LKS on ISA

by Citizen Journalist Chan Lilian

This is for my own personal reflections. Please view the above video and hear what YB Lim shared about his detention under the ISA twice.

So, in my entire life, I never even dream that I will one day sit down, one-to-one, and talk to the man himself. He is like that iconic symbol of the rocket. The white shirt, the shiny hair, square jaw, square shoulder and the glasses. I remember following his ceramahs in the 80s and early 90s but was never impressed because at that time, I was working in a company which DAP used as part of their election campaign. You know lah, I was faithful to my employer and when DAP kept accusing my bosses of things, I surely defend my company, right? Corruption (to me back then) is but a mere ‘kamcheng’ I scratch your balls, you scratch my back kind of ‘friendship’.

Then, the only two times I saw Lim Kit Siang in person was at the Air Putih service centre opening. I was too nervous to even ask to have a photo taken with me. My hubby got impatient holding the camera, with me who whispered, “Aiyerrr..I dare not ask, but I want to take picture with him, how lah…sked….dunno he can scold me or not…..” So, my hubby the impatient man loud loud said, “Go lah…” and LKS heard and turned around so I boh pien had to meekly stood next to him and snap one photo.

Then, the second time was at LKS’s house because my sifu from Mkini asked me to go video. It was urgent. That was one nervous situation because I didn’t even know why I have to go to LKS’s house to cover what story.

For the ISA interview, actually, I was supposed to arrange for one of the CJ in KL to interview LKS. But somehow, he was in Penang so he gave me the green light. I tell you, I was damn nervous. Breakfast also tak lalu already cos tension betul. I got the appointment in the morning and already psyche myself ‘I think I can, I think I can, I think I can’. But lucky CM also gave me the appointment. So, after I went to Komtar, I feel less nervous already. Yet, I skipped lunch because I was still veerrrryyyy kancheong.

But it turned out that inspite of the very strict, very stern and very DAP facade, LKS in person is a very friendly. Phew…..Mrs. Lim is very sweet. She excused herself when I was interviewing YB Lim. We don’t usually see Mrs. Lim in the limelight but YB Lim paid tribute to her that the women are the bravest. Hmmm…one day I must get an exclusive interview with her because she must be one very extraordinary woman to went through so many trials and tribulations being Mrs. Lim and also the mother of the CM.

I am so thankful for the honour and opportunity to meet and talk to the man himself. After the interview, I cabut fast fast after a drink of water. Wuah…then only I realised I am very hungry and went to makan before I go home.

1. #1 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 6:33 pm

Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said on 19th Aug that the ISA would be amended in a way to safeguard the nation, taking into account, national security and avert the threat of terrorism.

It’s best to repeal the ISA, but if that step were not to be taken by the government – and amendment is on the table – then at least the amendments should address properly two areas: –

(1) a clear definition of what is national security & terrorism; and

(2) an avenue for legal challenge of detention by allowing judicial review.

(2) is easier to address but not (1).

We know what “national security” ought NOT to be – the political security of the ruling parties or the government but that does not explain what it is or ought to be…

What does the term “national security” and “terrorism” in the Malaysian context encompass?

Is security or terrorism, as it relates to the nation, just a feeling or considered opinion on the part of the authorities and the Home Minister or a verifiable condition that is independent of emotion (that authorities have to prove, and if so whether on balance of 51% probabilities or beyond reasonable doubt) and that the Court has right to review and look into whether this verifiable condition has been fulfilled in justification of the detention?

2. #2 by Winston on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 6:51 pm

“I remember following his ceramahs in the 80s and early 90s but was never impressed because at that time, I was working in a company which DAP used as part of their election campaign. You know lah, I was faithful to my employer and when DAP kept accusing my bosses of things, I surely defend my company, right? Corruption (to me back then) is but a mere ‘kamcheng’ I scratch your balls, you scratch my back kind of ‘friendship’.”

So, the author, instead of scratching balls are carrying them!
    What’s the difference.
    I suggest that she stops wasting our time!

3. #3 by GilaPolitic on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:22 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

It is a great HELL of good ISA stories from you ! Bravo ! You are Malaysian True HERO.
    We proposed Uncle Lim to write a “ISA HELL in Malaysia” book about your experiences as an ISA Detainee together with other ISA Detainees are also willing to contribute their hell experienced in Kamunting Camp.

Malaysians are very sure your new “ISA Hell” book will be ban by UMNO or Krismuddin before this new book is launched in public. Dont worry, We bet that your new ISA Hell Book is a TOP Best Seller in the world exclude Malaysia is a small market only. Maybe many international Film Producers are willing to engage you in creating and shooting an “ISA HELLL” movie based on your new book to be released worldwide.

Well you are the potential “BEST OSCAR ACTOR” in this new ISA HELL movie. You can become instant MILLIONAIRE ACTOR in Hollywood tomorrow. You created the first Opposition Top Actor in Malaysia history before you retired from politic in Malaysia.

Why waste you precious time scratching and kicking the dirty balls of BN over the years in the Parliament? Work Smart Pray Hard today.

THINK AGAIN OUR PROPOSAL TO WRITE A
    “ISA HELL” BOOK TODAY. MALAYSIANS 100% SUPPORT YOUR NEW ISA HELL BOOK.

4. #4 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:46 pm

Jeffrey :
    Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said on 19th Aug that the ISA would be amended in a way to safeguard the nation, taking into account, national security and avert the threat of terrorism.
    It’s best to repeal the ISA, but if that step were not to be taken by the government – and amendment is on the table – then at least the amendments should address properly two areas: –
    (1)a clear definition of what is national security & terrorism; and
    (2)an avenue for legal challenge of detention by allowing judicial review.
    (2) is easier to address but not (1).

Personally, I think that members of any legitimate political party cannot be subjected to ISA. If they do anything that is illegal, they should be subjected to the laws of the country, not ISA. We have seen enough abuse where a threat to UMNO is treated as a threat to national security.

Since ISA is a draconian law, the Minister cannot be exempted for wrongful detention. This will prevent him from treating a dranonian law trivially at the drop of a pin, as in the case of Botak’s detention of Tan Cheng Hoon under the hopeless cakap-tak-serupa-bikin Prime Minister.

The victim must be allowed to sue the government for wrongful detention and seek compensation for mental duress and hardship, amongst others. Minimum compensation shall be RM1 million.

Alamak… I got a lot to say, but now my brain not working, hehehe.

5. #5 by ekompute on Monday, 24 August 2009 - 10:48 pm

Winston :
    So, the author, instead of scratching balls are carrying them!
    What’s the difference.
    I suggest that she stops wasting our time!

What laaaa you… ask her to scratch mine maaaa, why you ask her to stop? LOL.

6. #6 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:01 am

I have followed Lim Kit Siang’s political movements…actions and speeches from day one of his political life … by reading ..listening to his speeches..as much as I can..live or through others telling me. I have read most of his ..”Crisis” books.
    No doubt at all…LKS is a people’s parliamentarian…caring for the people and the country.
    He is so humble…and I am so lucky to have talked to him…meeting.. face to face plus discussions on emails..he never failed to respond to me.
    I do feel guilty at times.. to take away his precious time.
    From my own personal conclusion….I think Malaysians can never find a truer Freedom Fighter..brave…smart and able to deal with a crooked government…against all odds…yet succeeded in so many ways.
    May LKS have a peaceful and long life.
    Special people with missions are born and seen in actions.
    Good or bad…clearly can be seen…..and these are special people.
    Lim Kit Siang is a special one…100% on the good side…for the people …with the people..and standing by the people faithfully….with no fear.
    May he and his family… be well and good.

7. #7 by vsp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:38 am

It is people like Winston who is so lackadaisical in attitude and outlook who should be responsible for the sorry state that the country is now in. These are the people who only think of their own comfort zone and let things slide into disrepair. These selfish people will only close their eyes if they are not affected. Well to these people I say go to hell.

8. #8 by vsp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:45 am

moderator, please strike out Winston and replace it with Chan Lilian. My apologies to Winston.

9. #9 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:55 am

vsp :
    It is people like Winston who is so lackadaisical in attitude and outlook who should be responsible for the sorry state that the country is now in. These are the people who only think of their own comfort zone and let things slide into disrepair. These selfish people will only close their eyes if they are not affected. Well to these people I say go to hell.

Hi vsp, what I think Winston is trying to say is that Lillian should have dissociated herself from the company (i.e resigned) but Lillian has said that she felt the need to be loyal to her employer and at that time, also felt that corruption is acceptable.

Isn’t this the present attitude of MACC and all the rest of the gunghos, including the police?

10. #10 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:01 am

The truth was uttered by vsp….and he changed his mind.
    Winston is exactly what was said by vsp…a selfish person.
    Chan Lilian simply respect LKS too much.
    She is no fool. Through years of facts finding….she wrote from the heart with no selfish ulterior motives.
    vsp and Winston need to learn to be more sincere…less cunningly smart.
    But some wage earners and youngsters are being influenced by the old fox.,.,Mahathir.
    Our country is a joke…right now.

11. #11 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:06 am

ekompute….well said and not easy for Lillian to explain it so well too.
    The problem is…present time and conditions against previous time and conditions…vsp and winston….cannot comprehend.

12. #12 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:08 am

vsp :
    moderator, please strike out Winston and replace it with Chan Lilian. My apologies to Winston.

Beats me! Can’t even express his opinion? I thought we are championing freedom of speech here.

If Winston had said anything wrong (by the way, “balls” was first used by Lillian and Winston was just trying to play with the pun), we just correct him by pointing him in the right direction, furnishing him with the basis of our argument as to why we think he is not right. I say “we think” because ultimately, no one has the monopoly to be right all the time. We are all human and we all make mistakes.

Vsp, sorry to say this but you do sound like UMNO: “Home Minister! Put Winston under ISA this very moment and withdraw his citizenship!” LOL

13. #13 by frankyapp on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:24 am

“Home minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussien said on 19th.aug. that the ISA would be amended in a way to safeguard the nation ,taking into account,national security and avert the threat of terrorism “…..Yeah I agreed with both Jeffrey and ekompute ,it’s best to repeal the ISA if I may add without any condition.And yeah,why must the regime in power abused its power by using the unwarranted ISA to arrest and surpress the opposition. The MHA said the ISA was used to safeguard national security and I ask what national securtiy ? And what terrorism he was talking about ? Malaysia is a friends of most terrorist groups such as Abu Sayat, MORO, Taliban/Al-qaeda,Hamas, Hesbolla and also friends of country which sponsored terrorism such as Pakistan, Afghanistan,Iraq,Iran and Syria and hence does not worry at all.Why then Malaysia or the regime in power still need the ISA for? Is it for terrorism within,or is meant to deal with opposition PR ? I would think Umno/BN.MACC and the PDRM are more becoming like terrorist groups. Are they intending to arrest some of its own people ?. I think it’s best interest for all and country to repeal the ISA now.Umno/Bn leaders would benefit the most ,otherwise somedays they would taste their own bitter medicine.

14. #14 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:25 am

monsterballssgoh :
    The truth was uttered by vsp….and he changed his mind.
    Winston is exactly what was said by vsp…a selfish person.
    Chan Lilian simply respect LKS too much.
    She is no fool. Through years of facts finding….she wrote from the heart with no selfish ulterior motives.

Yes, monsterssgoh, you are right. Lilian now respects LKS. But the thing that bugs me was her statement: “You know lah, I was faithful to my employer and when DAP kept accusing my bosses of things, I surely defend my company, right?”

And this attitude is exactly what MACC and those gunghoes are presently adopting too: Don’t care who is right… if instruction comes from the top to ask me to kill, I just kill laaaa…. after all I must be faithful to my employer and when DAP keeps accusing my bosses of things, I surely will defend my bosses, even to the extent of telling lies, if need be, right?

NO! Ask for a transfer out of that department to a tame department. If this is not possible, just look for another job and get out as fast as possible.

I suppose Lillian still believes in being loyal to unscrupulous bosses, except that she has now, I presume, resigned or retired. Me think she should have resigned when there was a conflict of values.

15. #15 by monsterballssgoh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 9:22 am

ekompute…Nowadays attitudes and mentalities are mixed up with smart movements and actions of Malaysians…some with no choice…but to play the game…Mahathir was showing for 22 years.
    What we need to observe..is people with power to kill…consider UMNO is the boss…and not applying the actual reasons for their power given to them. Basically..MACC laws and by laws….are to defend the helpless and the country…by investigating and catching crooks
    MACC considering UMNO as the boss….is playing politics with killing power.
    Lillian is the same…but she is harmless…just saying she was selfish…when younger. No harm done.
    I can see and agree with your attitude…which boils down to … for or against..and not agree to disagree….agree or disagree. Give Lillian the compliment for being frank and sincere. Good or bad.is another matter.
    And if you listen to the interview..her voice was shivering with fright….seeing and talking to LKS.
    That’s guilty conscience or simply too much love and respect for a legendary man.
    Bottom line…ekompute…we must watch out smart pro UMNO and MCA buggers..trying to fool readers.
    We are here to battle them…to win votes…for change of government…and at times…to play and fool with them…for we know they are slimebags and low class “bolak uplifters”.
    Have you learn new words?…hahahahahahaha

16. #16 by taiking on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 9:31 am

Why isa must be junked? Yes it can be amended. Certainly. And honestly speaking amendments can be made to tailor it specifically for terrorist and terrorism. I mean the recent discovery of c4 explosives in the grounds of some illegal indon squatters are good basis for anti-terrorist laws. But why junk the isa if it can be amended? Reason. Because we have no faith in the umno gobermen. None at all. Look. They control the police. They control the AG. And this is the ultimate. They also control the judiciary. That means at the drop of a pin anyone can end up in prison. The process from police investigation to languishing in prison (if one survives the investigation stage) would be a mere conveyor belt go-though motion. Already that is bad enough. What more if they have in hand one piece of legislation that allows disapplication of the conveyor-belt. Even the presence of clear provisions like say “political dissension and anti-gobermen movements perse shall not be deemed as acts of terrorism” in the isa will not stop abuse.

The difference between those in umno who argued in fav of the isa and those outside umno who argued against the isa is that the latter group have actually been through the isa. They know what things were like. But not the former. On the other hand, the latter group of people never had the chance to feel the raw and awesome power of the isa as an instrument of suppression and oppression. The former (i.e. umno) group have. Here lies the gulf that seperates view of the two groups. One fights for unfairness and injustice and the other fights for power by means of suppression/oppression. Who makes better sense? Of course any fool can tell. Its like the school kid telling his teacher “I forgot” once too often, umno having re-cycled and re-used the same arguments and justifications for 50yrs and still expect us to swallow them. Come on.

Amend the isa? My foot.

17. #17 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 10:21 am

Would Azizah Halim be filing a complaint if the RM300 were real?

http://mafrel.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/wangpalsu.jpg

18. #18 by k1980 on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 1:29 pm

Starvation in Sarawak, part of Great Bolehland which has squandered away RM12.5 billion? 52 years after merdeka, we have Darfur in our midst.

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/how-many-anak-bangsa-malaysia-must-die-before-you-are-moved/#comment-45179

19. #19 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 3:13 pm

Give chance lah to Chan Lilian. It was in the 80s and 90s when she was siding her employer. It is now 2009, people mature and change, she is now trained as a citizen journalist by Malaysiakini-ICFJ and using her video journalism skills to bring this LKS interview to us. Interesting she did not follow up Kit’s cue that ISA detention in Kamunting is “otherwise a good sabbatical” for him…

Whilst others languish unproductively during detention, Kit had treated this as a “sabbatical” – a leave of absence from normal work or duty as politician – to read law, be awarded a LLB Honours from London University and admitted into Lincoln’s Inn in November 1976.

As Kit said, his twice detention under ISA the first in 1969 and second, Operation Lallang has, far from breaking his spirit, renewed his determination to fight this draconian piece of legislation. It is an oppressive law by which no one is spared – not just opposition members and NGOs but even a former Deputy Prime Minister like Anwar Ibrahim. From the corpus of detention literature, we also have the book “Two Faces” (1995) by Johor-born Dr Syed Husin Ali, who was caught in late 1974, together with Anwar Ibrahim, in the ISA dragnet. It was a time when then Home Affairs Minister Tan Sri Ghazali Shafie, was, McCarthyism fashion, shoring up personal power by attacking what he claimed a communist conspiracy aimed at influencing senior Umno leaders. Believe it or not, in the “Two Faces”, Syed Husin also claimed that his captors wanted him to confess to being a conduit for the communist underground’s contacts with both the then Deputy Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Cabinet Minister Musa Hitam! If true, it looks like those who wield power under such a draconian law became a government and law unto themselves, and when entangled with political motives, even those supposedly at the helm of political power were not safe, let alone opposition members, dissidents and others!

Even in Singapore (where the ISA is para material as its Malaysian counterpart) a solicitor general (Francis Seow), who used to prosecute “enemies of the state” himself got incarcerated under the ISA on or around May 1988 when he fell out of favour with the Lee Kuan Yew’s administration. [Francis was accused of conspiring with foreign power (the US) interfering in Singapore’s internal affairs to contest general elections! How that was a threat to Singapore’s national security was not even mentioned in the official grounds of detention!]

Yet, the ISA as preventive detention law is not supposed to be abused as a political instrument to shore up positions of power brokers or to snuff out actual or potential political rivals. The ISA, was, according to Francis, “introduced to prevent subversion and suppress organized violence (then by Communist – now you can terrorists) who intend to overthrow a lawfully constituted government. It was never intended to suppress or stifle legitimate and honest voices of dissent, criticism or comment, however unpalatable and unpleasant of government policy or action!” – pg 245, Francis’s book “To Catch A Tartar” (reprinted in Malaysia 1995).

The other side of the story is best articulated here – “I’m told repression is like making love-it’s always easier the second time. The first time, there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course, with constant repetition, you get more and more brazen…dissolve organizations and societies, banish and detain key political workers, then miraculously everything is tranquil. Then an intimidated press…can regularly sing your praises, and slowly people are made to forget the evil things done, or if these things are referred to again, they’re conveniently distorted…because there’s no opposition to contradict…” – Lee Kuan Yew (Legislative Assembly Debates Oct 4th 1956, col. 322) quoted on page 173 of Francis’s book.

20. #20 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 4:30 pm

monsterballssgoh : Basically..MACC laws and by laws….are to defend the helpless and the country…by investigating and catching crooks MACC considering UMNO as the boss….is playing politics with killing power. Lillian is the same…but she is harmless…just saying she was selfish…when younger. No harm done. I can see and agree with your attitude…which boils down to … for or against..and not agree to disagree….agree or disagree. Give Lillian the compliment for being frank and sincere. Good or bad.is another matter. And if you listen to the interview..her voice was shivering with fright….seeing and talking to LKS. That’s guilty conscience or simply too much love and respect for a legendary man. Bottom line…ekompute…we must watch out smart pro UMNO and MCA buggers..trying to fool readers. We are here to battle them…to win votes…for change of government…and at times…to play and fool with them…for we know they are slimebags and low class “bolak uplifters”. Have you learn new words?…hahahahahahaha

Hi monsterballssgoh, for or against, seeing the world in black and white, a remnant of school day debates… can’t help it, never seem to be able to outgrow that, LOL.

Lillian’s article does produce mixed feelings in me. Yes, we have to give credit to Lillian for being frank and sincere. You say good or bad is another matter. And here is where I am confused.

I borrow money from you. You agree and I feel very appreciative. 6 months later, I still haven’t repay you and you come and see me (NOT I go and see you, hahaha). I am frank and sincere when I tell you that I am not going to pay, so no need for you to waste your time coming to see me again. Good or bad?

I did notice her voice shivering. Guilty conscience or simply too much love and respect for a legendary man? Never come across to me to associate that voice shivering with those attitudes. First thing that comes to my mind was that she was green and inexperienced. Reminds me of my first lecture when I was forced to become a cari makan lecturer in 1986 when Malaysia was deep in recession. Not only voice shiver. When I wrote the course title, “Management in Action”, on the board, the words also shiver, LOL.

“We are here to battle them…to win votes…for change of government…and at times…to play and fool with them…” Here to battle them, I doubt will be very effective. How about my MLM 6 x 6 pyramid? LOL. Each person gets the word round to 6 persons, and the 6 to another 36, ad infinitum. Can’t think of a better idea…

To play and fool with them… agree, agree. And I think Winston and SpeakUp are quite good at that, LOL. Me too, although sometimes I wonder to what extent I should do that but in moments of mindlessness, which is quite often, I do write a lot of nonsense.

21. #21 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 4:59 pm

taiking :
    Why isa must be junked? Yes it can be amended. Certainly… But why junk the isa if it can be amended? Reason. Because we have no faith in the umno gobermen. None at all.

How many countries in the world has ISA? And for those that do not, has their national security ever been threatened just because of its absence? If anyone wants to point to America and the McCarran Internal Security Act…

America, as we all know, is targeted by Islamic fundamentalists and their ISA is targeted towards terrorists (not members of Opposition parties). Are we being likewise targeted? Well, if the Petronas Twin Tower suffers the same fate as the Empire State Building, and how I wish it were so that we can justify the continued existence of ISA, LOL, then yes, we should follow America.

As it is, ISA has time and again been abused to illegally weaken the Opposition and the abusers get away with it and called themselves “the gomen”, LOL. They call Malaysia an Islamic country, practising parliamentary democracy. I just call them hypocrites, insulting Islam.

22. #22 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 5:19 pm

Jeffrey :
    Give chance lah to Chan Lilian. It was in the 80s and 90s when she was siding her employer. It is now 2009, people mature and change, she is now trained as a citizen journalist by Malaysiakini-ICFJ and using her video journalism skills to bring this LKS interview to us. Interesting she did not follow up Kit’s cue that ISA detention in Kamunting is “otherwise a good sabbatical” for him…

Hahaha, Jeffrey… the more you say, the more you “incriminate” yourself. The Chinese has a word for “ridiculous”, i.e. mao dun. “Mao” means “spear” and “dun” means “shield”.

My late father once explained to me why “mao dun” means ridiculous. In olden days, they have people hawking spears and shields by the roadside. When they sell spears, they say that their spears can penetrate any shield. And when they are selling shields (they are smart enough not to sell spears and shields together, LOL), they say that their shields can protect against any spear. This is how “spears and shields” came to mean ridiculous.

Lilian is now with Malaysiakini. Her original contention that she must be faithful to her employer still stands and her actions are consistent with that belief. Yesterday, she was selling spears, Today she is selling shields, and I don’t expect her to say that her shields are ineffective against spears, LOL.

Okay, okay, Jeffrey… give her chance. The only way I can think of to defend her if I were her defense counsel is that she left her former employment to join Malaysiakini because she realized that Malaysiakini’s values are consistent with her. Can? Okay, we pass judgement. Not guilty. Court dismissed, LOL.

23. #23 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:14 pm

Jeffrey :
    Interesting she did not follow up Kit’s cue that ISA detention in Kamunting is “otherwise a good sabbatical” for him…

Yes, LKS is indeed a very resourceful man. First detention in 1969, he wrote “Time Bombs in Malaysia”. Second time, he took his law degree. But as Mahathir says, “Anyone who says he likes criticism must be a hypocrite”, so also do I say the same to the statement that ISA detention in Kamunting is a good sabbatical for him. Having said that… now to his defence, LOL.

The Cantonese say, “if you fall down, grab a handful of sand before you rise..” and I think that is what he actually meant. He was viewing his two detentions philosophically. Like this, can? LOL.

I kept that copy of “Time Bombs” very safely among all my other books, stacked up nicely in boxes, but the cockroaches had a different idea. They decided to syit on it and it was real messy, just like tar. If it had been merely a few pages that were affected, I would have amputated them to save that book, but it was beyond salvage. I was so disappointed as I had wanted so much to see how much of LKS’s prophesy of doom would eventually materialized.

Incidentally, all other books in that box were not so badly affected. I think I lost only one other book and a few others, I did manage to salvage them by rubbing with a wet cloth. Anyone want to sell me their copy of “Time Bombs in Malaysia” for RM100, LOL.

24. #24 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:19 pm

ekompute, we change as we grow older. Are we going to fault defacto Pakatan Rakyat Anwar Ibrahim for what he has done during UMNO’s days??? Are we going to falut Chua Jui Meng for crossing over from MCA or Zaid Ibrahim by citing what they have done in the past?

I can think of worse cases. Now some of us, when we grow older, become reactionary, and change for the worse (in terms of supporting existing conditions and establishment) – remember host of Rocky’s Bru blog, now appointed as Editor -in-Chief of Malay Mail in June 2009?

Others – like our TDM – no change!

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:20 pm

“….Are we going to FAULT Chua Jui Meng for…”

26. #26 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:28 pm

frankyapp :
    Malaysia is a friends of most terrorist groups such as Abu Sayat, MORO, Taliban/Al-qaeda,Hamas, Hesbolla and also friends of country which sponsored terrorism such as Pakistan, Afghanistan,Iraq,Iran and Syria and hence does not worry at all.Why then Malaysia or the regime in power still need the ISA for?

Elementary, Mr Watson. Sometimes, we think that terrorists are not afraid of anything, even death or God. That is a misconception. While it is true that they are brainlessly courageous, they are afraid of anti-terrorism and hence the need to protect themselves with terrorist-style legislations, LMFAO.

27. #27 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:30 pm

Talking about LKS’s “Time Bombs in Malaysia” published in 1978, go through the issues raised by Kit then, you’d be surprised that they are about the same in genre and type as those he raises now. Which means that except for better infrastructure and more freedom of expression from advent and penetration of Internet, the country has never progressed for the better (in fact got worse in scale) since 1978 on matters like nation building, corruption, NEP, human rights and constitutional guarantees, education and labour….. For examples, then Kit complained about NBI, purchase of Spica speed crafts, now MACC, purchase of submarines and so on.

28. #28 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:39 pm

frankyapp :
    Malaysia is a friends of most terrorist groups… and also friends of country which sponsored terrorism such as Pakistan, Afghanistan,Iraq,Iran and Syria and hence does not worry at all.Why then Malaysia or the regime in power still need the ISA for?

Elementary, Mr Watson. Sometimes, we think that terrorists are not afraid of anything, even death or God. That is a misconception. While it is true that they are brainlessly courageous, they are afraid of anti-terrorism and hence the need to protect themselves with terrorist-style legislations, LMFAO.

29. #29 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 6:53 pm

Jeffrey :
    Talking about LKS’s “Time Bombs in Malaysia” published in 1978, go through the issues raised by Kit then, you’d be surprised that they are about the same in genre and type as those he raises now. Which means that except for better infrastructure and more freedom of expression from advent and penetration of Internet, the country has never progressed for the better (in fact got worse in scale) since 1978 on matters like nation building, corruption, NEP, human rights and constitutional guarantees, education and labour….. For examples, then Kit complained about NBI, purchase of Spica speed crafts, now MACC, purchase of submarines and so on.

Hi Jeffrey, seems like you still have “Time Bombs in Malaysia”. Obviously RM100 is not tempting enough. Can I throw in Matthias Chang’s “Will Barisan Nasional Survive Beyond 2020?” which I bought from Popular Bookshop for RM55.00 less 10%? Condition: Almost new.

Usually I buy a book because it is good, or else I think it was good until I read it. But Matthias’s book, I knew it was bad, and I bought it for precisely that reason… to see how bad a so-called lawyer can write. Now that I know that it is worse than high-school debate, attacking and attacking without bullets (i.e. devoid of facts and good reasoning), I want to throw it away but my stupid old newspaper collector says, “You add that book or take it away, also RM1.” I paid RM49.50 for it… so sayang, I mean the money, not the book, LOL.

So how about it? Exchange “Time Bombs in Malaysia” with me one book for one book and on top of that, I give you another RM100, LOL.

30. #30 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 7:37 pm

GilaPolitic writes: “It is a great HELL of good ISA stories from you ! Bravo ! You are Malaysian True HERO. We proposed Uncle Lim to write a “ISA HELL in Malaysia” book about your experiences as an ISA Detainee together with other ISA Detainees are also willing to contribute their hell experienced in Kamunting Camp.”

Yes, I think LKS should leave behind a national heritage, a literature that would form an essential part of any university textbook on Malaysian history, both locally and internationally. In every sense of the word, he has acquired the status of a demigod in Malaysian opposition politics and his words are more valuable than any Prime Minister in today’s Malaysia.

LKS may not have the energy to write a complete book these days. The least he can do is to get a ghostwriter… someone who can write well, while he provides the major framework of his books, dictate major paragraphs, and edit the final version, while the ghostwriter also helps to fill in the skeleton of the book with thorough research.

31. #31 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 7:49 pm

Jeffrey says: “ekompute, we change as we grow older. Are we going to fault defacto Pakatan Rakyat Anwar Ibrahim for what he has done during UMNO’s days??? Are we going to fault Chua Jui Meng for crossing over from MCA or Zaid Ibrahim by citing what they have done in the past?”

Lilian did not say that “we change as we grow older”, unless I miss something. Had she said that, I would have no dispute. What I gather from what she said was: “You know lah, I was faithful to my employer and when DAP kept accusing my bosses of things, I surely defend my company, right? ” She is talking about faithfulness to employer, not change as we grow older. In other words, what I gather is that if she were to work for NST today, she would still be faithful to her employer.

Actually, I am not condemning her. I was just pointing out some glaring discrepancies. But overall, to work for Malaysiakini, a high-risk decision, is proof enough that she stands for justice. For who would want to join Malaysiakini, rather than take a job with those national dailies where you can write anything and still be safe?

32. #32 by Loh on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 8:41 pm

///[Francis was accused of conspiring with foreign power (the US) interfering in Singapore’s internal affairs to contest general elections! How that was a threat to Singapore’s national security was not even mentioned in the official grounds of detention!]///– Jeffrey

Conspiring with foreign power means that if elected, the person will be Trojan horse of foreign power. That threatens national security, and as befitting the use of ISA, prevention has to take place.

The person who wants the current ISA to stay with advantage is Najib, and as the cousin the home minister feels that he is safe from ISA. All other UMNO leaders have to follow the leaders, but sometimes they might be misunderstood. Accompanying the emperor is no different from surrounding the tiger, especially when he has ISA which have countless example of being utilised against official adversaries. ISA is in fact more effective than black magic and curses from Bomoh. Unless UMNO leaders care more about what they can do to develop the country than to be contented with wealth and influence the position they are in while competing only to show their president their loyalty, they would be happy to leave UMNO president to have sword over their heads. The only time ISA would be amended would be when UMNO president feels that he might end up as opposition at the federal level. It would be a waste of time telling UMNO to amend ISA. If they do, it would be like creating MACC to serve their political interests.

33. #33 by ekompute on Tuesday, 25 August 2009 - 9:42 pm

Never never quote Singapore when it comes to human rights. This is their only sore spot. Why would we want to emulate them for what they are worst at, rather than what they are good at?

In Singapore, zero is NOT less than 200, as this judgement by then Attorney General, Chan Sek Keong clearly indicates: “A person inside a polling station cannot be said to be within a radius of 200 metres of a polling station,” kekekekekekekeeeeeeeeeee

http://aseanpedia.jbdirectory.com/Robert_Ho_Chong

34. #34 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 12:32 am

“The MHA said the ISA was used to safeguard national security and I ask what national securtiy ? And what terrorism he was talking about ?” (frankyapp)

The then Home Minister Mr Botak Syed Hamid said that the ISA was used to protect the former ISA detainee, the Sin Chew Journalist Miss Tan Hoon Cheng. His statement had clearly shown that Umnoputras desperately wanted to invoke the ISA in order to protect something. Mr Botak’s claim that the ISA was used to protect Tan Hoon Cheng might just be a slip of tongue. He might subconscously wanted to say that the ISA was invoked on Tan Hoon Cheng as a means to protect the interest of Umnoputras. Tan Hoon Cheng had been accused by some Malay racists for being too outspoken in writing a frank report in the news media on some speeches, which were given by some Malay racists mainly to the targeted audiences of Malay origin in order to serve certain political agenda but were not meant for disclosure to the non-Malay groups of Malaysian citizens. Miss Tan Hoon Cheng had definitely violated some unwritten rules of Umnoputras, which insisted on the policy of “Divide and Rule” in Malaysia. Somehow or rather, Miss Tan’s frank and authentic translation of the Malay racists’ speeches in Sin Chew Daily could have been deemed to perform the function of going against the general interest of Umnoputras because it is always a taboo to have someone faithfully done the translation of the sensitive speeches given by the Malay racists, especially when the Malay racists were coming from Umno, and published in the Chinese daily newspaper the translations of the speeches without going through some kinds of doctor-spinning or moderation in favour of Barisan Nasional.

Mr Botak certainly found that he was obliged to protect the general interest of Umnoputras. And he could have also found that the best way to protect such interest of Umnoputras was to invoke the ISA on a journalist like Tan Hoon Cheng in order to send a clear message to all the outspoken journalists of Malaysia – a veiled threat to the other outspoken journalists in order to warn them not to be too outspoken in doing the translation which may have caused harm to the general interest of Umnoputras.

This is Umnoputras’ version of “National Security Threat” or “Terrorism Threat” of Malaysia!

35. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 12:52 am

There are other interpretations about the words “National Security Threat” or “Terrorism Threat”.

The ISA section 73 can be invoked freely by the Police on anyone who is suspected to have done something which is deemed to have posed threat to the national security of Malaysia. For instance, the “tekong” or in English the fishing boat owner who had committed illegal harbouring of foreign workers on his fishing boat could be detained under the ISA Section 73, especially when he attempted to say some unwanted words in his cautioned statement that he had a top police officer as his collaborator in the money-making “tekong” business.

Take another instance, a suspect of drug trafficker could be detained under the ISA Section 73 when he attempted to say some unwanted words in his cautioned statement that he had a top police officer as his collaborator in the money-making drug trafficking business.

In view of the benefits which the ISA can bring about for the protection of the so-called “national security”, it is no wonder that the repellation proposal of the ISA has always received the strongest objection from PDRM.

36. #36 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:00 am

Onlooker Politic: The then Home Minister Mr Botak Syed Hamid?

Mr? No laaaa, no need Mr.

Wikipedia says Syed already means Mr in Arabic so if you say Mr Botak Syed Hamid, it means Mr Botak Mr Hamid… no need to repeat. Wikipedia also says his surname is now Tan… Tan Si Datuk Seri Syed Hamid bin Syed Jaafar Albar… Chinese surname, Arabic name, LOL.

The “then Home Minister” also wrong. He is still the Home Minister… minister of his own home. But Botak is correct. Wonder why he doesn’t ask Samy Vellu where he got his wig from, kekekekeeeeee.

37. #37 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:07 am

Onlooker Politics :
    There are other interpretations about the words “National Security Threat” or “Terrorism Threat”.

What constitutes a “national security threat” has never been defined. Thus, even when a pin drops, it can be deemed as a national security threat, and why not? Maybe it is a signal to launch an all-out attack, kekekekeeeeeeee.

38. #38 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:45 am

ekompute,
    If Umnoputras really launch another round of Op Lallang, your name will never be spared from the arrest list. This is because you have posted many comments which go against the interest of Umnoputras, the writing and posting acts themselves are deemed to have posed a “national security threat”.

Do you used a phone line registered under your personal name in Malaysia? The police will first go get your true name from Streamyx’s internet backbone service computer and you will never be able to escape, unless you live in a foreign country now!

39. #39 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:47 am

Sorry, repost after typo correction!

ekompute,
    Do you USE a phone line registered under your personal name in Malaysia? The police will first go get your true name from Streamyx’s internet backbone service computer and you will never be able to escape, unless you live in a foreign country now!

40. #40 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:52 am

ekompute,
    I did not simply make accusation on the police out of no reason. If you have accessed to the list of former ISA detainees, then you will be able to find out how many of them were really a “tekong” who was suspected to have committed the crime of illegally harbouring the visa-less foreign aliens. You may also find out how many of the former ISA detainees were really the suspected drug traffickers who were not taken to court due to undisclosed reason!

41. #41 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 2:16 am

There is another interpretation of “national security threat” — the faked coin maker (or faked notes maker) who faked Malaysian coins (or Malaysian paper Ringgit Notes) as a legal tender for transaction.

Do you know why Bank Negara took back and abolished the use of one Ringgit golden colour coins which we used to have more than 10 years’ ago? The faked coin maker could have possibly been given an extra-judicial killing under the ISA detention! This is an official secret, and no one seems to be able to tell where the faked coin maker is now!

42. #42 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 2:56 am

Many naive Malaysians may just one-sidedly think that the ISA will have never done any harm to them so long as they don’t join PAS, PKR, DAP or the Chinese Educationists Organization by the name of Dong Jiau Zhong.

However, how many of us the Malaysian people really know that in the past 40 years the ISA Section 73 had been invoked by the Police to detain several ten thousands of innocent small men such as the roadside demonstrators, the defiant college or university lecturers, the secondary school activist students or university activist students or some activist social workers who were suspected to be the Communist sympathisers? Many of these former detainees could hardly be classified as the political dissidents or the political dissenters at all because many of them had no particular political party affiliation! Anyway, it was always the fact that an ISA detainee who came from the Opposition Camp would be given the maximum publicity in the news media and then be voted into the parliament. What kind of justice could those small men ISA detainees get in Malaysia if it was not a strong psychological inducement from the true conscience of those former detainees which encouraged them to seek better human rights treatment in a foreign country?

If Anwar Ibrahim wants to make himself a difference from Dr. Mahathir, then what assurance can Anwar make to Dr. Mahathir on the latter’s personal safety and property safety if Anwar is to become the next Prime Minister of Malaysia who holds the ultimate power of invoking the ISA on somebody? Pakatan Rakyat needs to declare a clear political stand on the treatment of the ISA draconian law as much as it can! Otherwise, how is Pakatan Rakyat going to convince people that it is going to be a much better alternative than Barisan Nasional? Perhaps, a small man who has tasted the bitterness of the ISA detention before really has some other aspirations which are different from the real politicians. Ultimately, it is the overall betterment of the majority Malaysian people which will make much better appeal to the needs of the people! Human rights issues should always be given the top priority by the Alternative Political Camp such as Pakatan Rakyat! We don’t want a tyrant to be replaced by just another tyrant in the near future!

43. #43 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:07 am

Onlooker Politics :
    ekompute,
    If Umnoputras really launch another round of Op Lallang, your name will never be spared from the arrest list. This is because you have posted many comments which go against the interest of Umnoputras, the writing and posting acts themselves are deemed to have posed a “national security threat”.
    Do you used a phone line registered under your personal name in Malaysia? The police will first go get your true name from Streamyx’s internet backbone service computer and you will never be able to escape, unless you live in a foreign country now!

And they will not be going after you?

44. #44 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 4:16 am

Onlooker Politics, if the police wants to get you, they will get you, somehow. Remember Mas Selamat? The police already knew where he was long ago but instead of arresting him, they put him under surveillance, hoping to use him as a bait to get more information on his other members.

So if you think you can hide, you are pretty naive, unless you give up your Malaysian citizenship altogether. Apparently, I was told that Malaysia has “one of the best” special branch police in the world, inherited from the British.

You mentioned: “This is because you have posted many comments which go against the interest of Umnoputras…” So are you suggesting that I should post comments in their favor? I went through some of your posts in the other threads and I believe if I ever go in, I will see you there too, LOL, unless you are overseas, and never intend to come back.

45. #45 by frankyapp on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 6:24 am

Hi Onlookerpolitics and ekompute, I really appreciated you guys comments but should you guys are afraid of being “ISAed ” ,then it’s better to stop it before it catches you LOL.

46. #46 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:03 am

“Hi Onlookerpolitics and ekompute, I really appreciated you guys comments but should you guys are afraid of being “ISAed ” ,then it’s better to stop it before it catches you LOL.” (frankyapp)

Somebody’s comment that repression is like love-making can never be wrong:
    “I’m told repression is like making love-it’s always easier the second time. The first time, there may be pangs of conscience, a sense of guilt. But once embarked on this course, with constant repetition, you get more and more brazen…dissolve organizations and societies, banish and detain key political workers, then miraculously everything is tranquil. Then an intimidated press…can regularly sing your praises, and slowly people are made to forget the evil things done, or if these things are referred to again, they’re conveniently distorted…because there’s no opposition to contradict…” – Lee Kuan Yew (Legislative Assembly Debates Oct 4th 1956, col. 322) quoted on page 173 of Francis’s book.

There is ready no way to stop the Malaysian police from coming after any citizen of Malaysia if the Police really want to do it. Anyway, God does not give us a mouth simply to serve the purpose of eating or drinking or kissing! God also wants us to use our mouth to cry out for help and supplication on behalf of the repressed and oppressed!

47. #47 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:10 am

“I went through some of your posts in the other threads and I believe if I ever go in, I will see you there too, LOL, unless you are overseas, and never intend to come back.” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    I already gained the experience of being detained under the ISA in the past. The possible arrest for the second time may be much easier for me if it is really unavoidable.

However, are you psychologically prepared to go to the ISA detention camp? If no, then may I pray for your salvation from the possible devilish attack!

48. #48 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:39 am

“Okay, okay, Jeffrey… give her chance. The only way I can think of to defend her if I were her defense counsel is that she left her former employment to join Malaysiakini because she realized that Malaysiakini’s values are consistent with her. Can? Okay, we pass judgement. Not guilty. Court dismissed, LOL.” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    I think you can be a good merciful judicial judge if given a chance!

Pakatan Rakyat leaders should also hold the same forgiving, merciful and magnanimous attitude towards the majority members of Barisan Nasional. It is good for Pakatan Rakyat leaders to announce an amnesty programme to all Barisan Nasional grassroot members immediately before the next General Election. This amnesty programme will most likely invite some Barisan Nasional members to switch party in order to find new “rezeki” under the umbrella of Pakatan Rakyat. There is an old Chinese saying stating that “it is the normal human nature to choose the right paymaster to serve, just like it is only too wise for a clever bird to choose a sturdy tree wood to make nest!”

The amnesty programme will ensure that Pakatan Rakyat can win the next General Election much more easily!

49. #49 by OrangRojak on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 12:44 pm

normal human nature to choose the right paymaster to serve
    My 3 year old daughter often asks for “Jack Sparrow” on the DVD player. What you said reminds me of the Pirates of the Caribbean episode where Jack Sparrow meets the Singaporean pirates. He asks them “where do your allegiances lie?”, to which they answer “with the highest bidder!”. It goes well for Jack Sparrow and the Singaporean pirates until the British East India Trading Company turns up with ships full of the ‘coin of the realm’, at which point Jack Sparrow’s new shipmates become his enemy’s new shipmates.

Every time somebody recommends ‘amnesty’, ‘defections’ or ‘crossovers’, I lose a little hope that Malaysia will change its political culture. I don’t think the people who voted in such large numbers for the opposition at the last election imagined they would get the same people but with different logos.

50. #50 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 1:39 pm

“I don’t think the people who voted in such large numbers for the opposition at the last election imagined they would get the same people but with different logos.” (OrangRojak)

OrangRojak,
    You may change the political culture but it is not easy for you to change the human nature of taking care of one’s stomach first. There were people who voted in a large number of opposition members at the last election but the number was not large enough to overthrow Barisan Nasional from the Federal Government! The Asian people are basically much more practical (or pragmatic). No matter how or no matter what, they will still take care of their own stomach first! Pakatan Rakyat needs a strong support from the clumpsy and obsessive bureaucracy in order to effectively take over the rule of government from Barisan Nasional! Therefore pacifism would sometimes help to attract votes among the Malay bureaucrats!

51. #51 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 3:38 pm

Onlooker Politics :
    “I went through some of your posts in the other threads and I believe if I ever go in, I will see you there too, LOL, unless you are overseas, and never intend to come back.” (ekompute)
    ekompute,
    I already gained the experience of being detained under the ISA in the past. The possible arrest for the second time may be much easier for me if it is really unavoidable.
    However, are you psychologically prepared to go to the ISA detention camp? If no, then may I pray for your salvation from the possible devilish attack!

It is hard to determine whether you are friend or foe. But one thing I am sure…. the moment you feel someone criticizes your posts, whether real or imaginary, you will act worst than UMNO. No power yet and I see your arrogance, what if you were given some small government posts?

Anyway, as LKS says, ISA is a good sabbatical, unless he has special treatment inside. Is ISA really that bad once you past 50? And if it is Operation Lalang, so much the better…. you get to make so many friends inside, a holiday camp, so to speak, LOL.

52. #52 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 7:54 pm

“Anyway, as LKS says, ISA is a good sabbatical, unless he has special treatment inside.” (ekompute)

It is good that LKS can take such big adversary as the ISA solitary confinement as a blessing in disguise. LKS’s strong determination to take up the opportunity to study law in Kamunting Detention Centre was a good example (but a rare one) for the high moral value of endurance, perseverance and persistence.

“Is ISA really that bad once you past 50? And if it is Operation Lalang, so much the better…. you get to make so many friends inside, a holiday camp, so to speak, LOL.” (ekompute)

ekompute, you may be a bit over-optimistic when you think that you are able to make many friends while being kept in the solitary confinement under the ISA. Holiday camp??? I think if the Investigation Officer doesn’t like you, the treatment you receive in the ISA camp may be even much worse than what Teoh Beng Hock got. For your information, I had to wait for two weeks in order to get the medical treatment on my pinkeye disease, which had been passed on to me by lockup mates in the crowded lockup of a police station.

You are the only person whom I have met in so far childishly holds the opinion that ISA detention camp is like a holiday camp! Do you know that when an ISA detainee is instructed to come out from the solitary confinement room, his eyes have to be covered? If the camp guard tries to play him out by giving him a false direction instruction, he will most likely fall into the dirty foul-smelling longkang with some blue black stains on his skins or on his forehead.

In the ISA camp, if the camp guard doesn’t like you, then the rice pack you receive will most likely be added with some sands. And I can assure you that you are bound to meet some racist Malay guards in the ISA detention camp!

53. #53 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 8:24 pm

“If no, then may I pray for your salvation from the possible devilish attack!” (Onlooker Politics)

“No power yet and I see your arrogance, what if you were given some small government posts?” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    This is the first time I have met someone who commented that I acted arrogantly by my suggesting to pray for his salvation!

Sorry, perhaps your religion and my religion simply have a big difference which provides no room for reconciliation between you and I. Anyway, I still wish you good luck if you think that the ISA detention is like attending a holiday camp!

54. #54 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 9:15 pm

“This is the first time I have met someone who commented that I acted arrogantly by my suggesting to pray for his salvation!”

Yes, because you are acting as if your religion is THE true religion for everyone. I don’t know what religion you are but not everyone believes in Christianity:

US President John Adams said: “I almost shudder at the thought of alluding to the most fatal example of the abuses of grief which the history of mankind has preserved — the Cross. Consider what calamities that engine of grief has produced!”

And George Carlin says: “I would never want to be a member of a group whose symbol was a guy nailed to two pieces of wood.”

Well, I suggest you pray for your own salvation then. Let’s not act as hypocrites.

55. #55 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 9:29 pm

Hi Onlooker Politics, I have printed some of your posts so that I can apply for you to come along when I go to Kamunting Holiday Camp, LOL. I hope your own prayers are effective towards your own salvation.

Don’t worry about mine. What I detest most are hyprocrites who think that God is at their beck and call, and that their prayers are effective.

56. #56 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 9:33 pm

“This is the first time I have met someone who commented that I acted arrogantly by my suggesting to pray for his salvation!”

What do you call a person who thinks that God is at his beck and call? If arrogant is not the right word, please suggest a better word.

57. #57 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 9:38 pm

“Well, I suggest you pray for your own salvation then. Let’s not act as hypocrites.” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    I recommend a good article from a Malay for your reading. Below is the last part of the article titled “Cry my beloved Malay soul”, which was authored by AB Sulaiman on Feb 6, 2009 10:51am.

“Blinded by sentiment

We do not see that things can be seen and interpreted in many alternative ways. We feel we have the monopoly on truth; we therefore think that we are right all the time and other people are wrong all the time. Witness the way we see religion for example.

We think that we as Muslims are right and other people who profess other religions are wrong, all the time.

We need to cry for thinking that we can and have doctored the way the people think and do things. We have been intimidating the people with what they can read or write or think and do.

We seem to be saying “you can think anything, do anything, write anything so long as it does not criticise or condemn the government”.

Soul-searching and resuscitating is not or should not be about pointing accusing fingers at some bogeys. That would be a most negative thing to do. It would be better for us to be open-minded and be able to identify our own strengths and weaknesses.

We improve upon our strengths and dump our weaknesses. Mainly we must be able to develop the awareness that we have both the strengths and weaknesses in the first place.

To illustrate, the NEP has proved many time over as a failed strategy for our socio-economic advancement. Let us be aware of this in the first place and move on seeking other ways with better chance of success.

How about secularizing the Malay mind? It might make for a good start for we can see many of the don’ts, can’ts, musn’ts dissipating into the wind.

In the meantime, here we are in the early days of a new year. We should begin by realising that whatever ‘smart’ moves we had undertaken all this while have not really been that smart after all.

The joke is on us. Everybody says so [UTF-8?]?? the liberated Malays, the non-Malays, our neighbors and the rest of the international community. Only those of us basking in our closed mind and benefiting from the profits of the status quo say it’s alright.

In the meantime, cry my beloved Malay soul.” (By AB Sulaiman)

58. #58 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:11 pm

“What I detest most are hyprocrites who think that God is at their beck and call, and that their prayers are effective.” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    I believe that if anyone of us who has faith in God and cares enough to pray hard to God in order to ask for supplication, God will listen. However, whether a person’s prayer is effective or not will all depend on God. It is always my belief that when we ask something from God, then this “something” will be given to us. The most important thing is to ASK. If God agrees that we can have this “something”, then it will be given to us.

However, there are also times that God may be in the opinion that even though this “something” which we ask may be good to us, it will not be given to us too soon too hastily, lest we do not know how to handle it properly at present because we are still lack of knowledge or capability to resist bad temptation which may be brought about by this “something”! Therefore, God will tell us to WAIT until the time is right. Then only this “something” will be given gracefully to us!

Occasionally, there are also times that we may fail in getting what we want badly from God, no matter how hard we pray! When God thinks that this “something” which we ask is no good to us, then it will not be given to us, lest it will bring more harm than good to us! Sometimes I tend to ask God to give me a visa for migrating to a western country. However, God may think that it is no good for me to live in a western country because I may be tempted to indulge myself in the lifestyle of sexual immorality because of sexual openness in the western country. When this is the case, then most probably God will not create a situation which allows me to get an immigrant visa for migrating to a western country.

Whatever God gives, delays or rejects us, it is all decided on one good reason. It is solely for the well-being of us in the eyes of God with God’s own wisdom, which sometimes surpasses the human understanding!

If you care to ask God for what you want, I believe God will give you what you want if it is good for you to have what you ask for!

59. #59 by ekompute on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:34 pm

Onlooker Politics, I don’t know what you are driving at. Are you trying to tell me:
    * not to write so much in this forum;
    * not to attack UMNOputras; or
    * to write favorably about UMNO?

As far as I know, the safest thing to do is not to participate in this forum, if you really want to play safe.

In 1972, Marcos declared martial law after his Defense Minister, Juan Ponce Enrile, was “ambushed” by terrorists, an incident which was revealed by Enrile himself years later to be faked. The martial law declaration led one high-ranking American official to describe the Philippines as a country composed of “40 million cowards and one son of a bitch”.

60. #60 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 10:55 pm

“Onlooker Politics, I don’t know what you are driving at. Are you trying to tell me:
    * not to write so much in this forum;
    * not to attack UMNOputras; or
    * to write favorably about UMNO?” (ekompute)

ekompute,
    If you believe that what you are trying to articulate here is something which will serve the righteousness and justice of God, then why should you stop doing it?

However, since we live in a fallen world, the jail risk is always real for anyone who attempts to criticize the power-that-be. Nevertheless, I believe that with our prayers, we can rely upon the divine intervention or the divine intercession to get us out of the risky situation.

May God bless you in the course of your continuing e-commenting!

61. #61 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 26 August 2009 - 11:01 pm

‘In 1972, Marcos declared martial law after his Defense Minister, Juan Ponce Enrile, was “ambushed” by terrorists, an incident which was revealed by Enrile himself years later to be faked. The martial law declaration led one high-ranking American official to describe the Philippines as a country composed of “40 million cowards and one son of a bitch”.’ (ekompute)

ekompute,
    This is a sad tyrannic story to hear about!

I heard that Najib is a fast learner. I hope he will never read your story, lest he will learn to be a copycat!

62. #62 by ekompute on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 3:36 am

Voltaire says: “It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.” You mentioned: “I heard that Najib is a fast learner. I hope he will never read your story, lest he will learn to be a copycat!”

Onlooker Politics, you are insulting Najib’s intelligence. Look at how versatile he has been at handling matters. He has more tricks up his sleeve than anyone can think of. He doesn’t need to learn from Marcos.

As you know, emergency rule was introduced by his dad in 1969, 3 years earlier than Marcos. And the circumstances for the declaration, according to declassified documents at the London Public Offices, were some what similar to Marcos. In other words, Marcos learned from Malaysia. Malaysia has nothing to learn from Philippines, except maybe bomb-blasting all the Opposition leaders dead, if ever they have a rally together.

But that is not the point. I was really confused where you were coming from. I think I feel safer with SpeakUp and monsterballssgoh as they never try to intercede to God for my salvation, LOL.

63. #63 by ekompute on Thursday, 27 August 2009 - 2:51 pm