make other weaker to show you strong is not the point either.